Proton Compact Car: evolution of the EMAS Concept?

Is the upcoming Proton Compact Car (PCC) an evolution of the Proton EMAS Concept from 2010 (below left)? Yes, it sounds a little far fetched as the finished article looks nothing like the first concept, but there’s more to it than it may first seem.

Bridging the two designs is the single sketch released of the updated and “productionised” version of the EMAS (below right), then simply called the Proton Global Small Car (GSC). Putting the three designs together, the connection becomes clearer to see, doesn’t it?

Certain elements of the bold Italdesign Giugiaro-penned EMAS have been carried over to the production version intact, though toned down, obviously.

The PCC’s downturned front air intake (highlighted in red), for instance, has a similar shape to that shown on the five-door EMAS. Another direct link is the “side blade” that runs across the lower half of the doors, which is present on all three iterations (yellow).

Less obvious, but notable nonetheless, is the upswept design of the car’s shoulder line. On the EMAS, there’s a steep dip before a dramatic climb towards the back of the car. Refined and toned down on the interim sketch, this line is present on the upcoming PCC (orange).

Also carried over from start to finish is the position of the rear wheels, which are pushed so far back to warrant a visible “bump” at the rear end (blue/cyan), no doubt to the benefit of interior space. So, for those asking for a production version of the EMAS Concept, well, looks like this is it :)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Dont forget to mention both designs have 4 wheels

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 25
    • haha, but still cannot convince typical basher..

for me, the design is up to date for this car.
      cant wait to see it with my bare eye.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 9
      • I very much like it too. Just having good time and fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Bang, Proton mcm world class design. Proton designer better then the Italy guy. Gaji pun byk.

Proton to global, make the world standard quality.
          riz Byk ckp mcm pondan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
          • Dua Roda Sahaja on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:06 pm

I just love the headlamp design. esp with the inscription “PROTON”… i.e BMW style headlamps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:29 am

What IRIZ stands for:
            I-llustrious car!
            R-ealization to be global car!
            I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
            Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • BMW? ahha… them proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:21 pm

It looks more similar to i10 or Ford Fiesta actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 70
        • hrhrere on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:39 pm

as long as it got korean car DNA, it got no RV….i repeated it for you sam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:08 am

Low RV doesn’t mean it is bad car.

But no build quality definitely a JUNK!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:34 am

Iriz is 100% originally design by PROTON and it does not plagiarizing any design from other automaker. We should proud with PROTON that they can prove to the world that Malaysian capable to produce design competing world class automaker. Good job PROTON!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
        • Whatever it may look like. But it sure look like a hell of a car.
          By the way Im a Proton basher by nature…as long as they dont have international success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
          • Bash yourself as long as you cannot afford much much more expensive cars. That’s more beneficial for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:20 pm

but p2 salesman n p2 fanboys japan wannabe but cudnt afford real jdm said.. its from myvi

• Its really hard to understand why p1 & p2 fans rivalry doesnt work out of Malaysia

• kzm (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:54 am

no it look more similar with La Ferrari from side actually Same L0rrr. look further..

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:30 am

Car not yet launched, already hantam so kuat..Sigh, typical Same LOrr lifestyle:
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sendiri approved
          4. Sendiri pening
          5. Semakin sombong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:21 pm

typical basher?=perodua /umw salesman n perodua fanboys

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:31 pm

For you even with 1 tire, u still love Proton.

Proton king of road and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:28 am

What IRIZ stands for:
        I-llustrious car!
        R-ealization to be global car!
        I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
        Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

• I – illusion will success since can only sale in Bolehland
          R – ridiculous price of its quality
          I – ideally should fix all earlier model quality
          Z – zzzzZzz…protong should go to sleep…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • ProtonGSC on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:39 am

Z = Zombie feel when driving the car.

• iluvpoton on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:41 pm

You forgot lifetime warranty for power windows. For all 4 windows, good deal man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:38 am

The irony is other manufacturers do not offer lifetime waranty on power windows and yet the windows last more than 10 years or may be more.

• policeman on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Sudahlah, ari-ari PCC. Twice a day pun ada. Give it a rest. Once a week is more than sufficient.

No need to get so excited. You’ve all been through this before, all the excitement when Neo was about to launch. Same with Persona, Saga, Exora, Preve, Suprima. (Look at how conveniently I left out Inspira)

Don’t you people learn anything from history? Wishing for a quality product??? No expectations = No disappointments. Always keep this in mind when it comes to Proton.

