2015 Toyota Camry facelift to feature new 2.0 litre engine with VVT-iW technology, 6-speed automatic

2014_CAMRY_EXT_03

Following its unveiling at the Moscow motor show recently, we now have more details of the global-market Toyota Camry XV50 facelift and in particular, its new 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine. Seems there’s much more to this facelift than we think…

New 2.0 litre engine with VVT-iW, D-4S and EGR, mated to six-speed Multi-mode auto

The 1,998 cc, Euro 5-compliant engine features VVT-iW (Variable Valve Timing-intelligent Wide). VVT-iW debuted on the Lexus NX 200t‘s direct-injected 2.0 litre turbo 8AR-FTS engine, enabling it to run in both Otto and modified-Atkinson cycles.

At low loads, the VVT-iW-equipped engine is capable of switching to a modified-Atkinson cycle to boost fuel economy. At higher revs, the engine can return to the Otto cycle for enhanced power delivery and performance. VVT-iW features standard VVT-i on the exhaust valves and VVT-iW on the intake side. The latter features a mid-position camshaft lock mechanism which retards the continuously variable valve timing.

2014_CAMRY_EXT_06

For the new Camry, combined with a new six-speed Multi-mode automatic gearbox (bye bye four-speed auto!), Toyota claims a fuel economy of 7.2 litres per 100 km – a 13% reduction over the outgoing 2.0 litre engine. The new Multi-mode six-speeder is electronically controlled, and features Flex Lock-up Control, AI-Shift Control and an Eco indicator. All three engines – 2.0, 2.5 and 3.5 V6 – will utilise this gearbox.

With a 12.8:1 compression ratio, the new 2.0 litre engine develops 150 PS at 5,600-6,500 rpm and 199 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm (outgoing 2.0 litre: 150 PS at 6,000 rpm, 190 Nm at 4,000 rpm). As a result, the new Camry sprints to 100 km/h from rest in 10.4 seconds before hitting a 210 km/h top speed (pre-facelift XV50 2.0 with four-speed auto: 12.5 seconds, 187 km/h).

There’s D-4S too, which means separate twin injectors for both direct and port injection. Depending on engine speed, there’s high-pressure direct injection into the cylinder and conventional intake port injection, or direct cylinder injection only. Hence, intake air and fuel are mixed evenly at all engine speed ranges, increasing throttle response, power and torque over a wide range of engine speeds without sacrificing fuel efficiency.

2014_CAMRY_EXT_04

The engine is also fitted with a water-cooled Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) system, combining an EGR cooler with an electronically-controlled EGR valve to give optimum control of the EGR gas flow volume for equal distribution to each cylinder, enhancing fuel economy.

Other improvements include optimised shapes of the cylinder head intake port and piston (creating tumble flow for better combustion), enhanced cooling for the cylinder block, cylinder head and piston oil jet, plus an optimised taper squish shape to improve anti-knock performance.

An offset crankshaft reduces the piston thrust load to lower friction losses. Allied to enhanced cylinder bore roundness, a resin coating to the piston skirts and lower tension piston rings reduce friction losses from the rotating parts. The adoption of roller rocker arms and a low friction timing chain further reduce valvetrain friction losses.

2014_CAMRY_DET_01

New preload differential on front axle, retuned suspension and steering

The new Toyota Camry is fitted with a preload differential on the front axle – its first application in conjunction with an automatic transmission. A plate spring located between the side gear and side gear washer within the differential adds preload by generating frictional force in the sliding parts under light loads or low rotational speed differences.

This provides torque to limit the differential motion between the right and left driven wheels. Under mid to high loads that exceed the plate spring pressure, system operation is identical to an open differential. The result? Improved vehicle control and straight-line stability.

Also, Toyota says the suspension’s damper characteristics have been fine-tuned to improve ride comfort, and the speed-sensitive electric power steering has been tuned for more accuracy and control. Reducing NVH is the presence of more insulation material within the front doors and underneath the carpet.

Exterior: “Under Priority” design philosophy, 25 mm longer

Distinct from the US-market Toyota Camry facelift, the global-market car gets a new face with added aggro, comprising a slim front grille with a big chrome slab on top, plus a huge trapezoidal lower intake with integrated, deeply-recessed fog lamps.

The new, slimmer headlamp clusters combine a high-beam reflector, low-beam projector, turn indicator and integral LED DRLs. A chrome strip wraps around the lower intake to underscore the fog lamps, which are bridged by a front spoiler. Aft of the fog lamps sit sharply-sculpted intakes which help to cool the brakes and engine bay.

