Proton Compact Car dimensions compared with rivals

Proton_Compact_Car_PCC_Iriz_005

Does size matter? For small cars, yes – every little bit helps. And if Proton has global aspirations for its new Compact Car, it’d better square up well against everyone else in the playground, dimensions-wise.

At yesterday’s media preview event, CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah stressed that the Proton Compact Car is “not an A-segment car,” leading us to believe that it was designed to go up against the immensely popular B-segment Perodua Myvi, which is already pretty voluminous inside.

So let’s break out the tape measure. The Proton Compact Car, it was revealed yesterday, is 3,905 mm long, 1,720 mm wide and 1,550 mm tall, which makes it 215 mm longer, 55 mm wider and 5 mm taller than the Myvi. The PCC’s 2,555 mm wheelbase also beats the Myvi’s by 115 mm.

b-segment-hatch-dimension-comparison-proton-compact-car
cross-segment-dimension-comparison-table-proton-compact-car

UPDATE: Boot volume for the Perodua Myvi has been corrected to 208 litres from the incorrect 225 litres.

Having tried out the back seats, we’d say rear space is comparable to that of the Myvi, with width being perhaps the most palpable improvement. The base of the Proton’s rear seats are quite long, providing good thigh support.

Up front, there’s less of a perception of space than in the Myvi, due to the presence of a centre console (the Myvi’s gear lever is mounted on the dashboard, freeing up space beneath). But in terms of boot volume, the PCC just beats the Myvi, at 215 versus 208 litres. However, lest we forget, the soon-to-be-launched A-segment Perodua Axia can hold 260 litres in its boot!

As you can see above, we’ve lined up the dimensions of the Proton Compact Car alongside those of its contemporaries, both inside and outside of its segment, to help you visualise and compare.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• victor tan (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Doesn’t matter what is in this topic.

What matter is the interior length and width.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Ah Beng felt that the boot space smaller than Axia and Myvi is because designer wanted to provide extra space and comfort for rear passenger seats. They learnt from Satria Neo whereas rear seats are too narrow for passengers leg..Anyway, is not that bad right. Bashers and Same L0rrr & Co. always seek negative/drawback points to demoralize potential buyers..Come on guys, there are still a lot of selling point for you to opt for Iriz such as ASEAN NCAP 5 star, new VVT NFE engine, DRL, Lotus handling and etc which are better than Myvi and Axia..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 240 Thumb down 19
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Paultanian! Please remember what IRIZ stands for:
        I-llustrious car!
        R-ealization to be global car!
        I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
        Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 40
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Don’t care Iriz king of road and RV.

Proton sell expensive car Proton fanboys and salesman and designer still going to Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 55
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Looks, power, space, never Proton problem. Proton real problem is BUILD QUALITY.

See if this PCC is up to expectation as the Proton fanboys claim or not.

Malaysians only want cheap and reliable cars, simple!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 86
          • I dont care and never care about money if it is about safety..
            My family’s safety always comes first.
            so far this car has the safest rating for a small compact car..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 13
          • Err dear Riz.
            If you are like me in which family safety is paramount but not a fan of Volvo,please consider Picanto.actually Picanto is safer and one of the safest,if you look at the CAP category.Picanto is 4 stars EuroNCAP without VSD and 5 stars with ESP (ours are with ESP).EURO NCAP and Australasian NCAP although they cater for safety standard, but the assessment standard is different.But if you are ok with ANCAP standard,then Iriz is for you.:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
          • *ESP not VSD.just operated a patient with Ventricular Septal Defect so VSD is locked in my head.haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • kadajawi (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:13 pm

@SY4H: The Picanto is smaller and lighter though, so it is at a disadvantage (the rating is only really valid when you hit a car of the same size and weight). I think both are decent choices in 6 airbag spec. Of course since the low spec Proton’s don’t have 6 airbags (yet… remember the Preve?) the Picanto will be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Nissan on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:29 pm

You are right! Bad quality safety features won’t save your family life.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:15 pm

If your power window break, you will know whenever you pass toll.

How do you test if the VSC and airbags are working?

What if they are not working while you need them?

With Proton build quality, how can you assure these will work after 3 or 5 years?

Very realistic and simple question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 70
          • samelorsark on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Same Lorr. Gimme brands that give you warranty for safety gadgets?

Even audi dun hv such warranty

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
          • alldisc on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:45 pm

rest assured that the owner will be safe when the car spends a lot of time in workshop visits. hehehe… he will take the bus then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:22 am

Vios also got problem power window the features comes with “Screeeeettt” noise during operation. Seorang pengguna laman Facebook, Chong Bee Yock telah menulis berkenaan status yang mana merupakan luahan hatinya terhadap sebuah Toyota Vios baru yang dimilikinya.

Ayat awalnya memberi amaran kepada siapa yang mahu membeli Toyota Vios supaya berhati-hati. Berikut adalah alih bahasa dari status yang dimuat naik oleh Chong Bee Yock :

Amaran kepada pengguna yang berniat mahu membeli Toyota Vios(baru)…jangan beli sekarang sebelum anda menyesal. vios ini ada banyak masalah dan Toyota Malaysia tidak akan selesaikannya tapi terus menafikan masalah tersebut.

Wakil dari Bahagian Perhubungan Pelanggan, Mr. Wong Chee Hong; Peruding Teknikal, Mr. Ng Hua Yooi dan En. Mohd Nazri Mohd Said berada dalam kerata saya ketika memeriksa kereta saya. Ketika kami pergi ke Toyota Seremban Servis Centre. Bonggol dengan ketinggian HANYA 2 INCHI sudah ada bunyi seretan terlebih muata. Saya segera memberhentikan kereta sebelum melepasi bonggol(0KM/HR).

En. Ng Hua Yooi berkata yang kereta ini ada masalah dan akan tolong saya selesaikan masalah itu. Setelah seminggu, Mr. Won“g Chee Hong ini menelefon saya dan kata kereta ini tiada masalah! Masalah yang ada ialah saya tak boleh memuatkan 5 orang ketika menghadapi bonggol. Dia juga berkata yang Toyota tak boleh ambil orang jika tak mahu ada masalah ini. Dia cuma mengarut. Entah apa-apa.

Toyota Vios juga kuat makan minyak. Bila saya beli kereta ni, mereka kata yang kereta ni hanya guna RM0.17/KM tapi saya guna RM78 untuk memandu 308KM! Ini bermakna saya guna RM0.25/KM(78÷308). Kereta Honda City 1.3 Auto 1997 milik saya hanya guna RM70 untuk 371KM. Honda City lama ni hanya guna RM0.18/KM. Toyota hanya tahu menipu pelanggan untuk beli kereta yang kualitinya lebih teruk dari Proton Malaysia. En. Mohd Nazri Mohd Said mengaku yang kereta ni ada masalah pada mulanya, tapi bila mereka tak boleh buat apa-apa, mereka kata kereta ni tak ada masalah.

Toyota Vios juga ada masalah bunyi bumbung bila hujan. Sama seperti pengguna Toyota Malaysia guna tin Milo sebagai bumbung Vios. Bila hujan, penggera akan ‘trigger’ dengan automatik. Adakah kereta Proton lagi teruk dari ni? Tidak! Mereka telah memeriksa kereta saya selama 9 bulan mereka cuma menyelesaikan masalah penggera dan bumbung. Masalah makan minyak dan bunyi geseran lebih muatan masih tak boleh diselesaikan dan disimpulkan yang Toyota Vios tak ada masalah!

