SPAD cautious over Uber issue due to its popularity

uber-x

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is approaching the Uber issue carefully, and is wary about taking action against the transport service provider, as it has proven to be popular amongst Malaysians, according to reports.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar told The Star that Uber customer satisfaction is high, and that the service seems to be picking up customers that taxis left behind.

“We have received a lot of reports on Uber. Our own officers have gone in to use the service, and ministers also say it is excellent,” he told the English-language daily. “But the thing is, they (Uber) are not operating within the system. If anything goes wrong… Nobody should be allowed to operate outside the system when everyone is bound by the law.”

uber-x-1

Taxi drivers have termed the Uber service “kereta sapu” (illegal taxi), according to the SPAD chairman, but he added that taxi operators must also do better to give customers the service they want, The Star report said. Syed Hamid also said that Uber had failed to respond to SPAD’s calls.

Bernama reported recently that Gabungan Persatuan dan Syarikat-Syarikat Teksi Semenanjung Malaysia (GABUNGAN) has called on SPAD to act against Uber. Apart from taking away their customers, taxi operators claim Uber is not bound by the law, and that if an accident happens, passengers are at risk.

“As far as I know, they (Uber) also do not have public liability insurance which puts the safety of passengers at risk,” Syed Hamid told The Malaysian Insider. The fact that Uber utilises private cars which have no operating licence is already against existing public transport laws, he added.

uber-black-1

Still, the SPAD chairman acknowledged the excellence of Uber’s services, saying to TMI that the public would not use regular taxis if their service was not up to mark. Any improvements to public transport are welcome, but they must be within the system, he added.

Uber’s services currently cover 57 cities in 22 countries. It launched in KL in October 2013, and recently introduced the budget UberX service here.

In an interview with our sister publication TechAttack.my, Uber regional GM Michael Brown revealed that each Uber driver undergoes a screening process during hiring, which includes a criminal background check, driving history check, as well as an ongoing quality assurance via a passenger-rating system. He added that Uber cars are covered by insurance for both driver and passengers.

uber-south-east-asia-michael-brown

Uber only supplies the technology and the system to connect customers to transport providers. The cars are all supplied by third-party partners comprising limousine companies. MyTeksi’s GrabCar service follows the same concept. Though Uber doesn’t reveal its partners, some of the rides we took before were operated by companies like Extreme Limousines & Tours. This information is available to you in your Uber ride’s receipt.

Learn more about Uber here:

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:36 am

Its a FREE MARKET. let consumer decide their fate. Competition is healthy for growth

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 3
    • drMpower on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:04 am

damn it
      it isnt about free market competition blah blah blah
      completely missing the point

its about licensing for the safety of the people. and other rules

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 98
      • As if it is 100% safe to take public cab?

If licensing is the main concern, then SPAD can just grant Uber the necessary licenses to legalize its operations. What is so complicated about it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
        • What about taxi not using meter? Is it regulated by law?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
          • Biggest Culprit on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Biggest culprit here is the body that is in charge of teksi permit. Now got no kickback. No income coming in. Go dig deeper and find who is in charge of teksi permits. You will see, he is like the AP King. He can do magic with the government. He tell Putrajaya to eat shit also, Putrajaya will eat shit.

You know this guy makes hundreds of million RM from kickbacks and under the table money.

Might be the same guy who operates the KLIa teksi service, a service that all foreigners and tourist call as poor and disgustingly dirty. Yet KLIA teksi goes on for years. Why? Because Menteri punya relative own it!

• Dirty Taxi Drivers on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:43 pm

I got long telescope from my condo. I have even seen taxi drivers at the bottom of my condo masturbate in the car whilst waiting for passengers. This the kind of cab drivers we have!

Then from Empire in Subang they charge RM80 to go to Mid Valley Mega Mall. What is SPAD doing?

I fully support Uber as the are decent.

• Dirty Taxi Drivers on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:48 pm

My Mat Salleh friend kena RM80 from Empire Subang to Mid Valley Mega Mall.

Other countries, the cab guy will be kind enough to tell that the KTM train goes straight to Mid Valley Mega Mall for RM1.50

But our cab driver, hantam the white man for RM80

• Confession of a Woman - Sex Perverts on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Now everybody use UBER very simple. All our teksi drivers are so dirty. All the time digging their nore.

So many complaints that teksi drivers always digging their nose, teeth of pulling their janggut with 2 ten sen coin. Most ladies and even men so difficult or geli to give money to the teksi driver because sure got gold (bugger) in his fingers.

In Malaysia, ladies always ask teksi drivers to keep the change because they really geli want to touch the change from teksi drivers.

Another matter also is that all teksi drivers in Malaysia are sex maniacs. Ask any woman, they will tell you, teksi driver always talk dirty or sex to them. Most women feel uncomfortable and scared because teksi drivers talk filth.