A slight increase in front and rear overhangs means the global-market XV50 Toyota Camry facelift is 25 mm longer than before. There’s a new 17-inch alloy design. Round the back, there’re new LED combination lamps bridged by a chrome strip, and a reshaped rear bumper.

At the low extremities of the rear bumper are reflector inserts. Seven body colours will be available, of which two are new – Grey Mica metallic and Dark Blue Mica metallic.

Interior: New steering wheel, instrument panel, illumination and colour schemes

Apart from a new three-spoke steering wheel, the 2015 Toyota Camry features a redesigned instrument panel with blue backlighting, with a 4.2-inch TFT display sitting between the Optitron rev counter and speedometer. The TFT can show navigation, driving stats, warning messages, plus phone and audio presets, amongst others.

The centre stack houses either a 6.1- or 7.0-inch full-colour screen, and the climate controls beneath it have been “completely redesigned with improved switchgear functionality and tactility.”

The gear lever base is now finished in dark grey, the A-pillars in a new fabric and the dashboard, centre console and door panels in a new Crotch wood finish. Moreover, driver and front passenger footwells gain blue illumination.

New colour schemes are also available – Black with fabric or perforated leather upholstery, and a new Flaxen finish with full leather upholstery.

2014_CAMRY_INT_16

Wireless charging, tri-zone air-con, rear armrest with control panel, JBL sound, active safety systems and up to nine airbags

The 2015 Toyota Camry features wireless charging, which allows one to recharge compatible mobile phones simply by placing them on a pad on the centre console (Qi wireless charging debuted on the 2013 Toyota Avalon).

There’s also tri-zone air-con with nanoe technology, so driver, front passenger and rear passengers can enjoy independent temperature control. A new Memory Pack gives you memory settings for the driver’s seat, steering column and wing mirrors.

The rear centre armrest features a control panel, like something out of a Lexus. Here, you can control heating and reclining of the rear seats, adjust rear air-con temperature and control audio. A powered rear blind is operable via switches in the front and rear of the cabin. Of course, the rear doors feature pull-up side blinds.

2014_CAMRY_INT_15

Also on are Toyota’s Touch 2 and Touch 2 with Go Plus infotainment systems. In addition to CD, MP3, Bluetooth and USB compatibility, and a reverse camera display, Touch 2 now has MirrorLink, so you can connect your smartphone and operate it entirely from the touch-screen.

Touch 2 with Go Plus adds navigation and a range of connected services including Toyota Real Time Traffic, Google Street View and Local Search. For the audiophiles, there’s a 10-speaker JBL Matrix Premium Sound System.

Active and passive safety features include TRC, VSC, whiplash-mitigating front seats and up to nine airbags. There’s also a Blind Spot Monitor, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Auto High Beam.

So, how many of all of these lovely new features will Malaysia get? =)

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• heybadigol on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Sounds like a very well designed engine, mated to a gearbox with more than 4 speeds. Only problem is they left out the turbo. Obviously, to differentiate between Lexus (with turbo) and Toyota (sans turbo). Also of note is that they did not go the CVT route as its cloests rivals have (Nissan Altima & Honda Accord).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
    • Bogue on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:42 pm

So fast facelift again… Toyota buyers beware ..drop drop drop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
      • Gargantia on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Again Toyota = moving forward.
        UMW when going to launch? and please don’t make ridiculous (safety spec package) again on Toyota cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
      • kington on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Facelift is now done every 2 or 3 years to keep things fresh… in any case, for those who bought the pre facelift, look for Sam Loo. He can give you good trade-in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:29 pm

So if you buy Proton, you won’t have this problem, Proton’s facelift only done in 10 or 20 years. Your face dropped also the Proton facelift not yet out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 20
          • 10 years? LOL no wonder people got cheated with your talking sing song and buy obsolete Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
          • Gabriel Garcia on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:04 am

Samelor… I’m wondering… Who paid you to talk nasty all the time? I’ve been following paultan and always see u talk nasty and shitmouthed all the time. Must be depressing to have to much unkindness… Will pray for u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Abu Sayur on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Bbmw also facelift every few years la come on. At least they are making a decent effort.

P1 and P2 on the other hand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • What do you think Saga BLM,Saga SV, Saga FL and Saga FLX stand for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Vader (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:15 pm

So they realize 4-speed gearbox and engine are outdated. These so call proven gearbox and engine only praise by the shameless in bolehland.
      Not with new engine and gearbox, let wait and see how shameless turn his/her words.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
      • Konrad on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:03 pm

if only you knew the struggles behind the curtains..

• Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:33 pm

No one said the 4 speed auto is high tech and syok sendiri out of nothing. I did not syok of the 4 speed auto.

At least it is reliable, you may not have good FC but you don’t worry about the gearbox break down.

Reliable old gearbox vs anytime-could-breakdown CVT, which one you prefer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 24
          • dugongx on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:52 pm

No wonder nobody want to buy Altis CVT. There is no customer base for it. Those that love toyota love old dino junks with 4 speeders. Altis’s 7 speeed CVT is too unreliable and always break down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
          • Vader (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:04 am

The more kok shameless said, the more hole he need to cover..
            As dugongx mentioned, u did agree toyo aunty CVT can break down anytime and not reliable.

• kington on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:43 am

Dugongx,

I’m not a fan of CVT gearboxes too, in fact should i say i hate cars with CVT gearboxes. But the CVTs fitted into the Altis is really one heck of a unit. People are not buying the Altis because of the price, not that it breaks down. In terms of reliability, the CVT boxes from Nissan and Toyota are the more reliable ones in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • kunhg on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Toyota is not that reliable these days. More or less same with other cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • kington on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:33 pm

I think it’s fair to say those who bought the pre facelift just wanted something trusty and fuss free. They aren’t glorifying it by telling you what they have is superior than others. The same goes for the Landie Defender. What makes it silly for you is that these cars although equipped with old tech is still pricey but that’s Malaysia. Every single car you buy, you’re buying the government half or at least 3/4 a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:42 pm

You are right! Toyota owner no need tell EVERYONE their car can smoke this smoke that smoke chicken wings smoke christmas turkey.

They just drive slowly the Camry at 80km/h on the road, everyone happy. Wife/girlfriend happy, children happy, clients happy, staff happy, even parents in law happy.

For the Protons, only the drivers happy themselves, the special term called “Syok Sendiri”.

To keep on dreaming, Proton drivers spend money on noisy exhaust pipe, sport rims and tyres, end up they can only maintain Proton after 10 years, because they have no more money left after the mod and frequent ad-hoc Proton break down.

End of the days, Toyota owners have saving to upgrade to Lexus/Mercedes/BMW. Proton drivers keep on dreaming… and keep on paying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 25
          • Toyotasansballs on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:51 pm

So you are saying Toyota owners also saving to upgrade to better quality German cars? That means only losers stay with Toyota la. The winners upgrade their cars to German cars, ha, ha, ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
          • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:41 am

For kimchi owners, every day is a hailat day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:12 am

I never said German cars are bad. They are quite nice indeed. However, compared to Mercedes and BMW, Lexus is still the best selling luxury car in US.

As I said so many times:

As long as it is a kimchi, it will not have RV.

As long as it is a Proton, it will not have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • danial on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:52 pm

6 Speed, even New Wish got 7 speed with Triptonic (CVT) , Valvematic(Dual VVTi), * airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Then what say you sam lorrr.you said before cvt is not reliable. Even Toyot uses cvt,you want to say it”s very old version of cvt? Lol

Why camry no cvt? Too slow like snail ah? Lol

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Sounds like a decent upgrade. Though I thought all this while the “MultiMode” brand was used for Toyota’s version of an automated manual transmission like a DSG box.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Aiyo still looks “FAKTUP” la. Every few months facelift. This shows its a failure. No demand for FUGLY cars.

• What??? So previous camry still using 4speed!!! Pls correct me if i read this wrong….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • xiper (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:59 pm

what is so surprise? Same old 2.0 litre engine and 4 speeder from the previous 2 generations of Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • dugongx on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:58 pm

It was the same old shitty 4 speeder n vvti since 25 yrs ago. before most people were born.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:13 am

Wheels are in use before your great great father is born. You can stop using it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • alldisc on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:14 pm

r u kidding me dugongx? 25 yrs ago, even Honda hasnt started selling its VTEC engines yet, still in development stage in Formula 1. Toyota already using VVT, VVTI has yet to be in production cars. and fyi, D segment cars like U12 bluebird, SM4 accord, E33 Galant or ST171 Corona all just started to use 4 speed auto.

but the SH4 civic, AE92 corolla and B12 Sentra all were using 3 speed auto. even Saga 1.5I at that time also 3 speed.

