Porsche Macan prices confirmed – starts at RM420k

Porsche-Macan-Preview-15

The Porsche Macan has just been launched in Malaysia, with official prices finally confirmed. The range – four in total – will start at RM420,000 for the base Macan, which is RM30,000 less than the estimated pricing Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) released last May.

This base model is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine from the Volkswagen Group, which has 237 hp and 350 Nm (from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm). It’ll do 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds, on to a top speed of 223 km/h through a standard seven-speed PDK dual-clutch transmission. It’s claimed to consume just 7.2 litres per 100 km in the combined cycle.

Next in line is the Macan S Diesel, going for RM545,000 – RM5,000 down from the estimated price. Its 3.0 litre turbodiesel V6 engine makes 245 hp and 580 Nm of torque, and gets to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds (6.1 seconds with the optional Sport Chrono package). Top speed is 230 km/h, and it’ll average between 6.3 to 6.1 litres per 100 km.

On to the petrol-powered Macan S, the RM560,000 sporty SUV gets a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 engine with 340 hp and 460 Nm of torque. Performance is well up from the two lesser models, with 0-100 km/h done in 5.4 seconds (5.2 with Sport Chrono) and 254 km/h top whack. Fuel wise, it’ll use 8.7 to 9.0 litres per 100 km.

The top-of-the-range Porsche Macan Turbo goes for RM785,000. The big asking price nets you a 3.6 litre twin-turbo V6 motor which does 400 hp and 550 Nm of torque. The century sprint is over in 4.8 seconds (4.6 with Sport Chrono) and the top speed is 266 km/h. If you have to ask, it’ll do 8.9 to 9.2 litres per 100 km.

Standard features vary between the four models, but each will have a long list of optional extras. Bigger wheels (up to 21-inches), exterior/interior carbon-fibre add-ons, air suspension, they’re all available, limited only by your wallet depth. Watch out, Range Rover Evoque, the Macan is here to eat you up.

All prices are Nett Selling Price before OTR costs (registration fee, road tax) and insurance. As usual, all Macan models come with a four-year warranty as well as a four-year free service, parts and maintenance package.

michelin-200Brought to you by Michelin
The Porsche Macan comes standard with MICHELIN Latitude Sport 3 tyres for your driving pleasure.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• albag on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:57 am

beli Macan memang tak lalu makan liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Sammy Velluuu on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:56 pm

What are the colours offered for this car? Cause there will be alot of macai looking for blue colour and once they got it, they would love to replace the “n” with “i” .. Porsche Macai Turbo.. How magnificent..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • peynoo on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Porsche Macam = for Penasihat Proton to drive

Proton PCC = for macai macai Proton to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • dugongxx on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Kalau I beli macan, kena makan maggi n ais kosong every day.

• heybadigol on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:58 am

If I had RM420k to spare, I would buy this in a heartbeat. Forget the Evoque (which costs slightly less at RM400k). This is the car to have, and its bigger inside too. Its a sports car that thinks its an SUV. Not the other way round, which the Evoque is. So offroad, the Evoque may run circles around the Macan. Though I doubt anyone will bring a luxury Porsche offroad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Aaron on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:09 am

Same engine with my GTI, I can cucuk this car everytime I see them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 48
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:21 am

Yamaha motor can cucuk you anytime also, so??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
      • Just imagine, you drive a Porsche and get tapau by a VW, no shiok man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • qwerty on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:43 pm

If I had bought a Porsche, I would drive it slowlyyyyy, real slow I mean, so that I can show off..Why often “smoke this and that”?

Makes us all sound like Malaysian drivers = reckless. :/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:15 pm

It is a typical Proton thing. They have nothing to talk about their own car, thus they can only talk about smoke this, smoke that, smoke chicken wings, smoke christmas turkey. Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
        • Not that you want to drive slow, it is because your porsche is not fast enough compare to VW gti and also you have no ball to drive fast what a lame gay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
        • Billy on Jun 09, 2016 at 10:27 am

You are the best bro because you let ppl like us that can afford to truly have close look otr. Best Nya compare to watching video or static!

