2015 Kia Sorento unveiled in South Korea – more pics!

kia-sorento-2015-korea-30

The third-gen 2015 Kia Sorento, official photos of which surfaced recently, has been unveiled in South Korea, ahead of a scheduled global premiere in Paris in October. Lots of pics to go along with it, revealing the new SUV’s interior and equipment.

UPDATE: More technical information from European release added.

Standing 4,780 mm long (+95 from before), 1,890 mm wide (+5) and 1,685 mm tall (-15), with a 2,780 mm wheelbase (+80), the “Man on the Road” has a huge ‘Tiger Nose’ grille with a 3D diamond pattern up front that flows neatly into xenon projector headlamps with LED DRL ‘eyebrows’.

Repositioned seat cushions result in more headroom, despite the lower roofline, while boot volume is up by a significant 90 litres to 605 litres. There’s now also an underfloor storage compartment.

kia-sorento-2015-europe-photos-7

Inside, there’s a three-spoke steering wheel (like the one on the Optima facelift, minus the flat bottom) trimmed in wood and leather, quite a bit of chrome and side air vents that ‘poke out‘ from the dashboard. Manual single-zone and auto dual-zone air-con are available.

Five- and seven-seat versions will be available worldwide; the seven-seater gets ‘remote folding’ second-row seats (you can fold the second row using levers in the boot area). The second row is split 40:20:40.

Torsional rigidity is up 14%, thanks to more ultra-high tensile steel in the body. There’s also more soundproofing in the transmission tunnel and dashboard, and larger engine and transmission mounts. Plus, diesel engines get a new particulate filter cover and an acoustic shield integrated into the timing chain cover. The result? Three to six percent lower cabin noise, says Kia.

Also, a new electric motor-driven power steering system (R-MDPS) is mounted on the rack instead of the column where it was before. Kia claims greater steering feel and quicker response.

We see two distinct instrument panel layouts here: rev counter/TFT screen/speedo, and rev counter/speedo with integrated TFT (looks bigger here, and in colour too)/fuel gauge and engine temperature.

Options include ventilated (front only) and heated seats, a heated steering wheel, JBL sound, GPS infotainment and a panoramic sunroof. We also see three alloy designs (one 18, two 19s), two-memory-setting seats with adjustable lumbar, an electronic centre diff lock, a powered tailgate, Drive Mode, Around View Monitor with four cameras and rear air-con with eight selectable fan speeds.

Safety? There’s Adaptive Smart Cruise Control, Lane Departure Warning, Front Collision Warning, Blind-Spot Detection, Lane Change Assist, Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Speed Limit Information Function and Around View Monitor with four cameras.

In South Korea, the 2015 Kia Sorento will be powered by 186 PS/402 Nm 2.0 litre and 202 PS/441 Nm 2.2 litre engines, both four-cylinder diesels. Other announced engines are a 2.4 litre GDI petrol, a 2.4 litre MPI petrol and a 3.3 litre MPI petrol. Europe will get the 2.2 diesel and 2.4 GDI petrol. All outputs range from 172 to 270 PS.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Get the Santa Fe instead, coz it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 33
    • Bentley Fan Shue on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Nope, the Kia looks far better and bigger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
      • Malaysia VS Korea Workers on Aug 30, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Proton and Kia started about the same time. See where Kia is now and where Proton is now. All because of the attitude of their workers.

Kia workers: “Let’s work hard. Let us focus on our work and give the best to our beloved company. We take pride in what we do. We must only have 30 minutes lunch and go back to our task”

Proton workers: “Rilakslah bang, buat apa keje kuat. Rilakslah. Mari lepak. Boss tak ada, jom pegi tidur kat stor dan lepak. Bess lah pegi minum teh dan makan kuih lapis kat kantin. Baru pergi 5x hari ini, nak pergi lagi. Eh tengok awek kilak tu, cun betul, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syiok betul. Jom lah tidur, kita buat QC esok. Malas lah. Tak boleh tumpu perhatian ku ingatkan awek cun tu”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Hi shameless, where are RM35k one year old k5, sonata, sportage, 3008 and 5008.
      lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
  • Beautiful car, hope can see it in Malaysia soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
    • kadajawa (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Hello Proton…how many years more to become global champion like Kia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Same L0rrr on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:36 pm

As long as it is kimchi, it won’t have RV.

