Toyota Camry facelift – global-market car unveiled!

2015-Toyota-Camry-0

The global-market XV50 Toyota Camry facelift has been unveiled at the Moscow motor show, following a teaser earlier in the month.

The popular D-segment sedan gets a face with added aggro, comprising a slim front grille with a big chrome bar on top, LED-infused headlamps, plus a huge trapezoidal lower intake with integrated fog lamps.

2015-Toyota-Camry-5

Bolder than our current car but still less so than the US-market Camry facelift, the new car also features a reshaped rear bumper and a chrome strip bridging the tail lamps. There are also new-design alloys.

Inside, there’s a new backlit instrument panel with a 4.2-inch colour TFT display between the dials, an updated steering wheel with three spokes and a restyled centre console with a new 6.1- or 7.0-inch screen. The meter panel now has a two-dial layout as opposed to the pre-facelift car’s three-dials.

2015-Toyota-Camry-25

As for what’s under the hood – the 181 hp 2.5 litre four-cylinder and 249 hp 3.5 litre V6 engines carry over, along with the six-speed auto box. No word on the Camry Hybrid yet.

In Russia, the base 2.0 litre engine has been updated with a version that has 150 PS mated to a six-speed auto, as opposed to the pre-facelift car’s four-speed auto. We’re not sure if the ASEAN market will get this new engine and gearbox combo.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Legend (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Yeah this facelift is far more better looking than the Pre-Facelift one
    Just hope that UMW add more Airbags as what others Asian Country do!CKD doesn’t means that you can cut down the quality and the safety features pls UMW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 20
    • !@#$%^& on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Getting fuglier…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 22
      • Ah Beng support Proton on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Big ugly. GSC will smoke it eat dust.

No brainer car for no brainer like same lorrr, albert lee, motorhead.

Smart people get Proton, no tax! Qualiti sui sui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 71
      • still talking about this lousy expensive milo tin..called camel.. opps camry..

get a korean car la..

• Vader (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

As always, UMW will give more airbags if you pay extra for these so call option package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • rifle on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Agree..this is better..it should looks like this from the beginning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Looks better, but market need a completely new design Camry rather than minor refinement.

• TROLOLOL on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Yawnnnnnn!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • toyol on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:05 pm

same old same old..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Looks like 10 years old Camry, the square design and the wood panel interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Haiyo.
        If this is not your plate of rice please shut up and get out.

If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. That’s all, don’t waste your time comment here.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Vios big brother ah??
    When coming here? Price sure like German car.
    UMW go balik kampung la. Lousy dealer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Problem with Proton hardcore fanboys is: They always so confirmed on car which is not even launched!

GSC launched? No, but they believe the car can smoke this smoke that smoke turkey on Christmas day.

New Camry launched? No, but they so confirm it is bad and expensive. lol

This is typical Proton 5S lifestyle:
      1. Sendiri Cakap
      2. Sendiri Syok
      3. Sentiasa Rosak
      4. Sales Carnival
      5. Semakin Mahal

Of course Proton reward them with the Proton 4 Good principals:
      1. Sounds Good
      2. Looks Good
      3. Promised Good
      4. But never truly Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 49
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Ah..both u n p1 fanboi hav similar thinking n stupid when commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:52 pm

I don’t see any point in your comment neither. But it is my base principal not to use offensive words like stupid, idiot, brainless, retard.

By calling people stupid, you show you are not far from there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
          • questionable on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:09 pm

eh bro..want to ask u. how come estima second hand very cheap now? like around 100k only? i thought very good RV.

• Same loo on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:43 pm

How about you called others “sorhai” last time? That show you are not far from there as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Estima cabin is felt swaying at high speed. Even Savvy is more stable

• Same L0rrr on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:29 am

It is not second hand estima, bro. You are talking about third/ fourth/ fifth hand estima. In fact there is no first hand estima in Malaysia, you can only get second hand from grey importers.

Find me a second hand Previa for RM 100k, I buy from you RM 150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • ProtonGSC on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:51 pm

kzm
          Your comment like a 20’s years old that never study in school.
          kzm =kakizombiemarhaidi. Get out of m’sia if don’t like here.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

I agree on the premature bashing aprt. The spec list for the car isn’t even out yet and the bashing has already commenced. Who knows UMW might make a turn around and increase the value-for-money proposition of their cars? They have a bad track record but we can hope, can’t we?

• samelorsark on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Toyot 7O

1.Overpriced
        2.Overhyped
        3.Obsolete
        4.On garbage lorries
        5.Out of proportion
        6.Outdated
        7.Overrrated

Toyot 4 Good principals:
        1. Sounds Good
        2. Looks bad
        3. Promised Good
        4. It’s BAD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:34 am

Copy cat with no innovation. Obsolete = outdated

With staff like you in the office, Proton is destined for epic fail and become B class car maker (B = beggar).