• Bob_B78 on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Y not go cucuk a Golf R or Renault R26? Both also 2.0l engine. Oh ya, both cars can make your gti look like their racing with a normal golf. So you ashamed of loosing then you need to cucuk a SUV? So pathetic…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • seriousah on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:41 am

dear aaron, macan people can afford x2 of your gti. dont just cucuk, tapau everything if you can. park side by side. compare interior to exterior. just the half of the macan can tapau half of your car, if compare fully i think your chicks also he tapau all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • i like to step on the brake & let those who like to cucuk crash and die on the spot.. ^_^

• start-a-fight on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:01 pm

bigger inside? beg to differ.. sit in both.. almost the same.. but the black interior of macan makes it tad small feeling

• Dr Mamak on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:56 pm

2.0L x main la. Macan S is the one to get.

• W204 C63 AMG on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Bro, you high? Sports car and a 2.0 turbo 4 in a same sentence, you must be high. I’m assuming you are talking about the base Macan, since you are comparing it to the Evoque.

• Thanks Mr Hafriz.Great coverage.I know the last sentence you actually wanted to put “Watch out, Range Rover Evoque, the Macan is here to “makan” you up.Hahaha.IMHO the 2.0 is reasonably priced for a Porsche,this size.Evoque or Macan…it’s a hard choice.Evoque is an exceptionally great car with great character.Macan..well it’s classy.’nuff said.

• bbtree on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:01 am

Wow thats cheap … for a Porsche
    For now, just admiring..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Legend (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:06 am

yeahhhh i wlll definitely take this over the Evoque!

• Wow, 2.0L Porsche.

the Poorman’s Porsche come to town.

Bye LandRover BMW Benz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • With that kinda price, it wont be long till our street spawn with Porsche Macan.

• badgeforall on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:13 am

cheaper and looks a ton better than the X4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Yeah but X4 is a BMW, Macan is a VW with a Porsche badge, you are actually driving a high heel VW GTi sure very cheap ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
      • heybadigol on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Of course, Fiat owns Ferrari. VW owns Porsche, Audi & Lamborghini. Tata owns Jaguar & Land Rover. And Proton owns Lotus. Doesnt mean Ferrari drives like a Fiat. Or Proton drives like a Lotus (though Proton claims this all the time). They still cater to different target markets.

Check out Autocar drifting the Macan on track with amazing ease. The Macan handles like a sports car. It just so happens that it can do some minor offroading too. Try drifting & offroading the VW GTi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
    • Can Do on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Agreed!

• brutus on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:13 am

The price difference between the base model and next model is staggering. I believe up to 80% of the sales will be from the base model.

• In Malaysia thou could afford would also go for base. Malaysian usually go for badge rather than what is underneath the hood.

• john doe on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:14 am

Wow, nice price. It is consider reasonable for a Porsche.

• therealmaserati on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:16 am

Audi Q5 facelift now come with Porsche badge!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • LMAO.

VW engine in a Porsche.

What a budget Porsche.

• JamPaPaya on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:25 am

Macam if Lotus put Proton engine and sell RM99k.

and Whoa:: Best Lotus come to to town.

• Is this a VW Macan or Audi Macan or Porsche Q5 or a long legged GTi???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • tishaban on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:34 am

Cheaper than expected Porsche Macan and cheaper RON 97 fuel all in one day. We must be thankful to the govt today :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Cheaper it is but what spec does it have? I seriously hope this isn’t the botak spec but a decent spec model.

Please don’t follow how Audi spec its A3 1.4 model whereby the passenger seat has no electric control, the seats are only half leather and there is no front parking sensors. It really makes the brand feel cheap and this is a Porsche we’re talking about.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:41 am

The thing is, for the base price of 420k, it’s pretty empty spec.

In fact, after going to Porsche Center Damansara, customising a 2.0T model with some Porsche niceties, i.e. PASM, Sport Chrono, Nav, etc…. The options itself costed nearly 80k, which gave it an on road price or something around the 500k region. For a bit more, you are already touching the more powerful, base Cayenne V6.