As long as it is Proton, it won’t have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 50
    • Pray for sam loo on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:57 pm

We got it… Toyota is the best in the world, kimchi cars worthless.
      Son, now may u REST IN PEACE under 6 feets with your Toyotas n Kimchi cars that u sell. Dont annoy people anymore by talking cock here…

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/08/28/inokom-assemble-facelifted-hyundai-elantra-thai/#ixzz3Bll7QCBp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 7:40 pm

As long as it’s not UMW toyo, it will have more air bags and new technologies!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
    • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:30 am

And as long as its you, your ass will always be in place of your brains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • jibby on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:59 pm

finally my wish granted. the only thing holding me back from buying the current sorento is cramped 3rd row seats. it’s only good for kids seating only.

• Yes I agree. And not only more space, the sorento comes with more equipment and a better fuel efficient engine. If priced correctly will create a tough competition for Nissan X trail (the 4wd version), Isuzu MUX, Pajero sports, Toyota fortuner etc. I would go for sorento as the equipment offered as always better than others. Electric sunroof, electronic park brakes, power leather seats, better safety provision, cheaper maintenance compared to europeans and more. If you talk of RV, you should know that these days all cars have low RV, specially expensive cars, so kia is no exception. At least to get the best bargain with sorento

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:59 pm

try hard to be audi last time

now trying hard to be jaguar

dont bring this trash to malaysia pls..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 73
    • kadajawa (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:12 pm

> Asia’s answer to BMW 3-series. <

who said that last time?? berani betul nak jual mimpi kosong kepada rakyat jelata!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Please don’t bring your trash talk here.

• jibby on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:01 pm

finally my wish granted. the only thing holding me back from buying the current sorento is cramped 3rd row seats. it’s only good for kids seating only. now with longer body & longer wheelbase, I really hope 3rd row seats can accommodate adult comfortably, especially for long journey. can’t wait to see it in metal & test drive! pls bring it to msia soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Korean cars have come a long way, from crappy build and bad fuel efficiency to beautifully designed and best sellers in foreign countries. Proton, what are you doing all the time??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Marieta on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Oh my god..It’s look so manly…I really hope Naza bring full spec version of this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Hyundai and Kia copying Golf tail lights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • ToosyBoxyTurvy on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

This time the jap looks better.
    http://youtu.be/QzGg6in3uZQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • marieta on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Nah, I take Sorento over this one..look more buff and bigger..not to mention in this country it’s more cheaper (to run and maintain)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Get the Sorento 1 year later from a relative.

Should be a great bargain at RM30k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • jilbaber on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:47 pm

wrong comparison la…Sorento is full size 7 seater SUV, this is basically a crossover..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Get a 15 month old Sorento from a friend of family member.

Price should be around RM30K +-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • DrCooper on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:28 pm

In the video at 1:14, what the korean words say when the car stop ? is it come with start stop function ?

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Direct translation: “only looks good, no substance, no resale value”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 43
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:46 pm

No resale value means that the car still can be traded in.

KIA cars cannot be traded in, so the word resale value does not apply

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 33
    • Jason Yang on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Hi. The opptions as below.

0:30 – Smart tail gate
      0:35 – Remote for second seat folder
      0:40 – upper Class premium interior(Last model used too mush sucking plastic, I think It has been upgrade it.)
      0:48 – 202hp and 45 torque (R 2.2 Diesel engine)
      0:53 – Around view monitoring system
      1:05 – Dimensions (More Longer – Length 95mm / Wheelbase 80mm)
      1:09 – 4WD&ATCC(Advanced Traction Cornering Control) This is optional function, \2.100,000(RM 6500) in Korea
      1:16 – A engine is stop when you are stop a car. – Premium ISG system(save petrol)
      1:23 – Wide Panorama Sunroof
      1:45 – FCW: This is first function in Korea, anti-accident alert system.
      2:22 – 220V invertor(200W)

• ThePolygon on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Eee… http://paultan.org/2011/04/29/new-ssangyong-actyon-suv-set-for-may-2011-local-debut/

• Sam Loois on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Wow… amazing Kia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • gaviny on Aug 29, 2014 at 2:41 pm

aiyo the bumper lights is toooo big, confirm every few months have ti replace from stone damage, not good.placement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • The most underrated brand in Malaysia.

