Ford EcoSport launched in Malaysia – RM93k-RM104k

Ford Ecosport launch set 2 20

Following its preview in Ford showrooms since the beginning of the month, Sime Darby Auto Connexion has finally given the Ford EcoSport its official debut in the country – the compact five-seater SUV was introduced moments ago at a launch event in Symphony Suite, KLCC.

The Thai-assembled EcoSport – which made its ASEAN premiere at last year’s Bangkok Motor Show and which was showcased at KLIMS13 last November – arrives in two trim levels, these being Trend and Titanium. Both are powered by a 1.5 litre Ti-VCT normally-aspirated mill offering 110 PS at 6,300 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

The unit is paired with a six-speed Powershift dual-clutch transmission, the Getrag 6DCT250, the same powertrain and drivetrain configuration as found in the B299 Ford Fiesta facelift. A 1.0 litre EcoBoost variant is expected to join the lineup at a later stage, when the Powershift option becomes available (the 1.0 litre currently only ships with a manual transmission, where it is sold in Australia).

Ford Ecosport launch set 2 2

Dimensions-wise, the EcoSport measures in at 4,273 mm long, 1,765 mm wide and 1,675 mm tall (+291 mm, +43 mm and +186 mm respectively compared to the Fiesta), with a wheelbase that’s 2,519 mm long (+30 mm over the Fiesta). Other numbers include a 200 mm ground clearance, 362 litres of boot space (705 litres with rear seats folded) and a 52 litre fuel tank (nine more than the Fiesta, which has a 43 litre capacity tank).

We’ve highlighted the full specifications in our preview post, and the brochure is on hand here again, but here’s a general spin on things if you’re not inclined to peruse it.

The Trend is the baseline variant, and is equipped with black fabric seats, manual air-conditioning, keyed ignition, front and rear fog lamps, a six-speaker Ford Sync infotainment system, steering wheel audio controls, tilt and telescopic steering adjustment and 16-inch alloy wheels with 205/60R16 tyres.

Click to enlarge.

The Titanium, meanwhile, goes the leather route for the seats, steering wheel and gear lever, and the driver’s seat gets adjustable lumbar, with a centre armrest added on. The variant also gets a single-zone automatic climate control system as well as auto lights/wipers and a powered tilt/slide sunroof.

Other additions include keyless entry and push-start ignition, and there’s also an additional 12V power socket at the side of the rear seat. The Titanium also rides on 16-inchers and the same tyre size, but the wheel is of a different design.

Exterior-wise, there are some slight cosmetic differences, this being that the Titanium’s front grille is black with chrome accents (Trend’s is painted silver) and its roof rails are finished in silver (black on the Trend).

Common safety equipment to both is electronic stability control, traction control, ABS with EBD, hill launch assist, emergency brake assist, rear seat Isofix mounts and dual airbags for the Trend – the Titanium features a Safety Pack, which brings the airbag count to seven (front, side and curatin as well as driver’s knee airbag)

Five exterior colours are available for the EcoSport, and unique to the Trend is Candy Red, while variant specific shades for the Titanium are Mars Red and Winning Blue. The last two colours, Midnight Sky and Frozen White, are available for both trim level variants.

Finally, pricing – the Ford EcoSport Trend is priced at RM92,888 while the EcoSport Titanium goes for RM103,888, both on-the-road with insurance. The EcoSport comes with a five-year/200,000 km warranty and three-year/60,000 km Extended Service Plan (ESP) free maintenance programme.

We’ve driven the Ford EcoSport – read our Thai test drive report of the SUV.

1.5L EcoSport Titanium

1.5L EcoSport Trend

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:24 pm

can buy 2 Great Wall M4.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
    • Yes. 2M4 better than this.
      both FWD.

This Ford has got Dry Dual Clutch Gearbox.
      As Scary as DSG.

