W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class launched, from RM286k

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_200_Avantgarde_Malaysia_001

Exactly 10 months after it was revealed to the world (and merely nine since it made its public debut), the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class has arrived in Malaysia. The new compact executive sedan comes in two flavours for our market – the C 200 Avantgarde for RM285,888 and C 250 Exclusive for RM314,888 (both on-the-road, without insurance).

UPDATE: Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has added a C 250 AMG Line for RM339,888.

The available engine options for this “baby W222 S-Class” mirror those offered on the facelifted W212 E-Class range – 2.0 litre turbocharged direct injection four-cylinder units, paired to a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus automatic transmission. Power, of course, is sent to the rear wheels.

With 184 hp and 300 Nm of torque (same power but with 30 Nm more than the model it replaces), the C 200 gets from 0-100 km/h in 7.3 seconds (0.5 seconds faster than before), on to a top speed of 235 km/h. Efficiency us up too, from 6.4 litres per 100 km (15.6 km/l) to just 5.3 litres per 100 km (18.9 km/l).

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_250_Exclusive_Malaysia_027

In the C 250, the same engine is boosted to 211 hp and 350 Nm, getting from 0-100 km/h in 6.6 seconds (seven hp and 40 Nm more, 0.6 seconds quicker than before). Top speed is up by 10 km/h, now limited to 250 km/h. It’ll also average 5.3 litre per 100 km (18.9 km/l), with an ECO start/stop function standard on both models.

You can check out our in-depth car comparison tool on Carbase.my to see how the W205 C-Class fits in terms of engine outputs and performance against all of its closest rivals, in this case the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4, Infiniti Q50 and Lexus IS.

Both fully imported (CBU) from South Africa (with CKD models set to come later), the two models have distinctly different designs inside and out, owing to their own trim lines (Avantgarde/Exclusive). Two sets of faces are available like on the outgoing model, but this time it’s the lower variant that gets the more sporty treatment.

LED headlights (but not the full-fledged adaptive system) are standard on both models, but the C 200 Avantgarde comes with a sports grille with a centrally-mounted star, while the C 250 Exclusive has Merc’s traditional grille and standing hood ornament. The latter has what Mercedes calls the Airpanel – active louvres that open or close (depending on cooling requirements) to improve aerodynamic efficiency. The louvres are closed in their default position when parked.

Further model differentiators include the front splitter/valance shapes, silver highlights on the (fake) lower intakes on the Avantgarde, wheel designs (both 17-inchers with run-flat tyres) and the exhaust/diffuser combination round the back (chrome lines on the Avantgarde, real exhaust outlets on the C 250 Exclusive).

They are quite different inside too, with the C 200 Avantgarde having a piano black centre console instead of the C 250 Exclusive’s wood decor. The former gets aluminium door trims (wood on C 250), while the latter has leather-covered dashboard and door panels, plus an analogue clock integrated into the centre cluster (the clock is only available in the Exclusive trim line). The seat rib pattern is unique to each trim line, while the C 200 Avantgarde has perforated leather on its steering wheel. Buyers can choose between black, grey or cream upholstery (depending on the chosen exterior colour).

Equipment-wise, both variants get the basic Audio 20 CD with Touchpad system, fitted with a Garmin MAP Pilot navigation system. This is linked to the free-standing tablet-like screen, which houses a 7.0-inch display – not the larger 8.4-inch unit that comes with the full COMAND Online package available internationally.

You also get an Agility Select Switch (affects the steering weight, throttle response and transmission maps), powered front seats with memory, rear (powered) and side (manual) window blinds, LED Ambient Lighting (with three colour options), auto lights and wipers, cruise control, reverse camera and Active Parking Assist (auto-park feature) on either model.

They’re not all the same, however. The C 200 Avantgarde gets an Agility Control suspension that’s lowered by 15 mm, compared to the C 250 Exclusive’s comfort setup. Both are passive systems, as the adaptive Airmatic suspension that has made its way on to the C-Class isn’t available locally. The Agility Control suspension selects one of two valve settings mechanically (non-active and non-driver selectable) depending on road and driving condition.

The range-topper also adds on a sunroof, Air Balance (active fragrancing, air ionisation) and proper keyless entry (over the C 200’s keyless engine start).

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_250_Exclusive_Malaysia_023

On the safety front, the W205 C-Class comes with seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee bag), Collision Prevention Assist Plus (partial autonomous braking at speeds of up to 200 km/h, able to prevent rear end collisions at up to 40 km/h), Isofix anchors on the rear seats and Mercedes-Benz’s usual PRE-SAFE system.