Mr. Ng Hua Yooi kata yang cara pemanduan yang bermasalah. Saya dah memandu lebih dari 30 tahun. Bila saya pandu Toyota Vios = Ada Masalah. Bila saya pandu Honda City = Tak Ada Masalah. Sekarang ni TOYOTA VIOS YANG BERMASALAH KE SAYA YANG BERMASALAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
          • Same Lorr Kancil on Sep 11, 2014 at 7:52 pm

go pasar with your kancil la same lorr

• Or is the meaning:
          “I-risk” everything by buying this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 57
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:48 pm

You buy something with uncertain build quality, like Greatwall M4, it is called Risk.

You buy something which has so many older versions with junk build quality, it is called Blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:47 am

buying UMW japan wannabe product is risk

no risk buy real toyota jdm japan made

once you go for jdm… u wudnt turn back to umw japan wannabe asean made

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Toyota JDM of course the best, you can get 86, Prius, Prius C, Alphard here.

If you can’t afford it, Toyota CKD also good, Perodua, Vios, Altis, Camry.

Toyota JDM or CKD, still better than the LEGENDARY Proton.

LEGENDARY = sounds good, story good, but no one actually see it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:19 pm

u said that coz u never own real toyota JDM n only exposed to asean made umw unser avanza n vios

once u own real JDM … u will feel vios same as saga level

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:59 pm

With Vios good build quality, I don’t have to spend any extra ringgit beside regular maintenance.

With Toyota good sales, I bought my Lexus GS in cash. So you have no ground to bark on me saying I have no JDM experience.

I understand you, all Protons are same junk in terms of build quality and comfort. But you will know the BIG DIFFERENCE when you drive a CKD Vios. I can give you some discount on your first Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm

vios good quality story can con kg ppl only

rakyat smart oredi… info on the net… vios atap zink roof quality.. suspension unsolved issues of vios…
            rakyat smart oredi
            thahs y rakyat prefer drb city overt umw vios nowadays

umw cant hide behind real jdm japanese anymore

• stability control, traction control, hill hold assist, Isofix standard across the range

thats a good point, also proven.
        it has rear drum brake, but it stops better and almost like all around disc brake..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 16
        • kairul abdul on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Talk so much rubbish know nothing riz.

Drive and test the car, then you know is a good car.
          Proton to global. Iriz to Global.
          U balik kampung jer riz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 55
          • haha your english are rubbish.
            yet u got more dislike than me,
            people judging us..

so, you are? which brand salesman ?
            in fb there a guy condemn proton Iriz, after some research, that guy is a Suzuki salesman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 32
      • MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:35 pm

actually, if you compare Iriz to new Myvi, Iriz also win in boot volume, 215 vs 208L in Myvi. Maybe Paultan made a mistake comparing it to older Myvi while other dimensions are from new Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Your Preve / Suprima also bigger than any C-segment, Lotus, Android, teh tarik hook, DRL …and all other things but with pathetic sales figure. The best part is you still don’t know the root cause..and blaming the people for not buying your crappy product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
        • iomasark on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Plenty of preve on road. Where is catfish vios?
          Ohhhhhh still in showrooms!!!!

Rotfl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:29 pm

dugong still cant compete with drb new city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • joeey on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Yup agree..there’s a lot of preve though…how these people claim that the sales is low is beyond me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:13 pm

If Preve sales so good, how come you can still get 2013 Preve with RM8k discount?

If Preve sales so good, why till now Proton not dare to disclose the sales figure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:21 pm

umw salesman butthurt??
            can not fight apple to apple vios vs city

n u feel better to compare with preve???

yeahhh vios only comparable with proton

city, almera mazda different class n way better than umw

• jipangmenjerit on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:23 pm

reason why they gave 2013 build preve discount is due to aftersales value, isn’t it logic?

and why everything need to be open? it’s like when blackberry said their sale increase 300%, ah beng just not care because they still selling samsung

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:12 pm

If Proton doesn’t give discount, till year 2024 you still see 2013 stock in warehouse. Use your brain pls…

Peyno is desperated already. He can’t compare Proton’s build quality to Toyota. He start to bring in City, Almera, Mazda… lol

I have no problems with other sushi cars. As i always said, sushi cars rock!!!

No matter Honda/Mazda/Mitsubishi better than Toyota or not… PROTON STILL JUNK BUILD QUALITY!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:24 pm

sam lorr
            if im DRB staff… of coz i will support all product under drb

honda under drb… proton under drb

same like u macai umw but support perodua coz under one roof

soo whats ur problem??
            un happy DRB honda getting better sales baetterbdan crap umw product???

• So, Axia has bigger boot space? lol
        This is a big win for Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Derek on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Plus, Axia got timing chain which is low maintenance.
          It’s using Daihatsu engine. :D
          I’m gonna pick Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
      • skg ford..xsabar rasanya nak kpd proton pula akan datang..

• eims perfume on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:24 pm

looks like proton prefer more cabin space rather than boot space. rear seats is more comfortable than its rivals. suitable for long journey. i think its good move. that boot volume is not that small. just enough i guess,

just i’m a bit dissapoint that when the rear sears folded down, its not flat like savvy. i think its usefull because i can bring a lot of stuff when i move to a new house. like table, fridge, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
      • Use lorry lah…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:41 pm

use small car to move things? i use lorry last time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • setiapaduka on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Just wait another year when iriz sedan aka saga 3 will replace current saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Guys. The reason the back seat does not fold flat is because the back seat has cushion curves. For it to be plushy and comfy plus the good looking headrest set.

If you want it to fold flat, Proton could just simply omit that and give us flat, uncomfortable backseat like Myvi.

I would prefer the current offering compare to a fem mm of extra space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • xiper (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:17 pm

move house just ask Sam Loo to lend you his hailat lah, no worries u r not using a Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Myvi interior length 1850mm and width 1380mm
      Width: 1620mm – 1380mm = 240mm (both side include one layer tin milo and hard plastic)
      Iriz maybe 50mm more, interior width still spacious than Myvi

• peynoo on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Next, compile a list for actual driving Fuel Consumption for 1 month from the above cars. Can you do it Paul Tan team?

Proton jangan takut if Iriz betul betul ekonomi minyak lah. HaHaHaHa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • leonardo on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Yes, while we are at it, compare the crash test results, acceleration from 0- 100km and braking from 100-0km. Compare the R&H and NVH too and give a point scoring system with at least 3 different drivers.
      Not everyone is looking at fuel economy only. Some prefer safety, others R&H, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • your car will be like save fuel,
      but your hospital bill arent …

safety first mate, cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 29
      • kairul abdul on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Scared of hospital bill??

Go public transport. Cheers mate.

Talk rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 58
        • yet again , rubbish english…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 26
          • kairul abdul on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:41 pm

This time u got more thumb down then me.

So what? I just hated ppl like u bashing Proton.

Proton basher !!! Rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 56
          • oops ..
            Im supporting Proton, for its safety.
            Very good rating.

