GALLERY: Hyundai i20 – more pix of the Euro version

hyundai i20 europe 01

More photos of the new Hyundai i20, this time of the European-spec version. The hatchback will be making its official debut at the 2014 Paris Motor Show in October and entering production during the same month, with sales scheduled to begin in November.

Five engine choices will be available for the 4,035 mm-long offering on the continent, three petrol units (1.25 litre Kappa in 75 PS and 84 PS state of tunes as well as a 100 PS 1.4 litre) and two oil burners, a 75 PS 1.1 litre and 90 PS 1.4 litre U2. The Indian market version, known as the Elite i20, will feature the 84 PS 1.2 litre petrol and 1.4 litre turbodiesel.

Plenty for European buyers to choose from in terms of colours and trim – nine exterior colours as well as an interior that will have four cloth upholstery choices, with the dashboard and seats colour-coordinated, on top of a leather option. The Euro i20 will feature six airbags, ESC, vehicle stability management, lane departure warning system and hill start assist as standard fitment.

Production will take place at the Hyundai Assan Otomotiv Sanayi (HAOS) plant in Izmit, Turkey – the i20 is set to be 100% built in Turkey, the company announcing that production of right-hand drive models and models bound for Eastern Europe have been transferred from the company’s Chennai plant in India.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Citroen DS5 rear much? on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:46 pm

I can’t be the only one that sees the resemblance of the rear of this i20 looks strikingly like the Citroen DS5’s rear…. right?

• xantia on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Wrong. Proton Iriz still way behind this new Hyundai. No need lah to export it to Europe, nanti tak laku pula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • JamPaPaya on Sep 04, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Laku punya.

Jual Proton Rosmah 1/2 Price of Hyundai i20.
        Can Run 100,000km = 5 years usage.

Can Buy and Throw to use 5 years.

• Proton or any car manufacturer would need a diesel engine to succeed in Europe.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:08 pm

As long as it is kimchi, it will not have RV.

As long as it is Proton, it will not have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Pertol Head on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:45 am

Grow up ppl! As clearly stated in the front page of this web, #1 source for automotive news and it’s meant for all petrol head.

Feel free to start a new blog call ilovetoyota.com or resalevalueiseverything.com if you can’t accept the fact that many overseas car manufacturers are improving!

Narrow sided!

• looks interesting.but according to my average Malaysian man’s life automotive chronology :
      15 y/o:any car would do as long as I can drive
      18 y/0: still any car, but preferably Satria.Stylo wehh!!Muffler with 2.5 inch piping~
      20 y/o: Dam* yo, that EVO/Impreza looks nice!!!Definitely will buy after get job!!*starry eyes**
      23 y/o:Dam*,can’t afford la to buy Evo/Impreza.It’s ok,Wira Evo will do.or Saga-ru Impreza.But Myvi is a better choice after graduate.
      25:Yay!!finally can afford to buy Evo!!Search around for 2nd hands, but then decided to buy City/Vios.
      27:Got married.Still use City/Vios.Wife drives her Myvi/Vios/City.Got first child,immediately change to MPV.Traded in wife’s car for Alza/Exora/recond Wish.Must have DVD player for kids to see Dora/Cars 2/Frozen.
      29:Wow that Porsche looks nice.Wahhh kids nowadays soo young also can drive Beemer.Must be parent’s car!(Envy usually arises while driving MPV in traffic jams.Have to as already have 3 kids fighting over the drop-down monitor.Vios/City strictly for work only.Haha.)
      32:Now time to change the City/Vios.Looking through Beemer/Merc/Audi catalogs, but only keep the H/T/P1 catalogs.Kimchi is good option,but have to listen to SamL**,not good RV.(ended up buying face-lifted vios/City/Civic)
      35:Waiting for promotion.MPV in bad shape already.
      40:Promoted at last!!Kids have grown.Can let go of MPV and the vios/city.3series looks nice.but maintenance aduii.Hmmm..*buys an Accord.Wahhhhh..executive brooo!!**Wife asking for car.Buys her a facelifted Myvi.Alasan:you langgar bumper pun no problem.Cheap to fix.and you kan slim so tak perlu pakai kereta besar2.:)
      43:Wahhh Accord still ok la.(still under warranty so ok.)
      47:Accord stays at home.Its a kereta majlis/ceremony car as it has passed the warranty already.nanti rosak mahal.Now have to find a fuel efficient low maintenance small city car.hmm..takes wife’s myvi.Buys her a facelifted City/Vios.bigger (you are not as slim so need bigger car.*Survives flying plates and frying pan.).Daughter asks for car.Of course buys her Fiesta (as suggested by Jeremy Clarkson).Son ask for car.Buys him 5th hand 1996 1.3 satria manual.Tell him when I was your age this is the ultimate car.Don’t worry,the power window will be just fine.
      55:Almost pencen.HAVE TO OWN A MERCEDES!!let go Accord.Buys 2nd/3rd hand Merc E-Class.Preferable from a friend.Prepare for maintenance.
      60:Pencen already.Merc still ok.Vios/City still ok.Fiesta still ok.Satria……..now with MIVEC 1.8 already.with fibre GTi bodykit.
      61:Sell Merc..need prestige but pencen money not enough for maintenance.Buys a Saga FL top line.Vios/City still in use.Fiesta sold as daugter buys new City/Vios.

..and the circle of life continues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Better not let Inokom manufacture i20, quality like shit. I’m i10 owner.

• Tha’s because of Hyundai QAQC like shit.

Dont blame inokom, Hyundai is the Supervisor.

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:09 am

What happened to the i10? I think the locally made Hyundai Getz is quite well screwed together and is much better than the imported prefacelift Getz. Which brings me to my next question, why call it i20? What is wrong with the name Getz??? and why don’t we have it in Malaysia??

• The overall stance of this car looks very citroen-ish

• its european taste for european market & design by Hyundai Europe team ler kawan