Proton PCC – Tg Malim plant ramps up quality checks; all variants to pass 100,000 km durability tests

PROTON-IRIZ

It’s exciting times ahead in Malaysia, at least where the automotive industry is concerned. The upcoming Proton PCC (or Proton Iriz, if you must) is just around the corner, and we’ve been given a short tour of the new car’s birthplace to see the efforts Proton has made to improve its quality, reliability and of course, safety.

Before we start, a short side note. Proton has kindly asked that until the car is launched, we refer to the new model as the PCC (Proton Compact Car) instead of the old GSC (Global Small Car) codename. Why? Because it’s not so small, apparently. Right, then, on to the good stuff.

Some of you may have spotted camouflaged fleets of the B-segment hatchback being driven around recently. No, there are no last-minute fine-tuning shenanigans here, just plain old on-road durability testing. All variants of the new model are each on the tail end of planned 100,000 km durability tests. Here, four production-spec cars cover around 1,000 km daily, through mixed driving conditions.

Throughout the development of this model, specific parts of the car have undergone strict comfort and longevity evaluations too. The headlights, for instance, have gone through a 1,000-hour heat ageing test.

Another one of the 671 component tests measure the effort needed to close the car’s doors using specially-designed jigs (imagine Ikea’s fancy durability test machines and you’re not far off). The result, in this case, is excellent “door effort” levels – on par with European vehicles, claimed Muhammad Aris Anuar, Proton’s director of manufacturing.

The production schedule of the Proton PCC is well under way. Line consistency trials will start as soon as next week, and pre-production runs are set to commence in the coming month. Full mass production is set to follow shortly, and the new cars will be available in showrooms by the time the model is launched, which we have been re-affirmed will happen very soon indeed.

PROTON-IRIZ-TEASER-0001

In the state-of-the-art Proton Tanjung Malim plant, the PCC will be produced in the same line as the larger Preve and Suprima S models. The Persona and Gen2 (for export markets) are run on a separate production line in the same facility, while the Saga and Satria Neo are built at the main Shah Alam plant, and the Exora and Inspira at the MVF (Medium Volume Factory) plant, also located in Shah Alam.

New for the PCC production line is the inclusion of a main body robot inspection. Yet another quality check gate, this addition is said to improve production consistency and speed. As it is, Proton Tanjung Malim operates with up to 80% automation level, using 205 robots at various stages of the production process.

Final inspections before delivery are all done manually, of course, which include shower (apparently one of the most severe of its kind, to simulate our brutal downpours), running (on a private test track) and radio reception tests – all done within the 240-acre facility (spread over 1,280 acres, as part of the 4,000-acre Proton City project).

DSC_0136

The manufacturing process in the Proton plant uses the biggest stamping equipment in South East Asia. Also a region-first is the use of Hot Press Forming (HPF) technology for vital components of the body-in-white. More commonly used on European vehicles, HPF parts have three times the strength of mild steel, opening up doors for improved safety (self explanatory) as well as weight reduction (less material needed).

First introduced in the Preve and Suprima S, Proton’s upcoming B-segment hatchback will also benefit from this technology. The PCC will incorporate four HPF parts, plus another four cold roll-forming high tensile strength steel components for much improved safety.

For a simple comparison, Proton pointed out that the Volkswagen Polo, Audi A4 and BMW 5 Series use five, nine and 13 HPF parts respectively, while both the Preve and Suprima S have 12 each. Japanese automakers, on the other hand, have not adopted such a technique.

Proton Iriz safety

Just like its big brothers, the PCC has received a 5-star crash test rating by Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) – we’ve seen the crash test video; the small car looks mighty strong. Closer to home, it will be tested by ASEAN NCAP next month, and Proton is confident of a 5-star safety rating as well.

With improved quality and safety, Proton is clearly moving in the right direction with the PCC. Deputy CEO Khairuddin Datuk Hj Yusoff himself added, “there are many challenges that we need to overcome in this highly competitive industry. There is the need to address negative past experiences of our customers, as well as correct market perception and show that Proton offers good quality and value for money cars.

“Ultimately, we want to win the customer’s heart and mind,” he concluded. Time will tell, then. Time will tell.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 316
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Axia and Iriz aren’t competitors. Different price, different segment, different size. The Iriz will probably start in terms of pricing where the Axia stops.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 13
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 284
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Maybe ur IQ n EQ even lower?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 13
          • Bataman on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:19 pm

That guy…WHAT IQ level??? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • Madani Sahari on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Semua orang disini IQ dan EQ rendah. Hanya staff MAI IQ tinggi.

Saya ucap tahniah kepada staff MAI kerana berusaha menjadikan plant ini top quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
          • Wisdom on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Just show us the car, specs, prices and ETD.
            At least some of the prospect can hold their Axia purchase.

Current situation, people still hindered by Proton track record, and by just looking at uncertaion pictures and specs, most will book Axia. Trust me. Just show it to the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:39 pm

EQ or IQ just talk about Proton here. And just buy Proton Iriz.

100,000 km? My 1997 Wira also can pass 200,000km sama tada problem.

Tun love spyshot.
            Proton engine single tank can travel whole m’sia.
            100,000km? biasa jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
          • Arabs say Thank You! on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:50 am

Malaysians have no shame. This is like Proton. Sell in rich Arab countries half the price. Every single Proton model is sold in Arab countries for half the price sold here. We Malaysians are subsidising rich Arabs to make them even richer. Proton make its own people, their own flesh and blood suffer with double the price. Government make its own people suffer.

When are the kampung people going to wake up and see the truth and light?

We poor Malaysians subsidise rich Arabs and give them cheap Made in Malaysia Protons for half the price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:33 am

Time will tell??

Time had told how good Proton is.

I only wish simply: Proton selling good or not, don’t beg money from government and ask for more condoms (Protection).

Proton selling good or not, won’t affect Toyota/Honda/Kia/Ford etc. I do happy to see Malaysian can make good, reliable car with low price.

Currently, reliable + reasonable price, ppl still go for foreign cars. Proton still not close to reliable, and getting further from cheap price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
          • techi on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Still people dun know about UAE tax structure. They are rich enough so dun have high tax like bolehland. That’s why cars are so cheap there.

And same lorrr still say Proton is reliable, saw yesterday stalled Honda City, lol. Why not proton?

• if quality has been vastly improved and pricing is right around 40-60k across the range, i dont see why people will choose myvi over this car unless they are jap whorshippers and thinking that they are driving a toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 9
          • Best example is M——–

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Proton Iriz to Global !!!!
            All German and Japan conti can go home !!!

Tun don’t dissapointed as on the important fixture “selling price”.

Proton king of road and RV, Tun love spyshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:42 am

The “IF” you mentioned have been talked by sooo many ppl since 1980s. When it will turn to reality? No one knows.

For the “awesome” Preve build quality, please check out the 3 pages long self QC list upon receiving new Preve, developed by Preve owner club.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=3887886

You know how the Preve owners called themselves: Bravest Proton Supporter. You really need balls to buy Proton. lol
            https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3158210

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • So what, every cars have its own QC list, dun tell me Toyol dun have one.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Yes, every car will have its QC list, from the CAR MAKER.

But not only few car will have its QC list from the OWNERS.

When you buy a hair shampoo in Tesco, do you on the spot wash your hair to confirm it is hair shampoo?

Find me a Toyota owner self-QC checklist shared in lowyat please!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • rotigulung on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Same Lorrr seems desperate enough comparing car and shampoo!

• Same Lorrr Sohai on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:08 pm

i know this same lorrr guy must be in every proton article in paultan. bashing proton… hahahahha. why la so angry with proton? your saga rosak ka? then u dun have money to repair is it? LOL

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:02 pm

While technically the two cars aren’t direct competitors, it’s clear that the Malaysian system (and mindset) would pit them against each other. Proton launching late means they will be missing out on a few customers who are currently shopping for entry-level cars. How much that would hurt the sales of the PCC once it’s launched remains to be seen but everyone is sick of waiting for i) the car to launch, and ii) more information from Proton regarding the car.

