ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards 2014 commemorates the best vehicle crash test results so far

ASEAN-NCAP-GRAND-PRIX-2014

ASEAN NCAP held a Grand Prix Awards 2014 last week to commemorate the crash test results of the cars involved in the ASEAN NCAP assessment program since its first testing. The awards also featured segments for safety technology (OEM and car maker category), media contribution and appreciation awards to organizations and individuals involved in the ASEAN NCAP committee.

The cars are divided into seven categories for these categories, according to body style and for hatchbacks and sedans – kerb weight. Here is the list of the awards recipients.

Best Child Occupant Protection (COP)
Mini Car: Kia Picanto
Small Family: Volkswagen Polo
Medium Family: Honda Civic
Large Family: Toyota Prius
MPV: Perodua Alza
SUV: Honda CR-V
Pickup: Isuzu D-MAX
Best Overall COP: Toyota Prius

Best Adult Occupant Protection (AOP)
Mini Car: Mitsubishi Mirage
Small Family: Honda City (2014)
Medium Family: Proton Prevé
MPV: Toyota Avanza
Pickup: Chevrolet Colorado
Best Overall COP: Honda City (2014)

Safety Technology Award
Car Maker Category: Honda LaneWatch
OEM Category: Bosch Electronic Stability Program (ESP)
Academician: No Winner

The nominees for the awards above consist of cars crash tested by ASEAN NCAP based on crash test performance. The next round of awards will be in 2016 – hopefully more Malaysian or ASEAN market cars will have been crash tested by then so we’ll be able to see award winners picked from a larger pool of nominees. The Prius ended up in the Large Family category because of its kerb weight of over 1,400kg.

ASEAN NCAP Chairman, Prof. Dr. Wong Shaw Voon said, “I’m very indebted to all parties who has helped MIROS and realized our NCAP dream so far. It started with a small effort with outdoor crash testing, the paper-based star-rating evaluation in MyVAP (Malaysian Vehicle Assessment Program) and today we managed to have the NCAP not only for Malaysia but also for the benefit of the ASEAN region. I’m also indebted to the government of Malaysia for putting the trust on us, MIROS and ASEAN NCAP, to introduce this kind of intervention in road safety with both financial and technical support.”

ASEAN NCAP Secretary-General, Mr. Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim, added, “We hope ASEAN NCAP will grow stronger and be one of the influential platforms for car safety as well as for road safety as a whole. I’m looking forward for healthy competition among the manufacturers to produce safer cars with commendable safety standard. I personally looking forward for a 5-Star car with an affordable price in the region, and perhaps with only one or two variants per model for ASEAN region with safety not being compromised. We will see the result in the next Grand Prix two years from now.”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 3:48 pm

asean NCAP

sorry… nobody trust it
    only asean ppl ( less knowledge on automotive) belisve it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 55
    • once a basher always a basher.
      why ? because proton scores better ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 16
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:25 pm

No, Because a PERODUA ALZA which is well-known as Kereta Mudah Terbakar(tm) also can score asean ncap… You wanna bet your life on it…?

Crash…! KABOOM…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
        • Ferarri , Lambo n porshe also mudah terbakar..
          wanna bet ? go look in youtube..
          still, driver and passenger got out without serious injury.
          carbon fibre monoque body tu bro, pun terbakar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Diss-illusions on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Agree with you that Alza being kereta mudah terbakar. It happened right before me. That said, note the category. Don’t just bash. This is a good thing. Why criticise it?

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Preve and Suprima should 5 star NCAP.
        If you don’t believe just buy 1 or 2 and try yourself.

This ASEAN NCAP can’t be trusted.
        Buy Proton, Tun love spyshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:53 am

Good job PROTON! Proven that PROTON product are safe n high std. It’s time for PROTON to prove their reliability n quality proven. You’re on the right track now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Yet Proton is still selling Persona, Inspira, Exora, Saga, Satria Neo without VSC TR 6 airbags, why?

