Proton Compact Car – all eight variants detailed

PROTON-IRIZ

To cap today’s big wave of fresh official info on the new Proton Compact Car (PCC), we’ll try to describe the differences between the eight variants as best we can, despite the lack of pictures (we weren’t allowed to take photos, unfortunately). So, three trim lines – Standard, Executive and Premium – and eight variants in total. How are they different?

All the images released so far are of the range-topping 1.6 Premium. On the outside, it gets fully-integrated LED daytime running lights, all-around “two-tone” bodykit, 15-inch double-spoke star-design wheels (with 195/55R15 tyres) and a big square-edged rear spoiler. It’s no surprise that it looks the best in this form, both inside and out. An interesting note – the PCC features Proton’s first use of aeroblade wiper blades.

In the mid-range Executive line (available on both 1.3 and 1.6 litre variants), the DRLs are gone, with their slots replaced by neatly-designed bumper inserts. The Premium’s LEDs double up as positioning lights too, so on the Standard and Executive models, the “small lights” are moved into the main headlamps – they’re in the black strip just below the signal repeaters.

Proton_Compact_Car_PCC_Iriz_003

Also, while the bodykit design is the same, the bottom “layer” (which extends to the faux-diffuser in the back) is left unpainted (in a dark grey plastic look) instead of the Premium’s lighter grey finish. The grille bar is silver, not chrome, and the wheels on the 1.3 models are smaller (14-inchers), with a six-spoke design and 175/65R14 rubbers. Round the back, there’s a more rounded-looking top spoiler, and the bee-sting antennae is replaced by a conventional one.

Moving on to the base Standard models, you get no bodykit, and the rear diffuser is swapped out for a simpler, less aggressive bumper insert. The wing mirrors and door handles are all finished in black, and the rear spoiler and wiper are missing altogether. As for the wheels, Proton is still deciding between steel items with plastic wheel caps and the Executive’s six-spoke alloys.

Inside, most of the bells and whistles (keyless entry, leather seats) are exclusive to the Premium variant. The segment-stand-out six airbag count is only for the range-topper too (the rest gets two), but at least stability control is a standard feature across the range. Both 1.6 Executive and Premium variants get a 6.2-inch touchscreen system with reverse camera.

Lesser models get fabric seats, a double-DIN head unit with USB and Bluetooth connectivity (plus steering wheel controls in the 1.6 Executive) and a conventional remote key. Unfortunately, the twin powered USB sockets are not fitted to the Standard models. Trim pieces (piano black or matte black steering wheel garnish, chrome vent surrounds, etc) also vary between the variants.

Lastly, the new VVT engines. The 1.3 litre models get 94 hp at 5,500 rpm and 120 Nm of torque just below 4,000 rpm, while 1.6 litre models develop 105 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 3,750 rpm. A choice of either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT transmission are offered on all engine/trim line combinations. You can refer to the eight available variants and seven exterior colour options here.

We’ll have a more comprehensive story with pictures as soon as they are made available to us. For now, find out all there is to know about Proton’s “game-changer” in our comprehensive Proton PCC infohub.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Mugilan on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Black, premium variant and of course manual gearbox. I am all for it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Proton Iriz is the cheapest and affordable 5 star NCAP car. Hopefully foreign automaker esp China and Japan car will open their eyes after this not produce unsafe car for Malaysian market. Double thumbs up for PROTON!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 244 Thumb down 33
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:33 pm

What IRIZ stands for:
        I-llustrious car!
        R-ealization to be global car!
        I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
        Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 27
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 136
          • here we go again……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
          • ProtonGSC on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:17 am

Iriz to Global.
            Myv balik kampung.

