Volkswagen Polo GTI facelift gets upgraded to 1.8 TSI

volkswagen-polo-gti-facelift-0012

These are the first photos of the Volkswagen Polo GTI Mk5 facelift, released quite a few months after the vanilla Polo facelift was revealed in January this year.

As suggested by earlier reports, power is up on the facelift, but what’s most interesting is that the motor has been changed under the hood – the 1.4 TSI engine that employs both a supercharger and turbocharger has been swapped out for a new 1.8 TSI. With the B-segment hot hatch playing-field normally running 1.6 litre turbo engines, that’s a relatively big displacement.

volkswagen-polo-gti-facelift-0001

As a result, the Polo GTI now has 190 PS and 320 Nm – up from 180 PS and 250 Nm in the current model. A small bump in horsepower, but a massive increase in torque! The 0-100 km/h sprint improves to 6.7 seconds.

The new 1.8 litre engine can now had with either a six-speed manual or a seven-speed DSG dual clutch automatic, as reports indicated – the pre-facelift was DSG-only.

Other features include LED headlamps, adaptive sports suspension. Hopefully, more details will be revealed at Paris 2014, where the car is making its debut.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The keyword here is six-speed manual gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:01 am

As long as it is DSG, you would like to buy Hilux from Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • The Truth about VW DSG on Sep 18, 2014 at 3:05 pm

DSG also did not sort out want to do facelift. VGM still selling lemons to customers. VW Germany already confessed in black and white on May 07 2013 that their DSG cars cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia and countries with bad traffic jams. The confirmed that the DSG will malfunction and stall because of the heat.

Every VW car sold by VGM in Malaysia is illegal and is a lemon. Don’t cry when your DSG stalls and keeps on stalling for the next 5 years non stop. Facebook accounts don’t lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
        • 2014 Passat Owner on Sep 18, 2014 at 3:35 pm

My 2014 Passat has already broken down 4 times. All DSG related. Each time VW took 6 weeks to replace my DSG whilst holding my car.

In total VW has kept my car for 24 weeks (6 weeks and 4 times).

I think my Passat spend more time in the workshop than in my garage.

In overseas, all VW owners get free replacement car. In Malaysia, VGM tell me “podah pundek”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • kangkong on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Never believe what many people have complained and think you are the lucky one. Why like to gamble while so many owners already shared their experience?

• freetaker (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

mind to share our more detail…? what happen to your car.. but somehow which service centre you sent you.. how come the problem was not solve
            ?

• freetaker (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:48 am

what happen to your Passat? why need to keep so many days ? anyway which service centre you sent?

• crazy on Sep 20, 2014 at 3:19 pm

So ur passat 2014 spent 4 months in sc? If each interval of break down is about 2 months, then your story could only be valid if u got ur car at Jan this year. If not, then I wonder what’s your intention of writing this idiotic post…

• stupid salesman on Sep 20, 2014 at 3:23 pm

It’s 6 months in sc in total. Even if we assume the car break down in an interval of 1 month, four times + 6 months = 10 months in total. His car is 2014 and now is only September. . Anyone can explain how could that be possible?

• freetaker (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:41 am

personally my Polo 1.2Tsi didnot face any big issued so far… u can say i am the lucky one…

• bringmanualcars! on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:25 pm

VGM stop being an ass give use manual transmission!

• The fun factor comes with the magic word – MANUAL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • reyust on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:48 am

bring the manual version…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:39 am

Problem is, manufacturers can bring in but the percentage who buy manuals do not make it a business case. More often than not, manufacturers have to discount heavily to clear those manual models. Nice to see in showrooms but if there aren’t enough takers, it won’t make business sense. I love manuals but this is reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • lonelyobserve (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Those dealers are not willing to provide back-to-back order for manual transmission vehicles. Plus those sales people are trained to persuade buyers to choose two-pedal equipped vehicles so that sales figures, commission will be very good for them.

• intermilan on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Still.. bring in a few la..
        vw must a lot ppl wanna buy..
        Lot of fans.

