Proton “Iriz” Compact Car – first official images!

PROTON-IRIZ

Selamat Hari Merdeka everyone! It looks like national car company Proton has decided to give us a little Merdeka gift in the form Proton Compact Car teaser images on their new microsite for the car – betulbetulonz.com.my.

There are a few teaser images on the site showing us things like the headlamp design and the touchscreen head unit. Proton has also given us a way to unveil the full car using four mobile phones to generate four pieces of the teaser image. Try it, it’s pretty fun.

We did that and pieced together the teaser image especially for you, dear readers. So here you have it, the first official full exterior body view of the new Proton Compact Car that’s NOT leaked from classified areas.

PROTON-IRIZ-TEASER-0001

The first teaser image released for this car in Proton’s Raya 2014 video already gave us a glimpse of how the Proton Compact Car’s headlamps will look like, but in this photo the angle is slightly different. The Proton logo in the headlamp is a nice touch usually found on premium cars.

The headlamp appears to use both projector and reflector lenses, and the yellow tinge (as opposed to the more whitish colour of xenons) seen in this photo could mean halogen bulbs.

This teaser image shows a top cutaway view of the car. We can see that the high spec variants (if not all variants, here’s wishing) of the Proton Compact Car will come with six airbags (front, side and curtain). Thanks to the angle, we also have a preview of the interior layout.

PROTON-IRIZ-TEASER-0003

There are five seats of course, and the rear seats look like they have three headrests, and the bench looks like it has a 60:40 split. We can see that the gear lever is in the usual position close to the dashboard, and behind it there are two cup holders and a handbrake lever. It looks like there’s also another cup holder behind the handbrake for the rear passengers.

This teaser image gives us a first look at the Proton Compact Car’s touchscreen head unit. It looks different from the Android one found in the Suprima S. The four icons seen here are for Navigation, Radio, Media and Bluetooth, so we know that the PCC has integrated navigation maps.

Our previous spyshots also show what could be a regular non-touchscreen head unit for the more affordable models. Another interesting bit – if you look at the bottom left edge of the image, you can see what appears to be faux stitching on the dashboard for a more premium look, just like in the new Toyota Vios dashboard.

This teaser image shows that the variants of the car that has the touchscreen head unit can be equipped with a reverse camera function. If it’s standard, even better. The reverse camera video feed has guide lines super-imposed onto it to help with parking.

Upper end variants of the Proton Compact Car will be available with keyless start, according to the photo below. On the left side of the image you can see what appears to be a normal key hole that’s blanked out.

The image also allows us a closer look of the dashboard plastic texture around that area. This part of the dashboard is the lower half, and Proton could be using a combination of textures, as the dashboard texture of the area surrounding the air cond vents seen above look a little different.

PROTON-IRIZ-TEASER-0005

Best news of all – safety. The Vehicle Dynamics Control logo seen below confirms the availability of electronic stability control in the Myvi-fighter; what remains to be answered is if it’s standard on all variants. There’s also a five-star ANCAP crash test rating logo, so the PCC looks strong on safety.

Proton recently revealed that the PCC will be powered by new engines, 1.3 and 1.6 litre units with variable valve timing (VVT). Not just the Campro with VVT bolted on, the PCC’s engines feature a new block, pistons and valves, and is the first of a new series of engines that will power future models and replace the long-serving Campro family.

More technical details in our previous PCC stories.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:43 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 411 Thumb down 549
    • mim (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:06 am

That’s a design trend lah. You can see that face in many car today. US Camry has it. Ford Fiesta has it. Evo X has it. And many more. Why don’t you just complain that it has 4 wheels just like any car on earth?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 849 Thumb down 51
      • Old Beetle Man on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:11 am

Very impressive. My two thumbs up to you Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 350 Thumb down 35
        • Wayyyyyyyy better than MyVi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 280 Thumb down 34
          • flat_tire on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 369
          • Asiah Lawa on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Lagi malu kalau 100% kereta Daihatsu, cuma design logo sndri, lps tu claim sbg kereta nasional.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 298 Thumb down 19
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:31 am

perodua mintak incentive dia tau tak???

ishhhh tu lainnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
          • driver on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:39 am

Dear Proton, perhaps you should stop selling your cars in Malaysia. Go outside, let Perodua be the jaguh kampung. Maybe only then people will realise how they’ve missed real good cars. Sometimes, people have to learn the hard way.

Please make a nice interior, Preve is just not good enough for me. Something’s just not there. All the best.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 31
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:27 am

PCC are on par with European cars and i’m sure the costing team will offer best price for Malaysian. Many thumbs up for PROTON.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 12
          • L_O_L (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:04 am

kalau 100% kereta Daihatsu dah rasa malu ~ wira,inspira,perdana2014 dah banyak kali malu~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 47
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Proton 5 good quality control:

1. Looks Good
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never truly Good

Donny believe me? go buy this PCC then. You can quote my words.

Please support and buy this PCC, Proton bosses and the cronies’ S class, Lambo, McLaren P1 etc are depending on you!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 87
          • Asiah Lawa on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:34 pm

People talking about the new models here i.e PCC & Axia and not the basi models. Wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Asiah Lawa on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:59 pm

L_O_L. People talking about the new models here i.e PCC & Axia and not the basi models. Wake up!

• Datuk Zainuddin Abdul Rahman (PEKEMA) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Kenapa beli junk ini? Baik belie kereta mewah AP yang PEKEMA jual. Quality ada, gaya dan lebih baik daripada junk Iriz ini.

Sokong lah AP dan PEKEMA dan saya bagi anda diskaun. Ingat, kereta AP adalah kereta Mat Salleh dan berkualiti tinggi berbanding junk ini yang dibuat di Malaysia. Low quality Malaysian car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 91
          • samelorstpd on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • junkcomme on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:08 pm

What PEKEMA car that is not junky?

ROTFL

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:03 pm

With people like samelorstpd working in Proton who is copycat, no creative, no innovation, no logical thinking… No wonder Proton take so long time to copy the Hyundai i10.

I personally prefer the i10 still. Because as long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
          • eims perfume on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:25 am

PCC is way ahead of i10 in term of safety. and handling.

I can’t understand why people are saying the design is same with some other model.. they are different a lot..

IMHO this models shows that proton is very serious to make proton models global standard. higher safety compare to asian standard. rather than compete with japanese models, proton is aiming to be comparable to the likes of BMW MERC VOLVO etc…

• not-really on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Obviously, you never own a myvi. pfft. Based on my experiences with both with Cek Ton & Cek Dua (yes i used to owned both), Cek Dua is waaaay more reliable and fuel saving, better pickup and cost me less money (TonTon always broke down and have to get it fix, few times, for the same thing) compared to TonTon. Really hope Ton2 can improve themselves and prove to the nation they can do better even without the government support.

• rogaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:59 am

Wira era is the past we used Mitsubishi LOL but we improve but produa still using Daihatsu please improve if you really good or just maipulator LOL

• nanibodoh on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 338
          • Annoynimouse on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Yo don’t seem to be tired to open this page apparently…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 13
          • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:45 pm

proton basher= perodua owner/ perodua/umw salesman

rakyat smart orediiii

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 13
          • nanimemangbodoh on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Dah la bodoh, buang masa kat sini buat apa? Kang dah sakit hati tak tentu pasal. Makin lama makin bodoh la ko.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
          • berkata benar on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:56 pm

jgn teruja cepat sgt… nanti tak laku malu pulak… ingat lagi savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 73
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:36 am

nanibodoh:
            What’s the difference between PROTON bashers? The bashers gave thumbs down for positive comment supporting PROTON. Just accept the fact that PROTON are improving nowadays! U just want to influence the neutral buyer to hate our national cars. People like you have solely political agenda to hate PROTON.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 7
          • nanibodoh on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:16 am

See, hahah, these so called poton supporters actually been paid by poton to support this junk car. They can just refresh the page and give thumbs up to suppoters and thumbs down to basher…so fake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 84
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Please buy this proton. Else next year Proton will beg for RM 16bil, not RM 1.6 bil this year.

Sales good or not, Proton still rich; quality good or not, Proton still rich. Proton has the government as ATM machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
          • !@#$%^& on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:01 pm

nanibodoh. Look who’s talking.

• Madani Sahari on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Kereta ini adalah tungkus lumus pekerja pekerja MAI. Terima kasih kepada semua pekerja MAI yang membuat kereta ini sukses.

MAI memberi kereta murah ini kepada anda. Jangan tanya tanya lagi kenapa MAI tidak mengurangkan harga kereta. Kereta ini adalah bukti MAI sudah menunai janji kepada rakyat.

• samelorstpd on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Gomen also paid some incentive for p2, so what?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:17 pm

see… perodua n umw salesman fanboy dah bersuara

hahaha

• nanibodoh. I think your comment described you, a P2 salesman proudly driving a 2nd hand Dugong.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:49 pm

haha samelorstpd, according to policy, government have to give incentive, then take lar.

Not like Proton, already take this take that, still want to beg somemore…

Proton no need make car already, be a professional lobbying company asking for free cash then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:40 am

perodua ask for incentive n privilege national car
            othwrwise daihatsu say.. bye2 malaysia… wrlcome indonesia

all these they use rakyat money so that daihatsu dont leave us??
            hahaha

• Finallllllllyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!eh not launched yet?P1 merdeka day is the best day to launch this car.nice bunga raya rims btw.please give paultan and crew the first test drive.i am a KIA admirer,but i support P1 effort to produce better cars.anyhow, test drive and rear pics will dictate.and launch it already will ya?!!:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
          • Datuk Zainuddin Abdul Rahman (PEKEMA) on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Sebab PEKEMA yang memberi kerajaan banyak tax sampay RM3 billion setahun, kerajaan dapat R&D kereta ini dan memberi kereta ini kepada rakyat Malaysia.

Sebenarnya, kereta ini ada akibat ketenunan kami di PEKEMA yang memberi kerajaan dan Proton duit untuk dibikin.

Syabas kepada semua di PEKEMA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
          • Who cares about PEKEMA this is PCC thread

• ProtonGSC on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:38 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 244
        • mim (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Meh I don’t have problems. I even disliked that Proton used 15 inch rims. 16 inch would fit the car better and it’d look more proportionately. Or I’d remove the skirtings.

I do have problem with your usage of the verb ‘copy’ though. That’s a blatant accusation. The adjective “similar” would be better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 16
          • mim support on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Mim suka ckp bdh, talking crap and rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 76
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Even you put a 30 inches rim, the proton is still a proton after all.

You have already wasted your money on the car, now you want to waste more on rims and tyres?

Typical proton drivers syok sendiri dreaming they are driving Lambo after they change to sport rims and super noisy exhaust pipe. I had seen so many noisy Proton crawling on the roads. (Maybe they reluctant to press the pedal due to the awesome fuel hunger campro engine??)

In others’eyes, it is still a Proton anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
          • samelorstpd on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Yeah yeah but their slowness is not as dangerous as tin milo ah bengied myvi and vios which tailgating and hogging others like crazy.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Car won’t move themselves. Speeding and tailgating are drivers’ problem, not the car. Use your logical thinking a bit ok?

Proton drivers already slow, still wanna make the road so noisy. People beside them sure can not tahan and drive faster to get rid of them. Noisy Proton cars are partly to be blamed to make others drive recklessly because so much sound pollution from the Protons and cause others drivers to panic and drive faster to get rid of them.

A Proton, is still a Proton after all!!

• bisakeris (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:55 pm

n u too 2×5 bcoz u can’t accept people komen ur komen.. 2×5 saja..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
        • InterwebsCat on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Maybe just give some simple comment would be enough.

• MERDEKA……..
          Lets us MERDEKA to accept this new Proton PCC.
          Well done Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
          • Please remember, recently I read from web the car fuel efficient, travel from North to South (JB) highway one full tank can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:02 pm

False and wrong info, Proton it can travel whole m’sia.
            Sure tada problem, comfirm single tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
          • from Pultan quote…..fuel efficient and power

The new mill is 10% more fuel efficient compared to the Campro, and the use of electric power steering (EPS) further aids the cause. Abdul Rashid Musa told Utusan Malaysia that the PCC can travel from Bukit Kayu Hitam to Johor Bahru (the length of the North South Expressway) with one tank of fuel. With 110 hp and 148 Nm (quoted figures likely to be for the 1.6), the PCC has a top speed of over 180 km/h.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/08/25/proton-compact-car-pcc-new-vvt-engines-three-variants/#ixzz3Bz0vub2f

• driver on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:35 am

Looks good. Well done! So it’s all depends on the interior. For me, Preve’s level is not good enough. Step up please.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:22 am

PCC is a good car and way better than Axia and Myvi in terms of safety and ride & handling. PROTON has committed to prove it new engine NFE VVT is fuel efficient with 1.3 and 1.6 engines segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Car not yet launched already can’t wait to promise this promise that? If so worry about your sales target then join us lar.

