Driven Web Series 2014 #7: The first step to premium – Audi A3 Sedan vs Mercedes CLA 200 vs BMW 316i

Well, it had to come sooner or later. Here’s the very last episode of the 2014 season of Driven Web Series, and we’re ending things on a ‘high’.

We’ve all got to start somewhere, right, and in the blind, relentless and competitive climb up life’s ladders, sometimes the badge becomes more important than the kind of car it adorns.

Looking past all the badgery, we assemble the very new kid on the block, the Audi A3 1.8T quattro, the supermodel Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 and the king of the hill – the BMW 3 Series… in economy 316i form.

Three sedans that represent your first step towards four-ringed/three-pointed star/propeller-roundel ownership. And guess what – they can’t even agree on which axles to send power to!

So can we agree on which entry-level premium sedan deserves your hard-earned bread – or will, say, a fourth party leap in at the very end and beg to differ?

We sincerely hope you’ve enjoyed watching this season of Driven Web Series as much as we’ve enjoyed making it. If you missed any of our previous episodes, watch them here. Until next time!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:03 am

You forgot about MPVs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • holofanboi on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:12 am

Jonathan: “YOU. Sit!”

Ze Singh: :( *walks into car*

LOL you guys xD

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Prius is selling at RM230k now, thanks to Proton and its high tax protection.

For a car maker to survive in Malaysia (only!), generations of Malaysian suffer.

Without Proton, all these BMW, Audi and Mercedes could be sold below RM200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 38
      • axel_stig (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:36 pm

wow u try so hard..

but hey, keep up the good work on blaming everything on Proton ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 77
        • Yeah, let’s not forget to blame AP kings, kronies, submarine dealers, underqualified ministers (compare education level with other countries) also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • ProtonGSC on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:41 am

Axel stig
          Must be another Tun puppet that support AP system.
          Go back rub your boss ass jer.
          Later he give you his Range Rover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • stupdreview on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:10 pm

ProtonGSC
            You also must be the anti-government puppet that oppose the country system.

Go and rub your own butt, probably your butthole will produce a Ferrari out of it.

• stupdreview on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:18 pm

yeah axel_stig

He’s trying so hard to overturn the system, yet people still ignore his existence. Because people like this..

..EASILY can make the country go bankrupt.

• LoLoLoL on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:18 pm

LOL, people like him easily can make the country go bankrupt? oh the IRONY.

• Last time prius sold only for 140k but still less people buy. So what ur point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Prius reach 8000++ unit sales in 2012 compared to 200++ before the tax cut.

So get your point right.

When you comment on Toyota has no new technologies, look at the Prius.

The only problem here is: Can you afford Toyota new technologies, after the high tax imposed to protect Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Tun already say “need Gov support” if not my Proton will die.

Tun scare his Proton die in his own country, later become a laughing stock to while world.

His ego and pride must remind in history as a best PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Because of his ego and pride, Malaysians have to pay so much more for foreign cars due to the high tax to protect Proton.

For a pride/ego to go on, all Malaysians suffer. Isn’t it sound similar in North Korea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • kettaVreakdoWnn on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:03 pm

just admit la ur sales are dropping…
            before less people buy prius but now lesser..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • stupdreview on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Are you sure you’re looking at the real sales figure? So your point is totally not right.

Its good to support Proton. South Koreans and China support their own product and don’t complain so much like you, smartass.

• The issue is not just with Proton. One main issue also AP. Is everyone has to go to dealerships to buy cars (i.e. more sales volume), the car price should also be decreased.

• blame proton for all price high in Malaysia. why didnt you blame proton on Malaysian cheap income?
        its all depends to your gov how they pricing the tax. Just look at Singapore.

• Gargantia on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:14 am

Germany Big 3 battle !!! This’s what I been waiting for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • ABTguy (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:16 am

A bit diff in price point and engine capacity.

I thought compare against Audi A3 1.4T would be more relevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • A3 1.4 only cost about 180k,,, big gap in price to compared with beemer and merc,,,

Everyone known that,, Malaysian always go price-to-price battle,,,

• Das Auto on Aug 30, 2014 at 2:08 am

A3 1.8 is closer to 320i pricing actually.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:49 am

Hmh. Does anyone have opinions that are contrary to the verdict?

I agree with the CLA 200 having to come in last. It’s a crying shame that it doesn’t drive as well as it looks (it’s also the only one here with an exhaust pipe on both sides). I guess the not-so-premium interior put the nail in the coffin.

