2016 Mazda MX-5 unveiled – over 100 kg lighter!

P1J08469l

Mazda has pulled the covers off the next generation of its much-loved two-seat roadster – the 2016 Mazda MX-5. Over 940,000 units of its predecessors have been sold as of July 2014 – making the MX-5 the best-selling roadster of all time – and the new car will surely want to continue their legacy.

This ND MX-5 measures 3,915 mm long, 1,730 mm wide and 1,235 mm high, 105 mm shorter, 10 mm wider and 10 mm lower than the outgoing NC, with the 2,315 mm wheelbase some 14 mm shorter. The reduced dimensions partly explain the over 100 kg weight loss (which should make the new car weigh fairly close to the original NA’s 940 kg) despite the higher feature count and “outstanding rigidity and crashworthiness.”

Looks interesting, doesn’t it? The ND features a reinterpretation of Mazda’s Kodo design language. At the front, there are small almond-shaped headlamps and a large grille lower down. Like the 3 and 6, the roadster’s lines flow above the front wheel arches and sweeps downwards towards the rear wheels.

P1J08470l

A distinctive character line begins below the door handles and rises over the rear wheel arches before dropping down and terminating at the tail lamps, which have a prominent round light can. The rear number plate recess is located on the lower bumper for the first time on an MX-5. The result is a unique, fluid design, if a little polarising – the office is split on whether it actually looks good.

The interior is less divisive. All the basic ingredients are there – simple bucket seats, a sporty three-spoke steering wheel, a stubby gearlever and a manual handbrake. The top portion of the door cards are body-coloured, fulfilling Mazda’s intention of an interior design that “melts away the boundaries between the inside and outside of the car.”

Like the 2, the new MX-5 features a cockpit-like design around the driver with twin round air vents, while the passenger side of the dashboard is minimalistic with three knobs for controlling the air-conditioning and a simple horizontal centre air vent. Also on show is Mazda’s MZD Connect infotainment system, and owners of the 1989 original will no doubt be pleased to find similar headrest-mounted speakers on the new car.

P1J08461l

Under the skin, the construction uses the company’s latest SkyActiv technology which has also assisted in reducing weight without resorting to expensive materials such as aluminium and carbon fibre. There’s double wishbone suspension at the front and a multilink setup at the rear, and Mazda claims that the weight balance is perfectly 50:50. The steering is now electrically-assisted.

The engine is a naturally-aspirated (yes!) SkyActiv-G direct-injected petrol engine of unspecified capacity, sending power through a six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual transmission to the rear wheels – new technology, same basic formula. No output figures have been released so far.

So here you have it – a new Mazda MX-5 that promises to be as good to drive as its forebears. What do you think? Us, we can’t wait to try it out!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jack Maverick on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:48 am

YISSS!! It’s so much better than I hoped it would be.. so much so that I think I may seriously sell my house to buy it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:46 am

u will lose RV in mazda rather than ur house.. or better buy a camry. the new camry rocks with 6 speeds and 6 airbags. and good resale value too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 96
      • Steve Jobs on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:37 pm

jilaka Sam Loo.shut up.who cares about RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Even without RV, it has power, handling, style, advance technologies and build quality.

You don’t need to syok sendiri in this MX5, everyone can’t wait to join your ride (even paultan editor). You don’t need to smoke this, smoke that, smoke chicken wings, smoke christmas turkey to impress people around you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Sammy boy I hope I don’t offend u in any way. But if people care so much about RV they will not be looking at convertibles, what more a roadster.

RV can be found only in the list of priorities among uncles/aunties or people who knows nothing about cars other than tools/appliances/apparatus to get from point A to B in a comfortable way. Belum beli sudah fikir mau jual.

Car enthusiast will not care about RV, they look more into satisfaction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Yes, RV is not everything for a car. In Malaysia, getting a Cheap and Reliability (means with build quality) is the main concern of every car buyer.

Kimchi and Sushi, both have build quality (sushi have more in some ways). But kimchi cars have no RV, it is also a fact. Buyer may take it into consideration.

If a car has no RV, it is still fine (just use it till it kaput lar).

If a car has no build quality, you will experience frequent break down and garage visit, end up you spending a lot of money you shouldn’t have spent.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:25 pm

RV can fluctuate. It is a reflection of buyer perception and also of perceived quality. Many still cannot accept Korean cars as being on-par with Japanese cars, hence the low RV. I think Korean cars really do still have a ways to go before being truly on par with the Japanese. They do indeed offer more creature comforts for less price and their build quality is quickly catching up but their drivetrains are still not there yet, in my opinion. If they do catch up and come up with a car that can genuinely impress, I think the RV status quo would be shaken.