• heybadigol on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Cruise control, more than 6 speakers for the audio system, and paddle shifters is enough already for me. The rest are good to have, but not really something you will need for daily driving. Imagine paying so much for Sport Chrono just to get you to 100km/h in 0.5 secs faster than without it. One could diet, and do the same. Hehe.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

But, you actually buy an empty Porsche? You might as well get the Q5 then, after all it is technically the same platform, same engine and with the DSG instead on the Porsche compared to the ZF8HP in the Audi.

• Goodbye impractical, expensive and pointless X4 on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:50 am

It was nice knowing you. Now that X4 is pointless in every sense of the word, can BMW start focusing on X3 and start giving us value and option?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:07 pm

wait for GLA

• Gila ,420k buy a VW Macan . X4 at least a pure BMW engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds toooo slow for a Porsche

• Boy Racer (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:39 pm

*Looks at price*

Not bad…

*Looks at wallet*

Hahaha…

• start-a-fight on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:04 pm

i have a deep pocket……………………………………………..hole…

• vwowner on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Wonder why no one questioning the gearbox issue due to it is Porsche?

If it is VW Megan sure kena gao gao in this thread.

• Ozone on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:23 pm

The pricing is really cool.

but the thing is, you guys dont really understand how porsche sells their model. You cant never find a similar model when compared to another model.

For the base model, the price is RM420 but why dont you go check with Porsche, you have to personalize it. The personalization will probably cost you an additional RM80k-100k.

The rims as example. It will cost you around RM15-20k. The type of seats bla bla bla…. everythimg “must” be personalized.

To say it will compete with the likes of merc and audi, you got that wrong.

I know, cos I just booked a macan. Hahaha

• pirate on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Yep…you can never get one for 420k. Still, the newly-minted X4 is touching RM460k with M-sport niceties! Both are powered by 4-pot 2.0L turbo. Go figure.

• Ozone on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:48 pm

The 420k base model will probably take you to 520k-540k with all accessories. X4 with M is 60k cheaper.

• pirate on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Yeah, it would have been really wonderful if the new Macan 2.0T is 450k OTR with decent standard specs.
          I was taken aback when an SA from SDAP Glenmarie quoted circa 500k for a base Macan after “personalisation” (ala Ferrari). I mean…that’s like going into Cayenne 3.6 V6 (base spec, again!) territory!

Btw congrats on your decisive booking Ozone! How much is the final specified Macan of your choice?

• Ozone on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:44 pm

I booked the macan S. 560k base price + all accessories it is now Rm680k.

Cant wait

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • The important distinction is....wait for it... on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Did you get an X4 or a Macan? There you go. The X4 is pointless from the get go. Regardless of price point. Made even pointless with the Macan.

Google X4 and pointless. You’ll see that it’s synonymous. They should put it on the badge.

• spongewai on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Merc GLA is not against Porsche Macan or BMW X3/X4

it is new gen Merc GLK challenging them which will be launched next year

• seancorr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Good luck to the X4 and its crazy price but reviews noted that the X4 does somehow hold its ground against the Macan but overall the Macan wins.

I guess we will be seeing a lot more Macans soon especially then the grey imports start pouring in…heck even I’m interested now

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Another one of my dream cars bites the dust!

• cheekeong on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:41 pm

420k, that is a good buy, why buy bmw x4??

• It is because BMW X4 is few level above this VW macan. Sure macan is cheaper.

• Tommy Lee on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Silly question but how to pronounce the name of the car?
    1. Mer-Can
    2. Mah-Can
    3. MaKan
    4. May-Kern
    5. Mah-Chan???

• MrNyx (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:27 am

I think is Mer-Can?

Check out videos on YouTube about the review of this car, you can know from there as well.

• Foffessor. Cunnning Linguist on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:44 am

Porsche claims it is inspired by the Javanese word for tiger.
      If that is the case then pronounce it “Mah-Chan” like a true Javanese.