Anyway, in my opinion, they’re doing the right thing by taking their time to address key issues with their cars rather than rush to beat Perodua to the punch for car launch. It can’t be denied also that Perodua seems more organized than Proton with so much shaking up amongst Proton’s top management as of late.

But this car seems quite promising. Proton has been putting up quite an effort recently by addressing the key areas of public concern regarding their vehicles. (they seem to be listening)

They addressed their “tin milo” reputation first with the Preve/SuprimaS. They built it up even further on the Preve range when they made 6 airbags and ESP standard across the range. Now only their older vehicles are lacking in safety, as Same l0rrr would be happy to inform you and to which I agree. But it is not logical to fault Proton for cars made before they initiated their focus on safety.

In the PCC, they seem to be focusing on quality/reliability issues as well as fuel efficiency: two of their hallmark pitfalls. We shall see whether they can pull it off in spectacular fashion or even with mediocrity. I only hope that they’re sincere and have the dedication to pull it through.

That leaves one of the other major complaints against Proton: Poor service at their service centers. As I don’t own a Proton, I have no idea how they’re doing on that department. There has been no word since we last heard vaguely that they’re going to do something about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 3
        • Same lorrr list of old proton cars in 3..2…1…LOL

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:30 pm

I think it depends on the SC. The SC I used to frequent here in Seri Kembangan has done an excellent job in maintaining my old Saga. Have no issues whatsoever on that remark.

The key is to be smart in selecting your SC. Don’t just go for the obvious & big ones like HQ. Sometimes when they have to handle large volumes, quality suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Yes, it depends on individual SC’s level of service. No doubt about that. I’ve been hearing bad stories about Mitsubishi SC’s in the Peninsular but the one here in my hometown is actually quite good, in my opinion. However, I firmly believe that it is the parent company’s responsibility to ensure that their SC’s keep a level of service that would satisfy their customers and entice potential customers. That is how Lexus and Toyota go about their business. Toyota and Nissan ranked highest in the list of customer satisfaction last year. It is no coincidence that they achieved this.

But I am also aware that these surveys have biases involved.

• The Proton SC in Tmn Mayang, managed by Ruby, is a small but very popular place. Highly recommended.

• would like to recommend seri iskandar sc.
          superb service. small but professional

• would like to recommend seri iskandar sc.
          superb service. small but professional

• Ash Menon on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:49 pm

See, that’s what I find so amusing. I’ve had Protons for 5 years now, I’ve never had anything less than fantastic service.

So far my mom has been happy with her Perodua service as well, so I can’t complain there.

• Pinky on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Price it right, spec it right (6 airbags, VSC and not some fancy but less useful spec like the axia), give 5 years warranty, and it will surely beats the Axia / Myvi / Picanto.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
      • agree with you but I think it will be most prob not with 6 airbags.. but 4 is acceptable compared to some other japs that are still stuck with 2 airbags.

• Username1 on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:14 am

I didnt even bother to read the article. Just came straight to the comments. Any proton article on Paul Tan sure got some funny proton bashing argument on it one hahahaha. I bet if the news headline was ” Proton paint their cars green” also got ppl will bash hahaha

• Izayoi on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Axia are targetting for a low budget audience. Proton Iriz/Aero are targetting mid budget audience since it was develope to compete with Kia Rio, Ford Fiesta and Jazz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • Booking does not translate to sales

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:22 am

Ini lagi sorang very low IQ.. in another word retarded to unexplain level..

Takde booking means ramai org nak beli ke? Or org mmg tak nak beli?

Budak sekolah rendah pon can answer this..

Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • rotipisang on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:35 am

well said..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:46 am

lol, not all booking will become sales. You are right.

But no booking, CONFIRM no sales.

Your wife pregnant, doesn’t guarantee you will get a son. But your wife not pregnant, CONFIRM you won’t have son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Motorbuttt on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:59 am

this PCC already open booking ka..?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:26 pm

that mean u guys already see the real pcc uncamo?…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Autoparts Maker on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Yes, I have seen all the variants, without the camouflage.

• mim (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:30 pm

meh, Preve had 1.5k bookings in one night. Saga SV oso gets 12k bookings in less than 2 weeks. Not surprised.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
    • kusochon on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Perodua don’t need to any test for axia. Indonesian has already done the test for them. Very jimat kos!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 130
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Still axia need to be test especially material used for axia since most of axia part r locally built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • untested risk on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Yup, I’m very agree about your point.
          They can’t be using the same material and supplier as the Indonesia version.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Go home jer kzm know ntg about anything.

Proton king of road and RV, Tun love spyshot.

Iriz smoke kzm until lost the face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:24 pm

…why suddenly attack him? Come on la, grow up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:52 am

Yes, Proton also Emperor of garage, emergency lane break down.

Heil Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • You mislooked VW as proton, lol

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:56 pm

indonesian review said ayla / axiah underpowered n unstable

spa lagi perodua salesman mau tipu??
        dulu masa myvi/ alza boleh la kencing customer sebab ada kat japan je

now indonesian drive it first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
        • akina on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:26 pm

i’m staying in japan for almost 6 months now..
          seriously langsung x pernah nampak passo sette on the road. passo/boon pun x banyak nampak(tak macam kat malaysia, boleh nampak merata ceruk). mira yes, itu pun sbb kereta tu jenis kereta plat kuning(kei car)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • Sebab Malaysian cinta Toyota Group

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:55 pm

mira used for delivery by post office
            those who stayed n used to be real JDM owner mmg tak impressed langsung dgn level umw n petodua ni

caprut yg kemaruk jepun jerr

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:52 pm

aziah… low budget, kampung ppl who cant afford real jdm

iriz… urban ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:57 pm

6000 kampung ppl will die if the car langgar lembu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • 6000 “org kampung” will be regret to booking the AXIA cassette…

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:52 pm

reminds me of 6000 viva rlite buyers… after product discont… really regret

• MoFaz on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:07 pm

you said “The cows have already went home”… but why are you still here? you should go back to kandang too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • KLWong on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:48 pm

The cows already gone home? Good, because PCC is for humans and not for ‘cows’. Got what I mean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Nissan Sunny on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Must say…Handsome looking car this Proton. All the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Proton Kangkung Car ... PKC on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

Proton said don’t refer their new car as GSC, Global Small Car but instead PCC, proton compact car….why are the afraid to code name their car as their original plan was to come up with a global small car…it’s simple, after all the testing they did overseas, Proton has just confirm that their new model is not a global small car & can never compete with other automakers global small car ….Gloabally !!!!

So they change the name to PCC & launch that shit of a car her to once again cheat the rakyat malaysia with their worthless car these bloody proton should call it Proton Kangkung Car…. PKC !!!!!!

What a waste, proton is hear to cheat the rakyat again… Time will tell, same farking story for 30 years & the morons still can say time will tell !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • weare on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Why not? Japs took more 30 years yet Japanese dun fuss like you

• Calvin Lee on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:59 pm

coz it is compact car, not small car. masuk tadika balik kalau tak faham bahasa. Malaysia product can’t beat globally? what else do we have to beat global car, perodua? at least proton stand by their on feet..hehe. #merdeka

• axia are copy paste car only from japan.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:08 pm

[The headlights, for instance, have gone through a 1,000-hour heat ageing test.]

Hopefully so, its the only visible problem I’ve seen with the Preve siblings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:29 pm

I think they meant the headlamp unit not the bulb..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Hopefully they include the bulb life into the equation. I don’t think they’re deaf to the blown light bulb complaints.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

I think bulb don’t use heat aging test but similar to door test..switch on-off n durability kind of test. That suppose done by vendor rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Think you’re right. It should be done by the vendor. But seeing how Proton’s vendors have been in the past, it’ll make sense for them to test it themselves…just to be sure.

• najib on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:35 pm

normally bulb lifespan measured by running hour. however, bulb quality is depends on OEM of the bulb.

• shawal on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Do not disappoint us any longer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • After experiencing 7 models from proton since 1991, i can surely conclude that if it is a japanese based rebadged model: Not bad. Can still buy. If it is entirely proton engineered model: You will suffer. Better dont buy.

