Chevrolet Malibu launched in Malaysia – 2.4L, RM155k

Chevrolet Malibu Launch- 35

Chevrolet Malaysia has finally launched the Chevrolet Malibu in our market. It’s been a long time coming, the Malibu, GM’s D-segment sedan that will join a competitive class with the Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Nissan Teana, Mazda 6, Hyundai Sonata, Kia Optima K5, Volkswagen Passat and Peugeot 508 in attendance.

To confront the talent above, the Malibu carries a hint of American muscle in the design that looks handsome in the metal. The sedan’s rear-end, with “Camaro-inspired” quad tail lamps, is particularly distinctive.

At 4,865 mm long, the Malibu is about the length of an Accord (4,870 mm) but its wheelbase of 2,737 mm is pretty short in the class. But as the Mazda 6 (2,830 mm) shows, outright WB length doesn’t always translate to great legroom – packaging counts. The Chevy’s boot holds 462 litres, and the rear seat folds 60:40 for bigger items.

Chevrolet Malibu Launch- 13

The Malibu is powered by a 2.4 litre Ecotec engine with 165 hp and 225 Nm of torque, available at 4,600 rpm. The DOHC four-cylinder unit with Intake Valve Lift Control is paired to a six-speed conventional torque converter automatic gearbox with manual mode (+/- buttons on top surface of gear knob). 0-100 km/h is done in 9.6 seconds before a top speed of 206 km/h is reached.

Sitting on GM’s Epsilon II platform that also underpins the Opel/Vauxhall Insignia and Buick Regal, the big Chevy is suspended by MacPherson struts in front and a multi-link unit at the back. The electric power steering an adaptive “variable effort” system. The wheels are 18-inchers wrapped with Bridgestone Potenza RE050A 245/45 tyres.

The single, high LTZ trim available here includes things like HID headlamps with washers, heated wing mirrors with turn signals, a tyre pressure monitoring system, single-zone auto air-con, cruise control, auto dimming rear-view mirror, keyless entry with push start and eight-way power adjustable seats (with lumbar) for both driver and passenger.

Chevrolet Malibu Launch- 4

Also in the mix is a “MyLink” six-speaker sound system with seven-inch touchscreen (flips up to reveal a storage area), AUX-in, USB, Bluetooth, reverse camera and steering controls. Remote engine start means you can warm up the engine and cool down the cabin via the key fob.

The instrument panel, with Camaro-style square-hooded dials, is lighted up in “ice-blue”. The same hue is used for ambient lighting that glows out from the dashboard and doors. Four airbags (dual-front and side), ABS, Brake Assist and “StabiliTrak” electronic stability control (ESC) make up the safety kit.

The Chevrolet Malibu 2.4 LTZ is a CBU import from South Korea, priced at RM155,444 on-the-road excluding insurance. It is covered by a factory five-year/200,000 km warranty. Full specs at CarBase.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This Chevy still don’t learn their mistake. Look at the sales of Cruze & Sonic. As long as you stay with Naza, the sales won’t go anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 83
    • Jaybond on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Then how about Peugeot & Citroen? These brands are doing pretty well locally under the Naza banner. I personally think it’s more about the Chevy brand itself, which is still not gaining enough popularity in the local market especially in small & medium sized passenger car segment. Naza should bring in the Opel brand!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
      • Ask any of the Citreon or Peugeot owners personally. There were season these brands sold more previously. Now after a while people realised how bad Naza is, people stop buying the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 37
        • kington on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Yes, i know of a few owners of Pugs. Happy with the car with some hardware problems (turbo) but were mostly put off by NAZA’s inexperience in handling these cars to be exact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
          • Great Hocus on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:26 am

Kalau Naza yang jual, saya tak beli. thumbs down !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • SUVobserver on Sep 02, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Naza took unsold pre-facelift stocks from abroad at steep discounts from Chevy … and try to resell it here to innocent Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 43
        • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Interesting. You have any concrete documented proof of what you’re saying? Otherwise you’re slandering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 19
          • Lpost on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Well said lowprofile!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
          • OtakUdang Profile on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:35 am

Halo Lawyer Beruk….Go see yourself first before nak cakap olang slander.. 2015 and 2014 models

http://www.chevrolet.com/malibu-mid-size-sedan/exterior-pictures.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
          • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:52 am

@OtakUdang Profile, do you know the models offered to the rest of the world vs the models ONLY for USDM market? i hear you and know where you’re coming from. but sometimes, just seeing other websites is not enough to have the full picture. and yes, i’m 100% sure of what i’m talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:12 am

plus, the issue i was highlighting is this “Naza took unsold pre-facelift stocks from abroad at steep discounts from Chevy”. not about the pre-facelift or facelifted version. so, can naza take the facelift from GM? is it available outside of USA? and for what they took, did they get steep discounts? i was just questioning the validity of that statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Chevy on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:46 pm

The new 2014 facelift Sonic Sedan and Cruze is very good looking. Check it out ok. :-)

• Gargantia on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Agreed with you, is does look nice.