Disclaimer: I have nothing against both Korean cars and Japanese cars. Just my observation and opinion of the state of things so far.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:39 pm

You are right, Obviously. Korean cars have a gap to catch up Japanese car. And Proton has a BIG gap to catch up both Korean and Japanese cars.

Look, power, prices, are never problem for Proton. Proton need to work A LOT HARDER on build quality, with its part suppliers (some say their nicknames are “cronies”).

I am objective actually, no special hatred on Proton. No build quality means no build quality, no RV means no RV, 4 speed auto gearbox means 4 speed auto gearbox. Sales figure tell the popularity on all models.

I believe we don’t have to syok sendiri for cars, especially on the models not yet launched.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Yeah, but it is marketing, really. A lot of automakers build up hype around their cars before the actual launch. We see a lot of Proton “syiok sendiri” articles mainly because they are based in this country and they’re inviting the country’s top motor journalists to look at the processes and stuff. It’s all business. But I am not saying that Proton’s PR is good. Historically, they’ve been very bad because they very often over-promise and under-deliver. That absolutely wrecks public expectations. IMO, they should be more humble in how they view themselves and how they market themselves. Ah, this is off-topic.

On topic: MX-5 looks awesome! The face looks like it’s saying “AWWWWWW YEEEEAAAAAH”. I’d say this is a massive improvement over the previous MX-5 face. Found it looking a bit too blur.

Oh and, y u no register your nick? I’m sure got some that use your name for stupid posts. Register lah, so we know that it is you.

• Sam Loo (ori), i thought when you tried to sell the shitty 4-speeder, you said it is fool-proof? So now 6 speeder is not so fool-proof anymore right?

Keep talking about RV. If i really want good RV, i would buy property instead of camry.

Stop your antics and being a constant irritant and please contribute something useful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • DOn’t compare a roadster to a family car you douche

• samlok on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Yes, agree. Camry rv even better then house.

• In Awe on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Sam Loo, I am impressed that you do not need an MX-5 to justify your manhood. You must be a very happy man!

• Vader (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:10 am

But remind that our umw toyo camry using old engine and old 4-speed gearbox.
        And it cannot trade in as well, even launched the so call X version.. lol

• Pertol Head on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:50 am

Grow up ppl! As clearly stated in the front page of this web, #1 source for automotive news and it’s meant for all petrol head.

Feel free to start a new blog call ilovetoyota.com or resalevalueiseverything.com if you can’t accept the fact that many overseas car manufacturers are improving!

Narrow minded!

• rifle on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I like the design too..but somehow, why do I think that it’s less “KODO” then other new Mazdas?hmm..

• Cantik dimata, berkena di hati tapi jauh dari capaian :-(

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:49 am

So glorious…moved by the soul of motion.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:53 am

looks fantastic….i know hairdressers and gey people will buy it…but screw that….its awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
  • kcng (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:11 am

Front copy from Maserati Granturismo and rear copy from Jaguar F Type

Why no one bash it as a copycat? Because it is a Japanese car and not a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 52
    • toyoi on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:05 pm

come on bro, its 2014. this kind of comment boring d. being reuse so many times, proton is almost reaching 30 years.

u want to rinse and repeat till when?

• unfair on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:56 pm

not sure if your bashing proton or making a statement that other car companies except proton are allowed to copy other car.

• ayong on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:31 pm

not even close dude

• Ash Crimson on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:11 am

noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• kelvintbm on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:13 am

Why you didn’t launch earlier? Just booked the current version not long ago.

• kayosz on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:15 am

wahhh… nice..

• im kinda dissapointed with it’s design. i expect it to be look stunning, but now it look uglier than the previous gen….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
    • Chris (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Really? How? You mean like your parents and you? :P

Jokes aside, I’m sure most, if not all people, think the car looks properly 2015/2016. Seems like the angry-face is trendy now.

• Ray (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:27 am

The headlamps remind me of the Toyota 86, somehow. The rear looks okay, and although the whole thing looks weird, it actually fits the MX-5 image so yeah, 7 points out of 10 to Mazda. Was hoping for a more Mazda6 like styling but I guess this will do just fine as it retains the MX-5’s iconic looks.

• Looks like Lightning McQueen from the Cars Movie

• Black Dog on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:36 am

But for some reason, there’s so few on our roads

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:27 pm

that reason is called price.

• Black Dog on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:45 pm

It’s the cheapest sports car yet there’s thousands of Porches, Ferraris, GTR around.

• neemfa on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Niche. and only a handful knows how to appreciate ‘driver’s car’.

