Reduction of car prices in Malaysia on track – MAI

toyota-showroom

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari claimed that Malaysia was on track to achieve its target of reducing the prices of cars in the country by 25% by 2018, with new cars launched this year priced between 7% to 19% lower than before.

According to The Sun, Madani said that the institute is targeting an average reduction of 5% this year, following a 4.97% reduction the year before.

“One of the most obvious reasons is market competition because the government has liberalised the automotive industry. When there is market competition, the players have to compete, in terms of pricing,” he told reporters.

He also said that a gradual reduction in car prices was vital in retaining the values of used cars, as well as giving manufacturers enough time and opportunity to optimise their operations, lower production costs through the reduction of wastages and increase quality and productivity.

In other news, Madani said that MAI is expecting an uptick in car sales from September onwards, particularly with the Perodua Axia and the Proton Compact Car (PCC) launching soon. Overall, the institute predicts sales to surpass the 670,000 units projected by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) this year, with sales of 700,000 units expected in 2015.

He also talked about the future of Proton and Perodua, saying that both national carmakers have begun on their respective transformation plans and that MAI is confident they will be able to achieve their targets.

“We are confident with the existing management of Proton and Perodua to deliver what they need to do to be globally competitive,” Madani said. “I know what they are doing and I’m confident they will achieve the target.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Another Balls story….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 266 Thumb down 4
    • Murah Tapi Mahal on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:59 pm

“The new model was expected to be cheaper compared to other models in the same segment, because that is what a Proton is supposed to be….However, the prices have to be raised a little because customers are paying for something better.”

“We want to produce cars with international standards, but we will need to increase the prices,”

“Now Proton wants to produce cars which are of world standard, but you have to pay a higher price.”

“The next car of the same quality is RM120,000. You (consumers) want to have cheap cars OK, Proton can produce cheap cars,”

“Proton have to make a living. If consumers want cheap cars Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 11
      • Gargantia on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Another Gov that don’t do any research.

He talking which part of the car that drop “7%-19%”???
        He talking rubbish, fill car that drop BUT all others are rising price.

He just giving excuse not to abolish AP system, Rakyat should make noise on this !!!

Should sack this guy as a making false record/statement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 8
        • Vader (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm

FuxK those MAI!!!
          Just take the credit from the car manufacturers and claim they put a lot of effort to reduce car price and it is on track??? What a bull shxt!!!
          What the committed of car reduction is reduce the crazy tax, and it applied to ALL cars in bolehland but not limited to certain car models only!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 7
          • BOGUS MAI on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Madani Sahari is a shameless man. He is used by the government to confuse the people with heavy duty analysis and charts. He has no dignity.

Madani Sahari, where is the clean diesel for the whole nation? Important things like this you don’t address.

2nd issue. Your boss, whom you kipas, promised before the last election, that all car prices would be reduced by 30%. Why isn’t MAI pushing for this? Ask your boss to honour his promise. He promised the nation that he will match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. What happened?

Thirdly, why no action on the AP boys who are minting billions at the expense of the 30 million Malaysians suffering with high car prices?

There above 3 issues including clean diesel, Madani got no telur to tackle. The MAI guys are paid very high pay to confuse the rakyat with all sorts of analysis and charts but there 3 issues, the don’t bother.

Our hard earned money is spent to support the fools at MAI. But no result. The last big paper/NAP they were to scared to touch on the AP Kings. Kenapa takut? The AP Kings are the main cause car prices in Malaysia is so expensive and collapse of our potential trillian dollar car industry.

Please Madanai and MAI, have some guts to serve the people of Malaysia and not just your own pockets.

All this drama/bull by MAI is for the rakyat. We know, nothing will happen. MAI love to do this. Come out with analysis and charts, but nothing will be done. Remember MAI is the Government and the Government is MAI. So, it is a drama for the rakyat.

It is solely because of Mahathir and his AP kawan kawan, as well as inaction by Bogus MAI that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of the AP failure, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton, Mahathir’s AP cronies and the fat cats at Bogus MAI. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives through the AP system. and the inaction by Bogus MAI
            The AP system as well as inaction by bogus MAI, it has also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to share the pool of APs with the cronies and they knew 90% of all APs go to the cronies. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Mahathir and his AP system as well as inaction by Bogus MAI, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

So, in summary, the 30 PEKEMA members have solely caused Malaysia to lose trillions in investments. What have they done? Nothing.
            The AP companies also don’t employ many people.