How can we trust the airbags and vsc of Proton when it can’t even make reliable power window? Simple question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
          • SurViVoR on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:32 pm

i can testify to the airbag reliability of proton cars.. recently i had an accident when my preve t-boned a myvi near sg. buloh.. luckily the front airbags deployed and i only suffer minor bruises at abdomen due to the seat-belt pre-tension effect..

• loler on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:13 pm

How can we trust Toyol and other car makers if they dun give any warranty of that things working?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:00 pm

A warranty is to be claimed after SOMETHING happened. I wonder you still alive to claim warranty if Proton VSC airbags fail.

Toyota airbags problem? Go google the Internet then you know how good Toyota is.

Toyota sell cars to worldwide while Proton can’t even penetrate Bangsar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:43 am

yes toyota is good.. toyota jdm, edm, usdm…. not a umw product

hahaha

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:40 am

A lot of factors contributing to ANCAP not only solely depends on numbers airbag. Why nowadays PROTON cars can simply score 5 stars for ANCAP? Ultimately because the initial design of body specifically using German technology, “Hot Press Forming” wich enhance structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times. That is why initially Preve n Suprima were selling in higher prices. Hopefully, in the next model we would see PROTON cars with high safety std in cheaper price after investment cost returned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Nimadfa on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:57 am

is iz Hyundai face design + Myvilish design language…..try hard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • I totally agree with you.
      I have found this, relative useful to support your statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 64
      • mim (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:50 am

Well at least the face of this PCC blends well with the body, quite classy and elegant. The Myvi concept on the other hand looked like a really nice detailed ahbeng mod project.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 14
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:44 am

Finally and someone that can accept comments, not like other Proton fans/designer, sudden mention brashing this and that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 63
    • I think the design is brilliant; although resembles Ford Fiesta in some ways, but better than coming up with designs which look awkward like the Savvy. Well done. I always complain about Proton’s interior. I must check it out once it is in Showroom

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 6
      • berkata benar on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:58 pm

kereta rojak… copy paste copy paste copy paste
        siap pcc …kereta paling pelik tahun ini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 97
        • 1. Lu boleh buat sendiri design keter? siap dengan measurement, ergo + all technical calculation?

2. Kalau boleh, kenapa tak apply kerja kat proton? or any other car manufacturer?
          … or reseme keep being rejected?

Talk is cheap bro

• yeahx3 , bla3 .. we already bored of basher.
      always thought proton copying others.

still, vios never have Traction control and stability program.. If then vios have that feature, then ‘Toyota copying proton?’ laa .

Good job proton,I believe the safety spec also very good.
      better than Sam Loo’s car.
      Love the infotainment,classy look interface.
      THUMBS UP PROTON

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 269 Thumb down 16
      • Bataman on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Vios copy Ford Model T. Konfirmed.
        1. 4 roda – check
        2. Steering wheel – check
        3. Brake – check
        4. Engine – check

See??? Toyota copycat kereta zaman purba!!!

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:34 am

Iriz copying vios or vios copying iriz? Basher claimed that Iriz development took 4 years meaning Iriz designed it first..haha..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 10
    • I bet people now trying to find its look alike,
      n talking about proton copying others
      start from the 1st comment and more in 3 , 2 , 1 …..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • Mat Flek on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Copying Vios?? naaaah! u must someone who can accept what Toyoda had done with us nowadays..even they put poop in the lamp glass u may also say that something nice!
      FYI- Hyundai is the 1st who make the ‘hexagonal’ trend for front bumper..- google.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
      • Whoa! This one is too hard-selling Hyundai. Have u forgotten bout Audi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:23 pm

After what had happened to pass 3 cars, never gonna buy a Proton…..Never……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 93
      • Low Budget on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Please do not assume Proton are stucked in mediocre quality forever. They have made improvement a small step at a time. Lets see how this model fare in other countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
        • nanibodoh on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:10 pm

a small step uses billions of taxpayer money……… a bunch of bloodsuckers. I will support axia then this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 86
          • driver on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:32 pm

irony. talking about “bloodsucking”.. don’t you think p2 and it’s family, i.e. toyota have more of this trait?

mere rebadging but still overprice, lack of safety (how many airbags?) … and took yearsss even to change the bumper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
          • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:48 pm

see…. tak yah cakap nak support axiah

mmg macai perodua je

ppl who hate nap n protection will boycott both p1/p2 laa.. both are protection n use rakyat money

rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:06 pm

You don’t like Toyota and P2, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia/Japan. We welcome all sort of comments.

One thing you sure can’t get from Proton compared to Toyota and Perodua: Build Quality!

You don’t like to buy Toyota/Perodua, we get less promotion and less bonus.

But if Proton can’t sell, government have to pay the bill (RM1.6bil this time).

Who is the LEECH indeed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:52 am

sam loot
            i like toyota ( i mean real toyota jdm since i used to be 6 years in japan my jdm car was my toy)

but big2 no to UMWproduct… low class n marketed to asean only… yes u can cheat kampung ppl with japanese dna coz they are japanese wannabe n impress with ” dumbed tech by japas) but no me and ppl well educated n jdm owner

now umw even sweating to see drb city n accord sales better than umw vios n camry

we see more city/ accord than vios/camry.. umw cronies must worry

petodua??? now trying hard to keep japanese daihatsu stay here n dont move to indonesia
            yet daihatsu has decided indonesia as a hub small car for asean market

petodua is not relevan anymore… they are still here bcoz they got incentive n privilege by our gomen ( duit rakyat)

hahahaha

• Same L0rrr on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:17 am

Peyno, it is good you have high requirement on your car. We are fine if you continue buying Toyota JDM. We still have Prius C, Prius, 86, Previa, Alphard or you can seek an upgrade to Lexus. They all CBU.

But still it doesn’t change the fact: Proton build quality sucks.

Why we can’t enjoy Toyota JDM at low price? Thanks to Proton and its protection.

• Denim on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:56 pm

pelik aku.. klu Daihatsu nk move to Indonesia, why bother to add new perodua factory. Now, perodua almost doubling their volume (if not mistaken) since the new plant run paralel with current plant..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:37 pm

sam lot
            umw salesman driving p2
            look at others maker such kia n ford… with similar price as vios, they can provide better spec n features for rakyat… kia n ford also got taxed… gomen crony is umw, pnb
            few years ago… umw salesman cheat rakyat umw priduct majal coz tax n to protect proton(perodua)

but now… rakyat smart oredii

without umw protection…rakyat may get better thai n indon toyota ..

• Anti-Establishment on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:22 pm

It’s your choice.

But remember this: other brands have checkered past as well, even Toyota, even Ford, even Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Syameer (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:42 pm

No one asked you to buy a Proton either. Unless you are a peasant, you won’t be lamenting on this. Proton has move forward just like what an aspiring winner should do lolll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • If comparison with the Vios is unavoidable, i would say the Proton looks much more premium than the Toyota. Just the projector headlights and DRLs along already better than the Vios (the laughable optional DRLs on the Vios are really cheapo looking).

Now, the only stumbling blocks to huge sales success would be what’s under the bonnet and quality control. Don’t disappoint us, Proton. I believe most people are rooting for your success.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
      • Colin Wong on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:15 pm

This is a good effort by Proton. Toyota has lost its bearing. The entire range is a letdown. Same old story – old engine (used in 3 generations) for reliability and lower cost of maintenance, absence of adequate safety features so that die never mind, asalkan got resale value crap, etc.

Proton, move forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Patient.

Honestly me myself thinks that this angle of the the photo,makes the PCC a bit unproportionate.

Try finding other pictures leaked in the internet. Some staffs have gotten a better angle of the PCC. Its good looking. Its fluidic.

I know it’s the nature of commenter in here to bash everything eventhough they know that the car actually have better specs than any other import cars.

Memandangkan pelancarannya just around the corner,I hope you guys go test it. Kalau rasa ego sangat tak nak test kereta local,just think of it as proving us wrong and konon Proton takde harapan.

Go ahead. Make a test drive. We challenge you.

Or else,just join the ‘katak bawah tempurung’ bandwagon and keep hearing how bad Proton is from your uncle,grandmother,your friend,friend’s brother,kakak punya kawan,sedara kepada makcik like you always do.

Goodluck. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
    • Nissan on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Now matter how good it look, when you see the proton logo…the buying will disappear immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
    • saja komen on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:59 am

Apa susah2… sapa suka beli… x suka x payah beli, x ada org paksa pon… btw design n feature mmg tiptop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Jenny on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:12 am

is this copying Myvi?
      Damn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Rahman on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:22 pm

This is awkward, I’m looking at it as Myvi and the front design is more like Kia / Toyota designs. It’s a beautiful car, but the whole body is all about Myvi.
      At least they need to redesign on the side body and make it sportier. I hope they reveal the rear view soon so that we can have a clear picture on its design.
      For me, this car will make P2 salesman work harder on selling their Myvi 1.3 & 1.5.
      Unless P2 has a Plan B. Who knows?
      But Saga Sv and Persona SV will effected very much due to Axia.
      But, the main factor for consumers out there in 2014 onwards is fuel consumption. P1 needs to reveal on Iriz’s fuel consumption especially for Auto-transmission variant.

As we know, Axia promises excellent fuel consumption for small city car and obviously can attract youngsters / fresh graduates out there to buy it.
      All the best for Proton and Perodua. We love this positive efforts in providing better cars for Malaysians.

Axia vs Iriz ?

Paultan should start considering a poll.
      lol

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:56 am

rahman
        ur quote” this will make p2 salesman work harder”

u mean… work harder promoting their myvi by condeming n telling bad thing about iriz???

thats we p2 salesman called” wirk harder”

• Same L0rrr on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:22 am

Starting a poll for Proton fanboys to flood the servers??

No need syok sendiri one, we should be objective and fact based. Let’s wait for the sale figures patiently.

• Bataman on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Based on sales figure?? Saga sold more than Vios and Camry!! Your Boyoda sucks arse!!!!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:52 pm

haiyaa… talking about p2… why umw salesman yg butthurt???

coz vios/camry not selling well compared to DRB honda city/ accord??

hahahaha

• hisham on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:34 am

the price is too high for national car..
      the quality not proof yet..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 5:16 pm

quality is subjective

but looking at the facts ( spec and features given) the price is reasonable for local n jepun celup asean made cars

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 191
  • holofanboi on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:44 am

Well this is awkward….i like the design @@;

Oh and good morning all~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 4
    • sudonano (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:07 am

Guess I am not alone here!

For once, I would say they nailed the design on the front end spot on. While it remains to see how the rear will look like, the interior actually looks quite nice. In fact it looks nicer than the Myvi too.

Plus, with the availability of 6 airbags and ESC at launch is a really good thing, very well done

The front headlights kinda remind me of the Mk6 Golf actually. And that’s not a bad thing.

What remains to be seen is the price and the fit and finish. If the price is good, the fit and finish is good and the new 1.3 and 1.6 VVT (or NFE, whatever it would be called) engine is well done, I think we would really be seeing a lot of these on the road.

Is this the end of the Myvi’s runaway sales? Potentially. I mean if this costs about 50k with all the bells and whistles, and runs well and is well made, if I was a parent looking for a first car for my child or looking for a second car for the family, this would be it actually.

The only fault would be to have thrown in xenon lights but I think it’s due to some ruling that makes it difficult, unless it’s imported and comes as standard spec for a trim.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 4
      • BNR32 on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:14 pm

The only way Proton can even match Perodua’s sales record (and that is nearly impossible by itself) is if they improve their service level. Genuinely speaking, I think many of us here don’t really have issues with this new Iriz. But the moment the topic of service competency comes up, even I would have second thoughts about getting this new car.

The great thing about Perodua as a company is that they have acceptable service turnaround time. You have a mechanical or bodywork problem? They can fix it for you in a convenient timeframe, more often that not. That is why many Malaysians would rather buy a mediocre, chock full of plastic and rebadged Japanese car even if it’s one of the worst cars I’ve ever driven. Nothing is worse than having to leave your car in the garage for a whole week when it’s your only mode of transport where you live. Reading the VW service issues in forums just makes me cringe in agony.

You can have a car with the best value for money package, with the best performance and FC and safety in it’s class bla bla bla, but if the package also includes a bunch of incompetent and ‘tidak-apa’ monkeys trying to solve the problems of your car, I’d rather buy a car that makes me feel emasculated (like said Myvi or Vios), but very easy to fix and maintain.

