GST on petrol not yet decided, says Deputy Minister

petrol subsidy aug 2014

While a Royal Malaysian Customs Department (Kastam) official announced three days ago that fuel will not be exempted from Goods and Services Tax (GST), Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan has denied the claim, instead saying that no decision has been made on that matter.

The earlier suggestion would imply that the price of petrol is set to increase (GST will be fixed at 6%) come April 2015. That may not be the case at all, as the ministry “has not made a final decision,” Ahmad Maslan told The Star.

We’ll know the fate of our fuel prices soon enough, as the final list of zero-rated or tax-exempted items will be gazetted on October 10, the day Budget 2015 will be tabled in Parliament.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• rosli on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Go to hell to government…that damn subsidies are using tax payers money, not government money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:29 pm

GST on RON97 is ok.
      A definite no on RON95 and diesel.
      I am using RON97 100%. Pay income tax 100% (not even one single cent is hidden) + clean proper business. GST on RON97 is ok for most people like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • unforgiven on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Knowledge and education. We need to equip all Malaysian to have the knowledge and education. We need educated Malaysian.

We need to have the knowledge to understand the exact petrol price, what has been subsidized, what’s the price for import and export. The cost and price breakdown for petrol. Just take ron95, how much is the country paying, how’s the trade bring done, who pocketed/benefited the most? Again it’s knowledge and education.

For cars, we need Malaysian to understand the cost of the car, price breakdown from end to end. What’s causing the car price to be so expensive. If needed, just take Mercedes Benz A200 for example, and understand the cost/price breakdown.

Thai/Indo is building the knowledge fast, more educated Thai/Indo now. So once majority of Asian/Asean are educated, all will be paying Global price. Again ask yourself what should be the global car price that you should be paying. You need the knowledge, what should be the price for Honda Civic? (With knowledge, you’ll be able to understand global car price).

One day, all of us in developing Countries should be paying a single price (global price), with all of us understand what we are paying for (cost breakdown). Always remember to have forward thinking, never give up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Good point mate but we’re still stuck with decision on whether to make English as a passing subject in our local universities….long way to go for Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • TeacW7 on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:57 pm

I am very happy if the government apply the car selling price of Langkawi/Labuan to whole Malaysia. This is fairer to everyone. Why do we (West/East Msian) have to pay more than our fellow friends in Langkawi/Labuan? Do we breath better air? Enjoy cheaper income tax? Enjoy cheaper petrol? We are not definitely just because we are not in duty free land thus we have to pay for ‘excise’ tax..

• not-really on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:09 am

Roland, is that you?

• Zhubajie on Oct 10, 2014 at 9:45 am

Obviously, you are the one of 53% ppl.
      Thanks. Kindly educate these 47% continuosly.

Break down on these 47% of ppl.
      1. Crony
      2. Gangster
      3. Businessman doing or want to do business with crony
      4. Less knowledgeble, less educated
      5. Educated, but Katak bawah tempurung.
      6. Moron
      7. Idiot
      8. Boh LP
      9. PuKiMx
      10. CCB LJ

• letstorque on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:30 pm

So who should we believe?

Kastam or minister?

• Henry on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Yes or no? Poor man, you cannot even make up your mind? What are we paying you for?

• Steven on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Harga sebenar RON 95 RM2.78..lol..just abolish RON95 la..only use RON97 and subsidy RON97, since the price so close..citizen happy..

• seancorr on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Lol I’m not surprised with these U Turn policies anymore. How did these people end up governing our great nation…?

I’m all in to abolish the subsidy and to go on better quality fuel. No more stealing fuel, no more low quality fuel and we can enjoy better cars with low emissions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • September fuel prices are much lower than August. Please update it.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Hrm. One department says one thing, another says another. What else is new?

• so we should heard from the u-turn minister or the kastam? this is why most of the company no yet register for the gst account….u-turn culture create the trouble

• mustafa on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Less than a month before zero-rated items to be gazetted and they are still undecided. I am sure they want to charge gst on petrol..but…

• Undecided because there will be an election in kelantan coming soon. If he said yes to gst on fuel it is confirm bn will lose in this election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • AmnoK (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Datuk menteri cgpa 3.8 lu mabuk minum air daun ketum ke? GST dah nak dekat tak boleh decide sama ada petrol n diesel ada gst ke tidak? Nak tanya sikit, petrol itu dalam kumpulan barangan keperluan ke?

Apa yang dikecualikan dari GST (Gasak Sampai Tenat):

“.. Barang makanan asas seperti beras,gula, garam, tepung, minyak masak,kacang dhal, rempah ratus, ikan masin,cencalok, budu sekalipun belacan..”
    “.. Bekalan air paip dan 200 unit pertama elektrik sebulan bagi pengguna domestik..”
    “..Perkhidmatan pengangkutan seperti perkhidmatan bas,keretapi, LRT, teksi, feri, bot, tol lebuhraya serta perkhidmatan pendidikan dan kesihatan…
    “..Jual beli dan sewaan rumah kediaman serta perkhidmatan kewangan yang terpilih…”

Ucapan belanjawan Menteri Kewangan, 25 Oktober 2013

• For a layman like me, RON95 is 3cents MORE EXPENSIVE than RON97 at this moment.

• Per-Odua on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:43 am

Speechless, our PM says govt study GST for 30 years, yet they can’t even decide whether petrol is zero rated or standard rated!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:21 am

Menteri Kewangan ada kuasa.. don’t mess with motorhead… I know.

Keep petrol out of GST list. It’s essential. . Subsidy item.. no reason for gst..

If want GST ron97.. go ahead. .premium petrol for some.

• Remembering Yesterday on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:55 am

Anybody remember the recent Ops Cermin Gelap fiasco this year?
    I don’t think the ministry will impose the GST on petrol and completely remove subsidies so soon, since the MRT project hasn’t completed. So probably Kastam got wrong info and that the ministry plans to execute further subsidies reduction which was announced millennials ago. But then this are all speculations, and that’s what our gov do best…

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Its like kaki wants to go right, tangan wants to go left.

• hadi75 on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm

The Customs said will be gst-ed….the minister said not finalised……who should the rakyat believe? But must remember…what the minister said will always be the opposite of what he meant….