• Nobody Trust At ALL! on Aug 30, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Don’t trust this NCAP. As with anything in Malaysia, you give ang pau to the judges or you take them to rumah urut or spa the night before, he will change his decision.

In Malaysia, even judiciary judges can be changed with ang pau or spa, whatmore this small time NCAP judges.

I bet you, once they get their bird massaged in the spa, they will be singing a different tune. Nobody trust the ASEAN NCAP at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
      • the crash is measured by the computer by the sensor that was put around the car and dummy .

• All the data from the sensors and computer controlled by human being. And still can be changed after the bird gt massaged in spa. Haha. In malaysia, you help me i help u. U massage my bird, i add you one star.
          If gt caught, then blame the computer. Massage the bird again, things will be settle.

• Albert lee on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:15 pm

MR.Nobody Trust All,
        Correct…Correct..Correct “Lingam style”,
        Corruption is still rampant,seldom checked until some vvip got cheated.
        Those companies judged” THE BEST outlet”,all have to pay for their adverts,before the awards are given.
        Awards or Ratings can be “arranged”.
        Even the biggest investment bank in America that went bust,were given triple A ratings by Moody.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • yeah3.. this and that,
          got any proof ? show us the proof ..
          hard proof…
          then u can talk ;D

• Yeah..yeah..all the listed brand ‘arranged’ the result..and the payout amount is shown in the order of their listing

Best Child Occupant Protection (COP)
          Mini Car: Kia Picanto
          Small Family: Volkswagen Polo
          Medium Family: Honda Civic
          MPV: Perodua Alza
          Pickup: Isuzu D-MAX
          Best Overall COP: Toyota Prius

Best Adult Occupant Protection (AOP)
          Mini Car: Mitsubishi Mirage
          Small Family: Honda City (2014)
          Medium Family: Proton Prevé
          MPV: Toyota Avanza
          Pickup: Chevrolet Colorado
          Best Overall COP: Honda City (2014)

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:32 am

Yes like your mother delivering you into this world it an “arrange” the family matter.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:00 am

I guess only stupid n dumbhead will trust you. The test result were generated computerized n hav third party witnesses not only people from MIROS (if conducted locally in Malacca)

• Dont need ang pow la. You send prius+ or civic+ or even a saga flx ++++++++ will do the trick already. Depending on how many “+”. The more “+”, the better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:21 am

You don’t trust anything please don’t share it here

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Are you kidding me? The safest MPV is supposed to be the Avanza? The car that, at a time when in China crash tests were done at 56 km/h instead of 64 km/h (the standard around the world) was only awarded with 3 stars. The same as a Proton Gen-2, btw. In a test that goes to 5 stars, and that was designed to make even Chinese cars (which were awful back then) look safe?

Yes, I know ASEAN NCAP hasn’t tested many MPVs… maybe 2? IIRC only the Alza and Avanza, not even the Exora. In that case, better don’t give an award. Or is the Avanza safer than a 5 star Euro NCAP car (you know, they test AND rate side impacts and have higher standards in general) such as a Touran, Peugeot 5008, Citroen C4 Grand Picasso, and probably many others too (Estima etc.)? Heck, even the Proton Exora is a 4 star ANCAP car and should do better than the Avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • MKT (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 4:02 pm

They should give the award to Proton Exora!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:29 pm

The Exora hasn’t been tested yet! The graphics show which cars were tested… Avanza, Alza and Indonesian Avanza. What a sample size!

They should have waited until next year to start with giving out awards, because if you only have basically tested 2 cars it’s a bit… ridiculous to call one best.

• thats why it called ASEAN NCAP ,
      cars in ASEAN market only tested as ASEAN car spec diff than others worldwide.
      64kmh is the higher safety standard nowadays like the US IIHS/ EuroNcap -> 40mph = 64kmh.

the only problem here, there still very few car crash tested here. Honda/Toyota/Proton/Perodua are the brands that contributing alot in the ASEAN NCAP crash rating.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:33 pm

only perodua , proton umw dan honda melaka did

do u yhink real toyota n honda wanna trust low class asean ncap?