Dimensionally, too, this is a step-up from the outgoing W204 model. It’s now 4,686 mm long (+95 mm longer) and 1,810 mm wide (+40 mm), and it sits on a 2,840-mm wheelbase (+80 mm). By using more aluminium in its construction, though, it’s also lighter by as much as 100 kg. The boot can hold 480 litres of luggage, and the rear seats can be folded down flat for extra space.

For more on the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, read Anthony Lim’s thorough review from the press drive in France, or refer to Carbase.my for its full specifications and equipment list.

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Legend (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:59 am

What the heck? Since when Mercedes Start to use Garmin Based Navigation?dont know if it comes with Lifetime Maps update? I rather go and buy a portable Garmin GPS with Lifetime Maps Update and stick it to y car windscreen
    And the bezel of that Comand Screen is really not attracting me at all
    Seriously want a C250 Avantgarde,but I can’t
    Still Infiniti Q50 value for my money
    Maybe u could said compare Apple to Apple,but price-wise,Q50 win and it is also CBU
    Safety-Wise,Q50 wins hand down everyone should agree on that ,no doubt.
    Brand-wise? Ya Mercedes might have its supporter,but basically all of them are Uncle. While Infiniti is more towards to the youngster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 124
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

Mercedes maybe designed for Uncles, the Q50 line is also looked “uncle-ish” to me. So are you an Uncle trying hard to be young again…? So that you can attract mistresses…? Go back to your loving wife ok…

If I were you, design-wise I’ll ditch these two and go for Lexus or Audi instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 58
      • Legend (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Ya of course.
        Can’t agree more on what you have said
        Setiously, Don’t you want to be young anymore?
        Depends on what car are u driving, it will gives others a very clear mind that what is your taste.Somehow it will reflect that you more younger than you looks:)
        Lexus is great, Audi is classy.
        BMW is awesome,Mercedes is awesome too.
        Design is crucial when u purchase ur drive, I always want an Audi badly, but their aftersales service is a thumb down for now.
        Lexus, just another premium brand of Toyota, it’s great but too overpriced.
        Still waiting your brand new Toyota Hilux LOL Sam “Hailat”Loo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • BLT_Club on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

So said the driver of a 458 Italia.. oh just realised it’s the school holidays… enjoying your Xbox boy?

• Pinky on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm

The car is really nice. Except for it’s unreasonable pricing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
      • Dua Roda Sahaja on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Yes a beauty beyond affordability for most

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • For 3-pointed star or propeller buyers, they’re not buying the car or the technology, they’re buying the name, the brand, the prestige and the image that come with it. So, expect to pay premium for those ecstatic values.

As for the rest of us, just accept the car as something to bring us from point A to B comfortably..then we’re ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo sux on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:51 pm

What prestige? Nothing is more prestigious than Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • Danny Chan on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:03 pm

I beh tahan the Bentley-inspired rear lights..

• Er.. Its S-class inspired. Please… But its ok, u cant afford one either. As most typical Malaysian will only bash the price instead of admire a beauty. :)

• Haikal on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:26 pm

John ur right about it. I think the new one is a good looking car also your are right about we bashing the price of the car. I think mercedes has done a good job making the new old more posh inside also outside of the car. I have a 2008 Merc C200k at home. It looks date compare to the new one.

• Sam Loo Ori on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Yes. Camry is better and more spacious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Good, launched at the good timing. People change Iriz so that the cronies can buy their children these Mercedes.

For sake of these youngster future, please buy Iriz. Their ride is depending on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
      • loggy on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:29 am

You are sick, when anyone gets richer in business you feel jealous, same thing when a company don’t have big profit you hate it too. What do you want?

Please get consultation from psychiatrist before it’s too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Gargantia on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I love the car, hate the price.

How much the price if without excise duty, import tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo Ori on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Better get Lexus IS250 or Camry 2.5V. Both much superior to this sui kwan no RV conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
    • rellyah on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:01 pm

I agree that the previous model are uncle-ish but not this time around with great design and more sportier looking,wiped out the uncle tag. since the A class launched, everything has changed. all of the face lifted model are even sportier than before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Dr Mamak on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Yuck! C200 comes with that hideous faux twin exhaust. Best wait for ckd next year, price is lower and most likely higher spec as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • blaster88 on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Darn…the C250 is REALLLY uncle!!! Such a nice dash and centre console but wood trims????? Did you see that protruded 3 pointed star on the bonnet? Dyed curly hair, striped Dunhill shirt, gold belt buckle, gold rolex, white pants and shoes, thick gold chain on the neck and most important, pinkie finger nails kept long to assist in ear canal digging….to be fair, I am sure MBM has done their home work and there there is a “triving” uncle segment. But to me urg!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • shame_Loo on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Saw the car at the showroom. Impressive.