Don’t confuse Javanese with. Bahasa Indonesia because Bahasa Indonesia is actually Bahasa Melayu. Its like Americans who say they speak American when it is actually English.

Back to Macan. The alternative is to pronounce it like the Mat Salleh. It sounds like makan which is a Malay word for eat. More interesting is to look up the English word closest in pronunciation – Merkin.
      Look it up and try to use it in normal conversation.

• Can co on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:13 pm

It is strange how people compare Macan vs X4 or Macan vs VW GTI. Macan is still a Porsche and is still a class above if not two! Even a cheaper BMW 328i will beat the Macan hands-down on 0-100kph but heck who drives at that break neck speed. I would still go for the Macan (if I can afford) as it offers better driving experience, exudes luxury, style and confidence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Datin K on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:44 pm

As part of the cronies system, this car is the default ride for mahchan cronies. Yay. ..finally a car for MAHCHAN!!!!

• heybadigol on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:17 pm

WHO THE HELL IN THE RIGHT MIND TO BUY A 2.0L VW AT 420K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • heybadigol on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:59 am

Please stop misusing my name. I did not write this. An imposter did.

• Can Do on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:08 am

It is not about 2.0L VW. It is not about raw power from a 2.0L. If you know about cars, it is the overall make of the car. The chassis, the torque vectoring on 4 wheels, the ride & suspension, the built, the quality, the drive, the 18-way seats, the comfort, the controls and many more. If you talk about 2.0L raw power, there are more cars that can tweak faster than a MAcan or a Bimmer. If you are saying a Macan is the same as a GTI, you are just expressing your stupidity and ignorance. I am sure by now, you should feel quite empty at the head!

• ‘Can do’ u really don’t understand….
    as I say earlier , Porsche is for speed .0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds is too show . it’s a shame even lose to a 328i or 320d if go Genting .shame shame shame

• Can Do on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:17 pm

‘ooo’ if you drive a 328i and if I drive a Porsche Macan (of course I cannot one to be honest) to Genting and arriving behind you driving a supposedly 328i, I feel no shame.

• macan is like buying a ‘Lotus with proton enjine’

• lorrycar on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:07 pm

True. But stupid and wanker people like me will be denial mode and continue to think it is a porsche.

• lorrycar on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Hey .. how much you all know about Macan, don’t treat yourself like a pro.. is true Macan Is using AE888 engine but not all the components are same, how about V6 engine… go back and study if you really think your GTI can tapao Macan S and above range.. wait until the cars outon the road… get to know those who have a cars and challengeit to race at Genting Hills.. I beg your BIG balls can squeeze off, and this Macan S ( as your so called VW rebadged) will make sure your race will be unforgetable… have you CUCUK by Porsche… i beg you havent…cos you only drive only VW OOPs

one things…this is suv not hatchback.. bodoh to compare, but i believe you will scream when Macan tail you back…trust me… i know this monster well than any others

• I was once commented on a Porsche owned by my girl friend’s brother 30 years ago . I told her this is the cheapest in the Porsche range .She replied “can you afford this ? I keep quiet . After 30 years I am buying a Porsche Macan !

• lorrycar on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Another 2 years, Porsche will come up with Porsche Minum with 1.6l campro engine and cost rm150k.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 7:36 pm

If she said that to me, I would break off with her immediately.
      Hope she is not your wife today

• we are saying macan but not macan s

• should be criticising macan but not macan s

• Spock1976 on Sep 13, 2014 at 10:03 pm

I want the diesel macan!

• Atz1999 on Aug 20, 2015 at 1:52 am

“Macan!you are faster than me But i can go Anywhere” Evoque

• Salleh Arif Hj Obeng on Sep 07, 2015 at 9:34 am

I’m interested in porshe macan s 3 litre twin turbo. What range of colours you have, tq

• Diffusal on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Macan S is to go for with 3.0L twin-turbo V6. I go for Porsche for its performance and technology, not for the badge. Bye bye Macan 2.0L VW engine.