• rotigulung on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Preve Home-grown model : 5 star australian NCAP ( have ESC)
        Rebadged wira : ???? star NCAP (no ESC)

Better home grown

• Pinky on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Price it right, spec it right (6 airbags, VSC and not some fancy but less useful spec like the axia), give 5 years warranty, and it will surely beats the Axia / Myvi / Picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:20 pm

So far so good. Looks like they’ve put in a lot of effort, and while flawed, you could see continuous improvement from Proton to Proton. The Preve and Suprima got quite close, so hopefully finally they will have arrived with the PCC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • prabowi on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Save the hope for now. When it comes to quality, proton is a serial heartbreaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • As usual, when the product fails, impress people with their processes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 67
    • iomasark on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:05 pm

When safety is like close to zero, impress people with their FC

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:15 pm

try to cheat rakyat on FC… fuel saving.. how they make it

make small less than 1000 cc

hahah

• sukai on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:43 pm

ioma..feel like throwing boomerang?

• driver on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

better than “when product fails, impress people with their parent’s badge …”

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

it reminds me when rakyat complaint n condemn perodua … they start talking pasal japanese DNA , japan QC, daihatsu bla la

• Denim on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:42 pm

I think we need to grow up here. Start talking good things about yr product by fact n figure rather than talking bout yr competitor. Initially P1 n P2 were established not to compete each other. besides they shud compliment each other. as business grow, the definition also differ. P1 start approaching compact cars while P2 approaching sedan n high cc cars. Now, rakyat bergaduh sesama sdri..

• Fingers crossed, but still, all the best to Proton. Will wait and see what all this hype will build up to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Well, worth the wait if they get it right this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • “All variants of the new model are each on the tail end of planned 100,000 km durability tests.”

So that explains the long exposure of many PCCs on the road. No wonder the launching date was delayed.

Booking banyak lagi bang. Jangan risau. Student-student banyak baru habis grad ni.Masing-masing nak pakai kereta. Let them make the decisions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Haha … sendiri tanya, sendiri jawab. Sendiri syok. The car sampai sekarang mau tukar parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Abang,you illiterate ka? If illiterate cakaplah awal-awal.Come I explain.

First I quote the context,then I expressed a statement having a sense on why the PCC was taking so long to launch;in reference to the context I quoted. Mana soalan? Itu lah,masa study dulu syok sendiri.

Good lah kalau mahu tukar parts. Rotating and switching with the best equipments. Untuk you juga abang.

Kalau tak ada stringent testing,takde quality you juga bising. Sudah stringent test pun mahu bising ka?

Duduk diam. Esok sudah launch,pergi test. Bila sudah test,baru bising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Test? More like dragging the launch because of technical prob the your so called engineer have no idea about it. Your pergi test drive sudah tak boleh pakai la. You have used that in preve & suprima… semua kena tipu … that y stok melambak kat yard.

• That can’t beat Toyol massive recalls all around the world due to faulty parts.

• driver on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:52 am

IF your claim is true, isn’t that a good thing? They found a technical problem before launch the car. That shows something about a capability of a company to, firstly, spot a problem, and then fix it. If they don’t even spot it, than we should condemn it.

Anyway, when you build a car from scratch, of course there’s going to be technical challenges. … not like changing bumper. Even that p2 took years!! What’s your stand on this then?

• ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:26 pm

“For a simple comparison, Proton pointed out that the Volkswagen Polo, Audi A4 and BMW 5 Series use five, nine and 13 HPF parts respectively, while both the Preve and Suprima S have 12 each (the red bits below). Japanese automakers, on the other hand, have not adopted such a technique.”

Japanese mostly use UHSSS up to this time? Glad to know Proton is investing on this high tech stamping machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Corporal on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:56 pm

PCC most likely will be stronger and safer than Axia. Shall wait for the NCAP results next month. But will it translate to sales here as most Msians don’t really care about safety. However Honda is doing a good job as the new City and Jazz scored really high in front impact test where City outperformed Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:12 pm

honda city, honda jazz all under DRB hicom
        proton Iriz also under DRB hicom

good job

now we see UMW cant cheat malaysian anymore

• Corporal on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:23 pm

The previous gen Vios scored extremely low under the ASEAN NCAP. I wonder why UMW didn’t test the latest Vios yet. City was launched about 5 months after the new Vios also got NCAP results ady.

Glad to see the Honda and Proton is improving the safety of their cars while UMW….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • It’s called godcar why it should be tested? If collides with a lorry also not even has a scratch!

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:19 pm

if rakyat notice… i never call UMW product as Toyota product coz its totally insulting real toyota jdm owner n japanese generally

how come product made for kampung market unser, avanza , vios cam be called toyota???

itu umw

• Leonardo on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:40 pm

I remembered going to the Toyota showroom in section 15, Shah Alam, when the new Vios was launched in Sept or Oct last year. I asked the Toyota salesman about the ENCAP or ANCAP rating for the Vios. He did not answer me even though I repeatedly asked him. So I kind of agree that Malaysians are not so concerned about safety but are more concerned about ‘brand’ and ‘image’ as the car is selling very well, until the introduction of Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • And RV too. Most people will think about selling the car even before buying it. And they dare to call themselves ‘enthusiasts’. Sheesshh..

• Waiting on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Good read. Hopefully Proton comes through and the car is as good as they say.
    I’m kinda disappointed with what I heard from Axia so far from what was leaked (“Eco mode” shenanigans, deceptive FC, cheap looking interior, price). Hope the PCC, even if it’s more expensive, offers more value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:31 pm

100,000km test?

Hahaha. ..

Huhuhu. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
    • sukai on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:45 pm

impressed? seem like.. speechless I would say for you

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Impressed?

Yaya.. betul.. I mmg “impressed”…

Hahaha. .

So I laugh again. .. Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
        • Motorbuttt on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:03 pm

if u were so impressed..dont la laugh until like that…people will mistakenly think u’re an idiot or a maniac

• untested risk on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:58 pm

How many km for Axia tested? 100km? beh…

You should be worried if a new car hasn’t been tested to that extend as PCC.

• I would not worry about Axia since my customers from P2 always visit me with their test unit whole year. It was a white color stripped down version. They kindly ask me not to shoot photos. So im sure it was tested.
        For the GSC, i really hope the tests help improving the car.

• Maseratits on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Cant wait!

• The manufacturing plant, the technology employed, the tiger spirit..what can go wrong? …ahhh..get rid of the chronies that continue to supply sub-standard component..no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • pirlo on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:05 am

hopefully. insya Allah. please, get rid the incompetent vendors. change Punch CVT, please.

• Another Malaysian on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Haters gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:53 pm

dan haters nya set set pki perodua jer

hahaha

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Oh haters syok sendiri. . Please hate this & accept da fact.. I don’t ve to hate you to know that you sukks..

Hahaha. .

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
        • motorbart on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:55 pm

But no safety?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:15 pm

reliability not urban ppl priority… safety is our priority
          nowadays ppl buy n use the car within3-5 years n changenthe car

car manufacturers also did the same.. product lifecycle 3-5years an then change yo new model

soo all thier parts are designed for life 3-5years only

• Denim on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:23 pm

reliability n safety actually priority for every buyers. Even people frm kampung now already pandai ask about airbags, ABD, EBD and so on. Dont simply put org kampung as 2nd grade as most of ours frm kampung.

Agree with you product lifecycle 3-5 years. Same goes to jig and die life span. I think Proton should put Preve n Suprima as their main product and let Persona n Saga go on FMC. These 2 models already run 7 years ++ and its not good for the market even thought its the most selling cars for Proton. They may introduce Preve SV or Suprima SV instead of relying on Person n Saga.

I do hope that Proton did not repeat the same mistake by selling car up to 10 years old n beyond.

• Motorbuttt on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:15 pm

hey uncle motorhead..
          just curious do u bought ur M3 already..?

• I kinda got attached to the Aero name from a previous article but it seems Iriz will have to do..