pls get the facts right before you start to wear your keyboard warrior attire

• dugongx on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:01 am

the 1994 camry 2.2 was using the same 4 speeder. Thats 20 years

• rifle on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Yeahhh…so finally, the uncle’s car now has younger looks n techs

• ProtonGSC on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Even uncle’s ignore UMW camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:15 am

You can go on Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok on your Proton and tease Toyota. Go on…

At the end of the day, sales figures tell… Whatever you say (or syok), Toyota waiting list still long… Proton cars still in showroom or UV test in warehouse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Yes sales figures tell : More Preves than New Vios lOL

Rakyat smart orediii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Juz bought a Vios lately. NO WAITING, ready stock. Quiet ride and all the qualities. After a few rides it stays at home, I still prefer my MORE than 10 YEARS Gen2. Heck with the noises it made, but it sure takes corners like hot knife cutting butter. Interior does not feel like cheap plastic like vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • alldisc on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:23 pm

what r u talking braw? Preve launched in late 2011, this NCP150 vios 2 years later. compare apple to apple lah.

why dont you compare Preve and the previos generation NCP93 vios? u must say unfair right? tell u what – if preve is a really good car, proton could have sell it in as many RHD markets including thailand, indonesia, UK and india. or hongkong. why you think proton dont dare?

• mmaker on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Finally it has 6-speed auto!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • multiplex on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Promising technology. Hopefully come with Toyota reliability. It shall be better off they can improve the interior and exterior design.

• bye bye accord, mazda 6, sonata, optima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 67
    • entaoba on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:22 pm

U only can say bye bye to the rest if UMW bring in Camry with 100% specs that were written here at 80% of current Camry price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Baru TAKUT!!!! so now a CLEAR WARNING to UMW Toyota “DON’T treat Malaysian/ should I refer buyers” as SUCKERS since Moscow & rest of countries will getting same spec. Pay new price but give “OL skol” spec inside. But pity current CAMRY owners, harga JATUH another 30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • dugongx on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Current camry 2.5V owners are pissing in their pants now. 1st UMW added back VSC a year ago and their RV took a 30% dive. With this new face lift another 30% drop in RV. 2013 camry trade in at most 55k only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • kington on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:46 am

Brader…. as much as how people love to hate Sam Loo… i must say you’re at the other end of the spectrum… RM55K… i give you RM60K you buy one for me please…. and erm…. keep the change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:17 am

Yea, I free you 1 new Camry X if you could find a 2013 Camry at RM55k, dugongx.

• Jaybond on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Finally, Toyota is listening to its customers – improve the car’s styling, ditching the archaic 4-speed auto and the inclusion of more high tech bits.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Is Global Toyota that listening, let’s wait UMW response with this.

UMW making (safety spec package) again?
      Making fool of Rakyat, Sales drop making fool of yourself.

UMW marketing team and BOD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • same goes to TAN CHONG MOTORS
        nissan models all outdated and rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
        • ProtonGSC on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:37 pm

At least safety features with selling price way better and reasonable, then LOUSY UMW !

Option on Safety spec package? Customer safety is an option?

Good thing and smart buyer/Rakyat make good Option not to buy UMW cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Let see the safety of Proton FAMOUS model:
            1. Saga: Poor
            2. Persona: Poor
            3. Satria: Poor
            4. Exora: Poor

The safest model (Preve & Suprima S) are all in showroom/warehouse.

I wonder why showroom car need 6 airbags and VSC? The car will suddenly “buang” itself in the showroom?

Toyota didn’t beg money from government, for this fact only, beggar Proton is indeed the lousiest car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
          • GSC PCC got vdc. New vios rarely seen on road. Serve it right coz no vsc.

Rakyat smart oredi. After this PCC flooding the road replacing myvi and vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:26 pm

GSC PCC not yet out, no need syok sendiri.

People buy Proton because it is cheap, not because it is good. See the sales of good and expensive Proton (Preve & Suprima S) then you know why.

PCC flood the road? I always heard PCC can take off from KLIA…

Enough of Syok Sendiri and launch the car lar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Now PCC is good and cheaper, and much safer than vios. Only conned people go for vios

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:19 am

HOW MUCH a PCC cost?

WHO is driving PCC?

Car not yet out, no need Sendiri Syok so much one. You desperate to get yourself high? lol

• Why not? You can syok sendiri talking kok about RV and reliability I also can syok sendiri what?