But I think the 316i and the A3 verdict is up for contention.

Like Harv said, the 316i is a more complete package, being in a segment above the other two, so it has more space and is more practical and comfortable. As for its appearance, I don’t think it is that boring to look at. It’s just that the 3-series and BMW vehicles in general has become just so ubiquitous on our roads nowadays that it doesn’t stand out as much as it used to. It does look good and I think, perhaps along with the CLA200, it has the most road presence here (imagine a 316i bearing down on your in the rear view mirror. Now imagine the A3 coming at you.). The biggest plus point is that it’ll satisfy the driver in you. A complete package, no? Close but probably not as the sad part would be the maintenance cost and short warranty period, so the car might be more expensive to own in the long run, compared to the other two. And BMWs are known for being less than stellar on reliability.

I think the A3 stands out by way of rarity. Correct me if I’m wrong but there just aren’t as many Audi’s on the roads as the other two brands yet, being a relatively new entrant in the Malaysian automotive scene. Still, the A3 is a legitimate choice for those who have the bucks to burn on a premium vehicle, being offered with a good overall package by Audi, except for the 13k MMI infotainment system which really beefs up the price tag. It isn’t as cheap as it might first appear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • y a3 win over 316i?
      1) horsepower
      2) quattro

A3 1.8 TFSI is the higher specification of the A3 sedan line up. A3 is at a different segment.
      BMW 316i is the lowest spec of the 3 series, makes it more like a “wannabe”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:11 am

See? Room for contention. It can be argued that if you wanted horsepower, there’s the 320i/d which costs a few thousand RM more than the Audi A3 1.8TFSI. The only problem I see is that for the that price, the BMW feels less premium on the inside (according to the Driven team). And it only offers half of Audi’s warranty duration.

Some may disagree with me, but I think the quattro is…ah…unnecessary. Good to have but unnecessary. Unless you plan to do a bit of off-roading in your Audi (lol). The quattro makes more sense in countries with snowfall.

• On ubiquity, all the Audi’s freakin look alike from afar from the front. At least you can tell 3 series from 5 series.

http://jalopnik.com/there-are-good-reasons-why-audis-all-look-the-same-1529998539

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:18 am

That’s why I think Audi’s look boring at times. Good thing there are so few of them on the road, though. On that note, telling a 3-series from a 5-series takes a bit of familiarity as well…

• Alpha on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:54 am

Hey!! Isn’t the first step to premium marque is buying a Vios or Polo 1.6? Malaysians said Toyota and VW are luxury brands already what!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota -> Lexus…..Skoda/SEAT -> VW ->Audi

VW is consider semi premium ….ie.. its marketed by VW Group in btw its budget brand..Skoda/SEAT & its luxury brand..ie Audi. btw, u do know that VW owns those Audi/Porsche/SEAT/Skoda/Lambo/Veyron/Ducati..and soon they are going to acquire FIAT/Chrsyler group …really becoming the evil empire this VW Group ; (

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:15 pm

VW Group world domination! bwahahaha

On a serious note, it’s Bugatti. Not Veyron (model name).

• thanks for the heads up!…yeap, bugatti is the brand, while veyron is the model name..silly me

Anyway, somebody pls stop this VW group….its too much if one day an Alfa Romeo/Ferrari is actually a Golf/Audi R8 in disguise ….oh Dear!

• you forgot Bentley and MAN trucks belong to VW..
        by the way, its Bugatti, not Veyron

• Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:59 am

That car is just so unstoppable in its premium class. Best design, amazing engine, such fuel efficient, much rv. Truly, the best car ever.

All hail Lord Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Legend (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Harve, you change your 320d to this 316i? Noticed that is was the same plate as your 320d before, WXA 6383!

• holofanboi on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:12 pm

On an unrelated note, is it me or Hafriz lost weight? Kinda looks like a 4-6kg drop….

• Massimotto on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Actually, the BMW looks good outside, but just that it is too common!! So many 3 series on our roads.

• Bob_B78 on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Because its good to drive, therefore you see so many on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Annoynimouse on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Looks-wise, perhaps, another reason why the Bimmer looks dull is that Malaysian buyers tend to go for safe colours, the usual black, white, grey. Had there been more vibrant coloured ones (think Estoril Blue for instance), then it could be more interesting…
      Having said that, the Audi looks solid and sturdy, and the Merc is drop-dead gorgeous and a trendsetter.

