DRIVEN: Audi A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI and 1.8 TFSI quattro – proof that the best things come in small packages?

A3_SLine_Ext_14

Here it is then, the new Audi A3 Sedan – an Audi for the masses. Well, not exactly for everyone, but it’s a proper Audi built to compete in the junior levels of the executive sedan ranks. That’s a first for Ingolstadt. This car is massively important in Malaysia, especially, where we don’t get the three- or five-door A3 hatchbacks, and the A1 is just too small to be of any relevance.

We’d be hardly spoiling the rest of this review by pointing out the blindingly obvious, that the A3 Sedan pair (1.4 TFSI and 1.8 TFSI quattro) is very impressive (we’ve made that clear in our last episode of Driven Web Series, anyway). But so is the BMW 3 Series range. Niggling quality and warranty issues aside, the F30 is a cracking car, no matter what variant you choose. But perversely, the Bimmer’s ability is also its biggest weakness. After all, every half-successful bugger around seems to be driving one.

Surely, given a choice, there are plenty of people looking for something a bit different. With the larger and fast ageing A4 missing the mark, this A3 Sedan looks set to shine. Happily, the new model is not just relying on the cachet of that Audi badge alone. Volkswagen Golf-base or not, these two can each hold its own in the premium class. Time to find out if they hold all the best cards, then.

A318_Ext_20

As modern as tomorrow. That is how one would best sum up the A3 Sedan’s looks. A bit derivative of the rest of the Audi range, yes, but still very much contemporary. And most important of all, it manages to generate a greater impression of solidity than its rivals, whether direct (Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 – based on a smaller hatchback) or not (BMW 3 Series – technically a class up, but similarly priced).

There’s very little to break up those high slab-sided looks. Even the well-aligned door handles look like they’ve been honed from the same sheet of metal as the whole car. The muscular wheelarches add to the feeling of strength, and the only downside is that the standard alloy wheels – 17-inchers on both the 1.4 TFSI and 1.8 TFSI quattro – aren’t quite big enough to fill them. The 18-inch S line items look far better in comparison.

Without a doubt, the A3 Sedan is a looker, but defining its styling is a little more complex than that. Some of the detailing is not great, for instance. Small-looking wheels aside, all the horizontal lines on the front are there to visually stretch the width of the face, as this is quite a tall and narrow car. Round the back, the tail is a touch too high as the shoulder line is sloped the way it is.

It ends up looking rather fussy to some. And yet, the more time you spend with the Audi, the less you notice these (crucially small) flaws and the more its overall lines grow on you. It’s not just different, it’s elegant in its own right. You could say that about all Audis these days, but again, mounted on a relatively compact body, the execution is commendable.

Whether you’d see it as classically handsome or ultimately boring, that’s your call to make. In the flesh, though, it looks good. Aggressive. Precise. Solid. With the big gaping grille, slim headlamps and those frowning LED daytime running lights, the A3 Sedan commands a lot of presence. Yet it does so with subtlety and grace, without looking all mad like the Mercedes CLA.

While there’s a significant number out there who go absolutely gaga over the Merc’s looks, it has very little to back it up with, not least specced the way it is over here (maximum showroom appeal and little substance). On the other end of the scale, a lot of car enthusiasts see the 3 Series as a TV soap tough guy who went a little bit soft when the F30 was launched, so Audi’s polished yet distinctive styling set seems like the best compromise.

A3_SLine_Ext_15

Under the bonnet, there’s a choice of two downsized, forced-induction engines here. The base 1.4 TFSI musters just 122 hp from 5,000 to 6,000 rpm, and 200 Nm of torque between 1,400 and 4,000 rpm. Sent exclusively to the front wheels (gasp!) it takes a leisurely 9.3-second stroll to 100 km/h, the slowest compared to the CLA 200 (8.5 seconds) and BMW 316i (9.2 seconds).

Despite this, it’s a pleasant engine to live with, made more so by its claimed 20.4 km per litre fuel economy. It may not be the quickest revving, but it stays smooth and ultra refined up to 6,000 rpm. And the transmission of choice here, the Volkswagen-sourced seven-speed dry dual-clutch S tronic gearbox, is a far better partner than the Merc’s slow and dim-witted 7G-DCT.

Through the seat of your pants, you’d think the A3 1.4 TFSI is at least a full second quicker to 100 km/h than the CLA, not 0.8 seconds slower as the stopwatch would suggest. Next to the 316i, you’d be splitting hairs if you’re comparing outright speed and performance, but between the two, the BMW is the clear victor in terms of feel. Why? The Three’s magical ZF eight-speed auto, that’s why.