Smartphone ni bukan bapak kau yang belikan. (Pinjam ayat bodoh Motorhead)

• Sampai Malaysia, UMW will change it to 10 years old 4 speed tech!!!! TQ UMW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Takashi Hibi on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Looks nice, like a big Vios…

• Will the new engine able to run on our contaminated fossil fuel?after all its a facelift.there is a chance of us getting new face with old running gears.umw knows what best for malaysians

• Bob_B78 on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:54 pm

So camry have a new engine and gearbox, what about the airbags and VSC for the entry level trim?
    Can toyota give us more safety features with the new engine/gearbox without increasing the price?
    I think not for the top management will scream “TOYOTA IS TO SELL BY ITS BRAND! NOT BY THE EQUIPMENT LIST! AND NOT TO INCREASE SALE BY REDUCING PROFIT MARGIN!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • xiper (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:58 pm

this time it is moving forward, good move Toyota!

Let’s see how UMW package this new Camry with the safety features and price.

• D.I.Y on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:02 pm

great.. now sound better in performance wise. but can it change the taillamp? look ugly..

• jjj (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Looks updated, interior-wise. Nice!

Sam Loo’s going to have the time of the day in this comments section

• edward on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:08 pm

enough of facelift,.. retire this overstay model and move on to the long overdue completely new 2015 camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • policeman on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Apa punya tech ini? Inspira using old 2007 designed engine still has quicker pickup and equals the top speed. All from a 1800cc engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • gaviny on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:12 pm

look at all our tech but Malaysia doesnt need this okau, we will give you ‘proven technology’ , please we know what is best for malaysians, they have been.buying our cars forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Back lights design worse than current one.

• Hahaha on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Okayy so if UMW price it right with adequate safety features (6 airbags, VSC standard across the range), this car will sell! Im nt a toyota fanboy btw~

• iluvsam on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:18 pm

There goes the resale value of my old camry…

• Unown S on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Sam LOO..where are YOO(you)?

• toyota malaysia its so late….competitors using new gear already. By the way this is the good starting with 6 speed gear.

• Win Liao Lor.

• IamProsoListen on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:38 pm

hahahaha masuk malaysia maintain 4 speed old 2.0L.

• shawal on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:39 pm

we’ll see what the future holds in the hands of UMW toyota

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Many seems to think this is actually coming here. If UMW is playing its old tune it would probably be the facelift we would be getting.

The 6 speed has been in the XV40…but didn’t make it here. The same 6 speeder was launched together with the 3.5v6 in the 2010 Sienna Minivan which I had the pleasure of driving for 2 weeks.

• Kangkung on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:49 pm

UMW malaysia always rip toyota from brocolli to Kangkung.
    Hey UMW ! See, this is wat you did. More ppl give up Camry go for your competitors with VSC, 6 Airbags, 6/7 Speeder, Direct Injection.

Let’s look forward how you price n package your Camry Hybrid.

• powershot (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:52 pm

is toyota:

moving forward?

or just catching up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Hm.. the C pillar looks out of proportion

• Gajen on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:07 pm

looks is still bad. the technology seems good though. either way i think umw will take off the techy stuff when it comes here. I mean 2002 camry in the US had 6 airbags man. we are still getting 2!

• Uncle’s are happier now

• Impressive but question is if similarly specified and equipped model will come to Malaysian shore?

• when the car sell in malaysia, u cant get the spec…UMW

• qwerty on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Looks and sounds like an amazing package, but everything is in the hands of UMW.

Foreign markets have been getting good packages but UMW ripped everything off.

• MeToo on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:41 pm

So Malaysia will get the 2 airbag version huh

• Apalah on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Looks Good….
    But don’t be too happy as yet….
    We all know UMW, 6 air bags become 2, VSC taken out, CVT gear box become 4 speed auto….and all those gadget? you want? pay extra lor…..
    and by looking at the price of Altis & Vios….they have to priced it quite high to distinguish different grade…
    Altis already 140k….so even entry level 2.0l Camry cannot sell at 140k like Accord, so min price will still be 155k for the 2.0l…
    They will claim Toyota is a premier brand….

• Ong Chee Boon on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Okay, i have no problems with the drivetrain, it is good to have better tech to a better drive. Kudos for not using CVT.