Yes you read it clearly. Only about 10 people working. That includes the 4 Bangladeshi guys whose job is to wash the cars.

Go around KL and Jalan Genting Klang and see, all the AP cronies have hardly 10 people working for them each (including non bumi boss, non bumi salesman and secretary).

Remember one thing, other than Naza, each AP company have hardly 10 people working. So, if you do the maths, about 30 AP companies x 10 people = 300 people.

Madani is protecting 300 people vs 30 million Malaysians suffer?

No need to wait end of this year. Look at this as a crime. Abolish it today itself. Abolish the AP system now Madani. It is causing too much hardships on the 30 million Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
          • max291 on Sep 05, 2014 at 2:48 pm

At least they have statistics, data with real numbers. You? You got nothing. Serupa tong kosong. Bunyi saja kuat, isi tak ada.

• submarine on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Sack this guy no use, he’s all but a puppet. Conveying messages of the corrupted G to the rakyat only. Sack one puppet another 100 queueing up to take his puppet place. If he’s got balls then do the right thing abolish AP, stop protectionism and implement fair competition. But obviously he got no balls else AP already abolished long time back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
          • Madani Sahari on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Kami di MAI susah menunai janji merendahkan harga kereta sampai 30%.
            Bodoh semua komen komen di sini.

Tahniah kepada semua pekerja MAI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
          • Md Shaz on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Sack this useless puppet. Good for nothing. Bangsa sendiri susah lah bang. Make your very own flesh and blood suffer

• Betul tu Md Shaz, mereka yang berkuasa tak terpikir bangsa sendiri (saya pun melayu lah) merana 7 tahun nak bayar loan kereta yang dahlah mahal (compare overseas kereta), rosak masa warranty tak nak ganti (cakap ini problem “normal”). Korang semua tak kesian ke tengok bangsa sendiri jadi merana?. Adakah yang dipikir di dalam hati-hati anda?. Adakah DUIT yang diperolehi (secara halal dan haram)lebih penting daripada kemakmuran bangsa anda sendiri? Tak pe, lama-lama kalau kita bawa tahi ke kerja, nanti kerja itu jadi tahi, lepas tu takde kerja haaaaa….

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:56 pm

That RM120k thing is misinterpreted. Mahathir was comparing the Preve/SuprimaS to the next C-segment car in the Malaysian market, which usually cost around RM120k. I think he forgot about the Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • MoFaz on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:37 pm

5% price reduction on small & cheap car is not significant. 5% of RM30k cars is only RM1500, almost like no reduction in price at all.
        However, a newer car price is about the same with the previous model it replace, but the value added to it is quite significant. you don’t get ‘strong’ kancil or viva and the lowest variant doesn’t even have 1 airbag at that time. but now you get 4 stars Axia and at least 2 airbags with the same amount of money. And look at proton latest model too, we never get a 5 star car below RM60k with 6 airbags before.
        now, we can only hope the gov reduce excise duty to make the cars cheaper here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
        • Conman on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Con job for the kampung folks. No real reduction.

Cars so cheap worldwide. Altis is only US$12k. Here RM139k. Need I say more?

And we earn so little compared to the white man in US.

• max291 on Sep 05, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Really? Now compare with Japan la. We don’t have Altis here but lets compare Camry. Malaysian price is MYR150k. You can buy one at roughly MYR100,000 in japan. But vehicle tax is damn high, insurance is damn high, gasorin price is damn high, loan interest is damn high,tax on your loan too. oh mind you the account transfer for vehicle payment too. So in the end, buying new Camry will cost us approx. MYR190k is you buy cash.

• OMG…MaHaiiii….puihhh…

• Can’t Malaysians see Madani is fooling everybody?
          Play with his words, lick the gomen balls

• hootie & the blowfish on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:17 pm

then next year they tell us a diferrent story…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • TOKOK on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:44 pm

My name says it all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
    • chaos on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:34 am

Madani – the govt idiot who know nuts about automotive industry. HIs NAP roadmaps and EEV plans are all not working. He is a failure and all the automan in the industry knows it.

Where is the data/ proof? Is this based on Raya seasonal discounts by the auto companies not all year sales? Are the specs the same or no safety features at all?

Same tactic by government. All headline but no facts.

• Conman Artist on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:12 pm

The word idiot is an understatement. He is a traitor to his own race.