Problematic Gearbox macam VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
      • Gargantia on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Good car, bad spec.
        Good market launching, good pretty girls model.
        Bad price marketing, over priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:30 am

Just forgot about Ford existing in Msia:

– 3 months+ plus waiting for part purchased (shipping via sea ~3months, by air ~1wk) even a small hand carry part
          – poor management included top management
          – no improvement driven internal SD@Ford
          – ignore customer complaints (full use from the weaknesses of msia rules & regulations that not clear indicate to full protect end consumers)

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Nice one! Well done Ford.

As long as it is not Kimchi, it will have RV.

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
          • samelorsark on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:48 pm

As long as it’s same lorrr’s comment, dun bother to read

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • coddy on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:13 am

I dun understand how can you relate Ford and Vw? come on.. you are giving a bad example. my Vws is free from Problematic Gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • SUVobserver on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:02 am

I am taking the one in Blue

• Yeah, right. But the car don’t come with the girls. Buy blue colored car, get the girl in blue dress. Black one get the black dress girl…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • i_swear on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:38 am

True, or wait for Haval H6. Sime Darby pricing is always ridiculous.

• Legend (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Bye Bye Toyota Rush!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Should be “bye bye” to SD Ford Eco Sport:
      –>The day Eco was born also the day it died.

The whole Msia market is driving car price reduction programme.

A segment: ~ 20k – 45k

B segment: ~ 40k – 70k

C segment: ~ 65k – 95k

D segment: ~ 90k – 120k

Luxury segment: from 90k onwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Should be “bye bye” to SD Ford Eco Sport:
      –>The day Eco was born also the day it died.

No need to mentioned Rush as it already died long time ago.

The whole Msia market is driving car price reduction programme.

A segment: ~ 20k – 45k

B segment: ~ 40k – 70k

C segment: ~ 65k – 95k

D segment: ~ 90k – 120k

Luxury segment: from 90k onwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…the car is not matching all these beauties…

• bbgun on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:26 pm

How much ? For the girls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 22
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Can’t help to realise you can get a Focus S+ for 15k more with more safety and more power and space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:32 pm

The entire automotive industry is running price reduction programme, BUT seems SD direction is only aligned with tun to increase car price wirh same standard and quality.

I fell shamed if I was the man running SD Ford.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:33 pm

not the best looking thing isnt it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • wellendowed on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Those show girl……cant make me cum to the show room and test ride!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Just noticed been loaded m9re car show girls from initial only 3gals, u might need to verify again …

• spongewai on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:13 pm

dear Honda & Nissan,

they launched Ford EcoSport and Toyota currently have Rush and Peugeot 2008 as well

so when will launch the Vezel and Juke?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • kcng (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:29 am

Nissan did bring Juke here as fully CBU car from Japan in 2011 alongside with 370Z and Elgrand, which cave had you been?

• What kok u talking about? Nissan already have the X-Gear. It’s in the same level with this EcoSport. Compact SUV category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • facepalm on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:47 am

TCM did bring CBU Juke back in 2010-11 along side with Elgrand and 370z.

I guess you’re living in Bikini Bottom??

• Green on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:14 pm

As a Reference:

City Driving = 8.6L/100km = 11.6km/L
    (1.5 Ti-VCT Manual Version)

furthemore, think twice for a Dry DCT Transmission.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Actuall SDA can bring the 1.0 Ecoboost mated with conventional manual transmission EcoSport for market testing. I remember some of the people had prejudice on 1L Ecoboost mill after test driving the 1.0 Ecoboost Ford Fiesta.

Back to the my point, with manual transmission variant of the Ecoboost-powered EcoSport, some potential buyers may consider it (even though the sales figure is not encouraging) and this will be an additional sales to SDA but like most of the car distributors in this country, not feasible and low demand are the excuses not to bring it in.

• JB_KIA on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:50 am

hey SDAC, bring in the 1.0M Ecoboost laa….haven’t u had enough complaints with the DCT?

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Yawnn..1.5.. 110PS.. same old gear (fiesta).. 100K..

Expensive spare parts? …

Yawnn again.. tito dulu lah..

Pass..