• Syabas Proton.. This is how you made a comment! Always make positive comments and don’t blame peoples when they don’t want to buy your products. Keep positive. Peoples now see your efforts to be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • pirlo on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:08 am

you hear that, top management of P1? please make constructive comments and feedback. do not put the burden to rakyat or government.

• Sounds good…we just have to wait for the real thing to launch to pass judgment.

• The articles seems adopted from Proton themselves…too shiok sendiri…I don’t buy it…just launch it..either sink or swim aftermath..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • sukai on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Who care if you don’t buy it.. others will buy it..so do I

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:06 pm

u bash iriz and ppl assume u can afford import car???

jenis pakai perodua jeee

prrftttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • pirlo on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:10 am

rilek la peyno. do not insult the perodua buyer. nothing to do with perodua here.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:59 am

yes… nothing to do with perodua… but look at yhe comments from them…. basing proton n praise perodua in protom topic…. for what???

me 6 years in japan really cant tahan those japan wannabe driving perodua n umw

sembanf macam jdm ownet

• will this PCC fetch the same faith as Suprima S?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • faith or fate? on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:17 pm

will this PCC fetch the same FATE as Suprima S?

• Denim on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:29 pm

depends.. of course safety as everybody mentioned here 5 STAR even thought no official spec puclished. The reliability is another aspect as key factor. If this GSC can meet both, no doubt its sellable. Myvi is the close competitor for GSC. Reliability wise is proven but GSC may have extra points in safety.

To beat Myvi arent easy job. Even with same price introduction, Myvi already known and become popular models since 2005 and counting.. GSC need to work even harder to win so called hati rakyat as they still feel anxiety towards proton’s brand reputation.

• Time will tell…..

• fastd on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:45 pm

It’s a never turn back move by PROTON.
    Let see how PCC can win people heart!

p/s: remind me on Awie’s song ‘Iris’ beginning lyric
    “Kau masih ku cintai…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • pan mew on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Final inspections before delivery are all done manually, of course, which include shower (apparently one of the most severe of its kind, to simulate our brutal downpours),

this is so called state of the art procedure

That is why my proton has wet floor board after every car wash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • areos on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Good to hear P1 really worked hard for PCC in order to produce quality car..long time ago P1 would rush the production to meet political expectation. Those who love critisize P1 before on quality issue should not hesitate to buy PCC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Don’t buy the 1st few batches, let others be the Guinea Pigs.

• toyota vios on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:01 pm

You people who said proton not a good car are obviously know nothing about car.

I earn RM 22k a month, yet I am driving my proud proton saga. I spent the rest of the money investing in binjal condo in klcc.

I am a very high class people, I drive my goddamn Saga everywhere.

You people no money to buy proton, don’t bash my beloved car.

My friend told in tanjung malim told me, next proton model will have 8 airbags. One extra at car engine bay and another at car trunk.

8 airbags, yes u read it correctly…

But, no guarantee if it will be activated if impacted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:08 pm

What job u do?

• Good job bro! 1 question, why your nickname toyota vios?

• Obviously his truly driving Proton Saga and his dream car Vios… Hopeless that set his dream too low

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:10 pm

normally that kind of ppl driving petodua n his dream car is vios

hahaha

• gaban on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Wanna troll here?
      Give me cars that give you guarantee that all the airbags working during impact. BMW? Merc? Audi?

• frossonice on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:30 pm

So said a person with ‘toyota vios’ as a nickname.

I drive a 2012 Proton Saga FLX Executive. It have some downside (NVH, creaking sound here and there) but it is still a good car getting me from point A to point B. Very stable even at 140km/h.

Like you, I spend the rest of my money on something else more valuable like houses.

• Proton Saga is Stable?
        sadly no, I have one 2012 FLX at home too.

doesnt feel good and steady at high speed.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:10 pm

What? 22K per month? Drive a BLM? No VSC? No ESC? 3 stars?

Now2.. your life is that cheap? Driving a coffin?

Sorry.. pinjam from plotong macai words.

Hahaha. .. klakar nya.. sedap kan cakap kat org.. lu org pon sama… Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • You only work 1 month in 1 year right..

• farghmee on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:33 pm

u mean the pedestrian airbags? that’s nice!
      volvo has started testing that kind of airbags.

• jenjenjen on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:10 pm

ya, just like the Merc S500 that Princess Di was travelling in that fateful night- only two out of eight airbags deployed.

• Hopefully this is not another Asia answer to BMW junk car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • frossonice on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Way past that already la.. That was Waja.

That was when Tengku Mahaleel were having fun squandering people’s good perception of Proton before.

• Denim on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:52 pm

Agree with you. Tengku Mahalel the one who bring Proton frm bad to worse. Producing cars like kilang kicap. His successor, Tn Syed Zainal (Now Dato Seri) even better. Can see quality imrpoved gradually for each units produced. Selling unwanted shares where it burden their finance. When DRB take over, It is DRB ways N DRB man.. Then, New DRB shud step up to grow Proton further. This GSC is their baby.. see how quick the baby can run..

• swifty on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:08 pm

If it comes equipped with CVT transmission, I hope Proton had solved the problem of the annoying whine.

• jenjenjen on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:13 pm

infact it should come with conventional stepped auto tranny, with at least 6 speed, with manual override. CVT’s r lame….

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:08 pm

good job iriz
    this will be targetting mid-upper income n ppl who has awareness on safety

those who cant afford n dont mind thier beloved ppl got injury masa accident.. can buy perodua ajiahh

• Old dog on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:05 am

Mid upper already move pass protong…that’s something protong don’t realized…

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:14 pm

CVT
    modern n trending
    even daihatsu japan use cvt
    but daihastu wannabe malaysia use 4AT

pity

• walaweh on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:34 pm

paultan team had watched the ancap video!

• eims perfume on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:50 pm

“Proton pointed out that the Volkswagen Polo, Audi A4 and BMW 5 Series use five, nine and 13 HPF parts respectively, while both the Preve and Suprima S have 12 each (the red bits below). Japanese automakers, on the other hand, have not adopted such a technique.”

“we’ve seen the crash test video; the small car looks mighty strong.”

for people who treasure their live and their family

• Pokli Seluang (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:35 pm

wow!
    can go back my kampung 100 time.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:44 pm

[The production schedule of the Proton PCC is well under way. Line consistency trials will start as soon as next week, and pre-production runs are set to commence in the coming month. Full mass production is set to follow shortly…]

So what would this mean for the launch date? Any experienced car production personnel care to lend some insight? I’m assuming the mass production might start around mid-Sept and the launch could be late Sept or early Oct.

• Proton R3 Biru on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:40 pm

We are ready to launch it on 29th September. But all depend on our beloved PM schedule.

If he is not free or out of country. Most likely will be launching in October 23

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Potong is a disgrace to our nation.
    What has Potong done for the past 30 years other than bleed us dry?
    What can Potong do other than ask for handout?
    The only success Potong has is rebadging other people’s car. Potong Wira comes to mind, you can still see many Wiras on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
    • sukai on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Cendol is one of Malaysian people who disgrace our nation.

keep blaming proton..while you have power to choose with car you want to buy..blaming yourself.. only pay a tax..otherwise, asking petrol subsidy, PR1MA, BR1M.. you the one who bleed our nation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:13 pm

For your information, I am not eligible for PR1MA, BR1M.
        I am all for elimination of petrol subsidy which gives Malaysia a false sense of economy.
        And for your information, I pay top tier of tax every year.
        Yes, I can choose any car I want, but all expensive no thanks no protectionism to Potong.
        If there is no Potong, everybody is driving Bentley now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
        • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:27 pm

if no perodua
          rakyat can buy import compact car with cheaper price
          not forgetting ayla indonesia with daihatsu brand n cheper price

• gtrnk on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:01 pm

You pay top tier of tax every year?
          Prove it and give drill please
          or you just talk kok like most proton bashers here.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Prove it?
            Give you bank statement?
            Who are you? Even government does not ask me to prove it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
          • gtrnk on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:04 pm

You were the one that claim. No proof so you are liar, it’s just in your daydreaming. Pity

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:21 pm

I’m pretty sure most british never drive or afford to buy bentley..hack their popular car is from toyota n ford..lame la u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • tiadaid (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:36 pm

“If there is no Potong, everybody is driving Bentley now”

And you claim yourself to pay top tier of tax? I doubt it, seeing how stupid your comment really easy.