• Pening on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:52 pm

ohh you are so wrong. all the penipuan are a carefully engineered SCAM which started from that evil father of P1. from the MAI to the AP to the pricing to the P1 protectionism, everything, I mean everything about the auto industry in the bolehland is a carefully engineered SCAM for those in power and their cronies. Ptuiii….

• lordchoon on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:09 am

Totally agreed. Next year the GST is coming so there will be back to square…
      Just some magic trick

• Anwar Ibrahim (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Sebab itu lah undi PKR, Saya sudah membuat Manifesto untuk menurunkan harga Kereta, tapi rakyat masih belum nampak permainan Barisan Nasional. Tapi masih belum terlambat, Sokonglah Kak Jijah utk jadi MB Selangor. Selangor akan bertambah lebih baik dari sekarang dibawah pengawasan saya.

• He is referring to those Raya promotion cut price ask reduction?

Or those 2013reg new car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
    • Chris (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:58 am

What they mean:
      Come see see! Old Viva 1.0 RM36k, new Axia 1.0 RM25k only! 30% cheaper woi….

What we want:
      Toyota 86 (or replace with any desirable car), RM240k. Same car discount 25-30% become 170-180k.

• Apa ini orang cakap pun saya takda paham. Kereta murah sebab kasi omit safety features like UMW etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 2
  • Balls or bulls story? btw 5% reduction a year is not enough! must consider inflation rate too! at least 15% reduction a year is acceptable!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
  • Biar betul there is an average reduction of 5% on car price…either I am not following the automotive market close enough or that guy who made the statement is smoking crack!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • Anti-Establishment on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 121
      • Paultan, any of your journalist willing to take on this story of comparing car prices on a neutral ground?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
        • Mobuzz on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:51 pm

I guess politically wise it’s tough decision for paultan to do dat comparison …….. Der

• Vader (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm

The committed of car reduction is reduce the crazy tax, and it applied to ALL cars in bolehland but not limited to certain car models only!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • So, one example show you the whole statistic?

Come on bro..

Either you are ignorance, or you try to defending someone from the government who is still high.

• Battu on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:04 am

I think in a way he is correct. not only honda city, u can see new car price is lower than previous model in vios, jazz, proton and perodua, and all those china car.

maybe not as per what we really want, but in the sense of reduced car price, it is reduced.

• SamLou on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Yea, and nobody compare you to the d!ckh3@d. Because you are an idiot

• james on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:01 pm

i don’t believe it!!!
    please list down all car manufacturer that offer price reduction!!!
    show me the proof… else u just talking nonsense…
    remember rakyat are now stupid!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
    • Heskey on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:38 pm

I am not stupid. Maybe you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • agree with you, james…
      but the fact is, there are A LOT of stupid rakyat believe in this rubbish. if not, how come these people can still be in the government sucking rakyat’s money?

• They can still be in gahmen cos play dirty. Project IC in East delivered many more seats. Mass media controlled. Opposition areas are modified, changed and enlarged to include more anti voters, so easier to lose. Postal votes. Polling centers conveniently got power blackouts. Buy off candidates that jump ship. Settle loans to state MB’s, and also settle MACC. *all these are allegedly only*

• Ask him don’t talk crap la. The last time interviewed by BFM, dodge all the questions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • james on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:02 pm

should be:
    remember rakyat are not stupid!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • TheDean on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Proton late to the punch… again. While the Axia is reaping bookings, the GSM is still under birthday wraps.

• you're_right on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Lower prices at the cost of lower safety features. Cut the BS.

Why not make safety features like 6 airbags a mandatory feature in new Malaysian cars and then talk with pride about price reduction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Anti-Establishment on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Talk is cheap. A majority of Malaysians don’t give a damn about safety features or else they won’t be buying Vios J by the bucketload.

If the Kia Picanto gets the mantle of the most popular non-national car in Malaysia then can we demand this and that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Talking crap, if we have a similar price on a better segment car (non-national car) with safety fixtures.
        What do you think people will buy??

• vios j on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:03 am

vios J comes standard with 2 airbags and abs.. u shud comment stupid ppl buying car without it. eg low spec almera

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Really? Did car prices actually drop? 7 to 19% you say??? Wow, I must be sleeping. Or does he think only heavily discounted run out models also count as “new car” prices.

Not sure where this loon gets his numbers from.