I think your english are that bad man,
            u cant even understand the point Im trying to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • FORTHELOVEOFENGLISH on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Your English “are” rubbish? ‘There a guy’???.. ……………………………………….Dude if you wana flame someone on thier language skills please for the love of god get YOUR ‘England’ right. Let’s just focus on the cars. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Kairul rubbish on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:25 am

go public tansport?

what a rubbish english. if you can’t write english, just write in malay la idiot!

p/s: USE public transport. idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Go Gomen General Hospital, guaranty very cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Julez on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I second this, and I would encourage the Paul Tan team to do so for all cars in future reviews. 1 month is overkill. Just 3 days of in-city driving and 4 days of PLUS driving, then we can more or less get a better idea of the FC.

• I wonder which Blogger from Paultan willing to drive Proton for 30days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • rally_fan (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:03 pm

to be honest, im sure every car reviewer would be very happy if they could get a long term test car from ANY manufacturer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • victor tan (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:00 pm

ORZ…

I wonder why the boot space so small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • seancorr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:01 pm

When I first started my working life I owned a Myvi and I switched to a sedan after 2 years. One of the major reasons for a sedan was the boot space.

If Proton was going to compete with the rest of the B segment rivals on a global scale all the numbers match up except for the boot space….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:19 pm

proton already considered new saga 3… platform same as iriz and sedan

good mobe from proton

if u need hatchback get iriz.. need better boot space get upcoming sedan saga3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
      • peynoo on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:58 pm

need extra boot, get upcoming new Saga pickup (new Arena Jumbuck)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:01 pm

If Perodua is allowed to launch sedan, Proton can just close up the showrooms and beg for RM160bil straight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 64
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:17 pm

dont cheat rakyat.. this kind of story brought by p2 salesman decade ago… kununnya petodua not allowed to produce sedan… the facts is daihatsu has no sedan model to give perodua to rebadge

rakyat smart orediiiii

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 6
          • rakyat smart orediii….

never listen to Proton Politician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:47 pm

yess never listen to politiciam perodua PNB bn crony… UMW , spore share holder BN ctony and pryon DRB BN crony

rakyat smart oredii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:19 pm

You don’t like Perodua/Toyota, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia/Japan.

In fact, Perodua/Toyota don’t promote their cars with tons of leaks images, advertisement, spyshots. THEY JUST LAUNCH IT.

Good or not, build quality tell, customer satisfaction tell and then sales figure tell.

No need sendiri cakap sendiri syok one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:37 pm

sam loor
            i dont like perodua n umw salesman… prentending no relation with gomen, nap, protection n bn crony

i dont mine if u Bmw, audi salesman condemn ptoton on protection

ni salesman p2 n umw sama2 dapat protection yet wanna bash others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • samelorsark on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Toyoltak oso got spyshot, camoed cars.

You cannot cheat readers lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Peyno, you don’t like us is your own problem, like we will care.

Toyota and Perodua are making money, customer happy with car, sales good, staff get good increment/bonus, everyone pay tax.

Not like Proton, lousy sales still beg for government money. Because there are a lot of pervert out there, so it is perfectly fine for you to rape??

And lastly, show me when UMW get protection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:44 pm

nope peroduA is not making money… yet never make profit since established… they never reveal comp profit n loss… just showing sales figure… yup slaes figure high doesnt mean profit… the m1, M3 cost yen exchange rate all make perodua no profit comp

they still here be coz protected by gomen… without incentive n national car privilage… daihatsu wudnt be here and they prefer indonesia bigger market

UMW… BN crony eith sporean shareholder… by AFTA toyota of thai n indonesia is same in asean region.. and proven toyota Thai is more superior n UMW thats y japanese allow toyota thI to produce thier hi end camry… low end vios , avanza, produced by umw bolehland

without gomen protection we rakyat prefer thai made toyota rather than umw crony bn product

• leoRNado on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:45 am

meme ler P2 x prnh reveal profit n loss coz dia bukan public listed company. How on earth u can tell people that P2 making loss since 1993. Are you Financial Director at p2?. Kalau making loss dh lama Daihatsu pun lost dari P2. In fact, in 2001 they retained more shares in Manufacturing division.

Recently daihatsu invested RM600 mil utk plant baru known as Perodua Global (PGMSB) where Axia prodn taken place. Do you think they stupid to invest to the company yg making loss?.. They can leave here n go to Indonesia, did u compare the volume at ADM vs P2?..

Forget about gomen incentive coz every single company got various gomen incentives. Like P1 n P2 they enjoyed excise n tax exemption. Do you think HP, Samsung, Panasonic (just name few) will come here if no incentive?. Incentive is something that written and given by the gomen. When it come to ask for additional fund, then it is different issue.

In business simple calculation. higher sales = higher profit. Tak caya, next time belajar business or accounting. If each car net profit RM1 sekali pun, yearly they will make profit close to RM200k. Mcmana jual kereta rugi?. Bila tiada sales or no profit margin in order to diminish operating cost. You have to have certain number of sales daily/monthly to break even with operating cost i.e salary, machine cost etc. Otherwise, u r at lost. How do you want to break even, then it come back with sales.

Usually finance dept will work out with sales dept in what is the min sales in order to break even or gain more profit.

Lastly, kalau ada masa since P2 xde P&L report, then you can read Annual Report of UMW since UMW among the biggest shareholder in P2. You can see under ‘revenue’ the digits contributed by P2 annually. Likewise, theorytically if loss there shall no revenue. Banyak2 kanlah membaca drpd buat ‘lack of knowledge’ statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • monkeys on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:04 am

you jokers. perodua is owned by 2 public listed companies – MBM Resources and UMW. perodua performance is listed in their reports.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:51 am

i didnt say perodua making loss… but they never make a profit … breakeven??
            this is fact bro… just ask perodua account department ppl… they know better…

investing dumbed 4at factory is nothing for daihatsu… daihatsu can get the money back from our gomen ( eakyat tax payer) fron incentive n nasional car privilage…

they can see more in indonesia… do you know few years ago daihatsu decided to choose indonesia as daihatsu small car hub for asean instead of perodua??

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:22 pm

See the typical Proton fanboys with Proton 5S lifestyle:

Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok

When they can’t dispute the fact Proton is begging RM1.6bil, they talkok about Perodua and UMW.

Their logic is simple: because your competitors looked like pervert, you are fine to rape.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:14 pm

sam lor desperated oredi

now rakyat understand… umw oso BN cronies

all these while umw macai prentending has nothing to donwith gomen n point finger to proton so rakyat will angry at proton

but niw rakyat smart orediii

UMW… BN crony eith sporean shareholder… by AFTA toyota of thai n indonesia is same in asean region.. and proven toyota Thai is more superior n UMW thats y japanese allow toyota thI to produce thier hi end camry… low end vios , avanza, produced by umw bolehland
            without gomen protection we rakyat prefer thai made toyota rather than umw crony bn

• leoRNado on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:04 pm

hello monkeys, another English blind. bacalah statement aku betul2. Aku ckp umw is among the biggest shareholders. Mmg la dia ada shareholder lain i.e MBM, Mitsui, Daihatsu etc… But UMW owned 38% which is majority.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:28 am

People blame PROTON because PERODUA can’t produce sedan cars. They said PROTON afraid no sales and will closed up PROTON if PERODUA launch sedan cars. But do you know why PERODUA aren’t produce sedan?? It’s because business strategy. Toyota own shares in PERODUA and their direction is to manufacture on hatchback cars for PERODUA. Now, PERODUA are developing sedan cars similar like concept car, Buddyz without any help from Toyota since 2012..Stop blaming PROTON if PERODUA aren’t producing any sedan cars!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:12 pm

buddyz or bezza?? no matter ehat.. p2 just dyok sendiri.. they know they have no capability to make a new car start from zero…

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:26 pm

There is no need to make your own car from ground up as you don’t have sales figure, market share and quality to support it.