• its ASEAN NCAP bro… not Malaysian NCAP
          South East Asia country FYI …

‘only perodua , proton umw dan honda melaka did’ yeahh because they manufactured within south east asia

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:46 am

so… pls dont generalise real JDM toyota n Honda with low class umw n honda melaka
            u insulting real jdm owner and just make umw salesman syok sendiri

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:15 am

A lot of factors contributing to ANCAP not only solely depends on numbers airbag. Why nowadays PROTON cars can simply score 5 stars for ANCAP? Ultimately because the initial design of body specifically using German technology, “Hot Press Forming” wich enhance structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times. That is why initially Preve n Suprima were selling in higher prices. Hopefully, in the next model we would see PROTON cars with high safety std in cheaper price after investment cost returned.

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:22 am

Your thinking is low class so be for yourself

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:35 am

If you sick take some medicine to help you.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Exactly. An Alza and Avanza are probably the most unsafe MPVs you could actually buy.

• give me 5 safest MPV list bro

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Citroen C4 Grand Picasso. VW Sharan. VW Touran. Ford S-Max. Peugeot 3008. Peugeot 5008. Nissan Elgrand, Honda Odyssey and Toyota Alphard, probably. In which order, no clue (I’d expect the Citroen to be on top, as it is the latest car on the list). Pretty much any MPV should be better than the Avanza though.

• theanswer on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:41 am

and..how can u compare those 150+k mpv with top safety spec against 50-60k alza?

• The other company did not (dare to ha.ha.) submit their candidates..so how to give award..

• Way to go Proton Preve! Hope the new Proton Iriz will won the mini car category next year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • best child occupant protection? best adult occupant protection?

why need to protect different category of occupant? this is ridiculous & pointless.

an occupant is an occupant irregardless of child or adult…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:47 pm

asean level n asean ncap

what do u expect

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:22 am

Use our logic sense laa. Dont use buttocks to think. Adult n children have different level of crash absorption. If I pinched you or your children, which one of you will face the bigger pain?

• Even food for child is different from adult. Don’t you appreciate the need for special harness arrangement to fasten your child (baby) seat?

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Nonsense. COP probably depends on how good a child sitting in a child seat is protected. There are big differences. A reverse mounted child seat in front + airbag = dead child. And without a seat a child may not wear his seatbelt properly, which will kill it too (lack of seatbelt or wrong position).

• please tell me on Aug 30, 2014 at 4:43 pm

toyota prius is a large family car? how can? didnt civic n preve more large?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:39 pm

And why is the Myvi in the mini category? B segment, just like Fiesta etc. The Viva/Axia belongs in the mini segment.

• policeman on Aug 30, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Rubbish. Alza is safer than Exora?

How is a Prius bigger than Civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • priusrubbish on Aug 30, 2014 at 11:52 pm

Prius has 5 seat rows, can ferry 15 people.

sarcasm

• Bodoh Comment on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:30 pm

If u have not sit in Prius before, just don’t make bodoh comment. Typical Ah BEng who pretends to be smart

• Feedback and criticism is good for upwards development especially with constructive criticism. My appreciation to MIROS – ASEAN NCAP and its Committee for setting Safety Standards by way of ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards 2014.
    Many Car owners may not have taken note of the effort required and its constraints in establishing Safety Standards.
    I believe MIROS with its stamina will successfully move to the next height.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Well, they lost all goodwill with me when they started doing side impact tests AND DIDN’T COUNT THEM IN THE FINAL RATING! I mean, come on. Really? The reason is great: Because it would punish car companies that haven’t introduced more than 2 airbags yet… it would make their cars look bad.