Proton please price it right, please think of the Rakyat and NOT the cronies pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
          • Mak oi, now I know why people keep saying looks like myvi. They really copy it. It has more Perodua DNA than Proton. Anyway, it’s the brand & quality matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 64
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:34 am

kinda kampung ppl never exposed to global market

urban ppl said this car similar as kia rio, ford fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • Kampung? ntah office siapa kat tanjung malim & kilang. Terperiuk kat kilang je, still have the cheek call others kampung people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • unofficial price for Proton Iriz
            Executive
            1.3 M Solid – RM42,800
            1.3 M Metallic – RM43,300
            1.3 CVT Solid – RM46,800
            1.3 CVT Metallic – RM47,300
            1.6 M Solid – RM46,800
            1.6 M Metallic – RM47,300
            1.6 CVT Solid – RM50,800
            1.6 CVT Metallic – RM51,300

Premium
            1.6 CVT Solid – RM54,800
            1.6 CVT Metallic – RM55,300

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Ah Beng,

You must be one of the participants of ‘Nama siapa hebat’ who named it Proton Iriz eh?

Tak mustahil ada yang sama dengan U.Proton akan evaluate who has the best rationale. Good luck for yours.

Or perhaps you dah dapat email of congratulations? Good luck anyway! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • driver on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:36 am

Name aside.. here’re my thoughts/curiosities for now. I hope PT & co. can pick it up during their incoming reviews.

1) Power to weight ratio: how nimble is this car? a quick comparison with its rivals and siblings would be appreciated.

2) Real life fuel consumption. For me, NEDC, 13 km/l is just decent, not good, not bad.

3) Experience based, this car would then be extended into Saga3. Family man would want to wait for Saga3 instead of this. Am curious whether or not this NFE is sufficient. Or are they thinking of FI-ing it?

4) Telescopic steering?

5) As this new platform also designed for hybrid extension, can we expect another hybrid trim in the near future?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:45 pm

cheapest cuz all other competitors are taxed. If not proton sure jia lat alredy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 84
        • mr1031 on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:16 pm

proton is also taxed what in malaysia..don’t you ever wonder why proton in other country is cheaper than in it’s own backyard?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 14
          • Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:00 am

Me think Proton cars are being tax less than foreign cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:27 am

competitors mana yg taxed tu???
          forte n ford also taxed… but they can provide better features n spec than UMW vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:45 pm

cheapest cuz all other competitors are taxed. If not proton sure jia lat alredy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 62
        • R3alistic on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Dont simply talk (or type) if ur not certain. Who says Proton cars were not taxed. No oem is excluded, more over Proton is now privatised under DRB. Get your facts right and don’t let your wrong facts influence others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 26
          • Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Competitors are taxed higher. Happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 40
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:47 pm

How much higher u think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • unforgiven on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:14 am

Once we may majority of educated people and knowledge, we should be able to see the change. The knowledge to understand what’s the cost and what caused it to be expensive. Neighbouring countries (Thai, Indo, etc) should be building the knowledge fast as well. Once kampung ppl is also educated, change will be happening fast and we’ll pay for the actual price one day, definitely a price without the free money into the pocket system/policy (open AP). Again, knowledge and education will put us ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:20 am

Jgn nak buat bodoh.. jadi bodoh.. atau mmg bodoh.. waive NAP la mcm tu.. all ppl know excise duty apply on all CKD & CBU.. up to 70%-100++%.. excise duties don’t apply on national car status..are you talking about sales tax? Yes sales tax apply to all.. plus excise duty for CKD & CBU. To get actual pictures on duty costs.. compare to cars at Langkawi or Labuan.. duty free.. without the duties.. org sana x drive protong sampah la brader.

Who talking craps? Go google NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
          • Motorhead, you are right. I just checked… vios price in Langkawi 70600, Peninsula RM92300. And Potong SuprimaS RM76700 in Langkawi….RM80000 in Peninsula. WTFIGOIH! So these to should be priced same if there is no unfair tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:29 am

And this is car price under MM2H programme. . Duty save up to 40%.. not fully waive.. hopefully you understand. . Why japs are under spec & expensive here.. Imagine 70-125% duty.. this thing already running for years. . Budak2 bodo je yg buat2 bodoh.. malas baca.

