COMOS Electric Carnival at The Curve this weekend – see and test drive electric cars, register as a member

comos-electric-carnival-the-curve

Malaysia’s first electric car sharing scheme, COMOS, is having an Electric Carnival at The Curve this weekend (September 19-21). Visitors to the carnival will be able to get up close with, and test drive, the electric cars of the COMOS fleet.

Membership registration will also be open – sign up and there’s a chance you could become an exclusive pilot user and enjoy unlimited usage of the car-sharing services during the trial period – although no mention is made of when and how long the trial period is.

Back in May, we told you about Cohesive Mobility Solution (COMOS), Malaysia’s first EV car-sharing programme, under which Klang Valley residents would be able to rent either a Nissan Leaf, Renault Twizy or Renault Zoe on an hourly basis. We very recently spotted a trailer load of Zoes – probably the first batch of cars under the scheme.

Comos MY launch 10

The initial aim was to have 30-40 EV units operational in KL at the time of launch (targeted for August at the time), and 60 public charging stations. The vehicles would be purchased by COMOS, the cost of which would be recouped by rentals and revenue generated through the sale of advertising space on the cars.

COMOS is a partnership between CMS Consortium, Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia).

Private company CMS Consortium operates under the care of NADI Manufacturing, which is controlled by Proton’s ex-chairman Datuk Seri Nadzmi Salleh. COMOS’ executive chairman however, is none other than ex-Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin.

Renault Zoe

Renault Twizy

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• normal_user on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Syed Zainal, please return back to Proton and continue the legacy that you’ve already built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • VW DSG on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:21 pm

What legacy ? Did you like just crawl out from a cave ? His tenure as CEO was no better. He got it easy as he was “gracefully” removed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • leoRNado on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:32 am

Then u r wrong VW. U r the one just came out frm The Cave. Syed Zainal was the one who keep proton to the right track with quality improvement n awareness n become better than his predecessor. He has removed as DRB took over n put their man instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • EnergyAnalyst on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:44 pm

At last..going to The Curve this weekend and perhaps get my self an electrifying experience.! Woohoo!

• Hidrogen and Water on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:26 pm

How is that people think electric cars are Green ? By burning fossil fuel to generate electricity to charge them. Wake up people, electric cars is all but a load of crap. Go H20 or go bust to be Green

• Gargantia on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Yeah, test drive.
    Good green environment.
    But owning 1 is almost impossible. Bolehland taxes is crazy.

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:33 pm

nice..

• U will feel like driving a golf buggy

• jawyu on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Can buy 1 instead? esp the Twiggy. For the price of Axia why not.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:55 pm

not a tesla…whatever

• good to see dato seri sza back in automotive industry, impressed with his speech back then in proton

• EV Car on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:05 pm

yes, finally some news on EV car rental…this weekend faster come…

• VeryGood on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:18 pm

This is good news, saw the EV car sharing in Europe, and it works! All the best to all doing and participating in this project.

• shawal on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:57 pm

yes… i’d like to spend money on a minimum range oversized golf cart under the hot sun with no air conditioning because i could not afford a minimum monthly commitment of RM 262 for a 21 km/L perodua axia grade e ….

*rm 300 if zero downpayment..

• inderaloka on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:40 am

DSZ, please bring Tesla to Malaysia! And made it affordable to the rakyat, too! Thank you! :-D

• PeterGriffin on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:16 am

If you think logically: The carbon footprint in building the parts for the Renault Twizy: The tyres, body panels, glass panels, battery cells, etc could have been more than the fuel consumed and CO2 produced during ownership of a motorcycle for; say at least 5 years. Twizy with a hefty RM74K price tag can only seat two person, with zero cargo space (except for Twizy Cargo), a measly top speed of 80km/h (for the range topping Twizy 80 model), and a limited range of 50-80km before another 3 hours charge. That’s why in Europe the Scooter is becoming the rage for users who wanted mobility, economy and less carbon footprint. But hey, maybe it’s because electricity is still cheaper than gas and/or drivers afraid on the safety aspect of two wheelers.

• bubbaonsteroids on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:57 am

EV for me, EV for you,
    Money well spent instead of fossil fuel too,
    Goverment enjoys tax high above roof,
    We 1Mesia feel being fooled.

Terima kasihhhh (Alleycats style)