Miguel Fragoso appointed Lotus Engineering Director

Miguel-FragosoGroup Lotus has announced the appointment of Miguel Fragoso as its Engineering Director. He will have overall responsibility for all aspects of engineering at Lotus and will report to CEO Jean-Marc Gales.

A chartered engineer and fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Miguel has held a number of senior roles with the automotive industry, most recently as CEO of Millbrook Proving Ground, where he grew and diversified Millbrook from a proving ground and test site to become a complete vehicle engineering development centre.

Prior to that, he held senior positions in engineering and corporate planning at General Motors, in the UK, Europe and Japan.

“I am delighted to join the Lotus team and I look forward to contributing to the exciting future of Lotus, to help grow the business and lead the teams that will continue to develop sports cars that are distinctive, competitive, pure and possess unrivalled ride and handling,” the new man said.

Last week, the Proton-owned sportscar maker announced the appointmemt of Kia’s former European market expert, Jean-Charles Lievens, to develop the sales network in France, Italy, Spain and Portugal. CEO Jean-Marc Gales, a former PSA Peugeot Citroen president, assumed the post in May this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

So shameful. After 60 years of Independance also, we still got no local brains to run a company owned by Malaysians.

Why appoint a white man? Why can’t you give this job to a local Malaysian and make him an expat? Does not matter if he is a Malay, Chinese or Indian, so long as you give it to a fellow Malaysian.

Proton really got no shame. this is how they bleed money. This is why Proton is losing money. This is typical Proton mentality like buying a motorbike company for few hundred million pounds and later selling it for 1 pound.

This is why people say, Proton directors and owners have no brains. Tun Mahathir, you are adviser to Proton, why can’t you give the top jobs to fellow Malaysians? Even you give just to bumi also, we are happy. At least Malaysian get the job.

Looks like Tun Mahathir himself got no confidence in local talent and worship the white man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Real Same L0rrr never call people no brainer. Stop impersonate.

There are so many wannabe in the world, like Proton the sport car wannabe, now even Same L0rrr has wannabe… LOL…

Thanks for workshiping me! lol

• Ah Bengg on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Whatever Proton. Yawn.~

• abdulazizbinmaihaithar on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Congratulations to him.

BUT I prefer Tun over him, Tun can monopolies the industry like current Bolehland.
    I love Proton.

This guy only know how to make engine. Nothing good.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:23 pm

How much he is paid a day? End up Malaysian tax payers take the bill, yet Malaysian tax payers can’t enjoy Lotus sport cars. How pathetic!

• Jaybond on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:53 pm

We just want to see an all-new Lotus model!

• Its the expertise tht we looked for.this is an automotive industry.lotus is the world best handling gurus .so we better keep it that way.it got nothing to do with petty nationalism.

• SamLorrSeditionActOffUGo on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Good move. Getting a guy who moved a proving ground and test site to become a complete vehicle engineering development centre. Hopefully they are going to upgrade Lotus facilities and produce cars that can sell.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:00 am

We welcome him to a crony farm. Let see how long he can survive before get eaten up.