Good camera.. nice photos. . Thx for that.. now2.. try get some wet dreams. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • SuperDonkey on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Again!!!?? No manual? What is Sime Darby waiting for?? Not going to buy this due to no manual. Eco boost with manual is perfectly fine!

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Indeed Ecoboost mated with conventional manual transmission is an alternate options for those people who are scared of the DCT issue (especially dry clutch DCT). Remember, for Ford, smaller vehicles with Powershift (DCT) as replacement for conventional automatic transmission but not conventional manual transmission due to some advantages of manual transmission that Powershift does not have.

However, like I always emphasizes, local car distributors do not give a crap for minority people who prefer the old-school and reliable manual transmission equipped vehicles and forced people to accept sole transmission equipment with those crappy and selfish reasons.

• bujingyun on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Both are hot,the car and the girls..phewww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Wah! EcoSport… where’s the sport when it’s underpowered?

Rename it to EcoSpoilSport.

• Car_fan on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Ugly car now has a price… Yawwwwwwn…

• just like that on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:43 pm

based on the link above, i checked the price of a new ford ecosport in south africa and its only 60k. rofl malaysian prices.

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Sime Darby, do you realise, the price range you set, got a lot of better alternatives already available?

Power = 110ps is not really impressive, even with EcoBoost. 140nm torque? All for 93-104k? Too overpriced.

Transmission = Look, i know DCT are the future for fuel efficiency, but it is not that reliable as per now. Why not put MT as optional? With such underpowered engine, MT will at least let driver control the power output, allowing greater driver’s pleasure.

Interior = Personally speaking, i expected more premium rather than “funky” design. Not liking it this time. (purely own taste)

Brake = You gotta kidding me right? HAVAL M4 every wheel also DISC BRAKE, yet you wanna imitate HONDA? 2 Drum brake at the rear?

SUV already got so much body roll and tall gravity center, making it harder to brake than other car type already and you wanna compromise on brake? Shame on you.

Okay i give you one of them: For a price of RM93k – 104k, i could easily wait for Haval H6, which has way more power from its turbocharged engine, reliable automatic transmission, and a much larger interior, brake, and boot space! At a price of RM88k-92k!

Not worth the money at all to buy this SUV at such ridiculous price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • carbuyer on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:52 pm

a new review by carbuyer on youtube for this ecosport
    verdict:
    crap on fuel economy
    crap on comfort
    crap on driving dynamic
    crap on interior quality
    crap on build quality
    crap on practicality

finally for msia, crap on pricing..
    need someone to be insane enough to buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • nabill (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:52 am

Ya I jus watched that jus now as well, conclusion : its crap…but in the uk thrs alot more options frm other brands for this kind of small crossover thingy….bt anyway its very cheaply made, nt comfortable, stupid rear access…pointless….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:31 pm

It’s rather small in size. Look at those girls. They’re even bigger size than the car hood

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Pray hard Ford dont put the 1.0 3 cylinders turbo in this massive car..At least a 1.3 3 cylinders turbo is sufficient enough…

• joanna on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:05 am

Put P1 badge on it. And no one can criticisize the car. Or else you’ll be called as non-patriotic.
    Hahahahahaha.
    Idk why but P1 fanboys always in defensive mode. You can joke on Toyota, Ford, Honda or Kia but never P1. Hahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • P1alwaysP1 on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:37 am

As always this blog is filled with pompous arses who support proton with almost zero logic. These pompous arses will defend their beautiful national brand with the confidence of a full fledged lawyer as if their life depends on this brand. They love to shower people with verbal abuse and make everybody feel as if they are ignorant fools who know nothing about the automotive industry. Welcome to the amazing proton attorneys of paultan.org. Period.

• basheralwaysbasher on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:57 pm

If you give peanuts you will get monkeys
        It’s that simple

• neverbuyingfromSDACagain on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:57 am

dei.. u first time commenting on paultan ah?

P1 takes a bashing like nobody’s business, to the point sometimes i feel sorry for them. but whattodo, just like my family, we were taken for a ride by proton for a long time, not although we dont drive protons anymore, the general public is not willing to accept them back into their homes so easily.

