ASEAN NCAP Q3 2014 test results announced: Perodua Axia, Honda City, Honda Jazz and Tata Vista

Perodua-Axia

The New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) today released the latest round of test results at the ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards in Kuching, Sarawak – four models make up the set for Q3 2014 testing, which is part of the agency’s move towards a more frequent “test-and-publish” programme following the conclusion of its three-phase pilot project.

The four vehicles that underwent the latest round of crash test evaluation are the 2014 Honda City and 2014 Honda Jazz, the Tata Vista and the upcoming Perodua Axia. The result summary for the vehicles in both Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) and Child Occupant Protection (COP) is as follows:

• Perodua Axia 1000-E built 2014, MY2014 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars
  • Honda City SV built 2014, MY2014 – Adult: 5 stars (4 stars, two airbags), Child: 4 stars
  • Honda Jazz SV, built 2014, MY2014 – Adult: 5 stars (4 stars, two airbags), Child: 4 stars
  • Tata Vista GZX 1.4L built 2014, MY2014 – Adult: 3 stars, Child: 3 stars

The Tata Vista, which scored 9.24 points out of a possible 16 in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP), is produced in India and is only available in Indonesia and Myanmar. The agency says that this is the first time a car of Indian manufacturing origin has undergone ASEAN NCAP assessment.

Both Honda City and Jazz models that were tested were Thai-built models for the Thailand market, with the six airbags variant scoring five stars, and the two airbag version obtaining four stars. In the AOP rating, the Honda City broke the record score in ASEAN NCAP testing by managing 15.80 points, surpassing the previous high of 15.73 points obtained by the Ford Fiesta. The Jazz scored 15.58 points.

The Perodua Axia, meanwhile, has the honour of being the first vehicle in the evaluation programme to be launched into the market with ASEAN NCAP results, and is set to be the most affordable 4-star car (in both AOP and COP) in the ASEAN region, according to the agency. It managed an AOP score of 12.91.

Read all about our ASEAN NCAP coverage, including Phase I, Phase II and Phase III test results from the pilot project.

2014 Perodua Axia test result data

2014 Honda City test result data

2014 Honda Jazz test result data

2014 Tata Vista test result data

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• eimsperfume on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:19 pm

conclusion here..

dont buy the more expensive honda city or jazz.. buy axia

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 30
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:53 pm

That’s rather misleading.

A major shortcoming of the ASEAN NCAP is that it still doesn’t take into account side collision safety. The Jazz is superior to the Axia if you factor in a side impact test. Furthermore, the Jazz achieved acceptable results on the IIHS small front overlap test which netted it the Top Safety Pick+ (iirc). No mean feat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Hello, Proton fanboys. Where is your 5 star GSC??

End up just another Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok on the mystery GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 76
        • Proton will always be the last to present their result. Need to prepare GSC+ and GSC++ leh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
        • victor tan (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Obviously you are new.

He is one of the most unbias ppl I seen around here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Thanks. :)

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:22 pm

I never call people stupid, idiot, retard, bodoh etc. You don’t buy Toyota you no need get out of Malaysia/Japan. All are about cars.

Everything is fact based.
            Vios has no VSC – fact
            Toyota sells good – fact
            Perodua Axia cheap – fact
            Perodua Axia 4 star safety – fact
            Proton delay GSC launch till unknown date – fact
            Proton beg for RM1.6bil – fact

You buy Perodua/Proton, you are not poor or lousy. Real Same L0rrr has no discrimination on car owners.

But Proton lousy build quality definitely keep you poorer after being garage’s VIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Eh, real Same L0rrr, why don’t you register your nick? Keeps people from hijacking your nick for stupid comments, like how kzm always got cloned before paultan.org had this feature.

• driver on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

hi Same Lorr perodua diehard fanboy,

we’re talking PURELY about safety here. why are you ignoring the fact that iriz is safer than axia?