On the Xenon light part, the problem stems more often than not from cars with unregulated aftermarket Xenons or HID bulbs. Those things are bright enough to blind the driver in front of them. The stock Xenon in Conti cars are quite perfect. I wish JPJ would inflict harsher laws against these irresponsible fools and suspend their licenses for at least a year. Better keep them off the streets because they are pretty much a road menace in their own right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
        • kalam on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:31 am

I’m not agree with your statement “monkeys trying to solve the problems of your car”. I went to the service centre and I can only saw people. Maybe you watch the “Planet of the Apes” movie too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • BNR32 on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:01 pm

It’s just a figure of speech. And I’m not directing this statement to a specific manufacturer, but to any service center or workshop who don’t treat our car problems seriously.

And no, I have not watched any movie in that series (though it looks pretty interesting).

• mim (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:07 pm

I agree abt your opinion on the xenon headlight. Top spec should have it. Waja CPS had self-leveling xenons and I think that was the best Proton headlight unit.

• Wow. First generation Myvi!
    But seriously, it looks decent, so I hope the quality, both in terms of build quality and drive, matches the look.
    Good luck, PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 84
  • _xXx_ on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:51 am

For the very first time, I give a thumb up to Proton for the new nice looking car. I will take it back if under the hood is a timing-belted campro again…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 7
    • ivhih on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:31 am

1.3 and 1.6 vvt

• Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:58 pm

What’s wrong with timing belt?

Toyota Yaris Timing Chain Noise:

http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/36327-yaris-timing-chain-noise/

• _xXx_ on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:36 pm

having timing chain noise is far better than having timing belt snapped. Saw an Exora with JNX plate (less than 2 years old, mileage 40 something k) had its engine down and fully dismantled in my regular workshop last week….why? belt putus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • So what, Proton dun make that belt

• Denim on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:07 pm

hmm.. sape buat belt? sapa beli belt? sapa pasang belt?.. customer buy a car with all in package. they dun buy separately. T4, it is an obligation of the manufacturer to ensure the quality of product prior selling it to the customer. Likewise your LED TV rosak, then the manufacturer claimed that the LED screen not belong to them..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:04 am

timing chain > vsc, 6 sirbags,

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 142
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:53 pm

coz u never exposed to overseas n outside market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Because the lights are made by Taiwan company tyc and they are aftermarket company’s proton just picked it up and re badge the light. I know this because a friend of mine in proton told me so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • proton_ini_apa on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:53 am

Not bad.

At least, its better than any Sam Lorr’s shit car.

Do the talking, Proton !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:42 am

Good job PROTON. Ah Beng and Msian love it very much :)
      P/s: Sure Same Lorrr sakit hati pagi-pagi Merdeka ni..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • berkata benar on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:00 am

jgn teruja cpt sgt… byk jual baru cakap besar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:06 am

jual byk tak byk tu biar salesman yg cakap besar

kita rakyat sebagai pembeli.. melihat apa yg proton boleh beri pada rakyat

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Good job Proton.

Today copy Hyundai i10, hopefully tomorrow can copy Lexus IS300!!

Copy with authorisation = rebadge
            Copy without authorisation = pasar malam pirated copies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • HotakKo on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:47 am

Berkata benar hotak ko. Keta blm kluar ko dh tau copy paste?

• Huzaifah on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:54 am

Nice Car for GSC Segment
    Kudos.. P1

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 10
  • jeremy on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:56 am

Bye bye Myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 17
  • Steve Jobs on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:56 am

SHADAP and take my monehhh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 12
  • Cantik.. Thumbs up!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
  • Cinta pandang pertama…impressive first look.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
  • elson on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:01 am

the rim look so familiar ,and seriously this car get 5 star ncap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
    • well , the safety feature almost like honda city full spec.
      no problem getting 5stars NCAP.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Rim? Think A200.

• maXref (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Why so surprised at that info? Did u even read the specs of the car (airbags and stability control) or u just came down straight to comments section to bash the car like a brainless dumb-ass?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Ren Kockwell on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:04 am

Kia Picanto better beware. Looks like Proton has finally gotten their act together. Thumbs up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 9
    • Anti-Establishment on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:12 am

I think Myvi should better beware.

Hopefully Malaysians are more smart in making their purchase decisions this time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
      • Malaysians have been smart in their purchase. Thats y proton end up at this sorry state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
        • Anti-Establishment on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Yeah, so “smart” buy a “tin kosong” Myvi with shit driving dynamics & crap safety.

If they bought a proper car like a Picanto or a Peugeot then you could say that they’re smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • Syameer (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Purchasing the genetically-mutated dugong is a smart choice? Lolll what a joke!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Still better than buying from ailing company with consistent record of producing unreliable & problematic product. Better still insulting the rakyat how much they know about car + telling everyone they are asia bmw.

• vwsuck on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Since when Proton is unreliable and problematic? It’s not VW.

• Are you sure vw are more unreliable than proton? If it is, proton better get lost together with their warga kerja because vw are so much successful than proton, asia’s answer to bmw.

• Hahaha on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:05 am

Ermm.. Although i still have some stereotyping towards proton, but this car.. Hmmm.. Nid to wait for some user feedbacks.. If their comments are good, then i’ll support this little cutie too :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • kancildriver on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:05 am

Looks familiar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:05 am

I’ll start with the crictical part. There are some parts if re cars that looks out of proportion, such as the grill to lower grill and the headlights integrated to te grill seems like and afterthought. There’s also the large-body-on-small-wheels look that’s been plaguing the Preve siblings as well as many B-Segmant cars.

Now I’am not saying its a bad look if car and honestly, looks wise it’s pretty good. Proton seems to have adopted the ‘larger lower grill’ trend as most new Toyotas and new Korean A-B segment. I’ll hand it to proton with the Volkswagen-esque headlamps design that seems to evoke a sense of European feel to it, something more interesting than the seemingly bland design in the preve-siblings.

Overall, it’s strange but after the Preve, it seems predictable how the design will be. It will be interesting how it will appeal to the rakyat. There’s no doubt it will sell well but better than the Myvi? We’ll have to see.
    ….at least it has six airbags and ESC so that’s a win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 84
    • mim (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:25 am

I’ve seen it in real life and this photo has bad angle. In real life this thing looks even better than Ford Fiesta. A bit more fluidic. With an inch smaller rims.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • I’m more curious bout the back. Macam Sup’rima then I really facepalm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • whyhate on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:16 pm

wow you guys seriously downvote him for constructively giving a comment? Just because you dont agree with what he says doesnt mean what he says its wrong. So all you fanboys out there to take a step back and see what people’s feedback are, good AND bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Good comment,
        Proton fanboys = Proton salesman and designers can’t accept comments, only “Good and Great” in their head.
        Others real facts comment can’t be accepted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:09 am

proton basher= perodua owner dan perodua/salesman

rakyat smart orediii

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Yea, rakyat smart already. That’s why you can still take 2013 Proton cars with RM8k discount now. No one buy Proton now.

As usual, Proton fanboys syok sendiri on any car Proton is going to launched. They were the same last time for Savvy, Juara, Tiara, Arena. It is the typical Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:01 am

yeahh rakyat smart iredi

they choose safety on new city rather than umw vios

they choose great look of DRL in accord n no vsc n 2 airbags umw camry

rakyat smart orediiiii

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:54 pm

welcome to paultan.org comment section!

If you intend to stick around, better get used to such things happening. There’s sometimes very little calm logic around, so bring some with you before browsing, k?

• blvcktint on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:05 am

nice proton..still can improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Can i just take a moment and say proton did a good job with this car ? Its rather impressive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
  • Anti-Establishment on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:09 am

Don’t disappoint us Proton. Many of us are rooting for you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • If this price at 55k range. Picanto would be a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 98
    • mr nope on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:03 am

Nope.. korean car got serious quality problem also bro. I rather choose malaysian brand.
      At least, Economy wise, win for malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 9
      • Yea rite…u r talking about older korean car..nowadays they are much improved

• driver on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:30 am

Picanto is smaller. Go compete with Axia.

• saini on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:21 am

Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • True story on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:30 am

Somehow now I felt Preve and Suprima from boring car to a piece of shit, even a Proton own subcompact car better than its family car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 49
  • peter on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:31 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 188
    • well all comment here love/like the design.
      u the only one disliking it.
      then u are the problem, not the car design ..
      haha cheers mate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • DeiMuttal on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:28 am

dude.. you have a nice sense of imagination. You better move out of Puchong and touch base with reality and get rid of your Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • !@#$%^& on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:31 am

Actually your write-up is boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • zapruder on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:04 am

Actually i kinda like his comment.. It feels like I’m reading my darjah satu son’s karangan. Maybe he’s in the same class with my son?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Syameer (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:01 pm

How about a more useful feature in the car that can actually help you to improve your mind-boggling English or at least your creativity level?

• shawal on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:33 am

If a car can look good in that colour…
    Its a testament to good design….

Easily 1 proton’s best looking car…

And with new engine under hood…
    Its easily 1 of their best offerings…

All d best proton….good job so far..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
  • the best part is i love the rim design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • passerby00 on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:36 am

Turbo turbo below rm35k please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Sam loo fans on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:36 am

Finally a real keyless start?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • kia picanto is better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 75
    • picanto is rubbish man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:28 am

This model is based on the Picanto/i10.

No RV at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 78
      • policeman on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:47 am

So they rebadge i10? I though Proton stopped doing that after Inspira and Accord?

Damn.

So the engine is it the 1.25?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
      • look like someone talk with their ass rather than their brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • NurburgringDriver (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Alaa…. You frust no one (even Harve) dont want your Toyota. You go sambut merdeka with all your Toyota la! Jangan kacau ini tempat laa….

• Ford Fiesta? Look alike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
    • Guys, another basher here.
      Trying to compare the design with others.
      Copy that and this?
      can u believe this Joh guy, ford fiesta look alike?
      seriously ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:44 am

I think look more like Inspira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Kencana on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:39 am

It looks exactly like the new Kia Picanto. Except for these placement:
    1.Side mirror is place downward.
    2.Bodykit different (front adjustment of lamp and of course to fit in the Logo)
    3. Side body contour is slightly above.
    4. Bodykit on the back.

If you guys notice, the passenger window has the same lining and size. Coincident?

I think not. But nevertheless, if price is right, I can book this for my wife. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 71
    • Proton Engine, should come with RM30k for full safety.

If honda Brio engine, then it’s worth to be RM45k for full safety.

Honda Brio, if imported, it should cost only RM60k anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:58 am

You say the right word, but Tun and Proton fans will only make it more expensive.

Proton fans = Proton salesman and designer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:13 am

proton iriz n honda brio under DRB hicom
        yeahhhhhh

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:16 pm

That’s why recent Honda CKD build quality turns so bad recently. Pity Honda the new victim of Proton production line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:03 am

butthurt to see more city/ accord than vios/ camry on the road now???

prffthhh

• NIEKO on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:45 pm

FYI Proton intends to sell this car to Asean ,Middle East and also Europe (UK, Ireland , and Cyprus )and lets not forget Proton,s personal favourite Germany & France the only two Euro nations where proton were strong mid 90s to early 2000s don’t belive me search google maps

BTW the Honda brio’s engine is not Euro 5(it is only euro3) compliant so it cant be sold in Europe,thats why you guys wont even see the H.brio in Australia and to the lesser accent Singapore

• policeman on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:40 am

Have you seen the Picanto? How is this exactly like it?

If this car, to you, looks exactly like Picanto, then you are a lucky man cos everything looks the same to you.

You probably think Rosmah looks exactly like Scarlett Johansson.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:42 pm

This car is based on a i10/Picanto. 100% KOrean DNA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
      • NIEKO on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:53 pm

What a load of fucking bullshit from the great fucker Sam Loo…..

If that’s the case than why don’t you say the car is based on the Honda Jazz or uhh The Ugly arss Brio Than it would have sounded much better…ha ha ha Asshole !!!!!!!

Guest UMW didn’t give a pay rise to this Fool…

• amatamin77 on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:43 am

Nice! If properly priced, will give Perodua a run for its money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • inderaloka on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:47 am

Nice design. Finally, you’ve made it, Proton! Well done! Ini baru betul-betul Proton. And don’t forget, good design must come with good quality. Congratulations, Proton! Keep up the good work and make us – rakyat Malaysia – proud!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • RicharddrivesRM2.1milHuracan on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:48 am

Finally a Proton with non-obnoxious front design (at least). With 6 air bags, a nice move

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Fairus on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 127
    • rvcount on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:14 pm

With thumbdown number you get, i believe it’s your comment that is ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • MusTanG on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:58 am

I have good feeling for this car.

Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • If they can priced correctly PCC can be another Persona instead of Savvy. PCC can’t replicate Myvi since we’re bought everything Toyota here.

