Aston Martin Lagonda first pics: from Oman with love

aston-martin-lagonda-oman-2

Oman Air has announced its partnership with Aston Martin to transport the British carmaker’s yet-to-be-launched Lagonda super-luxury saloon to Muscat for hot-weather testing – and revealed pictures of the pre-production car in the process.

Like William Towns’ controversial 1976 car, the new Aston Martin Lagonda features slim headlamps that are ‘connected’ to the front grille – although obviously interpreted in a much less angular way here. The thick C-pillars and sweep-up lower rear overhang are also clear nods to the old car.

The new Aston Martin Lagonda is set to begin series production in very limited numbers next year – exclusively for the Middle East. It’ll be offered for sale by invitation only, and the asking price will be commensurate with the model’s exclusivity, quality and luxury.

The work of Aston’s special ‘Q’ division (which also gave us the CC100 Speedster, V12 Zagato and One-77), the Lagonda is based on the VH platform that’s used by the Rapide saloon. Power is speculated to come from the Rapide S’ 6.0 litre V12, which develops 558 PS and 620 Nm of torque.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• farghmee on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:27 pm

minimalist superiority :-)

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Say Aston, I know Ford’s been ripping off your grilles and all… but is that a Lincoln MKZ butt on that Aston?

• shawal on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Drop dead gorgeous look…
    Only rivalled by lambo’s abandoned estoque project….

Hope it drives as well as it looks, and seals AM success

• tak heran on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Previous decade super-rich people are defined by driving a jaguar. Nowadays bentley or panamera. Next year the car would be this lagonda…i can see it…i can see it coming…

• Continental on Sep 02, 2014 at 5:04 pm

you are totally wrong. super rich people drive Rolls Royce & Maybach!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:29 pm

i still prefer my s-class