Let me break the news to you. The car is going to suck. Suck really hard. The dash looks like my butt and the rear looks like a baboons butt. Guess why there are no full interior shots or rear shots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 47
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:55 am

ooo man..ur butt is plastic? who drill ur butt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • driver on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:55 am

if you don’t brave enough to dream, don’t drag others to join your bandwagon.

afraid for disappointments? go stay in your comfort zone…

• Low Budget on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:40 am

After many ‘excitements’, who knows this one is for real?

• If you don’t like Proton or the car, then just STFU and no need to comment lah. The reason why you are still commenting is that you still want to see news about this car. Love-hate relationship, ey?

• eims perfume on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:10 am

some haters still commenting just to get attention.. desperately

• Vens Yeoh (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:23 pm

It is common for newly awaited cars to have such excitement in media, especially local car maker, which in this case Proton. Perodua also get the same frequent coverage for Axia.Chill la..

One more thing, the car is not launch yet. How can you judge the appearance base on pics in internet? Wait until it officially launch and available at the showroom. See for your self, then you can comment. But like a wise man says, “If you look the world with the eye of a fly, you will only found filth. If you are looking using the eye of a bee,you will get the honey.” Simply said, if you are looking for bad thing, you will found bad things. If you try to look at positive and good thing, u might found it. Isn’t that makes your life happier? Cheers. :)

• rogaz on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:51 pm

If you produce the better and the cheaper so do it let me buy and condemn you.

• csdordor on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Less futuristic than the Emas concept? Yes.
    More conservative? Yes.
    Is it less interesting? Subjective.
    Will Iriz give Proton a new lease of life? We’ll see.
    Will Iriz give Malaysians a new perspective of Proton’s turnaround? That’s what they & Malaysians hope for.

IMO, I think the design is more adventurous than the Preve. The butt design is actually quite interesting. It’s in between the realm of 2014 Honda Jazz & Ford Fiesta.

The delayed is well called for if it’s true that Proton sacked their previous vendors for being awful. They & buyers wouldn’t want similar problems happening like what they’ve experienced for Preve & Suprima.

My 2 cents. Cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
    • The concept car looks ugly as hell, im glad the production one looks different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • mim (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Italian designers really like to be different. So different that it’s quite hard for typical consumers to like their designs.

• driver on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:57 am

I’d use “less ambitious” or “less daring” instead of “typical”.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:49 am

PROTON have their own reason why the GSC car launched delayed for 2 years. Yes, maybe csdordor right because of opting the best and reliable vendors for this GSC project. But, what I heard from source is that because of the transition period between Khazanah and DRB. DRB doesn’t want any shadow of Khazanah in its new compact car so they re-design the car and produce what it capable to depict as world class car with new brand images. Anyway, Ah Beng fully appreciates what DRB had done in ensuring PROTON competitiveness in world market. PROTON will ready to conquer Europe once they succeeding the engine development for european emission std euro 5. Good luck PROTON! Truly Malaysian support you!!

• Whynot on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:20 pm

I like this car. But please! If you intend to beat Perodua, please don’t kill us with a higher price which we cannot afford. We will have no choice but will buy Perodua car if it is way too high. Remember where you stand and the source of your income before Perodua ever existed! Proton is for Malaysian. If it is meant to sell like continental car. Then we should not support Proton any more. For Proton had abandoned us Malaysian for cronies!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:55 pm

How about Myvi pricing or a bit above? People want better quality, and that means pay more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:04 pm

see

bash proton skit
      praise perodua skit

typical perodua macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Abu Sayur on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:34 pm

No its not

• I dont know why, but, i like the emas more for overall design

• pinkturbo on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:35 pm

It would have been really nice if Proton adopted the Emas concept design. But still, the new PCC looks great either.

The only part that bugs me though is the size. Everyone seems to say this is a Myvi beater. Maybe, if it’s sized up right.

Frankly, with the safety features and standard alone it wins over the Myvi’s as well as the new Axia IMHO.

Let’s just hope it’s sized right… can’t really tell the difference from earlier the spyshots but it does looks promising :D

• JamPaPaya on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Cannot expect Proton Designer as good as Italdesign Giugiaro.

