2015 Volvo XC90 coming to Malaysia in August 2015 – high local specs, 400 hp T8 plug-in hybrid considered

Volvo XC90 First Edition 03

Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) held a special product presentation regarding the recently revealed 2015 Volvo XC90 earlier today, during which managing director Keith Schafer announced that the long-awaited second-generation seven-seater SUV is slated to arrive on Malaysian shores in August 2015.

The company is aiming to bring in the new XC90 as a fully-imported model – production in Sweden is expected to begin in February – before starting local assembly. While VCM currently assembles the outgoing car at its Shah Alam plant, adapting the factory to build vehicles based on Volvo’s new and complex Scalable Product Architecture (on which the new XC90 is based) is expected to take some time, with the first CKD models expected only in 2016.

volvo-xc90-1-0021

VCM is also looking to provide high levels of equipment for local models, and all three 2.0 litre four-cylinder Drive-E petrol powertrains are being considered. These are the 254 hp, 350 Nm turbocharged T5, the 320 hp, 400 Nm supercharged and turbocharged T6 as well as the range-topping “Twin Engine” T8 supercharged and turbocharged plug-in hybrid that produces a combined output of 400 hp and 640 Nm.

The hybrid is an interesting proposition, as there are currently duty exemptions for hybrids that are locally assembled. This policy will expire at the end of 2015, however, which is some time before CKD production of the new XC90 is set to begin. Perhaps the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) incentives indicated in the 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP) will help VCM price a CKD T8 hybrid attractively, as Mercedes-Benz has recently done with the S 400 L Hybrid.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Annaeh on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Supposed to be one of the safest cars in the world, but here its gonna cost you an arm and a leg!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Still better than losing an arm and a leg in a crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • And also here it will come with boring and grey colors. One wonders if the average age of people at Volvo Malaysia is 90 years old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Considering that the XC90 even in europe recieve a rather significant price bump(is comparable to a high spec E-class in the UK), this wont be a cheap car by any standard, expect at least aq RM350k starting price. But if Volvo is considering a CKD T8 hybrid, that might be the model worth the 2016 wait looking at the government on course with the EEV…..that is if this EEV continues into 2016.

• BigBossMan on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:25 pm

By the time Volvo is ready to roll out a CKD hybrid tax exemptions for hybrids would have been expired.

In Bolehland, good things doesn’t last.

The people always get screwed left and right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Under Ford, Volvo was pushed up to become a premium car brand and after the Geely takeover, Volvo seems to have continued in the same direction with increased fervor and flexibility (they now have their very own engines and have ditched the Ford 6-speed Powershift DCT). From the various things we’ve seen, they seem to offer the substance to qualify the premium status, though I think it’ll be quite a while before they start to unsettle the established premium car marques.

But I like Volvo.

They are different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • dr.terror on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:02 pm

so this sweedish sandwich or all new korean kimchi sorento?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • You think the kimchi stand a chance to fight with this?totally diff segment…..
      Why not compare your kimchi with buggati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:18 pm

One Swedish meatball sandwich to go, please! Any day, any time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • jilbaber on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:40 am

If both released, better go for Sorento…it’s relatively cheap and relatively way cheaper to maintain.

Also with this XC90 packed with pioneering techs, unless willing to take the risk, you’ll be one of the genie pigs for experimenting newly unproven (in the real world) techs its come with. While Sorento is using current tech the already generic in all pra-2010’s modern cars.

not to mentioned, volvo RV is deep ocean low than Kia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Bro, this car is for the affluent. I meant to say, it’s not for you. ;)

• Marieta on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:50 pm

No its not..in its origin country or any other first world country it’s just a mom car..the ‘affluent’ title is only in this pathetic bolehland

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:49 pm

When the T8 CKD does come, I’ll gladly walk in to get one. The only reason why I won’t recommend the T6 is because the T8 exists. Imagine, an electric SUV…

• Painter on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:39 pm

How’s the resale value like for current XC90?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • Anakjambi on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:51 pm

What??? Next year???
    Forget it man, whose gonna wait that long?
    By that time, there are more choices available.
    Also the price will include GST. We want it now!!!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:20 pm

The looks of the car…it seems to grow on you with time. I’ve got a feeling that this will be another classic in the making.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • drrif on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:48 am

Front looks a bit tame, like a weak feeble dog, needed to have a more fierce look, do you know what I mean?

• Different league. They don’t need to make the xc90 like some cheapo ASEAN cars.

Substance vs Optimus prime wannabe

• BigBossMan on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:28 pm

I think the new XC90 is a nice car and would give the X5 a good run for its money. But I would expect it to carry a huge price jump just like the new Range Rover Sport.

It’s sad to say in this country, if you want to get a nice luxury SUV you would have to fork out at least half a mil which only a very very small population could afford. Thanks to the fooked up car policies.

• Pening on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Becareful some politician will tell you kalau tak suka boleh keluar….huhu

• This is because our salary is low. Most ppl that can afford this is either professional or business owner. If our average salary is as high as Norway. I wouldnt mind paying for current price as Norwegian pay higher price than us and their tax is based on horsepower not engine cap.

• Sonyman on Aug 30, 2014 at 2:49 pm

No wonder their salmon so expensive. Anyway this is Sweden but still in Scandinavian territory, some how if I ever can, I would go there and settle down. I think it’s one of the best place to live.

• wonders how much is the first edition online price? can the Malaysian order it?

• Sam_it_Is_time_to_eat_medicine on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:48 pm

no one say that the front lamp looks like the new hyundai design?

then why u guys keep talking about hyundai i20 front lamp copied Peugeuot 208?

or is it luxury car mean own originality in design?
    asian kimchi cars mean copy from other?

anyway, this volvo design looks great. Look grand, doesnt like BMWs looks always sporty.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:27 pm

i will lobby for no tax and duties for hybrid…i also want drive t8

• Max291 on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Wanker, Even with CKD + EEV bracket, volvo’s price won’t change much. Its the ‘grand’ status Malaysian gave to foreign marques. So, why sell many cars for the profit that equals selling less cars? Volvo’s high price in Malaysia isn’t because of the tax, but because of the profit they rake. Volvo, like other companies place profit over anything else. Its just natural.

• estimated price by volvo msia $500k -$550k.for CBU
    maybe wt CKD + EEV estimated price $350k -$400k

• It’s now further delayed to Jan or Feb, and Singapore has got the car running on the street. Wonder why they can let their customer waiting so long and keep delaying the launching . Very pissed with them.

• It’s now further delayed to Jan or Feb, and Singapore has got the car running on the street. Wonder why they can let their customer waiting so long and keep delaying the lauching. Very pissed with them.