Three millionth MINI produced, two million exported

mini 3 million

MINI reached a big milestone recently with the production of its three millionth car since 2001, and its two millionth international export. The former is a 5-door Hatch Cooper S with a special exterior design to celebrate its British roots, while the car going on a ship is a Volcanic Orange MINI Hatch bound for Japan.

Relaunched in 2001 under the BMW Group, the MINI brand is a British export success story with cars shipped out to more than 110 markets, with combined value of exports from approaching £30 billion (RM155.5 bil). USA is the biggest MINI market, followed by UK, Germany, China and France. In the intervening 13 years, the MINI range has grown from one to seven models.

A £750 million (RM3.89 bil) investment is underway across three of BMW Group’s UK manufacturing plants. Highlights include a new 1,000-robot bodyshop at Plant Oxford and the installation of new body manufacturing tech including laser welding at Plant Swindon.

The Hams Hall engine plant is also being freshly equipped for a new generation of modular power units that will be manufactured at the company’s three global engine plants, with the Hams Hall plant supplying crankshafts to all.

The MINI 5-door Hatch is the new F56 MINI Hatch (view launch report, test drive report and appearance in Driven) with two extra doors, an extended wheelbase (by 72 mm) and a longer rear overhang for more cabin space. Not quite a Countryman, but the 5-door is 11 mm taller. Full info and pics here.

At home, MINI Malaysia released the 55 Edition MINI Countryman last month, a limited edition that commemorates MINI’s 55th anniversary as well as Hari Merdeka and Hari Malaysia. Limited to 55 units, the exclusive-to-Malaysia special edition is priced at an attractive RM188,888 on-the-road without insurance. That’s a full RM30k cheaper than the regular CKD Cooper Countryman, and there are reasons why.

55 Edition MINI Countryman, a Malaysia-only limited edition

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:59 am

For a brand that nearly died, what a stunning come back.

Many would not have considered a MINI in 2000, but today it is truly one of the best little hatches you could get.

A pat on the back of BMW’s side too, for saving the MINI brand.

• Tongkat Culture on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:12 am

We want tongkat. Want kerajaan tolong. Everything oso want kerajaan tolong. Cannot let go of the tongkat culture. How to be developed nation by 2020?

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:24 am

You’re talking about Malaysians in general? Because that’s what I think you’re referring to here right?

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:28 am

I just want to see that compact car Proton has.

If they fail on that, I think they should consider selling themselves off to one of the Germans. Say what you want about Volkswagen, DSG aside, they actually make decent cars.

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Decent cars? They are one of the best if not the best. Proton do make decent cars, the Proton failures are really not paying attention to the quality of the fittings, such as door handles, plastic trimmings, viper blade assemblies, hand brake gears alignment etc..

• “Proton failures are really not paying attention to the quality of the fittings, such as door handles, plastic trimmings, viper blade assemblies, hand brake gears alignment etc..”

Dude, that’s what we call failure. In the competitive car industry, if u cant get those fundamentals right, you fail. Simple as that. Proton survives til today because protection.

• If like that BMW, VW and Audi also failed because they are not reliable.

• The Real Truth on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:41 am

This is the problem. Proton is like MAS. One man’s work, 10 people do. So, one man’s job, 10 jobs are created.

Same like our Government Civil Servants. It is the largest in the world. 1.5 million Government servants serving 30 million Malaysians.

In Australia, there are 250,000 government servants serving a bigger country with bigger population.

This what happens when you give free jobs to people irrespective of qualification and need to.

• German vs Malaysian Brains on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:27 am

Mini was a company that was dying. Then BMW revived it to a super brand. See how clever the Germans are.

Here in Malaysia we got Proton, MAS and many companies dying.

But the local CEOs have no brains to revive the company. they are lazy, like to sleep, minum teh dan makan kuih lapis 7x sehari and all they think about is getting more wives.

That is the difference between German brains and Malaysian brains.

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Malaysians have brains too, with a few exception the brainy ones are not to be found in Proton.

• nazi bin naza on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Everybody knows Brainy ones were exported overseas particularly over tebrau straits.
        All left are 1/2 past 8 remains at Jakoonesia
        wakaka

• BMW = banyak mau wang = failure

• Jaybond on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:13 am

I think it was down to the German Engineering & Manufacturing qualities that has largely driven the success of the Mini brand all these years. Same story as another Germanized British marques namely Rolls & Royce & Bentley. Only the Jaguar (and MG) cars now are the truly Engineered in Britain.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:31 am

Jaguar Land Rover too has rely improved a lot. After Tata came in, they were more willing to pump money into the brands. They have big brains in the UK, and I am pretty sure we have the same in Malaysia too. But when you get management saying no cause of “costs”, that is when the problem starts.

Take the F-Type and the Range Rover Sport SVR. Did JLR need to have a gorgeous coupe and warp speed SUV? Not really. But it did capture a lot of new fans into the fold and new owners, people who would have never thought they would buy a Jag Land Rover.

• Jaybond on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Although I think Jaguar needs to produce a proper successor to the Jaguar XK/XKR GT (a proper 4-seater Coupe)..

• Had 2.let 1 go.but missing it.bought Picanto.
    Great car,great look,the Countryman is a gem,go and book.

• truely malaysian on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:52 am

from the video we can see the first 25 years of mini is producing cheap and affordable cars and from year 26 onward they reinvent the brand, went up market and survive, great inspiring video for P1, they need to get out from the coconut shell.

• notso on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:57 pm

It won’t be working here because of badge. If proton sells same design for 25 years, everybody will vomit

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 12:00 pm

hi, stop turning the car fatter

• rfeteftyhFSHEFtyjEFSFthewffJtfdewTyftyudetfyjSDEdfesFYTHtyewdHfexsTyfyhtxesctesdgfftyx÷x_tyhdfesTTHDafteghdftgxesfthteXxtgrxetttfSEDdEFYTfefYHHrTDEYSfEWDYTYcstedYHfstEYHDCythdESCthyewDFtyescfYHtfEWDTYfeecTyhFytehxeafythewacftyfeawdhtyfdeatfjtyfeyfjtesjyt on Sep 12, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Nice!!!!!!!!……… thta was fast!!!!!!!