GST will include petrol, not in zero-rated list – Kastam

petrol subsidy aug 2014

The Goods and Services Tax (GST) is set to kick off in April next year, and while there will be a long list of basic necessities exempted from the tax, petrol will not be in it.

This was disclosed by Royal Malaysian Customs Department senior assistant director Ishak Daud at a GST briefing organised by Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman and Malaysian Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators in KL yesterday.

He told Chinese language newspaper Sin Chew Daily that the government plans to announce the addition of 80 to 85 zero-rated items at or before the 2015 Budget, which is scheduled to be tabled in Parliament in October. Zero rated = no GST.

It was previously reported that the government was considering the possibility of exempting RON 95 petrol and diesel from GST. Both are exempt from the current sales tax, which the 6% GST will replace. This means that if the rate of fuel subsidy remains the same, price of petrol is set to increase come April 2015.

The “mass market” RON 95 petrol, currently priced at RM2.10 per litre at the pumps, is subsidised by the government. RON 97 prices are fixed based on a managed float with the monthly price determined by market forces. Earlier this week, it dropped 10 sen to RM2.75 per litre.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sammy Valley on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah! Tiada subsidi kita bina subsidi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 4
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:57 pm

u jalan kaki kerja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • jgn kerja kalau xnak jalan kaki yaa..

• Bogus Uncaring Government on Sep 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Madani Sahari from MAI says car prices will come down. How? Now with Petrol having GST, all the parts suppliers are going to increase the prices because the chain reaction for increased petrol prices ALWAYS increase across the board.

Has Madani from MAI lied to us? How can prices come down because each part supplier from your tyres to door panels, will incur additional cost because petrol has gone up due to GST.

The factories will have to increase their transport cost. No other way around it. So, is MAI really lying to us?

Past few days got many postings from MAI that car prices were going to go down. How can this be so?

But before we talk about cost, Madani from MAI should firstly honour his boss, PM Najib’s promise. Madani loves to come out with all sorts of announcements every month but all got no substance.

MAI should ask Najib to honour his promise of 30% price reduction. Before the election, he promised the 30 million people in Malaysia that he would reduce car prices by 30%. He made this as his election promise. He assured the voters that BN could be trusted and BN always kept their word and we should not worry about anything because he was 100% going to reduce car prices by up to 30%

This was more than a year ago. Nothing has happened. Car prices have gone up instead.

So Madani, instead of carry balls and waiting for your datukship, please see to it that the 30% promise is honoured. After all, it is your own people that is suffering the most with high car prices and heavy monthly car loans.

Malaysia already has one of the lowest GDP per capita in the world. What Malaysians earn in comparison to the cost of living is not proportionate. Our Ringgit not only has low purchasing power but also very low in currency value globally.

Malaysians are already suffering. Both husband and wife now are forced to work just to make ends meet. Families are being sacrificed with no parent at home because both parents need to work just to survive and make ends meet.

Now the Government gives a nice present to all of us. Impose GST on Petrol. this will trigger a chain reaction across the board. Everything will shoot up in price. Already Malaysians are suffering badly, now with GST on petrol, everything will skyrocket. Every single item from houses, cars, food, healthcare, education etc. Everything depends on transport. Even schoolbusses will increase their prices.

Why is the government doing this to us? the majority of people are the Bumiputera in Malaysia and they are the ones going to suffer most.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
        • Subsidy Bull on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Don’t know what bullshit the government is giving the public. Malaysia produces oil. What you produce, you cannot subsidize.

For years Government has been lying to us. There is no such thing as subsidy. We are producing our own oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
          • The Truth About GST on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:02 pm

There is no need to even consider imposing GST on fuel. This is because we are abundant in oil and other resources.

Infact, Malayia is one of the richest countries in the world if not for a few people stealing the money that rightfully belong to 30 million people.

Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the world. We have everything. We have oil, gas, palm oil, besi, timah, kuprum, cobalt, getah, coconut, gold, silver and so many more others that cannot be listed.

Look at Singapore. It has ZERO. It has nothing. And yet it is the top 5 countries of the world and their GDP per capita is the 2nd highest in the world. Infact, their GDP per capita is 5x more than Malaysia. What this literally means is that, Singaporeans earn 5x more than the average Malaysian and their purchasing power is far far far more than Malaysia.

