2015 Volvo XC90 leaked – full details to come later

volvo-xc90-1-0014

After 12 long years since the first generation model debuted in 2002, the Volvo XC90 finally receives a second generation. It will make its world debut in its hometown of Sweden tomorrow but as usual, photos of the car have leaked onto the internet, allowing us a first look at the family SUV.

All petrol variants of the XC90 will be powered by Volvo’s 2.0 litre Drive-E engine, which tops out as a hybrid T8 with a combined 400 horsepower. The hybrid can do 40 km in EV mode. The next rung down is the T6, which has a 320 horsepower output. For fans of oil burners, the D5 will do 225 horsepower from its twin-turbo diesel engine. All engines are mated to an eight-speed auto.

We’ll be back with full details once the full press kit is out. For now, read our Volvo XC90 infohub and have a look after the jump for the full gallery and start dreaming!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the front end have some cues from Jaguar and BMW. still nice !

• rifle on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:13 pm

hope if/when it comes to malaysia, the price will be nice too

• tricycle on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Looks good. Hopefully with T6 and AWD the price wouldn’t be that much in entering our market.

• shawal on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Ckd that suv!….
    And dunt leave out the b&w aound system!

• brazbuz on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Looks like range rover redesign by ikea designer…

• zamer on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:26 pm

aww..i was expecting some spectacular design..after looking at the rear, its a bit let down where it looks quite heavy and lazy…

would be nice if similar rear design with range rover sport to match the cool interior.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Lovely lovely lovely!

This has to be a real Ikea Meatball Swedish Furniture (insert Swedish things here) slap in the face for the X5, Q7 and ML class. The Q7’s age, and the X5 and ML’s rather sombre interior looks nothing like this new XC90s.

Not to mention, unlike the older one, the curves make it look much nicer.

But I think by far the best colour you can have this in is black. Just look at how badass that thing will look in your rear view mirror.

Volvo, well done. Price it right okay?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:32 pm

i was hoping it look a bit sleeker like the concepts

• zeek (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Its nice but not quite what I expected. I was looking forward to something jaw droppingly beautiful, but then again this is Volvo not Alfa Romeo. and I cant help but thinking that the windows looks a bit Toureg-ish

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Few days ago I read about a guy bot 300k Volvo.. ve meter panel ve defects.. end up they said don’t ve expertise to repair it.. (malay newspaper) what a nightmare. . This the second incident I heard about Volvo.. the first belong to one of my boss.. the driver said service centre can’t solve some issues..

Volvo…. hrmmm… safest car.. but.. but..

Ah.. Never mind. . Beli sajalah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Obviously (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Something about the front end looks…off…

Like the grille isn’t big enough or the Volvo logo and stripe doesn’t stand out enough. Not enough presence. I guess Volvo’s just going for an understated design. I’ll have to go with sudonano on this one: black has the most presence.

The real show stopper is the interior. Looks so plush and well-appointed; the best wood trim I’ve seen so far. The driver and passengers would be real happy for years to come.

• walau on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:02 pm

am excited but don’t think i can ever afford this, especially the 400hp T8 lagi syok but price also must be lagi best

• W204 C63 AMG on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:10 pm

This, with the Range Rover Sport are what SUVs should look like.

• Front lamp look like Hyundai IX25

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Yea yea, you are right. Every car on earth looks like a Hyundai or Kia.

Oh, and you would think that the Koreans invented automobiles, wouldn’t you?

• nabill (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:59 am

I cant put my finger on it bt the front looks like one of those american SUV’s that r not available here…or is it the 2015 subaru outback …..??
    and the rear 3 quarter, it definitely resembles sting ive seen b4….
    I dont kno usually volvo’s have authentic original designs but this definatly not it…

• gaviny on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:02 am

very polarizing design meaning there will be two distinct camps, one loves it one hates it, like current Lexus designs

• Jilbaber on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:14 am

Ugh..I hate that driver facing center dash…wish the made it in symmetrical line..otherwise this car is perfect !

• beopen on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:01 am

Suprima s tail end spotted.

• qwerty on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:17 am

The powertrain is quite interesting.

A turbocharged 2.0L making more than 300hp won’t be too frugal; so it’s interesting to see what Volvo has done to tweak the hybrid system to achieve the balance.

Anyway, well done Volvo.

• farhat on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:41 am

Love it, still has the cue of the first gen and looks fresh yet mature.

Though the rear reminds me of Kia Rondo.

CKD malaysia please. Tp macam la aku boleh afford pon. :(

• IDGAS on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:58 am

I am loving the car so much. Volvo never cease to surprise me. Am driving the 1st gen XC90 and though its an old car, it still makes me so in-love with it every time I get to drive it, usually am driving the XC60 to work. Can’t wait for this one to be out in the market. Hopefully the price itself isn’t so pocket-burning. Great job Volvo!!!