• gtrnk on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:07 pm

He wanted to show us bank statement to prove that he paid top tier tax!!

hah hah hah hah hah hah

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:30 pm

keep blaming proton, nap bla bla but at the same time praise another crony national car perodua

usually.. ppl who own real inport car n hate nap will bash all national car policies.. perodua proton n others
        mamat ni kutuk proton supaya diluhat cam user inport je

walhal pakai perodua 10 year loan zero dpayment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Sawy vegetable – flop
    Juara Kampung – flop
    Potong Putra – discontinued
    Potong Satria GTI – 1 hit wonder
    Tiara Jackulina – big flop, 2nd hand value 5k (5 years ago)
    Sup-rima – flop
    Preve – flop
    Inspira – does not inspire malaysians at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 51
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

sime darby own proton

prrfthhhhh

bila perodua macai tak mampu pakai jdm n duduk jepun… ni pa padahmys

• Annoynimouse on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:35 pm

I can only agree with the Tiara and Juara being flops assuming that you refer to flops as being terrible vehicles. Tiara is a case of bad marriage… and as for Juara, it caught us all by surprise and the market wasn’t prepared for such unique design at the time.

• jktrd on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Then came kenari and alphard, why no bashing?
        Both have squarish design, like refrigerators!!!

• mim (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:01 am

Preve and Inspira definitely not a flop.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:48 pm

If I am the father of a son like this(Potong), I will kill the son myself , with my bare hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

typical perodua salesman

if cant tell good thing about own product

tell bad thing about ur competitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Us salesman? Perodua’s? Why we need to be their salesman? They are not doing good in sales?

Lu mau figures & stats kah? Or financial report?

We no need to be P2 salesman to talk kork here.. Unfortunately. . Only salesman can talk kork..

Because the reality is.. you sukks.. world list pon xde.. import xde.. sales xde.. untung xde.. duit pon xde.. hahaha. .

I suka layan some idiots salesman. . Lg byk ckp lagi kelakar. . Nothing to shout out..

Booking pon x boleh.. hahaha. .

Stopping can.. killing also can…

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:15 pm

did u see… 1st comment post of this thread???
          comment from person start praising aziah on proton iriz story

• motorbart on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Motorhead the more you wrote the more people know he likes to talk kok

Ptuih

• motorbart on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Motorhead the more you wrote the more people know you like to talk kok

Ptuih

• kau babi on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:53 pm

pergi mati

• Thai dun have such local car maker but why Accord 2.4l is about RM180k there? Kill proton doesn’t kill tax.

• steven on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Just launch this model now for god sake!!!

• SilverHawk on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:03 pm

It can fight with MyVi or Picanto, but Ford Fiesta i don’t think so. Fortunately, had a chance for a special preview of this car couple of days ago. One word – Improving.

You guys just wait and see.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:17 pm

In USA, somebody with salary USD2000 can buy Mercedes CLA for USD29000.
    In Bolehland, somebody with salary RM2000 can buy P1/P2 for RM29000.
    Can you all wake up and smell the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • victor tan (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Dude, the system already built up. Proton is no longer the reason of why car price is so high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:56 pm

I agree. It’s like a cancer that’s metastasized. You remove the original tumor but that tumor has already seeded the rest of the body. It’s a whole different problem now.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:53 pm

suddenly perodua story comeout

hahaha

• Stupid comparison with USA.
      Is bolehland a developed or rich country?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:57 pm

sembang pasal USA laa
        walhal duduk kampung pki perodua jer

hahaha

• Nissan Sunny on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Tak suka ? KELUAR !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Typical superiority mindset. You think this country is yours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:32 pm

In US people can buy for $650 oni very cheap. Salary $2k enough to buy iphone. In boleh iphone is price RM2.3k so pricey. In boleh RM2k not enough to buy iphone with one month salary. Suppose Apple sold iphone for RM650 better rite.
      ..very lame comparison

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Deswai la I feel smartphone price in boleh so high..in US most phone sell below $1k here sammy s5 RM1.9k+…where can get RM650 iphone…LOLOLOLOL

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Bullshit – an American earning $2000 per month wouldn’t even think about buying a Mercedes-Benz CLA. Cars may be cheap, but things like house rent is high. You can sleep in your CLA if you want, but only an idiot would do so.

I’ve included a comparison between Chicago & KL (since they’re both considered to be alpha city, I think the comparison is apt). Generally things are much cheaper in Kuala Lumpur except for consumption items such as cars & designer goods – but life is not all about designer goods. You can still live without that.

In fact I had visited the US back in 2012, and if cars were as cheap as you say they are, how come I can still see so many junks that’s fit for the scrap yard still running on the roads? And how come I don’t see that many Mercedes-Benz running on the roads? This was in LA by the way.

Also don’t forget that, an American earning that much money will be taxed around 10% – 15%. A Malaysian earning RM 2000 per month doesn’t have to pay tax.

The comparison link:
      http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_cities.jsp?country1=United+States&country2=Malaysia&city1=Chicago%2C+IL&city2=Kuala+Lumpur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Well written observation. Comparing prices between 2 countries is not that simple because of two potentially different systems are in use.

Side note: Americans also have a strange love for their old cars or heritage items from times past. They would restore them from the ground up if they have the money sometimes. Some of them have cars fit for a museum! Some of these can fetch thousands in auctions.

America is a weird place, sometimes.

• Anti-Establishment on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:20 am

Actually America is an industrious country with good DIY culture. Many Americans wouldn’t think twice about servicing their own cars, from simple service like oil change to heavy maintenance.

Here in Malaysia, we keep depending on mechanics & curse them when they charge so high.

• najib on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:29 pm

dont blame proton, blame your gov. proton car also got taxed by gov la. just look at our proton price in saudi. much cheaper than here. its all about tax.

• Macan on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Mahathir himself must buy and drive this car everyday, not Audi or Bugatti or Porsche.

Cakap mesti serupa bikin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • Annoynimouse on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:54 pm

I like how the car feel when driving. It’s fair to say Proton drives better than much Peroduas at least as far as the existing models are concerned.

• Suprima S, big car, power, solid
    But I still see more new City on the road everyday..
    Spotting 1 Suprima S on the road macam kena jackpot, maybe 1 week only see 1 on the road..

This PCC will suffer the same fate.. I think fuel consumption will still be crappy.. proton mah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:59 pm

yes we see more new city than new vios

apple to apple sedan to sedan

means rakyat believe drb than umw

hahaha

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:57 am

Fortunately. . There’s more vios otr than Preve or Sperma S.. aka global car.. in its origin country.. Vios is more.. try count on your way back today.

Fact.. p1 market shrink to 19% in its very own origin country. Shameful.. pathetic.

Or you ve forgotten this news? Low IQ?

Motorhead remember all the figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Vios catfish is lesser than Preve.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:16 am

preve lesser than umw vios???

nak tipu ppuan n makcik2 buyer perodua boleh laaa

rakyat smart orediiiiii

• bubbaonsteroids on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:05 pm

I think it’s more of a perseption than it is a fact that contributed to the less seen sups on the road. I do believe Suprima sets the bar for the coming proton cars & sincerely would love to see them grow but in the same time not in Msian expenses though..just my 2 cents

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:24 pm

One of the biggest Proton failure in sales is from the rakyat itself..backstabbing,stereotyping,badmouthing and i even applauded those who condemm much without even owning one..Congratulation.If Proton were to headed by PR im sure will get good responds..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • old dog on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Just like the protong ad lately, every rakyat’s moeny got suck by protong once in their life time, and still not enough? 30 years!
      Blaming the consumer is typical Malaysia monopolize business models..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:09 pm

cant afford real jdm n conti.. blame proton

end up drive perodua n feel sooo japannnn

hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Botolsusu on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Jijah for CEO!!! Hahaha. Can have proton klapa LLN

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Even Toyota big boss also own a Porsche..so meaning Toyota also no good ah?Toyota got bigger cc cars unlike Proton leh..We got Perdana 3000cc V6?We got Suprima S 2500cc ah friend?So also mean if im the ceo of Hyundai i cannot even owned a Lambo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:30 pm

How to lower the import car price when more and more rakyat already afford to buy Continental and JDM cars?So if u sell your own made slippers for RM5 you also want foreign slippers also cost RM5?