So keen on make your own car? Go buy Ninetology phone lar, stop using iPhone, Samsung, HTC, Sony I DARE YOU. lol

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:53 pm

so now rakyat knew oredi

perodua no produce sedan not becoz proton does not allow them

but actually they have no capability n daihatsu taiko oso dont give them a sedan car

but macai n salesman perodua/ umw try to cheat rakyat n try to get sympathy n balane proton kununnya proton tak bagi buat sedan

hahahha old tactic la bro

rakyat smart oredi

• kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:27 pm

for what ever reason this year most comment award is me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Whatever, like we care…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • samelorsark on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Same Lorrr you already admitted it LOL

Most rubbish comments on PT goes to…. (drum roll)

HHHHHHaaaaahhhaaahahaaaahahhhhh

• Sam Loois on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Agree with u on that bro… boot space

• kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:49 pm

boot space is an issue now..last few days bumper copy fiesta..steering copy toyota.
        previously design rebadge from brio to copy myvi to rebagde picanto now back to copy myvi again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • The boot cant put my baby stroller inside,failed,
      jazz still managed do it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • I think Proton should do Alza competitor using this platform as well.. since the size is already quite good in terms of width. Just stretch it a bit at the back.. put extra 2 seats (for children of course).. and with the specs it will trump the Alza + Avanza for small MPV if pricing is right. Hopefully rm60k-rm65k for top of the line model (1.6 Turbo for Premium version sounds yummy to me!)

I think Alza is already in its final life cycle before being replace with an all new model so Proton might need to do it fast!! Come on Proton lets do this!

• Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Not so easy to ‘stretch’, they might need a few hundred million bucks research and development money to stretch the car.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:38 pm

You answered your own question. If boot space is your priority, get a sedan.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Engine compartment must be a waste of space… Big engine, poor performance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 47
    • ProtonGSC on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Did you test drive it???
      You’re the poor performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Oh yeah, I forgot, crappy fuel consumption as well…

No need to test drive one… The specs speak for themselves – typical of Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Have you test drive it, ProtonGSC? How do you know it is good?

All car maker said their engine is good, only blind fanboys like you believe them and keep on syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • wanna performance, go buy Nissan GTR ..
      this car built for fuel economy and city driving.
      at least it is better performance than Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Hello…!!! Are you dumb or something…? I’m not referring to that kinda GTfuckingR performance lar… Look at the bigger picture ok… Honda Jazz with a smaller engine form factor fitted nicely to a smaller engine compartment can do better PERFORMANCE that this (dunno what) PCC shitty engine on a big engine compartment, end up reducing cargo space to a measly 215 litre.

PERFORMANCE = form factor
        PERFORMANCE = fuel efficiency

Use your brain next time… Just quote the word “performance”, useless brains like you just too smart until the work GTfR have to come out… Brainless to the max…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 53
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:56 pm

by the way
          honda jazz= DRB
          proton Iriz= DRB

iriz n jazz… friend friend

umw butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Typical Proton blind fanboys. Car not launched, no one test drive it.

Already syok sendiri say better than Myvi can smoke this smoke that…

Whenever Proton launch new car, they are like that, but how many good models Proton has actually launched so far???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:13 am

sam loor
            i can feel you bro.. vios sales not good as expected… now lose to new city honda drb.. ur camry lose to accord

rakyat see more city/ accrod than vios / camry

to make ur sad feel better u come here n bash proton so u can feel u champion

prerfthhhh

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Honda is a master of packaging. I still find it incredible that they squeezed their 1.5 i-VTEC engine into that puny engine bay on the Jazz along with all the other components. Must be hard on the mechanic to access the parts, though. But people design their car compartments and component placements for their own purpose, be it future flexibility or what-not. I also don’t expect Proton to achieve Honda level packaging.

Plus, how the car drives, we all don’t know. Don’t be too quick to judge by the figures, ok?

• driver on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:08 pm

do you have weight comparison? a similar analysis but for power-to-weight ratio would be much appreciated.

• Go P1.P2 it’s your turn.picanto sentiasa di hati.

• Ir Dr En on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Isn’t 225 litre is the boot volume of OLD Myvi? Thr current one has smaller boot at 208 litre, so Iriz is probably benchmarked against the new Myvi and thus has a bigger boot. In both cases, I dont know if the volume is VDA or swept volume.

I alao notice from the press photo that the Iriz rear seats does not fold flat.

• Garfield on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:36 pm

In my opinion, P1 could easily have a flatter floor (e.g. Picanto)but the boot is deeper in the first place. Then again, Proton is never previously a small car expert. The other way is for the seat cushion mechanism to be pulled up and in front for the seat back to fall completely flat (e.g. 323 Protege). I have owned both just to justify the differences. If ever this was a wrong decision, I honestly don’t think it’s disastrous and one that can be easily changed for the facelift later on.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:16 pm

damn… all sizes better than my supaer japan nippon sushi aeordynamic bumper myvi???

tak boleh nii

” remember savvy??, no timing chain??? still campro engine?? still right hand signal?? sales sales… gomen crony, NAP protection ( perodua ok)

ahmad
    p2 salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • booringgg on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:22 pm

the most boring p2 basher award goes to……. badumtas!!! PEYNO!

p/s : not pro p2 or p1. just random citizen. :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Not PEYNO la..Name it as PORNO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:47 pm

im not p2 basher
        im …kampung ppl malaysian japan wannabe but cant afford real JDM and never stay in japan baru jual kereta jepun celup sudah bagus basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Japan JDM Prius C and Prius were affordable last year. Why they are so expensive now?

Ask Proton and its protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:36 pm

again another trick by imw salesman…

perodua does not produce sedan
            blame proton dont allow
            fact: daihatsu has no sedan model

UMW sell expensive
            blame proton ask for it
            fact: UMW cheat rakyat hiding behind proton ..other makers such kia n ford can sell relativelu cheaper than umw with better soec n features

rakyat smart oredi

• Peter on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:41 pm

P1 & P2 killing each other, Nissan took the bottom, Honda Toyota happily grab the middle & top … 3 of them achieve their 2014 sales target earlier & now sit back and watch National Geo show (stared by P1 & P2)!

• Sugar Glider on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:20 pm

anddddddd perodua win……. boot space… only… congratulation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:41 pm

p2 wins on boot, timing chain, japanase work culture, seatbelt buzzer safety, cup holder, coin n tissue tray

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Yes and P1 wins on teh tarik hook, karipap during meeting and low sales figure.

Pesaing kita telah menjadi besar, proton bila lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:59 pm

juara kampung P2 tak laku over can cheat kampung pprt makcik n ah soos

now begging gomen to give more incentive n nasional car privilage so that daihatsu dont run to indonesia

indonesia
          better market… asean market

perodua,… malaysia bolehland market

• MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

actually, if you compare Iriz to new Myvi, Iriz also win in boot volume, 215 vs 208L in Myvi. Maybe Paultan made a mistake comparing it to older Myvi while other dimensions are from new Myvi.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:33 pm

alamakk ye kee???

nanti p2 macai kena edit comment laa

before
        boot space, timing chain > All

after
        timing chain > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Just don’t understand why these people nick picking about a few liters difference in boot space. Really, a few liters difference means it can store a few more bottles of 1.5L Mineral water, nothing great really.

