ETC to begin at PLUS Batu Tiga, Sg Rasau tolls Sept 1

etc-plus-m-b 245

As earlier reported, all-electronic toll collection (ETC) is set to begin at PLUS Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas (on Federal Highway Route 2) from September 1 at 6.00 am. Only SmartTAG, PLUSMiles card and Touch ‘n Go card transactions will be accepted – no cash.

At a media briefing held recently, PLUS MD Datuk Noorizah Abdul Hamid explained that should motorists require printed receipts (for claims purposes), they will be provided on the spot at the two leftmost booths at both toll plazas, in both directions. Transaction statements may also be printed out through e-Penyata.

PLUS has opened up drive-through counters at the two toll plazas. Open 24 hours beginning September 1, motorists may purchase and reload PLUSMiles and Touch ‘n Go cards at these counters, without getting out of their cars.

etc-plus-m-b 249

Also, Customer Service Centres (Pusat Khidmat Pelanggan) at the two locations will be open daily between 7 am and 10 pm.

As incentives to migrate to cards, PLUS is offering RM5 preloaded PLUSMiles cards at a promotional rate of RM5 (so essentially the card itself is free) until November 30. Also, SmartTAGs will be offered at a promotional price of RM99 (provided you top-up RM30) until September 30.

That’s not all – a 30% toll rebate will be offered to Class 1 users who pay electronically during off-peak hours (10 am-4 pm, 10pm-6 am) at both toll plazas between September 1 and December 31.

etc-plus-m-b 241

The rationale behind the move to all-ETC is quite clear – the objective is to reduce toll plaza congestion by quickening the process of paying toll, thereby bypassing land constraints where toll plaza widening is concerned. It will also, of course, save a bit of fuel for motorists in the long run, since you don’t have to slow down, stop, and move off again.

The long-term aim is to increase the number of electronic transactions from 44 per capita in 2010 to 200 by 2020. The switch to electronic transaction will also, PLUS says, save 1% on the country’s gross domestic product.

Additionally, for 2020, PLUS is targeting 100% ETC at all its toll plazas nationwide, with a possible gateless gantry toll collection system (like Singapore’s overhead Electronic Road Pricing gantries) where cars may simply drive through and be charged electronically, without the need for slowing down.

etc-plus-m-b 247

Why Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau? Well, apart from being heavily congested, over 70% of transactions at the two toll plazas already are through SmartTAG, PLUSMiles or Touch ‘n Go cards, says PLUS.

All-ETC systems are already in place at Perling on the Secondlink Highway (January 2014), Kempas on the NSE (January 2014), Lima Kedai on Linkedua (July 2010), Tanjung Kupang on Linkedua (September 2009) and the Sultan Iskandar Building, CIQ (December 2008).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jhleo1 on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:55 am

SmartTAGs RM99 only at PLUS Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll?

• Non Bumi Toll Operator on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:36 am

This is good but what about all those toll operators? What is going to happen to them? Simply absorb them into your company and make it like MAS and Proton ie 10 people do 1 person’s job? Are you going to give PLUS shareholders value for their money by making the company lean?

Oh yes Datuk Noorizah Abdul Hamid, for years I noticed all toll operators got no non bumi. How come GLC don’t employ non bumi? I thought Malaysia is muhibbah? I have never ever seen a toll operator non bumi before all these years.

Something wrong with employing non bumi as a toll operator?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • OMG…i guess will be a massive jam on 1st September onwards… PLUS…pls make sure your man will be there always to solve those problem on Smart tag lane…if not, will jam like HELL..

• tak heran on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:00 am

TnG please laa change your backend system to cloud instead storing value in the card. Outdated

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:43 am

Yea, then I can quietly transfer your credit to mine. Or help you top up your credits… how many ‘0’ you want? lol

• tak heran on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Oh come on la ah beng…never used online banking or paypal is it? Soo primitive are you? Lost your TnG card with rm100++ value is better system is it?

• OMG…seem like they 1 ur CASH in advance (CIA), no more Cash on delivery (COD)…lol…

• Steve Jobs on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:11 am

abolish batu 3 toll better.huehuehuehuehuehuehuehue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • venven81 on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:35 am

should have been demolished years back but with the extension of concessionaire period again and again…? when la when?!

• Gates on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:14 am

I like the way you thinking, Steve. :D

• Joe Radzif on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:18 am

Projek nyusahkan rakyat yang sudah sedia ada susah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Apa yang susah sangat? Tak paham la. Minta jelaskan boleh?
      This would eventually lead to use of gantry system like in Singapore and we would prevent bottleneck scenario that occurs at tollgates. Wouldn’t u want to drive past it at 80-100kmph rather than slow down to a standstill each time there’s a tollgate? Think in the long run bro. If you ask me, its damn overdue. About time they get on with this

• Low Budget on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Your comment is right if it applies to other highways other than the most infamous Federal and LDP highways. You will not solve bottle neck by electronic tools on LDP at Sunway and Federal highway at Batu 3 toll, the bottle neck will be there even if there are no toll gates there.