CITY (S)
            36% (duty saving)

CIVIC 1.8S
            33%

CIVIC 2.0S
            38%

ACCORD 2.0 VTi-L
            34%

ACCORD 2.4 VTi-L
            36%

CR-V 2.0 i-VTEC
            33%

• kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:59 am

Langkawi car excise duty waive only apply to imported car only mr Ali. P1 get waive for sales tax only.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

just look at jazz ckd langkawi n peninsular price..the price is close..if no 10% sales tax on peninsular jazz ckd the price is RM76782(not on road without sales tax)..langkawi is RM70704..do u imply that jazz get almost no excise tax in peninsular? this actual say any car made in boleh is tax on langkawi..same as vios langkawi price that ali said..

• Open their eyes? If there are no excessive tax from government, the 5 star Honda City would have been priced around this PCC bro.. I think you as a malaysian is the one who should open your eyes and aware of what is going on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
        • perutdua on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:39 pm

If proton iriz no taxesssss… the premium price around de chepeast taxes Axion..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:48 am

Ni lg sekor bahlol.. suma pon ada sales tax..

But Proton mmg x kena excise duty.. ko baru lahir ke masa gov umum NAP?.. satu2nya kereta jepun (rebadge) x kena excise duty skrg adalah Perodua’s. ..& Inspira (lancer) yg masih dijual P1. Sape beli inspira tu bijak sikit. .beza 20-30k dgn Lancer GT.

Budak sekolah tok sah menyibuk..

Syiohh.. syiohh. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • nihonsotsu on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:50 pm

no i don’t think so. in japan cheapest new car is around 1 400 000 yen which almost rm50k. and that is just same size as perodua viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
          • bashhh on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:27 am

Brader, 400,000 yen is about RM12k now. Which rate are you using?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • nihonsotsu on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:14 pm

brader, 1 400 000 yen lor, didnt read whole thing meh?or your screen too small to notice?kudarane…

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:21 am

Basing on Langkawi prices, only the lowest spec Honda City costs anywhere close to this car. The rest are just as expensive.

• JohnLegend on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:22 pm

dear Mugilan…im supporting you! let P2 ketuanan bumper crying for buyer….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:08 am

Crying for buyers? P2 has got tons of buyers waiting for their loan to get approve right now.
        P2 won’t cry unless P1 come out with 1L model that sell for between RM25K-RM30K. Can P1 beat P2 in the next year or so? I doubt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • JohnLegend on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:57 pm

actually..people that dont have taste and knowledge..really can be amazed easily by P2(ketuanan bumper)….simply put extreme there…advanced here..and SE…people will buy like crazy…even P1 at this new age…can offer best body structure…many2 stars of safety…and alot of features….and offering you cheaper price tag than other well known car manufacturer like ford and others that have same features like proton..

• agreed. love all the car aspect. especially the front.
      Good engine,good power,pleasant look,
      USB charger is what all cars need, copy this one!! other carmaker….
      interior looks very elegance,
      rear look awkward sometimes…
      Best safety is the most important,thumbs up
      The price,, proton .. pls be reasonable.. plsss…

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:36 am

Tun say himself “better built quality” come with more expensive price.

You want QC, pay more price. End of story no cheap cheap.

Tun like increase price.

• poorQC on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:31 am

OK all you “support P1! MY boleh!” guys buy first. Then once in a while I’ll visit the service centers and see how many of these come in for warranty.

Right now, so many Exoras and Suprimas have to keep going back for warranty for stupid things like fogged up reverse camera, door handles breaking etc etc.