5 star (ANCAP) vs. 4 star (ASEAN NCAP): which one is better? don’t bring in built quality just yet ok.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:31 pm

normal to see UMW crony sporean shareholder salesman own perodua coz cant afford Real japanese or even UMW product

lately umw salesman butthurt coz we see more new city n accord than vios, camry

so to calm them down… they compare with ptoton not even dare compare eith drb honda

prffthhhhh

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:48 pm

nobody cares asean ncap.. low class n tak laku at most civilised countries

• I’m not a Proton fanboys
          Bro..read this:
          http://www.themalaymailonline.com/drive/article/proton-preve-suprima-s-get-five-star-asean-ncap-test-rating

think before talk bro..or else people will just see u as another cock douchbag

• Same L0rrr on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:19 pm

sorry… im idiot…

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:39 pm

They didn’t say they would take side collisions into account, however the 2 airbag cars are rated at 4 stars only, while with the same number of points the 6 airbag ones are awarded 5 stars. Also please note the Axia got fewer points than both Hondas (which have enough to get a 5 star rating, at least in the frontal impact test).

There is no mentioning of side impact = pass, which could mean that it failed and that’s the reason why they only got 4 stars? Why didn’t they mention the failure though? Want to protect Honda? It is all a bit confusing.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:25 pm

They’re degraded due to the exclusion of VSC/ESP, Base spec City/Jazz El-cheapoi do not come with VSC/ESP and also only 2-airbags. remember that VSC is a requirement to achieve 5-star NCAP(all NCAP).

• Well lets take a look at the Australia NCAP test for the previous generation City. As they have yet to test the latest model i can only provide the scores for the previous generation City.

The tested car has 6 airbags with ESP equipped.
          Front Impact test: 14.47/16.00
          Side Impact test: 15.02/16.00
          Additional 2 points were awarded for passing the Pole Impact test.
          Total score of 33.49/37.00

This shows that Honda City does score very well especially in the side impact. Not sure what sort of theory you are spouting about protecting Honda here as results shows that there is no such thing.

The current model tested under ASEAN NCAP shows a higher front impact score over the older model thus it should be safer and score as high for the side impact.

4 star rating for the base model City is due to exclusion of ESP thus does not qualify for the 5 star rating. Other than that the body structure is still as strong in the base model over the V spec.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:55 pm

They actually went one-step furthur in the US in regards to the safety. The pre-production Jazz actually failed in the small overlap test, scoring a poor back in March. Honda went to the extand of stopping the order books and delaying deliveries until a problem is found and they’ve found it…..a simple extra welding in one of the bumper beam(the metal immediately after the plastic bumper front). So it than achieved an ‘acceptable’ ratings in June.

12,000 existing 3rd gen Honda Fit owners in US are notified and a fix can be done by any Honda US SC for free. Its a 30 minute fix that includes replacing the entire front bumper beam.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:13 am

I have to believe my eyes that Axia – Driver head cracked

Anyone can explained why its still scored 4 stars even driver head cracked ???

• Totally agree with you AVH. The safety in regards to Honda cars is quite admirable.

Kadawaji do you know that the current new generation of Honda cars like Jazz, Civic and Accord all were nominated as top safety picks(Jazz) and top safety picks plus (Accord,Civic) under the IIHS. Civic is one of the highest scorer in its segment under Australia NCAP and scored 94% under Euro NCAP.

So do you still think ASEAN NCAP is there just to protect Honda???

• dugong x on Nov 01, 2018 at 2:38 pm

My friends mother is still in hospital after 1 year due to side impact from another car hitting her Axia. Axia really use paper door only. You open the door and see its 2 fingers thick only. Even motorbike crash on your side also dangerous.
        Axia really should get only 1 star if add in side impact test

• kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Lol…I think u misunderstand. The test assume that u collide with similar mass vehicle. So when ur 4 star A-segment car collide with 4 star D-seg car, u suffer more. can check any ncap in the world to confirm…

• kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:39 pm

This cannot believe me..this from asean ncap site

Will a large car and a small car perform the same in a collision if both scored the same stars in ASEAN NCAP?