Hello?! That’s the f*cking point of it! Shame brands and make them hard to sell, so they improve their safety features. This is 2014. In 2000 having less than 4 or 6 airbags stopped being acceptable. They had more than enough time to improve their cars (especially since most models are designed with more than 2 airbags in mind).

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Basically Toyota and Honda must have gone there and said “erm… cannot rate the results lah. Who will buy our cars? Just mention that side impact tests were done, then people will think our cars are safe in such an incident. But don’t rate, ok? Oh, look what I’ve got here. Keys to a brand new Alphard! I’ll just leave them here…”.

At least Honda is on the right track, but they are moving very slow. Toyota though… only their CBU cars are nice and safe.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:50 pm

UMW is useless, Japan Toyota can take back the dealership and no needed any dealer in Bolehland.

Toyota can do directly as the distributor.

• jacksonljs on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:41 pm

I really hope one day it will happen, Toyota Japan stripped off Toyota Malaysia dealership from UMW as it is only one distributor that really have nerve to omit/took off VSC for latest Camry (even top spec where it should, or i say must be there in the first place) as well as G-spec Altis.

• useless miros

• lucifah on Aug 30, 2014 at 8:36 pm

when did Prius got into Large Family car category?

• das auto on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Ever since they revised the pricing to 240k. No one wants to buy it anymore so they need to upgrade the image abit.

• das auto on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Otherwise you look like an idiot buying a toyota which cost more than a merc, bimmer and audi.

• Nissan on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:30 pm

7-air bag Fiesta lost to City. Who say more air bag = more safe?

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:56 pm

That is the problem of ASEAN NCAP!

If you have a head on collision with a Fiesta vs a City, you will be a bit better off in the City. But what if someone rams you in the side? In the City that means death. In the Fiesta it means hospital for a few days. But ASEAN NCAP does not use the side impact results in their final result, so the benefit the additional airbags give is not counted. –> City wins.

• While i do agree with you regarding ASEAN NCAP results may be not up to par but before you condemn other car brands like Honda, have you ever looked at the results from Australia NCAP, Euro NCAP and IIHS test?? Check the side impact results for Jazz, City, Civic, Accord and best of all check the small overlap test under IIHS for Honda cars. Although City was not tested under IIHS, Jazz, Civic and Accord has been the top safety pick for 3 years running!
        One thing i do agree with you is the Fiesta is a rather safe car but i do not think the new City is in any way inferior based on previous gen City Aust NCAP results and current new Jazz IIHS results which the City is based on.

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:25 am

Fort maintenance cost is high people run away we want thing that more economic

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 30, 2014 at 10:50 pm

The jokers that came up with this list surely does not know how car categories are defined.

IQ 0 people working in the ASEAN ANCAP org

• why need to many standard? js follow 1 standard so easy to compare which is really score high la…

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:49 pm

I would like to see all these NCAPs share the data with each other, so they can come up with a rating themselves. So say ASEAN NCAP tests a car, gives it a rating, and Euro NCAP looks at the data from the dummies etc. and comes up with a rating, etc. Different regions have different priorities (Euro NCAP is very worried about pedestrian safety, whereas in Malaysia the color of the cup holder matters more to the people).

• Aero (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:11 am

This list shows how far behind ASEAN NCAP’s standards are. If ASEAN NCAP followed Australia’s ANCAP standards, half of these cars on the list wouldn’t be listed.

The absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence. I hope ASEAN NCAP can hurry up and raise the standards of their tests if they want to be taken seriously. Otherwise, there is no point in having ASEAN NCAP if all they can do is mislead and confuse people into buying cars which are nowhere near as safe as their ASEAN NCAP rating suggests.

