Infiniti QX70S – sport package now available, RM500k

Infiniti QX70S Showroom- 31

At yesterday’s launch of the new Infiniti Q50, we saw a QX70 (formerly and more popularly known as the FX) with different wheels sitting outside the showroom and enquired about it. Turns out that the QX70 is now available with a sport package, with an S badge added.

The QX70S is basically the regular crossover with the GT Premium optional package and Sport bits thrown in. It is priced at RM500,000 on-the-road without insurance, RM30k costlier than the RM470k QX70 GT Premium. The standard QX70 is priced at RM435k.

Let’s go step by step with this new kid on the block. The QX70 is powered by a 3.7 litre V6 engine with 320 hp and 360 Nm. The naturally-aspirated VVEL engine is paired to a seven-speed auto and there’s AWD. It’s a big machine, and 0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds is respectable. Top speed is 235 km/h.

Sport seats with adjustable side/thigh support and active dampers are part of the Sport pack

The GT Premium package adds on maple interior accents, an 11-speaker Bose stereo with 10GB Music Box, HDD navi with eight-inch touchscreen, voice recognition, Around View Monitor, Intelligent Cruise Control, Lane Departure Warning with Prevention and Intelligent Brake Assist with collision warning.

The QX70S further adds on mega six-spoke 21-inch wheels (20-inch standard) with 265/45 rubber, black headlamp housing and dark chrome trim on the side profile.

Inside, a dark cabin greets you – trim, leather and headlining are all in black for the S. Things that actually contribute to sporty driving are active dampers (Infiniti calls it Continuous Damping Control) with Auto/Sport modes and sport seats with adjustable side bolsters and thigh support.

Six years on and the “370Z SUV” still looks like nothing else on the road. You’ll stand out in this, for sure. Check out prices, specs and photos of the Infiniti QX70 on CarBase.my or compare between the three QX70 available variants using our car comparison tool.

Infiniti QX70S

Infiniti QX70 GT Premium

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• heybadigol on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Agreed. Its very distinctive. Nothing else on the road looks like this. And its also very handsome. Like the subwoofer inside the spare wheel. Really efficient use of space, as the boot is quite small for a large SUV.

• Gargantia on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:58 pm

For me new x-trail look way way better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Madani Sahari on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Kereta ini murah. Janji Kerajaan sebaya dengan usaha tegas MAI, kami dapat menunai janji mengurangkan harga kereta 30%

• Nissan on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Better wait for 2015 Murano.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Saw this in the metal once. A black one. Head snapped back for a second look. It would have stayed there if I weren’t driving myself.

The front visage is so imposing and the side is very muscular with gigantic wheel arches and large wheels. Never saw anything else like it since.

• Kasut Koyat on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:51 am

500k??? Better get a German, more ‘yean’. Macan, X4 or used X6, Cayenne.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:04 pm

The best looking there is,no argument…..in this class I think this is da only car that has a naturallly aspirated engine(which is not as great as it sounds),others r either force inducted or diesels,the price is nuts but who cares,u have to see it to believe it how cool it looks…

• datsun on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:18 pm

the Snow button can be removed or not? Maybe less RM10K from the price list

• mmaker on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:37 pm

21-inch wheels!

• old dog on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:38 pm

That higher price than BMW i8…

http://www.edmunds.com/auto-shows/frankfurt/2013/2014-bmw-i8-gets-135925-price-tag-2013-frankfurt-auto-show.html

Pity us Malaysian

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Few years ago , a double storey house costs at most RM200k,
    Nowadays a car costs RM500k,
    What has the world come to?
    You all have got your priorities wrong, the government.

• Tun minister on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:37 pm

No money and complaints alot just get out of here.
      M’sia only needs cronies that listen only to Gov.

• cincau on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Gaji tidak naik, jadi kereta nampak semakin mahal.

• Nissan Sunny on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Ada kerja jangan bising lagi…. Negara gawat.. dan semua kat Putrajaya gaji buta

• Lpost on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Houses price have increased caused by the culprit private developers take granted and making lots of money by cekik darah rakyat.

• seancorr on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Good to see bigger variants of premium SUV’s still using a good old NA V6 engine. You can never get that sweet sound and smooth power delivery with a turbo charged engine but I think that’s gonna end in the next generation of SUV’s no thanks to the CO2 emissions this engine produces.

• CENDOL , KL where got RM200K double-story house .
    single story pun tak boleh dapat

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Rakyat has been squeezed dry.
      Next generation will be a generation of renters, all rent only, cannot afford buy own house

• hope infinity could plonk in smaller engine e.g. 2.0 turbo for this car as other alternative and then the price could be lower

• Nissan Sunny on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:03 pm

500k for a Nissan ?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Gotta say the design of the QX70 is quite awesome

• Rambo on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Design awesome but people also dont buy what for?
      Tell me how many infinit u hv seen on the road.
      Hardly any. It is a dying breed mann

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:40 pm

very nice i like it…but i prefer new xc90

• San Marino on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:46 am

Weirdest SUV on the road. Whenever I see it on the road, always wondered if the owners booked the car after having too much beer.

• Dr_Jones on Aug 30, 2014 at 1:28 am

Half a mil is just too much for an upmarket Japanese car