But how is this so? Singapore has ZERO. Malaysia is so rich. Our wealth is even richer than some European countries because Malaysia is the No 1 resource rich country in the world.

Why our ringgit is so low globally and our GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world is simple. The UMNO ruling members are stealing. They are stealing so much that nothing is good enough for the thieves. These pencuri not just take few million, they each want in the hundreds of millions. This is the problem. Corruption but corruption tamak.

You see, most countries also got corrupted politicians. But they know when to stop. Malaysia, our politicians are not only corrupted but don’t know when to stop. Few million tak cukup! They want billions!

That is the main problem. Now, country is near bankruptcy. It is like the Philippines. In the 70s Philippines was the Pearl of the Orient. Everybody wanted to migrate there because it was so prosperous. Then for 20 years, Marcos (like UMNO) raped it. Now, see where Philippines is?

As for GST and oil, the government has to stop its lies and bullshit. Everybody in the oil industry globally confirms one thing. Malaysia has the “sweetest” crude oil in the world. What this means is this, we produce the highest quality oil in the world. The best of the best. But the rakyat don’t see this. This is exported for other people in the world to use. Then Malaysia reimports low grade and low quality oil at a very cheap price for the rakyat to use. Dirty oil.

The question is this. Isn’t the beautiful sweet high grade quality oil Malaysia produces belong to the rakyat of Malaysia? Why sell it of at a higher price to other countries? The oil belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia. It should be given to the people of Malaysia first. Why import dirty and filthy oil and give the rakyat of Malaysia? Why are Malaysians treated like dogs and be given the bones when other people are given the nice flesh to eat?

Another issue is subsidy. There is no such thing of subsidy. The Government of Malaysia has been lying to Malaysians the past 20 years about subsidy. You see, what you produce, you cannot subsidise. If the government does not sell our high grade oil overseas and give it to Malaysians to use, what is there to subsidise?

This story has been going around a long time to fool the people of Malaysia, especially, the kampung people that petrol need to be subsidised. We don’t need to subsidise any petrol or fuel because Malaysia produces ample oil not only for its rakyat but also for export. So, if you produce your own oil, what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your garden to eat, you cannot go around telling people that your vegetables are subsidised. You are growing it. You are producing it. You don’t have to buy it at all from an external source. The same with oil. We produce it. We should be using it first. This is how the Sultan of Brunei thinks. That is why he gives his rakyat very cheap fuel. Then the balance, he exports it at global prices. For him, rakyat comes first. he gives the rakyat clean and cheap oil because he cares.

Our government, terbalik. Rakyat comes last. And our oil resources are far more than Brunei. Few years ago, in the global media, Petronas struck the largest oil reserve and land in the world. Global media confirmed it was the largest oil reserve in the entire world. Then the next day, our government covered it up as mere speculation. So, in actual fact, Malaysia’s petrol company Petronas has unlimited reserves of oil for the next 50 yrs. Can we Malaysians please have the priority to get this fuel first for the rakyat cheaply and without GST?

Why charge GST on what rightfully belongs to the 30 millions Malaysians?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
          • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Norway is the 8th largest oil producer – but also has the highest fuel prices in the world. It’s time to dispense with the “fuel producing country, must subsidize fuel” notion that’s no longer valid.

Maybe that’s why the Norwegian wages are so high, because everything is so expensive over there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Hemi 426 on Sep 13, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Fully agreed with you bro,you simply cannot subsidize what you produce.
            As far as i know,we are the only OPEC member nation that does this.
            I feel very sad coz as a proud Malaysian living abroad,our country is so stooped in utter corruption.There is only so long they can get away with this.One fine day,the truth will prevail.
            Hail the Barisan Nasional backwater retards!!
            Cheers

• The Truth About Subsidy on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:42 pm

What a pack of lies mainly aimed at the kampung people of Malaysia. Petrol prices in Malaysia is sucha conjob.

FIRSTLY, there is nothing to subsidise. What you produce on your own, what is there to subsidise? This is the conjob they have been telling people for years. Only when you buy something from someone, then only you can subsidise. For example, if you grow your own vegetables at your backyard, you cannot go around and tell people that you are eating subsidised vegetables.

The Sultan of Brunei for example, gives his rakyat cheap petrol. Then the balance, he sells it to the world at market price. And mind you, Malaysia’s reserves is 100x more than Brunei’s reserves. Infact, few years ago, Petronas struck the largest oil field in the world, enough reserves for more than 50 years. Petronas confirmed it was the largest oil reserves in the world!. But the next day, the news was covered up. And no news ever since.