• Legend (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:59 am

What the heck? Since when Mercedes Start to use Garmin Based Navigation?dont know if it comes with Lifetime Maps update? I rather go and buy a portable Garmin GPS with Lifetime Maps Update and stick it to y car windscreen
    And the bezel of that Comand Screen is really not attracting me at all
    Seriously want a C250 Avantgarde,but I can’t
    Still Infiniti Q50 value for my money
    Maybe u could said compare Apple to Apple,but price-wise,Q50 win and it is also CBU
    Safety-Wise,Q50 wins hand down everyone should agree on that ,no doubt.
    Brand-wise? Ya Mercedes might have its supporter,but basically all of them are Uncle. While Infiniti is more towards to the youngster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 59
    • merc_fanboi on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Unker arr…. A Infiniti by other name is still a Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Merc-Fanboy on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:25 am

Q50 is much more uncle-ish laaaa, its even more uncle than camry and the current teana, while the c-class with centrally-mounted star is much sportier.

*btw im a youngster that was how i felt

• gaviny on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:01 am

wow, price is not nice liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • das auto on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Not bad considering this baby C has grown up in size and now is almost sized like a W210 E class ( even wider) while better in every single way. I remember the old W210 E200 ckd was selling for RM265k while the E230 cbu was RM340k back in 1998. Ringgit was huge back then…you could buy a Semi-d for RM350k in klang valley. Now you can’t even get a decent size condo for that amount.

So yeah…price is decent. If you can’t afford then wait for the CKD or hopefully a C180.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • omg, how come there is no C250 Avantgarde option?!!

• venven81 on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:00 pm

ya man! one look at the front grille turns me down completely. so ah pek la the exclusive! it will fit better on S-class but not a C!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:11 am

i prefer it to come with AMG line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • stranger on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Yeah, i saw a display unit in Singapore.

The AMG line version is fantastic!!!

I would be so happy if i have the money to buy it

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:13 am

Finally it’s here. But rather strange that the cheaper model (C200) appears more desirable than the C250. Not sure what were they thinking off when deciding to give the “base” model the sporty bits when the more expensive version has more power/torque.

Pricing is ok too, about the same as the Lexus IS250, which is also CBU (though the IS250 Luxury does come with the Mark Levinson goodies whereas both C Class variants were not given the Burmester treatment). Is it even an option to upgrade to the Burmesters? However, the equally CBU Infiniti Q50 undercuts both cars. So that is one car to consider too.

Honestly, it would make more sense to wait for the CKD version. You will have to forego the pride of being an early adopter, but you will get a lower price, and maybe (more like pray for) more choice in terms of trim for the engine that you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Garfield (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:11 pm

This C-class is touted as the baby S. So probably in their thinking, those who can afford to splurge on the C250 wants the Exclusive look similar to an S-class. It will be a rarity then. The sporty grille has already been diluted by the many A and B-class on the road anyway. That’s my educated guess lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:17 pm

i like the old mercdes grille with ornament…the pointed star in front of me looks like a lock-on target to attack the FWD audi drivers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • Forget it, with that old junk you cannot attack even old wira turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • AVH (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:15 am

I’am honestly suprise at the how premium this car looks and designed compared to its rival espacially when there is almost no sacrifice in price. It just oozzes quality and sophistication and unlike the cheaper CLA, I can’t really fault the specs either, its right around the ball-park for a small executive sedan.

Fault wise? Can’t really pin point since this is a CBU car and I’ll wait for the CKD to put down my final comments, As of now, you will get somewhat better value now with a Infiniti Q50, also CBU. Initial look also seems to show that the rear egress and ingress looks limited and so is the rear headroom compared to its rival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • heybadigol (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Based on reviews on Youtube, the back seats are a bit short (the part where your bum & legs rest), so if you have long legs, its going to be uncomfortable on long journeys). If you are short, then its not a problem. Also, there is minimal space below the front seats for rear passengers to put their feet under, so its a problem for the person sitting in the middle row (if 3 abreast at the back) as he has to share space below the front seats with the left & right passengers’ feet. This is the same problem with the IS250. I believe the BMW 3 series is slightly better. However, ride is pretty firm in the back of that F30 (the run flats make it worse). So yeah, Lexus, BMW, Mercedes has yet to get the ride and space correct in the back of their compacts (their subcompacts are even worst). Hence, if you have people with long legs at the back, they need to be in a GS, 5 Series, and E Class. No way around it.

