Mitsubishi Motors recalls over 2,000 cars in Malaysia

grandis main

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has announced a “Field Fix Campaign” (read: recall) for 2,083 Mitsubishi vehicles sold in Malaysia – specifically, older Mitsus.

The campaign covers models ranging from the Airtrek, Colt, Lancer, Lancer Evolution, Grandis and Outlander that were manufactured before March 14, 2008. MMM says this initiative is necessary to undertake checks on light switches and to replace affected parts if necessary.

Due to the structure of the printed circuit board of lighting switches, cracks can occur and cause turn signals and headlamps to malfunction over time, MMM says, adding that affected lights can blink, flicker or not turn on or stay on.

MMM will issue notification letters to affected owners and the full cost of the inspection and repair (if required) will be borne by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia.

Customers are requested to make an appointment at any Mitsubishi Motors authorised service centre for any required inspection and/or replacement. The inspection and repair process will take approximately an hour, MMM says.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:56 pm

thanks to inspira…i nearly forgot mitsu sells cars in malaysia…sad…i want the pajero evo, airtrek turbo, delica 4wd and evos to come back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • peynoo on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:07 pm

It’s ok lah, only blinking lights problem. Nothing serious at all.

Unlike that syok sendiri car brand, power window rosak so famous but never once they issue mass recall to replace it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
    • jaggy on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Sam Lorrr is disguise?
      Power window now got lifetime warranty, satisfied?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Toyota recall, Honda recall, Mitsubishi recall…

Proton not recall because it is too good? or it doesn’t really bother its customer?

Car already sold, money already in pocket, you die you own problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
        • karam singh on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Proton also have recall, Perodua also recall regarding Electric pwr steering.
          Proton recall for the CFE engine –

http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp227/ahloong1999/IMG_4877.jpg

5 words 4u -Go Google you lazy ——-

• jaggy on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Proton did recalls but not as huge as Toyota recalls all over the world

Toyota no quality

• Corporal on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:59 am

Not really a fair comparison. One is a company with over 10 million units annually and another does not even have 100k units domestically. There are hundreds of millions of Toyota car versus 4 million Proton worldwide.

• Ash Crimson on Sep 03, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Proton has implemented a lifetime warranty for their power windows for all models a few years ago. Now, which cave you said you’re living in again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Sounds like a broken record. It’s neither funny nor amusing anymore

Recalls are always done on parts that will affect the safety of the occupants. Since the board controls both the headlamps and turn indicator, having problems with both of those things will have an adverse effect on the car’s safety, as opposed to malfunctioning windows.

Proton had a recall for the Savvy due to wheel bearing issue, everyone conveniently forgets.

• Correct.

Proton also RECALL Turbo engine due to VVT Problem.

proton VVT – Got Recall Issue.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:24 pm

And Proton is going to equip the new GSC PCC with this problematic engine? lol

• serious problem bro at night,
      can cause fatal accident at night bro…
      especially during highway driving

if power window problem, just use aircond (clean air)
      or for toll user,use smarttag..
      nothing serious, unless u are a smoker.
      nothing fatal.

lifetime warranty provided by proton solved the power window problem.

• Zen 8 on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

This is how we can turn around negative into positive. By recalling the company is turning bad publicity into good publicity for the brand. Accepting mistakes and rectifying them goes a long way with the customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Zen 8 on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

This is how we can turn around negative into positive. By recalling the company is turning bad publicity into good publicity for the brand. Accepting mistakes and rectifying them goes a long way with the customers.

• y.c.low on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:29 pm

What about the Proton Inspira which is basically the Mitsubishi Lancer? I am having the first batch of Inspira and I wonder my car is having the same circuit board? Paul Tan can you enlighten me on this?

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Inspira was launched in 2010. The recall was for cars made before March 2008.

So no, your car is not affected.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:39 am

Grandis was a popular MPV, but somehow, even it never really took off, globally

• bvc100 on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Something that is not a hit with the global market can’t be considered a popular product.
      Geddit?