Now, with Rosmah Body it looks Fatty Cute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
  • mojokojo on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:41 pm

So the front end never copied any other car design than…its totally from the concept gsc…good job p1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Komissar on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:45 pm

It’s just another hatchback in a sea of more hatchbacks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • iluvpoton on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:47 pm

How could you said that!, blind basher, it is hardly see P1 can come out with their “own” design that copy myvi. It is worth it after they spent 1.7b of taxpayers’s money. Their design team need to have 5 hours tea time per day and 3 hours working hours. It is really hard for them, you know. 1.7b is not enough for there talented staff, they need to ask more or else they wouldn’t have 5 months bonus before next year raya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
      • How could you said that!, blind basher, it is hardly see P1 can come out with their own design. It is worth it after U only spent less 100k of money. Their design team have to work 15 hours time per day and 3 hours rest. It is really hard for them, you know. Ur less 100k is not enough for there talented staff, they need to ask more or else they wouldn’t have best nasional car for future which is U affordable.

• Go lah you blind basher!You know this car didn’t use Myvi design!Your eyes got problem is it?Aiyoo!

• After highlighting the front grille, I noticed it looked like the current fiesta a little.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Mozilla Chrome on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:50 pm

I don’t think so. If Emas is being put into production it will be almost same size as Axia which belongs to A segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:53 pm

u dont seem to understand the article. It only says the pcc (possibly)takes dome design cues from the Emad concept, not the size/dimension etc…not taking the entire Emas concept and make this pcc.

• Penjebon Tegar on Sep 02, 2014 at 6:52 pm

it will be cool if this design is expanded to become a small sized sedan as well.

• The concept from 2010…productionised now..its a long time coming =)

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:18 pm

remember concrpt car of kancil??? bezza???

syok sendiri ??
      prffthhh

• Moha774 on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Maybe Emas concept design cue has been ditch, since Italdesign has been bought over by VW Groups

• after comparing with EMAS,
    Disappointed = What i feel..

Not Futuristic anymore, outdated design.
    Inspiration of Rosmah Signature Body Concept ona Emas.

Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • hrhrere on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:36 pm

bodek rosmah better use “DIAMOND”, not emas…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • toidi on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:07 pm

She will probably see you in court, you want? I can report it to her and get some cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • tahipoton on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:34 pm

What emas, more like tahi for me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
  • Diesel Power!!! on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Can proton just launch the car?!?!?

No need to keep on show this & that!

Is it waiting for Christmas only launch???

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:38 pm

You forget 1 important think, Tun love spyshot and Proton fansboy like Tun spyshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Poton5S on Sep 02, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Poton 5S;

Sendiri cakap!
    Sendiri shiok!
    Sendiri beli!
    Sendiri warranty!
    Sendiri nangis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
    • That is most suitable for retard named Same Lorrr

• Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:11 am

My discovery of Proton 5S lifestyle is:
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

But “Sendiri Warranty, Sendiri Nangis” also quite true. These are for Proton OWNER 5S lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Innovative 5S. Lucu betul.

• rogaz on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:53 pm

everything have problem you talk about you that you. What do you do make you so perfect to condemn proton

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:02 pm

yes… the design is evolution of emas

but sime butthurt perodua salesman n perodua owner who never exposed ti overseas market of small compact car… they said ini design tiru myvi

overseas ppl must be laughing at them

• I come here to see you joke around, every hour.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:34 pm

as i said .. peyno will appear when p2/umw salesman start talking kok here

rakyat bosan oredi

peyno 6 years in japan oso not like p2 macai japan wannabe

• not Sushi wanna be.

We want a Good Quality Car.

If Proton Provided us with Honda Brio 1.2L engine, Perfect.

now, Proton VVT? no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:05 pm

good quality car??? get the real JDM car

once u drive jdm… all jepun celup asean made umw etc are
            suck

peyno
            6 years in japan oso tak kecoh

• hondabored on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Honda no turbo here, boring
            No turbo no buy

• Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:15 am

With Perodua and Toyota, you don’t need to pay extra for your fellow foreman, cause you get build quality.

When you don’t have to pay this pay that in sudden, you can save money.

The money you saved eventually enable you to enjoy the real JDM car. Like a lot of Toyota owners actually buy Lexus/Mercedes/BMW/Audi in CASH!!

Proton owner… No money saved due to regular break down, somemore RV also bad. how??