It’s a really nice car back in S.Korea, but after launch in Bolehland the selling price and safety spec is not up to standard.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:02 am

I don’t think it’s just Naza that’s turning away potential customers. The local reviews on the Sonic were quite bad. The Cruze also didn’t seem to be an outstanding car compared to its rivals. That in addition to the GM recall fiasco and the lack of brand building locally really put Chevy under the radar of many Malaysians. So far, I’ve only ever seen about 2 Sonics on the road and I think I only recall seeing one Malaysian Cruze.

Would I buy a Chevy if I had the money? Probably not, with the exception of the Malibu. And it doesn’t sit very high on my list of D-segmenters, either. It does have an interesting price point for a 2.4L D-segment sedan, though. 155k RM for something that usually costs around 180k-190k. But it IS the pre-facelift version, so…

• hailat on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Sure confirm Sam Loo will thrash this car as Kimchi hamburger (fake american burger).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • RUGAL on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Great price for 2.4 range d-segment cars here in malaysia..other than that, suzuki kizashi makes sense for less than 155k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • kzm (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:13 pm

How can this Korean CBU price much better than ASEAN CBU or local CKD? It make me wonder since korean made get 30% import tax versus none for ASEAN CBU. It suppose translate to at least 30% pricier..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:14 pm

u can say its cheap…but with a questionable after sales like suzuki…u can say it will end up like the kizashi..which was a seriously good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • regretbuyingfromsimedarbyautoconnexxion on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:50 am

questionable after sales like suzuki? although they’re not the best, i’d say depending on the dealership, they’re definitely not as bad as SimeDarbyAutoConnexxion.

anybody willing to buy my fiesta?

• tishaban on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:24 pm

The 2.0l turbo Ecotec engine would’ve been much more impressive, Golf GTI performance on a D-segment sedan. As it is though the Malibu is pretty meh compared to the rest of the D-segment offerings.

• This car looks wierd, the rear especially too much resemblence of a Camaro. I dont find Chevy cars particularly attractive, at least compared to Ford. This model will be another white elephant at showrooms. Poor resale, poor SC and outdated tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • RM155K is a death wish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
  • Jimmy on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Price is not bad, at least they listened to customers, remembering that there will be some discount from dealers which will make it below RM150k.
    Sadly, 4 airbags only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Turbo the Way to GO on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Nice car. But I would have preferred they used a slightly smaller turbocharged engine.

Volkswagen 1.4 twincharged engine churns out :
    160bhp, and 240Nm torque at 1500rpm.

• Is Chevrolet showroom in M’sia exist?

How come i couldn’t find one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Better add a bit more for an A3 on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Not worth it, 4 airbags, for RM155k is quite bad, I would rather add a bit more and go for the Audi A3.
    This Malibu will have Poor resale, poor SC and outdated tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • “(+/- buttons on top surface of gear knob).”
    Gone will be the manual shifting feel….

• Norman J on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:08 pm

With limited number of dealers & 3S centres (within 6 to 7 states in Semenanjung), I doubt Chevy can ever grow big in Malaysia. Chevy needs to expand like Peugeot (also under Naza) to make an impact.

As for Malibu, the legroom for rear passengers is much smaller than other D-Segment cars.

• Tiger Q7 on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:20 pm

No no and no.not impressive at all.after sales service is disaster n disease which can’t be cure n rectified.some part if spoil need to wait, uncertain how many months.sc not trained.this car itself no turbo charged so no point to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Okay what the interior. Price not bad. Cant say the same with the after sales service as i dont know any friends who owns a Chevrolet. Any Chevrolet owners here?

• chevvy owner on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Hello, i am a chevvy owner. Cruze owner to be exact.. i can say this.. the car (cruze and malibu) are handsome cars… and different ( like alfa romeo) in malaysia. Price is competitive as well.

however, after sales servis is certainly not up to par. Even myvi and proton service centers offer much superior after sales service compared to chevvy service centers.

• roxas on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:56 pm

price well, looks good n muscular too

• ben yap on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:05 pm

In chinese, this is called, Chevrolet Kanibu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
    • lowprofile (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Actually, it is Mai Rui Bao. Well, that’s what they call it in China.

• Majuperak on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:11 pm

How to sell at such pricing ? RM155k ? wait till next year when they offer 30k discount to clear for 2013/2104 Malibu ….. Service Center manned by incompetent and no parts. Resale value ? you can forget about trade-in ……you will cry when they offer you. End up have to sell yourself …. sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Saw on one truck undisguised last week after Sg Besi toll.not very impressive.Size akin Civic.doesn’t look the price.