Spend an extra RM60,000 to get the A3 Sedan 1.8 TFSI quattro, and you end up with a cracker of an engine. It revs faster and more crisply than the 1.4, and reaches 100 km/h 2.6 seconds sooner. The 6.7-second century sprint puts it in between the BMW 320i (7.3 seconds) and 328i (5.9 seconds), and almost level with the Volkswagen Golf GTI (6.5 seconds). However way you look at it, that’s mighty fast.

The 1.8 litre turbocharged engine makes 180 hp at 4,500 to 6,200 rpm and 280 Nm from 1,350 to 4,500 rpm – curiously more power but less torque compared to the A4 1.8 TFSI’s 170 hp and 320 Nm. Taking charge of delivering all that to the four-wheels (via quattro all-wheel drive) is the GTI’s six-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, which is also badged S tronic in this application. Fuel wise, it’s claimed to return 15.2 km per litre.

But as nothing ever is, it’s not all roses here. The range-topper’s ability to crush all before it is somewhat impaired by the efficiency-biased throttle and shift mappings. Unless you engage Dynamic mode under the Audi Drive Select menu, it takes quite a big prod of the loud pedal to force a quick downshift-and-go from the 1.8 TFSI. The 1.4 TFSI has no such issue.

A3_SLine_Int_01

But when it goes, it goes, alright. It can catch you by surprise at first, just how quick it is. The mid-range surge, if anything, feels faster even than in the 328i, and there’s less of the strange strangulated feel to the whole experience than there is in the Golf GTI, which is mapped harder and more aggressive at all times.

But again, performance isn’t the be-all-and-end-all deciding factor with this type of vehicle. In fact, it should never be when you’re dealing with cars that are to be driven everyday. More likely than not, you’ll spend more time in these cars navigating stop-and-go traffic situations than you do clear highways. And here, the 1.4 struggles a fair bit more than the 1.8, which in turn feels inferior to most of its rivals bar the plainly disappointing Mercedes CLA.

It’s the age-old dual-clutch transmission misery. The dry setup in the 1.4 TFSI takes its own sweet time to settle in when you’re just easing in the throttle for slow, gentle getaways. You almost feel the clutch struggle to catch on, as if you’re feeding too much right foot but not lifting your left enough in a manual car. You’d think that this issue would have been solved, but here it is. In 2014. In an Audi.

The wet clutch-equipped 1.8 TFSI deals with such driving conditions in a far better way. The engine and transmission feel less busy, and there are less instances (inclines and such) where the gearbox would trip up and send unnerving jerking motions into the cabin. Still, nowhere near as smooth sailing as any recent BMW fitted with the superb eight-speed auto.

On to ride and handling, no doubt there are those spluttering into their gin and tonic at the thought of a front-wheel drive premium car, but the truth is that if they took this A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI for a drive, they’d probably be hard pushed to tell the difference. Push is the operative word here, as unless you do, as in really, really hard, there’s certainly no hint that the front-wheel drive Audi is carrying any physical disadvantage here.

It has a pleasingly neutral feel, neither giving in to understeer at the first hint of a corner, nor hightailing away if you lift off mid-way through. On the road, the fairly weighty steering (adjustable through Audi drive select) gives a fair amount of information, and there isn’t a great deal of difference between this and the helm of a BMW 3 Series. Yes, really.

A3_SLine_Ext_08

Push hard on tight or fast sweeping bends and the balance swings in the rear-driven (or correct-wheel drive) F30’s favour, as you’d expect. Mid-bend, high-speed bumps unsettle the Audi far more than the ultra composed (and relatively soft) BMW, and there’s also a surprising amount of cabin intrusions being allowed in – bumps, ruts, tyre roar and wind noise.

Comparatively, the BMW is superior in all those aspects, except for the last one (the F30 is notoriously noisy at speed, if you’re uninitiated of its flaws). The Merc CLA, also front-wheel drive, is worse off again, with neither the handling balance nor the cabin refinement to match the Audi.

If you’re a frequent visitor of the limit of tyre adhesion, then you’d want to spend the extra dough for the 1.8 TFSI quattro variant. The colossal price gap between the two models is perhaps bigger than it should be (the 1.8 is a third more expensive than the 1.4), but the inclusion of quattro makes a big difference in the way the Audi A3 Sedan drives. Positively, that is.