• old dog on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:42 pm

remember Savvy? or even the lately Preve ? its always shiok sendiri..
    unless cronies suppliers are being terminated, which until our death will not happened, protong sucks continue..
    we already have another company brought down by cronies supplier and terminated 6000 employees, same shit with such business model..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:01 pm

perodua , umw , tan chong all crony

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Old dog on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:25 am

Part suppliers dude…you have no idea how those cronies suppliers hide behind protong..same to the famous catering supplier owned by son of protong father..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • tiadaid (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Proton sucks because Malaysians sucks. Malaysians like yourself of course.

• Old dog on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:11 am

Since Malaysian like me won’t support protong to subsidize your luxury cronies supplier life style anymore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • najib on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:40 pm

so, u bought imported car where most of the AP cronies are the owner. DRB,Naza.etc.

• Jilbaber on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Enough talk la..Just launch it already ! C’mon proton !

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Freedom for car industries. .

Let’s stop this plague. Use your purchase power to stop buying.

Liberate..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:12 pm

reminds me one of perodua ahbeng cant afford jdm japa wannabe

he said.. to buy aziah to kill proton

n rakyat replied
      to buy aziah ti kill yourself due to unsafe car.. inly 4 stars from unreliable kampung asean ncap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Bloodsucker on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:00 pm

dunno y this page alot of Proton cybertroopers…
    I myself will definitely buy an myvi or almera over this ISIS… dont tell me is different segment bla bla… msians compare in terms of price not segment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
  • Absolute Rider on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:28 pm

How about the reliability check, quality check and all related for preve and suprima s? Any improvement?

• toyota vios on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:57 pm

does not matter this is called iris oe retina oe even cataract, this is still the best car in the market.

u see, i am a high class people, i earn 22k, sometime, when turnover is even better, i can earn 25k, listen, it is a nett profit after taxes.

Now, every morning, i drive my proton persona to market to sell chicken, afternoon, i drive my proton saga to ikea to sell curry puffs. evening, i drive my proton preva to sell burger near ss2.

u people really know nothing about cars, puke toyota honda potato… lick my proton…

Proton, global car with satisfaction guarantee…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Botolsusu on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:27 pm

100 thousand km testing before production ???? Hahhahah what a joke, in proton terms… 100 thousand km = 10 cars doing 10 thousand km only.. Thats why everything breaks aprart and doesnt work after 10 thousand km.. Dont believe me? PCC = PROTON CRAP CAR….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • You have proof or talk kok?

• Susubasi on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:10 pm

No, i wouldn’t believe anything from someone whose name is milk bottle.

• botolsusu on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:23 pm

The proof is in the number of failures of the car in the market within 1/yr of sales.

The proof is in their losses in warranty claims.

You who question obviously didnt buy a new proton lately. I challenge you to buy a preve. Wait till your seat breaks, engine cannot start, brake tak makan and engine die suddenly while driving… What if the airbag turn on and off by itself, wait till you die in that seat when airbag does not comes out when its not suppose to. Go ahead and put yourself in debt for 90k with interest and buy the car and wait till your wife/sister/daughter get stranded by the roadside in the middle of the night. Once she get gang banged by the mat rempits with her legs wide open above your beloved proton emblem.

Go ahead… Knock yourself out

By the way. PCC fuel consumption is worse than persona and gen2. Want proof? Buy the car la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • kkkll on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:33 pm

If like that everyday i would curse preve driver inside his stalled car causing massive traffic jam.

Fortunately it’s only daydreaming of proton basher. Duh.

• P1 & P2 would be saving the nation if they had been successful globally.

• Low Budget on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Unfortunately so far both P1 and P2 are ‘Jaguh Kampung’, lets see if they can break out from their respective ‘tempurung’ one day.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:40 pm

cant wait
    this car really impressed rakyat

rakyat sayang iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • cokeaddict on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Seriously, there’s too many blind brand bashing rather than rational discourse here.

I think Proton is on the right track in improving their quality standards. At the very least they are paying some serious attention to safety standards.

Getting a 5-star crash test rating by ANCAP is no small feat. Before you start bashing the Proton and the PCC – try understand how a car qualifies for an ANCAP 5 star rating first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:06 pm

For those idiots out there..

After many years following auto news. . Check back in Paultan.. scroll bc old news..

I never read P2 barking & begging for more protection. .

It’s only Plotong left.. asking more protection. . & disgracefully ask more money…

P2 is on the right track.. making profits. . & take advantage from the inferiority of plotong..

In fact Toyota & P2 aka Daihatsu ve their own segments. . No conflict of interest.

Reading all desperate words from plotong macai & owners. . Your end is near..

No ailing companies can last forever. ..

If plotong was profitable like it used to be gov won’t sell it at the first place. .

Tggu sajalah.. perut sakit.. tahi busuk lama2 keluar jg.. masuk lubang jamban..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • zoner on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:28 pm

When butthurt p2 owner expressed his butthurtness..

lololololol

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Yep.. tggu saje your plotong sampah msk jamban.. soon.. very soon.. gov dah kasi cirit.. suda busuk.. kasi jual.. then masuk longkang..

Yep.. Im P2 owner. Also a toyota owner.. probably. . Another toyotas owner…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:36 am

toyota or UMW owner???

me 6 years in japan own real JDM pon tak bisingg laaa

ni baru pakai keteta jepun celup ada hati mau bash

• Anti-Establishment on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:37 am

Toyota and the like have been known to request money from their own governments from time to time for research purposes – doesn’t seem to matter much to you?

Of course Perodua won’t need Government money, they’re just an assembler of cars. All the R&D has been done by other people. It’s like subscribing to a prostitute, there’s no need for any effort to woo the girl, only pay her and be done with it.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:35 am

Again.. plotong macai dictionary. .

Rugi, menyusahkan gov = good

Untung, byr cukai & bonus = bad

It’s about good governance & strategic planning.. you fool. . (Unfortunately nobody wants to partner with plotong, yet)

Prostitute example show your IQ level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • Anti-Establishment on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:17 am

Who said Proton never made profits before? Just as recently as 2012 they were making profits. But they have to invest in developing the new cars, the CAMPRO replacements – all need huge upfront investment which would hit short term profits.

Even so it’s still better than Perodua. Yes they may make money, but do they help develop the knowledge & skills that is necessary for the country to build on economically? Why do you think the Koreans started their car makers in the first place? Why do you think America bailed out General Motors & Chrysler even though both GM & Chrysler are only a whisker away from total annihilation? It’s because the industrial knowledge gained will help build the nation’s economy. Being a mere assembler won’t do that.

You keep talking about how Proton wanted to ask for loans to develop their products, and how “bad” it is. Don’t you know that even Boeing & Airbus, these companies with multi billion dollars in revenue, would more often that not ask for loans, grants & incentives to develop their new products? Heck even Toyota, Ford & other car makers goes to their own government from time to time for grants to help develop their cars. Read around more & you shall find it.

If even the strongest of companies needs loans to develop their products despite multi billion dollars in revenues, why should we expect any different from industries like Proton.

You talk big, but there’s no substance in what you preach. And talk about IQs – you couldn’t even understand a simile yet want to talk about IQ. Yeah right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:38 pm

To an extent, there are benefits to simply assembling cars. That’s what Kia and Hyundai did at the beginning. Through assembling, they gained the expertise and a bit of know-how that they needed to build their own cars. I think it’s also quite possible to one day see Inokom coming out as a full-fledged automaker if their CEO has such ambitions.

