Locally-made lithium-ion batteries by 2015 – report

leaf-battery

According to a report by The Star, Malaysia is en route to produce its first prototype lithium-ion batteries for electric buses, cars and energy storage by the first quarter of 2015.

The project, which will be a collaborative effort between the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI), transport logistics firm ARCA Corp, Australia’s AutoCRC and Swinburne University of Technology, aims to develop the most energy-dense battery for the market, according to MAI chief executive officer Madani Sahari.

Madani said the first experimental batch of batteries will be employed on an electric bus prototype, developed by ARCA Corp. The first planned deployment of the E-Bus will be in Putrajaya and Langkawi, due to their relatively simple routing and range requirements. A sum of RM200 million is said to be invested by ARCA Corp over a period of four years, with commercialisation of the E-Bus expected to commence in 2016.

Following trial runs, the next step would be to “upscale” the production of the lithium-ion batteries, according to Madani. “Once we have successfully tested the prototype battery, we want to then produce them locally on a wider scale.”

He also said plans were already in motion to set up a plant to produce the batteries. The only decision left to make is between establishing a new plant or expand on an existing one. Said plant is part of the National Automotive Policy, announced in January 2014, which aims to turn Malaysia into a regional energy-efficient vehicle hub.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:52 am

So…hybrid owners rejoice? Perhaps.

• Gargantia on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:06 am

While hope this won’t be another “false promise” by our Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • drMpower on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:01 am

jesus christ what u are smoking

it is the working of an INSTITUTE. joined with some other institutions.

for f sake please stop what u are smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:22 pm

We already have Lynas to produce materials, why not Lithium Ion battery as finished product?

• Dude, Nothing to do with Christ!

• Pengguna Bijak on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:43 am

Whatever lah NAP EEV policy this that.

I still demand at least 30 years warranty + 30 years free service for a Proton Electric or hybrid car.

Only that way it convinced me and the rest of rakyat to trust Proton again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • ayamitik on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:30 pm

while you at that, ask for free EV car too. Everything want cheaper and free.
        Although this news are non related with proton. EV Hub.
        Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI), transport logistics firm ARCA Corp, Australia’s AutoCRC and Swinburne University of Technology.The vendor for new compact and high density batteries.

read properly.

• ayamitik on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:58 am

so thailand with small energy efficient car hubs, malaysia with hybrid and electric car hubs. that is good. different market and segmentation.

• Nissan on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Foreseen that it will be Forever Delayed

• TripleA on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:06 am

Buatan Malaysia? I takut…..nanti bomb how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:32 am

Ya ya..better give thailand sure no explode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Skulljuju on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:21 am

Like petroleum is any safer.

• MoFaz on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:54 am

when people want to do it, you condemn. when people built factory in other country, you condemn our gov.. you people only know to complaint and condemn. damn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • driver on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:09 pm

… if only I can tumbuk you laju2!

what sort of mentality is this? so, are you implying that we better of forever to be users, not inventors?

• Wooohooo yea!

• Read between the lines….just another excuse for gov & cronies to gain access to taxpayers’ money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • start-a-fight on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:34 am

now the lynas plant make sense… so tesla, how about gigafactory here in Malaysia.. to cater right hand drive market

• nazi bin naza on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:45 pm

tesla links to zionist
      highly doubt its coming to msia

• If tesla come to Malaysia, just IF. I wonder how is our government going to charge for road tax. Since it’s EV.

• Doubt about the quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • eims perfume on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:55 am

good move for future market will be using a lot of those.

• Car-Fans on Sep 04, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Aiyo! Safe ar? Takut Jugak lor … Saga BLM can suddenly engine stop – Ini can suddenly KABOOOoooOOOoooMM tak ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • start a fight on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:18 pm

seriously guys…. i wonder if you guys using intel chip which is made in malaysia or bunch of other stuff which internally(wafer board) was made in malaysia and shipped to other country for assembly…

• abdullah on Sep 04, 2014 at 1:38 pm

The government should not take part in business.
    Another black hole for the government to throw in
    billions of Ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Don carleone on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Good luck
    As for now, every company that related to production of li ion battery in Malaysia had gone bust. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Don carleone on Sep 04, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Good luck
    As for now, every company that related to production of li ion battery in Malaysia had gone bust. Good luck.

• leonardo on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:22 pm

I would be very concerned if there is a by product of Li Ion battery which is hazardous to our environment if not disposed off properly. Worse still, disposed off quietly in our backyard and causing long term environmental damage.
    Any experts here on the production of Li Ion batteries and its by-products?

• pondan on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Remember the old days when fuel prices were so high that gov has been giving incentives and free money to companies (Cronies) to start bio diesel, water gas (HO) gadgets to reduce oil consumption. Now we are in the 5th year, all fancy stuffs are gone quiet just as quiet as the money went missing. Only a little news about bio diesel but no where near producing reasonable results.

The only inevitable outcome is, cronies got richer and rakyat for screwed. Unfortunately Malaysian tends to be too forgiving and forgetful. Cronies always had runaway wins.

• driver on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:16 pm

They should be pushed to deliver. Or at least make whatever findings/results as open source.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Good. .

Please produce lipos for my hobbies too.