So, our oil is far more than what the Brunei Sultan has. But Brunei Sultan cares for his rakyat. Not like our government.

SECONDLY, cannot compare with Western Countries. You must see the GDP Per Capita of the country. For example, Singapore, petrol maybe RM5 per litre, but Singaporeans literally earn 5X more salray than Malsyains and their purchasing power is 5X more than our Ringgit.

So, our Government is telling you bullshit. Western countries and developed countries, people earn more. So, fuel for them is not as heavy as what the Malaysian pays.

THIRDLY, another cock up by our failure government is Diesel. In Europe, everybody is encouraged to use Diesel. When I was overseas in the UK, Diesel gave me close to 1000KM on a fuel tank. In Malaysia, I use the same Accord, I get 400KM on a fuel tank. Yes, the Malaysian government wants you to use more petrol and suffer more payments. Why? Because you can use more Petrol sold by Petronas. In the UK, I hardly filled up my tank. The diesel lasted forever. In Malaysia, every 3 days I am forking out RM100 to fill my Accord.

So Malaysian government, don’t bullshit lah. You like to say petrol is more expensive in Western Countries and in Singapore but you fail to tell the kampung folk that the residents there earn many times more than the Malasyian and their purchasing power of the SGD, Pound goes a much longer way that our weak Ringgit. Because of corruption, our Ringgit has become nothing globally.

In the 80s, it was at par with SGD, now it is 2.7. It has become so small that we Malaysians not only cannot travel overseas for holidays, our purchasing power in Malaysai in so weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Dude – if you want to do a comparison, please don’t use Singapore. Their Local Purchasing Power Index is lower than us. Hence why they’re often in JB stocking up on groceries.

Also a few points you need to correct:

1) You produce fuel, you use it, you lost the opportunity to sell it and gain revenue. Hence subsidy. If you had sold it, you get more money in the bank.
            2) Brunei may have lower oil reserves than Malaysia – but they use less oil as well, hence why they can subsidize their fuel. Eg: based on US EIA data, Malaysian oil production so far is around 617K barrels per day, while Malaysian oil consumption is 623K barrels (which means that Malaysia if it continues the way it is now will be a net IMPORTER of fuel). Brunei meanwhile produces 135K barrel a day, but uses only 18,000 (see, the number is so small I can add zeroes to it) barrels per day. So there’s no comparison.
            3) A lot has been said about diesel – but it’s the commercial vehicle owners that are not allowing diesel to happen. Many of them are still operating Euro 2 compatible diesel engines & it’s cost prohibitive for them to operate on higher standards. Hence, no joy.

Comparison of Local Purchasing Power Index – http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/region_rankings_current.jsp?region=142

Production data for MY – http://www.eia.gov/countries/country-data.cfm?fips=MY

Production data for BN – http://www.eia.gov/countries/country-data.cfm?fips=BX

• Pengguna Bijak on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Only 2 solutions:

1. Crazy 75% car tax + cheap petrol RM2/Liter

or

2. GST 6% car tax (to replace the 75% car tax) + zero-subsidy petrol RM5/Liter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • UK Cheaper to LIVE! on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Malaysians should not get shocked with this news. It is the after effects that will shock you. Everything will go up in price.

This is as good as the Government punishing all the 30 million rakyat in Malaysia. To teach the rakyat a good lesson.

I just came back from the UK with my family after 2 years of doing Masters.

I stayed in a rented house in the UK the same size as my Malaysian house and with my kids with me, it was exactly the same as living in Malaysia. Except for the cost.

We bought the same exact food as we bought in Malaysia. But every week, my grocery bill was only 40 pounds. I got a shock because the same grocery bill when we are in Malaysia is RM500 per week.

My electric bill in the UK came to about 30 pounds per month. Again I got a shock. The same amount of electricity usage in Malaysia I was paying RM500 per month.

A fresh graduate in the UK earns about 4000 pounds per month and a fresh graduate in Malaysia earns about RM2500.

Even petrol in the UK was cheaper in proportion to what you earn in UK. Petrol was about 1 pound plus per litre but without converting, that is so much cheaper than petrol I pay in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
          • Hahaha on Sep 12, 2014 at 8:36 pm

You must be delusional. No way can a fresh graduate get 4000 quid per month job.