Large and small car results cannot be taken as an apple-to-apple comparison. This is because the frontal offset test simulates a collision with another car of similar mass and in the same category, in which the mass is in the range of ±150kg (recommended range for comparison) and the height is about the same. In fact, the occupants of the heavier car or the car with higher structure tend to fare better than the occupants in lighter and lower car. On another note, it is not possible to simulate the influence of mass in a test against a fixed barrier

• We still remember the news where Vios and Waja head on collision. Waja driver died. So much for a C-segment and “stronger” steel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Things can always go wrong. It isn’t written in stone that bigger cars would always protect their occupants well when it collides with a smaller car. Kinematics are very complicated.

The fact that it happened that way shows that Proton’s safety package was not as good as it should be.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Lousy C segment vs ok B segment. B segment wins.

Proton has come a long way since the Waja.

• iomasurk on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Waja already EOL, Vios is still here with innovative zinc roof!
            LOLOLOLOLOLOL

• Corporal on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I have always thought Preve was one of the safest cars in Msia as was promoted by Proton. Looking at the results even the City scored better then the Preve in adult and child safety. Now i know which car to get for my family.

• dissy on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:16 pm

B segment vs B segment, why compare City with Preve?

• Of course still selling because they can sell. Only idiot stops their best seller model and sells models that not many want to buy.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:29 pm

kzm, that isn’t always the case. Some car manufacturers are testing their small cars against large cars. Honda has a testing facility where they crash their small cars, such as the Jazz, against large cars to test structural integrity. Mercedes-Benz does the same with their smart cars, as we’ve seen recently from a smart fortwo crash test against an MB S-class.

http://youtu.be/v708z67ALww

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:33 pm

But I get what you mean. The NCAP tests have their limits because it doesn’t account for safety in a collision against a larger vehicle.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Car safety is to protect passenger, not engine! Engines, radiator, hood and trunk are all crumple zone to absorb impact. Thus u see Perodua/Toyota/Honda scattered around during crash, and thought it is milo tin.

If the impact is not absorbed, it will be transferred to the passenger directly, then u see less damaged car with dead bodies.

Too sad a lot of Malaysian (especially those Proton fanboys) don’t understand it.

Human life and the engine, which one is more important? Use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
        • noname on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:25 pm

I think you mistaken Toyota fanboy with Proton. The last I know, when the preve crashed with engine dropped out, proton fanboy did not says that it’s a tin milo. Unfortunately, others did.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Yes, I agree Preve does a good job on this with the engine drop. But how many Preve on the road? How cheap is the Preve?

Why do the Proton fanboys have to so proud and syok of nothing while MOST Proton cars on the road now are still Iswara, Wira, Waja, Saga, Persona?? ARE THEY SAFE?

Some more Proton build quality cost the current drivers so much changing this and that. You never know when it will break down again. How do you expect them to have enough saving to change to Preve, while they already paid so much to garage?

If most of the Preve are in warehouse (because existing drivers have no money to change, those who can afford Preve turn to Toyota/Almera/Honda/Kia), what is point having so awesome safety features with warehouse/showroom car?

you get my points?

Current Proton drivers in danger with crap build quality.

Prospective buyer turn away from Proton.

Proton making lose then ask government aid.

Government short of money, increase tax.

Who benefit? No ONE!!!

No one get benefit, why Proton fanboys syok??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Yes, I do read the incident that engine dropped suddenly in the mid of driving due to unknown reason. Its still danger to all the road users.

Its the same philosophy that as long as the campro can mive the tons of object, or as long as turbo added to campro and that is it.

It doesn’t matter about others factors refinement such as fuel consumption, etc…

If we talk about German Engineering, you will found:
            -Precision
            -Accurate
            -Persistent
            In all factors covered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Ononimos on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:39 pm

SameLorrrrr~ Toyota Altis is safer than Preve/Suprima lorh because the number is far less on the road. In show room only!!! Hahahahaha. Pawned!!

• yushu on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:33 pm

see.. when Just So Call automotive expertise talk like a junk. Same Lorr, did you know the momentum = mass x velocity^2

if you dont know what is momentum..go ask Mr Google. Mass play a main role for crash test. since speed of the car is same during test, however their momentum are not same. Axia is low on their mass compared to other car..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:42 pm

That’s why modern cars (like Axia, Preve, Vios, City etc) has crumple zone to absorb the impact energy, and reinforced cabin to stand the impact.