• ChevyOwner on Sep 02, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Hi

Chevy Owner here. To be honest, the after sales is great in 2008 UNTIL STOOPID NAZA took over. Back then i think it was under 50% GM directly. So you got a Tom Yam girl heading it. Those time, it was good. I got compressor changed, absorber changed without question asked. Parts are readily available as it is coming from thailand. Then Naza took over and terminate the service dealer contract. Long story short, I gave up this brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Mad flers

Yes, it is a fairly large engine for the price, but…. the value isn’t there. No leather, and the pathetic 4 airbags for the segment is absolutely disappointing. Not to mention, the Malibu is not that nice to drive as noted by the US journos. I’m not a fan of the front looks either.

It just puzzles me how did GM actually cook this up when the new (or even the older) Fusion looks so much better, and Chevy’s new Impala itself looks rather decent on the outside.

Get a 508. Your road tax won’t cost a bomb, and it is a lovely car to live with.

• KIA K5 still worth of money !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • just like that on Sep 02, 2014 at 5:28 pm

just get a 508 for 155k during discount. its the best d segment at that price. actually imo much better than cars with higher price. dont believe me?
    Check specs at CarBase.my

http://www.carbase.my/peugeot/508

Problems? every car company got service problems. you can join peugeot club malaysia forum and see for yourself everyone is happy with their 508.

• nanda on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:24 pm

no matter how good the car might be, even though it has a great looks with great style, the pricing is totally unacceptable. In USA its only USD22,465 convert to RM is only RM69K.but whooping RM155k.So where the balance RM86k going to?Into UMNO crony pocket for sure to protect those crappy Mahathir infested proton.Tipu Rakyat.As far as Automobile industry is concern in MALAYSIA…its been ripped off by those UMNO cronies.If not all of us will be enjoying luxury of owning quality safety cars at very reasonable price.Thanks Mahathir for ripping us and continue to rip us.May god save us from this money monsters.Selamat hari merdeka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • pearl on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:08 pm

I agreed with you…but leave blatant politics out of this discussion. .anywhere in the world people not happy with whoever governs them even in the USA..obama not a popular choice by vote..it is a fact..but I guess you must be obama supporter not the white cowboy guy in texas with fake tolerant face but thick white supremacy deep within. .so have you lived in USA? Sometimes life is hard anywhere but certainly better in some places you disgust because its where you get deported back when you are not wanted anymore in your dreamland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:08 pm

certain religion will definitely not buy this car due to the cross.
    Too bad this car won’t sell due to this reason alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:02 am

wat religion..it look fine to me.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:17 pm

it looks fine to u, but not fine to others.
        This certain religion is easily upset by many things.
        Not nice to mention the religion here.
        I just might be charged for SEDITION

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • khaizul on Sep 05, 2014 at 11:35 am

if you dare enough, then simply mention the religion you are talking about. If you know nothing about what is allowed and vice versa, learn it first before you just simply made up with the stupid conclusion.

• chevvy owner on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Rubbish.. i teach religious studies and no one says anything.. they like the car..

• Slightly disappointed with the spec, even though looks is subjective. Shouldn’t have compromised on the safety aspect – 6 airbags is a minimum for D segment. No aircon vents for the rear passengers, no dual zone.

After Sale Service is also a serious question.

Reminds me of Kizashi – a brilliant car but an epic failure. Wonder if this will meet the same fate !!

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:19 am

I will take this over any korean junk anyday of the week

• lol..this vehicle is Assembly in Korea also. Check Carbase.my please :)

• ss427 on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:50 am

Well looks like the Malibu you guys got is of the exact same model as we get in SG

http://chevrolet.com.sg/cars/malibu-2-4-ltz/

Sadly we got the same dekitted 4 airbags version as well. I understand the Daewoo built Malibu doesn’t really receive the same amount of continuous updates as the REAL, GM made Chevy Malibu in Detroit Michigan.

What GM did was to prep the molds and tools for this Malibu and then ship and install them at the Daewoo plant in Korea. Both LHD and RHD parts included.

From there on, all production, parts manufacture, supplies, logistics etc are handled by Daewoo Auto. GM may be Daewoo boss but GM adopts a rather hands off attitude towards Daewoo in their manufacturing of Chevy branded cars over there.

Unfortunately, for some reason, GM doesn’t see the need to replicate the same continuous improvements it offers to the Malibu in the USA to these overseas built Malibus. This is why we don’t get the facelifted version which offers significant improvements to the car both inside and drivability.

The Malibu is the first NON-rebadged Daewoo the plant manufactures. Even the Cruze was badged as a Daewoo in Korea for quite awhile.

