Peugeot 508 facelift – full details on variants, engines

508_1407pc008

Peugeot has released full details on available variants and powertrains worldwide for the facelifted Peugeot 508 range, which includes the 508 SW estate, 508 RXH ‘ruggedised’ estate and 508 HYbrid4 sedan. We also have a mega gallery of pics for your viewing pleasure.

But first, dimensions, weights and boot volumes. The 508 sedan is 4,830 mm long and 1,456 mm tall, weighs between 1,390 and 1,540 kg, and can hold 515 litres (HYbrid4 sedan 347 litres) in its boot. The 508 SW is one millimetre shorter and 31 mm taller, weighs 1,410-1,560 kg and has a 550 litre boot volume.

Compared to the SW, the 508 RXH is another millimetre shorter. Naturally, it’s the tallest bodystyle, standing at 1,525 mm. It weighs 1,717-1,770 kg, and can hold 550 litres (HYbrid4 RXH 400 litres) in its boot. All variants share the same 2,817 mm wheelbase and 2,068 mm width (including wing mirrors).

A range of petrol, diesel and HYbrid4 powertrains are available. The petrol engines are a VTi 120, THP 156 “World” and the new Euro 6-compliant THP 165 S&S, all 1.6 litre units.

Mated to either a six-speed manual or new EAT6 six-speed auto, the new THP 165 replaces the THP 156 in Europe, but judging by the latter’s “World” moniker and the fact that it’s of Euro 4 standard, the old engine, connected exclusively to an AT6 six-speed auto, could soldier on in certain world markets.

The 1.6 THP 165 S&S develops 165 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque at 1,400 rpm. Combined fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are a claimed 5.8 litres per 100 km and 134 grams per km respectively.

The oil burners comprise a 115 hp 1.6 e-HDi, a 2.0 HDi in 140 hp and 160 hp states of tune, a 200 hp 2.2 HDi and a new Euro 6-compliant 2.0 BlueHDi in 150 hp (six-speed manual only) and 180 hp (EAT6 six-speed auto only) states of tune.

The 2.0 BlueHDi 150 produces 150 hp at 4,000 rpm and 370 Nm at 2,000 rpm, while the higher 180 tune does 180 hp at 3,750 rpm and 400 Nm at 2,000 rpm. The former is good for a combined fuel consumption of 4.2 litres per 100 km and CO2 emissions of 109 grams per km, and for the 180, marginally higher at 4.4 litres per 100 km and 116 grams of CO2 per km.

The familiar HYbrid4 powertrain, combining a 163 hp/300 Nm 2.0 HDi FAP diesel engine (powering the front wheels), a 37 hp/200 Nm electric motor (powering the rear wheels) and a six-speed ETG6 single-clutch automated gearbox, is offered with sedan and RXH bodystyles. The RXH is also available with a 2.0 BlueHDi 180/EAT6 six-speed auto engine and gearbox combo.

Check out Malaysian prices and specs of the pre-facelift Peugeot 508 on CarBase.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Good looking car but bad maintenance in malaysia. Still play safe and get the boring jappy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 28
    • FanLove on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Good car … CRAP Local Agent… so end up with LEMON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • Colin Wong on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Obviously you don’t drive one and you are spewing ignorance nonsense. Go get, borrow, steal one, drive it for a year and then talk. Sheesh. Some people think they know it all.

I own and drive one. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 17
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:14 pm

So you have good rapport with the local agent…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
          • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:16 am

Not difficult to have good rapport. Just be willing to talk things over and more can be done.

• rchoo on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:07 am

I owned one 508 Premium, no problem whatsoever. NASIM even on its own initiative recall / replace a brake booster for me (recall from Peugeot international), even though I felt no problem with the brake whatsoever, in fact the brake was functioning tremendously well I would say.

As far as rapport, the relationship and support from them is excellent until now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:59 pm

In Proton fanboys’ eye, recall = no good! Lifetime warranty = good power window!