• azhar on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:22 am

Karak highway should do this..stupid jam cause by cash lanes

• venven81 on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:34 am

in fact all highways should be ETC, not only Karak as you mentioned. better still, do away with the barrier / boom gate. faster! sigh…

• Low Budget on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Toll booths should be removed at stretches where there are constant congestion.

• maXref (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:37 am

If anything, a lot of toll booths in Klang valley areas should implement this. No doubt the above mentioned booths may be crowded but i don’t think they can trump the ones in KL/selangor areas

• Cannot permanently abolish cash lanes at all toll booths all over Malaysia because we still have unker / makcik / popo driving and dunno how to use TnG …

• Ya…agreed, that why we should need better system like the 1 in Singapore…Useless PLUS

• tishaban on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:03 am

Singapore is probably the most advanced in toll collection in the world, yet Malaysians don’t want to learn from them. Sibling rivalry :)

Some problems I observe with the current toll systems in Malaysia:

1. the highways are owned by profit motivated corporations instead of the govt. Profit comes first instead of service to the users.

2. the toll collection system (Touch n Go and Smart TAG) are owned by profit motivated corporations instead of the govt. Again profit comes first. We don’t get incentives for using electronic collection system unlike in the US for example where people get a discount when using EZ Pass compared with paying cash.

3. the alternative to tolled highways ie. LRT and bus companies are owned by profit motivated corporations so again there’s less incentive to help reduce pressures on the highways and entice people to use public transport.

In short all the companies out there are out there to grab your money without looking at the overall big picture so even though 100% ETC might make sense, people don’t feel that these help in any measurable way.

• explorer (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Then, which company does not bother on making profit?
      tell me please you genius.

• tishaban on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:54 pm

explorer, in many countries the highways, toll collection and public transport are owned by the government. That way there’s no conflict of interest, they’re there to service the people not make a profit from the people.

• Get your facts right.
      Is it Malaysian don’t want to learn from Singapore or Malaysian want to learn from Singapore but don’t want this don’t want that ?

• seewhy on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:44 am

Malaysia will be much more advance than Singapore when there is no toll booth needed at all… All highways are freeways.

• Gargantia on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:06 am

DILAKSANAKAN?

When come on implanted taxes and new fee charges. Everything comfirm within in months.

When come to abolish/discreased taxes wait until 2018.(AP system)

Good job Gov for increase burden to RAKYAT.

• oilworker on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:28 am

Please expedite and do this for Ampang – KL Elevated Highway too!!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 29, 2014 at 11:36 am

Outstation driver be prepared.

Even though I am a smartTag user, I see very little sense in them abolishing the cash lane. If people get sick of waiting, especially one that uses it often enough, they can always go buy a smarttag or tng card.

The e-statement is normally a few days late, useless for people that submits cash claims.

besides, so what really if you manage to ease congestion at the toll booth? Almost the entire highway bottlenecks just 100m from any toll booth, in this case Batu Tiga and Subang. Take your pick, NKVE Duta, LDP Sunway, MEX Salak South……

• longkai on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:09 pm

selain system ETC mcm di jepun kenapa tak syorkan alternatif lain yg boleh touch guna debit or credit card saja mcm di spain dan negara euro yg lain. bagus utk uncle2 dan makcik2… atau yg buta IT

• floor on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:02 pm

well at least recon japan cars can use the etc system

• jaraju on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Hmm.. what about taxis, buses and lorries? How does the ETC will know they are not Class 1? Aren’t the fares different?

• There are usually one or two semi automated lanes in each direction. Truck and bus drivers cannot reach the TnG readers, so they need help from human operators, who will also determine the vehicle type. Anyway, all transport companies use fleet cards, so their vehicle types are already known, except some badly managed backward small businesses that still insist on cash.

• Leonard Chin on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Sudah postponed wor…

http://www.llm.gov.my/doc/SKM_C454e14082911451.pdf

• Same Looor on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:53 pm

To all,

The etc for Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau have been postponed due to the UMNO Selangor negotiate with the goverment. So, you all will happy to hear this news.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:00 pm

No cash toll to all!

• Anwar Ibrahim (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:36 pm

LLM sepatutnya membuat kajian menyeluruh sebelum membuat keputusan ini. adakah sistem ETC ini akan memberikan kesenangan kepada pengguna lebuhraya atau sebaliknya? Bagaimana pula jika pengguna terlupa membuat tambah nilai TnGO?Kad TnGO rosak atau mati tarikh luput? Tidakkah akan menyusahkan pengguna lebuhraya lain untuk menunggu kakitangan petugas untuk datang membantu. Ini akan lebih memburukkan situasi. Sekurang-kurangnya Plaza Tol perlulah mempertimbangkan sekurang-kurangnya 2 laluan tunai,bukankah cara sebegini lebih baik. Tujuan pembinaan ETC bukanlah mendidik pengguna, tetapi akan dianggap keuntungan semata2, kerana akan mengurangkan lagi penggunaan pekerja buruh dan menyusahkan pengguna yang lain. Perkara ini telah dijangka oleh PKR, Oleh kerana itu manifesto kami telah menjelaskan untuk memansuhkan Tol lebuhraya. Tapi ada lagi segelintir rakyat masih tidak nampak.