Proton Iriz and Proton Aero names filed for trademark

The much-rumoured ‘Proton Iriz’ name has just been registered with the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO) on August 15, pretty much confirming that the upcoming Proton P2-30A Global Small Car (GSC), or more recently known as the Proton Compact Car (PCC), will wear such a moniker.

As we now know, the B-segment five-door hatchback – to go directly against the popular Perodua Myvi, not the new A-segment Axia – will be offered with a choice of new 1.3 and 1.6 litre VVT engines when it goes on sale. With ABS, ESC stability control and six airbags, it’ll be a safe car too, with five-star ASEAN NCAP and ANCAP crash test ratings.

What is a real surprise, however, is that reader Ooi tipped us of two name filings by the first national carmaker, with the other being ‘Proton Aero’. What the Aero will be remains to be seen. It could be the name of Proton’s next model after the Iriz hatchback, or even a future concept car. Your guess is as good as ours, at this point in time.

So, Proton Iriz and Proton Aero. Just nice, overly fancy, or too un-Proton? Let your thoughts of the new names be heard in the comments below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• proton_ini_apaq on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:31 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 150
    • frossonice on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:10 am

I don’t know. I rather have a car with no balls than having one and being mock at.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:38 am

Ball or no balls. Just talk about Proton will do.

Nice name, Global name indeed.
        Proton Iris to the global.

Proton king of road and RV, Tun love spyshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • sawi kangkung on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:46 am

Hahaha! Follow the name of Proton fanboi macai here kah??

Proton Aero, Proton KZM, Proton Peyno, Proton Ahbeng, Proton Obviously

By macai, for macai…terbaikk lah Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:34 am

since when i became p1 fanboi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Why you so shame supporting proton? People respect Proton owner wei…

One day there will be Proton BengSupporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • same old comments..

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:46 am

lol, I didn’t know that I’m a P1 fanboy.

• Abah Ko on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:49 pm

ada aku kesah??? suka hati aku la! pedulik apa ko kata.. aku pakai Proton ok aje, aku punya suka la hhahaha.. P2 pun aku prnah pakai, ok jugak, x da masalah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:38 pm

oiii im not proton fans… but im appreciate ehat proton doing now

my 6 years stay in japan.. drive real JDM car and thise ah beng n perodua salesman who cant afford real jdm really make me sick

baru jadi salesman n pakai kereta perodua dah perasan jepun dahhh

nippon jin wannabe yamete kure yoooo

nasakenaii

• proton_ini_apaq on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:32 am

Dey shud name it as Proton (XT) -Xde Telor-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 87
    • Asiah Lawa on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:00 am

Satu syarat dalam peraduan menamakan model GSC ialah nama mesti dalam Bahasa Malaysia. Iriz & Aero ni dari BM ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • Kreygasm on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Shots fired!

• Low Budget on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Proton nak expot ke seluruh dunia, sebab tu kena guna nama mat salleh.

• Asiah Lawa on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Habis tu kenapa buat syarat mcm tu?

• zaman on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:54 am

Iriz could stem from the word but p1 alter it a bit…just like what they do when naming exora isn’t…the name of the flower is ixora….n it was taken from a similar contest remember?

• Iriz could derive from iris (eye) which was already accepted as a malay word

Aero is also accepted as a Malay word as in aerodinamik or aeroangkasa.

So what’s the issue?

• AVH (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:43 am

Loyal Proton enthusiast, AERO!! You’re Famous, theres a , or there will be a Proton named after you.

Now to submit my proposal to Lamborghini on their next car to be called Lamborghini AVH(Aventador Veneno Huracan)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:40 am

That’s the first thing I thought of as well. Aero is gonna have a car named after him!

No excuse. Whatever it is, he must buy it.

• Aero (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Eh, no lah….. AVH & Obviously, you guys flatter me, but I think this is just some HUGE coincidence ! O.O

No way Proton would name a car after some unknown guy who has been Proton’s internet defence attorney since 2012 here on paultan.org’s comment section, who also edits all of Proton’s Wikipedia articles (alone, because no other Malaysian is willing to), and preserves all of Proton’s (new and old) products by means of quality photos for all the world to enjoy….. no that’s not enough for a car company to name their car after someone…. but either way, Proton Aero or Proton Iriz, I’ve already been considering it since last year as a replacement to my good ‘ol 2007 Saga…. and since there is still no Suprima S/ Prevé 6-spd manual (my first choice), and if it’s really called ‘Proton Aero’ …. then I probably might just have to force my parents to buy it for me (cause 2018 is just too long a wait ’till graduation!) :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • I suggest u keep using ur 2007 proton saga till you graduate. Then only bought a new car from your own income rather then request ur parent buy it for you.