It’s hard not to be impressed by the huge capability offered by the all-wheel drive layout, and the way the whole car involves the driver more. It ties the chassis and steering together in a far more cohesive manner, that you’re put in more control at all times. Next to the 1.4 TFSI, this one feels more mature, more sporty and best of all, a lot more substantial.

Corner-takings will be done at a higher comfortable speed, which can reach silly levels depending on the driver’s skills and more likely, bravery. Handling balance takes a leap forward too, making the car feel more pliable and ultimately a lot more playable with near the limit.

That said, while a well-driven A3 Sedan quattro will leave a comparable BMW 3 Series (M Sport or not) for dead through the twisties, the Bimmer driver would still have a bigger smile at the end of the drive. Make no mistake – the Audi is definitely a good steer, but not F30-good.

But if you’re not the sort who would take regular weekend drives to Ulu Yam or Kuala Klawang, then perhaps the base 1.4 TFSI would be more than capable enough. The waste of talent isn’t the issue here, but the difference in ride quality is, for the quattro model is fitted with stiffer sport suspension.

Both models ride on a set of passive dampers. The adaptive Audi magnetic ride option is not available in either model, so both the A3 Sedans are stuck with fixed settings – 1.4 TFSI on what we’d call slightly firm, the 1.8 TFSI quattro on hard. The former borders on being pliant (only just), while the latter takes the ride to a level that’s less satisfactory.

The stiffer-sprung and 15 mm-lower-riding 1.8 doesn’t feel as floaty as the 1.4 at speeds, but you do feel more of the faults in the road surfaces. For a better perspective, neither is as cossetting as the genuinely comfortable BMW 3 Series, but even the quattro model is not quite as uncomfortable as the Mercedes-Benz CLA.

In the case of ride quality, it has to be said that Audi’s quest to pursue driving dynamics at the expense of comfort is largely questionable, especially when the heavily related Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI holds a far better balance between the two. How Audi allowed this to happen is beyond us.

But enough of that, as the Audi A3 Sedan is more than just a driving tool. It’s a beautifully made car too, as the interior really does exude a quality feel that’s well above that of the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes CLA-Class. Audis are known for making sublime cabins, and despite its entry-level status, the A3 Sedan is no different.

You sit on very solid seats (heavily bolstered ones in the 1.8), hold a pleasingly thick-rimmed steering (specially in the 1.8) and look out over a nice set of satin-finished metal-rimmed instruments. Everything these is to touch, turn or prod feel substantial, and at no point do you think that this is just a dressed-up Golf. It’s all very relaxing and exciting at the same time.

The downside is, all the major controls bar the dual-zone climate control system, are accessed through the clunky Audi MMI interface. Its sci-fi novelty wears off very quickly the moment you realise that simple everyday functions, such as changing the radio stations, take two or three more steps than you’d ideally like. BMW’s iDrive system is significantly more user friendly, and even Merc’s flawed COMAND control scheme is more easily comprehensible.

Also less than spectacular is the A3 Sedan’s cabin space. You’d just about fit three adults in the back with limited head- and legroom, though the lack of space here isn’t nearly as severe as in the Merc CLA. Even the BMW 3 Series, which is far from the best in its class (full compact exec – Mercedes C-Class, Audi A4 and the like) in terms of space, feels humongous in comparison.

The A3 Sedan’s boot space (or lack thereof) is even direr. Numbers don’t lie, and the 1.4 TFSI has just 425 litres of space in the back, versus the 480 and 470 litres in the 3 Series and CLA-Class respectively. The number drops to a dismal 390 litres for the 1.8, as it has a raised boot floor to accommodate the quattro system’s rear differential. Its only saving grace is its foldable rear seats, which betters the BMW.

Detailed interior trim differences between the two variants, as well as the long list of optional extras are best appreciated by watching our comprehensive walk-around video of the A3 Sedan pair below. Unlike movies based on books, some things are best seen than described, after all.

But to recap, you can add Comfort Key (standard on the 1.8, RM3,500 on the 1.4), MMI Navigation plus (RM13,000), Bang & Olufsen sound system (RM4,000), a reverse camera (RM2,000), panoramic roof (RM4,500), pearl-effect paintjob (RM3,000) and full LED headlights (RM8,000) to your A3 Sedan. Hey, it’s an Audi, why would you expect it to be cheap?