According to their logic, your peugeot is no way close to Proton “good” quality.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Super Cold Door Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
  • brutus on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:32 pm

This face lifted version looks much sharper than the current model. At 1.6L, very road tax friendly for Malaysia.
    Would prefer this over the normal D segment leaders.
    Just a sad thing that we cannot fully enjoy the excellent HDi engines over here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Interior design plain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • Colin Wong on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Visit the showroom. Make sure you visit all the other players in the same class. Then come back with your comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • I have quite a few acquaintances who drive Peugeot 508 (pre-facelift model) and I have to say that the ride is smooth & powerful. Really feels like sitting in continental car at Japanese car price.
    Features like HUD, Sat Nav system, paddle shift, cruise control are all standard… Talk about value

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Colin Wong on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:09 pm

I was a true blue Jap guy. Owned Toyota, Honda, Nissan. I say to all you guys out there, if resale value is not a concern, go give it a try. Not saying that Jap cars are inferior but we have all been told that European cars are not reliable and “not as good” as the Japanese cars. One and a half year later, I am still a very happy owner even though it has depreciated RM35K within that period. But then, where could I get 6 airbags, 156bhp, ABS, electronic stability program (rated by the car industry as a must have), turbo engine (PSA/BMW and award winning engine), 5 star rating (NCAP), fully Euro made, Michelin tyres all round, 5 year warranty, BMW class interior finishing, and well, Japanese gearbox. Not to mention that the drivetrain is shared across 5 models (308T, 408T, 508, 3008 and 5008).

I was shopping for either Camry, Accord, Passat or even Mazda 6 but ended up with a 508.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
      • x-city on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Same here bro……almost one year own this car and its stilll put a smile on my face when i drove it, espeacially for the FC …cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • rchoo on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:12 am

Same here, very satisfied and happy with the car 508 Premium, no regrets. Even recommended a friend who bought a 508 Premium also.

Brother in law also owned a 508 Turbo S, according to him, it even saves 20-25% petrol in comparison to a 2.0G Camry (Mind you, this car should compare to 2.5V Camry loh, my bro in law owned one Camry 2.0G before). ha ha ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Colin Wong on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:47 am

RChoo, it is true, my previous car was a Camry 2.0. Consumption on the 508 is better by exactly that margin. This is because of the GDI engine which are generally more advanced and fuel efficient. Another thing about Nasim is that the people are quite nice but I sense that they are quite overwhelmed by the volume. Generally speaking, they are friendlier than the UMW-Toyota and Honda folks. So far, I would say it is not a bad experience.

I urge those who are not familiar with the brand to at least pay a visit to the showroom and service centre. It took me a few visits and a couple of test drives to feel comfortable enough to make the decision. At workplace, a number of us are driving Pugs and don’t think there are major complaints.

• Say nice, it’s really not that nice. Say ugly, it’s really not ugly either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • Nice design and looks. Much more sharper than the previous model.

its a shame that we cant enjoy the better variants of the engine due to our petrol; grade ! Also the service crew’s efficiency is questionable !

Considered once before – but ….

• katak on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Good car but hard to sell. Not just in Malaysia, but fighting hard worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • shawal on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Those new shiny bits looks d business…

Quad zone climate control ftw

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:33 pm

too flawed to compete…pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Colin Wong on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Would you care to elaborate? Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • intermilan on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:08 pm

He will never elaborate.. think one liner is cool n seems to stick to it all the time… its his MO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:19 am

many make simple yet unfounded one-liners and claim they know so and so.

• Night Hunter on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Brb…. FAPping to the awesome FAP engine

• fortezen on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:02 pm

one of the best equipped D-segment in M’sia. would prefer this over sushi kimchi or other conti makes. why oh why the brother who sells this name Naza?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:16 pm

We need something called Peugeot Malaysia – without the Naza cronies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Me gusta. I love the face of the car and the cockpit area looks like it’ll feel pretty good for the driver.