Although having mediocre engine performance,KIA has really good quality cars.

Now they produce,good looking cars to. Damn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • *TOO

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:47 pm

This is how kimchi bait their victims

Instinctive buy, coz it looks good when first viewed.

Place your downpayment, and 1 day later, remorese sets it.

Time to collect the car, and the immediate reaction will be “tiu lor”

3 months later, promotions are denied, girlfriend dumps you, park far far away at family gatherings.

Start to think of selling.

6 months later, realising that no used car dealer wants to accept, you start to leave the car unlocked in a dark alley, hoping that it will be stolen.

Realising that even thieves want better and more reputable sushis, you start to ask uncles and aunties if they want your rotten cabbage.

No takers, you start to look for me. I don’t take KIA, only Hyundais. SO SORRY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • jilbaber on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:48 am

Lol..man, as much I hate your comment on ‘Kimchi’ things..I just love the way you put your satirical words…

• Nice looking.. like a full blown Mazda. very masculine! hope to see in MY soon !

• i was a loyal Japs fan.A brief moment I had to drive a malaysian brand.Then i switched to european/swedish marquees, all 5 or them, the star, the rings, the swedish, the white and blue,and the miniature.Then i switched back to the japs, the H and the T.recently I decided to try a kimchi.and i am seriously thinking to have another kimchi.and another.honestly impressed of their effort and achievements.we are still a thousand miles behind.they are leaping,we are still contemplating about 2 airbags or 6 airbags.it’s 2014, just give 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Maserati(Official) on Aug 29, 2014 at 4:34 pm

hello KIA SA, too free in showroom nothing to do? maybe you should go out more often to hand out more brochures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
      • Haha.so sorry to disappoint you dear maserati.im a cardiothoracic surgeon,a government and public servant.but i dont mind to be called KIA SA since i am really impressed with KIA achievements.since my house is quite far from the hospital i work at and i have to train new CTS masters students at different university hospitals as well,i had to buy a fuel efficient ,reliable,safe,comfortable compact.i have a JCW and previously a 1series,but i need something better in term of maintenance and convenient enough to run around town without worrying someone might dent the car.i was thinking of grey-imported honda N-one,but being a car enthusiast I took this opportunity to test drive all A and B segment cars available in our market.and i fell in love with the Picanto (my second choice is the Fiesta Ecoboost).Fortunate enough to get Hari Raya discount.Hope its a lasting relationship.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • jungle on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:04 am

wahaha
          in your face maserati worshipper

• Haha.Life is too short to argue on RV and stuff.i always remember my mentor Dato Dr Gurdeep Perkash Singh,an amazing neurologist from Ipoh said,car is never an investment.knowledge,house and lands are.(he still drives his gold 1985 230E.Respect.).I used to drive a malaysian brand,was quite ok with it although there’s one time i skidded while cornering at the eastin junction in PJ.had to drive fast for an emergency.thank God I didnt hit the divider.but all resolved with Eibach sport springs.at one family gathering an uncle (whom drives a T Camr*) sarcastically said its no use to be a surgeon.u can only drive a My*i!then i saw his children smirked towards mine.I don’t really mind if people look down at me as i am just a public servant,but when it comes to my kids i hold no wrath.next day I bought a Cayman and a Cayenne for my wife and kids (i do have good saving and investment portfolio.) but i still keep the orange My*i for work.then things started spiralling out.M5,M3,JCW C-s,CLK,CLS,A4,911,type R,Countryman,RX8,HumVee,Vellfire,Evoque (a very very nice car) and the last was an R8 (only lasted for 2 weeks.family really cant stand the noise.) Only last year i realized i might have gone too far with the cars when I met my other mentor Dr Ko Chu Beng,the famous Dr Ko’s Skin Clinic owner from Klang.A real humble gentleman whom I have very very high respect for.Then i started restructuring.keep the Evoque,Vellfire and the JCW for my daughter.and find a safe and reliable city car for work.its not a hard transition from jCW to picanto.and it is one of my best “non investment” by far.RV?most of the cars i have had have worse RV than KIA.Buy a car you are comfortable with,and keep it as long as you can.than you will appreciate the value.i still have the orange myv* btw.gave it to my sister to use.:) and now this sorento might be a good drive to replace the 5 years old Vellfir*.