The most significant entry in the options list is the full S line package for another RM19,800. Offered exclusively on the 1.8 TFSI quattro model, it includes an all-around bodykit, 18-inch wheels, a panoramic roof, part-Alcantara sports seats, full black headliner and a flat-bottomed steering wheel. It’s just too bad it doesn’t add adaptive dampers into the mix as well.

Costly options aside, there’s certainly enough substance behind the new Audi A3 Sedan’s massive showroom appeal to make it a serious contender in this competitive market. It has much to recommend dynamics-wise, and both its unique looks and peerless cabin appointments really grow on you in time.

In the 1.4 TFSI’s case, it certainly doesn’t suffer all that much from being front-wheel drive, and at RM179,900 – the cheapest Audi on sale here in Malaysia, alongside the tiny A1 hatchback – it’s good value as well. The RM240,888 1.8 TFSI quattro asks for a lot, but it also gives back generously in return.

The A3 Sedan certainly isn’t perfect, with a fair share of flaws – firm ride (even harder on the 1.8), annoying MMI interface, small interior and boot – but above all that, it feels different and a bit special. It’s hard to put a price on that warm glow you feel inside. It’s rare that a car allows both the heart and head to justify it. This is one of the select few.

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI

Audi A3 Sedan 1.8 TFSI quattro
Audi A3 Sedan 1.8 TFSI quattro S line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Steve Jobs on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:53 pm

1.8 is much powerful,somehow i am more inclined to 1.4 minimalistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Clean like Proton Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
    • Dual Clutch DSG on Aug 30, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Stay away from this car. Its dual clutch and its dry clutch. Double whammy. The same problematic DSG in VW. This is why the VW is the tow truck’s best friend.

This is the same DSG VGM in Germany already admitted that it cannot handle hot Asian weather and Asian traffic jams, otherwise prone to continuous breakdowns. VGM till today, August 2014 has still no solution to this problem to help dry dual clutch in hot countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • ‘This is the same DSG VGM in Germany already admitted that it cannot handle hot Asian weather and Asian traffic jams, otherwise prone to continuous breakdowns.’

Do you have a source for that? As far as I know the problem is solved since they changed to mineral oil two years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Dinnerboy (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:08 pm

When i buy VW I got the same worries… everyone talk about DSG DSG DSG!!! everyone saying the same. I also worry over the DSG failure.. but i have make no choice to buy VW Polo Tsi after test drive.. when thank god after 1 year driving it.. i hv no problem with the DSG at all..

• lunchboy on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:42 am

You are the lucky guy, but 2 of my friends who owned polo are facing the DSG problem. Their cars have been towed 2 times within a year.

• LokKee on Oct 13, 2014 at 11:18 am

I’m in the opposite side from your friend’s case as I’ve owned my polo tsi for 2 years already and i didn’t face any problem until now. It depends on how u take care of your car. If you service your car on time,it wouldn’t get you in trouble.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:19 pm

So this the a sui kwan euro by definition

• Bejendra on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:46 am

we all aware that VW DSG is problematic, but that was with the previous batch..so the problem was already sorted out with the previous batch and the upcoming VW models got no more DSG issues..

• I’ll wait for totally new A4, hopefully next year.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:10 pm

I still think, in the end, the A3’s biggest problem is not itself, in fact the interior looks and feels spot on fabulous (sat in a Sportback overseas), and the lovely Audi “simple yet sophisticated” look is well executed.

But the biggest issue is the part where you realise, for just over 20k more, you can get a 316i , which has significantly more space, more power, a better gearbox (that won’t judder about – something I find a bit disconcerting for an Audi, but let’s not forget, in the end it’s a manual technically), and the nice ride and handling. 20k, split over a typical loan period of 5 years is only 4k a year, which in turn works to about 300 odd ringgit more a month. At this price point, you wouldn’t mind paying 300 more for a bigger car per month.

Yes, the 316i’s fit and finish is a bit err… not that German, and the part where you throw a stone, you will hit a 3 series, but in a way, look at the flip side. There are so many 3 series on our roads, from a distance, the untrained eye will not be able to spot a 316i from a 320i.

The other issue I had with the A3 was the part where I know that I can walk to the VW dealer next door, and get a new Golf TSi 1.4 BlueMotion for less money, and yet it is just as well made, fairly spacious and looks good in it’s own way. Or if I am desperate for a sedan, I could get a similar sized Jetta CKD and pocket the savings for all the fuel. It’s more of the Golf, than the Jetta, that is making me walk away from the A3 1.4.