All crash test done at 60km/h, if your Suprima S kena hit by lorry at 100km/h, you think you can survive? Don’t be naive.

I didn’t say Axia can withstand big lorry or high speed impact. Even Ferrari couldn’t. The NCAP show it is doing good (4 star) securing PASSENGER at reasonable speed and impact.

Understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Today i personally just witnessed an accident on the federal highway involving a locally made car 10 years ago which does not have ABS or ESP. The said car applied emergency brake, the wheels locked as there were lots of white smoke coming from the tires. The car then lost control and swerved to the left at first but ended up swerve right hard and crashed into construction barriers and was lifted up into the air due to the barriers wedged under the car.

As i got to see first hand how a car without ABS and ESP can so easily lose control at speeds of under 60km/h i will never buy a car without the full compliment of safety features ever. My advice to everyone is do not take safety for granted and if you can afford it get a safe car with ABS,EBD,ESP and 6 airbags.

• peynohater on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:26 pm

good job perodua..2 airbags enough to get 4 stars.. the body must be rigid and strong..bkn tin milo lagi…looks,a pillar not bend..Actually, only town peoples/educated peoples know about safety with 6 airbags ,vsc and so on..if you go to the rural areas, what safety features you want this car to be equipped with ? 2 airbags sudah cukup maa..i bukan beli itu keta 70k ketas punya harga..vios pon ada itu 2 airbags saja.(it’s proven when i join the survey almost all states in Malaysia(except klang valley)..anyway good try from plotong if they want to educate people.if x laku..just waste duit takyat..opss.we’ll see later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 46
    • prolever on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Bro,
      size those matter.
      if Axia hit with Waja Or the old toyota vios, There’s diff story for the driver and passenger.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Really?

With no crumple zone designed in Waja, I don’t think so.

Check up the crash video between big Volvo 940 with Renault Modus (Myvi size).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emtLLvXrrFs&w=250

Size doesn’t matter all the time, it is all about the design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Good video bro.. now2. . Kzm can be a test dummy for Saga BLM. . He can be a dummy too..

Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

yes can no problem…provided that the car that I need to crash has to be lower star same segment or smaller than my car…obviously I havr lower chances to survive with car that has higher star (same segment or above) or crash to bigger car even those car has 1 star.. smaller car I have higher chances to survive provided I wear seatbelt n u have to buy me new car lah.

ps: What with same l0rrr comparing old cars?

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Ok2…

Now we ve to wait for Axia to crash test with you.. sabar ya..

Meanwhile since you ready to die in your BLM.. I suggest you try crash test on your own first.. go crash into a tree at 80kmp. Ok? Make sure you record the test.

I ll sponsor you a camera man.. & a coffin too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • samelorstpd on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Volvo 940 is already going into longkang with tin milo Vios

• pirlo on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:30 am

macam budak-budak.

pejuang papan kekunci.

hehe.

• Asean NCAP no side impact test, that’s why got 4 star.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:23 pm

They do side impact tests. They just won’t rate them or publish the results.

• jibby on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:12 pm

u think other vehicle will only bump to ur front car only ka? (where 2 airbags or 9 airbags did not make any difference). what if side collision happened? a car or lorry hit ur car from the side? that’s the use of 6 airbags d’uh.. if u only have 2 airbags, side collision will became pretty messy, with no side airbags to reduce the impact & protect ur head. so if u confidence u will only have frontal collision until the day u die, 2 airbags is enough

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:51 pm

proton n peynohaters= perodua salesman n fanboy japan wannabe but cant afford real japs car

peyno 6 years in japan

• Subframe on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:36 pm

We dont know that the A-pillar actually buckled or not. The picture shown at time BEFORE rebound. You can check that the dummy has not landed on airbag perfectly. The tire barely left the ground.

• Iriz got 5 star. Tq.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Oh yeah. . Tgk segment lah bro..

Tgk harga juga.. blm berani kasi tau harga. . Booking pon x boleh lagi..