Good luck Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • latacc (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:00 am

Nice! Curious to see if they’ll still slap on the handling by Lotus badge

• NIEKO on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:59 pm

hum one question? is it wrong for Proton to do that .

Read This :

PROTON HAS BEEN WITH LOTUS FOR MORE THAN A DECAIDE SO THEY CAN DO WHAT EVER THEY PLEASE….

• like the design!
    will get one depending on “cc” and pricing!

• Painter on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:07 am

Throw in range extender engine, connected car with social media capabilities, built-in Waze navigation, and you have yourself forward a looking people carrier, a car made for Internet generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • inderaloka on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:10 am

Akhirnya, Proton telah ‘get out-of-the-box’. Dah lama kami, rakyat Malaysia tunggu saat ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Paulus on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:12 am

better than picanto? obviously better than myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • toroto on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:17 am

Very good! Bravo Proton! Finally, qualify for a world car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • mystvearn on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:19 am

The reverse guidelines appear to be a better version than the one on the Suprima. Notice there are two guidelines superimposed almost on top of each other. It looks like the guidelines are the active kind which turn depending on how you turn your steering.

The dashboard material looks better than Suprima S, which is a higher model and has proper keyless entry. Also better than Suprima S.

In fairness, I have to say. Bye-bye myvi and axia. Proton will eat your sales by a significant margin. That Axia is not enough to stem the leak. Also, come back with a car which is 5-star ANCAP. Perodua is right to be afraid, be very afraid indeed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • mim (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Add Autonomous Emergency Braking and this car will qualify for full EuroNCAP rating.

• Finally proton got some improvement. This compact car is nicer than the SUPRIMA S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • xsh1r0x on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:22 am

reminding me on savvy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:25 am

Its a kimchi DNA underneath.

Proton will sink even further

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
  • Ougees on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:26 am

Menarik! Lebih bagus kalau brlaku 5 tahun yg lepas. Trus bg tekanan pd Perodua Toyota Honda yg menipu selama ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • pinkturbo on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:26 am

6 Airbags plus VDC – this must be their version of VSC.. Proton is putting a strong focus towards safety. I am liking this already.

Looks like there loads of features to look out for in the PCC. Let’s hope it’s priced well. Looks like it may be well worth the wait after all.

Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • TheDean on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:27 am

Design looks a bit too busy for me. Akin to the Jazz. Maybe that’s what people want nowadays. Headlamp and switches look awfully close to VW’s polo. DRLwould be better if integrated in headlamp though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • policeman on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:30 am

Proton has indirectly informed us that the dashboard and rear is gonna be ugly. If it was good looking they would have previewed it here.

Similar problem like Preve – bad ass and bad dash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 60
  • Pororo on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:32 am

Shut up the haters… This is the best improvement of proton so far… Kudos to. Proton…. I’m so proud of you!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:54 am

True, if you don’t like or haters Proton.
      GET OUT OF THIS COUNTRY, Proton only need “Needs Gov support” Tun say itself.

All get out of m’sia, haters no needed here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
      • Ah Seng ProtonBasher on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Yeah baby i don’t like poton and i like to bash poton. Come and kick me out of malaysia, come on baby…come on….hahaha. I am driving toyota and i like japan car..come, get me out of malaysia if you can, moron! haha. and buy me the flight ticket to japan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • I beleived this one will win over Myvi for its superb handling and maneuvers. I have driven protons before, I would admit that their suspension is among the best even if I were to compare Proton BLM to a Vios. With this tidy bodylines and extra accessories I’ll give it a go with two thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • Very good looking which i love it, only thing left is interior quality inspection :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • I beleived this one will win over Myvi for its superb handling and maneuvers. I have driven protons before, I would admit that their suspension is among the best even if I were to compare Proton BLM to a Vios. With this tidy bodylines and extra accessories I’ll give it a go with two thumbs up! Can’t wait to test drive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:46 am

Looks nice enough, but the side reminds me too much of the Tata nano.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • looks good but the logo can really design ka?

• kl_guy on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:47 am

Bravo Proton, atlast u come out with your own design. This is what we want from Proton, we duwan copy and paste anymore..

Still, let’s pray hard here for the QUALITY & REALIABLE. Hoping no more dissapointment from Proton AGAIN.

Btw, GOOD job Proton.

• Daihatkiasu Perodua on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:49 am

Alamak. That trapezoidal gape lower grill is so passe. Everybody and his uncle used to have one.

Nevertheless kudos to Proton for building their own car rather than playing it safe by just rebadging a Daihatsu.

• Lol, I think after proton waja, “all” proton cars are design, not rebadge except for Inspira and new Perdana and only for them

• dedetheProton on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:57 am

OH mY….the headlights..the LED and the most favourite part is there is a tiny Proton logo at the center line of the headlight..arhh truly amazed ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Now we are having the best of both worlds. An upmarket looking machine at around the price of Myvi. Myvi has been around too long and too boring. Every next parking lot is occupied by a Myvi. One Merdeka wish is that the sales and service centres of Protons must improve to match the strong presence of its latest launch.

• Good job Proton. Looks reliable, can wait to feel and touch the car.
    I hope and pray the QAQC is brilliant and everyone will be happy owning a Proton and not potong

• Wow..nice design..cant wait to see the real one in showroom..proton, pls get the price right

• Perutdua salesman panic already and making lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:00 pm

p2 salesman in panic mode now

ok must work n bash proton harder

no timing chain bla bla… sales sales volume bla bla… japan quality bla bla power window bla bla protection ( petodua protection is ok) rompsk duit rakyat..( perodua dpt incentive okkkk)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Penyu bodo.. boleh x jgn jadi bodoh sgt..

This is information age.. everybody can know the reality of P1 & P2. ..

In car industry. . Even you claim to built the best car in the world. . But when it come from a flip flop company. . It ll flop anyway.. it just business. . Marketing strategy. . Brands & after sales. .

Due to flops.. we all know most models from Protong already suffer bad or dead after sales such Iswaras. . Tiara. . Savvy..

Meanwhile. . Kancil come from same age still rule the road.. due to continous support from P2.

Talking kork on P2 really funny.. hahaha. .

Anyway. . I don’t give a damn to P2 sales..

My house near cars sales offices.. both P2 & P1 there, Toyota, ford, nissan & hyundai, also there.. no need internet to know the reality of sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • Huh? Iswaras are still everywhere, especially taxi, still rule the road.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:20 am

most unsold product in malaysia history= perodua nautica

well dont look at history.. we must move forward

k… lets continue work
          proton jual mahal overseas ( perodua jual mahal overseas takpe)

Perodua macai

• pirlo on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:39 am

perodua rusa?
          perodua nautica?
          perodua kembara?

• motorbart on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:59 am

Motorhead please, if you want to talk kok this is not the place. Later you will be seen like a clown. Lol

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Clown?? But you mcm beruk..

Eh bodo.. do you know Nautica is toyota Rush.. under same platform. . So it’s doesn’t matter they want buy which.. Unfortunately. . Eventually. . It’s from the same old Toyota aka Daihatsu.. & what do you know. . Buy any of them service & parts are both available.. till today.. unlike your dead models.

Plus.. they ARE MAKING PROFITS!!!.. & you are making sheets.

Beruk2 plotong yg bodoh.. axxhol loosers..

Hahaha. …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:06 am

motorhead
            mtak payah ajar aku pasal automotive laa

6 years in japan i know japanese car better than u laa

sooo if not laku.naitica.. blame toyota???

if laku…. claim its from passo/boon???

rakyat smart orediiii

• PartyTRainer on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:10 am

Wow… Ini memang wow. That safety features and standard are probably the best selling point Proton will have for this model. The only thing that comes close is the Kia Picanto/Hyundai i10.

Just for fun.. I tried comparing the Picanto with Myvi SE 1.3 and Extreme 1.5 -http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=2L1tLkgp6C,3x8ZUJVOsA,3vZ7Y2HjHu,

One best selling local car has been sorely lacking in safety standards..

Now add the PCC to that mix (although Myvi is from a different segment).. This is going to be very interesting

• QWERTYUIOP on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:12 am

Anyone else notice that this car doesn’t come with foglight?

• Who booking Perodua Axia will be regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Henry on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:19 am

Nice. Waiting to see the real car.

From the pic this car can certainly do with a set of larger wheels like 17″ Vossen CV3.

• Adique on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:21 am

Dear Proton, R3 this lil fella please. Hehe. Dreams aside, the headlight design is pretty impressive. I was hoping for integrated DRL, but oh well, you cant have it all can you.

• Aero (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Agreed ! Proton should totally give this new baby a R3 makeover.

Just imagine; smart looks in a smart package, Lotus ride & handling, a proper 1.3 turbo engine, a 6-speed manual, and most importantly, competitive pricing. It will definitely be a strong, low-cost alternative to the brilliant Ford Fiesta ST. Proton has done it before with the Satria GTi, it’s not impossible !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • chong on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Comparing this NEW engine with direct injection engine is a bit too ambitious.
        Just pray hard the torque don’t come in sooo late and the terrible FC like the shittie sp4h is more than enough. I am sp4h owner and i know.

• hakim on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:33 am

this is the best looking proton car ever! and i’m pretty sure they have made a good job with the interior too based on the spyshot photo.

but in spyshot photos showed there is front parking sensor, but in this leaked photo, there’s none. juz the unlock door, traction control, and the hazard light. any info?

• proton kaki on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:44 am

did anyone notice that on the 1st pic under the plate number , there is an intercooler ? turbocharge perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • idealtech on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:31 pm

spot on bro! yeah wondering, can Paultan.com reconfirm isit an intercooler? could it be 1.3 cfe ?

• iskandar on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:47 am

selamat hari merdeka all.
    kudos to proton for the new hatchback. hope some of that features goes into the saga as well. the hatchback has lots of competitors in that class from p2, ford, mitsubishi, etc. the saga has none in the asean region for that class and price range.

• StevenHsl on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:48 am

And so, the game changer has finally arrived and we are going to see more small cars other than Myvi on the road.
    Kudos Proton. Hope this will remain.

• hadi75 on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:49 am

Not a bad looking car…..nice design..
    Only thing left now is the plastic use inside and the fit and finish….dont screw up proton….please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • So many Proton salesman in this comment section. Haiz, the car really look cheap imo and the side windows design look half cooked. I know Proton is trying hard on this car but this look like a car designed by HOTWHEELS, too toy car like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
  • grandeur on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:56 am

Not sure about the quality, but in terms of exterior, the 1st glance looks like Myvi, 2nd glance looks like ford fiesta. WTH protong… Is that the best you can do? Copy others dated design? Oh please… screw this shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
  • Looks like fiesta + honda brio mashup. Now please reveal the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Allen on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:08 pm

6 airbags variant will be offered to 1.6 premium only. 1.3 variants will all get 2 airbags only to keep the cost low.

None the less, active safety feature such as ABs, tcs, esc, hill assist will be standard feature.

DRL only for 1.6 premium Specs. So are leather seats.

None the less, expect the 1.3 variant will beat Myvi flat flat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Ray (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Great Merdeka surprise! The Proton designers have really done a great job this time. The lower grille from the Fiesta and the headlights from the Golf MK6? I don’t care they all work together and look really handsome here. The turn indicators are a bit of an afterthought though but who care’s, this is one of the best looking cars Proton has ever made in my opinion, after the Waja and the Gen-2.

Design elements that I don’t like:
    1. The rims. They look cool but don’t really suit the car, in my opinion.
    2. The green shade here. Myvi XT ruined my impression on all green cars and here’s another one with almost the same hue.
    3. Not really something that I don’t like, but the kink at the rear door (if you refer to some of the previous spyshots) kind of looks like a Picanto. Just the curve. Looks okay here though.
    4. The dash belongs to a truck. It looks decent though.

I’d be nitpicking if I continue on (in fact I already am) but this is one handsome car in all. Hope it drives and performs equally well. Good job and good luck Proton!

• Everybody be praying like “not the preve’s or suprima’s CVT gearbox, pls no”

• mim (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:09 am

It’s still the same Punch box but heavily revised and uses all new Bosch EMS. It should behave like Audi’s multitronic.

• cvter on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:21 pm

What’s the problem with that CVT? I dun see many people cursing it except those who don’t use it. It felt nothing like conv auto + 2.0l engine combined. Actually it’s way better

• Cipan on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:23 pm

my wife cancel her axia booking…huhuhu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:01 pm

safety first…. ur wife has made a correct decision

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • botolsusu on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Proton must be getting desperate that they have to show something against the axia which already has bookings prior to launch. Many people praise the design but chances are, only a few will have faith to place a booking… Even some of the proton employees in this thread.