So far how is the RM1.6 bil begging going on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • samelorsark on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:34 pm

That’s much better than the money going out only to get rebadged cars.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:07 pm

When we have the Camry global facelift announced, the legendary GSC still in stickers here and there. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • Dark Illusion on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:07 pm

How come it gives me a feeling of vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:15 pm

It looks boulder than the current crop of Camrys, I’ll give them that much praise. They did what they can with the current design and came with a much modern look. But, its still a Camry…..and its not going to steal attentions from say, a Mazda 6 or even the Nissan Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Looks miles better than the predecessor. Bolder it is but since the launching order of Toyota’s new face started off with the Vios rather than with the Camry, people have a tendency to think that the bigger and more premium cars are imitating the budget cars. There’s really nothing wrong with a corporate face but Malaysia’s perception of Toyota seem to be…bad now. I think the car actually looks good but the chrome strip on top of the logo and chrome part of the upper grille sort of softens the bold look.

One thing is for sure: Toyota is trying to shed the image of “uncle car maker”.

Now if they would only offer better safety features on their cars…Hopefully when this reaches our shores, it would be better equipped safety-wise (currently only 4 airbags on the top of the range, VSC missing on the lowest spec). And maybe get that 6-speed auto to be standard across the range.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Toyota is actually doing a pretty good job World Wide, the Waku-Doki movement started by Akio Toyoda, (Not the advertisment and song by World Order) is trying to steer Toyota to a more boulder image and I’d say they are succeding. Cars in the US and Europe are reciving boulder and less predictable face than before. The introduction of the 86, the pushing of the nw Supra successor and the Toyota LMP entrence is all prove that Akio-Toyoda is serious on ridding the ‘uncle image’ of the past.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Looks like I missed out a single word in my post above. “Toyota is trying *hard* to shed…”

I agree they’re doing a good job and I bid him (Mr. Toyoda) all the best. But one thing is for sure: UMW is still shortchanging Malaysian Toyota customers.

• Keli’s big bro..hehe..corolla altis got better face imho..

• roxas on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:19 pm

meh, now toyota oso wan copy other carmaker, blue instrument lights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Copying who, in particular? And, did anyone apply for patent to use blue instrument lights?

• roxas on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:20 pm

and tat steering looks like the one in the new cruze

• Sam Looser on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Still as fugly as before. Pass..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • mohsin on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Nasib tak recall

• mohsin on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

recall; kesalahan yg harus dihindari

• Accord & 508 kicks this car’s AS into another dimension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Tapah (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • The design of the front looks like an uncle with goatee. LOL

• unknown on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Still uncle car, our focus no longer brand & RV.
    We are talking about design & innovation!!

• Somewhat the face lift makes the camry looks like an uncle with goatee. LOL

• Brayokmok on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Uncle with Ray-Ban…’Am I look younger?’

• the 2.0 version still using 4AT?

• Let the comment wars begin! haha

I think that the front looks good but the rear is too boxy. Corolla Altis is still the best looking Toyota in Malaysia I think – perhaps with the exception of the 86.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Toyota indeed a Global standard car.

But UMW is so stupid make lousy high selling price with low safety standard.

Marketing team is so proud until lost the brain until Toyota m’sia suffer lost sales.

UMW are an unprofessional business dealer in Malaysia.
      Toyota Japan please sack/cancel UMW dealership.

• Rizal on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Why would anyone want to buy a Camry that looks like a Vios?

• TheDean on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Looks like Toyota decided to use their ‘old’ estima fascia across all their models….. and call them new.

• Gajen on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

The ugly just got uglier! Shouldve brought in the american one at least

• UMW Rep on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:52 pm

No worries, we will ensure you all getting the same old engine and gearbox.

Thank you and please keep on supporting us.
    :)

• mmaker on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:54 pm

blacktop with brown leather seats and blue light up on panel? Thats kinda weirdo

• Vincent on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:01 pm

So, finally toyota learn that their loyal customer is not blind? Have to give new engine with 6 speed gear box. :>

In Malaysia, Camry loose a lot of customer because of the 4 speed gear box. UMW salesman called say Camry is gicing 10K discount….hahahaha

• elson on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:17 pm

toyota just wan to follow mazda, so they made the camry same like vios, but they fail, why? bcoz mazda has a best designer time named team kodo , motion my soul….

• Joker on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Still ugly.. and overpriced…

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:55 pm

I ve to agree. .look is worse.. the nose get messed up.. should be simpler. .the chrome line shouldn’t be there.. but without it ll look exactly like new Vios.