• Nissan on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:39 am

Just a small car and tokok as though proton has owned the word. Let’s just wait and see how Axia ands Myvi count your day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • David on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:51 am

Lol… true. these potong die hard fans really make my day. So this pcc will be potong savior, and ptotong cars owner will live happily ever after hahahax1000000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…front – nice, interior – nice, But the rear – Yucks…puihh…not matching the front design…

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:50 pm

The picture where it shows the cargo space filled with luggages… I can see the poor QC already…

Can you see it…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 77
    • You mean the plastic shit on the luggage like myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Hahaha, thousand thumbs up for PROTON. The color daringly matched the design of the PCC. I cant wait 4 this car to launch, my personal opinion, Proton is really improving in styling aspect but it still have more to do though, in order to compete with the other automotive giants. But overall Proton did well, keep supporting our National Car Maker dude..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
      • Usha-Usha on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:17 am

So, how about your current car luggage.. it’s coated by gold aaa..

• i only see stupidity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
    • zamzama on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:02 pm

izzit the door rubber?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • I guess is the door rubber too, the bottom part where it came off a bit

• Bengkung on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:07 pm

The weatherstrip dam wavy

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:16 pm

People who book for Axia will regretted..Hehe..Sure some of them will withdraw the booking and look for Iriz..Ah Beng can not wait this month launching..huhu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 26
      • Didn’t i heard the same thing when they launch savvy with “Wahhhh…. lucky i didnt book the other car.”

hahaha… them proton

• Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:46 pm

I see it. take photo also pokai…

• Kaiba on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:57 pm

PRICE IS ALL I WANT FOR NOWW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Fairus on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 138
    • haris on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:07 pm

So smart lor.go apply rnd post there and design your best car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
      • The design actually look nice, let’s wait to test and feel the real deal.

Is the standard and executive look the same?
        Interior and exterior wise.

• Amir Asyraf on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Appearance is a subjective matter. That is your opinion if you think it’s ugly. The car looks okay to most people…

I think your opinion sucks donkey ass shit. And that’s my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • Nissan on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:03 am

Majority ppl like it because it’s designed to look like Myvi. Yesterday proton salesman came with superman Ass beg for sales and all my female coll were so damn exited and say that Ford looks really awesome, but only when they knew that it’s a crap proton the excitement went down to longkang straight away.

• Really on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:20 pm

That’s bad news for you, pal! Because you are going to puke a lot when this is all over the roads. BTW if this is ugly to you, i wonder what car is pretty in your eyes. The dugong Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • when was the last time proton have their car flooded the road? the ppl bought saga because there is no other alternative with cheaper price.
        u really think ppl bought saga because its proton?

• Jason (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:06 pm

As much as how I impressed by the exterior, I think this car should be at least 125hp for the 1.6 liter engine. With 105hp for 1.6 liter of engine doesn’t justify the large use of CC used for such a small output.

At least they should use the CFE engine for the top range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • wayangkulit on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Since so many paultan readers ask for ‘safety’ features maybe its a safety feature so that those animals behind the wheels wont wrap around trees, dividers, houses or another car’s butt?

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:24 pm

look at the toque Nm, this engine is generating more torque than others 1.6 NA engine at as low as 3,750rpm. If the new engine generate 125hp at 6,200 rpm and 155 Nm at 4,400, the engine will consume more fuel and it only slightly faster than this 105hp at 5,750 and 150 Nm at 3,750rpm.

For engine which generate 125hp at 6k rpm, the torque normally maintain around 150-155Nm because it has more even engine bore and stroke. I.e. engine is tender to high rev linear engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Jason (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Good view. I overlook the high torque at the lower RPM which is good. Perhaps it is tuned for our hilly roads.

But I still hope there is CFE for the top line. Perhaps R3 edition?

• R3 edition is in the works. Lets just hope that it will be a serious upgrade on everything (engine, suspension), and not just slapping on bodykits and changing rims like what IMPUL and TRD does. At this point, Tengku Djan’s company can either make it or break it with this model.

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:26 pm

And high rev rpm engine is always consume more fuel, it is simple logic.

• pokcik on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:28 pm

if im not mistaken, the author stated that 105hp below 4k rpm right?

• Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:48 pm

For me it shud be a 1.0 turbo 120hp.

• It’s Proton that you are commenting. What do you expect from half pass 6 “engineers” that syok sendiri?

• Anonymous Coward on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Where is the fog lamp? Is the DRL bright enough to double as a fog lamp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Jason (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Why do you need a fog lamp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • wayangkulit on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:29 pm

So he can replace the fog lamps with HID and blind the shit out of others :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • leoRNado on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:30 pm

when there is fog..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:03 pm

For blinding incoming drivers with glare, of course. Now it’s going to get worse with the addition of rear fog lamps on some cars. The Preve’s rear fog lamp is sibeh bright.

• Jason (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Well, the introduction of rear fog is really good. No more ah-beng tailgating you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:19 am

But being stuck at a traffic light behind one is not cool. They could have at least mounted it lower like how the Vios has it at the lower rear bumper.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Aaaaand I just got a reminder of how it feels like to be stuck behind a Preve with its rear fog lights on at a traffic light. I think it’s the same fella that blinded me previously. Seriously not cool.

• Anonymous Coward on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:52 pm

Oh c’mon, it was a legit question. There isn’t a fog lamp, which as far as I know is a safety requirement in some markets.

Can the DRLs double as fog lamps? If so, I don’t mind. If not, I’d seriously ask why fog lamps were omitted in the Premium spec.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:24 am

Sorry, sorry. I was just lamenting at how some Malaysians misuse foglamps. I even saw an owner review on carbase.my for the Saga FLX complaining that the fog lamp is overly bright and blinding at night and he/she proceeded to asked Proton to not use such glaringly bright fog lamps. Words could not describe my feelings when I read that sentence.

Anyway, yes, separate fog lamp units are missing. I noticed that as well. Perhaps they’ve been integrated into the headlamp cluster? Hafriz said that the position lights are in the black strip below the signal indicators. Then what’s that reflector unit beside the projector for? A special high beam reflector unit? Or the fog lamps integrated into the headlight cluster unit?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:27 am

Or they could have just done it away altogether for the local spec to save cost since there is no heavy fog in Malaysia (or is a really rare occurrence) and headlights are sufficient illumination in the rain.

• Anonymous Coward on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:50 pm

I don’t know, I’m pointing out that there doesn’t seem to be one in this car. The Picanto/Rio has DRLs but also comes with fog lamps. That’s why I asked if the DRLs are bright enough to double as a fog lamp, in case of you know, fog.

• Does the premium variant gets auto lights and wiper? What about paddle shifters?

• MeHateStupidComments on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Yeahh…with so many goodies offered, my fellow Malaysian managed to point out flaws by just looking at the picture! Well done loser!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • wayangkulit on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:27 pm

So people give you goodies and you are to turn blind to obvious flaws?

I’ll pay you 100 bucks, slap the hell out of you and you call me Mr Nice Guy since I have given some goodies ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • autodriver (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:12 pm

“1.6 litre models develop 105 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 3,750 rpm”. This figure somehow makes me curious if it were a SOHC engine’s performance. However this is DOHC as like other CAMPRO and I guess the new engine design with longer stroke to enhance the torque at low rpm.

The data is similar (different figure) to 2010 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 where the horsepower is just 133ps of power (lowest among 2.0) at 5200 rpm (lowest rpm among 2.0 NA), but it generate a healthy 191 Nm of torque at 4400 rpm where by 90% available at 2000 rpm. This was consider the lowest rpm to get highest torque output among NA. Only turbo will generate such output at low rpm and of course it is much punchy. And this kind of design is save fuel and also more torque at low rpm will enhance the CVT performance.