• how to b3li3v3 ?? at l3ast go for the R1O la Dr….
            Dr Ko will n3v3r driv3 a Picanto lor …

• Haha.R10 is one of the good looking cars currently.Very nice interior at that range of price.but I already have the JCW.I need an A segment car hence the picanto.Dr Ko is a very very nice gentleman and I dont think he will mind driving a Picanto.But honestly the Panamera suits him very well.

• TheDean on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:17 pm

That video is a bit odd. Go all the way to the beach to… watch a projected video?

VW style tailights, and BMW style protruding grill to headlight designs. In K-Version. Impressive!

• farghmee on Aug 29, 2014 at 3:32 pm

1. nice 3d-effect dashboard
    2. weird side profile..no butt?

• Josh Ling on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:13 pm

this is the trend it seems. i think the new Discovery Sport also no butt. but overall i still think this looks miles better than the current facelifted model. at least everything is more cohesive and exudes confidence and maturity.

• SorentoOwner on Aug 29, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Compared CR-V 2.4 (2014) with Sorento 2.4 (2014). Sorento hv more features. FC 10L/100 km (CR-V) vs. 9.8L/100km (Sorento). Price wise, Sorento is cheaper by few thousands (full specs.) Top speed 190 km/h (CR-V) vs 200 km/h. This new Sorento is a ‘beast’on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Compared with CRV, a 5 year old unit can still sell for RM90k. And CRV is a mid sized SUX, Solantou is a full sized version.

Compared with Santa Fe, the KIA cannot even be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
  • shawal on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Looks like a fantastic ownership proposition

• Rokuth on Aug 29, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Rev counter?! Do people not know what a tachometer is or are you just catering to the lowest common denominator? Come on! We know how to use a dictionary. If nothing else, we can always look it on on the Internet… which is where we are right now…

• All Korean car are good to look but not good to use

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:10 pm

That’s why they do not have RV, or cannot even be traded in

Only 3rd world countries like them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • Proud owner of kia .. Just One word.. Gorgeous..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:09 pm

KIA owners cannot even shout hailat coz no used car owners will accept trade in, thats why I call them Tai Lan Ngong

Hyundai owners are luckier, coz we still accept trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • I thought the front looks a tad like the newer Ssangyong.

• The rear tail lamp comes from vw golf…lol

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:30 pm

kia design is goign backwards

• Why buy a Korean 7 seater vs a Japanese 7 seater ?

Korean 160K + 40K interest/9 years = RM200K
    Japanese 250K + 65K interest/9 years = RM305K

Selling off after 9 years
    Korean – RM50K – value lost RM150K
    Japanese – RM105K – value lost RM200K

Savings of RM50K

Savings thru installment RM1600 monthly (KOR) vs RM2600 (JAP) monthly, diff off RM1000

If the RM1000 in deposited at a compounding rate at 4% over 9 years will have a end value of RM130K

Total diff between the 2 will be RM130K + 50K = RM180K.
    Now tell me it is still wise to get a kimchi ??

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 06, 2014 at 3:00 pm

In 15 months, the kimchi will can only be sold to friends or relative at no more than RM30k.

After 5 years, it will be scrap metal, or around RM2k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Kuinosan on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:48 pm

WTF with your RV and more on RV and nothing else but RV? If you can’t afford a Kia then buzz off. If no guts to make a change and go for better designed and better money for value cars, you can Fu*k off too. Stop giving your second hand car dealer speech here as asshol**s car salesman like you will always offer the minimum when it comes to trade ins regardless of brands, coz you guys are blood sucking lowlife. I have money, thus i have the freedom to buy any car I wish. Who gives a FU*K what you think. Now go play far far asshol*!

• I am very happy with my new Sorento. Buy what you like within your set budget. Car is not an investment.

• And when we compare a vehicle, please compare it within the same category. Otherwise, it’s meaningless regardless the brand. For that alone, two thumb up for Kia.

• I’m also very happy with my new Sorento (facelift). It’s already 1 year. So far no problem. Performance very good and FC also around 9.3 – 9.6 liter/100 km. Just not enough space for luggage, if there is 6 passengers on the board. Overall, i’m satified with my current Sorento.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0