Tp mcm biasa proton macai bw kereta fikir nak accident & half dead trrw.

Attitude bro.. attitude. . MIROS said many times dy..

Want 10 stars also can.. drive a tank.

Hahaha. . Lawak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • motorbart on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Can you control others attitude so that no accident happens?
        Sometimes it’s not you who make the fault, it’s others

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

I heard the Iriz can land on the moon and travel to Mars in 15 mins? Only 5 stars? It is so disappointing man! I am expecting 15 stars, since the Proton fanboys are so syok of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Agreed motorbart..But if a drunk lorry driver collided with you while driving even your super Suprima S.. tell me if you can survive. .

Remember. . Paul Walker did not die in a Myvi or Vios..

The point it experts said it dy.. Attitude is the main cause..it didn’t say how many stars you ve..
          All tests are under control situations. . & most of modern cars today ve enough safety under normal situation to keep you alive..

& again. . Not after you can provide stat or figures on which car lead to most fatalities. . Please don’t talk kork..

It may end up proton’s.. who knows.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Yes, so far Proton has the most fatality cases on Malaysian roads.

Partly due to its unsecure design. (Wira, Gen2, Persona, Iswara etc.)

Partly due to old Proton drivers still remain biggest group in Malaysia public road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • motorbart on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:54 pm

At least I still have higher chance to survive if the collision is not with a lorry.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Well goodluck to you, jgn bongkak sgt.. when your time come..it ll come.. even you collide with Myvi kalu nak mampus.. mampus jg..

If you really drive a Preve (due to its FC).. I bet you ride kapchai to work on daily basis.. Be careful. . A Myvi or vios owners may accidentally or not ram on you.. like you said.. you can’t control other’s attitude.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:16 pm

if iriz got 5 stars… we urban ppl nothing to proud of
      lain la ANcAP

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:40 pm

But but.. some idiots without figures & stats said Axia is a coffin? ? Here’s some examples. .

“Money or life? Saga is definitely safer than this tiny tin can.”

Now look who’s talk kork? Motorhead?

Hahaha. . Lawaklah. . Typical Protong macai..

Drive a proton. . You ll be immortal. Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Try collide myvi/saga 3 star n axia 4 star together head on…

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:36 pm

U try la.. ni lagi sorg lg bahlol drive fikir nak mampus..

Where’s kzmbudakbodoh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:37 pm

You are RIGHT! They are often BLIND and keep on syok sendiri.

We indeed base on fact. Everything figure, reference and facts!

Saga FLX = 3 star (http://www.aseancap.org/proton-saga-flx-2/)

Saga BLM = 1 star (http://paultan.org/2013/02/01/asean-ncap-first-phase-results-released-for-eight-models-tested-ford-fiesta-and-honda-city-get-5-stars/saga-std/)

Axia = 4 star (as above)

Proton Saga in fact is the moving coffin!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • starkah on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:38 am

saga is bigger than axia, not just overall size but also overall mass. although saga is 3 star and axia 4 star, in head to head collision between them (not against the wall in asian ncap), axia wouldn’t in any advantage of the extra 1 star. the result could be equal.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I must admit that the Axia does surprise me. It’s clearly not bad for the price.

Sadly ASEAN NCAP has changed the way they display results between the FLX+ and the Axia test, so we can’t 100% compare.

You can look at the dummy readings here:
      http://www.aseancap.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/AseanNCAP-Proton-Saga-FLX+.pdf
      and
      http://paultan.org/2014/08/27/asean-ncap-q3-2014-test-results-perodua-axia-honda-city-honda-jazz-tata-vista-rated/asean-ncap-axia-aop/

They are quite close, but the Axia seems better. Then again the Saga weights more, which is an advantage, and it has a boot. Both cars have their strengths and weaknesses.

Keep in mind though that the successor of the Saga will be based on the much safer GSC, so yes, congrats to Perodua for having caught up with a model that’s been on the road for ages and is about to be phased out.

• peynoo on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Wow, a Proton macai praising Perodua car??

Must buy lucky 4D number today. 4480 (commented at 4.48pm)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Kadajawi, please comment after the car is launched or tested. No point so fast syok sendiri here. I even heard the GSC can land on aircraft carrier or dive in ocean.