If my theoretical work, the 1.6 PCC will be a great car and certainly much worthy to buy if price below 50k. Good job Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • Yup, I agree with you. In Malaysia, we need more torque compare to hp. With higher torque at lower RPM, the car could climb up hills at low RPM. The cruising RPM will be lowered too since it got enough torque for lower gear ratio. Lets hope the fc is great. I’m expecting for at least 16km/L on paper (should be lower in actual).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Garfield on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Thanks for the explanation although u also hazard a guess there. Torque to me is also important more than the hp. I can understand since I drive a Sylphy. I just hope that the CVT is much improved compared to the ones they already have.

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:50 pm

cool analysis bro.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Yup. The figures alone don’t tell the whole story. The torque and hp curve is needed to see the engine’s characteristics. Nice analysis. Without a turbo, you cannot have high hp and high low-end torque as well. Let’s hope the CVT is capable of harnessing that torque effectively. No matter how good the engine is, the driving experience of an automatic shifting car is only as good as its transmission’s ability.

• cvtuser on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Unlike conv auto gearbox, with CVT you dun have to wait for gear everytime it goes up and down until it reaches the desired RPM.

Just push it once and you are done. Enjoy the max torque all the time. But I dun expect people to push it once till 3750 all the time, so it might be 3000RPM. The last thing is, how much torque available at normal people’s rev (might be 3000RPM). The performance graph can help a lot, waiting for one.

Anyone?

• guilt79 on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:12 pm

The seats look weird..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
  • Steve Kok on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:19 pm

You will not regret, if you don’t buy a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
  • john connor on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:25 pm

the only proton i admire is only satria gti and inspira. oh wait. inspira is just a lancer copy. proton. buy now regret later. im done with proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
    • SimpleG01 on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:49 am

Hahaha. That’s funny, both of those cars are re-badge Mitsubishi cars. The Satria GTi is a re-badge 4th gen Mitsubishi Mirage and it was tuned by Lotus. Honestly, the cars that Proton makes after the Preve has a really good design including the PCC. So if you have lost hope with proton, its your lost.

• Zsterzith (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:25 pm

finally a Proton car which i think it has a great exterior…. I really like it. To me it way better than suprima S. But dashboard abit plain… I would suggest them to improve the steering wheel design…. while question mark still with the QC part… well done proton at least a step forward. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • joker on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Yayy tomorow open for booking oledi

• No one must know on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Saya harap proton ‘fanboy’ or ‘hater’ testdrive dulu sebelum comment yg bukan-bukan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • GSCPCC on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:31 pm

They keep on showing the photo of Iriz from the front. Guess what? The tail lights are hideous! Almost look like Honda Brio. I’d got a glimpse of the “BETA” version at Stulang Laut recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • sick&tired on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:33 pm

looks similar to the ford fiesta, which is not a bad thing. overall the car looks good, better then perodua axia and myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • GT3 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Good job, Proton! Now faster plan for export markets as well. Don’t be too late. Should be exported to neighboring countries (Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia) in 3-4 months after launching. Then it’s time to export to Australia, UK, Middle East etc.
    Show to us that you can compete internationally and be a proper international market player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • IMHO based on looks on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Summary based on looks only :-

Exterior not bad looking from the front and side.
    Back looks fugly and the tail lights are short.

Interior looks all round bad, lack of quality build, cheap plastic hidden in black color trim, the most ulgy looking gearknob and handbrake design.

Meter cluster also badly design with that fudgy red screen showing the car’s info, today’s tech age, they could have put a nice LCD, color screen !!

Seat look weirdly design, guess all their engineers all big bone, needed those extra cushion padding all around the seat to whole them in place while testing the car !!

1.6 engine spec does not look promising at all, those figures should have been much more better for a 1.6 so call new vvt engine.

Rim design not to bad but could put more design our since the car comes in 8 variants to choose from.

Overall the price for the car will be the big factor, if they can keep the range topping at 50k and less, that would be a good start based on all of the above which is just mediocre standard and nothing much to shout about.