That’s why i said: You may not poor to buy Proton, but the Proton will definitely make you poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:11 am

with realmtoyota JDm you do not worry about quality
            but with malaysian assembled perodua n umw .. u must
            worry… they just hidding behind the name of real jdm toyota product

ppl who drive real toyota JDM, usdm, edm know.. umw products are suck.. low quality same as others local product

but those who never own real toyota JDM, they believe PNB perodua n umw such as unser, avanza n innovo quality is the best

rakyat smart
            orediiii

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:19 am

wassap policeman
            yup i used to be there 10 years ago

yes. my life 6 year in japan n know better aboaut japanese product n culture.. i just a normal person who hate thise malaysia like p2/ umw salesman… trying promoting his so called ” japan DNA” by condemning others

the funny thing… even super less gomen related comp such honda, nissan, kia, merc, bmw salesman n owner dont talking kok about NAP, protection , rakyat money bla bla

but p2 salesman n umw where rakyat know they are protected under NAP usually bash proton on NAP n protection issues

funny riye

• policeman on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:50 pm

hey peyno. Are you the same peyno from 2005/2006 time at motortrader forum?

We used to bash MyVi together. Guess who I am.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:20 am

wassap policeman
            yup i used to be there 10 years ago
            yes. my life 6 year in japan n know better aboaut japanese product n culture.. i just a normal person who hate thise malaysia like p2/ umw salesman… trying promoting his so called ” japan DNA” by condemning others
            the funny thing… even super less gomen related comp such honda, nissan, kia, merc, bmw salesman n owner dont talking kok about NAP, protection , rakyat money bla bla
            but p2 salesman n umw where rakyat know they are protected under NAP usually bash proton on NAP n protection issues

funny riye

• You are wrong.Proton have reach US market but only we didn’t know.And plus,all those car starting from Preve till Proton GSC and future is going to be global rated.They are be tested in Antartic,Russian and other country.Proton is going to be among Popular car manufactures like Honda, Toyota, Lexus and the other on maybe nextyear.GO GO PROTON!!!!

• Jaguh Kampung on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Opinion may differs but IMO, it still looks like a Myvi except with a sharper eyes and wider mouth. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:16 pm

like myvi??? coz u jaguh kampung n only exposed to kampung market

ppl who exposed to overseas market said this car like rio, picanto, fiesta

tau n pernah dengar tak kia rio????

org kg tau myvi jerr

prffthhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Blind….it looks good and you link it with myvi?how old are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Cheers for you,Bitch!

• DrCooper on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:11 pm

So, are expecting hybrid version in the near future ?

• policeman on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:05 am

No, we are not expecting anything. it’s a Proton. No expectation = No disappointments.

• Looks alot like the new vios….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • catfishdugong on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Nah, new vios looks like fugly catfish

• Sour grapes….put this side by side to a vios and you’ll see the similarity in design language…from headlight linking the grill in a uniform line….fierce catfish lower grille and the foglight area DRL….
        Typical basher

• Derek on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:16 pm

First impression, oh new Viva….
    Then realized it is a Proton cars.
    Oh yes, it is new Savvy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • zamzama on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:30 pm

i think i saw an intercooler… niceee…..

• autoblog.com on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Yea…turbo,pay more 10k u will get intercooler version

• carnut on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Looks more like evolution of MYVi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • otakudang on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Since the design can catch a lot of attention to young and small family buyers, i think this is the perfect time to give 5 years factory waranty. It may seem a bit ambitious, proton should understand that many buyers are looking at small(if not so small) affordable car. Majority of my officemates are currently driving compact car, and i believe more and more prospects will enter the market very soon. If proton can give every features on car that buyers want, why not extend your gratitude to your customer by giving them peace of mind owning it.

• ionlaw on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Just give me the report for the 100,000 km run…

• ProtonGSC on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:29 pm

No need report la.
      Wira 200,000 km still no problem, single tank travel whole m’sia.

Proton fanboys love 3 tires Proton.

• autoblog.com on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Pricing below 50k for highest spec ,then can potong myvi and axia sale

• muhd.alif firdaus on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:36 pm

nice and geart model but must stand together like proton saga flx sv 1.3 don’t like previous model proton savy and proton tiara no value..hope proton emas new model hacthback can give more value and cheaper price in other model or less

• drMpower on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:40 pm

why cant they maintain atleast 80% of the initial concept? why must they only maintain 20% of the real EMAS? of course we know concepts are concepts and countless didnt even make into production

but EMAS is kinda complete to me. and it can be done. just look at the mitsubishi MIEV. it represents the fact and proof EMAS initial design CAN make into production

is it because proton doesnt have the engine that small to be fit in? i knew it. that mv agusta deal WILL surface again. if only lan pingu and sleepy dollah kept the company, and PERHAPS we can produce such small engine after all.