• samelorstpd on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:58 pm

But that cannot beat Vios that can fly!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Must it always become a personal attack?

• namkul on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Axia is byproduct of Daihatsu not perodua, Toyota & Daihatsu made a new entity i.e. Perodua Global thanks to our idiot minister Mustapa Mohamed who signed agrrement to let this company being existed without thinking our fellow Malaysian working in Perodua Manufacturing & Perodua engine, for next month target has been set to make 3000 workers to resign in 2 entities that have been mentioned above, the engine axia is using is not coming from Perodua itself, it came from Astra Daihatsu Indonesia, compared to the old viva engine minor differences is timing chain & aluminium cylinder block, poor old viva use steel cylinder block & timing belt, if this project is not net with their expectation then Alza is next on their list to be taken out from those 2 entities, sad to say those 2 entities are being crushed bit by bit.
        former perodua worker at CMK aka Perodua engine.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:04 pm

By product what? What craps you talking? Minum ketum ka?

Yeah.. ok.. by product. . Axia aka Agya is by product?

Well ok2.. ikut lu lah org mabuk.. I agree with you.. that’s why I prefer bought P2.. because of “by product” of Daihatsu. .

& guess what. . This by products can fit all parts from Daihatsu. . Only that matters. . I don’t care much about P2 anyway.. fortunately. . P2 making profit & can contribute revenue back to the gov.

You want me talk on P1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • kau tak bekerja kat P2, sebab tu kau boleh bersembang macam tu.

PMSB (R&D, Production, CMK) kena squeeze dengan DMC macam apa tah, terutamanya Morita. Aminar tu puppet DMC je. banyak orang PMSB resign, itu adalah fakta. key player dari R&D, manufacturing & QC side yang dari zaman kancil dulu, ramai yang resign. P2 banyak concentrate kepada P2 Global, PMSB diabaikan.

orang kata, bonus nampak tinggi. tapi apa kes orang tu ada pengalaman testing kereta, kau hantar gi kerja admin HR?

it is not about P1 in this context, anyway.

-ex R&D worker bawah Albert

• Motorhead Butthurt on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:19 pm

butthurt…lol. so much so banter…

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:30 pm

yes… axiah is tin milo indeed… low class asean ncap odo got only 4 stars
      pls take note.. asean ncap not even recognised at most conutries.., only valid kat ksmpung market

like itm graduated cert.. only laku in bolehland n gomen sectors,.. kat MNC tak laku

• explorer (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Please la peyno…dont be so stupid. I also graduated from ITM which has been changed to UiTM years ago.
        Being head-hunted by many big companies i.e FFM, Gribbles but hei..why must u bring ITM into this.
        If Asean NCAP still has not gain their own credibility, give them some space, even you start your life as a baby, right?
        You are not Benjamin Button I supposed.
        lol

• pirlo on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:06 am

peyno, you are going way too far, man. why must you mention about ITM certs?
        we are discussing about automotive stuffs.

• hvannees on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Safe enough?

• normal la on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

the problem is:

most of us don’t believe in the credibility of ASEAN NCAP.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

It Asean NCAP is not reliable, then the Proton fanboys has nothing to be proud of!!! How dare you deny their fundamental right to syok of Proton?

In fact, the Insight (Japan CBU), Prius (Japan CBU), Civic Hybrid (Japan CBU) all 5 stars in IIHS US. Proton fanboys just diam diam when they came across these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Subframe on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Last year I complained to MIROS after I noticed that the A-pillar of Myvi deformed severely in the result of ASEANCAP. There should be penalty -2 points if the A-pillar deformed >200mm. They replied that they will deduct 0.66 points (after interpolation) from MyVi result after the completion of Phase 3. (up till this time, they still haven’t deduct it)

So in a case of MyVi, I really doubt their credibility.

This time when Axia result is out. I hardly can assess anything because the picture is not taken at the time where the car rebound (all other results show at rebound). I will wait for them to release crash video for Axia (if there is any).