Camry should ve her own look & style. . Anyway. . Not my pick.. uncles can buy.. no problem. . Camry suspension is good.

Pass..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Pity on camry hav to go through heavy plastic surgery to gain the look back.

Somehow, they already losing market share and will this be their saver?

• Brutus on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:35 pm

“We’re not sure if the ASEAN market will get this new engine and gearbox combo.”

Knowing UMW Toyota, the answer is very obvious, NO. Other regions will be luckier than us.

• sonyman on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:38 pm

dear UMW, When will you come out with a J variant for this Malaysian loved camly, ah?

A lot of people waiting for Camry J leh. 1 airbag enough lah. Since it is J model mah.

So i waiting. when?when?

Of forget to tell you UMW, Camly J sell at RM 160K ah.
    Camly X sell at RM 180K ah, 2.5V sell at RM 210K ah ok ?

Sure many many uncle and auntie buy one… At RM 210K ah, i think they sure think Toyota Equivalent to BMW and Macidi. Of course Nothing beats the Camly mah. King of the CarS every year no matter what happen.

• Chow 1 on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Wow so beautiful I love it!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:55 pm

same aje

• WTF with tats crome bar??arghhhh

• hakim on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:48 pm

now they add chrome keli misai to the front grill, n the interior doesn’t have any luxurious look at all!

it’s getting fuglier…

• If many say Camry is uncle car, then what is wrong with that? I think Toyota has been successful.. because I dont think camry is for the younger driver. They have vios n altis, 86, etc…so what is wrong building cars which focusing on these uncles? At the end, how many young drivers can afford camry? Look at the sale figure tell us everything…… many condems camry but it is still the most sold in malaysia… so what? As a manufacturers, why should the ylisten to the uhh ahh of not-their-custonmers? So, there are already over 50 comments,.. or bad remarks… but how many of us do drive camry?

• pondan on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Hahaha… looks like uncle trying to look young by dressing up young.

The end results, still an old uncle with the looka beyond his means

• cendol (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Same 10 year old gear box. Same 10 year old engine.
    Only some cosmetic changes.
    But price will increase most likely.
    And Malaysians still buy it as though they have made it in life.
    Pathetic Malaysians.

• kenny on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:24 am

Toyota engine is not old but is advance ahead other car maker. As you said, they already make that good engine many years ago and still good as at todate which many other car makers like Hyundai and Nissan still chasing behind. You want new and advance engine, go and buy Toyota Hybrid Lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:56 am

I will buy Toyota Hybrid if not for the ridiculous tax by our G.
        Our ultra kiasu G is beyond redemption. Protecting a few in expense of majority.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:44 am

Hyundai is still trying to match Toyota Engines and gearboxes produced 20 years ago.

Till now, they can only produce gearboxes that last no more than 3 years/100,000kms and engines that will only be fuel efficient for 15 months

After that, its all going downhill, a very very steep hill

• Sorry, its still ugly. Apart from Sam Loo of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • yapyw on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:26 pm

I prefer the U.S. version.

• DRrif on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:48 am

Its simple. Front now good, back fugly, C pillar 1970s Datsun.

= fail

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:39 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Fortegees on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Look like Darth Vader

• To all bashers,

If this car is not nice, please just shut up and press Ctrl + W.

You all just so not mature.

• Inconvenient Truth on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:53 pm

So much bashing… Too bad the uncles with the money to buy the cars doesn’t browse paultan.org but is busy managing their enterprise while sadly the internet only means email, trading partners and price of stock market to them… Truth is this is Malaysia, and we are a bloody young country… It’ll probably be another 20~25yrs before your discontents can be heard and some actions will be done; that is after the baby boomer generations is completely replaced by gen-y’s and the workforce is a majority millennials. Why? mentality… So fret not that you are not heard, it’s not your time yet, but it’ll come…

• umw worker:bos new facelift for camry,we should add more safety feature to beat other market
    umw ceo:no need , 2 air bag is enuf. when they see this car on road with aftermarket bodykit, sure they will buy this car. +cute led strip. dont worry. i will ensure we get more profit next year so u all can get 8 month bonus. So do u want sacrifice ur bonus for this safety feacture. think 10times.
    umw worker:ok bos

• Will Toyota get a six speed auto gear box or still a old 4 auto gears?

That what matter most!!!

• The front mimics Ford Fusion. New Altis seems to be more a looker than this

• Sporty “Uncle’s Misai” (especially the integrated fog lamp haha.. )at the front, still the same lazy back which doesn’t make the whole car speaks.
    Upgrade the NA engine to be cleaner and more efficient plus the gearbox with additional 2 more forward ratio, that’s what all of us would like to see.