Anyway… You know the company is in trouble when the CEO has to approve staffn expenses and claims….kaaaaa-chingggg :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:08 pm

see
      kutuk2 proton skit… puji2 perodua sikit

nampak sgt macai perodua

rakyat smart orediiii

• botolsusu on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Not puji la. Both P1 and P2 messup rakyat chance of buying good cars at affordable price. Waat about all the sad people put booking for axia, never seen car yet already book because its cheap and cannot afford anything else. P1 on the other hand thinks they are gods gift to Malaysia selling expensive cars with poor quality. That’s what I say boycott P1 and P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • Expensive? Then go for used car

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:09 am

thats why some ppl said
          aziah(petodua) is for ppl who hate proton but can’t afford import car

prffthhh

• Proton Lover on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:46 pm

This is my first eye impression… Falling in love just in my first sight. Well done, Proton!

• Adique on Aug 31, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Lets see about the variants and prices. Could be a gamechanging release if played right. Reality aside, R3 this lil fella please. Hehe. I’m pretty impressed by the headlight design. Too bad the DRL wasnt integrated.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:16 pm

If you see below the signal and the main lights, there is horizontal line. Maybe that was the original DRL position. But, that will only makes the headlamp design too busy. So the premium will have the DRL there, the other variant will have it blank out just like on the picture.

• same lorrr sux on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:00 pm

mna itu same lorrr? she will give bad commenr for sure.

• Fisya on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Firstly… i love the design. It looks fresh. Good job on that Proton. But personally, i would love to have the LED daylight integrated within the headlights like PREVè and Suprima S so that the fog lights could still be there. Can’t wait to personally meet this cutie in the showroom.

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:18 pm

This car design, i must say quite alluring for a compact car! No disharmony is felt looking from the front! It is distinctively different from the previous proton models! Did they change the chief designer or something?

Compared to:

1) Current myvi: Front looks good, but rear design is purely ah beng design. Older model was actually better.

2) Current Vios: Too imbalanced in terms of bumper grille designed. Rear looks awfully like Nissan Teana

3) Fiesta: while i love the aston martin front grille look, rear design seems too cramped and small.

4) Kia Picanto: Not bad in its own way, but seriously this PCC beats it hands down in terms of looks.

Safety wise, no problem as it comes with 6 airbags, VSC, and 5 star ancap crash rating (i am sure euro NCAP will also be 5 stars as well)

Now we are waiting for the performance aspect. Slap it with low cc VVTI engine with turbo plus Lotus handling then finally at an AFFORDABLE PRICE, it will be awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • James Leeson on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:20 pm

It has a decent sized BOOT !!! for a compact car… SUPER SUPER GREAT THINKING

• Maseratits on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Can’t wait to finally see and feel it in person when it arrives to the showrooms!

• shiraz faruqi on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Wow! First impression looks great. Looks like Proton is headed in the right direction. For all those complainers, whingers and whiners… there’s nothing that Proton can do to make you happy. And like the child who cried wolf one time too many, it’s hard to take anything you say seriously anymore. Anyway, to Paul Tan and his merry band of motoring journalists, all PaulTan’s fans and fellow Malaysians including all the complainers, whingers and whiners; Selamat Hari Merdeka. Hope you’re having a great Merdeka day :)

• Mohasrim Cie on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:35 pm

With this freshly new look… Hopely this car will be the bechmark for Proton’s design in years to come…

WELL DONE PROTON..!!

• roxas on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:38 pm

wow is my 1st impression! looks way better thn the myvi !

• shahril on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:13 pm

It took some time for proton to finally release this to Malaysia. I am so proud that proton had make a good car, with lot of improvement in term of design and quality. Hope it drive as good as it look. Cant wait for paultan to include this car in driven and compare with other model with the same segment, i bet Proton will win this time. Thumb up to PROTON! Malaysia Boleh!

• Honda Brio base? mantap,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • tipulatew on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Test for one day and your freind already know there are many quality issue… Your freind semi-god or what…

• maaajeeedaaa on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:39 pm

I might support but i will not buy a proton anymore…… nuf said..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Kreygasm on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:40 pm

GG Well played.

• Protiga on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:40 pm

“Can’t take my eyes off you” should be the tagline for this beautiful and cute Proton. Looks like the Myvi days are numbered. Proton just has to throw in the 3 years free service which Perodua has just abandoned to win the hearts of impending small car buyers. Now you have a car that can match the rest of the small car pack with dignity.

• Still a proton. Send for service with 2 problems, will come back with 5 problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Yeah I guess they have to carry it’s history of being bad. But let’s hope they have come to their senses. If they want to win the local auto game they have to let their customers win.

• powershot (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:40 pm

i you’re talking about perodua. if it’s perodua, you’ll end up with more problems than when you first entered the service centre.

• Hmm, not bad. Hope its not like Preve all kinds of problems.

• michael tan on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:51 pm

proton??? No Way. I rather settle for any foreign car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • MintBerryCrunch on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:52 pm

So many comments about looks.

What’s impressive is really the fully featured safety kit. ESC in particular in what is a budget car. This is very important for highway driving…it prevents you from sliding out of control when avoiding potholes for example, and is worth more than airbags in my opinion.

Reflected in the 5 star ancap rating. Thumbs up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • bisakeris (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:57 pm

dont care what basher said, i luv the design.. copy or not i dont care, main thing is the quality n price!!! i might buy 1!!!

• goodluckpoton on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:04 pm

forget about it, TDM said u need to pay more money for this, it will not be cheap even after poton spend billions of taxpayers’s money…and quality? wait till u see the real car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • crasher7 on Aug 31, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Credits where it’s due, kudos to proton this time around! Can’t wait to see it in person…

• padayeppi on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Really hoping they have cruise control for high-end version. Neway, thumbs up P1

• Chuan on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:26 pm

R.I.P Myvi

• Chuan on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:27 pm

R.I.P Produa Myvi

• Eddie Lee on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Paul, can you get Theo to put the front end of this iriz to Suprima s… Really curious how it will look like…

• This one is an Exec spec. Quite nice already. Highest spec got front sensor at the bumper.

• No need to bash. If compare to viva, this improvement is a lots mind you “a lot”. Plus from the photo, it looks good but why didn’t show the back? Safety wise better than those city or vios.

• Cantona on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Vios yes but City its on par unless 6 airbags and VCS is across the range then yes its better.

• Nice looks. No complaints. I’m sure the rear has been given similar treatment. Now let’s see Proton take it all the way in the performance and quality dept. Btw – when are the naming contest winners will be announced?

• Love that there’s some space between the A-pillar and the side mirrors, looks like honda jazz’s. Don’t know how it will affect visibility but honda did it so i guess it’s something. And that’s a pretty long looking wheelbase, so it should be stable at high speeds.

• Rakyat on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Whether it wil be a successful model or not, the price is the only answer. Small national car shouldn’t more than 40k in this country. If other country, this price is a C segment category.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:11 pm

this car still using timing chain??

big no

timing chain is superb tech… others tech vsc, 6 airbags, cvt, push start all cant beat timing chain

alam lee
    perodua macai

• aeroeatshit on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:18 pm

you get lifetime warranty for poton timing chain….best deal ever. LOL.

• quite impressive for the exterior, myvi would watch out for this, but quality is still main concern….

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:13 pm

no point having world class safety features but power window no working

Roslan tamby
    perodua salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • cableguy on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:14 pm

This is good stuff.

If Proton is making it’s small car come with all these safety features and gadgets (even if its a high spec variant in the range).. I can only welcome the fact that they are very serious about their products.

This means all their future models will be very well specced with better safety equipments as standard. NIce!

• newmaster on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:15 pm

2 airbag for executive and standard variant, VDC equipped for all variant

• Aero (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Just came back from Dataran Merdeka… and saw this. Best Merdeka gift EVER from Proton !

Very impressed with the interior plastic quality, definitely a step up from the Prevé/Suprima. It’s quite clear that Proton has decided to go down the Kia way, the plastics are very much European. I’m pretty sure they’re soft-touch too.

The first photo is taken at a poor angle, and the green colour doesn’t bring out the best in the car. Silver, grey or black would have definitely upped the ‘premium’ feel of the photos.

Happy to hear it scored the full 5-stars in ANCAP, few cars in the B-segment have ever scored 5-stars, this is definitely a golden feather in Proton’s cap ! Here’s hoping that all variants get the full safety specs.

What more can I say ? Betul-betul onz ! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:14 pm

The plastic is hard plastic. But, even the vios is hard plastic but still looks premium than Suprima which had soft touch plastic.

First look, it does look premium. Proton learn something in combining material and design to make it look premium.

• aeroeatshit on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:17 pm

1.7b spent and you said best merdeka gift? best nerraka shit i guessed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
  • antikereta on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:17 pm

mana mau pergi proton?!……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • ikan masak tau chu on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:19 pm

i hope the signal lever not in the left of the steering wheel again….

• BNR32 on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:23 pm

To all the blind bashers:

Stop pointing out it’s ‘inspired’/’imitated’ design features like it’s a bad thing. Any Darjah 2 kid can point out so-and-so part from this Iriz looks like so-and-so part from . You are intentionally lowering yourself to their level of mentality by stating the obvious. This is the universal design language of today’s modern cars, be it Korean, American or European. Nobody’s complaining that Jaguar F-Type = Nissan 350Z or Corvette C7 = Ferrari California T, so why state the obvious by saying that Iriz = Vios or Myvi or Brio or Polo? Hippocrates would shut up if the badge was not a Proton and instead, a VW or Honda.

And if you are judging the car purely on it’s ‘unoriginal’ looks, you clearly have your priorities wrong and should stick with a mainstream Japanese car. Because going in reverse, I would say every other car in the Iriz’s class look exactly the same as each other. Originality is dead, unless you’re happy to pay for the services of a coachwork builder.

Give credit where due (even if it’s ‘unoriginal’) and honestly, if you don’t like the car, don’t buy it. This is a free country. How would you live to live in Cuba and see how much a new car costs there?

To all the blind supporters:

Don’t clap your hands yet, because as much as I like the looks of the car, the quality is going to be as questionable as almost all it’s predecessors. And the reason is because a dumb old fart decided to make an arse out of himself by saying that this car will be “more expensive that expected because it’s quality is higher than previous cars”. It’s like Proton is doing us a favor by making it’s cars more reliable and safe. People are hating the child now because of it’s parent’s wrongdoing, pls realise that.

Quality and safety is an obligation, not a luxury. It should never be chargeable options and should be implemented even in basic spec cars. Get that into your thick skulls and stop heaping praises just because it’s the 1st ‘truly’ safe Proton with 6 airbags or VDC yada yada. It’s like complimenting a UPSR kid who can solve Standard 3 level math problems at his age. Nobody’s expecting Proton’s safety standard to ever reach the level of Volvo’s, but at the very least, they could have matched or better a common Korean car long ago. I don’t believe Proton is as useless a car manufacturer as a lot of Malaysians think they are, that’s why I say they could have easily done it many years back. Who knows what’s holding back them till now.

Now all that has been said, I hope they can start work on the next Satria Neo with this new look, new safety level, and ‘so called improved quality’. I’m pretty much satisfied with the way the car looks inside and out, and I hope they will release a base level car with 14″ steel rims, no 2-DIN system and cheapo speakers (with all the safety features intact, of course). This looks like a car with decent modding potential.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • infinity on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:56 pm

I totally agree with you. How to design a car that doesn’t look like a car? Btw, proton tried to be “original” when they launched Proton Savvy. What happened to that car?

Mark my words…This Proton Iriz will be a Great car!

• BNR32 on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Our local car industry can never prosper because apart from Proton’s abysmal track record of sometimes OK, sometimes horrible products and it’s controversial history, today’s Malaysians also lack the maturity of our American or EU counterparts when discussing about something. Just compare our comments here to those in the ‘Motor Authority’ and ‘Road & Track’ website. You’ll get the idea.

You can give a Malaysian a car that looks like a Maserati Gran Turismo, powerful as a Dodge Viper, drives like a Radical SR1, fuel efficient like a VW Golf TDi, reliable like a Subaru Legacy, priced like a 3rd hand Proton Saga, and you’ll get smthng like this at the end: “Your brake light is not as red as I like it to be. Looks more like dark orangey golden amber. And your spoiler is not really at the center, it’s 0.0024mm to the right. What sort of stupid car is this?”

Malaysians will say ANYTHING and EVERYTHING to try to win an argument. Trust me, I’ve seen enough in my short stint in the car business to know how incredibly ‘kiasu’ and stupid some people can be. ‘Tunjuk pandai’ to the max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • BNR32 on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:16 pm

And yes, even if Proton’s next car looks like a Merc A-Class clone, people will still condemn it for the fact that it’s a Proton. Swap out the badge to T or H, and everyone starts calling it COTY.