Dual zone aircon was only available in the facelifted Malibu in USA. and rear aircon is NOT available in ANY Malibu no matter which part of the world the car is being built..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Captiva on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:00 am

Most of ppl is concerning after sale service and spare part. It is a challenge for Chevy to gain ppl confidence. Few years back, some of potential buyer would like to buy Captiva but heard some owner complaining that he has been waiting spare part more than 6 months.

• Paultan, please do driven for this and peugeot :)

• Berann on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:18 am

I rather get a brand new(unsold 2012 unit) Suzuki Kizashi with higher power (175hp/230nm @ 4k rpm) 6 airbags, rear aircond, CBU Japan etc at only RM 105+k OTR now.

• angahnet on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:53 am

As usual, overprice… Malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • v-power on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:40 pm

The overall ‘American-ness’ of the car might not win it many fans here; the chunky rear tail-lights and pedestrian ‘face’ makes it look…well, like a typical, big, lumbering American sedan. There’s no zing attached to it…like say the edgy and dramatic looks of an Optima K5, or the gorgeous lines of a Mazda 6, just to name a few.

For the Chevy brand to succeed, introducing more new models is never the answer…what Naza needs to do is tackle issues that people have longed highlighted; namely after sales, spare parts and maintenance…solve those issues and assure the public that owning a Chevy model would not be a money pit…only then will the brand win over some new buyers…maybe. And only then you can bring in new models…

Just remember Naza, ‘No buyer, no sale’…so don’t take customer concerns – people that can make or break your brand – with a pinch of salt…

• damonlee on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:50 pm

ex-chevy owner,
    i agreed with Chevy Owner. i used to owned a captiva back in 08. it was a nice car. furthermore the dealer @ federal highway is good. i have no issue with spare parts and even on warranty claim… until it reached Naza hand, things have changed.. i have to sold my captiva in 2012 with steering rack issues since i can’t replacement parts which Naza have problem bringing it in… sad for GM letting Naza spoiled thier name…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Gomati Sweety Lachimanan on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:13 pm

I love chevy. my x bf drive one car call captiva. after that he captured me in the car. so fast, good ride and enjoyable. now I asking my new bf to buy Malibu coz he likes to drink Malibu in beach club. if I go there with Malibu car. all jeles.

• wtf GSL ???

• Crosshairs on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:40 am

Fuh,
    Lots of cocktalkers here. There’s no one superior brand in this world. Try commute via Federal Highway to work on a daily basis. I saw an Audi on fire, BMW engine smokin’, Merz reduced to wreck and people die in all other expensive makes. Yes Naza is crap, but Chevy is not (so). If Chevy/GM is crap, they wouldn’t have the chance to ride on the biggest sci-fi movie in the world, Transformers and participated in many other projects globally. Typical Malaysians, go worship your Honda and Toyota lah. Every shit that Chevy produce, sure kena wallop. To each their own, we have had a fair share of good & bad experience in every make. I am an owner of Sonic, and I am very pleased with it so far. Does that make my Chevy experience is not to be taken into consideration due to more disses than praises?

• Rebellious on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

I do agree that Naza spoilt the Chevy brand, especially on their after-sales service and service center.
    If you have ever patronized 3S center of Toyota, Honda or even the Korean brands, you’ll find the 3S center of Chevy a big crap.
    Their service bay is no bigger than Ah Beng’s motorshop.
    And the way their mechanics do work is just full of shit. Recently I sent my Cruze for gearbox changed and it came back with dented front bonet cover and leaking power-steering oil. How can this happen to a 3S center???
    Frankly speaking, Naza only interested to sell the Chevy and do not have any experience in handling after-sales service at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • iswan on Sep 13, 2014 at 3:59 pm

www.facebook.com/nazawheels
    03-77267793
    call for test drive!

• PLOTONGKOMAN on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:25 am

NO TALKING TALKING..NO MONEY GObuy plotong n plodua maaa..Aiyaa..Easy what..?

• PLOTONGKOMAN on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:27 am

NO MONEY AAAA..? COME LOAN with me n go buy plotong plodua.. :-)

• Jenny on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Well.. Design of this car looks very boring, Normally, with that range of price, people will pick a luxury class car Personally, I will choose VW Passat and Honda Accord as both cars look more luxury and high class..

• oneday on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:38 pm

sangat minat ini kereta!

• kkmah on Sep 11, 2015 at 6:41 pm

i have intention to buy malibu ,with so many bad comment over the service center by Naza.I have to thing twice.Currently,who is the authorize dealer ?

• Mariner on Oct 07, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Sifu this page…

Currently chevy malibu offering this car with a better price which is 118k with a huge discount. Can anyone suggest the good and bad about this car or any comparison which has been made…i cant find much infor…heard they gonna open new 3S centre at johor jaya, johor bahru.

Please do advice….thanks in advance