Or did this guy take CKD prices of previous CBU cars as comparison? yeah yeah..I know the S class 400 hybrid is very cheap now.

Next year they will come and say car price drop because 10% sales tax become 6% GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • bktrokan on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:13 am

S400 hybrid … get in line… next delivery is 2016 … your house can be ready earlier than that … tax reduction for the rich … i mean green people ….

• Pening on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

I think Madani juz smoked some strong illegal grass or deeply hypnotised by the powers that be when making this statement…lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:25 pm

25% in 2018? Can we expect the following then for these models (include cbu):
    – Alza SE RM44k
    – Preve cfe RM55k
    – Almera E RM50k
    – City E RM61k
    – Accord 102k
    – CRV RM108k
    – Mazda6 RM116k
    – Passat RM128k
    – Mondeo RM142k
    The end of the lists are not luxury cars.. just bread & butter cars for westerners & arabs who can settle loan wothin 3 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Bangsa Sendiri Susah on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Who are the majority in Malaysia? Government cheat their own bangsa. Bangsa sendiri susah!

• AVH (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:37 pm

“Reduction of car prices in Malaysia on track – MAI”

[Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V from Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI launch]
    RM59k less than the 2.0 TSI 4WD :
    RM59k/RM237k x 100% = 25% less
    BN agrees to lower car prices by 20-30%
    Conclusion: BN Janji Detepati….apa? spec tak sama? kita tak janji itu, sorry.

Which is basically the same throughout all cars, the Jazz/City El-Cheapo S spec starts at a staggering RM4k/RM6k lower than before, with even less spec than before, thou similar price cars upped in the spec department. The Volkswagen Polo 1.6 starts at a whopping RM87k less and thats a 24% drop. Same story with the Sylphy and I could go on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • One thing for sure – their PR agency is darn good in making up stories…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • gapodios on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Sikit murah..but look at bank intrest nowdays. Bayar jd mahal jugak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Can rely on this? Im planning to buy Altis… soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Slow slow wait loh… since you believe janji ditepati, right? lol

• motorbart on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Only idiots will buy overpriced Toyo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:43 am

Only idiots buy overpriced Sperma S. (end up no RV.. high FC & stop production like Waja, Savvy, etc)

Overpriced Toyota? Yeah right.. thx to continous protection asked from damn plotong. Most of it is tax.. nevermind.. I ll pay anyway. But.. but..

Suka hati aku lah.. duit aku..

Bukan duit atuk kau.. kau ade duit ke?

Hehe. . Quite some time didn’t use that.

@Vader.. now got Merdeka discount. . Till 31 August. Few thousands.

• rigid on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:11 am

so which car brand do you consider as underpriced? or fairly priced in bolehland?

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:50 pm

He expect Altis is 70K (global price is around there, maybe lower)

End up nobody wants to buy Plotong.. complain lagi..

From overpriced. . Tuka x patriotic, no lotus handling la.. bla bla

But at 70K.. you can get best equipped Altis aka Corolla. . Try Google.

• motorbart on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Altis and preve FC cannot be as save as Viva, if Altis 70k, preve can be 45k lor. Proton is also high taxed, another balance 25k can do many things

• motorbart on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:11 pm

oh yeah suka hati aku la nak komen apa, smartphone ni duit aku bukan duit atuk kau..aku ada duit so what?

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Ada duit? 115K overpriced?

Betul ke ko ader duit? Puiihh.. mcm haprak.. org x mampu je ckp gini.

Ada hati guna phrase org lain.. xde idea sendiri..

Buduh.. typical stalker.

• Taikun on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:49 pm

That McLaren sports car is RM10 million price?

MAI said target 5% price reduction, it means RM500K less for that sportscar!

“Syukurlah”, kroni billionaire said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Reduction or not doesn’t affect kroni lah. Who cares about 5% or 10% when just increase project/”consultancy” cost by 20%. Earn RM50 million more from highway/plant/projek, apa RM10 million car? Throw another RM100K on number plate, sound system and wheels also takde feel, macam ordering teh tarik.

