Volkswagen Lamando debuts in China: it’s a ‘Jetta CC’

VW-Lamando-3

As early as February 2013, we told you about Volkswagen’s plans to introduce an MQB-based ‘four-door coupe’ – a ‘Golf/Jetta CC’ of sorts. Then it got real – the New Midsize Coupe concept surfaced in Beijing in April 2014, and photos of the road-going version found their way online quickly after.

The handsome vehicle has finally been unveiled at the Chengdu motor show, and it’s called the Volkswagen Lamando – what a name. Being based on the MQB platform used by the Mk7 Golf, the Lamando has no relation to the current Jetta, which uses an older platform shared with the Mk6 Golf.

We don’t have official shots of the cabin yet, but as previous leaked images show, the interior is similar to the Mk7 Golf’s.

According to CarNewsChina, the Lamando will be built in China by the Shanghai-VW joint-venture, and will go on sale there in November, priced from around 180,000 RMB (RM92k). There’ll be 1.4 and 2.0 TSI petrol engines; both linked to a seven-speed DSG.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:09 am

Looks quite decent, though I am not sure if that was the best colour for the design…

• S.Rajah on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:19 am

haha… another lemon..
    VW Lemondo~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • nasi_ayam on Sep 02, 2014 at 10:35 am

If VW MY bring this car in, i wonder how much it will cost

• Someone DD on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Not really possible, as specially designed for China market. It is a fight between Shanghai VW and FAW VW, as FAW VW has Jetta (named Sagitar in China) which is one of best selling model in China market, but Shanghai VW has only Lavida which is same B segment but not so premium as Sagitar, so Shanghai VW developed Lamando to fight against Sagitar. Sound interesting.

• WetPuss on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:33 am

Another 7 speed dry clutch?Will see it being tow pretty soon.

• 92k RM in China, Maybe 200k RM in bolehland.

• No.. Never as China’s tax is higher than Malaysia. However, this variant is cheap and only exclusive to China market. Therefore, please do not compare something you won’t have it here. Even if it is launched in Malaysia with RM 120K ~ 130K. You ppl will bash this is made in China and no quality.

• TheDean on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:00 pm

This is what the Jetta should’ve been.

• rifle on Sep 02, 2014 at 4:55 pm

But this is “China only”..also hoping that global CC will looks like this

• Jaybond on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Nice bodywork design , but those rims looks too busy and hideous and just spoiled the overall look of the car. Why VW chose the rim design with smaller spokes in between the main spokes? It might be the current trend, but it’s just completely fugly.VW should just use a straightforward 5 or 6 spokes sportrim design for the car.

• Someone DD on Sep 02, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Sagitar price from RMB130k 1.6MT, RMB160k 1.4T, if it goes up to 180k means will overlap Passat 1.4T category, sound premium enough. For me i think it will start from RMB160-170k

• Josh Ling on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:42 am

i think the all-new jetta (if there’s one in the future) should look like this. it’s definitely better looking than the current one.