Headroom is ok in the W205, as long as it does not have panaromic sunroof (who needs that in the Malaysian heat anyway?).

Design wise, am not a fan of the floating tablet look (on any car). It shouts iPhone 6 toting yuppie/young executive. Yet its not touch screen on the W205. How ironic is that? Also, its not facing the driver.

Anyways, won’t be long till we see a comparo on Paultan, for an honest opinion.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Specs seem pretty standard for the class, which is not too bad, Collision Prevention Assist Plus seems to be a very nice option to have….

But I am very curious to see the C250 not appearing in Avantgarde trim, even as an option as I would have found that to be the more sporty model than the C200.

Also more interestingly, they actually brought back the traditional grille, I’m a bit indifferent on that, prefer the newer sporty grille more, but I just find it funny, since the E class is only in the sport grille.

Thought the quality, just oozes quality… Inokom better buck up cause on looks of the interior alone, the ball is in Stuttgart now. It would be interesting to see how it drives, cause the BMW 3 series with the Adaptive M Sport suspension rides surprisingly well too, and we all know how well it drives even with our nasty road conditions.

• germwn car lovver!!!!!!!!aka Jian on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Well it is a really nice car!!!!!! But to uncle-ish for 36 year old me because!!!!!

#1 .Why is the gear lever at the right of the steering wheel!!! I hate that.

#2. What is up with the C250 being an Exclusive trim only the c250 is really ugly.

I think i am sticking with my 2013 C250 coupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • seancorr on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:52 pm

I am of the same opinion on the C250…wood trim does not tick my box.

Its also sad to see that the Agility Control is not an adaptive suspension. Looks to me as if the Agility Control is a half adaptive system setup.

Here’s my wishlist to see in CKD form.

1. Proper adaptive suspension.
        2. Adaptive LED light system instead of static system.
        3. Better rim design.
        4. True keyless entry for the C200.

• Haikal on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Well. it looks better than the 2008-2013 w204 model.

• germwn car lovver!!!!!!!!aka Jian on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Well actually i dont mind the Mercedes style grill on the C250 Exclusive !its classy in my opinion. But i don`t really like the rims on the C250 ! And i dont really like the shape of the W205!

Waiting for W205 coupe

Sent by Macbook Air

• krishna on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:19 am

Not sure what they are up to here. If they are competing with the A4, 3 series etc….why is the pricing so off the regular range?? I just hope they dont inspire the others to hike their price as well…or release an entry level model (if there is) at the 250k range. sighhh disappointing….

• Saga Super Veloce on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:20 am

184hp and 300Nm sounds yummy :)
    its like driving a diesel powered turbo car without the all the infamous diesel noises …nice!

• I wish i do have 300k for c200…one day i hope…

• nabill (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Haha…i highly doubt those who buy actually have 300k in their acc….mnthly installment of less than 3k all u need…
      I choose this over f30 simply bcos its a case cbu vs ckd……there really is HUGE DIFFERENCE…

• kelvintbm on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:33 am

Finally is here. but the price not really that friendly compared with the rivals. But i think it still sale like a hot cake. Exterior and interior is far more premium compared with the others. Looking forward to see this car on the road.

• The Bezel on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:33 am

What abomination has you fashioned Merc? A tack on iPad is posh-er.

Also the price…

• BMWkaki on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

Better i buy BMW328 M sport RM309k….
    is good handling and performance~~~

i hate the Mercedes gear box near the steering ~
    and the middle screen is looks ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Better I buy 10x P2 Axia. You will only eat dust of Axia once I park the rest of 9 car behind the road.

• Stephen k on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Does any of these models come with heads up display?