• Rags1968 on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Actually CLA200 is too expensive and too small, eventhough it has a beautiful outlook, the whole package fails as a family sedan, the CLA200 engine too small and ride is too harsh for a luxury premuim make, better off in a Mercedes C class W204 being sold off by MBM, priced to clear Stocks

• powershot (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm

i thought sam loo is going to show the toyota 86, given he was wearing the shirt

• rifle on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Next season, bring along Lexus IS and Infiniti Q50..ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

nice work PT team, really enjoyed your videos.

Just one suggestion, cut out the Korean craps in your future episodes as its really not worth reviewing them, and it’s a waste of good airtime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:08 pm

If you don’t like, just ignore it, just that simple.
      And clear that PT team is neutral and enthusiast for all the cars, and you are the same person who using many username just to bash..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Good Sam Loo Hailat cameo and his annoyances. Maybe next season PT team should feature this Maserati guy in whatever Korean cars review episode. Seeing his despicable attitude towards ’em, that would be interesting to watch huh?

• hadi75 on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:48 am

With sam loo atleast you can make joke about him…with rv hilux et al…..but with this maserati fella…..what can pt use??all he did is just bash for no reason whatsoever….dont why he hate korean cars so much??

• MJ DOT MAN on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Maserati(Official) wait and see!! Hyundai Genesis 2014 is on the way!! Price of 3 series and luxury of 5 series!! Value for money!! Already tops the US Market!!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:09 pm

You forgot space of 7-series. :)

• But 3.8 litre engine. Hailat road tax.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Buy the Genesis 1 year + later.

If new selling price is RM350k, 15 month old unit will trade in for RM50k or so

• Gravityfreak on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Next season I would like to see more comparisons of higher class cars like the 5 Series vs E class vs A6 and X5 vs ML vs Q7 and a review of the Prius.

• mmaker on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:02 pm

somehow i cant recognize A4 and A3, they both looks similar

• seancorr on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:12 pm

To me only the A3 and 316i were proper contenders while the CLA200 is just a poser car.

Its simple actually, get the 316i if you want space and a good drive and get the A3 if you want more speed and proper grip in wet conditions thanks to Quattro drive.

Major downside of the 316i is the seats don’t fall flat for more boot space and its pathetic 2 year warranty.

As for the A3, its rear cabin size is actually quite small and its lack of nationwide after sales support is a major let down.

• guilt79 on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:19 pm

I wanna complainlah!!!
    Why Driven sooo few episodes???

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Driven is just not their bread-and-butter. They’re still an autoblog, after all, unlike Top Gear. So you gotta admire the amount of effort they put into these series. Popular demand is quite high, though, so expect another follow-up season.

• MrNyx on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Great job DRIVEN! I’ve been waiting for this review so long!

I’m just wondering actually what driving mode does each of them driving in? Eco or Sport?

Frankly speaking, from my personal preference, I would still go for CLA 200 in anyway. (A comment from youtube, CLA is just like a beautiful woman that doesn’t know how to cook, I rather wake up to that)

Everyone has very different needs and wants of their first car, so probably you’d disagree with me.

• mmaker on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:19 pm

CLA200 also has very good FC. But i’m quite confident by next year MBM will bring in CLA250

• Gravityfreak on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:12 pm

But you can only get a 1.6 liter small and ugly (on the inside) Merc for a more modern and technologically advanced 2 liter BMW that has a slightly boring exterior but a larger and better interior with an infotainment so good it’s out of this planet (though it has no navi). Also, I’ve done some research and found out that the BMW has better tv and it has a beautiful red which improves the look whearas to admire the Merc you are limited to black, silver and grey.

• W204 C63 AMG on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Agreed that CA is the worst of the bunch. The only selling point is the looks, which I think Merc knows too, so they only bring in the 200.

While the A3 is refined, I just can’t get past the exterior, the silhouette reminds me too much of the Jetta.

So yeh, the 316i is the clear winner for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Funniest episode ever

• MJ dOt MaN on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Maserati(Official)wait and see … for Hyundai Genesis. This car is priced on 3 series and value as 5 series. It comes with V6 Engine, Smart Auto Cruise and the list goes on and on… see the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xbjdmw8D9-Y&w=300

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Genesis can be compared with those big Sedans from China and India

• Sam lorr sin kar lan on Aug 30, 2014 at 2:33 am

Here, Lexus IS250 sport is priced at 5 series price, with 3 series space but with 1 series value.