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:31 pm

we never proud if iriz got asean low clas ncap

kalau 5 pon tak bangga
        apa lagi 4 stars cam aziah

hahahhaah

• samelorstpd on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Proton got Australian NCAP, more or less like Euro ones, satisfied?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:01 am

yess all drb honda product n real toyota jdm usdm n edm product are really good

unlike malaysia umw crony product unser avanza vios camry mslaysia all not good

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:49 pm

I wonder if the presence of stability control can make the Axia a 5-star ASEAN NCAP holder.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Cannot..cuz axia point is 12.91..to get 5 star need 14.00

• you mean even if axia got 14.00 points it still got 4 star because no vsc?

• Mirage 2airbags, ABS EBD = 4stars Asean Ncap.
      aXia 2airbags, ABS EBD = 4stars Asean Ncap.

Mirage 6airbags, VSC = 5stars Australia ANcap.
      IF aXia 6airbags, VSC = sure 5 stars macam Mirage also.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Need to see the crash test scoring too, you know. It’s not just about how many airbags and VSC.

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:59 pm

No, Axia won’t get 5 star even with stability control. For Asean NCAP, the crash test must score 14/16 or better to get 5 stars, Axia only achieved 12.91/16.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Fair enough. Then Perodua must have skimped a bit on chassis strengthening to make the car more affordable.

• vincent on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

This sort of test I suspect have very low standard, means it is very easy to score 4-5 stars. Better rely on EuroNCAP test results.

• Sebastian Auzie on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Malaysia’s cars can go further beating cars from overseas; korean,Japanese, European car! Just keep support them!

• yushu on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:38 pm

perodua is malaysia car?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:17 pm

it depends
        when the perodua salesman talk to amoi buyer.. he said this car all ftom japann

when the petodua salesman talk to makcik malay… he said this car buatan anak watan

• Full score is 16?! Aseancap standard is so low. The full mark is way too low compare to ANCAP or EURONCAP… must be many element they ignored… Jazz / City… should have scored much better than Axia… even Iriz or Preve or Suprima too are easily break the 16 score limit… but look at the result is like 2-3 mark different compare axia with jazz / city lol…

• kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Lol this is oni for frontal crash test.

• Lol.. what a misleading assessment… they should have created another name…. dont use the name of ncap lol…

• the driver on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Someone please advise me the ratings of the Viva? – my guess would be fairly dismal judging by the recent tragic accidents that included a nurse in Johor.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:53 pm

0-1 stars at most, if it is the 0 or 1 airbag version. The Saga FL got 1 star because of the lack of a passenger airbag. The Almera should have too… they must have pushed the passenger seat aaaaall the way back. The passenger in the Saga must have struck the dashboard, and that is deadly. Which, btw. is a good advice if you drive such a car. Move back. Get as much distance as possible to the front of the car (without leaning back too much, because that may cause you to slide through under the seatbelt…).

For the 2 airbag version… if the passenger is crushed to death airbags don’t help.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Fuyoh. Unbelievable.

Perodua can b so tough. But izzit onli test car is tough? Other on the road is different quality

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:39 pm

The toughness is to protect people, not to protect engine. Engine, boots, botnets are all crumple zone to absorb impact, thus you see it is fragile and scattered around during crash.

Passenger life and the engine, which one is more important to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Fahmi on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Good enough, definitely better than Viva which is a 2002 design.. But Perodua could try harder, with 6 airbags and ESP, at least for high spec models, even better if standardised for all variants..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:33 pm

asean NCAP

no body trust asean NCAP laaa kampung style

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:35 pm

rakyat believe
    if go to ANCAP australia NCaP
    perodua aziah will fail

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:03 pm

rakyat also believe
      If Proton existed in Australia, not Malaysia
      Proton has closed shop decades ago.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:42 pm

rakyat believe if indonesia made ayla allowedbto enter malayasia perodua will die

n if toyota thai n indonesia is alliwed in malaysia

umw will die

hahahahah

• samelorstpd on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Not necessary coz Holden is not home grown like p1

• olrac on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Tata Vista is already available in the Philippines

• P2 have to make it tough, because a car with tiny tires, without VSC and ABS is very easy to skid!