• Contender on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Finally, the new C-class has arrived ….. specs look good for C200 more sporty than the C250 classy
    but pricing is kind of steep but I’d guess that’s the price to pay for CBU for those who can afford, the rest will have to wait for CKD or pre-reg if there is any (since it will be on waiting list) … good time to buy BMW since they will have to throw more disc … hahah

• At that price range better buy 328i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • TheRealMaserati on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

328i is an overated piece of crap. Trust me , once u drive it, u will realise how overated BMWs are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • Alan Sam on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:25 pm

But I just drove 316i also puas hati giler. Felt like heaven compared to my Altis. I think its a bargain compared to new altis at 140k

• shawal on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:35 pm

something Infinity wont tell you is …
    Q50 uses an old platform..therefore….
    it is 200kg heavier than this c-class , eventhough both uses the same powertrain…

good pricing by MBM…

can’t wait for the CKD model to arrive…
    hopefully the avantgarde sport model will come with bigger screen ,panoramic roof and red leather interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Marieta on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Totally weird to have the shifter behind steering on the RIGHT hand side ! and can be dangerous too for some mistaken it with signal switch…what the heck mercedes engineers were thinking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • It’s because of costs reason since most cars in europe are LHDs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Marieta on Sep 19, 2014 at 7:06 am

From reputable car maker in the world I was surprise Mercedes can overlook on that kind of RHD conversion flaw…It’s stupid to have gear lever off the center console replace that unnecessary COMMAND control knob (don’t they ever heard about touch screen)

• TheDoc on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:37 pm

I was really disappointed with the specs that MBM has given for this CBU C-class. I was hoping for at least blind spot monitoring and Distronic Plus. I would rather do without the Air Balance thingy which I think is waste of time. Sigh…. Hopefully they will put it in the CKD models. Now seriously thinking about getting the Q50 instead. If BMW comes out with F30 LCI and puts in those features, then they will have a winner.

• no way c250 can beat with 328i m-sport
    328i m-sport is cheaper , looks better/sportier and
    most importantly much more powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • no way c250 can beat 328i m-sport
    328i m-sport is cheaper , looks better/sportier and
    most importantly much more powerful

• TheRealMaserati on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:24 pm

The power is negligible. You wont even be able to tell the difference in power.

To add to that, the 328i build quality is horrible! And the engine is not that great either. Had a go in it , and the engine is rough and power is not that great anyway. The Golf GTI is a much more fun car to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • TurboMan on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Agree on BMW poor build quality. The dealers and level of service in Malaysia is simply not up to par with Merc and Lexus.

Will never get another Bavarian. Extremely disapointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • john doe on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Wow, the price for CBU model is as expected. However, I am still waiting for the CKD model. Hope the price is as competitive as the 3 series or A4. But of course dont expect to be at RM200K like BMW 316 la macha.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:39 pm

200k can’t even get you a CLA,
      Normally from CBU to CKD, price will drop 10k, so expect to pay RM270k for the CKD C200

• honest on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Interior ambience very very nice

• alphamann on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Paul, why my comment was not published? I just wanted everyone to know that the 9-speed transmission is coming in soon and not for us Malaysian still blur-blur paying a premium for this 7-speed old technology …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • Nenek Kau on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Well, here 4speed gear is still considered as a breakthrough techniclogy by some top manufacturer.

• Wah! 7 speed in malaysia just like pelesit already. How about 9 speed 0.o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:37 pm

A very nice car indeed with a price of a house.
    If I wait next year to buy, minister said the price might drop 1-3% after GST, guess I will wait for next year then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • TheRealMaserati on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Pls la, u cant get a house at 300k anywhr around PJ and KL. A flat ? Maybe!

or unless ur from a kampung area..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • I wait for my company to replace my 2 years old company car Myvi with this beauty…

• screwu (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Marketing strategy

• Nenek Kau on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Active louvres? – You will be in big trouble if it is not-active in KL traffic.
    Louvres closed when parked? – Why? Looks better?

This is unnecessary gadget that only give problem to you.

• Marieta on Sep 18, 2014 at 6:31 am

Of course lah..If don’t have, how want to sell it at RM300++k meh..premium maaa…

• c class on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

any plan of bringing the c180 wt a 1.6 turbocharged engine? That can be priced nearer to the 316i…sure will give that beemer a fight

• ah chai on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Not that I could afford. But If I have to say some thing about This car. I would say I’m disappointed that the price doesn’t go down. So This territory would be just another dream for me.

• Just do it on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:46 pm

I have waited for so long for them to launch the C-class but at 300k? mmmmm….rather stick to my Kancil. sob! sob!

• TheRealMaserati on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Kereta untuk Pak Cik tua, saya banyak suka !!!