• Bryan on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Hahaha….Funny

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:53 pm

i so believe you

• Anwar Ibrahim (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:33 pm

I’am not believe you, you are the one of the Barisan Nasional member last time has cheat all the rakyat money. Because of you semua Jalan rosak teruk sebab sudah cut cost bahan2 pembinaan untuk jalan raya!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:55 pm

wait till u see who going to be selangor MB….me

• nameless guy on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:54 pm

lower price gradually until 2018? try lower quality and spec for ckd version. Most newer car with reduced price actually ‘reduces’ safety feature and specs and that is sux. Why don’t the govt try and reduces excise for a change??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Please shut down MAI … get paid for nothing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Maseratits on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:03 pm

What is this guy smoking? Sure is some strong stuff he’s smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Mercedes Boob on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:53 am

Dunno, but maybe lighted up with a RM100 note in his RM10M Bkt D’sara house.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I don’t think he’s allowed to say anything other than that “reduction of car prices in Malaysia are on track”. He must say it. Or else.

Technically, it is true. Car prices are coming down…sometimes at the expense of important features.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

It is possible. All they need to do is compare cars like they did during NAP 2014, Saga FLX with Saga SV, Sentra with Almera and then claim to have actually reduced the price of cars.

• twofour on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:17 pm

i don’t think they understand the difference between reduction of car price and cheaper car price..

you reduce the current price of cars.. thats reduction of car price.. what they’re saying is just the availability of cheaper cars.. not the same car with a cheaper price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Car price decrease 5%
    Malaysia economy drop 50%

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Why need to wait until 2018?

Get a used Hyundai instead, 15 month old unit for around 1/2 the price off brand new models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • Mercedes Boob on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:55 am

I want to buy 2 of these 50%-off 2013 Hyundai’s. I have my cheque book ready. Doesn’t matter what model or color. We meet at Puspakom tomorrow OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Bryan on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Sam Loo,

Please point out the links to these 15-month old 1/2 price Hyundai models. I want to change my car. Quick!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:19 am

Hyundais (<15 months)gets traded in at less than 50% of new value.

Dealers make easily RM10k-RM30k per kimchi.

So selling price to secondary sorhai's like you will be much higher

• SamLou on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Show me those Hyundai and even Kia that you have been mentioning throughout your whole life in your dusty full load of sand Hailux. I pay cash. Else go bury yourself with ur Hailux Aircond repair staff.

• price reductions as well as with its features? stupid excuse…we want TAX REDUCTION!!!!!

• Trinity on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:39 pm

By 25% ONLY? Looking at our tax structure, lacking of features, etc., it should be a reduction of 50%!

• Amei (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Just abolish the damn AP system. I want to import me a mint R33.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Abolish AP?? Hallo? Minum ketum ka? Without AP you ve to pay import duties anyway.. you can pay ka?

Why not ask abolish NAP.. & open the industry. . Never mind P2.. P2 can survive. .

Now.. deal with P1 first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • it’s not the AP that needs to go down, its the DAMN EXCISE DUTY 100% plus

• cendol (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Syukurlah we are better than Ghana and Zimbabwe.
    Apa Lagi Lu Mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • u mean your better is slightly above the african??
      then ride kapchai enough 4 u then.

• kl fella on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:49 pm

lol you went and compare us with Ghana and zimbabwe?? even if you compare to Indon also much better!

• Getting cheaper? on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:44 pm

funny guys… compare to those memang lar… compare tu tgklah, Malaysia ada minyak & pembuat kereta.. so compare dgn Negara yg sama…

• rotten potato on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:11 pm

i think everyone should think abit about who/what to bash before doing so. yes, AP issues, crazy car import taxes and mediocre local car development history have been bogging our car industry for a long time. however, to u guys that says abolish the high taxes outright, u try telling that to 2nd hand car dealers.

thats what the opposition party said during the last general election, abolishing high car taxes and tolls, and they almost won, but almost doesnt count. why? very simple, u know who switched votes to the ruling party? those that went for the opposition speech and went home thinking “shit! if they win my biz is screwed!”. that goes for 2nd hand car dealers and toll companies, among tons of other businesses and employees.

i cannot verify for sure if the reduction rate is accurate, but some cars did have reduced prices over the years. Honda Jazz is a prime example for those who still remember when the first model launched it was about RM150k. BMW was famous for 3 series = 300k, 5 series = 500k, today its also cheaper. if yesterday u bought a honda civic at RM120k and they abolish taxes and the price immediately went down to RM70k, u willing to swallow the depreciation?

yes, the article is probably full of bollocks. but i believe the general direction that they are taking by gradually reducing the car prices rather than a drastic change is a right idea to safeguard
    consumers and the businesses from outright recession.

we can bitch till the cows come home, but what happened in the past cannot be undone. APs, lousy local cars, high taxes, all are historical matters. what matters more is today and in future they are taking the right steps to correct their mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • FlyHigh on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:08 am

Probably the best comment I’ve read so far. I have acquaintances that sell 2nd hand cars for a living and the ONLY reason why they are still voting for BN is because they’d would be fucked up from such drastic decrease in value.

