Jaguar XE – all-new compact exec fighter unveiled

Jag_XE_S_Image_080914_03

After many, many, many teasers, the Jaguar XE has finally been unveiled. The new compact executive sedan is aiming to take the fight right up to the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Audi A4 et al, banishing memories of the old Ford Mondeo-based X-Type in the process.

The new contender measures 4,672 mm long, 1,850 mm wide and 1,416 mm tall, with a wheelbase that is 2,835 mm long. To give you a sense of perspective, a F30 3 Series is 48 mm shorter, 39 mm narrower and 13 mm taller than the Jag, while giving away another 25 mm in its wheelbase.

We’ve seen the front of the XE before, with the large, upright front grille, piercing headlights and large air intakes. It’s the rest of the car that interests us, and here, Jaguar has managed to shrink its design language to the smaller format. There are shades of the XF in the side profile, but also of the F-Type in the fender vents, the black side skirts and the light guide in the tail lights. The XE is the most aerodynamically-optimised Jaguar in history, with a a drag coefficient figure of just 0.26 Cd.

Jag_XE_S_Image_080914_06

The interior looks immediately like a Jaguar cabin, with that large swathe of a transmission tunnel and an all-encompassing sweep around the dashboard, although the design seems a little more conventional than its siblings. Nestled in the centre console is Jaguar Land Rover’s (JLR) new InControl infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen – the same setup will also make its way to the Land Rover Discovery Sport.

The XE will be the first car powered by JLR’s all-new modular, turbocharged and direct-injected Ingenium engine family, the first mills being 2.0 litre four-cylinder diesels. Clean combustion, variable exhaust valve timing and exhaust gas aftertreatment all allow the powertrains to pass Euro 6 emissions regulations. The 163 PS/380 Nm variant is claimed to be able to achieve a combined fuel consumption figure of 3.8 litres per 100 km and carbon dioxide emissions of just 99 grams per kilometre.

Also from the Ingenium range will be a 2.0 litre petrol four-pots in two states of tune, both of which will be offered with the familiar ZF eight-speed automatic transmission that sees duty in other Jaguars, made lighter for this application.

Jag_XE_S_Image_080914_22

At the top of the XE lineup (for now) sits the F-Type’s supercharged 3.0 litre V6 petrol in the XE S seen here. Like the base model of its sports car sibling, the engine produces 340 PS and 450 Nm, enough to propel the sedan from 0-100 km/h in 5.1 seconds on its way to a limited top speed of 250 km/h.

The XE is the first car built on Jaguar’s new modular architecture and features a mostly aluminium structure – its kerb weight starts from just 1,474 kg. F-Type-derived double wishbones are fitted at the front, while the rear suspension is an all-new “Integral Link” setup which is claimed to be found only on more expensive vehicles. New to Jaguar is electric power assisted steering (EPAS) which reduces emissions by up to 3%.

Jaguar XE – all-new compact exec fighter unveiled

A world-first is All Surface Progress Control (ASPC) developed with the input of JLR’s expertise in off-road traction systems. At low speeds, the system controls the brakes and powertrain to maximise traction in slippery conditions. Also available on the XE will be a compact and lightweight laser head-up display system as well as a stereo camera that provides autonomous emergency braking, traffic sign recognition and lane departure warning functions.

More detailed specifications of the Jaguar XE will be revealed during the car’s appearance at the Paris Motor Show early next month.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• shawal on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:22 am

2.0 turbo, all aluminium….

Exciting times at used car dealers, rv will drop like its hott…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • For real. Can buy a X-Type ’02 for same price as a Myvi.

http://www.mudah.my/Jaguar+X+Type+2+5+V6-29621129.htm
      Original price RM380K. Now only RM39K to roll around in style! Maybe bargain to RM38K… 1,000% depreciation.

But if you buy it, probably cost you 2 Myvi’s in future repair if anything breaks. “Cheap to maintain” if you believe hahahaahha

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:31 am

Looks great. Can’t wait to see it in the metal. Now, i wonder how the pricing will be since its competing with the 3 series.

• rv meh on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:37 am

Joker’s like to talk rv everytime, can’t even afford but thinking to sell~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:15 pm

That’s where some people are smart… take advantage of the low RV to BUY, not to sell…

Use your brain next time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • this car looks good..i like it.