I pity the Proton Savvy to be honest. Although it drives well and is reasonably fuel efficient, it looks like an aborted dugong fetus (I never met a single person who ever said it’s a decent looking car honestly) and suffered an extremely ridiculous comment from some certain retarded former Proton chairman. “Proton Savvy doesn’t need airbags because it has a monocoque tub like a F1 car. It’s enough to protect you from a crash, like those F1 drivers”. Sounds familiar? And who can forget the BMW of Asia fiasco?

About the only ‘original’ Proton car that I like is the Saga FLX 1.6 SE, and also the 145bhp R3 Satria Neo. And even that FLX looks like a VW Polo, so there.

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:18 pm

I don’t really think Savvy is a bad car since I own one. It’s just misunderstood – Malaysians treat it like your normal average Japanese car when they should have treated it like a European on the account of the engine.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:46 pm

I agree wholeheartedly with your comments except on the safety aspect. Yes, Proton could and should have done it a long time ago, and yes, safety should be a right, not a luxury.

But the fact is, 9 out of 10 car companies in Malaysia DO NOT offer standardised safety equipment for the sake of profits and cost-cutting.

Let’s take a look at all the cars in the C-segment that DON’T get a standard list of safety gear here in Malaysia. Each and every one of these cars have been engineered to offer between 6 and 11 airbags. The final package depends on which market they’re sold in. If it’s the U.S. and Europe, expect no less than the full package. If it’s here in Southeast Asia, we’ll be lucky to get anything more than 2.

The 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis only has 2 airbags, and you’ll have to pay extra if you want the full 7. At least, with the latest generation, you can get the full enchilada, in the previous gen Altis, there were only 2 airbags full-stop.

The current Honda Civic only gets 2 or 4 airbags. But it is understood that the new City and updated Accord have up to 6. But again, it is not standard equipment. Only the City V spec gets the full kit, and Honda has raised pricing of the Accord after the safety update.

The Hyundai Elantra only gets 2 airbags, and you must pay extra to get the high-end Sport edition with 6 airbags. The facelifted Elantra should get 7, but I can only guess. It’s sibling, the Kia Cerato, also doesn’t have 6 airbags as standard, only the mid and upper range variants get it, the base model only has 2.

The Chevrolet Cruze only gets 2 airbags full-stop. Fortunately, the Ford Focus gets 4 airbags, but you’ll have to pay extra to get 6.

The (now redundant) Mitsubishi Lancer is uniquely one of the few cars to be offered with 3 airbags (which is more than its sister car, the Proton Inspira at just 2).

And for those cars which do get a STANDARD list of safety equipment across the range;

The new Hyundai i30 gets 6 airbags, but it isn’t the maximum it can offer (which is 7).

The new Nissan Sylphy gets 6 airbags as standard, it is a massive step up from the old Sylphy which only had 2.

The new CBU Mazda3 sedan also gets 6 airbags. It is not known what the CKD Mazda3 sedan will get, but I hope it stays at 6.

Since late 2013, Proton has updated the entire Prevé range with the full enchilada of safety specs. They didn’t even raise the price, as a matter of fact, they LOWERED it. Now that’s genuinely praiseworthy.

And that’s it. Just FOUR cars in the C-segment offer standardised safety equipment. The B-segment has just TWO, the Kia Rio and Peugeot 208. The A-segment has just ONE, the Kia Picanto. If this new small Proton can get a standard list of safety kit across the range, then it will be the third in the B-segment. On a second note, the Prevé was the very first in the C-segment to offer a standard list of safety kit.

If you’re saying that Proton’s policy on standardised safety standards is not a big deal, then I’ll have to strongly disagree. Proton is the one that set the ball rolling for higher safety standards in the C-segment in Malaysia. Before the Prevé, few cars were ever sold with as much safety kit, but because Proton has done what they did, other companies are forced to give more safety kit or risk being ridiculed by the media and rakyat.

But on the international level, Proton’s recent rise in safety standards is no big deal. It’s true, Proton is one of the last companies to receive a 5-star safety rating, other similar manufacturers like Skoda, Hyundai and Kia have done it many, many years back.

So there’s two sides to the story. It’s not fair to highlight one side and ignore the other. Proton’s recent rise in safety standards might be too late on the whole, but at least they’ve done it, and done it properly for once. They should be rightfully recognized and commended nonetheless for their efforts.

p.s. Info for the safety comparisons was obtained from carbase.my

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:24 pm

no more proton car in my garage… dah serik dahhh

jom beli aziah… bau jepunnnn

nora
    p2 salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • kingkong on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I drove proton before. After I shift to kia and will never had nightmare with my car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • nobrand on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Be ready to pay high price for this car. Dr. M already warn that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • BNR32 on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Oh, and may I add that this also looks like a fun car to drive? Like the Satria Neo, this is not a car I’d want to buy with AT transmission (people who own or have driven an AT Neo will see my point). I’d only buy this with a good ‘ol fashioned 5-MT, unless they use a good quality torque converter 6-AT.

If they are using a donor engine from Honda, all the better. This is the only aspect of Proton I can let go for not being original. Engine sharing is a good thing, and there’s no shame from borrowing an engine from a better car.

My biggest concern now is that they omit safety features by price point/spec like certain Toyotas or Peroduas. Get the high end version, most likely with AT only, you get the full safety package. That to me is absolute nonsense.

• alfie on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:47 pm

We have seen this kind of hype before when Proton was launching the Savvy. Big promises and claims made,some more TUV certified!!!!

Now Dr M says if Malaysians want good quality car WE MUST be willing to pay higher price. Currently we are PAYING ‘Continental car price’ for a low quality worst than made in China car.

I guess Dr M wants the RAKYAT to pay ‘ROLLS ROYCE’ price to a Volkswagen quality car!!!!! Liamah!!!!

Tutup aje Proton tu,sudah jadi beban kepada RAKYAT!! Australia Holden pun sudah tutup,how long more we want to pretend that Proton is a global car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:54 pm

savvy ada quality problem ke??? lebih pada reliability prob seba pki rngine tenailt.. others is ok

btw.. what car u drive now???

set set tu jerrrr

• alfie on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Bukan kah masaalah reliability mencerminkan quality kereta Proton ini rendah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Ramai je pakai proton, reliable gak. Honda Toyota Nissan etc tersadai gak tepi jalan. HEhehee

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:28 am

reliability of renault engine pada savvy

kalau pki engine proton cam pcc sekarang ok

btw.. what car u drive now??

set set tu jerrr

• Adnan Muhamad on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:54 pm

I am always with proton. Used the new saga iswara from back in 94. Changed to Gen2 in 2008 and still using it (well, my son use it now). And i must say this is the first time tears filled my eyes seeing how much Proton has grown.
    Im thankful im still alive to see Proton being able to produce such a well-designed gorgeous compact car. I am in search for a car for my daughter and this car easily made it to the top of the list.

Proton will always have a soft spot in my heart. That’s just how it is. It’s like when your family do anything wrong you didnt cast it straight away. Stand by them hoping someday they would change. Perhaps this is it? Hehe. Well apa2 pun I need to test drive and look at it in person. But im quite convinced i will not be disappointed. In Proton We Trust. :-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • Nice design really. Looks like there is no armrest though

• june12 on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:01 pm

The design are not as typical Proton car, Kudos to that. Now, all will be waiting for are down to the pricing. If its slightly more expensive than Myvi are acceptable for most Malaysian. But if its goes up to more Rm100K, than sales will be radically nasty.

• nanibodoh on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:13 pm

TDN said:” If you want quality, u need to pay more”. If the price is low for this car, expect lifetime warranty for your power window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • global sampah car? on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:00 pm

slightly expensive than myvi you call that a bargain? you buy first la.. if rm99k you still buy right? clever ass.. i pick hyundai the kimchi rather than this.worst than kimchi.atleast kimchi car new model more reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
  • goodluckpoton on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:02 pm

1.7b and design this myvi like car. And it seems so many poton salesmen here, good luck for your sales…..lol. I would not spend more than 40k for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:14 am

u said design like myvi bcoz u never exposed to others import small car like kia rio, picanto, brio, ford fiesta etc

kampung ppl eith katak bawah tempunrung minded

hahaha

• cendol (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:22 pm

It’s a rebadged Potong Myvi. No originality at all.
    Forever rebadging.
    That’s the only thing Potong can do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
    • Annoynimouse on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Err, as far as rebadging goes, you forgot (or pretty much unaware in the first place) that the Myvi is essential a rebadged model in the first place. So what’s your point?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:05 pm

org yg tak exposed compact car luar negara n hanya tau psl malaysia je yg cakap cam ni

hahaha

• cendol (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:25 pm

You want cheap car, run for 3 kilometer and it will break down.
    You want good car, be prepared to pay premium for it.
    Wise words of Potong founder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • ron19 on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:29 pm

nothing new…just like my v. proton should be more creative..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:01 pm

u should be more exposed to outside matket… not only kampung bolehland market

those who exposed to outside market.. they said this car similir to kia rio, honda brio, headlamp like vw, ford fiesta

but kampung ppl who know only myvi..

• Vincent Cheng on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Great… the face look nice… better than Myvi…next. ..we are waiting to know the price. Hopefully P1 won’t killing themself to follow that irrelevant chair man akan TDM say… price ut sky high. Lets try MYR36,888 for the base 1.3 model. We have boring to see Myvi very where..hope PGCC can give a good mix!

• Ahbeng16888 on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Can anyone tell this engine better than toyota engine?
    how many horsepower?

tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • global sampah car? on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:52 pm

let the lab mice test this first.after all perfected, and maybe got ‘sv’ variant then can consider buy. remember preve many problems and they upgrade but reduce price? 7 years loan dont play play.. but i still think this is junk compare tu perodua axia top variant. an overpriced junk.hope its not like what i think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
    • p2 salesman ???

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:31 am

ciri ciri p2 salesman

kutuk kutuk proton skit
        puji puji perodua skit
        but at the same the claim anti NAP n protection

• Annoynimouse on Aug 31, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Nice looking car and the looks appear slightly upmarket now.
    Small cars like this tend to end up with having almost identical overall body proportions and it has something to do with the volume. The location of the wheels have to be stretched to the corners of the platform. The roof line have to be sufficiently tall to accommodate headroom. Not only Myvi, but all compact cars are like that and consequently they all appear to have similar body proportions. Squeeze them further and it will become like the likes smart for two, Aygo/Cygnet etc. Extend, and they will start looking like your regular hatchbacks.

• PROYOTA Passo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • ok.
    proton looks serious this time.
    i have to admit that on paper this car look attractive.
    now is the price and the interior quality.
    anyway i might have to eat my words of “never buy proton again”.
    well done proton.

• Car fan on Aug 31, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Looks good like another version of Myvi something like alphard/vellfire. If it matches up in quality it can take substantial sales away from P2.
    Still hope it’s costs does not require special duty under National Car status to compete here and overseas.

• Tapah (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Another nice car design. Hope vendor not spoiled it.

• I want to see price reduction.

Savvy starting pirce was RM33.5k.
    it’s an oversea car that Proton have to pay royalty yet sell cheaply.

This Proton own engine own car, should be priced RM30k starting price.

• hakim on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:53 pm

are you kidding me? with all those safety features, still want to demand for low price? aiyoo.. jgn la kedekut kalau bab keselamatan.. buy axia la if u want cheapo car.. but u know what safety features in 25k axia right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:16 am

how about perodua?? also cheaper in overseas.. we guess they aldo pay royalty rite???

ishhh tu lainnnnnnm

• Proton synonym of low quality.

That’s why have to sell Preve 1.6auto as cheap as RM44,000 in Australia.

in Malaysia, Proton is up to 50% more expensive than oversea Proton. We are helping Proton to sell cheaply in oversea.

Overpriced Proton in Malaysia.

• inspilala on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:23 pm

That’s because of tax, where got 44k in Australia? Show me proof please.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:04 pm

u didnt answer my question.. do u know peridua price in mauritius, sri lanka, uk is much cheaper than malaysia???

rakyat smart oredi… kunun nak bagitau proton jusl mahsl n nak cover cerita petodua jusl mahal

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Another teaser?

No price announcements?

Can’t book?

No bookings?

No nothing? Only syok sendiri?

Kasi lu all syok sendiri lah..

Wa baru bangun tito.. nak tito lagi.

Nice looking car unfortunately from a flop company. . Delisited since 2007.. no purchase from a flop company for me.. you carry on lah..

Hahaha. .

Yawnnn… goodnight

Happy merdeka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
    • Nobody forces you to buy Proton

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Did I say.. carry on there?

Yeah.. Nobody can force me on anything anyway. .