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:18 pm

The average salary of a UK citizen is GBP £26,500. So can you explain to me how you allege that a fresh graduate in the UK earns GBP 4000? I’ve been searching on Linkedin for positions in the UK & most jobs at that pay scale are managerial level.

If a graduate earn that much you’ll be among the top 20% highest paid employees as per this report here, so I doubt that it’s the norm – http://www.theguardian.com/money/2014/mar/25/uk-incomes-how-salary-compare

And RM 500 for groceries per week, seriously? My family used to spend around RM 700 PER MONTH and that’s not skimping on items. Who the hell spends RM 500 PER WEEK on groceries – you’re feeding an orphanage, is that it?

If you want to bash, at least bash with proper rather than make up facts.

• Make fuel expensive, lower income ppl will turn to bikes to cut fuel costs. P1 and P2 will be affected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • kawkaw on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:40 pm

plain stupid plan.

• alldisc on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:18 pm

we should push a campaign for retailers to display both price before and after GST to show how much difference consumers are paying.

must tell this to KPDNKK, lets start the viral.

meaning, example on a Saga SV on diplay there will be 2 prices:-
      NOW RM36,888
      with GST RM37,333 (example)

• johnBgood on Mar 28, 2015 at 7:41 am

Bodoh reply ITU

• fast5 on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:25 pm

All about money, just will keep increase in the future until Poor Rakyat walking to office.

The system keep getting worst !!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
    • Burong on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:35 pm

RON97 – RM2.75
      RON95 – RM2.78

Malaysia is walking backward. Or someone is sucking the “Subsidy oleh kerajaan” pool. Imagine if one day the sales is RM500K/day for one petrol station, how much is the amount manipulated?

Wish I were one of the cronies and get some small part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • MrNyx (Member) on Sep 13, 2014 at 8:24 pm

If the Govt. is not corrupted, all these wouldn’t happen so quick in such a short time. This GST is imposed to help to the government to increase its tax income to ease our nation’s deficit and future development of the nations which is absolutely great. But have you ever wonder why our nation’s deficit will go so high recently that the government has to increase the tax burden onto us? This is because they wanna favor their cronies by allocate unnecessary funds to useless/hopeless projects. One very good example would be Malaysia Airlines (MAS), it recently came up with a recovery plan with RM 5 to 6 billion funds, this is where part of your paid tax would go into. Look at those head ministers’s wealth, at least 8 digits! Yet they don’t really give significant contributions to people’s welfare. (No evidence though but this should be you know I know already).

I think I went a little bit off-topic in anyway..

• Vader (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Malaysia Boleh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Tiu lor. Next time go pee oso hav to pay gst.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
    • Garfield on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Haiya, why u mention here. They forgot to add pee pee now they’re gonna add pee pee to the list

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • johnBgood on Mar 28, 2015 at 7:40 am

Wtf.. Woman pay on sanitary napkins and tampons too.. Condoms also. . don’t pakai..kena lah

Kencing.. Long cock cost more.. Why? Croonies all have small cock..

• The real price of petrol is RM2.6 right now. Actual subsidy is 50 sen. If GST to be implemented now, subsidy will be 37 sen only.

• Anti CO2 on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:36 pm

gst on fuel now. By jan/feb15, public hoohaa… Najib come out and sanction the increase. Hurray! Najib our saviour, BeEnd the best!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • just like that on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:41 pm

if the govt doesnt want to subsidies petrol, pls remove the high taxes on cars. it doesnt make sense to have high petrol prices and high car prices.

its either or…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Burong on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Strongly agree. Did some survey and >95% want 0 Fuel subsidy, 0 special excite duty for car, just normal sales tax will do.

• Henry on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:45 pm

They want everything.

• We are going to suffer and die.. :(

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:45 pm

With US becoming oil exporter, price of crude oil has deep below US $100 lately, the subsidy could be less that what they want us to believe.

• Bloody Fools!

• cheekeon on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:55 pm

WOW! it’s fun.

• messi on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Votelah BN and get all the increase except the salary.