But Toyota seriously need to fire his exterior designer. Still fugly design on front and rear bumper and grille. Come on, Proton, Kia, even Perodua Axia is more pleasing to the eye than this. (Just my 2 cents)

And UMW, please make sure at least 6 airbags and VSC are equipped. Otherwise we won’t buy your junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Omega Red on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Probably by the time this model reaches our shores, all the hi-tech and new specs will be removed and fixed with old specs and techs..the engine & gearbox also might be changed to old 2.0 & 4speed AT..the additional safety kits and airbags removed..only the new skin maintained…because toyota know their car will sell off due to its brand name and blind malaysians will buy even the price is increased with the specs reduced…like the current camry..

• kenot on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:23 pm

“So how much of all of these lovely new features will Malaysia get? =)”

Well..Malaysia only get 2 airbags and ABS with premium price tag. UMW believe, it is more than enough for Malaysian.

• no one on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:24 pm

the features are improved quiet a lot at least…the front is quite modest and abit amazed compared with the last gen, though the body and tail lamp is still unimpressed…btw,hope this will be a good move from toyota

• teelim on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Good job Toyota. Now its up to UMW Toyota to offer a decent specced car with a reasonable price.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:53 pm

The crowd is ecstatic, cheering and hailing this great development by Toyota….. Drum roll……!!! Unfortunately when it reaches Malaysia, it is only a face-lift with belts and whistle. We will never see the new engine because Malaysia fuel quality sill SUCK BIG TIME!!!! ONLY EURO 2!!!!

• DonkeyKong on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Good job, Toyota.. finally the Camry 2.0 gets modern technology.

And I think it’s a first for an automaker to equip their auto gearbox with a “Lite” version of Phantom Grip instead of just relying on brake-based traction control.. Bravo!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:05 pm

With this news, so many Sonata and K5 owners came in this morning asking to trade in their cabbages.

I even had to decline Sonatas now, coz the Indian and Sri Lankan take up rate for rotten cabbages has slowed down.

Fantastic Camry, I may even consider getting this gem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • pray for sam loo on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:04 pm

why cosider? still consider? Come on on its a must buy for u. Hooray Hooray ….toyota is the king mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:08 pm

My 2009 2.4V is still in gem condition with 150,000kms + on the clock.

Afterall, it really gives kimchi owners a good hailat face when they still see this car trading in for 90k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Looser on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:39 am

2009 camry 2.4v trade in value is around 65k at the moment. Higher than hailat fugly XV50 camry with no VSC. That junk nobody wants.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Those who bought pre-facelift, sad for you.
    U have just been conned by UMW

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:18 pm

shit, thats what im feeling rite now…

• Sam Looser on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:26 am

As long as its not UMW sushi, you will not be cheated of your hard earned money!

• Contender on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Finally, there is some light at the end of the tunnel for Camry to regain lost ground. But hang on till we see it launched in Malaysia on the specs and pricing

• Sam loo. on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Wow…. So great… So creamy… Soo camry… Old camry trade in now… Good RV…. Kimchis… Dont bother…. You re long gone….muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:52 pm

now uncle can change radio from backseat

• Sammy_already_no_value on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:18 pm

So you should buy one uncle

• ferro on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:48 am

Yes in smaller scale size miniature of the cars. I believe he has collection of all cars to play with.

• kington on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:45 pm

I’m quite sure…. UMW will take the controls on this rear arm rest away.

• Jimmy on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

It seems like many people are still very interested in Toyota, hence they commented for UMW to improve. If I were the decision maker in UMW, I would increase the price by RM5000 for every variants and maintain 4 speed auto with 2 airbags, and without VVT-iW.
    You don’t like, you go and buy your Mazda/Honda/Nissan.

• Jimmy on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:20 pm

And please increase price by RM12000 in Sabah and Sarawak, in form of transportation/insurance fees. I heard Toyota support is still very strong there.
      And later give discount RM5000, and they will vote for your cars/vehicles. Yes, I use the word vote.

• sonyman on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Increase by RM5000 where got enough. Uncle rich mah, Toyota Relative to Lexus mah, to Make uncle like the Camry More, UMW must increase price like RM 12000 for each variant, sell the most expensive Variant at about RM 210,000, instead of RM190,000 else uncle will think Camry not enough class because it is cheaper than Continental.

Also please UMW, dont include the new Tech because uncle will be afraid if you change new engine can be reliable or not? got spare parts a not? your technician know how to repair a not?

Remain the old engine, Oldies but goldies. But make sure increase the price to RM 210,000 for the 2.5V, and leave the airbags out, cause if you got too many airbags, uncle may suffocate in the car if there were to be an accident. Also Airbag not proven to save uncle lives. More of a better brand that saves uncles lives.
      You get it UMW. I know you know what we want. Sure you can come out with some simple specs and not too complicated technology.