As for the 1.8TFSi A3, well for the price it is a bit too steep. The 320i is the same price, but again offers more space and more smiles. If you really insist on a fast sub 250k car, look at the Golf GTI. Or if you want a fast yet comfy sub 250k car, suddenly the V40 CrossCountry T5 looks like a deal too, the sultry Swede is very enticing and is pretty spacious too. Or even the stablemate A4 1.8 is actually decent, if you don’t mind the multitronic CVT- which I have to say has to be one of the best CVTs I’ve driven in a while, it doesn’t feel like a fuzzy logic washing machine.

It’s not Audi AG’s fault I would say. It’s more of Euromobil’s biggest screw up on the pricing. Which is a shame, considering the A3 is actually OK. Not amazing, but inoffensive. If it were my money, I’d drive down to my nearest Quill or Ingress Auto dealer and sign the papers on that 3 series.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 14
    • its just like saying walking away from Mini to Peugeot 308 bcos for the price vs size? (both using same engine) obviously premium segment is not comparing this sort of stuff
      if u hav the $$, you just want to look good.. 316i is just telling ppl i cant afford a proper 3 series..

A3 suit itself well with 1.4TFSI bcos its an entry level segment and the smaller engine looks at the right place as being entry level..

316i putting an entry level spec into a compact executive segment just doesnt looks it is at the right place..

the biggest loser is not Audi, but volkswagen.. adding 20k more for golf or 10k more from passat, you get a proper premium segment badge and call it a proper luxury segment, unlike VW semi premium but not that premium yet..

there will be more Audi A3 1.4 on the road ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
      • sudonano (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Actually you see, that’s the thing, the Cooper is a good example.

The Cooper S costs about 200k or so. A large proportion of the Malaysian public who shop for cars around that price range are generally family men and women, who have kids to ferry about. Try having 2 kids of about 13-14 years old, and get an A3, then keep it for 5 years (general loan tenure).

At the end of the 3rd year, your kids will be finding issues with space in the rear especially on long road trips. At that point, you’d have thought might as well get the bigger 316i.

If you say that the 316i is telling people you can’t afford a proper 3 series (it is still a proper 3 series, fun fact, it actually produces better performance than the older E90 320i Sport that sold in droves cause of the price), then what does the 1.4T badge at the back of the A3 say? Both are base spec cars, can’t run away from that, but I won’t call it not a real 3 series. Just because it has a smaller engine, it is still a proper cruiser.

As for your argument on the 1.4TFSI being OK on an entry level, in terms of performance wise, considering the torque to weight ratio the the BMW does have a lower ratio of 0.14, compared to the A3 1.4TFSI’s 0.16, but again, engine output is one half of the story. Other drivetrain losses, and aerodynamics also help in performance, which is why even though the 316i’s ratio deficit is there, it still has a slightly faster 0-100 time.

I won’t go on to say VW is losing out either, back again to the family man and woman part, who make up a large proportion of people buying at that price bracket, they would still need the space. Why buy a car with a fancy badge when they can’t even fit their kids and groceries in it.

If your theory that VW is gonna be losing out, then why are we not seeing more Audi A1s on the road, after all it is about the same price as the Asian D segment cars and the Passat/Mondeo/508.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • A3, 1.4 is also telling people you can’t afford a proper A3, 1.8 ma….same same….

• ABTguy (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:20 pm

The biggest problem of the 3 series is that the interior is at parties with Proton. As a driver we ate behind the helm most if the time and I cannot bring myself in there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Dr Mamak on Aug 30, 2014 at 11:10 am

Err… actually if you spot a 3er with a missing badge – that is most likely a 316i *shy*

• ala…diam diam ubi la..kekke…anyway nowadays it is easy to find a 320 badge at any accessories shop la….just swap it at very low cost only…like what people changing the oOo logo to hyundai logo …

• well said…. the price tag for A3, 1.4 is abit too expensive (RM179k excluding insurance )
      should make it more affordable like Jetta….then can sell like hot cake lol

• prashant on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Many failed to realise that all bmw 3 series except the 335i, active hybrid 3 and m3 are locally assemble(CKD) where else audi a3 is fully imported from Germany. CKD cars have poor quality control. Many have complained about refinement escpecially engine making noise. Wind sounds coming after driving more than 90km/h. I have spoken to a3 owners and this is their feedback. Not advisable to own 3 series until if u buy a 335i model which is cbu. Audi a3 atm is the best car to buy for that price range. After all audi a3 has high quality interior with good refinement and engineered vehicle. Never too quick to judge. Ask around and learn from people feedback. Space is not all that matter. No point getting a spacious car with good handling when it has poor QC which will end up a breakdown. Lol.