• Gravityfreak on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Honestly I don’t like Korean cars but this looks to be a lot better. Just can’t get over the rv and the build quality… (Experience from 2 Korean cars)

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:20 pm

I think you’d find that the A4 has much more in common with the bigger Passat than the Golf. Sorry for nitpicking. :p

I think i would give up a little trunk space for a proper spare (even if its a doughnut) instead of RFT on the BMW. Yes, they have improved the ride quality from the rather harsh riding E90, but still nothing beats the peace of mind of an extra wheel.

I think the field would be much more level if Audi Malaysia actually made available the 1.8TFSI FWD. Seriously, you don’t really need AWD here especially with the expense of weight and fuel economy. Unfortunately, it would bring the price of the A4 too close to the A3 and the related B8 Passat.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:44 pm

You mean, bring in the the 1.8TFSI A4 or A3?

I think if they removed the quattro from the 1.8 A3, it would be a more practical car. Price would go down , too. Just keep the wet-clutch DSG.

• Gravityfreak on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:17 pm

But the point of having rft is that you are trouble free after getting a puncture. You can travel 80-100 km and then just take out the wheel, take out the nail or anything (unless it has blown or shredded) and then fix it and bam, it’s done. It took 5 mins to do that when we got a nail and we did not have to stop at the side of the road, waste time and tire ourselves changing the tire.

• mitchelle on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Bmw malaysia needs to improve:
    -f30 has few quality issues to be resolved. Ie: NVH, rear lamp falling off.
    -2 years warranty is too short comparing to others.
    -reversing camera n gps shall be added into f30 316i.
    -there are only 2 dealers in whole state of johor and both are in jb.

• Josh Ling on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Lol…..I am gonna miss Sam Loo a lot!! Next time maybe can do a team challenge and pair him up with Harv, it should be super fun to watch!! Lol…

• What Sam Loo presented to rival the 3 cars made my day

• shawal on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:21 pm

the audi A3 is just too ugly to spend money on…

the only audis in the current range that looks good is Q5 , Q7, A7 , A8 & R8…. even the new TT dissapoints..

• spongewai on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Audi A3 vs Merc CLA vs BMW 3 series?? Not 2 series??

• IMO they should compare the Audi , BMW with the Merz C-Class and not the CLA. C-Class is a proper family sedan while CLA is more of the Coupe-sedan design

• A3 sedan is also coupe design.. headroom is actually slightly better than CLA..
      Remember Audi’s model numbering, 4,6,8 are sedan.. 1,3,5,7 are hatch and coupe

• Sam Looooo (ada value?) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:58 pm

sam loo will said KIA car not even can traded in. Hyundai RV lower than RM50K after 15 months.

so better buy BMW, Merc and audi.

• pondan on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:16 pm

At this price point q50 is a real real contender.

• ben yap on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:36 pm

why all episodes or even seasons, these 3 dudes got to argue?

next season, don’t argue la… try something else different.

• therealmaserati on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:58 pm

yeah exactly my thoughts. Keep arguing in every freaking DRIVEN episode. It is getting annoying and boring!

Can you guys stop this crap and do something else?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • well done, guys! thumbs up and up and up!! :)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:53 am

usually i go for marseelee…but i will pass this….316i for me

• How about Lexus IS? Why is it not in there?

• Das Auto on Aug 30, 2014 at 2:29 am

coz that useless overpriced junk is selling at close to 300k

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:12 pm

BMW = Banyak Masuk Workshop?

• Gravityfreak on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:22 pm

F series is damn reliable lah dude… More reliable than Merc (some cars). Friends Merc 1 year old already go to workshop 5+ time because got rattling and parts coming out like that.

• Urzu3 on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:02 pm

legends say, Sam Loo still babbling about RV

• Same Lorrr Sohai on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:05 pm

i think you guys should compare the a3 and cla with the bmw 2 series. f30 (3 series) is another level. f30 should be compare with c class.

• Guys, this is another youtube for the same comparison
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hNwwXbhi6z4

• Cant wait for 328i vs W205 C250 vs Q50 and also Audi A4 2.0T. This will be nice..Please Driven….Do a comparison on these.

• mk honda on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:16 pm

that’s all for this episode? Wonder paul tan you can make a review comparison for MPV that under 100k also, as for guideline for father of a mid-size family

• BLT_Club on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:10 pm

As an owner of the A250, I can tell you the fuel consumption in the video for the CLA seems impossible. I average approx 10km/l combined city and highway driving.

• nubians on Sep 05, 2014 at 4:26 pm

I always want to ask this. is ur feul test is highway? City or mixed of both. Still don know until the end of the season..