Else uncle wont buy your Camry. They go buy Teana.

• xrxxx on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Ask Sam Lorrr because he said reliability is everything. Old tech is ok even people want to go forward

Hahahahahhh

• seancorr on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Finally a proper Camry. This should have been the Camry when it was launched. It gets some extra goodies that its rivals do not have but all depends if it actually reaches our shores.

• ah chai on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:34 pm

have to admit the specs sheet does look impressive
    and i would definitely take this car into consideration during the next purchase
    unsure when will it be coming to our country, and more importantly, what’s the marketing strategy in terms of price and packaging.
    UMW, please market it well

• jockey on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Hi all,

my company have been shipping this model from Thailand to Africa and the middle east. Left hand drive ofcourse. 90% of the looks are similar. Handles brilliantly. Although the gear box felt like cvt.

• hello__ on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:16 pm

improvement, but…
    where’s the turbo? personally, I’ll still choose a conti for a solid and high performance drive.

• Dear Toyota on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Glossy_Wood_Trim == Bat_Shit_Old != Prestige

Take a hint.

• …And when it comes to our shore, would it be stripped down to tin kosong again..?

• samelorstpd on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Of course lor because many people don’t realise they get conned by stupid SA like Same Lorrr. They think Toyol VVT is powerful like those tebo engines

• Bravo on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Global speed 6 speed..come to Malaysia…2 speed missing..on the road 4 speed only with Super ECT bla bla bla bla……TOYOL btul la

• Sam Loo 2 on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Harvinder! Kam.. Buy mai Camri… This time veli gud one i tell u! 6 speed gearbok.. New Engine.. And what is the most important thing malaysians lok for? GUD RV!!

• Wow! Vvt-iw! I thought VVT is THE latest technology? Proton told me

• Proton nvr tells you that despite it’s already been there for years in CFE.

• Albert lee on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Protong ‘s VVTI technology stands for “Very Very Troublesome Indeed”.
      Toyota has VVTi,double VVTI and now VVTI w.
      Toyota has hydrogen powered car.Proton has syiok sendiri powered car.
      Same Lorr,where are you? Long live Toyota.

• qctrl on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:08 pm

So naive where got “i” for proton’s VVT

• Albert Lee on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:27 am

Makes no difference.IF there is no “i”,Proton’s VVT still stands for “Very Very Troublesome” cos it is still not fully tested yet in mass production models.
          Sir,give Proton another 25 years to fully be called a credible car manufacturer.You have been sponsoring Proton ( your hard earned money)by LHDN derived gomen grants.You still want Proton to beg RM 1.4 juta from gomen?

• qctrl on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Useless Toyot VVTi, 7.2l/100km is nothing to shout about, slowpoke 10.4sec summore

YUCK!!!

• Sam Looser on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:31 am

Still using dino VVti-wtf ???

• Get lost japanese car….i really hate them now…get lost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:40 am

As a used kimchi car trader, I fully understand your hailat feeling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:05 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, it can no longer be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Looser on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:35 am

As long as its UMW sushi, you will be cheated of your hard earned money.

If its old camry, your RV hailat oredi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • Sammy_already_no_value on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:16 pm

6 speed auto is considered groundbreaking to this boring brand, but to the Europeans they are almost facing out such an old fashioned gearbox and moving towards 8 or 9 forward ratios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:30 am

Sure, even S500 Benz had 8 speed auto many years ago. What you did not know is that it lasts no more than 200,000kms

On the other hand, Lexus LX460 also used 8 speed auto that never breaks down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • dugongx on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:08 am

Hahahaha. Lexus RX300 gearbox always break down la. Even worse than perdana v6. Ask any foreman you’ll know.

• techsmart on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:52 am

This is a really ground breaking Camry. They kept the chassis and some interior parts but up-scaled it significantly to the point that it’s no longer a “boring car”.

The question is like some have said, will we get a fully loaded Camry in Malaysia? Probably not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • damon on Sep 04, 2014 at 7:45 am

How many of those specs will Malaysian buyers get? Well since Toyota thinks Malaysians are idiots, they’ll just throw in 2 airbags and leave everything else out. We’re all just zombies & blind followers. Most important is RV, not safety! I bet it’ll still sell like hot cakes here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:03 am

New South Wales Police started to used Camry as patrol cars in 2012-2013 to replace the fleet of Falcons and Commodores

I don’t see any K5/Sonata used. It does not take a genius to figure out why

• Old man on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:49 am

Don’t even launch it if it’s 4 speed still..waste of time..