• YES. Definitely likey.
    With wishbone suspension upfront too!
    Now only need to know Power & Price……

• Damn…Its gonna be tough for me to choose between 86/mx5 now. Heard that its price is going down to around 30k here to match 86

• Kumang on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Its a shame that Toyota reuse the legendary 86 name on Toyota 86. Toyota 86 is rubbish compared to Sprinter/Corolla AE86. The connection between the two car is just a market gimmick made by Toyoita.

• Jaybond on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:49 am

2016? Why Mazda released the pics so early? Or should we say why the delay?
    Anyway, in terms of design, it’s not exactly very beautiful but uniquely styled it is (the front headlamp could have been better designed). But expect the driving performance to be as thrilling and fun as ever.
    On a separate note, this it the type of car that I’ve been stressing what Lotus must produce nowadays – an entry level/small sportscar with solid built-quality, practicality and outstanding handling performance.

• W204 C63 AMG on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Because it will be launched in the US in 2015. It’s a US tradition that cars bought in X year will be registered as X+1 year for resale value purposes. For example if you buy a car in 2014, it will be registered as a 2015 year car.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:51 am

If there is no Potong, Everybody will be driving MX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • 4G63T DSM on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:57 am

So now Mazda has released the 5. lets see how the Alfa twin will end up looking.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Da side n rear reminds me abit of da previous gen bmw z4m….
    Lools good n sporty…in europe n US its actually a fairly affordable car to buy…..

• Usavich on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Can proton just simply rebadge this car? Please..

• eims perfume on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:27 pm

very nice. not many 2seaters roadster in malaysia but personally i love 2seater roadster. mazda could bring the new mx5 here so we could have option other than continental smart roadster, bmw z4, merc slk or porch

• eims perfume on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:28 pm

before perodua bring a re-badged daihastu copen to malaysia

• shawal on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:37 pm

stunning…

• GayPride on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:42 pm

This do bring back the sweet memories.I miss how I miss-shift the gear.You know,when there are 2 guys in a car,there alway a extra knob for me to shift……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • white dog on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Proton pcc better looking than this kodo alien

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • I thought it had a bit of Z4 look. But definitely better looking than its predecessor !

• looks interesting.always dream of a roadster.but according to my average Malaysian man’s life automotive chronology :
    15 y/o:any car would do as long as I can drive
    18 y/0: still any car, but preferably Satria.Stylo wehh!!Muffler with 2.5 inch piping~
    20 y/o: Dam* yo, that EVO/Impreza looks nice!!!Definitely will buy after get job!!*starry eyes**
    23 y/o:Dam*,can’t afford la to buy Evo/Impreza.It’s ok,Wira Evo will do.or Saga-ru Impreza.But Myvi is a better choice after graduate.
    25:Yay!!finally can afford to buy Evo!!Search around for 2nd hands, but then decided to buy City/Vios.
    27:Got married.Still use City/Vios.Wife drives her Myvi/Vios/City.Got first child,immediately change to MPV.Traded in wife’s car for Alza/Exora/recond Wish.Must have DVD player for kids to see Dora/Cars 2/Frozen.
    29:Wow that Porsche looks nice.Wahhh kids nowadays soo young also can drive Beemer.Must be parent’s car!(Envy usually arises while driving MPV in traffic jams.Have to as already have 3 kids fighting over the drop-down monitor.Vios/City strictly for work only.Haha.)
    32:Now time to change the City/Vios.Looking through Beemer/Merc/Audi catalogs, but only keep the H/T/P1 catalogs.Kimchi is good option,but have to listen to SamL**,not good RV.(ended up buying face-lifted vios/City/Civic)
    35:Waiting for promotion.MPV in bad shape already.
    40:Promoted at last!!Kids have grown.Can let go of MPV and the vios/city.3series looks nice.but maintenance aduii.Hmmm..*buys an Accord.Wahhhhh..executive brooo!!**Wife asking for car.Buys her a facelifted Myvi.Alasan:you langgar bumper pun no problem.Cheap to fix.and you kan slim so tak perlu pakai kereta besar2.:)
    43:Wahhh Accord still ok la.(still under warranty so ok.)
    47:Accord stays at home.Its a kereta majlis/ceremony car as it has passed the warranty already.nanti rosak mahal.Now have to find a fuel efficient low maintenance small city car.hmm..takes wife’s myvi.Buys her a facelifted City/Vios.bigger (you are not as slim so need bigger car.*Survives flying plates and frying pan.).Daughter asks for car.Of course buys her Fiesta (as suggested by Jeremy Clarkson).Son ask for car.Buys him 5th hand 1996 1.3 satria manual.Tell him when I was your age this is the ultimate car.Don’t worry,the power window will be just fine.
    55:Almost pencen.HAVE TO OWN A MERCEDES!!let go Accord.Buys 2nd/3rd hand Merc E-Class.Preferable from a friend.Prepare for maintenance.
    60:Pencen already.Merc still ok.Vios/City still ok.Fiesta still ok.Satria……..now with MIVEC 1.8 already.with fibre GTi bodykit.
    61:Sell Merc..need prestige but pencen money not enough for maintenance.Buys a Saga FL top line.Vios/City still in use.Fiesta sold as daugter buys new City/Vios.