All the best Protong, if your sales are bad, at least you can turn this PCC into City taxis for Malaysia !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 60
    • eims perfume on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:58 am

dont go too early saying PCC engine not good. look carefully and you’ll see the torque figure is quite good. e.g. torque comes early at 3750rpm for 1.6cc compared to myvi 1.5 138nm at 4400rpm.

so lets see first wether proton engineer know how to utilize the power from the new engine with right gear ratio setting through out all rpm range. this will determine the FC and fun to drive factor.

• matkool on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Mostly I can see that whoever bash this car probably don’t have any money to buy this car or regrets buying new car few months back at this kind range of price but less features. They just sit in the corner of their house and cry,cry,cry and came to Paultan and bash this car to make them feel good. Although I know deep in their heart, they wanted to buy this car so bad but they just cannot afford it or bought the wrong car at this price range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Ioo on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:25 pm

i guess i’m the winner for Proton’s contest, “Nama Siapa Hebat?” I suggested the name Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • ah chai on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Again, it looks like proton has tried to come up with something to challenge the perodua myvi.

I’ve driven
    Proton saga
    Proton iswara
    Proton Gen 2
    Proton preve

Mainly due to unwillingness to pay higher tax for the improve cars as well as don’t have enough budget.

Now, I sincerely hope that This car Will show that Proton is keen to take on It’s competitors in the Asian market.

Please price it correctly Proton. I wish u all the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • alfie on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Its amazing to see all those Proton car lovers that even before seeing the car and even before test driving it ARE already saying its the BEST car in the world. Boy! They must be paid alot.

Any way can Proton tell us how many billions was wasted and spend to develop the CamProng engine before they realize its a SHITTY engine!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 48
    • viber on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:12 pm

I onviberly found blind bashing in your comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:07 am

Not just p1 fanboi but oso toyota fanboi, p2 fanboi, honda fanboi, other jap fanboi, korean fanboi, conti fanboi..all same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Denaihati on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Premium variant is so impressive inside and outside. can say more beauty than myvi, moreover have 1.6L variant.
    congratulation proton hope with also attractive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Not Fancy of 3 things:

1. Dashboard.
      2. Sofa Seat.
      3. Proton Engine.

• inderaloka on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:33 pm

The car’s interior design and material looks premium and feels premium. Proton, please keep this momentum.

Good job and well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Jaguh on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Cool. I like the tmnt look :D

• seats looks comfortable. interior looks premium from the picture too. good job

• Steve Kok on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Only time can tell,
    We will see how good is the car and how well this can sell.

• Correct, we should wait at least 9 years later.
      to see if a PRoton car, worth to take 9 years loan anot.

Buy Toyota Or Honda Nissan, 9 years loan is more affordable than a 5 years loan Proton.

• The Boss on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:01 am

Lousy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
  • Maseratits on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:20 am

DAT ASS

• Harry on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:25 am

Wow! 6 articles in a day for the same car. Go Iriz!!!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:34 am

many rakyat comment … this iriz is beauty than myvi

damn.. tak leh jadi ni

” timing chain, timin chain… japan quality, japan work culturw”

prfffthhhh

• john error on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:51 am

i’m impress….

• Hedges on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:54 am

All of the interior are black including the pillar cover except the roof. Quite.

• el.diable on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:30 am

inside seats looks like a lambo seats. but at real cheap price nice work

• honest on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:39 am

1.6 = 105hp only?
    jazz 1.5= 120hp = 17.8km/l

how much is the fuel efficiency test result for this iriz?

• 10% better than PReve 1.6IAFM.

Preve 1.6IAFM city driving = 8.6km/L
      so, Iriz 1.6 = 10km/L the best.

• Victor on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:45 am

while u guys are busy fighting comparing P1 and imported cars, arguing bout taxes and stuff..

Might as well i ask a more feasible question.

PCC price list ady release?
    Now they give us some info bout the Engine’s performance, but how bout FC?
    im not buying the full tank from Bukit Kayu hitam to JB thing.. i need more info :)

• Young driver on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:57 am

Better the premium CVT to be priced as the MYVI 1.5 SE because the 1.5 SE is the most popular 1.5 version of MYVI. As it priced like that, sure sells better than MYVI.