• no name on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:04 pm

actually they did have the 6mT version of suprima n preve…but i dunno why the management delay the production…last time i saw them during internal circuit testing..both cars are quite fast..maybe only for r3 division…we still can hope then…

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:33 am

Heh, just pulling your leg, mate. I think it’s a coincidence as well, actually. Harking back to the Aeroback days, I think Proton was quite fond of that word. Perhaps that why you chose Aero to be your nick as well, because of the Aerobacks.
          So it might be a coincidence born of interest.

• Rhino on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:47 am

Aero, your car :P

• Aero (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:14 pm

LOL no lah, there are a lot of things with ‘Aero’ in it…. there’s Saab’s Aero cars, the SSC Aero, Windows Aero, and hundreds of airlines which start with ‘Aero’.

I doubt Proton chose the name ‘Aero’ after me, it’s statistically unlikely (but still possible nonetheless!).

• So Aero, you working with Proton izzit? You are the one who registered the AERO name to MyIPO izzit?

Before you get mad, I’m just teasing you only okey..but the coincidence is uncanny..or izzit?

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:08 am

Or you are say Lamrborghini AVH (Adult Video Hamburger)?

The Iriz and Aero will be selling fast. Proton is for the smart people. They can leave other car in dust anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • GT3 (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:17 pm

I think the name Proton Iriz and Aero are commercial enough to go global. But why on Earth do Proton needs to create new name, even using stupid nama siapa hebat contest and stuffs. If it’s a Savvy replacement model, just name it Savvy. If it’s Satria replacement model, just name it Satria. No need to add Neo behind Satria or add BLM behind Saga.
      Just name it that way, so that Proton models could have its own legacy. Take Honda for example. Civic and Accord just keep on named that way, even generation after generation. Other example: Toyota Camry, Porsche 911, Volkswagen Golf, Nissan Skyline.
      I would be pleased to see new 2015 Proton Wira or 2016 Proton Satria coming up, if there is any.

• mmaker on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:45 am

Proton Aeroback? Just like in 90’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • rotipisang on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:45 am

P1 learnt well from P2 leakage model name Axia..this time they register 2 names to confuse people..My bet the real name is Iriz..Irish sangatt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • proton fans on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:17 am

there will be 2 model, please read before comment, the short hatchbacks probally called aero and sedan called iriz, 2 different name with same car, why can’t they just make it as other international car manufacturer example of model A sedan, model A hatchback, I dunno what strategy they thinking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • qwerty on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:31 am

Exactly! This reduces R&D cost while expanding their line up to give people more choices. “One stone few birds”.

Look at the M.Benz A-Class or Audi A1. They are turned into sedan (CLA), hot-hatch(well, a derivative from the original one), wagon (soon-to-come A-class Shooting-Brake), CUV (GLA-Class). Proton should do the same thing to save cost and to expand their line up.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:16 pm

iriz…. the nsme sooo urban
      unlike petodua aziah
      soo kampung name

• Albert Lee on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:01 am

Alto names are important,for Proton,the important thing is this new model can sell and beat the Myvi,which has already exceeded its product life cycle.
    Those days,we have Arena,Savvy,the boxy mini MPV,and now Suprima……all FAILED miserably.
    All the GAYA,SYIOK,PERLINDUNGAN will come and haunt Proton if this GSC cant even compete locally.
    Dont talk about the international market yet.
    Proton,as much as we wish you well,you are not out of the woods yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • lexfu on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:15 am

I don’t think they’re even in the woods man, lost somewhere further.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:42 am

They’re lost in the haunted woods of consumer disappointment where the ghosts of the past keep coming back to reduce their sales.

• shiela on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:32 am

how do you know Suprima is a failure?have you test drive it?have you sit in the car?i bet no. or probably you are the one that monitor the sales volume?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:09 pm

From engineering stand point, the car is not a failure, but definitely a failure in terms of sales figures.

• Albert Lee on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Mdm,you can buy a Suprima 2013 unit at rm 8,000 discount.Now is reaching Merdeka,imagine 2013 stocks still sunbathing at the test tracks/storage yards at shah alam.
        Is this a sign of overwhelming sales?
        Use your common sense.No need rocket science,right?

• Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Agree, Albert Lee you are objective and focus on the topic – car. Well said!