Malaysian teksi drivers should all be prosecuted. This is an Islamic country but they get commission by pimps to bring clients to them. Most single men, either Malaysians or tourist enter the teksi, straight away teksi driver ask whther they want prostitute or spa. Then when the passenger says yes, the teksi driver gets a commission from the brothel, rumah tumpangan or pimp. this has been going on for years and yet, the teksi drivers try to play innocent. They profit from dosa and make Malaysia the sex capital of Asia by encouraging, promoting and aiding and abetting such crime.

I hope our transport ministry see into this. Remember, our taxi drivers are promoting red light practises as well as sins of the flesh in Malaysia. Mana JAIS? JAIS got time to run around the taman bunga catching young school boys and girls kissing on the cheeks.

JAIS knows about this but close an eye. Bulan Puasa also, JAIS knows our Muslim taxi drivers are carrying prostitutes and encouraging sins of the flesh but don’t do anything.

• Confession of a Woman - Sex Perverts on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Ask any guy, they will tell you. Our teksi drivers will entice them to visit prostitutes. They will say, “Melay, China, India, Kazakhstan, Ubekistan, Thai semua ada”

At least Uber guys don’t talk sex nor promote Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia.

But Ministers don’t care. Bung Mokhtar can ridicule women and talk about their periods and no action done unto him. So, why would anyone bother how women are harrassed sexually by our teksi drivers?

• drMpower on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:47 pm

for one to be given license, one got to apply. the same,easy principle for you to get married.

very unlikely the father of your bridgeroom to give his daughter to you. you gotta ASK. apply.

and stop arguing about 100% safe public cab or not. atleast using public cab the rules are clear and many actions can be taken on if something not nice happen.

if teksi sapu like SPAD say Uber is like, then what the authority can do for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • please think on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I agree with you. The main point is that Uber is not licensed. You must remember that everything is bound to the law. SPAD has a good point that they are worried because Uber does not even have a public liability insurance, any accident that happen during your usage of the taxi are not covered, and you are on your own. Remember that taxi service are part of the public transport system and all public transport in Malaysia must be licensed. If not then you will see all those ‘prebet sapu’ running wild doing their own thing. If Uber really is committed to continue their service then i really hope they start to apply for the relevant license and whatnot to make themselves legal.

If you want to say free market,etc and rules can be broken then prebet sapu and ulat tiket are completely legal right? they are technically giving another alternative to the user when the proper channel to get the service is not available right? just think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • sdfhk on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:43 pm

1. LAW
          The problem is the kroni’s make the law. Don’t you think uber will apply if the law was fair and encourages competition? Just like how Bersih supporters get denied permit for peaceful gathering, while hooligans even get police protection for stoopid protests without having to apply for permits. The permit/licensing here is just manipulated.

2. INSURANCE
          You can see the overwhelming preference for uber here vs the crappy, dirty cuthroat taxi’s. If my friend gives me a ride, am I covered? Same here with uber. It’s a just a private driver giving me a ride. When you use uber, everything is recorded from the app, what time, where etc. Kereta sapu seems a world apart.

Even if I’m not covered? Heck yeah I’d still use uber’s clean, new cars with polite drivers and even free water! Because normal taxi’s suck too damn much!!

Let uber force the local taxi’s to improve! That is competition! Not a bloody kroni monopoly.

• abuya1237 on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Everything will be ok until Uber car involve in car crash, killing the passenger. Personal Insurance tak cover sebab naik kereta sapu, kereta sapu plak takde insuran penumpang. At this moment, all your comments, free market la, lagi bagus la, pemandu teksi uneducated la semua dah hilang. Menjerit2 salahkan BN, berguling2 kat jalan, govt servant tidur, makan duit rakyat buta dan lain2 yang menjurus kepada kekecewaan dan harapan supaya tukar kerajaan.

Dont be too BIAWAK, think future! Your mistake demand Uber later blame government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 68
      • Abuya Otak Kosong on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Bodoh Abuya. Always talking rubbish in this forum. Semua dapat free dalam hidup pun nak cakap banyak. Gagal dalam peperiksaan juga boleh masuk universiti. Mana you boleh fikir pandai pandai?

• Botak Head Arab on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Tan Sri, go back running your law firm lah. Already your botak head gives bad decisions when you were law minister, now buat kacau here in SPAD.

Worst Law Minister ever!

• CinaRetard on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:01 am

Weih f*cker. You think Malays are stupid? I bet I’m 100pct more intelligent than you and I’m not even the brightest. You are bitter for not being successful and thought it was the privilege that is stopping you while in actual truth you are stupid and weak!

Got so many Chinese and Indian became successful leyhhhh and they deservedly so. If not, even the brightest of Chinese and Indian cannot prisper if this country totally favours the bumis.

So go and upgrade yourself before blaming the system.

