SPYSHOTS: New Chery Eastar MPV spotted in JPJ

NEW-CHERY-V5-B240-EASTAR-0003

There’s a new Chery Eastar MPV in town. We’ve seen it on the road last month, and here it is again at JPJ Putrajaya, courtesy of pictures sent in by regular contributor ApexKit. Thanks, buddy! Already going through the type-approval process, looks like the new seven-seat people carrier will make its debut here sooner, rather than later.

A quick recap on looks: the front is all new, with large wrap-around lamps and separate LED daytime running light strips. Round the back, we’ll let you decide whether the new taillamps look more like that of the Honda Civic Tourer, or a reversed Toyota Previa/Estima. Either way, it’s a lot better than the car it will replace.

This spot also affords us a first glimpse of the new model’s dashboard. The interior makeover is even more dramatic than the exterior’s, by the look of it. There’s now a much more modern looking multi-tiered dash layout, though the centre-mounted instrument cluster design of the outgoing model has been retained.

While details are scarce, we’d be surprised if the new Eastar doesn’t carry over the existing 134 hp/180 Nm 2.0 litre ACTECO engine and four-speed automatic combo. We’ll have more details when we have them. For now, let’s just hope it doesn’t run too far away from the current Eastar XT’s RM94,040 price.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• the interior is actually looks very good compared to any car proton ever developed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 51
    • Truth Hurts on Sep 03, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Chery Eastar > Proton Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
      • 2.0(136hp/180Nmm) vs 1.6CFE (138/205Nm)
        Eastar – 4speed ???? Exora – CVT 6speed
        price 90k vs 70k/80k
        roadtax RM380 vs RM90
        Rear braking system- Drum vs Exora’s all round disc.

Exterior = exora
        Interior = eastar
        but.. for a family car, dark interior better.
        especially if you have rugrats moving around.

how about spareparts/service/aftersales?
        enlighten me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Go drive your 1 tire Proton jer.
          Proton fanboys x perlu u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
          • Lowclassahbeng on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:28 am

As far I know proton fan boys all ah beng ah seng, ah lian ah hua coz they only got low income and only afford to buy proton, so proton is for those low educated and poor people like you…butthurt when see someone else use other car rather than proton coz at the same time you still own bank loan for 9 years. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
        • Ah Seng ProtonBasher on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:13 am

You forgot one thing, Proton=junk, Chery=low quality car, see the difference. final verdict.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • MomoNanai on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:31 am

Go buy proton for the rest of your life since we got lots of spare parts for proton since noone will buy this proton cars anymore oversea and the spare parts stock are rusting in warehouse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • gunah on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Go for Exora Turbo/CFE, it’s powerful engine for an MPV. After sales service can go through which SC is good.

Who cares about Proton driver is what, it’s your car and money. Dun care what others judge you.

• of cos bro, its a Chery.China made car.
      copying others design without any a problem at all.

copying others rear design, and flip it.
      all done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • karam singh on Sep 03, 2014 at 7:56 pm

u got dislike bro..
        Proton basher still backing up the china’s brand even
        they knew China is the world greatest copycat.

Maybe Chery’s salesman was here ? ;P

hahahaha …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Ah Seng ProtonBasher on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:19 am

You are wrong, proton basher like myself, never back up any brand, we know that China is the world greatest copycat but you need to know Proton Malaysia is the world famous laziest and stupiest car manufacturer. Sorry, not the world, only in few countries since noone buy junk car made by proton. You will see more china cars on the road than poton cars in 3 years, believe me, singh. Of coz , you can prove me wrong and buy proton car, go ahead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • mohsin on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:19 am

you make my day la kawan!
            gelak guling guling der

• Mutu Chandran on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:08 pm

cantik macam mana pon.. aku takkan beli produk cina..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 36
  • Front looks like Saga FLX. and the back looks like the devil is laughing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • rifle on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:10 pm

180 degree facelift..though it looks like the combination of many other cars, it is a good facelift..

• mr jem on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:24 pm

this is a joke! and anyone buy this is a joker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • This is real car, why consider a joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • idealtech on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:24 am

dont be so naive, go to the cherry eastar malaysian forum then u know what has this “real car” brought them to. Still I see many Exora Prime than this cherry on the road, mind u the price is neck to neck.

• There are lots of jokers in Malaysia when they bought proton cars for the past 30 years, so no harm to buy this…

• Please switch off the fog light if its not raining/foggy….the rear “red” fog light is too bright ler!

• kington on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Yes, many ignorant people are driving around with rear fog lamps turned on. It’s very annoying.

Even in Germany, i left it on the autobahn and was flashed by a few cars to turn it off though it was slightly foggy.. and that the car behind me was almost 100 metres behind me..

I see a lot of Peugeot, Preve and these Chinese cars with it.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:02 pm

It is not legal to use these fog lights unless it is really very, VERY foggy. IIRC you should not be able to see more than 50m before you are allowed (and have) to turn them on.

• havetolivewitheastar4everpoorme on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:20 am

I found its really useful when heavy rain compared to driver who turn on the hazard light.

• ahso ngan on Sep 03, 2014 at 2:51 pm

ewwwwwww…why so ugly…ugly than previous design…eeeee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • RUGAL on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:03 pm

So, they want to copy Estima’s tail light but it turns out to be..disaster..i guess.

• LOOKS way better than exora. the interior nicer too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
  • whale on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Serious question here.
    Why is it that I noticed most Chery Eastar drivers turn on their rear fog lamps even when it is not raining or foggy?
    Is it set by default to turn on or something?

Many other cars have fog lamps too but most of the time I don’t see theirs turned on unless they intentionally turn it on.

Just curious…

• Abu Sayur on Sep 03, 2014 at 3:39 pm

this car for pondan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:52 pm

rebadge as honda

• razakoss on Sep 03, 2014 at 4:53 pm

nak beli estima, check poket, ala kita beli kereta ala ala estima lah. there you go chery estima.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 03, 2014 at 11:04 pm

I saw a pre-facelift car that they put for display where they couldn’t even stick on their badges properly. The spacing was all wrong, it looked like the car has been resprayed and the worker didn’t bother to reattach the letters properly. I’m surprised it wasn’t called the CEHRY… Panel gaps were ridiculous too, and the interior looked cheap and a bit nasty in real life.

Hopefully they have fixed that, because such flaws aren’t exactly confidence inspiring.

• Orion on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:42 am

I bet you guys never went to Cherry service center before… Even worst than Proton… most of the owners in the end says they should have bought proton/perodua…

• Chery is built for ppl who has low budget, so if u have low budget then u will met chery, if u are a rich owner, u will never met chery or u will never even hear of this rubbish idot car brand. i met few chery eastar owner before, i found that they feel very pround of owning a unit of trash, if they feel so, what about ppl who is using vellfire or alphard. so for me, low educated = chery owner. chery owner feels like their car is most expensive in the world which is more on malays population.

• The front end of the car looks rather handsome. The rear end however, ATROCIOUS.

• Andrew Lai on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:53 pm

After sale service is important. The eastar ex-consumers are waiting Chery respond to the news of recall fuel pump’s defective from Chery China since November 2014 (2+ months passed). Until now, no respond from Chery Malaysia. More user reviews in Facebook.