48% pupolation dislike PKR to reduce the following :-

1) toll rate
    2) petrol
    3) car price
    4) TNB
    5) free internet
    6) sugar
    7) astro
    8) car AP that save 2 billon.
    8) no GST

Undilah BN and make the cronies richer at the expense of poor rakyat.

hidup BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 13
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:24 pm

PKR? if BN lvl 100 crony party, PKR lvl 1000 crony party…family run political party.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 54
      • So what’s your point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Nimadfa on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:54 pm

stupid mind, like 3 year old

• alldisc on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:27 pm

crony party that never manipulate rakyat money by awarding contracts to themselves. nothing wrong there lah KZM.

see what mahathir children got?

and how many dislikes you got KZM?

• gdntsk (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm

it is very interesting to note that 47.38% of the total electorate during GE13 managed to keep the incumbent Federal Government in power and the 47.38% of the electorate translates to roughly 17.46% (rounded to 2 d.p.) of Malaysia’s total population (roughly 30 million; I calculated using 30 million).

Now, imagine the entire country suffering because of 17.46% of the entire population that voted BN back into power and let me ask you: Deep down in your heart, what do you feel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:40 pm

LOL – and then 10 years down the line, Malaysian national debt rises to RM 1 Trillion because PR promise this and that. Can’t even administer a state properly, want to talk about administering a nation.

There’s no such thing as a free lunch.

• iwancheapercars on Oct 11, 2014 at 5:28 pm

at least let them try. never try never know. or u wan to continue Barang Naik?

• crv6363 on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:15 pm

janji dicapati !!! Thank you we love you so much !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Oh please. . You said GST won’t burden the rakyat.

GST on petrol? You must be kidding.

You know chain reaction? Please.. don’t show your low mentality.

Use some common sense..cakap biar serupa bikin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • tishaban on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:18 pm

So cost of new cars will go down by 1-3% but cost of fuel to go up by 6%. I guess that evens out everything.

• Peninsula Jakoon on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Vehicle parts & service cost also up 6%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

vehicle part now already have 10% sales tax…check customs webpage…eg airbag 10%, seat belt 10%, car aircond 10%…http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

Service not all service must have GST if total sales less than RM500k/yr…eg p1 now has service tax of 6%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:41 pm

go to customs website before u guys thumb down…HS 870895(airbag), 870821(seat belt)…

• unforgiven on Sep 13, 2014 at 2:42 pm

You need to have the overall knowledge, educate all the Malaysian, as in how a car price ended so expensive in Malaysia, how a car ended at RM100k, have a cost breakdown end to end. Ask yourself do you have the knowledge or facts on it, just take any car, Mazda3 for example.

Thai and Indo is building the knowledge fast. I can guarantee you that once most of them are educated, you’ll see the CHANGE, all of us will be paying a single global price for a car. Ask yourself again on what should be a global price.

Always remember to have forward thinking!

• totti on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:22 pm

hello, oil producer country.

No need to subsidieslah and you can become the world no: 1 by selling the most expensive petrol in the world.

At the same time, become the 2nd highest car price in the world with no proper public transport.

Price the petrol at the market rate at RM 2.75 and make all the poor guy take bike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • most expensive petrol. hah! we can go full market price and still see singaporeans come fill up here. and i havent gone on about europe yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • thanks najib…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Ray Teo on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Tq bn/umno make people m

• Next PRU definitely will not vote for BN. Byebye!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Kangkung on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Barang Naik, Janji Ditepati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • john doe on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Yeah, and they still claim that our price is still the cheapest in the world.

Of kos la cheaper if you compare by RM. But in terms of purchasing power, we are among the lowest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • I agree our purchasing power is so sad. I know alot of low-middle income people, who are not willing to spend on a rm10 meal, not willing to buy themselves some cheap treats, same clothes and shoes for years, hesitate with every rm1. So many things to enjoy but our currency and economy is just sad.

• Nimadfa on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:56 pm

oh bro, u have speak out my deep mind and word…please who going help us?

• heybadigol on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:48 pm

How is it the price of RON97 (RM2.75) is cheaper than the full/unsubsidised price of RON95 (RM2.80). This is weird. If like that, why not subsidise RON97? Won’t that be mathematically better for consumers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • cendol (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

The mathematics behind the calculation is beyond you and me.
      Only them can come up with such formula.
      Hence they will tell you not to comment unless you get the full picture.
      If you don’t like it, I can buy next AirAsia X ticket for you, one way of course

• mujinkun (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:55 pm

We need to prepare to die…

• Good move on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Thank god the government is back to raising the process of fuel, it has been stagnant far too long. Now we can reduce the number accident due to speeding drivers who press the accelerator too much and burn fuel unnecessarily.