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:06 am

South Koreans voted Camry as their Car of the Year in 2013.

What happened to K5 & Sonata?

I know Koreans hate the Japs for historical reasons, but at least the new generation knows that the cars they produce are rubbish and they voted for honesty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • 4 speed on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:34 am

don’t think RV of current camry will drop much coz new Camry with all those new features would cost at least RM160k (IMHO)…so many negative comments about camry here but yet so many camry on the road…something not right here…

• I have been an ex camry owner myself bought in 2011 XV40 and upgraded in 2014. I didn’t really feel that the 4 speed gearbox was an issue but yes when you compare it with the latest gearboxes available on cars in the competition in the market yes I would say better late then never for Toyota to upgrade it to a 6 speed. In terms of the look of the XV 50 I have always been very subjective and the current camry sales say it all.

• panjang on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:22 pm

All the spec listed makes it a real contender in its class.All this while the camry has built its reputation so its not hard to sell them.

Now,some competitor are offering more with lower pricetag.Still camry remain the choice due to the badge.

If Malaysian open their eyes,they will know that they are being rip off.Its not that camry is a bad car..its good.
    But the one that are currently sold here does not justify the price.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Camry is the D-Segment car that has the lowest TCO anywhere in the world

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 06, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Love it when you buy a new Sonata, coz you will be dying to trade the cabbage in within a year.

This is when I show you the Huilux and offer you the highest trade in for a rotten vege, RM45k provided its accident free

• Reb1rth on Sep 06, 2014 at 2:27 pm

In term of technology, japanese car are still playing catch up. Lexus only has a philosophy more then the premium German brand is a good thing. More gear, more CC, more airbag. Everything more doesn’t make a good car. More FC? LOL. Your pathetic, ignorance person.

Thanks.

• John Khoo on Sep 06, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Unlikely many of these new features will ever make to Thai-made Camrys even the new 2.0-litre engine. Toyota has been very reluctant to I’ve Thai-made Toyotas their latest and greatest technology as found in their European cars, take the Corolla Altis as best example, although on the outside it looks exactly the same as the European Corolla, the interior technology and engines are nowhere as modern as the European model. So do not get hopes too high up.

• Toyota is going the way of Mazda where Mazda 3 design is following the design of her bigger sibling, Mazda 6. For Toyota it is the reverse, where the bigger sibling (Camry) is following the design of the smaller sibling (Altis).

• Uglier than previous one.

• Edward Kam on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Goodness. Why can’t Toyota release a standard design across the world? American market has a better design in terms aerodynamic and funky new look. Why are we having the EU design?

• truely malaysian on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:22 pm

i see darth vader mouth there…hwooooooo Haaaa….Hwooooooo Haaaa, Luke, I am your father, hwooooooo Haaaa….Hwooooooo Haaaa

• the Corolla was a great design, the Vios was decent. But this new Camry seems to be totally off the mark. It looked horribly outdated in design. Yes, it is meant for aging people but even aging people like myself wouldn’t wanna be seen in an ugly box like this. Come on Toyota, suprise us!

• previous Camry Owner on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:06 am

It’s a downgrade in terms of styling and look & feel. Camry should be positioned as a luxury up market car – not a ‘sporty’ ‘young-at-heart’ type of design. The ‘fancy’ exterior body line is so far off that it now looks like its little sissy Altis or even Vios. Look at that head lamp with that bluish daylight LED! It’s a disgrace! And the blue coloured light in the main display panel… simply looks cheap! Please learn – amber, blue, orange – all these are colours used in cheap cars. Terribly concern with Toyota’s design direction for Camry. Please use Lexus’s design styling – the previous model before the current model is the best example.

• S Jenarthan on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I am amused reading what you guys write in this coloumn. Cars like many things in life are suited to individual taste and perception. I bought a new camry and frankly it gives me a smooth and quiet ride. It doesn’t matter to me who thinks what about my car. I love my car as you do yours.

• In Shock on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Heated and reclining rear seats??! That’s S-Class tech. Nicely done with the specs. Using all those specs, I’m expecting a rise in price. But heck, an E-Class/5-Series/ES/GS/Q70/A6 don’t have the reclining and let alone heated seats. Hope it comes here.

• Bujang Terlajak on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:56 am

Ugly exterior from all angles…Poor design from Toyota