PERHAPS

• The design sold to VW

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:43 pm

The initial concept is too polarizing. I doubt many would actually want to buy it if it looked like that. The Mitsu MiEV is rather cute but the original EMAS concept looks………….you probably get my point. Also, you would need a 3 cyl engine with 1.0L and below capacity in order to fit any ICE into the engine bay.

As far as concepts go, the EMAS concept was really overblown, imo. It’s more like an engineer-artist’s vision of the future than a production ready car.

• This shows how 3rd world you are…pls see around the world….more advance design language cars are roaming around europe….
        Thanks to ppl like you proton can’t have great design car to sell to the world…

• Still no yet launch but show the car already on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:59 pm

This is really farking stupid of proton, the only car manufacturer whom shows the face of the car even before launching and yet still have not launch the damm car !!! What give protong, you running out of ideas to market the car, let people see and see until fed up, if this car is as good as they say then good for you protong, if now with all this build up and hype, if the car is like savvy ….close SHOP PROTONG ….you taking a big risk but then again when you have nothing, you have nothing to lose protong !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Normal practice, you dun get used to it

• victor tan (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Well, you can tell that to Perodua too.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:59 am

did he say the same thing to perodua???

i dont thning so coz he is perodua owner pretending as import car iwner

same goes to protection n NAP issue

bash proton like hell n pretending perodua has nothing yo do with all protection n nap matter

funny rite perodua salesman

• Tak same pn..
    Nk tambah trafik buat cite pasal PCC.

• SamlorrVanganG on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:29 pm

take my money!!!!!

• normal_user on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:40 pm

I think the 15″ wheels are a bit too small for such a tall body. Or at least, put higher profile tyres to make the body looks proportionately balanced with the wheels. Sacrifice a tiny weeny bit on handling, but add bits of comfort & lot more balanced looks.

• policeman on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:59 pm

It’s people like you that are causing modern cars to be absolutely dreadful.

All you want is looks and gadgets and gizmos.
      Because of you reliability is down the drain. I bet you’re a female.

We gave them the right to drive and they’ve ruined cars.

The clutch too hard -> Hydraulic clutch
      Lazy to change gears -> Automatic transmission
      Can’t drive -> ESP/Drive By Wire
      Can’t steer -> Power steering
      Can’t think to turn on lights when dark -> Auto light
      Can’t on wipers -> Auto wiper

Auto gearbox, hydraulic clutch, and Drive-by wire these are the biggest curses in the automotive industry. Thanks to women.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • powershot (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:04 am

after all the technology enhancements. people still don’t know how to use the damn turning signal

• Italdesign-Giugiaro The Best.

I dont understand the EGO in the Proton Designer.

Give us Italdesign-Giugiaro Design – this is what we call timeless design.

and a Honda Brio 1.2L engine, not Proton VVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • khairulx19a on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:47 am

the italian design already bought by VW for their VW up

• Preve owner on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:16 am

Nice car. Asian reliability, European handling.

• I still dont understand u people perodua has no car at all. All just from daihatsu. While proton design its own now. Its a vast different. Why to compare those??hayya

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:49 am

we rakyat love toyota ( i mean real toyota jdm since i used to be 6 years in japan my jdm car was my toy)
    but big2 no to UMWproduct… low class n marketed to asean only… yes u can cheat kampung ppl with japanese dna coz they are japanese wannabe n impress with ” dumbed tech by japas) but no me and ppl well educated n jdm owner
    now umw even sweating to see drb city n accord sales better than umw vios n camry
    we see more city/ accord than vios/camry.. umw cronies must worry
    petodua??? now trying hard to keep japanese daihatsu stay here n dont move to indonesia
    yet daihatsu has decided indonesia as a hub small car for asean market
    petodua is not relevan anymore… they are still here bcoz they got incentive n privilege by our gomen ( duit rakyat)
    wihout privilege n protection given by gomen… daihatsu will leave u.. indonesia is bigger market ( asean) instead of aziah fir local kampung bolehland market

we want real daihatsu name… indonesia produce alya no need to claim as their nasional car… why malaysian syok sendiri ??? tak malu kat indon ka
    hahahaha

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/08/31/proton-compact-car-first-full-body-photo-released/#ixzz3CCI3aOWO