/s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Good move on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Thank god the government is back to raising the price of fuel, it has been stagnant far too long. Now we can reduce the number of accidents due to speeding drivers who press the accelerator too much and burn fuel unnecessarily.

/s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • What else….???

• mango on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Wait, is there a sales tax on our current fuel? if yes, gst make no difference. If no sales and impose GST, is BS..

• Gul'dan on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Your soul shall suffer!

• gdntsk (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:12 pm

GST for petrol????? NO, PLEASE!!!!!!!!
    I can’t imagine the disastrous chain effect on all the rakyat after 1st April 2015 coupled with our stagnant salaries!

• wakeupcalls on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Someone is trying to fool all of us by saying that Zero rated and exempt goods are good for all because there is no GST on them. What about those that deal in these exempt and zero rated good? From where are they going to claim back the input tax on the cost of doing business?

The only method to regain back is to INCREASE prices. Therefore, zero rated and exempt are not really good words for the public!

• cendol (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm

GST is good for you. It is like antibiotic, must take if you want to get well.
    GST is not a burden to the rakyat, although GST can add 26 billion extra income to government, but we are sure it won’t burden the normal rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Don’t worry folks, come next year there will be TWO rounds of BR1M to offset the effect of GST.

• kenix tim mun chong on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Coming Christmas, commodity price will up.. then come new year and CNY, price will gone up again.. then come 1st Apr, price gone up again.. reason : GST.. did anyone in ministry study about supply chain road? did anyone in ministry have sufficient qualification to understand economics? if no, get out and let the experience people do their job.. what kind of nonsense at here? petrol shall not include in gst.. petrol has most impact towards consumer daily life.. please go back to study. make sure get enough qualification (with condition no exam paper leaking).

• jerry on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:46 pm

you want to kill proton or help proton.. include gst in petrol only cause ppl to find other alternative to travel instead of driving cars.. eg, motor, bicycle or train.. proton will close shop faster.. if your plan were short term in order to kill proton, please go find other way.. dun make our life getting worst..

• The other amir on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Ah Jib Gor bodoh tong punya olang. Subsidized fuel oso you want to put tax ka? Baik cakap reduce subsidy je. Rakyat smart oledi!

• Jamal on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Ron97 = RM2.75 tanpa subsidi.
    Ron95 = RM2.78 tanpa subsidi. ni magik bodoh ke apa?

• Steve Jobs on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Harga Sebenar:RM2.78
    Harga Kawalan:RM2.10
    Subsidi:RM0.68
    GST 0.06 x RM2.10 = RM0.126
    Real subsidy :RM0.68 – RM 0.126 =RM0.554

Bijak bijak.LEL.

• Steve Jobs on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:25 pm

public transport no GST,but use fuel.fuel got GST.fare increase.owh wai.

• hadi75 on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Hoorayyy!!!! Gst on petrol….be prepare for increases in everything…

• Zapruder on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Alright then.. time to take motorbike license and increase my chance getting hit on the road. Thank you Malaysian govt.

• matsentol on Sep 12, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Congratulation to all umno bn voters everything will increase either basic need or not , life becomes so miserable . Expensive macam mana nak makan sambal belacan goreng kangkong semual manyak mahal.

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:29 pm

You should know that inflation is inescapable, no matter who’s in charge.

You think Pakatan’s promise of cheaper fuel is sustainable in the long run?

• Pening on Sep 13, 2014 at 7:07 am

this inflation is 99% caused by you voting in your beloved otak lembu corrupted BN gov.
        Btw – do you get to enjoy what your master are enjoying now with the billions they squandered? Noooo…. you are happy to become keyboard warrior protecting your master for only a few hundred a month…while your child are crying for food that you cant put on the table…
        sokonglah lagi BN…bodo

• mango on Sep 12, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Bloody Gov. this is day light robbery.. poor and average joe will impact the most out of this GST. The rich buy S-class hybrid, audi and more saving for them.

• superdriver on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:16 pm

GST will help the goverment amd our country. It includes taxing anything and everyting the people use their money with. Having said this , the low income earners will suffer the most.Nothing much to add just people will suffer, crime rates will be up,gambling and ah longs and all their families will make brisk business that will spread like wild fire in our beautiful country.

Our income will be smaller from an expenditure point of view. God help us all.