• Proton Saga is big, cheaper than Perodua.
      Proton Preve 1.6, also cheaper than Myvi Alza if value comparison.

so, Iriz should be RM49k maximum for 1.6 high specs. Saga 1.6SE Sedan only RM49k.

lagi lagi this is only hatchback.

• looks nice on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:09 am

i wish there is a arm rest for premium. :)

• Samurai G on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:38 am

Good job Proton. All the Proton bashers should be cry right now. Proton offer much2 better than myvi. Safety and stability control is their focus as well as their additional features..i’m impress. congrats Proton

• Fuel Cell Phone on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:43 am

Personally, I think the pricing would be a bit lower or competitive to Myvi. Judging from the pic, the size is more or less like Myvi, even some of the design cues too. Now, what I am interested would be the fuel efficiency, the interior fit and finish, NVH level and finally reliability of this latest Proton under TM. Ride and handling has been Proton’s forte. Now, is this Iriz has got all the boxes tick to become the Myvi killer ???

• This car pricing I’m sure will be 38k for the lower spec and the high spec it could be around 68k. Well done Proton, hope the is the firs step to become global market like the Korean.

• prettypig on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:08 am

68K for premium spec… sorry to disappoint you… was told premium spec with 1.6L engine below RM5OK!

• heard that Iriz can pre-book by today..is that true

• 8sg9ft on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:59 am

Whoa, a compact car like this a speedometer that reaches 240 km/h. Encouraging buyers to “fly” with the Myvi on the highways. Hahaha

• Looks pretty decent BUT the gear knob is fugly.

• tongkat patah on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:07 am

Potong ca only pakai is aircon, lain barang samua sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • looks like kia picanto previous gen

• areos on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:47 am

look is n spec very promosing ( n of course subjective) …price…. keep in touch on 25th Sep….materials wait till you get feel of it.. ..your money your choice .. no need to bash if your head works well..

• mujinkun (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Paultan.I hope your guys will do unbiased review when this car be launched by Proton.

Would like to read its in a good unbiased manner.Then we can compare its with all the available competitor(hope it will also come from Paultan).

• cendol (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Wah, PCC has more variant than Haagen Daz ice cream.

• From the picture, the folding seats are ugly and not as neat as that of the Myvi. The fold seats in Myvi are flat and this allows better carriage of goods in the form of boxes. Hope they can improve on that.

• Absolute Rider on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:36 pm

So far so good. Can’t wait to see in real life. By the way, Proton should look into Preve and Suprima S such as the keyless entry, interior design – redesign and so on.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:24 pm

That will be Preve facelift and Suprima facelift job.

Tun working on it and will SAME increase the price due to “better built quality”.

Ages old man only know to increase price.

• Hopefully later,they can offer the lower variant with optional safety package for upgrade to 6 airbag..and throw in some audio package for premium sound system like bose or b&o..i wish :p

• Albert Lee on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Proton,just launch the blady car.Talk 3 ,Talk 4 also pointless.Cause so much resentment from Proton fangirls and Toyota loyalist like Same Lorr and yours truly.
    Don’t do poker striptease.Just unfold your grand newly designed car for all to see.
    If your car is formidable,please speed up the launching date.

• Mat Tibai on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:35 am

Tak payah la dok kutuk sgt keta proton itu, proton ini..jenama lain pon sama je..kena recall jugak lama2..cuba tgk toyota vios version baru..mcm hampeh.bumbung mcm serupa rumah pakai zink bila hujan.tu dah lama buat keta jdi mcm tu jgk…

• max291 on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:21 am

Tak ada si katak nak komen pasal power window? Aku dah sedia templete nak basuh kepala katak ni.

• old dog on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:25 pm

They should upgrade the WAJA with this interior…

Saga, Wira/Waja should be the car continue to upgrade instead of launching so many NAMES..