2015 Skoda Fabia dash revealed ahead of Paris debut

????????????????????????????

A week after unveiling the exterior of the 2015 Skoda Fabia, the Czech manufacturer has now released a dashboard image of the new B-segment hatchback ahead of its debut at the Paris Motor Show in October.

As with the exterior, the interior looks very much like newer Skoda models such as the Octavia and the Rapid, with sharp creases and a very sober control layout. Despite an 8 mm decrease in overall length, the company is touting an interior that is now 8 mm longer at 1,674 mm. There’s also 21 mm more elbow room at the front (1,401 mm) and 2 mm more at the back (1,386 mm).

There’s more room for your luggage too – the boot has swelled by 15 litres to 330 litres – putting it firmly near the top of the class – while folding the rear seats increases that space to 1,150 litres. The rear access width is 1,098 mm, the loading area is 960 mm wide (20 mm wider than before) and the tailgate swings open to 1,915 mm, while a low sill height should make loading and unloading cargo that little bit easier.

140828 New SKODA Fabia - Start of Production 001

The new Fabia will also be the first Skoda to come with MirrorLink smartphone interoperability technology that allows you to control your phone’s media and apps such as navigation through the car’s Bolero infotainment system. Another feature, SmartGate, enables the transfer of vehicle information such as fuel consumption, average speed and journey costs to selected smartphone apps through WiFi.

In addition, Skoda claims the Fabia contains up to 17 “Simply Clever” features depending on the specs. These include an ice scraper in the fuel filler cap, a dedicated cradle for a smartphone, multiple new storage compartments (including one for a high-visibility vest in the driver’s door, a dustbin, a parking ticket holder in the A-pillar, 500 ml bottle holders in the rear doors and a glovebox that can fit a one litre bottle.

Production has already begun at the Mladá Boleslav factory in the Czech Republic – the first unit being the Race Blue example seen above – before reaching showrooms starting from November.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:18 am

Dear Proton: THIS is how a cheap B segment interior should look like!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawa (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:59 am

So sad, it supposed to be the new rebadge Proton Savvy (if VW taken over Proton lah).
      :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:19 am

Being the people’s car of the People’s Car (Volkswagen) group, this actually looks pretty good.

• Rubbish exterior.
      New proton looks better than this box like car.
      gonna rollover like a dice.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t31.0-8/10477315_285009261688557_6002082749289716829_o.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I agree that the new Proton PCC looks better. But I wasn’t comparing the Fabia with anything. Just noticing how well the design is integrated and admiring the interior. The interior looks pretty slick.

One of the failings of the Preve/SuprimaS (to me) is their instrument cluster which looked too cheap for the car. Most parts of the cabin look good enough until you rest your eyes on the instrument cluster which makes you think “what is THAT doing here?” No such sentiments in the Fabia’s cabin.

• mim (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Interesting thoughts. Most ppl found Preve/Suprima cluster is cool but it doesn’t match with the *plain* VW-ish interior.

For me, the interior of this Skoda looks decent but they chose to stick to typical VW layout which makes it somewhat mundane. Certainly this is no match for the new Proton (I’ve seen them) but Skoda could’ve done better than this, given the massive VW resources they have.

• Interior of this skoda fabia look pleasant.
          But its look very VW
          its just VW wearing Skoda shell.

Im praising Proton for standing on their own foot.

• Lazy Proton Workers on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:35 am

Even Skoda from the dumps they were in manage to refresh their name and now selling well.

The Proton fools, all lazy like hell. All the time thinking which awek to kongkek and how to get the 2nd, 3rd and 4th wife. Then go to office, pergi minum teh 8x one day. Each time, take 30 minutes. So, just work 4 to 5 hours a day. No wonder Proton is doing badly. Lazy attitude.

Malaysians gave Proton so much of support the past 30 years, now we are fed up. We cannot help you Proton if you cannot help yourself

Buck up Proton. Look at Skoda as an inspiration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • Are u being racist about the 2nd 3rd 4th wife?

Skoda(VW) = Perodua (Daihatsu/Toyota)

• Saga Hatchback should be like this

• kadajawa (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Yes it should be the new Proton Savvy. I’ll buy it blindly even without seeing or test drive it (VW quality inside).

• Hate to love on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:05 pm

hate the xterior but luv the interior..is this suprima sister?

• Steve Jobs on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Proton.take note on this OKEY!

not like ur preve/suprimak pain in the ass interior.

• Peace no war on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Love the simplicity of the interior. But for exterior I think our Saga looks better *after changing with skoda’s sport rim and rear light. BTW, I’m looking forward to next generation saga 3.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Potong should rebadge it and name it Potong Labia

• mim (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 1:15 pm

I guess this is what Savvy facelift would’ve looked like if VW succeded in taking over Proton years ago lol