2015 Toyota Hilux spotted in Europe – clearer shots!

Toyota-Hilux-Spyshots-0006

Sam Loo’s favourite vehicle is due for a full model change, and here’s the 2015 Toyota Hilux prototype spotted on test in southern Europe. Much clearer than the spyshots from Thailand we showed you in June.

The new Hilux looks bigger and more angular than before. The headlamps look slimmer and more wrap-around, and the face features two horizontal bars atop a trapezoidal lower intake. According to our spies, the Hilux was being benchmarked against the Volkswagen Amarok.

Our guess is the 2.5 and 3.0 litre four-cylinder diesels with variable-nozzle turbos (VNT) could soldier on, as could the robust five-speed manual gearbox.

But where the auto is concerned, will the four-speeder stay in office for another term, or could we get a new six-speeder instead? After all, the new Nissan NP300 Navara already has seven ratios…

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Looks good.But should use Camry 6 speed Super ECT for more better FC and low NVH.The old four speed is too noise and vibrate in Vios just 160km/h…while just 109PS for Vios.Can’t imagine Hilux 144PS with 4 speed auto…For the pick-up truck should with ESP,TRC because more stable.6 Airbag is really needed.

• theanswer on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:32 pm

knowing toyota, it would be a tough ‘demand’ for them..especially when hilux sales did very well even tho underpowered and ancient 4 speed auto. unless there are huge dip in sales number.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:13 pm

It’s actually UMW’s problem, not Toyota’s. Worldwide, Toyota is one of the more advanced automakers and are at the leading edge of some automotive developments. Meanwhile in Malaysia, UMW has been shortchanging Malaysians on car tech and features for years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
        • ProtonGSC on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Indeed a nice truck, only Big problem are LOUSY UMW.

UMW making fool of Rakyat, Sales drop making fools of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • samelorsark on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Same Lorrr said last time Toyota dun have spyshots, so what’s this?

Broke down hailat? hahaa

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Speaking of broken down Hiluxes, I saw one this morning by the roadside. A Nissan Navara was rescuing it. What this means is, even reliability giants sometimes falter. No car is really breakdown-proof. Bulletproof perhaps, but breakdown-proof, no. That’s what preventive maintenance is for.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:03 am

UMW aasmbler dont have spy shot… but car maker like toyota japan, honda, proton, bmw, audi have

• Sam Loo Sucks on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:41 pm

I disagree. Yes UMW is shortchanging toyota fans here big time in terms of safety spec and other accessories. But they don’t have a say in ancient 4 speeders and dated vvti engines. Toyota is still to blame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Blame Toyota or UMW, sales still good, parts still reliable. Simply compared this with the pathetic Proton Arena, you will know the gap of quality and reliability.

No car is perfect, thus we have preventive maintenance.

For Proton, the only/best preventive maintenance is “Buy a new Proton every 3 years”. You can’t blame others, your build quality speaks of itself.

Spyshots in Thailand so what’s wrong? It will be launched in Thailand soon.

GSC are seen everywhere in Malaysia yet not yet launched. Ppl sit in GSC cinema till butthurt and it is yet to launch.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:41 am

we dont blame toyota.. we love toyota.. but we hate UMW, protected, cronies BN

dont generalise uMW= toyota

• Kobis bunga on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Oh Sam Loo…where arr youuuu

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Godtruck, jangan persoal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Kobis bunga on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Australian market Hilux currently offered with 5-speed automatic.

Sam Loo must tell UMW Toyota to get it here also lah.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:34 pm

When I saw the words “Toyota Hilux” the first thing that came to my mind was Sam Loo.

And I was not disappointed when I read the first line LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Waiting Sam Loo... on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:54 pm

I come here to look for Sam Loo comments :)
    I’m your big fan!

• Toyota please acquire gearbox with more than 4 speed.. Ur competitor Nissan has already equipped 7 speed got Navara..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Toyota does have some really advanced gearboxes. It’s just UMW is unwilling to spec the lower-mid end Malaysian cars with them.

• loo sam pah on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:06 pm

yes, me too. come here to search for that sam loo who comments on his best ride on the universe…

• ulkamikup on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Hilux = unsafe.

Today buy tomorrow gone.

Sad but true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:38 pm

sam loo…what say you?

• nabill (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Rhe front looks abit lile the US available Tundra…
    If thy come out again with the 4speed auto,thr should b a law banning it!

• Jebonr (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Looks lame to me. Old design. But who knows how it’s really going to look like once those camouflage are taken away.

• panjang on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:11 pm

It was bulletproof last time but not in the few recent gen till today.Other make are just as reliable.They kept on selling bevause of the reputation.

Its not bad but its not fair to us when UMW kept on selling ancient tech at same price.Other make sell at same price but put more in their vehicle.

• superbird #43 on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:41 pm

let sam loo persuade umw toyota to put an all new 6MT in the hilux, if there is one.
    then and only then, i’ll trade in my 10 year old ranger xlt for that….

• SAM LOO's BIGGEST FAN on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:45 pm

SAM LOO WHERE ARE YOU…. IM WAITING FOR YOU..

• Wayangkulit on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Typical PT readers, it’s these people that are murdering car reliabilites.
    If car manufacturers were to listen to stupid people like these, very soon we can say goodbye to reliable cars and spare parts

Trucks of these genres are typically used as tools and often in most remote areas you can think off; even as far as war zones.

Reason being is that they are low tech enough to be reliably serviced and maintained by low tech mechanics and common enough for chop shops to keep parts as they won’t go obsolete in 3 years.

