Audi A6 facelift officially revealed with new engines

Audi_A6_facelift_04

Audi has officially revealed the facelifted version of the current generation A6, with a raft of changes across the entire range. Main exterior changes include a redesign of the Singleframe grille – similar to the latest Audi TT, bumpers with a diffuser-like one at the rear, more pronounced side sills, updated rear lights design, exhaust pipes and headlights – which now feature Matrix LED technology, matched to dynamic turn indicators. For the non S and RS models, the wheels now come in sizes ranging from 17 to 20 inches.

The interior more or less stays the same but with a few key elements improved upon. The Audi Multi Media Interface (MMI) – which is standard along with an automatic air conditioning system, receives an upgrade, with the flagship navigation system now coming with a power-retractable eight-inch monitor. It employs a new technology platform that uses the Tegra 30 graphics chip, provided by Audi’s partner Nvidia. The front seats are now available with optional ventilation and massage functions.

Driving assistance systems now include adaptive cruise control, stop & go function, Audi side assist – which uses radar technology to warn the driver of potential vehicles behind when changing lanes. The system works in tandem with the Audi active lane assist to prevent unintended lane changes. An updated night vision assistant now comes with extra functions, along with Audi’s pre sense basic safety system – which is now standard. A head-up display which enables drivers to call up important information is available as an option.

Practicality-wise, the A6 Avant offers a luggage compartment that boasts between 565 and 1,680 litres. An optional automatic sensor-controlled feature for the tailgate, paired to a power luggage compartment cover makes loading of luggages that much easier for consumers.

The Audi A6 all road quattro – based on the Audi A6 Avant, receives a different variation of the Singleframe grille with vertical slats instead. A raised body and stainless steel reinforcements for the underside of the front and rear ends further marks it out from the rest of the A6 range.

On the mechanical side of things, Audi decided to bring in updated engines along for the facelift. All engines now comply with Euro 6 emission standards with a drop in CO2 levels as high as 22%, according to Audi. A total of eight engines are available internationally with three TFSI petrol-powered ones – the base engine producing 190 hp right up to 333 hp in the strongest variant, and five TDI diesel choices – starting with 150 hp to 326 hp.

Audi_A6_facelift_14

The base petrol model with 190 hp and 320 Nm is now badged as the A6 1.8 TFSI ultra, with the last suffix now adorning the most efficient models (both petrol and diesel). Audi’s homegrown multitronic CVT transmission has been dropped, in favour of a reworked seven-speed dual-clutch S tronic gearbox. An updated six-speed manual box is still available in some markets, but either way, it gets to 100 km/h in 7.9 seconds. Fitted with the S tronic ‘box, it uses just 5.7 litres per 100 km, while emitting 133 grammes of CO2 per kilometre.

Of course, the diesel ultra model is even more efficient – the 150 hp/350 Nm A6 2.0 TDI ultra averaging 4.2 litres per 100 km and 109 grammes of CO2 per kilometre. This one will get to 100 km/h in 9.6 seconds with the S tronic options, while the standard manual is quicker by a tenth of a second. A 190 hp/400 Nm version of the same engine does the deed in 8.3 seconds.

Back to the petrol range, the mid-range 2.0 TFSI gets a new state of tune – 252 hp and 370 Nm of torque, up from 180 hp and 320 Nm. Zero to 100 km/h is done in 6.7 seconds. Meanwhile, the A6 3.0 TFSI model gets a revised engine too, now with 333 hp instead of the outgoing model’s 310 hp. Torque stays at 440 Nm. Available exclusively with quattro all-wheel drive and S tronic, the 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 5.1 seconds.

Audi_A6_facelift_01

Audi, however, is more interested in pushing its new 3.0 TDI diesel engines. Single-turbo versions have either 218 or 272 hp, with the former output accompanied by either 400 Nm in standard front-wheel drive form (0-100 km/h in 7.1 seconds), or 500 Nm as a quattro (6.6 seconds). With 580 Nm, the 272 hp version gets to 100 km/h in 5.5 seconds.

On the other hand, the bi-turbo variations get 320 hp/650 Nm as standard, or 326 hp/650 Nm (can be further boosted to 346 hp briefly) in the special-edition competition models. With such numbers, they get to 100 km/h in 5.0 and 4.9 seconds respectively. These two high-performance diesel models are paired to an eight-speed automatic tiptronic transmission.