..and the circle of life continues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Loved reading ! lol … There is no avoiding it, no forgetting. No running away, or flying, or burying, or hiding……

• Ive Failed on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:00 pm

What a beautifully written piece of modern Malaysian literature. Gua tabik sama lu.

So far 3/4 of your story already came true in my life. And my next door neighbor too.

• Haha.meaning we are really lelaki sejati la brother.demi family Evo we let go.Kita tabik sama-sama.Haha!

• berembon on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:45 pm

wahhh…spot on lar bro…typical of many of us here..

• This is why we need Alfa in this world.

• Ayoohh if Honda CR-Z they called it ikan carp, this one ikan apa pulak? Keli?

I love the design so much, but I hope the headlamp will not look that small in flesh. If Skyactiv proven to be more or at least on par in fuel efficiency with the current hybrid, then it will be my in my list.

Kudos. Current Mazda’s design really nailed it.

• macroemdia on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:54 pm

somewhat OK with the front. he rear lamp is to ALFA-ish, lost that MX5 spul. Hope they reconsider the rear.

• guilt79 on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Honestly, not really that good-looking.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • W204 C63 AMG on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:38 pm

It’s amazing how many brands are now producing great products now that they are free from Ford (Volvo, Jaguar, Land Rover and Mazda.)

• bvc100 on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Looks too Honda-ish for me. One too many typical old Honda design language around the car, particularly on the front end.

• rellyah on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:48 pm

whats with the tail light & antenna man…

shark fin at least.

• It’s a convertible la. Most convertibles are using the same antenna. Shark fin put at the front bonnet arr?

• Drollllllllllllinggggggggggggggggggggggggg!!

• Superman on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:53 pm

just one word. stunning. Mazda is always the best and most advanced car from Japan. always look the best, efficient and always look fresh. this car will sell very well. well done Mazda.

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:01 pm

GOD BLESS MAZDA!!! Lightweight, rear-wheel-drive, affordable (at least in most parts of the world), good 6 speed manual transmission and proven nimble handling!
    I’m sure lots of racing team will be using this car later, not to mention the MX-5 one-make race series.
    Can’t wait to see this car to compete against GT-86 and Lotus Elise.
    But this is can’t be unseen:

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Damn the link didn’t appear. You guys can kindly go to Jalopnik.com and look for a post entitled ‘Dammit, I Can’t Stop Seeing Bunnies In The 2016 Mazda Miata’.

• tfishp on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Side view, jaguar. Rear, rx-8. Front, maserati granturismo.
    XD

• heybadigol on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:13 pm

It doesnt really look that great in pictures I must admit. Hopefully, it will grow on me. Cos wow, the less than 1,000kg kerb weight (will the car actually weigh 840kg???) should give it really good handling. Also, the cutaway photos clearly show the entire drivetrain behind the front axle.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Only noticed after reading your comment about the drivetrain being behind the front axle. The engine is longitudinally mounted, no less! Now…what engine and what gearbox would they use…? Very likely the SkyActiv stuff but I’m hoping they made special gear for the MX-5. Like a 7-speed MT.

• ThePolygon on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:44 pm

I just thought that the lights in the front should be a bit bigger… well you know how like how the rest of the mazda family is now.

• Your move now Honda. What happen to your s2000?

• Excellent job Mazda! just don’t make an auto version so Bermaz got no choice but to bring in the manual!!

• tricycle on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:55 pm

nice, bring it here. dont charge tax so much la msian government.

• samlok on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Totally awesome

• Baja Lapis Seng on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Damn~ what a fine ride.

Now it’s even more exciting to wait for the new gen Rx-7, wonder how Mazda will delight us with that the new majestic rotary engine Rx-7

• Sean Koh on Sep 06, 2014 at 2:29 pm

It looks very nice! And hell yeah, 6-speed manual NA engine! i like MX-5(previous models too!), but too bad it’s too expensive for me(everyone knows sports car tax is very high in Malaysia),price should be around nearly RM300k?(Anyone correct me if i’m wrong)