• junkard on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Vios catfish and Uncle Altis are also failure

• Albert Lee on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Same Lorr,we are definitely on the same wavelength,unlike the Proton fanboys who wish people to talk half-truths,fanciful”syiok sendiri,everlasting perlindungan” crap.
        It does not matter they hate my remarks ,cos time will tell the SYIOK FAILURE statistics until DRB decides to abandon national service.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:41 am

Yes, the biggest difference between us and them (Ah Beng, ProtonGSC, Ah Beng supporter etc.) is: We don’t love a particular brand blindly.

I am fine if you are driving Honda, Ford, Great Wall, even Kia, Hyundai, Tata.

We talked on fact, no need personal insult calling ppl stupid, brainless, idiot, org kampung.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:33 pm

protected market like proton n perodua rite

banned indonesia made ayla( aziah) just to protect our nasional car peridua
      sell otherimport compact car swift , jazz, polo, rio expensive.. just to protect si called nasional compact car maker

pssttt… tgk dia reply camne…

set2 tu jerrrr

orffthhhhh

• Persona Aeroback
    Preve Aeroback
    Saga Aeroback

• proton fans on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:20 am

Why dun named like ubin & ibin
    aero & aera
    iriz & irax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:22 am

when proton semi value out?

• mooni on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Stop making other name a joke here. That’s so stupid and pathetic.

• Aero….that doesn’t sound cool…bet those proposing are those 80’s pimps at the executives…Iriz…hmmm seems Gen-Y enough for me..

• B segment? Silap hari, might be smaller than Axia A segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • nzain on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:43 am

frankly both of the names doesnt appropriate…not really sound as a global car to me hoh

• elpaciko on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:44 am

saga iswara wira satria perdana…

esprit elan elise exige…

Proton used to have a little bit of identity in the name of its models, just like lotus. Proton SHOULD keep this tradition and use names that end with letter “a”. I really dont understand, because its not that hard. For quick example, they could use Prevea.. Iriza…

• Considering a proton on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:11 am

Iriz follows the trend of using weird names like Preve and Suprima that I hope Proton stops. Aero is the better name of the two but I want Proton to go back and use BM names for it’s products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • I’ve loved protons ever since my dad’s first Proton Saga megavalve…hopefully this new Proton will carry a whole new meaning to the quality of Proton cars…all models after the Perdana are just not up to standard…

• sham-xturbo on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Tat means u fell in love wit mitsubishi cars la.
      Inspira methinks is currently the best proton.
      Says a lot about proton!!!
      After so many years, their best car is still a rebadge!!!
      Next best car in the future…….accordana!!!

• klguy on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

why do malaysian car manufacturers have to give a new name whenever there is a replacment. just maintain viva and savvy la. it only happens in this country. look at toyota, its been corolla since the 60s.

• You are right..
      Proton keep on changing names..my 5 years old son may not remember persona or saga soon..

• sham-xturbo on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Tat is based on simple logic. When a “name” or brand is a failure, better to simply retire it or ppl will link the current car with the stigma of the previous model.
      Will anybody go near the gsc if proton calls it the “savvy”???

• Dragon on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:51 am

IRIZ — sound sissy
    AERO — outdated 90s name

Proton ah proton, u can’t even have a good name for a new car.
    Saya pasar malam punya orang pun tau gave a good name lar.

Proton ARIES , TAURUS, GEMINI,LEO….BLAH BLAH BLAH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • please on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Please, please let it be Aero.. Iriz doesnt sound good for me because the spelling should be iris, it’s much more acceptable than Iriz which sound like a ‘minta puji perasan cute’ kinda name..

• Toyota vios on Aug 26, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Proton is a global car, it met all the international standard. We have the greatest automotive engineering in the R&D works for all the new Proton models.

So, if you do not have enough money to buy Proton , work harder, you can make it in another few years time.

Proton ia only mean for those smart and rich people.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Proton is a global car which only laku in Malaysia. Because it is known as world-class crap car, that’s why foreigners don’t even bother to test drive it.

You can be rich or poor to buy Proton, but one thing for sure: Proton will make you poorer and poorer, because you gonna spend much more changing this and that when your Proton break down.

Proton is only for those Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok people. They always get high out of nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:38 pm

u remind me of perodua

jaguh kampung inly laku in boleh land due to protection

• kumar on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:05 pm

we dont care about the name. we need good cars. TOO LATE PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • azlan on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:00 pm

kumar says:
      26/8/2014 at 4:05 pm
      we dont care about the name. we need good cars. TOO LATE PROTON!