I agree with you, however, that having an automaker is better than having just an assembler. That’s how technology is developed and advanced beyond what you have. It’s just such a shame that Proton was mismanaged so badly in the past due to the System. The wounds on the company and our nation haven’t completely healed and the scars would always remain.

• Old dog on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:16 am

Different? All those you mentioned sell outside their countries and earning foreign $ which is important to the country economy. If you know…

• Old dog on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:21 am

Can you show prove that Toyota, Boeing , Airbus asking money time to time from gov? Those companies are listed company and gov has tax payers. And when USA bailed out Gm, they got their return! Now since when protong return $$ to Gov? Can’t even survive dude.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:37 am

assembler but get incentive n previlage from gomen coz just called 2nd national car

• kanakuning on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:40 am

Seriously, you are comparing P1 to P2? As far as I am concerned P2 makes shittier cars than P1. All are rebadged Toyota/Daihatsus stripped of essentially safety features.

Have you ever bothered to scrutinise the safety feature on P2s best selling MPV? Side Impact bar on the doors pun tarak!

If you ask me – P2 has been raping Malaysian pockets with half baked rubbish they call cars. At least P1 is doing it right by improving their standards. Go do your research first.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Jus way too many stupid comments here….what a shame bcos this can b such a nice involving topic with logical discussions n waiting excitement….I honestly can’t believe how some comments here r made….worst part is some stupid comments made by ppl who r so sure of themselves….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:55 pm

THIS! Take my thumbs up! I am also sick of the endless bashing, the horrendous bias and the sheer amount of stupid pouring into the comments. Granted some of them are funny but the whole situation is really saddening.

• pirlo on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:23 am

indeed. ask Peyno to act mature. grow up, dude. argue and bashing perodua’s users doesn’t make you a winner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:44 am

proven… proton basher = perodua salesmann owner whi cant afford jdm

very simple to know them

pretending import car owner.. praising import car.. dan nadh NAP, gomen n local car but at the same time praise perodua

anti NAP ppl bashing all local car makers laa

rakyat smart oredi

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:54 am

Yeah you are right.. people are smart dy..

That’s why people keep buying overpriced japs milo tin.. & stay away from plotong. .

Meanwhile. . Plotong keep making huge lost.. debt ridden. . Shares under par value. .Delisited already.

Check your facts & figures. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • motorbart on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Motorhead admitted Japenis celup is tin milo car yet many people dun know.

LOL

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Bartbudo.. you fool.. don’t know of being sarcastic?

Low IQ…

Hahaha

• motorbart on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Eh axia vios where got VSC? Only 2 airbags that can be called tin milo la nowadays. That spec is already obsolete.

• ayamxxx on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:59 pm

same old shit mentioned about Quality check.

last time during Savvy era, put tv commercial on TUV German Audit whatnot.
    but same quality problem whatsoever..

malaysian just got cheated by Proton too long, just too long.

it now the payback time. Good luck proton on becoming No 1 again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • mim (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:16 am

You misunderstood. TUV actually did their jobs and Savvy never had quality problems. It’s just the Renault powertrain require more attention, spareparts import/supply wasn’t enough (costly), and owner and mechanics weren’t familiar with it.

It would’ve been a great car if it came with a Mitsu powertrain instead. Campros couldn’t fit in the platform.

• Old dog on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:16 am

That means protong never do their “project budgeting” n risk management properly…did anyone inside protong do those before launching any platform? Problem is Bolehland just want to build something, since cronies suppliers can pocket, and blame consumer when cannot sale…been repeated for years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Random Malaysian on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:38 am

Protong? Bolehland? STFU man. seriously STFU. if u don’t have any constructive criticism then don’t complain for the sake of complaining

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:18 am

its all about protection.. daihatsu indonesia selling ayla all over asean accept malaysia…

why???
          to protect perodua

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:29 am

The same shit that will work on some people with low IQ here.

They ll keep saying..

Eh.. rugi bagus.. cannot sell bagus jugah.. ask gov money also bagus…VVTI bagus..

Org lain dah lama guna VVT.. tak bagus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • ereng on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:49 pm

That VVT is obsolete one, for decade no revision, no performance upgrade. This time downgrade to manifold then told everybody it’s state of art engine. Puih.

Toyo and Daihat moving backward.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Ni lagi IQ rendah.. weh budak tak tau baca ke? Your so called GSC.. eh tuka PCC.. now using VVT? Baru nak guna.

So siapa move backwards? Umur sethn jagung jgn nak menyampuk. Boduh.

Hahi

• ereng on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Hello, VVT already there since CFE lor, Lu ingat Proton sengkek sangat ke? Vios catfish NVH is worse than dugong, you think the engine is bagus sangat kah?

Ptuih.

• ereng on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:22 pm

And the roof? The FC? The safety? Hahah, engine alone doesn’t make Vios is the best.

• mr1031 on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:06 pm

perodua don’t ever need any testing..they will camouflage their car to test their original bumper only..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:11 am

perodua buat spyshot pretending macam car maker lain
      maker lsin buat test road.. dia pon nak buat..

org yg tak tau automotive akan impreesd la.. tapi rakyat urban mmg gelak je

daihatsu indon produce alyla takde kevoh n spyshot

• mmmmm on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:29 am

change the front grill emblem please. looks el cheapo.

• enuff on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:33 am

War in other people country and u boycott Starbucks, MCD, tesco etc, companies that provide good products and service. This proton u still buy even tho they give u unreliable car that can put u n family in trouble wen always break down, what if your daughter drive saga break down at night and get rob by roadside??? This happen already… Continue to happen. Boycott proton, thats all I say. Enuff is enuff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:44 am

u anti NAP rite????
      so lets together boycott all local cars petodua n proton

lets do it

• eims perfume on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:01 am

so u are one of those people giving funds to for those children killers..

• Calvin Lee on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:26 am

bila post on proton’s cars, the comments are outnumbers.. why meh~ only few haters keep repeating the same ‘modal’; quality tarak, and kronisme..hahaha

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:43 am

betul… komen2 dari umw n perodua salesman dgn modal lapuk ulang2

rakyat dah bosan

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:49 am

Check your IQ level.. not only haters repeat the same thing.. but P1 own deputy CEO..

Deputy CEO Khairuddin Datuk Hj Yusoff himself ….There is the need to address negative past experiences of our customers, as well as correct market perception and show that Proton offers good quality and value for money cars.
      “Ultimately, we want to win the customer’s heart and mind,” he concluded. Time will tell, then. Time will tell.

Unfortunately. . Time is running out.. & damage is done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Of course people will bash because they asked for 1.6 billion, and still selling their cars not too much cheaper than foreign cars. Well how many preve/suprima you see on the road? Compare to toyota vios and honda city, what is the ratio? Why do people buy honda and toyota even though it is more expensive and have less features? Only die hard proton fans will support blindly..but thanks to these people because they can be the white mice to the smart people. If the car is ok, then only smart people will buy

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:18 pm

People like Kit ve higher IQ..

He thinks properly..

Kudos..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:26 pm

see… didnt mention about perodua rompak duit rakyat give yo japan
        japanese n selling petodua cheaper overseas

set2 tu jerr

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:38 pm

to shy… try to match honda n umw

yet honda product way better than umw

coz honda is drb same ad proton

now we see more new city than vios

u suprise why mslaysian ( kampung ppl) still buy vios tho less features??? it shows kg ppl stupidity n zero knowledge on car… n u proud of it

hajaha

• Albert Lee on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:51 am

From GSC to PCC.Name change.OK,no problem.If not,Proton fanboys will click ‘dislike”,if we put negative comments.
    However,may I ask, how come Proton not collecting orders for this car yet?
    Perodua has garnered 6,000 orders within 10 days,without physically touching the Axia.In 30days,they can surpass 18,000 units!
    Proton,you r playing catch up now,and too often.
    If your product is worldclass and eev,please collect bookings NOW.Your diehard Proton fanboys do not mind waiting for 3 months.
    If the vehicle is ENERGY DEFICIENT,and needs more refinement,I think this is holding up the actual launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • kanakuning on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:47 am

Wow – 6,000 orders within 10 days. But do you think all 6,000 who booked will complete their purchase?