• qaseharjuna on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:26 pm

frontal collision only??..no wonder la 4 star axia..Now i know the better proton.tq2

• joanna on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Ramai P1 fanboys akan ckap Preve 5 star bla bla. Ye Preve mmg pling perfect. Dgn enjin satu pilihan 1.6 dn jualan seluruh dunia beratus2 ribu (since P1 ckp Preve nk kete global)..beli lah kete yg sgt cantik design die ni.
    X pun bli Sup Rima. Dpn muke Preve blkang muke lain.

• 1.6l and 1.6l Turbo lor, got difference in performance

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:57 am

macam bodoh je komen

ni la bahana bila org sembang pasal kereta .. dia pon nak sembang pasal kereta… terus nampak bodoh

prfffthhhh

• Arzul on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Why the picture is not taken at peak crash time? In the picture of axia crash, the dummy clearly does not fully hit the airbags yet. Just a thing for you guys to ponder.

• budlee on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:03 pm

I got a wee bit confused, I thought ESC/ESP will grant a car 5 star instead of 6 airbags

This is based on the old Honda City, which gotten 5 stars even though it had 2 airbags.

Did the criteria changed?

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Criteria did not change. The new Honda City with 2 airbags also happens to not have VSA (Honda’s ESC) equipped. If it had ESC but only 2 airbags, it should still have gotten 5 stars.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:33 pm

yes
    nobody believe asean ncap low class

Asean ncap like ITM level… easy to pass, spm grade 3 oso can enter

euro, australia japan NCAP… like harvard university… not easy to pass and their cert is recorgnised all iver tge world

and if you hold asean ncap cert n wanna enter europe n advanced contries market… sure tak lakuu

this asean ncap is rubbish n accepatable for rubbish market only

• Although most accidents results with front collisions, most dangerous ones are T-collisions.

• the driver on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Hehe @same lorr. The Renault modus is called the Savvy in Malaysia. They took that design and altered it for Proton. Very, very safe car that Savvy!!

• Anonymous on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Wait for the new Proton GCC, is not into Asean NCAP anymore…is into proper ANCAP Aussie standard

• peyno (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:21 pm

sorry to say… asean ncap cert only to cheat asean ksmpung ppl…. euro, Aus, Japan ncap more credible n recognised

asean ncap= pmr certificate
      Ancap= degree cert

totally differ class

• lol, i dont trust this asean ncap crashing local cars. macam main tipu to rate them higher.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:55 am

berapa perodua bayar kat asean ncap ni???

ni baru nama syok sendirii

hahaha

• VWfanboi on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:13 am

I don’t really understand this…. why the H City and H Jazz with 2 airbags only scored 4 stars ? compared with previous generation with 2airbags scored 5. And why is the Axia Score same 4stars with Jazz but the score quite a big difference. Someone enlighten me pls.

• H City and Jazz base spec does not come with ESP. Having ESP is a requirement for having the 5 stars. Without ESP a car can only get maximum 4 stars. So the S, S+ spec for Jazz and City has 4 stars while the E and V specs have 5 stars as they have ESP.

The previous generation City tested was with 2 airbags and ESP equipped so a 5 star rating is achieved.

Another thing to consider is you have to look at the front impact scores for Axia, Jazz and City.
      Axia: 12.91/16.00
      Jazz: 15.58/16.00
      City: 15.80/16.00
      Both the Jazz and City still scored significantly higher than Axia although its the base spec version thus its a safer car. To achieve 5 star rating a car must score above 14.00 and with ESP equipped so Axia only has 4 stars even if they equip ESP.

• Don carleone on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:48 am

Tak tipu la.
    It is just the passing mark is lower.
    So, only 6 stars Asean ancam is acceptable.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:54 am

ASEAN NCAP??????

apa tuuuu???

nama ayam kaa?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:53 pm

cukup2 la perodua menipu makcik2 malaysia
    rimpak duit rakyat incentive 1.2bils pastu bawak
    lari indon

• danial on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:18 am

question, does the most basic one have electric windows or do you have to roll it down.