Mercedes E 250 Coupe facelift is here – RM490,888

Mercedes_E_250_Coupe_Malaysia_ 002

Spotted at JPJ Putrajaya in March this year, the facelifted Mercedes E 250 Coupe has quietly made its way to the showrooms, priced at RM490,888. It has been on sale for quite a while, apparently, with the price and specsheet below issued since April. It’s not uncommon for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia to not list low-volume models such as these on their website.

For the price – up from the pre-facelift version’s RM458,888 – you get the latest C207 coupe kitted in full AMG Line. The full dress-up kit may look rather stolid on this black example, but trust us, it’s far from boring in the flesh. In red, especially. The sharp 19-inch wheels (with staggered 235/35R19 and 255/30R19 tyres) with crossed-drilled brakes help too, of course.

Like the facelifted W212 E-Class Sedan, the four-seat coupe gets adaptive LED headlights as standard. There’s a camera mounted in the front grille, as part of the Surround View Camera we quite liked in the range-topping E 400 Sedan. The big Tristar logo itself hides the radar for Distronic Plus with Steer Assist and Stop and Go Pilot (active cruise control). Fitted here but not on the sedans is adaptive suspension, called the Dynamic Handling Package with Selectable Sports Mode.

Other driver aids include Active Parking Assist (auto parking; standard in most new Mercedes-Benz models), PRE-SAFE with Pedestrian Recognition (auto braking; radars mounted behind the rear-view mirror), Active Blind Spot Assist and Active Lane Keeping Assist. Airbag count? Eleven. Yes, 11 airbags – two front, one knee, two front side, two front pelvis, two rear side, two curtain.

Though the long, pillar-less doors, AMG Line Alcantara/leather sports seats, flat-bottomed steering wheel and red seat belts serve up quite a dramatic ambience. The rest are pretty standard Mercedes-Benz – dual-zone climate control with rear vents, COMAND Online rotary controller and a panoramic sunroof are all present.

On the mechanical front, this one ditches the old pre-facelift E 250 Coupe’s 1.8 litre CGI motor for a newer 2.0 litre turbocharged unit. It now has 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque, as opposed to the older engine’s 204 hp and 310 Nm. There are gains all around – its 0-100 km/h time drops from 7.6 to 7.1 seconds, while fuel economy jump from 13.9 to 15.4 km per litre. The seven-speed automatic ‘box is retained.

Refer to CarBase.my for this sleek new coupe’s full specs and equipment list, as well as to compare it against its nearest rivals.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Cars sold in Malaysia are so so so EXPENSIVE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:20 pm

another nice choice for the cronies…

Please! Support Proton, their E250 Coupes are depending on you.

Buy Proton, make Malaysia Proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Folger getting Greedy on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:50 pm

The higher spec car with better engine E350 is sold for US$49,000. That is RM150,000. It comes with a V6 engines that pumps out over 300bhp.

This car E250 maybe much cheaper. Maybe about US$40,000 (RM120,000)

So, how is it sold for RM500,000 in Malaysia? At US$49,000, Mercedes USA is already making a big profit of this car. So, we can assume, the car is far cheaper than the US$49,000 sold in the USA.

MBM will get this car from its principal in Germany for maybe about US$35,000 because MBM is a country distributor. If you add in the maximum tax and excise duty of 130%, how much does MBM want to untung off this car?

MBM want to make RM300,000 untung per car sold. That is pure greed. Folger is getting greedier and greedier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Malaysian Citizen on Sep 14, 2014 at 5:25 pm

What a keyboard warrior you are. Only good at accusing without facts and figures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • German car lover aka Jin on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Nice

• Can Do on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Look so ah pek, 4 series or audi S5 much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • german car lovverr!!!aka Jian on Sep 13, 2014 at 8:57 am

I meant compared to an E class saloon …….A5 looks better but not getting it because its getting on a bit now and a replacement model is coming soon .Love its bigger brother a6 though………………….not sure about 4er ……mixed feelings

• German car lover aka Jin on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Beautiful!!

• Dato Kroni on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:37 pm

I’ll get one for my cute mistress. Eh sorry, for my Datin Seri lah!!

• Gargantia on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Will be how much if not included excise duty tax?

Tun families and cronies can buy this car without tax.

• Our Boss said 2 doors car means a Sport car. that’s why tax so high!