• Jaybond on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:23 am

That black patches around the number plate area/just underneath the front grille has ruined the front face design a bit.

• jawabandar on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:57 pm

My cousin is a peugeot SC technician told me a lot of complains on the current engine (1.6 turbo) as it tends to breakdown due to excessive sludge and eventually succumb to overhauling.Happens to all model with 1.6 turbo engine (almost all models use this engine).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:20 am

my good friend says only the older engines. newer engines are fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:03 am

my third aunty drive this car….engine meletup

• Colin Wong on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:39 am

Semi-Value. Care to elaborate. First time I hear engine meletup. Which SC attended to it and also what is the car number. I know the Nasim folks well enough to get them to run a check.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:12 am

he’s just adding to make the thread longer. no real fact behind the statement.

• turboguy on Feb 20, 2015 at 5:27 pm

These 2 guys are Peugeot Agents. Keep disturbing people to give their own comments.

• Overall a decently designed car, in and out… i mean design, not engineered… personally drove 1 of this previously for 1 week (uncle’s car dropped in my house as he’s out for vacation)

pros:
    -good looking (personal opinion)
    -nicely layout interior and above average materials used.
    -decent overall sound proofing (although i recall
    Nissan Teana is quieter)
    -composed, and responsive handling (but the mazda 6 still
    edge it on this)

cons:
    – more like a boutique car, designed wise, but not
    mechanically sound.
    -the 1.6 turbo engine looks good on paper, but
    not smooth on the move, and sound quite rough at time.
    (after 4k rpm)
    – then the 6-speed gearbox, quite lazy and jerky in the
    town use… it does make the feel lethargic( while the
    Vios and Saga around just overtake me easily)
    -Rattles ! yes, loud interior rattles over the
    dashboard when driving… this is the most annoying part
    as i couldnt find the source and its just LOUD.. as
    i don’t expect sub 200k car has this even at 30k
    milleage.
    -Heavy steering at slow speed… sorry girls, unless u
    are a gym trainer :)
    -small interior space (u will understand if u ever get
    into Honda Accord, or even the smaller NIssan Sylphy)
    -fuel consumption ( dont expect small car consumption
    from the 1.6 engine, the engine and GB just have to work
    hard to keep it in pace)

overall, a good ‘looking’ car, but ‘asthmatic’ and
    ‘not premium’ on the move…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Thanks for the subjective review.

• rchoo on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:16 am

How come I got none of the problem and grievances as complained by you.

I smell competitor fabrication.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • gaviny on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:35 am

this perhaps the most accurate description of pijot, that’s very typical of the brand, almost there but just that little bit not yet, and has been like that for umpteenth years

• Colin Wong on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:59 am

Jay, are you sure you drove the 508???? I think you got mixed up. I think you are just making things up. The 1.6 engine is very responsive across a very wide RPM range. Turbo kicks in at low 1000 rpm. It accelerates better than my wife’s 2.0 Focus because of the turbo engine.

Stuff like heavy steering and small space is untrue. For those who are undecided what to believe, go for a test drive.

There are many happy owners like me around and we think it is worth a try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Keith on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:03 am

The best VFM car if resale is not a concern. As for 1.6T engine maintenance, the SCs are undertrained and overloaded bar a few, so post-warranty look for a good workshop who knows the innards inside out (engine decarbo a must, timing chain, etc.)

• looks like hyundai sonata 2014 ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Baja Lapis Seng on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:15 am

*orgasm*

Wish I can afford one…..one of the good things in life that made me want to work harder and elevate my earning power.

• Baja Hitam on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:27 am

No need to push your self work harder.

Sinple buy Proton Iriz, cheap and local made.

TDrM sell you buy, you don’t buy he ask more from r&d.

