LDP highway will be toll-free for Aug 31, Merdeka Day

LDP

This Sunday, which is Merdeka Day, will be a toll-free day for Damansara-Puchong Expressway users. LDP concessionaire Litrak has said that it will not charge motorists the regular RM1.60 fare on August 31.

The toll-free period is effective midnight and is applicable to all types of vehicles passing through Penchala, Petaling Jaya, Puchong Barat and Puchong Selatan toll plazas.

“We believe about 500,000 road users will enjoy the discount. We will absorb the RM800,000 in costs,” said Litrak CEO Sazally Saidi. The LDP Merdeka toll-free day has been going on since 2010.

Motorists on the Sprint Highway will get a 20 sen discount on August 31. Litrak is also the concessionaire for the Jalan Damansara alternative.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This is the time where mat rempits roam the street.

• Wow ! They will absorb the RM800,000 in costs! One day can make 800k from collecting toll. That’s just awesome for them.

• thefact on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

simple calculation… RM288 mil per year…

• Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:26 pm

With RM800,000 a day, a toll only make RM288mil a year.

Now Proton is begging RM1,600mil (5.5 times) from government, feel the power of that figure?

• armandd on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Ungrateful Malaysian. Toll increase you complain, no toll for a day also complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • guilt79 on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:36 pm

And they keep saying, not enough and keep extending..
        If collect another 10 years, can get RM2.8 billion. Guaranteed next gen no need to work.

• LDPToll on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:59 am

what 800k cost ? Open the toll gates cost so much money ? Claimed from govt. millions every year, pandai kira !

• Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:02 am

Toll free on Sunday?

You should give toll free for a week, like China does.

• rider on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:14 pm

toll free for a day. too good to resist. thank u LDP. Thank u Gov. Million thanks. im going to cancel all my appointments and going to drive along LDP all day long. Still cannot believe they give us Rakyat 1 day toll free using LDP!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Bataman on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Yeah…i called some of my friends, they are flying back from overseas to use the toll on 31st Aug 2014 and save RM1.60!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • keluangman on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:59 pm

sarcasm detected lol

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:21 pm

eh if so much money where is my cut

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Now my Maserati can zoom past the gates without poverty cars lining up blocking my way…

also, what costs is he talking about? from an economic point of view, those are profits which they are forgoing since LDP has recouped all their CAPEX many years ago, these are just free money flowing in from the gullible Malaysians driving cheap protons and peroduas to make ends meet

• merdeka only on merdeka day…other days are “mereka days”

• Most of motorist sudah balik kampung. toll free for what?

• ben yap on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Oklah, better than nothing.

Thank you Litrak for the thoughtfulness.

• Mr. Khan on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:28 am

RM800K in costs? or simple plain free money?
    Somebody need to teach them the meaning of word ‘cost’..