But bear in mind.. there alot of people there don’t want to buy something from some flop companies. . On any products.. or services. . Car business not like selling kue tiaw.. or mee goreng.. people will use it at least the next 5-10 years. Are you worth worthy company to guarantee that? From past experience you are known ve no continous models.. keep scraping… built something new & let the old ones dead.. discontinued..

Better deal with your internal & financial woes before talk something good (kork) on your products. . Or services.

Basic rule in business.

It’s information age. No point hiding the facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • In business there are ups and downs, worst case it’ll be bailed out.

The trannies and engines are from proton, why there should be difficulties? This is not like savvy and tiara.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Ahh.. yea2..

Plotong idiots dictionary.. again. .

Rugi, bailout.. bodo nak mampos = good

Untung, good sales.. no bailout = bad

So typical plotong.

• pirlo on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:59 am

k.

• elder on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:46 pm

rm90k?

• Gemilang on Aug 31, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Now the most critical part is the correct pricing to match the offering. Warning proton don’t try to rip off the people. Pls do it right this time.

• kusochon on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:16 pm

hahaha.. now RBA have to work extra hard here to downplay proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • berkata benar on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:02 am

rba dlm mimpi ko… benda tak wujud pun percaya… teruskan la berfantasi …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • azhar on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:26 am

x habis2 dgn cite ngarot RBA..kasi dedah laa sape RBA

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 31, 2014 at 8:33 pm

1. Looks pretty interesting & promising, with finely textured & matte plastics. Hopefully the interior fit finish & quality is on par with global standard. Any hope on seeing bits of soft plastics used? (like in Jazz/Mazda2/208)
    2. B-segment competitors are using 16 or even 17 inch rims for their top range (Rio/Jazz/Fiesta). Its ok to use 15 inch rims, but then the tyre profile should be thicker to make it fill the wheel arches better & look sturdier. I’m guessing 195/55 R15 (thickness should be 60 or 65, as opposed to 55 as Proton is using now. Standard Jazz E spec is using 65).
    3. Saw two empty buttons flanking the three buttons on the center console (door lock, hazard, VSC off). Maybe can put passenger airbag off button & rear fog light button). Please don’t repeat Gen.2/Persona’s interior flaw which got so many empty buttons. Learn from Fiesta (tho looks complicated).

Overall, looks promising. Hope they deliver this time and prove all those bashers wrong.

• David on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:38 pm

1.3 standard RM49999
    1.3 executive RM54999
    1.6 premium RM64999

Only can get below RM40k for the standard variant in your dream. You want good stuff, please pay more.

Potong losing money for so long, you think they will offer low price? Yes, only in your dream. Hahahaha……

• Gemilang on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:28 am

If proton thinks of selling nywhere near that pricing. They are overly ambitious. Do expect low and mediocre sales. Yeah go ahead and dream… You can dislike my comments but if love to say I told u so!

• BNR32 on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Actually it could be a good thing. If the pricing backfires, people won’t buy the car, and eventually they will have to reduce the price after a year (hint: Inspira).

If this Iriz is priced at RM65K, that means it’s about the same as the Myvi Extreme. If you were a first time buyer, would you get a car with the better spec sheet but with no track record, or a car that has been on sale for nearly 10 years with last 2 gens safety features and a stone age 4AT, but will likely not give you any major issues for at least 3 years and can be fixed anywhere?

Proton has only one chance: pricing. It’s up to them now to decided how much profit margin they are willing to compromise to fight their way back.

• hakim on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:18 am

my pricing prediction would be:

1.3 standard RM 40,000
      1.3 executive RM 47,000
      1.6 premium RM 55,000

it’s a prediction. huhu.

• pak mat tempe on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Hopefully both 1.3 and 1.6 models have rear discs brakes as standard. This would be a plus plus plus to temp buyers from MYVI.

• Allen on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:54 pm

It will be 8″ drum brake at the rear, still you get ABS, TCS, HBA, HHA for all variants.

Where Myvi XT doesn’t even offer ABS, EBD, BA, only Myvi SE and upwards do. No ESC/HHA for all the variants as well.

• C Lee on Aug 31, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Looks like a stretched Honda Brio with a new front end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • wow..with 5 star ncap…that should be great. Congrate proton..looking forward to test drive the new proton.

• NIEKO on Aug 31, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Hello Iris

Damm your hot

• Political driven on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Hi guys, look at it in a bigger picture. At the end of the day both proton and Perodua will die. Perodua has always into compact car segment with small segment engine. On the other hand proton is suppose to be in higher capacity engine segment like preve & perdana. Proton should compete against segment leader like honda vios, city , altis, civic, Camry and accord.

With this car there will be a price war and both will die. Proton cannot compete with higher segment cars and now they choose Perodua as their target. It’s a political driven strategy not even forward looking. This is like civil war brother versus brother compete. In the end both will die. Must be mr. M stupid idea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • BNR32 on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:02 am

Perodua will not die no matter what Proton throws at them. They’re way too strong for obvious reasons.

As much as I am optimistic about the Iriz for what it’s worth, I’m starting to get a bad feeling that it will not sell well because of it’s asking price. I suspect it will be placed at the bracket of entry level Japanese cars.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:11 am

who should know whos behind perodua … did u notice nowadays.. japan daihatsu aggresively producing thier compact small car in indonesia??? petodua must be afraid of this… they still here just because of the benefit gomen giving them nasional car previllage n incentive given by gomen

if not… bye2 malaysia… wrlcome indonesia

• Denim on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:37 pm

correct me if i am wrong. I dun like bash but more on facts. If not mistaken, Daihatsu aggresively producing compact cars at Indonesia long time ago n not recently. In fact, their DPU (Defect per Unit) is far better than P2. The Indonesia n Malaysi are 2 contires in Malaysia where it compliment each other in the sense of sharing tech, skills, vendors etc.

In my mind, daihatsu will not blindly let the P2 go as other small compact may grab the opportunity. Incentive wise, yes every gov does that even in Indonesia. Dun talk about incentive here as Samsung agree to build their plant here alo due to icentive apart from others factore i.e political, weather n ecenomical.

• John Chew on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Front design is really not bad actually.. clap on that..

But wait until you guys see the official release of the tail design of this car.. You guys will know why proton seriously need a good designer..

I’m claiming above statement, because I was invited to a proton car survey few months ago which they revealed this car (undisguised) to every participant of the survey for their feedback..

Wait and believe :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Jonh Chew Chew on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:26 am

LOL. creating an event that was never organized. Perodua salesman trying to bash no matter what. kudos to you :P

• John Chew on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:15 am

Time will prove…

Organizer of the survey, IPSOS Malaysia..
        Call them and find out if you don’t believe there was a survey..

• Savvy88 on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:16 pm

If they conduct the survey to you, the purpose is to get the market feedback for them to repair and otter several things. your feedback about the rear look of the car is negative. So proton will take note the survey result, and maybe..they already modified the rear looks.

wait and believe…

• If you have good looks, good fuel consumption and good quality, people will buy your car…no matter what brand from what country. Keep it up…again proton, don’t disappoint us again like you did with Preve.

• Design looks good lar but the inner core technology (engine especially) a bit doubt to me. My past experience tell me not to buy Proton car again, not worth at all.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:35 am

my dad’s past experience tell me that conti cars better than japs cars
      japs car= milo tin
      thats what my dad said about japanese car

• amry83 on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:58 pm

why the heck are most of you guys think japanese cars are somehow very good. Proton gives you with complete safety and handling package if you compare with other japs n koreran cars. Just wait for the pricing and it will be justified.

• BNR32 on Aug 31, 2014 at 11:52 pm

I’m starting to have a bad feeling about the price of this car. Most likely it will be around RM45K-75K (just my gut feeling, I’m not plucking info or hints from anywhere). I honestly would not be happy to pay anything above RM55K for the highest spec of an unproven car, because I think that’s a reasonable ball park figure.

I hope I’m wrong though. Proton needs to know it’s place and not demand Myvi or City price for a brand new model with no track record. You should price your 1st product lower than your competition at equal or better specs in the first run, to attract the attention of prospective buyers (ie Sony Playstation or Xiaomi phones). If my gut feeling is right and it ends up being up to RM70K+, it’s a DOA product for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:35 am

I doubt it will be priced up to RM 75K – the Preve CFE is already RM 72K and that’s a C-segment car.

I think at most this will be priced at RM 60K for the high-end model, similar to the Picanto/Mirage.

• Old dog on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:02 am

Same price? Which engine you want to choose? Close case if protong price it that way….

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Definitely not the Mirage. Despite the RM 64K price tag they managed to make it cheap somehow, and the so called fuel saving engine doesn’t really work without being light footed.

Picanto is in a different segment.

• powershot (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:36 am

its mentioned in the papers. the price range will be around rm 40k ~ 60k. it is going to compete with myvi. doesn’t make sense if it is priced higher than that.

• BNR32 on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:19 pm

And that is why I hope I will be wrong, when they announce the RRP. I am just severely disturbed by some BS from a certain senile old man who publicly said that the Iriz will be priced higher than we expect. I don’t remember hearing or reading such a thing before from a mainstream car manufacturer. Proof that he thinks Malaysians will eat up any nonsense.

But then again, when has Proton ever made sense? They now have 4 different C-segment cars in their line up (can I count the Neo as a C-seg car?), all of them priced very close to each other with significantly different looks, and only one B-segment car. Their only D-seg car is a fricking rebadged last-gen Accord, and they have the cheek to call Perodua a rebadger.

• Allen on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:47 pm

I doubt you can could include Preve and Suprima S into the comparison as it serves different purpose even though in same segment.

Just like Jazz and City. B-seg hatch and sedan.

Persona must go ASAP

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:36 pm

I think you need to look at his statement from another perspective. All this while, Proton has always had a price advantage over Perodua. Their Saga (which competes in the same segment as the MyVi) is priced lower than a similarly equipped MyVi. Usually, a sedan will always cost more than a hatchback. A few thousand RM more. And Perodua is but a rebadger! A lot less R&D cost!

I think this time, Proton will choose to give up that price advantage to improve their product.

• Jimmy on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Early bird booking RM40K low spec pre-launch.
      RM55K high spec.
      See the response first then decide on final price + RM2K (to give room for future discount).
      Or, start with lower price, then add this that at a later stage to increase to the target price to achieve the target profit, when the words of mouths are all good.

• thedarkside on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:15 am

its sooo good looking I thought its the new ferarri!!!

• thedarkside on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:15 am

its sooo good looking I thought its the new ferarri!!!

• Saya bekas pemilik proton wira, tetapi selepas proton mengeluarkan gen2, saya terus hilang minat pada proton. Sehinggalah sekarang. Pada saya model baru ini adalah yang terbaik pernah proton hasilkan, baik dari segi rekebentuk mahupun teknologi enjin. Di harap model baru ini dapat mengembalikan keyakinan rakyat terhadap proton dan menembusi pasaran global. Tahniah proton.

• Krasher on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:41 am

Not bad. My only complaint is the missing arm rest.

• Old dog on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:58 am

Cronies supplier: thanks for the idea! 1k added…viola!

• Krasher on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Seriously wtf is wrong for giving a armrest instead of 6-8 cupholder whereby I can’t even used them all at once?!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:46 am

wow… so many positive comments

we petodua n umw salesman n diehard fans must work harder n harder

lets unite together
    remember savvy?? bla bla…. resale value bla bla… proton sell cheaper outside ( perodua sell cheaper outside… psyyyyyy dian diam sudah la)

• tfishp on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:21 am

Now we wait for it’s name lel

• Old dog on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:21 am

When price at rm50k, I want to see how much sales it can sustain, then all fan boy and protong management will start blaming the consumer again, and M will start making noise again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Allen on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Well perhaps you are expecting this car to be priced at 30k? to beat A-segment Axia with no ABS, etc?

• hart932 on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:25 am

I believe the high spec 1.6L version will go for RM60K plus which is still cheap compared to Jazz 1.5L. After all Iriz is Honda based including the NEW engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • LoveProton on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:08 am

Its a good things about Malaysia is, everyone are open to give their thought.

In the first round, either your comments is good or bad.PROTON already won. 1-0, because Iriz already take your attention.

To prove ur comments, go and see the car at show room once it available. You will amaze!!!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:51 am

we salesman our main target is sales n how many this car will be on the road

we don’t care what features given or if customer happy or not

for us… sales figure is number one

Albert lam
    perodua salesman

• pirlo on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:17 am

was it Albert Lam or Albert Ngu?

• I didnt care about a car fuel consumption and long term durability, just 100,000km is good to run 5 years enough already.