• ah chai on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:51 am

as long as vw Malaysia doesn’t tackle the issues of
    1. Gear box Failures
    2. Poor after sales services
    We Will still be seeing many people hesitating in buying vw cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • VWGM…bring in the manual…this hot pocket rocket needs a manual…more FUN & no DSG issues, btw…since the torque is 320nm, guess its the wet clutch dsg7 not the dry type (dry clutch dsg7 torque limit is 250nm if not mistaken)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:54 pm

No matter wet/dry. This junk is overrated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • why do you think its over-rated & junk? most review are quite full of praises.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Yeah, superb quick gearshifting but reality is dry clutch DSG issue already did the damage to the people.

• prabowi on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:21 pm

DSG is rubbish. After sales is total crap. They took 6 weeks to fix the dsg, 5 hours to replace battery.

• apekgoh on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:55 am

Finally a manual….

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

Human only got 2 legs, unless you are alien..anyway VW is boring ugly toy car which easily breakdown on roadside. Kakak toll car best friend you can say..Better buy up coming p1/p2 car..still bring you from A to Z.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:42 am

So? You need 3 leg to drive manual, push the three pedals at the same time eh? Unless you talk about heel-and-toe shifting which is not required for normal driving.

• blackbox on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:00 am

Manual transmission is always welcome, but the dry clutch DSG is a bit worry. With a little bit of re-mapping, not difficult to push this car hp to above 200.

• macromedia on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:10 am

Finalfishingly, a manual. Bow, just wait for it, big rebates.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:12 am

7 Speed dry clutch dsg? But the DQ 200 can only take 250Nm torque max….

• No DSG unless 10 years warranty

• Ex victim on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:00 pm

As EX victim of junky quality car no more Junk even the car is free service is free repair is free for life.

Think about your wife and children at home when you are in highway with this junk car.

What for 10 year warranty but not safe?

• More torque please on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:18 am

More power and more torque means that the DSG will kong faster. Luckily they have option for manual.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:20 am

in the end, they will rediscover that displacement still reigns. with a turbo… the opportunities to tune only depend on the depth of the pockets.

i won’t be surprised if they even go to a 2.0 turbo one day for the polo and maybe 2.2 or 2.5 turbo for the golf.

• Sorchai (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:05 am

That’s right… no replacement for displacement. Whether NA or FI. The more the merrier.

• Small hot hatch car with manual transmission. I like that.

• klata-klata on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Yeah! Peugeot 208 GTI comes ONLY with MANUAL SHIFT,
      and is a fun car!

• intermilan on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:33 pm

If only PSA group have a 2L turbo engine..
        They are making mistake by not having such engine in their engine stable..

How to expect their upcoming. 208 or 308 R / GTi (with tweak-to-the-max 1.6L turbo) to ever compete with Golf GTi or Megane RS with 2L turbo.

Reliability of the 1.6L will be put into question having had to be pushed further than competitors’ 2L engine.

• Jaybond on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:43 am

VW Malaysia needs to start work on the CKD operation of the facelifted Polo and the Jetta models (all with LED DRLs).

• neemfa on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:03 am

A bit too late but a welcomed move by VW. Now, VWM please bring the manual version here. No need to sell the DSG version (leave it to Golf), since a lot of owners ended up selling the Polo GTI after only 1-2yrs of misery.. and the value plummeted below RM100k already. A lot of ding dong before, price adjustment etc.. pls do it right this time..

• Bob_B78 on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:44 am

Not quite right, a lot want to sell but can’t sell due to low RV. Furthermore, a lot of 2nd hand car dealer don’t want to sell these car.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:46 am

No! Don’t leave DSG only to Golf. I also want a 5-door manual Golf to be here especially for GTi and R version.

• TheDean on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:54 am

I have the Polo 1.2 TSi and even that has torque steer. 190hp and 320Nm? Really??? Scary…..