• lovepeugeot on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:28 am

i hope peugeot will make GT version with upgraded 208gti 1.6 engine..lagi umphhhh if peugeot make R version with 270ps 330Nm 1.6!!!i repeat 1.6!!…so bye2 to merc or bimmer with 2 litre with only 210++bhp

• Hey Jude on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:37 am

Lot of people have doubts about going down the conti route. I decided to take the ‘risk’ and went for a mondeo. So far have been very happy. Driving along NS highway is simply awesome experience. So smooth, quiet, power on tap waiting to be unleashed. No problems with after sales service. Coming to two and half years – no regrets.

I think lot of people blindly bash conti cars without any first hand experience. (VW problem not withstanding). Yes RV will be poor, but really don’t you want to enjoy your driving experience. As someone said, thinking about RV is like thinking about divorce even before you have got married.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Colin Wong on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:53 am

Hey Jude, glad that you wrote in. I think Mondeo is an awesome car. Based on review, it is a nicer ride than my 508. My wife drives a Focus and if Mondeo is supposed to be better, I can imagine how good a ride you own!

• Peugeot design is very tempting to own one follow by the Korean.

• No Euro4 fuel in Msia, mean no go.

• Why I don’t see any steering lock in the photos?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • I own a 308 VTi for the last 3 and half years. 55000 kms. It used to give me 13 km/l when new, now it gives me 13.5 km/l. It is just like magic, the fuel consumption has improved by half a km/l over the last 55000 kms. I just changed the front disc pads. The supervisor told me that carbon pads last for about 35000 kms, but mine lasted 55000. All this is happening to me contrary to some comments on this page. Am I an exception?? Please comment.

• loo sam pah on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:18 am

i find it strange that sam what is his name would come here to comment negatively on a car he has no interest in it at all.

does it bring any value to stir up a hornet nest. i hope he is happy now.

maybe i could buy him an ice cream to make him more happy.

• Colin Wong on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:40 am

Semi-Value is another person. I appreciate either owners or industry insiders with credentials making comments about the car but when you have people saying engine meletup and stuff like that, it is just sad. Why so free one?

• loo sam pah on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:11 am

well, i suppose he is equally capable walking into his neighbour house and make comment to the man of the house his wife looks like a devil or something like the curry she cooks stint like a dead rat.

kok talking on a public forum is cheap but does it really being any value to his already depreciating semi value?

maybe we pug owner should buy him a ice cream treat too.

i hope he is happy man now.

• When are they going to launch the new model in malysia? I was about to buy the 508 premium in June, but put in on hold after the news of 508 – 2015 model came out. Can wait to own one. I have made my comparison with camry, accord and passat. I still feel that Pug is better and value for money.

• ramzi on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:39 pm

i own a 508 and its a fantastic car.no regrets owning it.as they say once you drive a European marque ,there’s no turning back.

• Ken Young on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:58 pm

I read that Nasim service service uses Petronas Syntium engine oil, which is a bad oil with a lot of carbon deposits!

That could be one of the reasons/factors why Jawabandar’s cousin said that there are a lot of complaints on the current engine (1.6 turbo) where it tends to breakdown due to excessive sludge and eventually succumb to overhauling.

• Ken Young on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

I think anyone considering a Peugeot should forget about buying this make in Malaysia.

While the reliability of Peugeot cars may not be all that bad, their after-sales service could well be the worst in Malaysia. Read about someone’s experience of their Peugeot 508 here:
    https://www.facebook.com/PeugeotClubMalaysia/posts/733015910081569

It is so terrible that not only am I backing out from buying a Peugeot 508, but Nasim has to give a RM40,000 discount (instead of just RM15,000 discount during their year-end sale) to entice me and other buyers to even consider their Peugeot cars.

• When the new facelift of Peugeot 508 will launch in Malaysia?

• I saw the car ready. Not for public viewing. It’s a beauty. The price might be increased by 5k. Launching on 1st week of june.