• rosli on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:25 pm

The sales depend on the pricing ? above rm50k the sales will be slow like prevee and suprima.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Tun say “better built quality” come with more expensive price.

Don’t expect it to be cheap. No cheap cheap.

Tun like increase price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Thats right, one can suspect they can only sell the lower end versions if they price the higher end model above RM50K.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:33 pm

p2 salesman
    ” proton use rakyat taxpayer, under protection, BN crony,NAP”

rakyat
    ” but u also national car, begging for incentive n privilege from gomen, under NAP, protected, BN crony rite?”

p2 salesman
    “syyyyy diam diam sudah la.. we focus on proton issues only laa”

rakyat
    ” #%^*€£¥ ”

moral of the story… rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 13
    • kairul abdul on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:48 pm

You talk yourself and speak yourself.

Bull shiting, better go eat s*** and balik kampung jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:46 pm

With staff like Peyno, no wonder Proton keep on begging money.

Sendiri cakap sendiri syok.

P2 doesn’t beg for money, never it produce cars with junk class build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:52 pm

p2 doesnt beg for money from gomen???

then no need national car privilage laa..

do u think without nationL carprivilage … daihatsu will still here??

rakyat smart oredi

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Government decide P2 is national car maker, so P2 entitled to all benefit in the policy.

P2 did not BEG for extra money like Proton! Are you clear?

Because you think your competitor is pervert, so you are fine to rape??

• peyno (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:45 am

now u admit p2 is nasional car??? so if national car means same treatment as proton… protected by gomen under NAP incentive n privilage n cronies

but all this while u r trying to focus to proton only… so that rakyat get angry to proton and forgot about perodua ???

dey… rakyat smart oredi… dah tau p2/ umw tactics

• bro… proton is getting better,
      even General Motor from US got benefit from goverment.
      same as Kia/Hyundai..
      now they are on their own feet,
      and also now they are the one helping boosting their country’s economy.

moral of the story… rakyat need to think about future, and stop disbelieving in our own people and country.
      lets unite and support our very own carmaker.
      trust me, if proton keep up the pace like this and getting better, proton will be an international carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • kairul abdul on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Adoi bang stop bashing Proton.

Bosan la to see your lousy comments.

• fvger on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Who is bashing proton?

• Idiot riz the proton basher.
            riz want proton to CLOSE SHOP.

• yeah man, who’s bashing proton…
            see down here .. he’s trying to copy my nickname n backing up his own comment
            what a shame n pityful man,
            He still don’t understand the point I wrote.
            Baca reti, tapi xpaham ..
            trus men-cadbury buta komen,

• hadi75 on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:59 am

Kamu nie mabuk ketum eh???org tulis dlm BI kamu tak paham…tulis dlm BM pun kamu tak paham….

• Bro… ko copy ayat aku tu ,
          pastu pegi bukak google translate ..
          translate tukar bahasa melayu,

akan terasa kebodohan sendiri,
          entah tang bila aku bash proton..
          cmni pny org pun ade lagi ke

• leonardo on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:35 pm

If boot space is my priority, then I would look at Sedans, not hatchbacks. Or small MPVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:39 pm

p2 salesman
    ” proton cheat rakyat… selling cheaper outside.. selling expensive for local”

rakyat
    ” but perodua also same rite… myvi is much cheaper in UK, Mauritaus, Sri lanka rite”

p2 salesman
    ” syyyyy diam diam sudahla… we focus on proton only

rakyat
    ” €#%*+£¥ ”

moral of yhe story
    rakyat smart orediiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • It wouldn’t be named as compact car if the boot space is huge. I think it’s just sufficient.

P/s: Deyyy! Mau pindah rumah sewa lorry la! Yang pakai Iriz untuk bawak fridge tu apesal? Rasa mcm nak terjun bangunan baca comment mcm tu kat sini!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
    • MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:40 pm

student kot… duduk rumah sewa dia beli fridge kecik. bila habis study nak bawak fridge tu balik kampung laa, tu je benda besar yang dia ada, rugi la ambik lori… cuba la berfikir positif sikit :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:00 pm

maybe they think this is comparable to lorry maybe.. expectation too much maybe..

• This is Malaysians! Want a compact car that is comparable to a lorry luggage size! wahahahahhahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:49 pm

boot space, timing chain > All

p2 macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • peynoo on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:00 pm

ANCAP = ANCAP

ASEAN = Australia

p1 macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:56 am

sorry
      after paultan revised myvi boot space size from 225 to 208( smaller than iriz 215)

i change my word

timing chain > all

prffthhh

• Ssyyy on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:54 pm

One should never expect enormous trunk size when shopping for a hatch car of this category.. Honestly speaking, myvi viva can have more space cuz the metal structure & moulding is very simple & thin but not effective in absorbing impact.

And i wonder if they place the fuel tank under the rear seats of in the trunk..

• waaa so big boot space Preve! 508 liter!!! hehehe just nak highlight Preve.. peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Veneno on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:03 pm

the only thing that Myvi shines more than Iriz is the bootspace.. the rest, Iriz rules..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

boot space > all

albert lam
      p2 salesman
      kepong

• MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Iriz hass bigger boot space if compared to new Myvi, 215L vs 208L.

• Veneno on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:30 pm

oh.. so the 225 liters bootspace is from the old Myvi..? then, if the new Myvi only got 208 liters, the Iriz leads everythings in front of the Myvi.. Iriz win..

• xnotmark on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:07 pm

small boot. why? proton why? when every rival opt for bigger boot.new honda jazz and vw polo should be the benchmark because they said this is global car.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:58 am

now changed oredi
      iriz boot biiger than myvi

damnnn why why whyyy

• johndoe86 (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:07 pm

volkswagen is in its own league adi no need to compare and I think proton cannot make such comparison! Go VW!!! I love my VW polo!!

• bigger boot la. Myvi’s boot is already suffocating… smaller than myvi is really not a good idea.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:28 pm

conversation btw p2 salesmsn n customer

customer
    ” why perodua only 2 airbags??? no CVT unlike daihatsu japan, no DRL, no ESC?? no VDA, no 5 star safety rating???

p2 salesman
    ” errrrr our boot space better than proton”

customer
    ” whattt the……..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Dont forget FC. So far Perodua’s car has better FC than Proton’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:29 pm

then rakyat said
        ” fc??? depend on ur foot.. somemore Fc= maoney saving.., money u can find

safety features= life= no 2nd chance

rakyat smart oredi

safety is their priority

• jongos on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:33 pm

overall the car looks promising. waiting for fuel consumption report.

• walaweh on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:33 pm

i think the back seat couldn’t fold flat due to back seat seatbelts sensor,its not cant be done,but maybe to cut a bit of cost. i believe its competitors in malaysia dont have this sensors.

although im a bit dissapointed bout the boot volume,it just a compact car,it based on pictures,it can put 4 luggage,same as axia demonstration without need to move out the upper panel,it makes me confuse whether axia boot volume 260 liter is the real boot volume or only when the upper panel put out can get 260liters?

whether axia uses diff method,vda vs swept,from the pictures,it seems they r equally big. or prtn did their magic on the pictures.

• MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:46 pm

i remember watching 1 video comparing Exora boot space to other MPV by putting the same items into the competing MPVs… maybe Paultan should do the same for this too…?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:44 pm

actually i wanna buy this car… but after knowing the boot space is smaller than myvi… i change
    my mine

i dont care 6 airbags, drl, 5 stars rating, VDA, ESC etc
    for me
    boot space > all

macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • newmaster (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:44 pm

smaller than myvi boot :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Painter on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Forgive me for being a pessimist.

I’m not sure small global players like Proton can afford to take the same approach as the other established makers like VW or Toyota-backed Perodua in their product offering.

They have their immensely popular brand name to lend credence to their models. What does Proton have other than faulty electric window and car shuts down itself while driving?

You can’t just go by length, width, space, fuel consumption etc. Honestly, how many people actually look at the difference in milimeter when it comes to deciding which car to buy? They would mostly go for brand recognition, perceived quality and the look of the car itself.

Different approach must be taken by Proton. Take for example Tesla Motors. They produce luxury midsize car, comparable to the likes of BMW and Mercedes-Benz, but their cars are electricity-propelled. So, they don’t compete directly with well-established brand names. Instead, they created new following, while at the same time building a name for themselves as pioneer for mass-produced electric car. Much in the same way Ford became industry leader for mass-produced automobile, 100 years ago. Ford wasn’t a pioneer.

So, for Proton, look at the current generation. Gen Y and the Millenials. These are the internet generation, the social media generation. They are attention hoarders, they want to be eternally connected with their gadgets. The market where you want to ingrain in their minds that you are the producer of excellent products.

Instead of throwing in the same thing like any other players. Why not turn the new Proton Compact Car into a fully connected car. Throw in accessories like the Heads-Up-Display. Have the increasingly popular Zubie (the internet connected car device) pre-installed where you can send and share driving datas, locations, open an API so programmers can help improve your system. Build that ecosystem where the public can help improve your product, make it start remotely, through iOS or Android, make it able to self-park, do the things other B-Segment cannot do. Throw away the China-made android device installed on your Preve. If you’re going to do it half-heartedly, don’t do it at all.

Yes, there may be skeptics to radical ideas, much in the same way that people are skeptical that Proton can pull it off again with this new model. But if you previous effort bore no fruit, why stick to the same formula? Be innovative, be radical!!

I’m so sick of seeing too many failures in this country. We are all too happy putting blames without coming out with any good ideas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • The best comment i read this year!!!

Very very correct.

• MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

study history bro… Hyundai / Kia was very terrible in USA at their early stage. nobody would buy hyundai / kia because of ‘bad reputation’ and trouble here & there. it was very bad until they have to offer 10 years warranty! but look at how they make a comeback, look at them now. they spent hundreds of million dollars on advertising especially during world cup, more than what proton spent to develop this Iriz.

• Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Too much for the asking! You think Proton chairman is like when Apple’s has Steve Job meh?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Going in a radical new direction without addressing their current faults (some of which are long running and have been driving potential buyers away for years) is just avoiding the problem. Before they can think of connectivity, they have to make a car that is desirable enough that people WANT to buy the car, rather than buying it because it is cheap. You cannot compare Tesla with Proton in that way. I see your point in going on the path not taken but it isn’t as simple as that for Proton. Tesla made their cars to ooze quality, so much so that it’s a very viable alternative to traditional luxury cars. For Proton, it has come to the point where some people are so put-off by their standard of quality control that some have sworn off the brand forever. They must address this issue before continuing. If they add on all those connectivity stuff, people would still remain skeptical of their cars. My 2 cents.

• Painter on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Proton make cheap cars using cheap material. That’s why their cars keep breaking apart. It’s an uphill task to convince a familiar market which already have a prejudiced view on their product, particularly on the poor quality and unimaginative design.

You want to be champions, you gotta run like champions. And that involves total shake-up! Bringing people from different industries, like what the Tech world is doing on the other side of this world.

Is Proton up to that? Time will tell. But early outlook? Not so good.

• jipangmenjerit on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:42 pm

actually, proton had previous issue with their “many” vendors which supply low grades parts to them which end up problems.

that’s why now they are using bosch parts to counter quality issue..even their ecu changed to bosch

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:17 am

Yet it is taking on that uphill task that they need to do: Breaking the old perceptions about them. They’re losing market share in their current state and fancy tech in their cars won’t help them. They’ll probably get comments like “dashboard plastic already not good still want to do HUD. made of plastic botol lo???” They need to make a car that would fit the needs and some of the wants of the typical Malaysian (who are generally hard to please).

From some rumors and news bytes, there are shake-ups within Proton but to what extent we don’t know since this is a culture of secrecy and mysteriousness where everything is on a need-to-know basis. I honestly don’t understand their need for so much secrecy since sometimes it doesn’t seem to help them at all but *shrugs* I can’t do anything about it.

• Jimmy on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Good try.
      Young people are full of ideas, some are practical.
      Do you run business?

• Terence Toh on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:07 pm

What matters is the price and handling. I owned a Suzuki Swift (now sold already but regret) and it handles like heaven. Would love to test drive this new Proton Model. Have to admit it doesn’t look too great but lets see the real thing first. But the price would sink or swim this model.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:52 pm

I agree with you on putting the handling characteristics of a car as my priority, and Proton has always excelled in this front. Proton cars always have the best handling among rivals. However, unfortunately, not many people can appreciate a cars handling, as it is not something you can measure directly and put a figure on. That’s why people tend to compare bhp, torque, top speed only when looking at a cars performance. I like the BMW philosophy. Power does’t necessarily translate to fun.

• guilt79 on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Maybe Proton finally moving out of comfort zone. This looks good.

• Out of comfort zone is when they stop asking money from the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:02 pm

yes…perodua no need nationalmcar privilage n incentive.. then we called out of comfort zone

• Guys. The reason the back seat does not fold flat is because the back seat has cushion curves. For it to be plushy and comfy plus the good looking headrest set.

If you want it to fold flat, Proton could just simply omit that and give us flat, uncomfortable backseat like Myvi.

I would prefer the current offering compare to a fem mm of extra space.

• Guan yin maa on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Honda Jazz here sell RM 80k, langkawi sell RM35K. Proton preve here sell 70k, langkawi sell 65k. See the differences ? Who says higher pricer = better quality ? Dr mamak ? Take away all the taxes and you can compare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Lying dickhead, you think people are so stupid can’t go check Honda website to see the Langkawi price is it? Cheapest Honda City at RM 57K = expected price of the Premium variant of the PCC with much more better specs.

Don’t believe me go check yourself here: http://www.honda.com.my/model/pricing/jazz/5

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Honda Jazz that is, RM 57K.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Don’t forget that Honda can make less profit in Langkawi because it is a more competitive market. It is hard to know the actual price of the car… I wish the government would make that info public. :(

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:31 pm

The car’s profit margin is not affected by changes to the tax structure so it can be discounted.

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:31 pm

The car’s profit margin is not affected by changes to the tax structure so it can be discounted.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Hahahaha.
      Take out the taxes to compare?

How can Proton survive in his own country?
      Less profit Tun won’t accept.
      I sell you buy, don’t buy I ask more from R&D.

• MoFaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:20 pm

what i heard before, Proton have to pay excise tax because their car is made in malaysia and sold in malaysia. no excise tax only if the car is exported to other countries. check Perodua price too, is still the same as mainland peninsular. And where do you get Jazz RM35k in Langkawi? the lowest price fron Honda website is RM58k for Labuan & Langkawi… about RM13k different than mainland peninsular.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:34 am

Im sure there are cheaper options out there. P2 is the obvious one… or you can go for some made in china cars…

• Assad on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Have u been to Langkawi before? I lived there once. Rarely see a Honda. lol

• kumar on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:19 pm

new myvi has 208 ltr of boot space only.the info above is wrong.so p1 beats it hands down.

http://paultan.org/2011/06/16/2011-perodua-myvi-full-details-and-first-impressions/

• budlee on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:23 pm

As a wide and short man, i like this car is also short and wide lol.

• Paultan team, i believe the boot space for myvi is 208 for the current model. 225 is for the 1st gen myvi IINM.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:34 pm

The Prevé has the second biggest boot in all of the C-segment, short only of the Nissan Sylphy (at just 2 litres). It’s too bad then that the Iriz has one of the smallest boots in its class. I’m not asking Proton to copy the Honda Jazz’s ‘magic seats’, but a bit more space would have helped. I’m assuming that the boot is small because Proton wanted to free up as much space in the passenger compartment.

• perodua_lagi_best on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:46 pm

i already booked axia G-spec, btw not even bother to waste my time on potong also! :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:04 pm

actually… cant afford 6ok iriz kan

only can afford 30k unsafe aziah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Say what you like, its actually people like “perodua_lagi_best” that will hamper Proton sales and there are thousands like him. This Iriz sales might even trail their Saga model!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:41 pm

later he said… i dont care of audi a4… im buying aziah

• areos on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:48 pm

WANT MAX LENGTH…BUY CHINA’S KINGLONG BUS
    WANT EXTRA WIDE…BUY 1980’S MERCEDES 500
    WANT MAX HEIGHT…BUY SCANIA TRAILER
    WANT DECENT AFFORDABLE COMPACT CAR..BUY IRIZ/MYVI/AXIA/SAGA.. YOUR MONEY YOUR CHOICE..JANGAN BANYAK CERITA…HEHE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Why plate number at bumper not rear bonnet? Proton PCC rear bonnet look so plain seen from behind. Dari depan memang sangat cantik tapi disebabkan plate number kat bumper..e2 yang buat Proton PCC tengok dari belakang xcantik.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:18 pm

The Myvi boot doesn’t look big from outside either (look at it through the rear wheels, it doesn’t go all the way down). Space wasted there.

The Iriz boot is a bit of a disappointment IMHO. If they want to sell it globally, shouldn’t it be competitive with global B segment cars? Just look at that Jazz. Yes, in Malaysia there’s the B segment sedan for boot space, but sedans aren’t an option in Europe, the hatchback needs to do the job.

Proper thigh support is nice. Many cars don’t seem to have that so that leg room looks great…

• The only area Proton was overlooked was cargo space. How on earth the designer never give little emphasize on 300l+ boot?

Even smaller VW Up also have 280l trunk volume.

I guess the issue due to over relying on Myvi as the car they should beat and end up aped the Malaysia only popular car. PASSO/BOON which Myvi was based never a popular car elsewhere.

Very short rear overhang doesn’t augur well with more acceptable cargo space for heavy travel Malaysians nor international market.

Sizable trunk also advantage for future hybrid variant’s battery space.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:34 pm

I just want to highlight something which has not caught much attention….
    I read that the full spec variant weight is around 1150 kg, which if im not mistaken, is even heavier that the saga flx which is a sedan with a boot, which make me think thats why thy offer the 1.6 engine option, which is very rare for this segment…
    Maybe all that increase in measurements and extensive use of high tensile steel al took its toll on the overall weight of the car…
    But overall, its an impressive effort this time, thy seem to really study all the competition….
    And finally, it seems comparing with the kia Rio makes more sence than the i10 since ‘its not an A segment car”….

• Green on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:46 pm

based on Myvi wheelbase to judge.

Myvi is A-segment in 2014 Status.

Proton IRIZ is B-segment.

but again, Proton IRIZ is the Smallest B-segment out there.. Smaller than Toyota Yaris, Fiesta, Jazz, Kia Rio, Pug 208…..

• bcuz Proton just trying to be Jaguh Kampung.

Thinking better than Myvi = King already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:42 pm

like umw salesman.. can outrun proton= king…

but lose ti honda

• peynohatersupportpainter on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Quoted from painter for peyno “Forgive me for being a pessimist.

I’m not sure small global players like Proton can afford to take the same approach as the other established makers like VW or Toyota-backed Perodua in their product offering.

They have their immensely popular brand name to lend credence to their models. What does Proton have other than faulty electric window and car shuts down itself while driving?

You can’t just go by length, width, space, fuel consumption etc. Honestly, how many people actually look at the difference in milimeter when it comes to deciding which car to buy? They would mostly go for brand recognition, perceived quality and the look of the car itself.

Different approach must be taken by Proton. Take for example Tesla Motors. They produce luxury midsize car, comparable to the likes of BMW and Mercedes-Benz, but their cars are electricity-propelled. So, they don’t compete directly with well-established brand names. Instead, they created new following, while at the same time building a name for themselves as pioneer for mass-produced electric car. Much in the same way Ford became industry leader for mass-produced automobile, 100 years ago. Ford wasn’t a pioneer.

So, for Proton, look at the current generation. Gen Y and the Millenials. These are the internet generation, the social media generation. They are attention hoarders, they want to be eternally connected with their gadgets. The market where you want to ingrain in their minds that you are the producer of excellent products.

Instead of throwing in the same thing like any other players. Why not turn the new Proton Compact Car into a fully connected car. Throw in accessories like the Heads-Up-Display. Have the increasingly popular Zubie (the internet connected car device) pre-installed where you can send and share driving datas, locations, open an API so programmers can help improve your system. Build that ecosystem where the public can help improve your product, make it start remotely, through iOS or Android, make it able to self-park, do the things other B-Segment cannot do. Throw away the China-made android device installed on your Preve. If you’re going to do it half-heartedly, don’t do it at all.

Yes, there may be skeptics to radical ideas, much in the same way that people are skeptical that Proton can pull it off again with this new model. But if you previous effort bore no fruit, why stick to the same formula? Be innovative, be radical!!

I’m so sick of seeing too many failures in this country. We are all too happy putting blames without coming out with any good ideas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • TalkTalk on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:30 pm

You all talk la.
    Later sure got people say, haiya potong ma, quality like that lo when send back to fix this and fix that.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:18 am

old minded… must be comw from W generation

gen Y ppl smart orediii

• wayangkulit on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

the easiest way to separate potential buyers from talk kok sing song car “expert” wanabe is when you see them recommending cars by spec/price analysis and conclude its the best car since the invention of slice bread

nobody talks about after sales services, quality of components used, a company’s reputation over the years in handling customers satisfaction and a company’s reputation over the years in handling its own internal politics.

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:53 pm

If you buy a car based on manufacturer reputation alone, then you don’t deserve good cars. It’s nothing more than brand worshipping.

This is why I am AGAINST repealing the tax structure, because if it is done then the road will be full of shitboxes, simply because your typical lazy Malaysian don’t bother to do proper comparison between cars on sale. It’s no wonder why car companies in Malaysia are basically laughing all the way to the bank clutching gullible Malaysians’ money.