• Overprice suv. Thats it

• After watching carbuyer.com.uk reviewed this car, erm….kinda dissapointed.

• seancorr on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:45 am

Hmmm I was initially interested to get this as my second vehicle but after watching some reviews done by overseas reviewers; my perception of this vehicle has changed.

Why? Its mainly got to do with the cheap stuff they used to build the interior & the boot opens sideways which is a downside especially when you reverse park or when you park at tight areas.

• just like that on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:48 am

matt hated this car! wow a first in carbuyer!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilt7CrYn358&list=UUULKp_WfpcnuqZsrjaK1DVw

• carbuyer on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:09 am

never before seen Matt point out so many negative point about a car. Seems this is a totally pointless car to buy.

• azhar on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:41 am

that bad huh?..im only consider buying it if it include the girls

• neverbuyingfromSDACagain on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:54 am

servicing price is reasonable?
      not in Malaysia… hahaha..

It also looks like SDAC went to a GRO joint and asked the captain for 4 girls to model this car. So if this is the case, it sums SDAC up really well.. we blind you with aesthetics, but the reality is far from pleasant.

• If anyone is at fault for the price here it is Peugeot. They are the first to re-ignite this mini-SUV segment and have the first say on the price. Ford and Honda are probably happy the baseline price is set high; they can always point their finger to the 2008 to justify their prices.

• Do you have any idea how much bigger the 2008’s boot and how much better the interior materials are? Your comment makes no sense. Even if the 2008 is not practical, at least there are people who likes the look of it. I have seen an ecosport, it looks even uglier in person, the cabin feels so cramped and in my seating position absolutely nobody can fit in the back.

• The reason for the around 100k pricing for a mini-SUV/Crossovers is because Peugeot launched first and priced it at 120k. Ford (and Honda) needs to take into account their rival prices. Even if their own model is severely lacking; they now can reason to price it high and make bigger profit per car.

If Honda launched first and priced the Vezel at 85k-95k (just an example), since there is no precedent, Ford will need to follow Honda’s lead and would try to match accordingly. If the 2008 was priced at RM105k; there is a possibility Ford might lower their price if they think the market perceive their package is not competitive.

• Btw, having spare tyre behind the car on the outside?????

• error on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:01 am

very nice girls……

• lazyf on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:34 am

Will consider Great Wall M4

• common sensor on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:52 am

The price of each brand in Malaysia (both CKD and CBU) is not a real reflection of market competitiveness because the calculation and how base price of tax calculation differs from one brand to another and never being made transparent by the government.

• farghmee on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:52 am

EuroNCAP how many * ?

• powershot (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:08 am

i have seen things that can;t be unseen

• chiobu on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:03 am

OMG!! the girls!!!!! smoking hot

• mmaker on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:19 am

Mr Anthony Lim must have some good time talking with that 4 hotties isnt it?

• This car damn ugly but the sexily MILF model is yummy …………

• I dont like the spare tyre hanging there, looks like kembara ….

• v-power on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:48 am

Saw the Carbuyer review (thanks for the heads up!)

Err…don’t know what else to add to that very enlightening review by Matt…well…there’s a very nice washing machine in one of the pics though…if that helps any…

• Baja Lapis Seng on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:51 pm

As much as I’m a loyal Ford guy, this pricing is ridiculous. Might as well get M4 with spare cash for a decent bike for those speed freaks.

• nickholden on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:23 am

Only click to see the girls and the black dress girl really worth seeing for.

• Dem legs…

• Bataman on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:23 am

Chicks not bad. Can buy.

• Pathetic….. pls grow up. Ur brain is as small as the engine minus the eco stuff

• rizal on Oct 11, 2014 at 6:45 pm

hi,

I work for Llumar. I would love to hire these show girls for my roadshow. Would anyone know who represents them? Or can someone put me in touch with the event organiser?

• Mohdnoor ahmad on May 04, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Y they put the spare tyre out side