• For benefit of few people, thousands have to suffer?

Never predict bleak future. Try to see this on positive note, car price cheaper, more people can change car, more new car on the road, more people dumped their car to 2nd hand dealer, price 2nd hand also goes down.

In the long run, everybody wins, car manufacturer sell cheaper so their volume will increase.

Yes, the did want to reduce “gradually”

Again, taking 5 sample from the crowd does not make the general view of total population. (for your example on 3series and 5 series and so on)

• Hello cronies,
      Rakyat kena jaga dompet sendiri, bukan dompet orang lain!!!!

• pondan on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Hahaha biggest joke ever.

What a tonne of baboons running the gov gets u?

A tonne of brain red arses that’s only good for a joke.

• owh…then how many percent the petrol price increased from last year?

• powershot (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:54 pm

since when car prices dropped? i thought car prices kept getting higher.

what I’ve noticed are the value for money are increasing

• wassini on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Harga kereta turun 5% hujung tahun ini. Ops! Harga kereta kena GST 6% pada bulan 4 tahun hadapan.

Harga kereta akan diumumkan diturunkan 25% JIKA undi BN di dalam pilihanraya 2018 nanti. Bila BN menang… kami akan kaji untuk turunkan harga kereta… kaji punya kaji hingga pilihanraya tiba lagi…

• Trolak on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:47 am

now tax 10%… gst only 6%… 4% reduction..

• Anwar Ibrahim (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Sebab itulah, kami banyak membuat perhimpunan haram demi mencapai matlamat rakyat semua. manifesto PKR sudah jelaskan akan turunkan harga kereta 50% tapi rakyat masih tak percaya lagi..

• Jaguh Kampung on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Another syiok sendiri jaguh kampung comment.

I would like to see the data of the apple to apple comparison. Don’t just syiok sendiri.

• This people talk Lp only, which car drop down the prices ? Every new car they said the price drops, the spec give you also drop——- low spec model.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:34 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • This LP people talk LP only. Which car prices drop? only old model n low spec car then they will tell you the prices drop, if you go n see the spec they sell to you in low spec, l think you will give them one finger —- naaaa.

• mmaker on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:47 pm

This year car price reduced by 5% but bank interest up from 2.35 to 2.75%. Thats a 12.5% jump in a single year alone!

• Chicken is rm1 according to PM.Go ride achicken

• ahbeng on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Frankly .. these organisations doing such research is purely a waste of $$ … do they n the Gov think that the Rakyat are retards? … i guess they are the pure breed retards …

• Another stupid comment from someone who failed mathematics during high school.

• ben yap on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:20 pm

even if really drop price, the specs and safety features will be omitted.

• mujinkun on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:46 pm

This Madani Sahari want Datuk title rite?
    Haishhh :(

• Joking on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Haha…another joke before 2014 ended soon. check out the C by H. Finishing for the entry level is beyond words could express. So this is the idea of producing cheaper car with a lower grade quality! Better stick to higher price with better quality then! Boleh land when will you guys on top there can grow up la? Cheap doesn’t mean lower the quality, that is called TIPU!

• stranger on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:12 pm

If i’m not mistaken the reduction of car price was proposed since 2007 where the reduction would e implement on 2009.

What now? Delay again to 2018?

Janji di Chapati

• pomen on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:27 pm

on track???puiiiiiiii…….

• Car_fan on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Remove APs, level the playing field. Is that so hard? Of course, what am i saying??

• bengbeng on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:50 am

25% by 2018 ??? pakatan promise 100% tax-free by 2018 !!! WTF !!! they promise during GE to reduce car prices and this is all they can come up with.. btw wat do u mean by 25% ? izit on the tax or the car prices ? this is why lah.. they like to play the guessing game with us. which by 2018, they never do it and everyone in whole forget about it already. temporary make u all a little bit shock only. bcos we r NATO countries. NO ACTION TALK ONLY !

