Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG in Malaysia – RM1.1 million

Mercedes-Benz_G_63_AMG_Malaysia_ 001

Oh boy, have we got a surprise for you all. Here’s a Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG, photographed at NZ Wheels Bangsar Autohaus. That’s right, the big daddy of all SUVs is available for purchase here in Malaysia, priced at RM1,099,888. As expensive as that sounds, that’s the price to pay to be the coolest cat in town.

In this AMG form, the G-Wagen is powered by a 5.5 litre twin-turbo V8 engine that makes 544 hp and 760 Nm of torque. All that grunt is transferred to all four wheels through its AMG SpeedShift Plus 7G-Tronic transmission, pushing this 2550 kg behemoth to 100 km/h in 5.4 seconds. Top speed is limited to 210 km/h.

In charge of reigning down the speed are large, cross-drilled ventilated disc brakes behind those 20-inch wheels with 275/50R20 tyres. Looking like that, with that sort of performance, you wouldn’t expect it to be light on fuel. And it’s not – it’s claimed to average 13.8 litres per 100 km on the combined cycle.

Lean it’s not, but it’s certainly a mean looking machine. For Malaysia, the G 63 AMG comes all dressed up with stainless steel bull bar up front, blacked-out wheels with red brake calipers, side-exiting exhaust pipes and plenty of cool old-school touches. The big mud flaps round the back, especially, is a nice addition.

Come inside, and it looks nearly contemporary, with lots of parts taken from newer, more current Mercedes-Benz models. It even has the tablet-style central display and COMAND Online controller you’d find in a latest CLS, for instance. This being an AMG, the cabin is full of leather and carbon-fibre too.

There’s a unique mix of new and old, inside. You get off-roading-friendly rubber floor mats, in stark contrast of high-end features such as an Alcantara roofliner, panoramic sunroof, blind-spot assist, Distronic Plus (radar-based active cruise control), rear-seat monitors and a harman/kardon Logic 7 surround sound system.

Despite continuous improvements over the years, the timeless-looking G-Wagen is still not the most modern of SUVs underneath all that flash. It has rigid axles front and back, and the steering system uses an archaic recirculating-ball setup. Even then, an AMG version should be decent to drive, at the very least.

Be sure to check out our detailed photo gallery and the specsheet below, as well as the G 63 AMG’s full list of equipment on CarBase.my. Dreaming is free after all, right, and sweet dreams are made of this. Enjoy.

P/S: If you can’t afford this one, check out used G-Class on oto.my.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• gaviny on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:56 pm

pretty sure there’s going to be a G1M / IM4U plate on this vehicle

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • PriceTag on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:16 am

so retro, so cool to be seen in one, albeit the price tag

• How the heck do you park this thing in some of the shopping complexes?

Do you even trust the valet to park this thing?

• merc salesman on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

it actually long time already at the market. dah ada org beli pun

• Dato Kroni on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Hopefully bank approve my car loan with Br1m letter. Can’t wait to show off my G klasse wagen at kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • jibby on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:00 am

dont worry mate, 2015 malaysian household income is rm5900 per month. 2020 rm9900. malaysia boleh!!

• seancorr on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Now it needs someone who looks like 50 cents to drive it!

• kucing on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:15 pm

can replace my old pajero into this

• sam69 on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

look like coffin car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Coffin car? Which country are you living in?

• kelso on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Coffin car, yes! The one MF-in car that will turn any other car on its roof…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • feel like busta rhymes or 50cent for the least just by looking at this bling-bling machine and like they said…”It’s all about the benjamins”

• proton supporter on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:32 pm

RM1 million car, push start pun tarak…kalah pada proton preve, suprimak and iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
  • Usha-Usha on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:34 pm

From rear view, did u expect this ‘Big Daddy’ is 1.1m huh.. “waaa.. nice la this Jimny” –> If someone is nothing about automotive.. #spoil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • works on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:37 pm

so finally it’s official here? dreaming driving this like in die hard 5…bad ass car…

• AMG POWAAA on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Just waiting for 6 wheels of this version :v

• panjang on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:53 pm

An overpowered Jimny…
    Lots other car can be bought at that amount.
    Still someone mad enough with 1.1mil in his saving ac wont mind having it.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Steer clear from the fast lane when this bad boy barrelling down on your rear view mirror

• Goh Jeng on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Rich guys drive this, not Toyota Prado..eh Sam Loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Best news ever announced by paultan.org today. Thank u. U have made my day. Longing to see this beast on the street soon. awesome!!

• Krasher on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Good fuel consumption! My 10 yrs old Kia Spectra takes 16.3L/100Km.

• Well, should be 150,000km.
      1st, clean the egr valve.
      2nd, intake sensor take out & clean it.
      3rd, change the air filter. Use semi synthetic oil.

Sure you will have a better mileage.

• yay.Now for the part where i find 1.1million.

• I’ll take a Range Rover Sport any day of the week.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:36 pm

i think it is less vulgar to drive a SLS or SLR McLaren to this….

• Blaze (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Hahaha.. There is one unit year 2011 selling at 1.4 mil by a recon company.. Its either greedy or stupidity…

• This is better options compare to Korean cars.

• joe abishegam on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:39 pm

if you were in the USA go ahead and get this but in Malaysia just forget about it, way too espensive

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Yep mcm kereta mayat… sape kena langgar with this..mmg jadi mayat.

Anyway I ll salute those who wants to buy this.. must be a hardcore fan of classic monster. .. due to its boxy design. . Retro.

What a dragg..

• Pening on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Aiyoyo…in the US it’s only selling less than RM400k, already factoring in seller’s profit and cost. Imagine this selling for more than a million in bolehland….oh Malaysia…Tanahirku yang Bertuah.
    Thank you B*, AP, MAI, BR1M, dll…..

• Head Hunter on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Why would you buy this? Useless offroad, not any better on the road either. A Land Rover or the Toyota Land Cruiser a.k.a. Super King is more practical. Don’t forget the Lexus LX570 as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • The same reason why people buys Hummers: just to show off they are filthy rich.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Super king? More like super sohai. LX570 cost way more than 1.1 million.

• Datuk K on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Why do u often make a fool out of the way you speak?

Can’t you show some respect?

• Go watch the vids on youtube. it’s a decent off roader too.

• neemfa on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Mafia car.. bling and baller status.

• Datuk K on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:53 pm

This car is just so old fashioned in terms of design.

• is it bullet proof? it should be

• german car lover aka jin on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Cool

• Jinny boy on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Due to its boxiness it stands out

• jay8393 on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:43 pm

This car has already been at the showroom for quite a while already. I visited the place 2 months ago and it was already there.