Better late than never

• lousy proton on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:32 pm

dont even bother goto showroom when name ‘campro’ is there…

• Consumer on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:10 pm

I used to own a Wira 1.6xli Aeroback manual as my first car. Loved it so much with not much disappointment. I mention this is so that you Proton supporters don’t think I’m a Proton basher but I’m trying to voice my opinion of Proton’s wrong strategy in designing their cars and target market segments.

I’ve noticed this for a long time now, ever since the production of the TIARA. Proton always say they produce good cars at a cheap price for the rakyat. yeah they do achieve this but always neglected the maintenance cost which affected the resale value of all their cars.

I was most disappointed by the Suprima S. I almost bought it when it was launched and partially due to my love for the old wira aeroback.

It’s supposed to be a C segment car designed to cater for the people with B segment budget. This meaning it should be economical. However, when I went to the showroom where I was seriously disappointed. First of all, the FC is bad, the tire replacement price is a killer and maintenance cost is high. So how do Proton expect someone like me who can afford a B segment car to buy an maintain a Suprima S? The marketing strategy and its design is way off side.

Btw… I end up buying a 2nd hand Waja and changed to Mivec engine.

So please don’t bash me for not being a proton supporter but seriously someone should knock some sense into Proton designers and strategist.

Even my GF who don’t know much about cars tell me not to buy the suprima S that day showing to me the gaps between panels are uneven all around the car.

I was not surprised to understand that suprima S owners loss more than 20k selling their used car which is insane for a B segment car.

• Neutron on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:27 pm

K.

• if u have b segment budget buy a b segment not c segment. Live within your means. If cannot maintain suprima buy viva, super cheap to maintain.

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Iriz, difficult to pronounce.
    Aero? Why not Aereo, or Aeroe? The meaning is there, but not the exact word, just like Estima.

• Haishhhh.. dulu masa buat contest, suruh letak nama dari Bahasa Malaysia. sekarang tiba2 Aero pulak.. sorry, i bukan sekolah tinggi2 smpai masters atau sarjana bahasa melayu.. so x pandai sgt bab2 huruf ni..

• Teksi Drebar on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:40 pm

I think the name ‘Proton’ itself should be dropped and they come out with something else. Maybe that rebranding might work for them and help them to move on to the future. With the current one, whatever model they come out with, people would still bash it and say proton here and that. They can’t get away from being ‘a Proton’. If there is so much negativity associated to a name that adversely affect an image, then change it. I believe this can be a hot debate, should Proton change its entire name altogether?

• Albert Lee on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:19 pm

How about Protong,Potong,Protein,Kosong,Tolong,Kangkong,King Kong?
      The Proton DNA is a failed DNA,no matter how beautiful the name is.Look at the mess at MAS.Proton is not very far,as far as performance is concerned.

• proton ERROR.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:40 pm

aziah … kampung name

jawa ppl pronounce Ajiahhhh

iriz… soooo urbannn

• Bataman on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Seriously…IRIZ is a terrible name….and AERO…WTF…

Can’t they have better names??

Like Proton Atom! Proton Electron!

Err…wait…forget it.

I know i know!!! Proton MYCAR!! Sure will beat that crap MYVI!!!! Because a Myvi is NOT a car!!!!

• fazzzinia on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:48 am

Hahah ya its terrible
      I think Proton Upin , Proton Ipin is the best for 2 different variants model. Easy and simple, and no confuse

• Yazid on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Maybe the Proton Aero is the car that has the Exora facelift that has been spotted at snow for testing

• Im Malaysian on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:18 pm

since drb amik alih proton..ni keluaran pertama mereka..so, juz wait nd c

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Proton Aero is either a turbo Suv or 4 door sedan…The clay model at Tg Malim spotted by someone.VVT meaning using timing chain..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:06 am

using timing chain???
      that old tech KE engine???

no no…

• BuRaIaN on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:56 am

If Aero will be name of the booted version of the Iris hatch, I will die laughing.

• shidi on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Iriz..lepas ni bole jadikan awie jadi duta..dan lagu iris sebagai lagu tema..hahahaha

• Why use so many new name? all using same Campro engine?

Just make new gen of Wira, Waja, Putra and use back the name la.

• faridmalaysia on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:53 pm

im going to book for it.. myvi mahal orang x komplen.. ini spec best dari myvi.. sama harga myvi.. org komplen.. go proton.. i had wira, waja, savvy, satria neo and now im going to get iriz :D

• siapa yg bg nma iriz ni??