• Legend (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Seriously a beauty~~~
    Safety features top out the E-Class,and undercut E400 by around RM4,000
    Just curious that why E400 don’t have Active Cruise Control on it,but this one have…weird Marketing Strategy larh Mercedes Malaysia
    Definitely take this one over E400,even thought this one is two door less that E400,less practicality but ……I just seriously in love with this one!:) especially Red Seatbelt~~~perfect for me and my girlfriend yeahhh
    But……Government can you please price it at right price just how their principal company did it in their home country larh
    I don’t think we deserve to pay at a more higher price than the others around the world just because the tax!
    By the way, this E250 Coupe is CBU or CKD?
    Looking forward to the New C-Class launch next week on 17 Sept!

• gaviny on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:23 pm

200 horses only means you could get your backside handed to you by other cars. something like this would require at least 250 hp

• Design is nice. However, still looks like a lazy cut and paste job from the E-class. But definitely way nicer than the A5 and the 4-Series! I would definitely say that the Lexus RC looks the best in this class followed by the E-Coupe.

• elson on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:57 pm

so much sexy then the bmw 4series

• proud of owner of e class coupe on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:13 pm

i am a 21 years old proud owner of e class coupe pre facelift my daddy bought for me 4 years ago when i got my license

i love this car so much, girls love this cars too. i was no popular in college until i drive this car. i become an interesting person. many college girls fall in love with me because of my personality. now i am 21 years old and i already have bring more than 10 girls home, my dad had to bought me a condo unit near my college because they cant stand me bringing different girls back to our gated community semi d in prime area

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
    • My lifestyle is like you. Girls always bring me to their home every weekend for the past 10yrs. I have to make my own money to buy a SATRIA 1.3 at that time. No daddy give:[ . But lucky all the girls say im charming. So i dont need to rich to get girls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm

dei i better than all of u la…i open a massage parlour with my son…everyday i get girls from china, thailand or vietnam sometime malaysia…but im not OKT ya….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • I drive Motocycle to college, i do 300 push up everyday. When i go to college every girls like to talk to me. i don’t event need a car or house to impressed the girls.

• Berann on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:27 pm

The front and headlights somehow look like Subaru XV for me … hmm…

• macromedia on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:40 pm

agree! THought I was the only one notices it. But then am sure this looks super gorgeous in the flesh. THis is so much more better than the prev gen, by a mile.

• german car lovverr!!!aka Jian on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Who dislike my comment !!!! I own a 2013 c250 coupe and thinking to upgrade this car……I am getting this car or an imported Audi S7 Sportback….. reply to me on which one should i get and why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • Saga sv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • german car lovverr!!!aka Jian on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:58 pm

What did you say!!!!! I am not bragging like proud owner of e class coupe nor bashing!!!!……….i am just asking opinions of others.So vote !!! Like for S7 BUTTON AND DISLIKE FOR E250

• shawal on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:09 pm

1/2 a mil and no full leather seats….

Otherwise osom car…

Please depreciate…. As fast as you can

• german car lovverr!!!aka Jian on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:52 pm

This is still nice car!!!!…..eventhough it doesnt look nice in black

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:14 pm

fuhh…sexy but price gila…hard to not consider 428i

• silwen on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm

I never thought I’d say this, but at this price, the Lexus RC 350 actually looks like a better deal. V6 grunt and smoothness, less the possibility of turbo trouble, Lexus customer service (v Merc- which is just a little behind Lexus), and visual uniqueness (as for preference of looks, we all differ).

The only issue with the Lexus is that due to our road tax system, you’ll be looking at about RM200 in the Silver Arrow vs 4k+ on the Big L. Then again, at half a million, that’s just silly money.

Try again Mercedes; maybe CKD the hybrid and make it an E400L hybrid coupe?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:03 pm

just realised…no more massage function for the seats

• torque on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:48 am

Dei…no need massage seats la, u kan ada massage parlour with girls from China and Vietnam…hehehe!

• Anti-G on Sep 11, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Our stupid G wants Malaysian to think that we can only buy cheap local brand. Luxury brand only reserved for those on top. What a mentality. Please, without rakyat paying tax. G is dead for a long time. However, kampung folks tend to think G has sacrifice alot for us and thus its compulsory to feed them. We are like medieval country ruled by a bunch of tyrant. Its a warning that one day this tyrant will be toppled by its subject. Time
    Is coming.

• screwu (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Interior looks old compared to the new c launching soon…

• Sammy_no_value on Sep 11, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Costs almost the same as an E400, but with two doors less and a big downgrade in performance. A rip-off indeed!

• Why 490k car no keyless start ?