And don’t get me started on Malaysian driving habits…

• giooo on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Safety > all

• Guilt79 on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:48 pm

I hope the season of Driven, where..

Sam Loo vs Peyno.. Lol

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:05 am

sam loor
      UMW japan wannabe salesman

peyno
      6 years in japan, JDM is peyno’s toy, knows japanese culture, japanese better than japan wannabe cant afford eeal jdm end up with perodua n umw unser

• yushimura on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:54 am

Stay in Japan but brain still stupid macam kampung loser supporting crap car. PIIRAHHHH

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:06 am

yushimira san… okotteru noo???

kawaisoo na maresia jin…. honmono no nihon no kiruma akogarete… end up… perodua to umw shikai kaenai

prrfrhhhh

• powershot (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Jonathan, the boot space for the great wall m4 is 310 liters. you can get the info from the new zealand brochure.

http://gwm.co.za/documents/gwm_m4_brochure.pdf

• Student on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Lets make myvi the best used car up for grab

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:30 am

boot space of myvi has been updtwd from 225 to 208

iriz wins all

hahahhaha

p2 macai n salesmn butthurt

must find another point to bash

” no timing chain?”

prrrfthhhh

• klagang on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:45 am

I’m amazed at Honda Jazz’s boot space. Hard car to beat though.

Good job on the effort Proton. Hopefully, your next models can beat / equal the Japs. Hopefully.

• if they can beat the Japanese, it would been long ago….Entire Proton corp still stuck at 2nd gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • kopi putih ahuat on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:08 pm

there is no magic at all. Take up your calculator and check the extra space contributed by extra 50mm length…

• Majuperak on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:57 am

PCC stands for proton cheap car ?

Let’s wait and see …… back then Waja was meant to be game changer, European benchmark, then came Gen2 …. and Preve, so please improve or else just close shop. Everyone (car makers) is moving ahead, these Proton thinking as though other car makers are not moving ahead except them ….. jaguh kampung title also lost to Perodua. Time to move on Proton is just a commercial company and not national car anymore …. stop holding the country ransom !!

• Mat Tibai on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Tak pa la ‘proton cheap car’..malaysia bukan semuanya org kaya.yg dok kampung pun nak juga merasa guna kereta baru..abiih dah semua buat kereta mahal2 org yg pndptn rendah tak merasa la..pikir la sama..jgn penting diri sendiri ja.patut sokong buatan sendiri..ni tidak.buatan org lain jugak dia nampak hebat..nak ikutkan kualiti pun dh setanding dgn yg luar.apa lagi yg nak..buat kereta ‘rebadge’ pun org kata,keluar sendiri pun org kata.

• It’s all can be seen from the features. What else do bashers can point out? NCAP, a safety feature for u when riding. Love your CAR or LIFE when accident happens? VVT engine for better performance. Toyota? Perodua? Cherry? Sighh

• hrmnpsrffn (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Need more space? Lose some weight. :)

• Protn is dong a very great job.They use Proton Emas comcept for this car.But got people like stupid people Mr.Majuperak say PCC stands for Proton Cheap Car.Please Mister,mind your word.GO GO PROTON!

• SamKL on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:06 am

Comment is good if it based on fact not ‘feel’…most of the commentators is an idealist that the car they look for is never exist…

• Assad on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:14 pm

In general, I find this new Proton deserves an applaud. So much attention been given in design with lots of details being look into.

Exterior – Looks promising and uses latest trend of automotive; LED lights (only to Premium variant), curves, huge grills. Not to mention, skirting too! Screen on A-pillar eliminates blind spot. Thumbs up to headlight design. Hopefully it will not trap dust inside it. As for the rear, it’s subjective but peoples will accustom to it over time. BMW for example. Personally, I have no grunge about it. Oh, aeroblade on premium model? I’m excited to know more about it.

Interior – Looks comfy with body wrapped seats, supportive for driver over long journey. I don’t know how comfort it is for passengers as the seat is pushing scapula forward. To personal taste, I find the “all black” theme looks boring. By adding some tones to certain element(s) might change the overall appearance drastically. Monotone scheme on I/O really a big hindrance.

Safety – No need to say further. 6 airbags(?), ABS, EBD, BA, ESC tells everything. Hopefully Proton will provide this features to lower variants as well.

No idea on handling nor performance. If it still uses Lotus suspension, I can say that it is going to give a thrill.

Last but not least, kudos on the new platform.

• hafiz on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Luggage room measured value:

Iriz= 215L
    Myvi=174L

• Senaling on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:46 am

From my experience, even if Proton make hatchbacks, they are all comfortable even on long balik kampong journeys.

• Senaling on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:52 am

Honda Jazz is not really a hatchback. It should not be compared to the other compact cars. It is similar to Alza.

• DingDong on Sep 12, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Proton Perdana AKA Honda ACCORD ……..LOL

• PROTON COMMITED TO BE BETTER.Go go Proton!!!!!!!To people who want to compare you junk cars like Jazz,Vios and any other compact cars,please!!Find others compact cars like TATA from India.No need to compare with Protn GSC.Because,Proton GSC is a GLOBAL RATED.Secod,your car is junk,obviously.Third,it has much more safety than Jazz and Vios.Plus,this car was tested on Ice and a very hot place.And I think,after this car launch,Jazz and Vios and any other car from different company except Proton will eats the PROTON GSC SMOKE!!!GO GO PROTON!!!!!!!!!

• kl_guy on Sep 13, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Seems that alot of Malaysian like to compare Proton and Toyota. Come on lah, where can fight, like Form 1 student playing badminton with Lee Chong Wei..

Would like to share some of my experience. I’ve been driving Proton Saga, Satria, Wira and Waja b4. Now am driving Vios. Actually I LOVE Proton, the so call suspension tunning (Stability) especially Waja, Vios totally no fight. For this while Proton is my 1st choice but after driving Proton for so long, my experience is after 2 yrs Proton will give u alot of problem, no only power window, fuel pump, door handle, some tikus sound and fuel consumption. Thats the reason am changing to Vios.

Been driving Vios for 3 years, can said am driving like 60 yr uncle. The car drive little faster will give u like sitting sampan but the realibility is there for us. Proton is great on suspension but suck on other accessories. Toyota great on not much problem but sucks on suspension.

If future, Proton give us sushi quality, I’ll change to back Proton for sure but not at the moment.

Just 2 cents of my comments.. Cheers

• Jolobu on Sep 13, 2014 at 8:29 pm

At least Proton make most of their cars except low volume sale cars (Perdana and Inspira),but Waja, Gen 2, Persona, Savvy, Satria Neo, Exora, Preve, Suprima, Saga, Saga FLX, Proton Global Small Car and most engines. The others just rebaged all their cars or assemble only. So I would say Proton is truly a Malaysian Car Manufacturer….. period.

• darat man on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:55 pm

So.. everything produced by PROTON is Suck???????

• 2cents on Oct 19, 2014 at 1:50 pm

I would reply them : if it is.. then everything from Malaysia sucks too.. including the people..

• Fariz on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:03 am

For me la, u all nk ckp pasal teknikal la, itu ini la, up to individual opinion, over all semua kereta ada pro n kont..if we talk about local car, sy sudah jual kereta Malaysia 20 thn (pro2 n proton), sy brckp dari sudut design.. Yes! Iriz is better from myvi and axia..Coollll man>>>