Keeping a car off the showrooms to ensure its fully tested and ready for the market is probably a better thing to do than put a half baked product in the market. In the end you will be racing to meet demands – rush productions and skimp on overall quality.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:27 pm

see bash proton n praise petodua n then claim anti NAP

alahai slaesman peridua

• Jerry on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:23 am

How is it possible Paultan team saw video of Proton PCC tested for ANCAP? ANCAP test cars currently selling in Australia/New Zealand. Proton PCC is still a pre-production car let alone it’s not on sale in Australia/New Zealand yet. A quick check in ANCAP website did not list any Proton PCC or Proton Iriz. Come on Paultan, share the link for ANCAP testing video.

• Since proton wants to improve and they threw in a lot of money in making PCC and Preve/Suprima, then we should not look at the sales in Malaysia anymore. Lets look at Proton’s sales in overseas since they claimed that they are producing a global car. Time to move on from being a jaguh kampung because that is just being syiok sendiri. If they really want to be the real jaguh kampung, please reduce the tax on foreign cars.

• pinkturbo on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:11 pm

I think all the haters need to open their eyes and start thinking properly. I read this article and all I am getting is that Proton is working hard to introduce cars that have high standards of safety and build quality.

So what if they are taking a long time to test this new model? This is not something new. All global car makers do the same to test their product durability and quality and make sure their product has minimal issues when entering market. Is that wrong?

Accepting their past shortcomings and taking steps to improve further for the long term is a better approach in my books. If Proton is really making substandard products, then I cannot understand the reason why hundreds of thousands of Proton are still being bought by sensible people. Perhaps they are not sensible, just dumb fools masquerading as one.

The funny thing is, from my experience 7 out of ten people that have bashed the brand in my presence, have never owned one.

And That says a lot about these people.

• rakyatkito on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:24 pm

the existence of Proton and the mamak is the ONLY REASON why a car that cost $22K in US is sold for RM204K in Malaysia and had caused hardships to millions of malaysians. I will not ever buy a proton again or a support a company that caused hardships to millions of malaysians (regardless of how good or bad the car is)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • maintikam on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Nice… usually when i compare car prices from US its always between 3 to 4 higher. You are pointing out a price that is high by 10 times. I can’t brain your logic.

Care to share which car is sold for $22k in US that is sold for RM204k here bro?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:29 pm

dia komen camni kununnya dia pengguna import car latu

walhal perodua jerr

prffthhh

• azrai on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:19 pm

They should also concentrate to do multiple super water jet test cycle because the usage of it at our local carwash make the water seep into the headlamp. It is not just the rain.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:16 pm

From GSC to PCC.. take out the Global word.. takut nanti x berapa nak Global mcm Sperma Ss.. global konon..

Crrrttt..

Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Who cares about the codename. At the end it uses proper/registered name.

• abc931 on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:45 pm

bila nak lancarnye? lambat aih…

• botolsusu on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:49 pm

BOYCOT PROTON and PERODUA

• peyno (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:20 am

yess boycott NAZo n ptotection to perodua n proton

wait n see macai perodua reply

• max291 on Sep 05, 2014 at 2:19 pm

but why? they paid tax too for our school and infrastructure. Did you ever do that? I boycott U.

• protong cant bang the big guys, so now he go for the smaller guys like pero2..they don’t get it..small cars r just for people to go to work and back..not racing and need 5 star ncap..a pricier car will not make it better..as myvi can prove it,doesnt have to be pricy.at the end a myvi still sound better when talking to your friend than a protong.c also boh song

• loiun on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Already pawns civic altis sylphy engines. 205nm torque is not a joke.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:23 am

ur freind must be kampung ppl admire hapanese but cant afford jdm n his dream car must be a vios

rite??

wait until ur freind got miney to buy real jdm car…

• Calpurnpiso on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Tengku Mahaleel (and Tun Mahathir who handpicked him as CEO) is responsible for the predicament faced by Proton today.

• pondan on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:11 pm

This is so funny. Whenever proton screw up the quality, they will produce a small car to correct the “perception”. Remembered the savvy build tough statement, can’t deny the fact that this will have the same very sad ending while looking Rakyat money in the process. Pls die la have a grace and give salvation to the larger population.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 7:37 am

Paultan.org, an avenue for intellectual discourse spoiled by childish commentators. Butthurters vs Trollers. Egoism vs Machaism. But hey, thats what made it unique and #1 malaysian auto blog. LoL.

• rickyll (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:39 am

Actually Proton is doing the right thing in ensuring the quality and safety of the PCC but it’s dragging its feet. Proton never learnt from the Savvy experience where it waited until Perodua unveiled Myvi then only it launched the car. It seemed the same thing is going to happen again, Proton is giving Perodua a head start. Axia has already received so many bookings. Proton seems to be very confident about the PCC but don’t let complacency goes to your head. As a past owner of three Protons: Saga1991, Waja2001, Iswara2007, I vowed not to get any Proton ever again. If the PPC succeeded in becoming the best seller in its class, ask your sale persons not to be that arrogant and have that kind of ‘take it or leave it’ aptitude, it’s that kind of sale persons that put Proton in where it is today.

• byeviva on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:51 pm

axia body roll? sounds like inherited from viva..sorry i won’t be cheated twice! :)

• Just wait and see. There’s no need to bashing here and there. if you can afford it and you love it, you buy, it you can’t afford it or hate it, go for another type of car. or if you are “OVERLY” afford it, then go for better car. There’s a reason why big-name company sells luxury car.

• hafiz on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Why would we become like this, arguing whether Perodua or Proton better? Why dont we applause or congratulate both manufacturers for their efforts in coming up cars for us Malaysian? Come on, be a good sport and support our country cars. I’ve seen much improvement in both manufacturers in terms of safety and other specifications. I am very sure Perodua and Proton will improve better in coming years and I am very proud to see our local cars are on par with other Japanese or European cars. Aren’t you proud of them?

• Sam_it_Is_time_to_eat_medicine on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:56 pm

sorry to tell some unrelated thing here.

but can paultan make this website better for comment?

every time want to comment something have to scroll to the bottom. This is not the problem. The problem is why cant you separate the previous comment in several page? when the comments become more and more. New user want to comment will become harder. This is not a forum, i understand but u gave this function then are u suppose to make it better?

well… The front lamp a bit disappointed… Dunno why the leak photo is look much more special… but when release the full front face…. it a bit like fiesta… Own opinion… welcome to attack me

• protonNONO on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Proton started about the same time as Hyundai… if Proton not a tongkat company, and produce car comparable to kimchi cars nowadays, I’ll fully support Proton.
    Using tax payers money to survive and with a management of kampung mentality, sorry lah ….

• rajabukit on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:21 am

ko betul ker proton start tahun ngan hyundai. Proton (1983) dan hyundai (1967). Beza 16 tahun tu boleh kira ‘about the same time’ ker? Selidik la dlu bro, jgan jadi ulat dalam batu. Sekarang zaman maklumat. Semua dihujung jari jer…jangan jadi kampung sangat boleh x?

• jebat on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:54 pm

there’s nothing wrong with the tongkat. the same tongkat beg by perodua so that they can stand on their own. instead of being slave by japan. seriously bro..compare this car to myvi,jazz profesionally without bias (hate the logo, cronism, politics,tongkat and etc). can you do that?

• Danopal on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:26 am

Sorry to say this but that green looks so ugly.. Sad to say that Proton have no taste in car color scheme.
    That color not only make the car look like so sampul duit raya but it also remind ppl of a dirty aquairium. So who wanna be the fish in that “dirty aquarium”…? Come on proton, please use your common sense for once.

• jebat on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:48 pm

hey danopal. please be that fish, coz you are the only one look it as dirty aquarium. hahaha. I like that green..the way we look is different. as well as the result..

• max291 on Sep 05, 2014 at 2:17 pm

I came here hoping to see Malaysian bashers at their best. I was’nt disappointed.