The article is nothing against Uber. SPAD is just saying if terbalik and you die, you mati katak. Nanti your widowed wife, though cheating on you, will blame govt for not taking action against UBER. See… When I say you retard you dont believe.

• sdfhk on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Your precious BN make cars so expensive until so many people have to risk their life on motorcycles even more farkin dangerous, you cybertrooper.

Why not you mention motorcycle deaths and death-trap old Kancils?

People will rather ride in uber’s modern, new, safer cars with polite drivers!

• Free Taxi 2020 on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:46 pm

One day, someone will create free taxi service using taxi sticker advertisement revenues to cover running costs, with electric car as best altenative. Instant death to those rude cabbies business.

Btw Tan Sri, how’s your Proton Suprima so far..? No problem? Good? Tak pernah bermalam kat service centre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Legend (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:43 am

You yourself SPAD officer tried also said it is excellent.
    What is the excuse again for ban Über while those Saga ,wira,iswara or even the LIMO that available at the KLIA can’t give as good service as Uber and always overcharge as they like!
    SPAD, you should think again on who should u ban, and who need to improve their service please.
    Über service is become common nowadays in other Western Country, there is no reason to ban Über what?
    Just those Wira driver can’t earn as many as before then u want to ban Über? What a joke….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • JB_KIA on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:45 am

jgn hepi dlu uber, nnt dorang komplen sama papa mama habis korang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Gone are those days where the taxi drivers in city area charged without meter… I remember taking taxi back from The Curve to Bandar Utama and was quoted RM20 for 5 min trip… That’s ridiculous!
    Uber has my full support

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
  • xoxox on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:59 am

just give them the permit!
    Competition for improvement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Uber should comply with the law and continue to provide good service legally. This will turn the heat on the lousy taxis to buck up their service or risk being starved to extinction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • sdfhk on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Problem is, do you think they will get the permit, without paying someone millions of RM and take them out for many “dinners” first?

• drMpower on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

even in free world concept, rules are rules
    since this Uber service is about taxing people, conceptually it is a taxi company, and sound like a taxi, then obviously rules for taxi should be imposed to Uber

Syed Hamid must not be a tame lion even thou uber is god they also need to follow the rules. dont kasi malu tu syed ahmad albar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • Blaze on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:07 am

Quote “SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar told The Star that Uber customer satisfaction is high, and that the service seems to be picking up customers that taxis left behind.
    “We have received a lot of reports on Uber. Our own officers have gone in to use the service, and ministers also say it is excellent,” he told the English-language daily. “But the thing is, they (Uber) are not operating within the system. If anything goes wrong… Nobody should be allowed to operate outside the system when everyone is bound by the law.”

Not operating within the system? You mean the system that the taxi drivers got to pay minimum 55 bucks a DAY for the ‘sewa’ permit and taxi for five years to the permit holders? That so called system of yours is more lika a modern day slavery. Move on la you bloody imbecile..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • Painter on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Who ask you to sewa permit? Permit only meant for you. Sewa taxi got lah.

Not operating within the system and abusing the law are 2 different things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Blaze on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Helo friend, do you know that to get an individual permit is as close as zero chance? By the way do you know how does the ‘system’ works?

• hondaman on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:42 pm

bro, give permit to individual taxi owner also the same laa. They used the permit to rent out their cab too. It is the attitude of the drivers… do you expect the taxi company provide the car for free? if you don’t mind can i use your car to get income for me to keep but you pay for the monthly loan to the bank?

• Blaze on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Yes, small percentage of the individual permit holders do this as most of them has been a cab driver for donkey years and they are physically old. Then for someone ‘new’ in becoming a cab driver they got no choice as individual permits is hard to come by. Its either pay 5k upfront and daily 55 bucks or pay the permit holders lump sum about 15-20k and then on monthly basis pay the installment of the car(taxi).

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm

ahem…SPAD. Taxi drivers not using meters are “operating within the system”…or are they.

By right Taxi drivers should not be allowed to refuse a fare.

• VWfanboi on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:16 am

LOL these taxi driver not following the meter and keep on complaining SPAD. so now when got no business need help from SPAD? haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Just because competition has landed and no one can control their “prosperity”…. Now its operating outside the law.

jokes asides, do not fix something if its not broken

• just charge fee to Uber la.. no need ban.
    Let the taxi know they have competitor now

• abahko on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:38 am

local taxis are basically well known as uneducated barbarians regardless on the road ethics or they themselves in person attitudes.

support UBER to go against local taxi lousy services especially without meters and marking their own prices to offer the foreigners by driving them just within the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • mayonis13 on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:22 pm

this is only hearsay that i hear from taxi driver. they complain that they have daily cost that they have to pay rental to AP group/ taxi company. that around Rm20 -40 perday for taxi. why dont take individual permit, might read this ( http://www.kltaxidriver.com/2012/06/kenapa-tak-nak-minta-permit-teski.html). plus cost for fuel, toll. so that why these group sometime take shortcut ( charge extra), or drive recklessly to get more trip/passenger for 1 day. if total cost for them is RM100 perday, imagine how many passenger that taxi driver have to get perday in order to fulfill some food and utilities for their family?

