SPYSHOTS: Next-gen Kia Optima testing on track

Kia-Optima-1

The next-generation Kia Optima has been spotted doing its rounds on a track. As you can see, the amount of camouflage this particular mule has doesn’t give us much to go on about except for the familiar side vents just above the front wheelarches. A closer look at the signature Kia front grille shows that it appears to have undergone a mild evolution, slightly resembling the Kia Cadenza, which isn’t available locally.

As of now, limited information is available on when the next-generation model will make an official appearance, and what kind of engine and transmission combination it will come with.

Kia-Optima-6

Time certainly has flown by considering that the Kia Optima K5 facelift was just launched locally at the start of this year. In case you need reminding, the current model on sale was introduced without any technical upgrades and thus continues with a 2.0 litre CVVL Nu engine with 165 hp at 6,500 rpm and 198 Nm at 4,800 rpm, paired to a six-speed automatic transmission.

With prototypes already undergoing tests, it is safe to expect more spyshots and bits of technical information to follow in the near future.

Current Kia Optima K5 Facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• holofanboi on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Gregory Sze? O.o

Welcome :3?

• Sam Lorrrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:19 pm

As long as it’s not a kimchi, it’ll have RV.

As long as it’s not a Proton, it’ll have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
  • Sam LoL (curry) on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:45 pm

As long as it’s not UMW,
    IT GOT 6 AIRBAGS AND ESP/VSC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Tiger Q7 on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Kia only lacking in malaysia is Turbo charged engine n diesel turbo engines for dere subs.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:10 pm

KIA is the only brand that cannot be traded in in Bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
      • Vader (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 7:47 am

But u said many car trade in to u and you show them hailat?
        Everyone know u talk kok.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
  • Tiger Q7 on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:12 pm

I mean for dere Suvs

• rifle on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:15 pm

The design cues may refer to the Kia GT concept right?

• yahoo. lepas ni 2nd hand turun harga kaw2. br mampu beli

• shawal on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:30 pm

NVH and refinement needs to be improved to really challenge rivals

• niterunner99 on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:10 am

definately need to change to bigger rims!

• FrustratinglySo on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Generally good looking car, build quality unsure as I have not tested one. But looks wise, its quite pleasing. However, if naza is still allowed to be the main dealer here in msia, customers wil continue to have bad bad experience as in owners of Peugeot.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:10 pm

without unveiling the real cover you could tell this car is a disaster in the making… do us Malaysians a favor by not launching the car here… in fact, no kia or hyundai please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Marieta on Sep 05, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Woah..I wonder if some of your very close relative got hit and run by somebody driving Kia or Hyundai ? That makes you hate these brands so much..

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 06, 2014 at 8:51 am

At least Hyundais have trade in value.

KIA, please don’t bother. Sell to a friend or relative, whom you will no longer be talking to right after coz they will realize that you have sold them a piece of junk, no matter what price

• Majeed Kun on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 156
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 06, 2014 at 8:52 am

Stop lying.

Just play the driven review on K5, Teana and Accord.

Paul Tan himself cannot even stand the noise in the K5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
  • Majeed on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:09 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 127
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 06, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Being a used kimchi dealer, I know very well that the rattle on Sonata near the glove box is happening to almost every rotten cabbage that comes for valuation.

The K5? I will chase K5/K3/Forte/Picanto/Sorento owners away. It will be a waste of time and space for me to even let them into my yard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Majeed on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 117