On the chassis side, Audi drive select dynamic handling system is standard across the board, with two sport suspensions and an adaptive air suspension setups available as options. The A6 Avant 2.0 TDI ultra, in particular, gets glass-fibre-reinforced polymer (GFRP) springs, which save around 4.4 kg alone. Meanwhile, the high-riding Audi A6 allroad quattro gets adaptive air suspension as standard. As before, the base models have a front-wheel drive layout, which can then be upgraded to quattro all-wheel drive. High-performance models can even be had with a sport differential, which actively distributes power between the rear wheels.

Audi A6 facelift

Audi A6 allroad facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 7:49 pm

s-tronic. problems. problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
    • samlorrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Not for poor people

• Audi – Not for daily driving.
        a drive train that allow you to keep your car in the workshop.

Audi – for the rich, who always have another better and reliable car at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
        • Johari on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Then u better get a 4 speed Toyota. Very reliable.

• Heng Lee on Sep 05, 2014 at 3:26 am

And a better car is what? A Toyota which brakes doesn’t work and that will roll-over in curves? LOL!

• Triple E is spot on here. I have just sent my Audi A6 in at Euromobil for an aircond issue and it has been 4 days and I have not heard from them. This is the second time that I have sent my car in and it takes over 3 days for their mostly inexperienced technicians to run their diagnostics! I believe many of their technicians are fairly new to their job.

I have had two Merc before this A6 from Cycle & Carriage but I don’t recall them taking over 2 days to diagnose a car complaint.

Buy at your own peril! Just remember that any one can sell you just about any car but backing their products up is clearly an issue here with Audi Malaysia.

• Aaron on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Boring and Problem. Lexus ES much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
      • Johari on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Why get an ES? Camry is good enough. 4 speed gearbox is simple and reliable. Camry resale is also very good. Camry- the car for towkays!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Heng Lee on Sep 05, 2014 at 3:31 am

Yes, much better:

Lexus ES 350 Transmission Issues

http://forums.edmunds.com/discussion/8064/lexus/es-350/lexus-es-350-transmission-issues

• Not for poor ppl like you who where gaji baru cukup untuk makan. I recommend Perodua Axia for you. Value for money and cheap to repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Sep 04, 2014 at 7:56 pm

what facelift?
    more like eye lift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Legend (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:00 pm

No More CVT!!Yeahhhh
    S tronic still got problems like DSG???Confirmed or not?
    Yes!surely like the additional Matrix LED on the new A6!!!

• DRB SUXX on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:03 pm

See one Audi, you seen them all.. getting boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • maXref (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:25 pm

what a beauty :) if looked in isolation…
    but the problem is every DAMN audi looks the same if u don’t look into the details. Where is the sense of exclusiveness if u were to buy one of these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • powershot (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:47 pm

i never notice the difference between facelifts; if there is one. exterior & interior is getting dated than ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • You have the baaaaadddddggggeeeeee, Toyot tries hard to be luxurious but fails miserably

• A6 avant 3.0tdi biturbo.yum2.keep dreaming…

• xiper (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:21 pm

yeah just dream on, no way this engine will be in before Bolehland got minimum Euro4 diesel, probably this new engine needs to run on Euro5

• seancorr on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Looks handsome as always but the rear now looks like the A8. Love that 8 inch monitor too.

• mmaker on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:20 pm

What about facelifted a6 hybrid?

• Aero (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:48 am

Why does every Audi look the same ? Really now….

Well, I guess if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it.

• Tim Arthur on Sep 06, 2014 at 9:26 am

Just like every BMW looks the same, but worse than the Audi.

• Jaybond on Sep 05, 2014 at 8:10 am

Nice subtle facelift.

• teohrayan on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:16 am

Pls laa can’t afford pls dun condemn.Audi quality is the Best in premium category latest technology with the most less problem in market just maintenance wise really costly be honest

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:21 am

The chrome bit on the boot lid is a big no for me.

Looks close to the pre facelift, but hey, that’s the German way of things.

Oh, and I guess you must be the new guy, I genuinely like your writing I must say! Hope you will meet Sam Loo and Associates soon! :D

• vwowner on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:54 am

It’s all about Innovation.

What Proton did to their Perdana? Copy & Paste?

• krishna on Sep 05, 2014 at 10:00 am

when are they going to release the new generation Audis? Always facelifting for the past almost 8 years

• cendol (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 11:42 am

Audi A1 A2 A3 A4 A5 A6 A6 A7 A8 A9 A10, They all look the same.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:04 pm

That’s a nice interior, especially with that particular wood trim. Very tasteful.

• Botox on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Facelift? Really? Let me see… hmmm… It looks like a A.. 4? No? A..5? no?… Oh.. its the A6.