• Ncap? Prof Wong? Isnt this the same dude that proposed scrapping of car beyond 12 years on the road?
    By the way the forgot to mention Saga flx++& Preve + the is being tested.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:53 am

asean ncap definately low class body they are formed just to syok sendiri for asean made car makers

we believed perodua, umw, tan chong, honda melaka giving them fund n as appreciate asean ncap simplly give higher rate to them

if these cars go thru ancap, euro ncap less than half will pass

• U believe? Is this a fact.
      Proton sending saga flx +++ to get a 3 star from original 1 star is a fact.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:49 pm

yes… thahs why nobody trust asean ncap.. even gor ptiton cars

we only believe Australia ncap n euro ncap

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Good thing then that the Proton Saga, a couple of years ago managed to get 3 stars in ANCAP. It is called the Proton S16 there. Look it up.

The main difference between the 1 and the 3 star Saga is the number of airbags. In the 1 star car the passenger crashed into the hard plastic bits in front of him at something like 40-60 km/h? Head first. That means very serious injuries. An airbag is softer (though not soft), thus lessening the blow.

The main lesson from this should be that no matter how tough the car is (the structure was strong enough), without airbags you are going to get seriously hurt.

• komarad on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:57 am

not just airbag, seat belt are important as well… lot of Malaysian didn’t care to wear seat belt in car but when police or JPJ are around… there are some accident where the occupant got thrown out of the vehicle …

• Diss-illusions on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Why spread lies? What did ASEAN NCAP do to you? What are you doing to help make a change? If you’ve nothing better to say, STFU! Don’t mislead ppl.

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:39 am

The person who say is low class is ever lower in term of appreciating a new development. If hate it make it one for yourself and test whatever car you like.

• sick&tired on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:21 pm

toyota prius= large family sedan!? and the only one at that!?

• Wow! Looking good Proton. Keep it up! Proud to be Malaysian!

• zapruder on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:21 pm

So.. what happened to the godly Vios? Sudah transform jadi tong sampah ka? Ni baru low level Asean ANCAP.. Not even worth to mention

• Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Toyota Prius is the only contender in the ‘large family’ category?

Guess what car will win this category… :D

• leonardo on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:56 am

Why no imported Chinese cars or other imported are tested – or only ‘locally assembled’ cars eligable?
    I am curious as there are many imported cars coming into Malaysia with unknown or undeclared safety ratings.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:53 pm

They have just started. Testing is costly and time consuming. New cars coming to the ASEAN market will be tested they say, soooo…

In any case, the MG3 from China scored 3 stars in EuroNCAP. That should be the one Proton absolutely has to beat if Proton wants to enter the European market. But I have little worries there.

• Read, understand and comment – http://www.aseancap.org/about/members/

• Would like to see how proton scores in Euro NCAP which is a more reliable and trusted source….

• Set up by MIROS…how to trust?

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:51 am

The person who said this is so untrustworthy because of what been done and go to where you can trust > I been around the world. Malaysia is more trustworthy but not people like which I don’t trust because of what you been done.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Only Preve won medium family category. .

So the rest of plotong models are coffins.

Tak payah cakap byk or brag on safety issues. .

Puiiii….

Unfortunately. . Preve not so global anyway. ..

Hahaha. .. just keep it in the show rooms. .

Hahaha.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:57 pm

It has to start somewhere. The Exora was already ok-ish, the Preve and SS are good. The new PCC will be good. The sedan that is based on it should be good. And hopefully they will stop production of the Persona, it is way past its shelf life already. Within 1-2 years hopefully the majority of Protons will be safe, and hopefully they can revamp the Exora to make it good too.

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:42 am

I been driving Preeve at 200 km/h it safe and comfortable. So what ? Come and cash me if you can.

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:47 am

I think it your coffin because it design to put you there so you can’t run your business anymore.

• Murderer on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:56 pm

How is Toyota Prius a large family car?? Haha

• me malaysian on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:01 pm

I can only laugh when read those comment… Bashing all the way…so many talented people that know how to design cars in Malaysia, I wish the Mercedes n volvo’s alert about this n hired them.

• Bataman on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:52 am

This ratings is accurate lah…See no Vios there? ?
    SamLorr must be very pissed.

• Prius is large family carrrr??! Dafaq