• PROTONLover on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:02 am

The car is just the right size for small family with 1 or 2 kids. Just nice for the second car to drive around and going to pasar malam.
    Jthe car just nice to commute for works and intertaiment.
    The car just right for your safety. All you want from the car, this car have. Its was design for such purpose.
    In B segment, its will surpast all giant ..by make it giant by its own.
    Be glad that we are all Malaysian.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:04 am

great move by DRB hicom
    focusing safety as their main concern
    for hi end small car .. they give us smart looking new jazz

for mid small car… they give us world class safety features of iriz

p2 and umw salesman butthurt

• driveabird on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:19 am

If i’m not mistaken in Malay, they often refer those who envy on others’ success or effort as though they have illness called PHD (PERASAN HASAD DENGKI)…come on guys be objective in giving comments….I can see the effort and outcome that P1 all this while….we can critics but in a way that portray your stupidity…feeling annoyed

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:04 am

this is not about PHD.. it is more towards survival of perodua and umw salesman

the more they can influence ppl an tell bad things about competitor(proton) the more they can survive

this is all about survival to feed their family… thats y u can see every proton thread.. those ppl will appear with same story bla bla

look at sam loor umw salesman.. ioma p2 salesman’s comment
      these all about survival

• Bataman on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:49 am

I dont dig this article…most cars are like that…you can draw lines around most cars and can reach the same conclusion….boring article…
    All cars copies each other…nothing to shout about …even new Audi also copy Lancer/Inspira headlights.

• Sparcov on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:55 am

Overall I like the design.
    Glad to hear that will be a new engine equipped with VVT.

The car is good, the spec is good and the price is reasonable below RM 60K for full spec.

The only people condemn it is because the brand is Proton and it is National Brand. Car buyer intend to look for branding nowadays for better personality, value and resale value.

All car are equally the same for the first 5 years in terms of reliability. But once exceeded, it really depends on the “Reliability” of the car design to last.

Proton need to upgrade and control their authorized service centre. The code of business conduct are not up to standard or does not following the normal SOP.

This is based on my current experience. To service a Proton Preve in Mutiara Damansara Service center will take up to more than 6 hours and that is when i call few days in advance for booking for 20k service interval. While a perodua myvi can complete in 2 hours time.

This is just an example. This will make people lost of confidence and the sales slowly shrunk at Proton especially with newer design keep coming in from other manufacturer at competitive price.

For me, I don’t really care to get a basic spec. for a Vios J or City S. As I know and confidence that the drivetrain, value, and branding will overcome any fancy gadget offer by Proton.

At the end, no way to compete with a Proton and Toyota even at the same selling price while Proton offering 6 airbag and numberless of gadget.

People still look at, anyway is still a Proton.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:20 am

good comment bro
      but its quite embarassing mslaysian praise umw vios like hell

i dont blame u n kg ppl since they never exposed to so called real japanese jdm toyota product

i it insulting real jdm owners here

pls dont genwralise umw product unser avanza n innova quality with toyota jdmproduct

• Sparcov on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Not fair to said that malaysian are not exposed or kg people.

We simply have no choice due to limited fund and living in the protected automobile market in Malaysia.
        There is always pro and cons for the policy.

UMW open up the manufacturing plant in Malaysia employed thousands of Malaysian workers. given job opportunities to the locals and the spin off effects to the economy.

To be rational, put in this way. While, the country is having a inflation, currency exchange issue, etc on the economic.

Car manufacturer need to strip off their spec in order to maintain selling price.

for instance 10 years ago, again as example, Vios are selling RM85K+. after 10 years a vios also selling around RM85K+ (E spec). While all the transportation, salary, material, etc cost gone up. they still taxed by the government but need to maintain the selling price and also need to reduce the selling cost due to the 30% car reduction as agreed by the government.

Whatelse you can do? stripped spec. and quality.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:26 am

just make comparison btw umw vios n kia, ford product… they are all taxed too n with the similar price, kia forte, ford fiesta can give better spec n features to rakyat compared to umw vios… umw just make an excuse price high due to tax… thats how they cheat ppl all this while

rakyat smart orediii

• Leonardo on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:06 am

Good observation by the writer Hafriz. At least you try to be objective when analyzing the styling. Keep it up and well done.
    I hope the other regular bloggers will do the same so that we can learn something useful from each other, raher than just emotional bahsing. Cheers! :)

• Wondering on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:38 am

Why Proton didn’t use wholly EMAS concept or minor tweak it and put it into Production….Just wondering.