• xoxox on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:13 am

Hello….now the government not form by pakatan….between this price reduction is meaningless, should use Car Sales/Import TAX reduction instead!

• common sensor on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:59 am

“I know what they are doing and I’m confident they will achieve the target.” Funny guy indeed … what made you think that statement coming from you are credible?

• tokok on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:33 am

talk…..cock

• takguna on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:46 am

Turun apa ni? Habis Prius C naik sampai gile?

• BMW 316i.. now you can get a 3 series with only 200k..
    government thinks all 3series is the same mah.. the last few digit 16i 20i 25i sama saja la…

• by 2018? anything can change by then…a meteorite might even strike the earth in 2018 ^^

• Cronies tetap cronies…

• Anonymous on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:17 am

Go home Madani, you’re drunk.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:20 am

No need to involve stale politics..
    Ive already booked the Ford Fiesta 1.0ecoboost for my spouse which cost me RM96k otr 13k more expensive than my 2014 Proton Preve LE 1.6..Not to mention my daughters drool on cars.Ive bought a 2012 Kawasaki ZX636 for nearly RM61500 otr so can the relevant authorities reduce the tax price for bigger bikes too?You wanna promote bigger bikes for Malaysians to reduce rempit activities yet sold skyhigh price which is impossible for those earning between 1600-2500 to own one.Japanese marques can reduce between RM5000-30000 depending on models while Perodua and Proton should reduce between RM5000-20000..Dunno why Perodua Myvi 1.5 has to be in the 45-57k range?

• totti on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:49 am

Another con man in the talking.

2013 and 2014 will not see any reduction of car price and they will start to implement by 2015/2016/2017 to fulfil the election manifesto on 2013.

During the 2018 election, They will tell those stupid rakyat that they have fulfil the manifesto 2013.

They are smart, any reduction of car tax will reduce the subsidies on fuel as what they have increase since last year.

They will increase the fuel price again if they reduce the car tax.

To stop them, we need to change the sucking G that make the rakyat poor.

• pinochio on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

Wait until before next general election year 2018, this same MAI macai will promise to abolish AP, car tax reduced, cheaper cars again bla bla bla.

SUCKERS!

• GovTokok on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:54 am

What I felt is that… the G is trying to carve a path for their national car and push it to the rakyat… while other brands are just being forced to cut down their specs to the max, the tax that G received was not tampered at all!

The G is only goofing around and thought that we rakyat knows nothing on what they are doing!

Let’s just be frank Jibbie, I TELL YOU, IF YOU DARE TO CUT DOWN THE EXCISE DUTY TAX & REMOVE THE GODDAMN PROTECTIONISM TO BLOOD SUCKER PROTON, YOU WILL GAIN BACK LOTS OF SUPPORTERS!

• explorer (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Since when no excise duty & sales tax on proton/perodua?
      Can you give me the information?

• Really funny man!

• Subaru Sales man messaged me saying that the car price is increasing by 5K by sep 1

• Getting cheaper? on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:40 pm

please lar… government do nothing, its the car maker itself doing many many things to lower the car price… tu pun banyak negative feedback bila some features is removed…

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Where is Ajib’s promise of 30% reduction of car prices. We are almost at tail end of 2014, Abuk pun tarak.

• Anwar Ibrahim (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Saya sudah kata, Najib sudah permainkan rakyat. Ini semua untuk mengaburi rakyat. Lepas ini jangan lupa undi PKR, PKR janji akan turunkan harga kereta!!!Lagi 1 jgn lupa sokong Kak Jijah dulu jadi MB, baru boleh Reformasi!!

• explorer (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:19 pm

For local manufactured car :

Cylinder Capacity Excise % Sales % Import Duty %
    3.0 105 10 30

This is for passenger car (2-wheel drive)

p/s : Including Proton/Perodua

• Anwar Ibrahim (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Saya dengan hormatnya, ingin mengusulkan, setiap individu berhak memperolehi 1 pengecualian Duti Import. Setiap rakyat Malaysia berhak merasa dan memiliki kereta yang berkualiti tinggi dan dijamin keselamatannya. Kenapa hanya orang kaya sahaja berhak menggunakan kereta import, tapi rakyat biasa tidak layak? Adakah harga nyawa mereka lebih tinggi? Bukalah mata, lihat lah bagaimana PKR menjanjikan manifesto pada PRU dahulu. Kesemua adalah untuk kepentingan rakyat.