Ford RM150k Conservation and Environmental Grants

Ford-Conservation-and-Environmental-Grants-logoFord recently announced an open call for entries for its 2014 Conservation and Environmental Grants programme in Malaysia, where RM150k in grants will be awarded to local projects.

Individuals, community and non-profit groups with projects in the areas of natural environment preservation, environmental education and conservation engineering can submit their project proposals by September 30, 2014.

“This programme is one of the many ways in which Ford goes further to preserve the environment and improve lives in the communities where we operate. This global Ford initiative is our way of directly benefiting communities, and the results of projects have been profound and far-reaching,” said David Westerman, MD of Malaysia and Asia Pacific Emerging Markets at Ford.

Since launching the programme in 1983, Ford has awarded more than US$5 million (RM15.9 million) in grants to thousands of environmental projects in over 60 countries. In Malaysia, the grant has funded projects that helped spread the message of sustainability, ecosystem education, conservation and preservation, coastline environmental monitoring, aquaponics and river rehabilitation.

The official grant application form can be downloaded from www.ford.com.my. All proposals must include details about the specific project and required funding.

A panel will select winners based on usefulness and practicality, dedication, financial need, originality and potential to replicate the programme. Judges will also rate applications based on whether they demonstrate a well-defined sense of purpose and a commitment to maximising available resources.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Good move Ford.my.
    But Bolehland Gov don’t even care about Healthy Environment.
    Taxes on Hybrid car for example. Gov only care for raise taxes. Later Tun petroleum company less business income.

• Become an IPP yourself and start investing in hydrogen fueling stations for fuel cell vehicles (FCVs). There is huge demand in that in the future. Greener fuel + high demand.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Responsible car maker like Ford give grants to public to encourage environment conservation and enhancement.

In the other hand, leech level car maker only thinking how to get more money (sell at higher price, beg for tax payer money, force government to impose high tax on its competitors etc)

This is the difference between world class car maker and syok-sendiri car maker.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:11 pm

This is one of the reasons why I respect Ford. Their practices are one of the better ones in the market (plus they make one of the best affordable driver’s cars!). It’s just such a shame that their local representative has left sour tastes in the mouths of some.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:37 pm

I hate being cynical, but cant help to think that part of it is the tax incentive u get for awarding these things, I mean its ok everyone wins, but at the end its a biz nt a charity

• husam on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:29 pm

i am in an international school, on first week of october, we are having a 3 days trip for global citiznship to investigate the pulution in the cost of malaysia,, i find this a great oportunity, to suport our event the problem is i went on the website,, i did NOT find the form they are talking about,, how can i register? can someone send me the link please?