• ikan masak tau chu (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:22 pm

I hope Proton make the turn signal lever on the right side of the steering wheel…. or I will curse Proton till they can’t sell even one unit of their product.

• PROTONLover on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Good question wondering.
    Its because of IP..

• Yesss that one i agree most…
    Please proton put the signal lever on the right..
    At least for malaysian market

Very annoying..this is a simple issue i think..why do u want to make it difficult to ur customer hayya common lahh proton

• peynohatersupportsparcov on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:37 am

alwiz say real jdm real jdm?this guy…too support protong which going nowhere..
    what happen to inspira?real jdm?rakyat been cheated by protong?please agree that you cannot change market perception on your brand..if you selling inspira with cheaper price compared to lancer, why the sales volume still lower than VIOS and CITY?Inspira is C segment SEDAN which suppose to be more wider and bigger offering with extra features. CITY and VIOS only B segment sedan and alck of features.
    PLEASE ACCEPT THAT RAKYAT DON’T TRUST PROTONG ALREADY..once you throw your shit…it alwiz there eventhough not smelly anymore..ahakz.
    LAMA SGT KERJA KT PROTON NI..rakyat Malaysia smart already that’s why they don’t prefer to buy PROTONG..Because of Brand bro…Apa brg pakai protong..x class.paling busuk pakai perodua instead of protong..RV low, quality out, aftermarket poor service. PITY to you PEYNO.wait and see la..check sales figure.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:17 pm

eow… p2 macai butthurt oredi… i like
      cite pasal vios la city la.inspira la… macam rakyat tak tau dia pki perodua je

neway… city n vios is rival… city team with proton coz honda n proton underDRB hicom

DRB staff very happy ppl buying city.. but umw staff butthurt

p2 n umw product low class n can be sold in bolehland only

rakyat smart oredi

• Good car don’t come cheap. Cheap don’t come good. But I am neutral base and have to say the design is nice and let see the real car when it is launch. :)

• peyno (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:19 pm

dulu macai perodua jaja pasal japan dna, japan quality of p2 n umw… n rakyat blindly thrusted

but now rakyat smart orediii… they know p2 PNB gomen crony n UMW gomen crony just hiding behind proton

when rakyat asking about their expensive price… they blame proton

when rakyat asking about thier bad quality… they twist n start talking about proton

NAP n protection…. p2 macai pretending it has nothing to do with them… only proton under nap n protected

all theae p2 n umw salesman trick… rakyat knew oredi

thats y now…. rakyat smart orediiiiiiiiuii

prrrftghg

• Fraz006 on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:52 am

Alamak… Typical proton lagi. Badan besar wheel arch kecik. Proton xpernah rasa nak ubah ,buruk nanti bila pandang dari jauh. Dari dekat nampak proportionate, dari jauh xleh blah. Myvi, fiesta xbesar sgt wheels, tapi very defined and bulging wheel arch. Kena pakai ilusi optik, baru cantik dekat jauh. – ex BLM tayar nmpk kecik user.

• PROTONLover on Sep 05, 2014 at 7:39 am

Yesss..payno…
    I agree with u.

All these while… kita kena tipu…
    Even p1 use same vendor with p2..but still they said p1 quality low class.
    They trick all the malaysian saying that local made car were bad quality.
    Infact, p2 quality is worst. Myself bought MyVi SE..in 1 year 3 times major defect..break judder, alighment senang lari dan mcm2…

Malaysian..wakeup…see ur self our local product. Go to sales center. See by ur own eyes..P1..improved…a lot…!!!i

P1 will win ur heart n mind.

• peynohatersupportsparcov on Sep 05, 2014 at 8:06 am

Please accept that Malaysian do not trust PROTONG anymore…this is what we called “rakyat smart orediiiiiiiiu” ahakz.

• dun_buy_protong on Sep 05, 2014 at 2:23 pm

all dun buy protong anymore, just it R.I.P and stop cheating money from people

• Proton,Keep going!!Don’t make Malaysia hate you!GO GO GO GO GO GO GO PROTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• suka beli,tak suka tak perlu hentam teruk2 proton…even lain pengeluar pun ada yg teruk juga keretanya…cume tak diwar2kan dlm mediamassa…hargai org yg design,buat dan jadikan ia sebuah kereta..suka beli,tak suka jgn mengata..