• B777-200 on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:53 pm

I like and agree with this statement, “After all, every HALF-SUCCESSFUL bugger around seems to be driving one.” Haha… We call them badge Snob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 60
    • ppl who call other ppl badge Snob are called “sour grapes”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 11
      • B777-200 on Aug 30, 2014 at 3:01 am

So you’re one of the half-successful badge snob here. Great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
        • This is called “appreciate branding and heritage, appreciate refinement and lifestyle”.. this is what Audi about..

appreciate the brand and badge snob are 2 different thing
          brand and badge are different as well..

to bad, ignorant ppl will just call other badge snob

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:14 pm

A very commendable write-up! Feels like an extended version of the Driven review, elaborating many of the points covered in more detail and with more explained comparisons between the 3 cars involved. Thoroughly enjoyed the read. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:45 pm

I wouldn’t getting one…if I am not a family man that is unless this is a second car for the missus haha but jokes aside, I’d try an Audi only if I have another car at home. Audi Malaysia really needs to expand their network to another few more states before I’m convinced to get one…heck even Lexus is growing quicker than Audi!

The lack of cabin and boot space is very apparent…I’m only 5 foot 3 and I find the rear seats cramped! But other than that its all roses for the A3.

Now all that’s left is for them to launch the A4 B9….its very late into the game having seen the W205 and the LCI F30 is also on the way.

• gaviny on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:37 am

I think ill still take the Volvo v40 t5 with 215 horses, at 190k and 5 years free service and warranty and not every half bit executive driving one

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 1:32 am

The 1.2TSI Polo feel like a 1.5 power
    1.4TSI feel a bit like 1.8 Civic
    1.8TSI can already smoke any 2.3 natural aspirated cars..but come with heavy pricing and maintenance…Wear and tear dont mention.I am waiting for Japanese manufacturers come out with new 1100-1600cc turbo vehicles.Nissan already got their 1.2/1.6 Turbo.If there is any Wish 1.4 turbo i gladly trade in and buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • just like that on Aug 30, 2014 at 2:21 am

i will just get a 508. better specs anytime. i rather be in a d segment 508 than an A3.

if u say its different coz peugeot is not premium and Audi is, im sorry coz im colour blind.

best specs for a car priced at 155k (when it was on sale during raya) is the premium 508.

i dont own one but very soon!

• therealmaserati on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:26 am

This A3 looks small on the road. It just doesnt justify the high price for a puny 1.4 turbo.

Plus ppl couldnt be bothered if u drive an A3 cuz thrs nothing special about it.

At 240k for the 1.8, ur better off in an Merc A250 which has a better badge and has an imposing presence on the road.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:17 am

If there is no Potong, everybody can drive Audi

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 30, 2014 at 11:54 am

Okay this A3, not bad, but not excellent, not value for money, not powerful (1.4 variant), too expensive (1.8 quattro)

Good:
    1) Interior is very premium (one of its kind)
    2) Above average fuel economy (1.4 variant)
    3) Minimalist design, not overly too exaggerating.
    4) Good smooth DCT (DSG), way better than the Merc.
    5) Smooth delivery in power output

Bad:
    1) Design is almost same as Audi previous models if one does not observe in minor details.
    2) Audi MMI system really not user friendly.
    3) Very small boot space for 1.4, and even smaller for 1.8
    4) Cramped cabin space.
    5) A bit underpowered in 1.4 tsi compared to golf or jetta tsi due to its weight; 1.8 quattro feels powerful, but FC suffered as well.
    6) Add on costs way too exorbitant. (yeah i know it is optional but i couldn’t help it)

Good alternatives i can recommend:
    1.4 variant:
    1) VW Scirocco 1.4: you want style? you want sporty? you want to stand out? This is the car! Yet it drives beautifully, esp handling corners.