• I wonder if EEV status would be granted to these cars once it gets CKD, as it’s clearly below the so-called EEV scheme. Prolly not though.

• masonteh on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:15 pm

C200 is more nice looking to me…

• MrNyx (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:22 pm

This new C-class has gorgeous looks in exterior as well as interior, simply ELEGANT!

The price is a little pricy but as you know la, CBU + newly launched, sure no cheap at first.

• zali78 on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:39 am

Just get back from the launch. Not much different between c200 n c250 such as engine. Only different is c250 looks more exclusive and vvip looks. Luckily i booked c200.. Plus very nice and delectable food served at cnc. Thought only rungan2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • MrNyx (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:28 am

True, I somewhat felt that C200 exterior looks attractive than C250 to me but in regards of interior, both has equal of attractiveness.

How long does it take to wait for your new C200 btw?

• zali78 on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:29 pm

I booked the car since end of april as the salesman of cnc told me that the booking is open. Maybe november or december. I get the second batch of cbu. The first batch starts in october. I booked it earlier but still get the second batch. First batch is for cronies maybe. Hehe..

• MatAzmi69 on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Wow! Very early booking man. I go to cnc next day after the launching to booked the car. The salesperson said the 500 unit of cbu batch were fully booked and only get ckd unit for me. I’m expected to get the car by august or september next year. What a CHALLENGING WAITING LIST BY MBM!! This C-Class is selling like hot cakes!

• the white model looks sporty but its front lower air dam not sporty enough…should look like the grey one than ok

• kelas C on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:21 pm

W205 286k > A6 hybrid 280k..

• The new C class is awesome. It is totally a revamped from the previous model. Looks handsome, luxury and premium. Internal is a class above of competitors. However, price at RM 286k is on the high side. At this price, it should have the intelligent adaptive LED headlight, head up display, lane change warning & distronic. That will make the car perfect.
    Anyway, Mercedes is always a class above and that is the price you need to pay for a class leader.

• Rammy on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

I cant believe they messed up the specs so badly. Will it get sorted with the CKD offerings? A complete farce of a launch to cater to the early adopters it seems.

• Rammy on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Not to mention no AMG line or any sign of the air suspension. Now I get what some comments refer to the ‘k’ (kosong) spec for cars here in Malaysia.

• Rossa Calla on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:37 pm

very very nice car…amongst the best under c class

• blaster88 on Oct 18, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I got to test drive it today! okay here goes…beautiful interior and build quality. Quiet interior, very little road noise intrusion, more responsive transmission esp on sport mode plus and decent back room. Overall comfortable and relaxed drive with decent room.

Cons – MBM seriously??? For RM287K 50 series tyres and ugly as hell rims! No sun roof, adaptive LED and suspension on the Avant Garde version? Hopping out of my A4 B8 into the W205, I feel the B8 has a more spirited drive and better handling esp on dynamic mode (it has adaptive shocks vs non on the W205)but the C200 is certain more comfortable exclusive and upmarket. Urge to change? hmmm…..can’t say I would be dishing out my cheque book for a down payment. Wifie would like…My B8 is holding its own in spite of coming to 6 yrs old….lets see how the W205 would compare to the new A4…. I am also eyeing the F30 M sport…story for another day.

• JawsKusyah on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Awesome car. Yes said its expensive, but for those who can afford it buy it. No comments on bmw or A4, but you need to test drive the C200 first. I am sure along the road they will introduce more variants but I am sure the most awaited will be the C180 1.6 engine turbo. good luck malaysians. keep on writing

• Carlover on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:51 am

They’re trying to offload outdated 250 models in Malaysia. In Australia you get the same more modern 200 shape that looks the same for the 250 with options like entertainment system and sunroof etc. The 200 sells for RM 220,000 equivalent. In Europe and US the car sells for even less. Cars are overtaxed in Malaysia. Cars are so good mechanically today that it all boils down to personal tastes. The C class has come a long way and looks very similar to the S class from behind. I looked at the S class but chose the C class because parking is a problem for the S class. People who have never owned a Mercedes do not understand the sheer comfort of driving one. I have driven all types of cars but stick to Mercedes for safety and driving pleasure. It is not about prestige or status but I find some luxury cars are enjoyable. True car lovers may enjoy the aesthetics of a car and not worry about the gizmos. Everyone is an expert on a Ferrari and will tell you not to buy one but settle tor a Porsche 911 but aesthetics? One man’s car is another man’s disaster and finding the car you like is like picking a wife. Period.