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Had a chat with a mechanic while servicing my Cross Touran. Apparently, squeezing 180PS out from a 1.4TSI had made the engine unreliable and need overhauling way too soon. This upgrade should resolve the issue with the added bonus of higher torque output (plus with the torque meaning you should get the more reliable DQ250 6-speed wet-clutch DSG)

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:09 pm

I just re-read the article and Paul mentioned that it comes with the 7-speed DSG. You might want to check the facts first because DQ-200 can only handle 250Nm of torque

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:17 pm

I looked up other articles on the net and they only say “DSG” and doesn’t mention “7-speed DSG”. So I assume that Paul was assuming that because it says apart from DSG, this time around a 6-speed manual is available

• New 7-speed DQ380 is underway. It’s a 7 speed dual wet clutch unit capable for up to 420 Nm and it’s a replacement for 6 speed DQ250.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Hope VW gave KESSY for all cars. Now almost “all” cars equip with Keyless!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:10 pm

manual…fap fap fap

• rellyah on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:32 pm

wow 1.4 able to squeeze 180hp, while 1.8 190hp ? i believe with a lil tuning, at least 30hp more juice can be squeezed out. light weight with 2xx hp ! it will be fun.

• droll on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:04 pm

good then. they have addressed 2 of the weaker things in the current polo gti – the 1.4 tsi engine issues and the dry clutch dsg.

now let’s see if vw m’sia can bring in the manual version and price it competitively.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:41 pm

The manual transmission equipped Polo GTI should be about RM5K cheaper than the DSG equipped Polo GTI.

• mango on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:31 pm

looks cute but dont make him angry.. will eat you for breakfast.

• Firdaus Asri on Sep 18, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Finally somebody managed to put some senses into VW. There’s no replacement for displacement. When they decided to use 1.4TSI on 6R GTI, I already had reservation that it’s not really a step up compared to old Picanto lookalike 9N3 GTI (fuel economy yes but not performance/reliability/tuneability etc). I’ve been running 9N3 GTI for 7 years now… typical VW -> Very Unreliable piece of crap but a fun car nevertheless.

So much fun that I’ve been through 3rd set of turbos, 3rd set of clutch, 3rd set of brake rotors/pads, 4th set of tyres, 3rd set of timing belts, 3rd set of coilovers, new clutch pump, new aircond system and pu bushings for a car that clocks 130k mileage :P

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:33 pm

VW decided to remove the 1.4L TSI twincharger engine most probably because of the cost and complexity of the forced induction setup for the engine.

As for the transmission, the return of good old manual transmission as standard equipment for facelift Polo GTI means the dry clucth 7-speed DSG is out due to its maximum torque handling just 250Nm. The optional DSG equipment mostly the wet clutch 6-speeder from Golf GTI.

Moreover, the boys at Top Gear also hinted the 7-speed DSG issue in UK and the URL to the article is as below:
    http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/new-volkswagen-polo-gti-2014-09-17

• WaJib on Sep 19, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Dengar sini VGM IT cyber tropper department…who peep into this page for marketing purpose survey.. Pls bring the Manual version n cuts price of RM7,000. Why? Coz we dun want 7DSG Dryclutch. 1 Gear tolak 1 ribu mah.. So 7 ribu discount.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 19, 2014 at 2:31 pm

COPY & PASTE

Sad Ownership Experience – Golf Mk7 GTi

Dear all, i am a owner of a new Golf MK7 GTi, only 2 and half months on the road, clocking 8000km up to date, but my car has been sent to the service centers for the 6th times today, since i got my car on 30th June 2014. I am a real estate negotiator, it’s my only car and i can’t attend to appointments at all when i am stucked at service centers, as my job requires me to fetch clients around.

I have always wanted a Golf GTi ever since i test drove a MK5 many years ago, and i have made this a goal to achieve when i can afford one day. After 6 months long consideration, i decided to sell off my Perodua Myvi, placed my booking at Wernes, Sungai Besi in April 2014, and had to wait for two months for my car. My fiance, some friends and family members were against the idea of me getting a Volkswagen, for reasons that we-all-know (I didn’t believe but now i do), but I persist on getting one because i really liked the car, and i thought the GTi’s has no problems.

I was so wrong. Very very wrong.