• heybadigol on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:43 am

Great work by Ian Callum on the design. A striking design that looks much better than the safe BMW F30. But having said that, I think the downwards sloping roofline at the back may handicap headroom a bit, as the seats look pretty upright. Its not too bad in the XF as it has a long wheelbase(so seats can be reclined a bit to give more headroom, at the expense of legroom), but in a shorter application such as this, may impact the interior space as there isn’t that much legroom to begin with.

Interior design is minimalist, with a touch of sleek. Some people might fancy it, but those who prefer adventure might find it a touch sterile. I still prefer the Lexus IS interior. Its got a nice balance of luxury and style without going overboard, and if you want more pizzaz, you can opt for the F Sport moving dial. Dont get me wrong, I still think the XE’s cockpit is a great place to sit in, with the dash coocooning around you.

Now we wait for the reviews. Handling should be top notch, as one would expect of a Jag. But can it beat the class standard, that is the 3 series? Also, how does the ride compared to the C Class (especially those with air suspension)? Should be an interesting comparo to these iconic cars, as the XE is a new line of car from Jag. The old X Type (I will forgive Jaguar for that poor car since the XE looks this good) was merely based on a FWD Ford. It was no comparison to the 3 Series. This looks like it means business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Jaybond on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:42 am

While the exterior design is quite commendable, the interior (dashboard) has upset some Jaguar fans out there – it could have better designed especially the aircon vents & the center console. Brown or biege-coloured interior could at least uplift the ambience of the simplistic dashboard design. With this all-black coloured dash, it looks too bland I’m afraid, (unless the lower part of the dash is coloured red, like the two tone coloured seat).
    The big question now IS, can this car topple the BMW 3-series as the best handling sports sedan car? It certainly has a big potential. Can’t hardly wait for the mega comaprison test!

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:48 am

Very good looking…aggressive but not over the top. Really like a sophisticated villain!

In before people saying that Proton’s PCC uses rims of similar design.

• mmaker on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:02 am

This car going nowhere in our shores if price tag above rm300k. More than lexus, more than 328i, more than its rival?

• Im loving the exterior design! not so much the interior though as i think they played it tooooooo safe inside.. It looks like a very very very plush sort of Toyota Camry-isg interior design which is kinda boring for a car of this class and segment..

The XE is definitely on par with the Lexus IS in terms of its exterior design. Wild and Different compared to the boring 3-serires,A4 and C-class.. Lets hope this XE’s built quality is better than its brothers and sisters (XF/XJ,etc.) Because from my experience going into many different XF’s and even from Youtube reviews, they all have rattles and obvious imperfection in dashboard stitching where the lines never meets and parts squeak as you open or close them..

• old dog on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:20 pm

many nice looking car outside just cant match the BMW inside or Merc ….the exterior is so cool, but so let down in the interior…wasted…

• Bmw interior is terrible on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:43 pm

the interior of BMW cars are a total let down … materials used are not plush unlike those used in a Lexus or Audi.. Lexus uses more Leather whereas Audi uses more rubber but at least they are good nice to touch rubber..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:17 am

i think the weak link is the interior….too much parts sharing with land rover

• TL Au. on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:22 am

Wow nice car.

• shawal on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:10 am

when i mentioned RV will drop its not for me to sell, rather for us peasants to afford a brand 2.0 (new engine family) turbo all aluminium compact exect saloon and discounted prices.. (grey import & recond)

cuz the germans RV dops very gracefully…

5 year old XF selling at rm 159k at mudah…
    but….3.0 v6 la…big engine

• Very Jag !! I think the rear looks like abrupt ending … Interior is well organised. slightly plane …

Nice ….

• Can you recognize the influence from Opel Insignia and HSV GTS? Which are very good really. Front end could be more distinctive from XF- and XJ-ish elements though. I’d buy one if I had the means.

• Lamusiqa on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Did some photoshop and man, it would look great in Dark Green and black rims. *drools*

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152463703359401&l=a67e3ceb5b

• seancorr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Front end looks good but the rear….hmmm could have done better especially after they designed the awesome looking F type coupe.

The inside looks okay but the rear view visibility will be hard…this baby definitely needs a reverse camera.

Now will they offer good spec and price it like the Infiniti Q50? If they do then BMW and Mercedes better buckle up and offer better spec in the F30 and W205!

• sick&tired on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:54 pm

looks good, not really a fan of the rear. this is suppose to be the sport model right? Equivalent to M-Sport, AMG Sport and S-Line. How about the base model? No pics yet?

• Yamuna on Nov 02, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Hi can I get jaguar xe price list latest

• yamini on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Very beautiful