• Nimadfa on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Malaysian ready for hell life, scandal and bad news float on rakyat, only good at his own is BN and cronies and his mouth say some good figure.

• Sad loo on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:32 pm

LOL BN voters. Your wish came true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:45 pm

With GST gov will get more income. . Good news for companies like P1.. now they can ask more money for R&D, cover lost & etc…

Kudos…clap clap. . Now gst on petrol..

Great..

• pondan on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Padan muka macai macai BN. Sekarang, semua rakyat yang sengsara kerana macai macai BN yang bodoh and malas.

• Albert Lee on Sep 12, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Many daycare and kindys have turnovers in excess of rm500,000 annually now.
    Watchout,your kindy and taska charges gonner go up as the operators will pass the GST to you.
    Also the mamak’s aromatic roticanai will be priced higher.
    There will be no end to increases,not forgetting those who purposely impose “GST” alto they can’t.

• MangkukNajis on Sep 12, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Rilek bradder… nanti GOV bagi BR1M RM300 satu tahun to kaw tim ur problem.

• Albert lee on Sep 13, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Makluk Najis,you must be a spineless topsy turvy conned rakyat.BRIM is even opposed by the former PM Tun now.
      The Brim is also sourced from taxes(unless you are on LHDN’s blacklist for tax evasion).
      People with your mentality will never progress.
      Real estate and cars price increases are in the thousands of Rm,not rm300,mr nyanyok.

• xem6861 on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:04 pm

smaller capacity car will be sold off like hot cake.

• phua chu kengkang on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Hi bn govt. Dont do tis to yr people pls. Next GE u will sure tumbang punya. Felda ppl also will not vote u. U can give them share, bonus, $$ but kalu ati sudah sakit pun tarak guna.

• alldisc on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:35 pm

lets all stop buying cars as a tempoary measure until the G starts listening to the rakyat.

only maintain whatever we have now then.

if want to enjoy a ride in luxury cars, at least in KL there is uber service!! as per reported by this website
    http://paultan.org/2014/08/28/uber-needs-comply-local-transportation-laws/

• RON97 – RM2.75
    RON95 – RM2.78
    What the f…, why harga sebenar RON95 more expensive than RON97???

• lame BN on Sep 13, 2014 at 2:04 am

Nothing much to say…I JUST HATE PAKLAH & NAJIB…such a weak doll….

• GST is good if government take millions collected and improved public transports or for rakyat to benefits. Just imagine the amount collected by Custom, only petrol just an example calculation

For example estimated 1Mil cars on the road and drivers spend an average RM100/mth petrol and 6% GST (RM6) x 12 x 1Mil cars = RM72 Million/year.

That only GST for petrol government (Custom Dept) collected what about GST other goods and services. As any rakyat, we have rights to know where these collected GST should be spend wisely instead of wasted. Abused GST spending will cause big impact of economic.

• rajinikanth on Sep 13, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Suck till rot! torture 30 million people to pamper a bunch of blood sucker leeches in malaysia

• As expected from G la. Imcompetence.

• kemosabe on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:00 am

GST for petrol is 6% at that point of pumping fuel.
    The effect is causes is compounding.
    Retailers will definitely take advantage of it and raise their prices and add another round of GST to it. This one hard to control and most likely will not be controlled as the retailers has that freedom to price their goods(unless its controlled goods).
    The general trait here as the comments above is to make the people poorer by making our purchasing power smaller as salaries does not measure up to increase in inflationary prices.

When the people are poor enough, they would have to depend on the government, which is most likely the reason for essential items such as a house and car being the 2 most expensive basic items a person will purchase in their life. And you will be in debt in most part of your life to pay them off. The idea is to make people poor as poor people are easier to control as they are always financially dependent on their masters.

Agree with a comment above that says corruption here is the greedy type at the expense of the people. Greed has no end to it.
    So good luck to all of us and spend wisely.

• johnBgood on Mar 28, 2015 at 4:09 am

Msian all talk only..no brave action..
    Why? Education system damn bad..even in urban area. .non thinking students.. Pampered.. No love for self..how to love the country? All texting nonsense.. Idle chatting.. Mamak stall.. Not creative.. Rude.. Corrupt mentality.. Eg simple thing like driving test. Also must bribe.. No self confidence.. Lacking manners. Self centetd ..

• Margareta on Feb 11, 2019 at 4:20 am

They don’t learn the principles because they assume the game is indeed complicated they never bother learning it.