SPYSHOTS: Closer look at the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, C 200 and C 250 spotted on trailer

mercedes-benz-c-class-w205-spyshots-again-5

We have new local spyshots of the yet-to-be-launched W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class on a trailer, thanks to reader Dickson T.S. These offer us a closer look at what could be on offer.

On the trailer’s bottom deck are a silver C 200 and a black C 250. The C 200 is wearing 17-inch double-five spoke alloys while the C 250 has on 17-inch multi-spokers. International specs seem to suggest that the double-five spokers belong to the Avantgarde trim, while the multi-spokers come from the Exclusive trim.

While many options and combinations exist, the Avantgarde trim typically offers a sports grille, and the Exclusive trim offers a traditional grille with bonnet ornament.

So could we expect the Malaysian range to comprise C 200 Avantgarde and C 250 Exclusive variants – at least for the initial fully-imported (CBU) batch?

It also does seem likely that a range-topping version of the C 250 would sit above the two variants seen here. Could that be equipped with the AMG Line? And of course, there should be a monster C 63 AMG further down the road as well.

Since the compact exec’s unveiling last December, there have been long-wheelbase and estate versions, with a plug-in hybrid version on the way.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• heybadigol on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:07 pm

We’ve seen the spyshots of the new C Class on trailers for quite some weeks now. But still no launch. What is MBM waiting for?

• JK-firm on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Exactly like a baby S-class… classy and sporty look at its peak

• C CLASS LOVER on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Haha….maybe wait for the old c class fully sold!

• Kuntakinte on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Any indications of pricing?

I’ve booked the C250 AMG but if it comes with exclusive line instead then yucckkks!

Salesman also say 17 sept launch but that’s all he knows for now

• merc salesman on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:09 pm

17th sept is only soft launch. the exact date is 20 and 21st.

• burong on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:43 pm

when u book? how much is the deposit?

• Kuntakinte on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Booked it about a month ago. At that time, there were apparently nearly 400 bookings already, just at hapseng alone. Mostly for the C200 line

Deposit or $3k fully refundable under any circumstances.. You can also choose to hold the deposit for the CKD version next year of you prefer

• hujung bulan ni baru boleh bawak..

• spongewai on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:48 pm

officially launching next Wednesday

• Abdul Wahub (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:55 pm

As for now I can only admire…..sigh..

• Therealmaserati on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:58 pm

It was actually already “launched” at the recent Mercedes Benz driving experience in sepang last weekend.

Thr was a C200 on display. Very very nice interior!

Launch is on 17th September!!

• D.I.Y on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:16 pm

don’t always spotted spotted.. got the private invitation from Mercedes already. date on 17 sept..

• seancorr on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Funny I’d thought the C200 would come with Exclusive line and the C250 to be the Avantgarde instead. Hopefully the C250 can be had with the AMG line later though just like how the 328i has the Luxury and M-Sport version.

• C250 exclusiv on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Any mercs SA can share the indicative pricing for the lines?

• Jaybond on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Nice cars.Now BMW Malaysia will feel the heat.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:38 pm

best car for the class…and with class….even the name class…c-class….

• syafique67 on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Booked this car since april. Also got private invitations to the launching at Glenmarie. Expected to get the car by end of october this year. Now i’m not sure whether to just go on for cbu or keep waiting longer for ckd :(

• stevex on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:19 pm

There was a snapshot photo (being secretly taken at the warehouse) shown the C200 front view was Avantgarde grille.