Peyno
      Proton Blind Fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • FC as advertised is quite good. Full tank from Bkt Kayu HItam to JB is easily 17.5km/l

• Pro-ton on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:03 am

i must admit it look nicer than myvi se.
    lets us wait for the rear design :P

• anchua on Sep 01, 2014 at 9:37 am

PCC sound like PCC…u know, pah chiu cheng…I am just saying. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Good looking, decent interior, engine power is more than enough, handling and safety are the best (now is the signature of Proton).. This car is good.. However, hopefully our Malaysian plz be rational in expecting the price of this car. Don’t expect it to start from rm30k+..u will not get it. gonna be around rm44-59k i think

• BNR32 on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:36 pm

To be really honest, I think this car is worth RM55K tops, and that is stretching it a bit far. To me, stuff like 6 airbags, all-around disc brakes and VDC are mainstream safety equipment that any cheap car can have (I bloody hate it when similiar cars are sold in disc and drum options). It’s just that we Malaysians have been taken for a ride all along by other manufacturers who want to remove safety to increase their profit margins.

I can accept things like removing paddle shifters or auto aircon or auto headlamps because these are non-essential gimmicks, but safety equipment should be made standard across the board. There is nothing amazing about 6 airbags, ABS or ESC when they have already achieved economies of scale a long time ago. Sad to say not in our country who treat those as a premium.

• Price is really important factor for national car. I’m quite worried that Proton may misplace on the price tag. I don’t how, but I think current Malaysian are not ready to change their perception. They buy a car bcoz of the badges. sadly.

• Porsche guy on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:51 am

Cant believe it….DID PROTON HIRE CYBER TROOPS HERE?

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Front looks good, bravo on that. Finally the design looks quite harmonious, suggesting they’ve upgraded stamping, molding, etc machineries so it looks much more refined.

But, at expected rm40k-60k, that is too steep. Good luck

• Allen on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:41 pm

It is longer, wider, higher and longer wheelbase than Myvi, what will be the problem to sell at myvi price range? As it does provide much better safety feature.

So who are selling their cars too steep?

• AliffRamly on Sep 01, 2014 at 12:40 pm

I think it looks quite nice. The parking camera thing, and the push-start button, is what I think, a big improvement. Although the plastic which used to make the interior is still kind of low-quality, but I really hope they’ll make a change to that. Once again, congratulations on Proton. (Just note that I am not a “Proton supporter” from the comments above, I’m just saying that Proton’s new car is nice, and that’s it.)

• The interior of this car is so fugly. Hard cheap plastic everywhere, the power button on the non-touchscreen radioset is upside down, and the gearknob looks like a drumstick straightout of KFC. And still people are complimenting this car. Hmm, probably this is the best car Proton can do?? Pricing wise, do people really think it’s going to be cheap?? OHH, this car look cheap anyway. Hope to hear good news from new owners.

• cheapos on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Vios and most B segmenters also use hard plastics and look cheap. Vios bodykit is mistakenly looks like a turbo car and what is under the hood is very dissapointing – a puny 1.5l engine, that’s a joke. LOL

• Well done on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:03 pm

To those who sing praises on this car. Let me see you put your money where your mouth is. Jangan jer support by typing on the keyboard yo.

• We deserve a good car at low price.

Proton selling Preve 1.6Auto full safety + 5 years free service @ australia at only RM44,000….

But we get a shit B-Segment 1.3 with no buttock for RM40k.

We Deserve a Justice.

Good car cannot come cheap? Why u sell so cheap @ Australia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Mr Genius on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Yes, Malaysia and Australia has the same tax structure.

Genius.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:57 pm

how about perodua car delling cheaper in overseas???

oooo tu lainnnn b

• inspira owner on Sep 01, 2014 at 1:27 pm

it looks good… but after gen2,neo & inspira… i would say no… bcos proton never “insaf” to solve service centre issue i.e.. “biasala proton”.. and availability of sparepart not to mention the stupid COE sc. i already got all new accord. but the inspira still used due to dropped RV…. nvm.. kereta ke pasar. but still.. proton always proton.. anyway.. dun mention this is savvy replacement. otherwise another failure

• I think it resemble Rosmah.

Nice Rosmah Signature on a Proton Body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • adnrer on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:38 pm

You must me her admirer, everytime you look anything you will see her lol

• Poton 5S,

Sendiri cakap!
    Sendiri shiok!
    Sendiri beli!
    Sendiri warranty!
    Sendiri nangis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • Jurgenklisman on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:23 pm

I bet 99% of ex-proton owners agree with these!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • That can’t beat 7″o” toyoyo:
        1.Overpriced
        2.Overhyped
        3.Obsolete
        4.On garbage lorries
        5.Out of proportion
        6.Outdated
        7.Overrrated

• Same L0rrr on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:25 pm

What is the difference between obsolete and outdated? overpriced and over

First, you need to improve your vocabulary. Second, use logical thinking (with fact) when you make such list.

Don’t follow the Proton 4-Good principle:
          1. Sounds Good
          2. Looks Good
          3. Promised Good
          4. But Never Truly Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 5:22 pm

yes… umw product is bad.. not comparible with real toyota jdm product

peyno
          6 years in japaaan n n

• gary lee on Sep 01, 2014 at 2:38 pm

i will sale my myvi low class and get this iriz ASAP…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • pirlo on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:21 pm

dear paul,

dont you see the comments here from locals are ridiculous? especially when it comes to proton and perodua.

• Perfecto on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Sorry just screw this myvi+fiesta rojak lookalike junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • kulop on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Well done proton..overall i think proton is getting better..just the interior is still havent change much..

• Car_fan on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Even if it’s the best car in its class, it’s already too late to save proton. The trust has been lost, no one in Malaysia wants to buy a proton given the choice. The supporters are supporting because they own a proton, who in the right mind would run down your own car, right? The bashers just want to see the end of proton so that they can buy less expensive non national cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Why in Thai Accord 2.4l is 180k despite it’s no national car maker?

• Peaceaim on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Wow copy Proton EMAS concept…

• JamPaPaya on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Good Car cannot come cheap.

Challenge:: Provide Same Level of taxation for all cars already.

We can see, Which are good cars, Fair Comparisons.

• waxxe on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Proton also highly taxed, same level of taxation means Proton is still cheaper than other cars. Can get Preve at Jazz price in Thai

• explorer (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Hallo JamPaPaya..
      Don’t know act like knowing everything…
      Proton/Perodua also taxed same as other locally manufactured car…
      for example:

below 1800cc, 75% (excise duty), 10%(Sales tax)

if import, add 30% import duty.

Which part is unfair to you?

• Look like Proton utilise SPE E01 patent on this new engine.. E01 VVT + Campro…

• JamPaPaya on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:11 pm

I rather buy a Greatwall M4 SUV 1.5L EEV RM50k Auto.
    Fuel saving car,bigger and better than a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • M4 has asbestos inside, scared got cancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • explorer (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Please…buy one.

• iluvm4 on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:09 pm

I rather died in M4 with asbestos then buy this junk! All cheapo plastic materials for the interior make you died faster than asbestos.

• Kuning on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Perodua is having a diarrhea now.

• Looks good and fresh from the front. Pls show the full picture of the rear and interior asap. I cant wait any longer..!

• Another Bail Out fo Proton after this Kangkung car is launched on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Here comes the Savvy upgrade ….. which will end up just like the Savvy car …. bad, worst and unspeakable after awhile … I think this will be the end of proton …. pray hard rakyat Malaysia, we can do it …CLOSE DOWN PROTON ..Once and for all !!

Well unless Khazanah\DRB wants to pump in another 6 billion to save protong !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:12 pm

As an owner of a Savvy, I can safely say that it isn’t that bad a car – it’s just that Malaysians aren’t smart enough to treat it differently than your usual Japanese econobox.

Drives far better than a Myvi/Vios, I can tell you that.

• Not yet launched you said it’s bad? lol so desperate and butthurt

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:43 pm

I heard you. Let’s do it.

Many people from Tanjung Malim city.. not buyers anyway..

Desperate to save their bloody sucking company. . Global Preve ve failed.

Last shot for another failure.

Mari launch.. x sabar nak gelak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:22 am

bloiding sucking company??
        u mean our 2nd nasional car???
        ask for incentive, got gomen privilege , protected market( no daihatsu alya in malaysia) and sell expenvice for rakyat n srlling cheaper in overseas??

• iluvm4 on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:11 pm

wait till they get the 1.7b taxpayers’s money only they will launch this GSC, or else they got no excuse to ask for more money!

• I’m working at steel processing center which supplying raw material to proton and proton’s vendor. If Proton closed, it will create unemployment problems among Malaysian, thus affected Malaysian economy. Proton is moving at right direction. So, please give constructive advice, and stop babbling..

• fupoton on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:13 pm

looks like your are the 0.01% rakyat that sucks our hard earn money, go to hell and shut up…

• Translate

English

Malay

Spanish

Detect language

Malay

English

Spanish

walaupun 0.01%, namun saya masih rakyat Malaysia yang memerlukan pekerjaan, tempat tinggal, makan minum dan saya tak buat apa-apa kesalahan yang bercanggah dengan perlembagaan

even 0.01%, but I still Malaysians who need job, home, food and I did not do anything unconstitutional offenses.. Your word does not effect Proton and me at all..

• Username1 on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Whenever got news about proton surely the comments section will be longer than the article itself. Heck, i came straight to the comments first before even reading the article because its such good entertainment seeing all these proton basher vs supporter arguments.

• Albert Lee on Sep 01, 2014 at 7:13 pm

This car ,outwardly looks not bad.It resembles the Myvi with the lower jaw of the Vios.Its like a crossbreed of Myvi/Vios.
    Anyway,lets give Proton a chance to excite the market after perodua’s Axia launch.
    Good or not,time will tell after the car is delivered and test driven by(I hope)Paul Tan himself.
    Proton,you have lost much market share to Perodua,it’s redemption time.
    If still cannot compete,the future indeed is ‘DEEP SHADOWS”

• My only issue is the front bonnet line. Should be straight. But this is only one angle.

• Denaihati on Sep 01, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Not bad, looks absolutely much better than savvy, i hope interior also with premium material and better sound proof. maybe can compete with myvi.

• Harry on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:03 pm

…..INI KALI LAH….
    Proton double thumb up…..Cheers

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:28 pm

i still don see how is this a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Hope proton can either increase wheel size or use thicker tyres, as the car looks kinda floating from side view. Trust me it will look good even without bodykits.

• Savvy88 on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Theophilus, please render the new gen SAGA based in this model pleaseeeeee

• SamlorrVanganG on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:47 am

wahhh!!!!!! nice design indeed! all the best to proton!!!!! i know that proton hv improved a lot! well done proton. i’m buying this car for sure, dont care what others says! i like!

• bolehblah on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:46 am

Hm..
    I dont mind any copy who.
    But why plastic a lot??

• fahmi on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:40 am

huh. complain2 till mati pun never enough. if u hate P1/P2. just buy the fancy2 audi/merc/bmw/kia/hyundai/toyota/honda la. IF YOU “CAN” AFFORD, good for you. because p1/p2, there is certain level of buyers who can only afford this so called “junk” , kita bukan semua kaya meh. my father PROTON WIRA, he bought 20 years ago still bole jalan till today..

• superman on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:48 am

this PCC is going to make Proton make or break. if this car unsuccessful. better close if it worked then work on improvement but under a new management and not drb alam flora pos Malaysia ppl. I can see so mucg aggressive comments by drb and people employed by them to post positive comments here. by being aggressive and rude you will not sell the car. a good car and brand sells itself. here it looks like if you don’t buy the Iriz we will hunt you down and kill you. looks like gangsters.

• The PCC design looks promising though some people wanted more aggresive outlook. Surely it can competes with myvi in term of spec and pricing with other makes. Proton has to work hard to gain people’s confidence here.. not like the korean and japanese whom are diehard supporters of their products…(here patriotism has been corrupted a lot)..dalam merdeka

• Ah Seng ProtonBasher on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:17 pm

All proton blind supporters still believed that this car will revive the proton unfortunately it will never happend as long as this company is controlled by those bloodsucker cronies…hopeless idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Well Done! Proton
    This time really can make Malaysia car market change,
    hopefully can make one more legend like Wira and Waja
    waiting queue is more than a year.
    But Proton management please don’t quo the price too high or else the project Iriz can fail due to
    too expensive.
    Exterior, interior, technology is achieve international standard or better
    Really proud for Proton, this is our truely National car!

• ikan masak tau chu (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:29 pm

hope the signal lever on the right side of the steering wheel…

• sch_gm on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Look like Myvi, Smashed Myvi

• #taksokongsesape on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:57 pm

stop bashing… if your are really good about quality in making car. go joint their vehicle quality,quality engineer,procurement. instead you talking like an expert inside this website. talking like hell.. the car also not event launched yet. talk like you have drive that car already. yes in the history proton quality are very bad. try to open your narrow minded. make some research first. than only comment.. *annoyed