i don’t know how UBER operate.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 28, 2014 at 12:30 pm

There is a worldwide protest against uber and now it has spread to malaysia. From my own humble view, the main reason why they’re against it is because taxi operators have high cost of entry. Taxi drivers in NY reportedly spent hundreds of thousand dollars just to get a taxi license. Uber is bypassing all this administrative cost and the traditional taxi operators are crying unfair. I think the most important question is that if uber is so successful, why do we even need traditional taxi operators anymore? Taxi drivers can simply switch to uber and from what I hear uber drivers can earn much more.

• Turnaround on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Its not fair for local taxi drivers. Uber should get the license from authorized party before run the service. Local Taxi company also should improve their service. Customer always right.

• Customer always right doesn’t apply to local taxi , you new in KL ?

• sdfhk on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Taxi drivers have high cost of entry because the most of the money masuk the gahmen’s pocket la. The system is broken. Time to improve. So all passengers must continue to get substandard service to support all the kroni’s that ate all the money and charge high taxi rental?

Even here in the comments, overwhelming support for uber for all those who have used it! Nice new cars, polite drivers with good attitude. Who the heck wants the stupid taxi’s who refuse to take you, don’t use meter and smelly, UNSAFE old Saga’s.

• old dog on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:30 pm

The taxi driver does not earn much as the cronies owner of the taxi companies…
    Check out how hard the metered taxi to get into Airport for years…
    Latest encounter Airport taxi driver is a joke, making “sucking” teeth sound all the way from airport to home for 1 hour…
    That is what the local airport taxi driver..

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 28, 2014 at 1:44 pm

If UBER subcons some of their fleet to Limo services, don’t these have necessary permits/licences? basically the only thing UBER is doing is cutting out the middle man and AP/license holders. The taxi drivers themselves are simple collateral damage.

Someone is not spilling the beans….and SPAD is likely treading very carefully here. Care share how much the taxi driver needs to pay for his permit to his AP overlords? And where is the value add?

Why not liberalize the taxi service?

Idealy UBER should operate under local laws, but we all know how that happens. The top creams the takings, while we all suffer bad services. Basically all the taxi drivers are screaming to SPAD, but its SPAD that is responsible in dishing out Taxi APs. Why not give UBER taxi APs and then let UBER get proper commercial insurance.

Sure this might make UBER more expensive, but given the cars they use and the very courteous drivers, I wont mind paying more.

• zafroon on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:02 pm

i agree with you. they shud join uber instead.

and also, the uber vehicle insurance covers the drivers n passengers.

• Legalize it. Problem solved.

• sdfhk on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Problem is that here, purposely create problem so that you have to pay first to fix problem. Do you think all kronis with fat fingers in the pie will make it easy to legalize uber? Maybe unless they get a cut too.

• RoadWarrior on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:51 pm

If the car’s as the article says are provided by a car service company they will have the necessary insurance cover both for 3rd party and passenger liability “some of the rides we took before were operated by companies like Extreme Limousines & Tours”

There’s no reason why they could not operate within the country. The only thing they aren’t doing is charge a higher fare, party because all payments are on auto debit with a cancellation fee. It’s prepayment and its good business, this is like the Air Asia of Taxi Service.

• Gov couldnt regulate the taxi services until today, let it be done by pros.

• UBER the Great on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:21 pm

ini satu pengajaran buat pemandu teksi biasa merah putih yg suka tipu orang, tak pakai meter, tipu pelancong, mulut busuk burukkan negara, kaki rogol, raba dll…. dgn adanya UBER dan MyTaxi…ia sebagai satu alternatif terbaik utk rakyat… beri saja UBER ni lesen.. biar pemandu teksi gangster merah putih gulung tikar..dah lama mereka tipu orang..every year minta naik taksi fare…

• mmaker on Aug 28, 2014 at 3:23 pm

a few BN politicians are sweating now because Uber will make them harder to sell taxi permits

• Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:25 pm

“But the thing is, they (Uber) are not operating within the system. If anything goes wrong… Nobody should be allowed to operate outside the system when everyone is bound by the law.”

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/08/28/spad-uber-cautious/#ixzz3BgHGuqTv”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHhth9CmbJ8

If most of our taxis aren’t bound by law, why can’t Uber? Come on guys, let’s be fair ;)

• Ben Choo on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Liability insurance? I’d take the safe features that come in an Audi over a broken-down, cigarette smoke-stenched, half a century old proton with not even an air bag for the driver. What good is insurance when you’re dead?