2) VW golf 1.4 tsi and Jetta 1.4: Same speed, hatchback which looks pretty sporty, but its boots size is whopping 380 LITRES! A3 sedan only 425 litres? You gotta be kidding me. Both offers practicality in their own way, at a much lower price. Interior wise, VW also did a good job, though not as good as Audi. (expected from its price position)

3) A200 or A250: Sure, CLA is a disappointment, but you are going for badges, mercedes is a better choice. A class is very distinct model. A200 might feel a bit underpowered, but still great handling and solid stability (A3 almost the same) And now A200 is just around 190k. A250 vs A3 quattro, obviously you know which one is better.

4) as per mentioned, BMW 316i, it is just simply better than A3 in every aspect.

Conclusion: A3 launched now at this price range, is really at middle of nowhere. Sure it wins CLA 200, but who cares about CLA 200 about its performance anyway. Ppl might buy it, but there are much better alternatives if you can overlook the Audi badge.

P/S: I drive myself a VW golf TSI mk6. not that i am bragging about my car, but in both city and highway drive, smooth, and fast acceleration + high end power. I get to stuff a lot of things into my boot, which makes it very very practical although it is a hatcback. (touchwood here, so far no dsg problem except changed its clutch one time due to wear and tear issue)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Car_fan on Aug 30, 2014 at 9:14 pm

The Quattro is really poor value for money.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:27 pm

im still shocked how Driven recommended this over the 316i

• Shouldn’t the CLA and A3 be compared with Bimmer’s 2 series ?
    The 3 series should be in the Compact exec category…

• Krishna on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:08 am

Its a matter of personal taste la. You like Audi but have not been able to afford one all this while, here you go! Performance wise, lets be realistic, with traffic in KL, does it really make a difference? Samething with space, children will grow…if your kids are 13 yrs now, in 5 yrs they will be 18. Even 316 wont be able to fit them. Audi is still an Audi….A3 represents what the brand represents. Luxury and performance in a smaller pcakage and lower cost.

I lean towards Audi and Merc over Beemers but the only reason why I am not leaning towards the A3 is the price and the design. This design has been around for almost 8 years now with facelifts done in between. In terms of price point, if we exclude the 1.4, A3, 316i, CLA come close to their bigger siblings A4, 320, C Class. So at the moment I will wait for the new gen C Class and A4 (exp 2015).

I also agree that there are many other contenders who are very aggressive. 508 has a large interior, gorgeous and luxurious too (full leather). Peformance is decent. I dont see it lacking in any way when compared the Beemer, Audi, Merc except the brand value. Volvo and Citroen are also coming in with very attractive looking cars with luxurious interior (D5, S60 and V40). To make it even more aggressive, they throw in 5 yrs warranty, with 5 years free service. New Mondeo is also coming out soon. I currently own a Focus TDCi and its a gorgeous car with very nice performance (torque is 340NM!)…useful since i travel JB-KL-JB one a mth plus JB is full of highways. It is cheaper to maintain that my old Iswara A/B.

My hearts says Audi and Merc but my brain says, Citroen/Pug/VW/Volvo….same luxury and performance at 30-40% lower cost.

• jesslim on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:59 pm

How about the VW 2014 tiguan 1.4Tsi? Can gv me some commet pls..

• KillBox1Alpha on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:19 am

If Im going for a 2nd car,for the Mrs perhaps..then it will be the CLA….dont care about perfomance…only the looks and it does the job. If Im going for my first conti then A3 would be my choice…not for families though

• MrPoppyplants on Oct 05, 2014 at 7:32 pm

The thing with Audi, is that they totally win at pricing their car models here in Malaysia.

The price gaps of the A1, A3, A4, A5 and A6 are all in the matter of few thousand Euros from one segment to the next.

But the way Audi prices them here, is by the hundreds of thousands, not even tens of thousands from one series to the next. Yet they still sell. Total win for Audi.

This goes the same for BMW and Mercedes. Malaysia, confirmed one of the highest profit generating countries for luxury marques.

• kushboo devi on Oct 06, 2014 at 9:37 am

I love audi. Last time my bf drive audi. Soo noce. Very comfort and fast. I almost flying out the wibdow. Now change bf. Have to sit in proton saga. Hopefullyi will find a new audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Atz1999 on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:54 am

Boring design. Audi A3 should design likes Audi A7 front and rear if want to beat MB CLA

• RS3 Rep on Mar 09, 2017 at 3:15 pm

i already reflash my audi 1.4 ecu at APR malaysia, put REVO air filter and aftermarket exhaust…no regret now i get 186hp 280nm torque…more power than A3 1.8… for body kit just dump-in RS3 bodykit sure looked menacing…