On the 4th day i got my car, i noticed there are some weird knocking noise coming from the front undercarriage whenever i cross speed bumps and uneven roads, the noise appears to be shifting from left to right and vice versa, sometimes in the middle, on & off, you can also actually feel the knocking from the floorboard, both passenger and driver side. This makes the car sounds and feels like a 10 years old car with a faulty absorber mounting. Alongside are noises from dashboards and door panels, which i can tolerate.

I made an appointment and I went back to Wernes the next week hoping that someone would give me a priority as a new car owner, to at least inspect and check what’s the cause of the noise, after all it’s only less then 2 weeks old on the road. Turns out it was packed that week due to post-Hari Raya crowd. I was told to come back 2 weeks later when they have lesser crowd. I went back again to Wernes 2 weeks later, thinking that finally someone can help to look into the issue on the spot.

No, i was told to leave the car there for days, with no notice in advance. It’s my only car and i need a car to work. No courtesy car will be arranged too if i leave my car at the SC. The sales person that i bought the car from is not really helping much as well, she claimed that she ‘can’t interfere the service team’ in expediting the issue on my car. So i left Wernes for the second time, without any solutions.

A friend of mine who drives a Passat B7 brought me to Wing Hin, Balakong on the beginning of August 2014, made an appointment and sent my car in for inspection the week after. I am glad he brought me there because finally someone is willing to look into my issues in a very serious manner and prompt. However, the noise and knocking still persist despite after changing absorber mountings (changed 2nd week of August 2014)of from both sides, also the front passenger side suspensions which was diagnosed with compression failure (changed last week), subframe was loosen and tighten as well. So here i am again, for the 6th times, sitting at a service center whining.

Now, no one knows what’s wrong with the car, and no one knows how many more days i need to leave the car with the service centers. Next it could be the stabilizer bar, stabilizer link, lower arms, sub frames, engine and transmission mountings etc. Like i said, i can’t work when i do not have a car, the GTi is my daily drive, i have appointments being canceled, postponed or diverted to my other colleagues. God knows how many more days i need to leave my car at the service centers and who is going to pay for my lost of portfolios and income?

This is utterly disappointing.

I really can’t help but to think that what have i done to deserve this. I felt cheated, i did not come all the way so far and getting myself into so much hassles. Friends and family members are teasing me for what i have got myself into. 2 and half months of ownership and 6 times visiting the service centers? What a joke! Sometimes i can’t help but feel regret selling off my Myvi for this, at least the Myvi has not much of problems and even if it does, it never take the service center too long for a solution. I think it’s really unfair for me having to pay the monthly installment and yet i can’t fully enjoy the car.

I seriously hope VGM will look into this issue of mine ASAP and expedite on it. I have also found 2 other Golf MK7 GTi owners that suffer the same problem as me. It’s really an frustrating and unhappy ownership experience. Three of my friends and client who were interested in the GTi have changed their mind after listening to my honest review. I will continue my review to the rest of the people until the issues on my car are being rectified completely or at least some form of compensation and courtesy car arrangement while our car is being checked at SC.

If they do not take my issue seriously i will consider bringing this matter up another level.

Other than the issue i mentioned above, the car is superb, it still put a smile on my face whenever i tekan the pedal. The annoying part is when i cross speed bumps and uneven roads, it’s such a turn off / potong steam. And it pisses me off going in and out SC with no confirmed solution, i am very afraid that this process will take weeks or months to settle. Under situation like this it’s either an issue too big to handle or too small to be identified.

Non the less, i have found a very pro-active SC and i really hope this can be settled ASAP. The car is being left overnight now.

I have to be honest that i do have a very high expectation for this car, maybe it’s because i used to drive a Myvi. I can tolerate dashboard and door panel noise, but not unknown noises coming from the chassis / drive train, i don’t expect this coming from a 200k car. In fact i think it doesn’t matter how much you pay for the car, if it’s faulty, it’s faulty, the manufacturer / distributor have to solve it. Don’t tell me bullshit like ‘it’s mass produce’ & ‘you unlucky’.

And thank you, i don’t need any recommendation for other cars.