The high tech cars of today needed a technician who is computer savy to reset ecu even in simple battery change excercise.
    High tech complex 6 speed auto boxes that needs TCU reprogrammed every few sevice intervals.
    Now out in places where these vehicles are being typically deployed it’s just impossible for such exercise to be carried out and renders vehicles like these useless.

Moreover vehicles like these rarely gets maintained as scheduled.
    It’s due to such requirements that manufacturers designed them to be low tech and to continue working without being serviced much that has led to legendary work horses like pajeros, land cruisers, hilux/surf, and land rovers defenders.

However thanks to typical people like these who wants new engines new gear boxes new electronics every 3 years that has led to the demise of reliable cars and spare parts availability.
    No spare parts shop will dare to stock parts if every 3 years parts get changed those who do will charge a premium for stocking them.
    Even those chop shops won’t dare to stock old recon parts as they get obsolete in 3 years.
    Services won’t be cheap either, every 3 years you need to send your technician for retraining and mind you must be a tech graduated with a degree in automobile. No more cheap bawah pokok mechanic to change your battery for free if you buy a new battery from them.

So thanks to consumers like we have now a days for expensive cars, expensive spare parts, expensive services and low resale values.
    Yes resale value is determined by the car’s usability after 3-5 years.
    Nobody would want a car that is obsolete, expensive to maintain and not much technician who knows how to service it.
    So you buy a car for 100k, use it 3 – 5 years and throw it away, spend another 100k for a new one.

Tow car company also happy, break down and your car needs to be towed to the nearest dealer.

So don’t blame everything also naik on government, consumers plays a role too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • samelorrrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:07 am

When bolehland people want new tech, UMW gives low tech, reason it can be used in remote areas, do you think bolehland people are that shabby and incompetent to repair those vehicles?

If Toyoltak is not reliable as before just say it. Just say Toyoltak dun have build quality as before. Broken down here and there and it can make people becoming poor.

Haha!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Go for Proton if you only fancy on new Tech, we will only see more breakdown on the road and causing long traffic jam.

Malaysian only want Cheap and Reliability cars. Only the blind Proton fanboys syok of new technology.

Now, Proton has a new technology, even more advanced than iPhone 6, it is called VVT engine.

Wa…. We are sooooo surprised and can’t wait to try it!!

• Sparcov on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:20 am

This is by far more rational comment.

I tend to agree with you. I’m a hilux VNT owner.

What I need is a simple car that are easy to maintain. It may look simple because it was designed to be simple and robust.

4 speed for me travelling at 110kmh by 2.1k rpm is good enough. This kind of trucks are for heavy duty offroad, high torque and not meant for high speed cruiser.

Spare parts which is readily available and that is the most important. So I don’t need high tech gadget in my car.

Truck like this should be locate far in the jungle to serve its purpose. Although mine are 100% onroad use. So it really not a issue here.

They are many buyers out there seeking for gadget, high tech, or simplicity.

At the end, is up to the consumer to decide, nothing is right or wrong even though we can comment and criticize here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • albag on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:32 pm

can’t agree more with you… ppl tend to see hilux like it is a GTR or any luxury MPVs… and sad truth is that there are really such stupid ppl treat it that way… end up causing unnecessary deaths and injuries…

I hope before u guys buy a car, please do more research. Hilux or any other pickups are not for race or cornering fast fast la…

• Farhat on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Looks similar to its older american brother, the Tundra. Like!

• lko mko on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:47 pm

like rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Waiting Sam Loo... on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:03 am

To be frank, I seldom to leave my comments here. But in fact I quite enjoy what Sam Loo wrote at here with so many Like and Dislike response…

SAM LOO, Please show up!! Your show time to elaborate about Hailat RV!!!

• lembu jinni on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:58 am

these type of vehicles is dangerous on the public road especially pickup trucks with rear end bumper too high!
    any cars crashed into its back side sure slide underneath them!
    doubt any 5 stars euro ncap passenger cars can survived such crash into it!

manufacturers must redesigns these pickups either lowering its bumper to level with passenger car bumper or fixed a sturdy crash bar underneath its bumper!

• nazi bin naza on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:06 am

Not only pickup truck back bumper too tall, most front bumper also too tall. Also same is lorry and some SUV.

• hadi75 on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:52 am

So don’t tailgating la….atleast you still have a chance to manoeuvre your car if the truck brake suddenly……

• Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Yes, you are right.

There is really no point to smoke this smoke that (especially the Proton drivers), sadly Proton take it as their selling points. how misleading and irresponsible.

Their logic is simple: You buy my car you break-down your problem, you die your problem. I only make and sell, after the sale, nothing is my problem.

• loo sam pah on Sep 11, 2014 at 10:03 am

i am now really worry. worry for that Sam what his name for being so silence on the new hilat.

could it be that he had konged after an accident on the road or what using his best and safest hilat ride?

• Conrad on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Its because Sam Loo / Same L0rrr is a creation of PT.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:44 pm

No need PT creation also ppl know how good Toyota is.

Toyota sales figure won’t be affected by PT words, don’t be naive.

As long as it is kimchi, you will have no RV.

As long as it is Proton, you will have no build quality.

As long as it is Toyota, you get RV, build quality, FC, comfort and status.

• samshow me the hilux on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:13 pm

I m happy . Rv is important . Yeah hilux. boo jaguar xj

• loo sam pah on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:26 pm

there is nothing wrong individually with sam what his name, same L0rry hailat and RV.

but when put any 2 of these into the equation on a public forum, the answer is just disgusting.

why do one continue to be so disgusting in a forum clinging to subject no one wish to hear nor discuss is beyond my comprehension and reconciliation.