Malaysia to explain new Singapore toll fees – report

singapore-coe

Government officials from Malaysia will meet with those from Singapore to explain the reasons behind the implementation of toll charges at the Bangunan Sultan Iskandar Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) Complex, The Star has reported.

According to minister in the Prime Minister’s department Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong, Malaysia’s transport and foreign ministries will meet Singaporean officials as soon as possible to convince the republic to reconsider its decision to hike toll fees on its side of the Causeway from October 1.

“We have to meet them personally to rectify their perception that Malaysia introduced a new charge at the CIQ to pay the concessionaire and to upgrade the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) and it should not be an excuse for them (Singapore) to increase their toll charge,” The Star quoted him as saying.

lta-causeway-singapore-new-toll-charges

Singapore’s Land Transport Authority (LTA) recently announced that from October 1, Singapore’s toll charges for all vehicles, except motorcycles, leaving Singapore through the Causeway, will be increased to mirror the increase on the Malaysian side in July.

The LTA said that it has been “a long-standing policy” for Singapore to match its toll charges at the Causeway and Second Link to those set by Malaysia. It also said Singapore will follow suit should Malaysia reduce or do away with the toll charges.

Wee said Singapore’s hiking of toll fees at its checkpoint to match those of Malaysia’s is unjustified, and the meeting is aimed at clearing the air over the issue.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Never Learn our beloved Leaders on Sep 19, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Our G never learn from the past, they should engage stakeholder 1st, starting with the Rakyat, followed by Singapore! Now when the Rakyat start to complaint and Singapore followed pursuit to increase the toll rate, only now fire fighting to meet them. There you go, a good example of Malaysia trying to become clever and worse put priority profit to crony and make the Rakyat suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 18
    • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Did Singapore engage with Malaysia when they raised the VEP?

Why then is Singapore allowed to do as they please while we’re not allowed to respond?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 32
      • Blue-traveler on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:21 am

Toll and VEP, 2 different thing. I suggest, our gov’t call off the toll hike, and impose a VEP like Singapore, and match half their rate. Then see how the other side react, then go from there. This way, Singapore can’t say that they don’t have nor have increase their VEP. And to counter that we’re bais againts them, set up one for Thai/Indo/Brunei too, but charge only RM1 as goodwill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
        • Bobby (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:11 am

No point in toing and froing on this matter. They all sound like wanting tit-for-tat and fist fight mentality. It will go on forever with nothing done.

Come on, it is 21st Century. Just do away with the toll altoghter, if not for just one year. In this way, the action will show that either side has compromised, resulting in an unmeasureble benefits for all the people in both countries. And we move on from there.

It is really amazing that SE Asians always like to pick up a fight on everything and anything, while forgetting to ask their respecting governments what have they done to enhance and enrich the quality of life of the people, Malaysians in this case, over the past 50 years. EDL? Well, without this government, we may have super EDL, free to drive on.

So, quit the rubbish talk and start asking what the government has done for us, Malaysian at large, and show us in a report card fashio. Failing that, just quit lah. There are many able and capable Malaysian who can think and talk sense on every issues of life affecting matters. Toll raise is one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Honestly, it’s all we ever do, isn’t it? Complain about govt this, govt that. They never give us enough, they are not giving us what we want etc. Seriously, it’s ridiculous if you are expecting an organisational body – whose job is to oversee millions of people’s interests, btw – to find your heart’s wishes and put them as a priority. When has there ever been a government that satisfies everything? The closest it has ever come to is when all the people of that country decides to stop sitting on their arses and finally go and make the best of they have.

And that issue about scraping tolls? If you have in the slightest idea of what concessionaires EVEN means, you’d know that it won’t ever happen. It’s time for people to stop comparing every bloody thing and stop living in the illusion that they know stuffs and that everything should be free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • Anti-Establishment on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:38 pm

The government does provide you with cheap healthcare that’s not really bad (my mother had a hysterectomy due to a suspected ovarian cancer and it was done within a week of visiting the doctors at Hospital Ampang. No fuss, no complication, and it costs ZERO since she’s a pensioneer. Even if she wasn’t it would costs less than RM 5K from what I can see on the bill). And the government do provide subsidized food items to the point that we’re now the most obese nation in South East Asia. That’s just two things I can think of at this moment.

Can the government be better? Of course, nobody’s perfect. But to say that they’re totally useless & the Malaysian people doesn’t benefit one single thing for the past 50 years is just lazy.

Just because you don’t get what you dream off doesn’t mean everything is bad – your parents wouldn’t give everything you want & you think they didn’t contribute anything to your well being? Of course not.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:57 am

Causeway is very-very short, and it immediately stop in JB town. very different from 2nd Link which they can have large area to build toll plaza outside the immigration complex. And there’s no other road, you can’t escape the toll in 2nd Link.
      Back to the causeway… the reason for Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) is to ease traffic in the town area. vehicles heading to Pasir Gudang, Tebrau, and many other areas need not to enter the town anymore. If you impose toll only on EDL, people will avoid it by using the old way which is through the town again, defeating the purpose of EDL.
      Another issue is, the toll charge is RM30 a day if you do return trip on 2nd Link. Compare that to old charge of RM6 return trip on Causeway. Causeway have very bad jam because 2nd link was 5 times more expensive. What Singapore did is to match the toll collection imposed by Malaysia. This was due to a longstanding policy of matching whatever rates Malaysia set.

to summarize the situation:
      1) if toll on EDL only, people will go into town area and town become jam again.
      2) If maintain the old rate, causeway is very jam.
      3) If EDL is free, gov need to pay compensation or repay the cost of EDL to MRCB using taxpayers money. Somebody in KL is paying for EDL which he didn’t use at all. Other highways, such as Iskandar Coastal Highway, and Pasir Gudang Highway are free.
      4) Those who drive cars into Singapore (including Malaysians) could afford the new toll rate. They could buy a car in Singapore (easily over RM250k for a Vios!) or pay RM90 for permit everyday (RM1800/month) for Malaysian cars… not including parking and ERP yet.
      5) Average salary in SG is $5,000 or RM12,500. They are not paying income tax to Malaysia. Should Malaysia use taxpayers money to pay for EDL or charge those who drive to work in SG?
      6) Economy… it might affect business in JB a little, but it will regain in very short time. I still see lots of Singapore cars in our shopping complexes. it’s also good if less Singaporean buying house in JB, the price of houses and food won’t increase drastically as seen in few years ago :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • if that’s the case…project iskandar project will be a total failure..LOL..

• Low Budget on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:28 am

I still think charging toll for non usage for any toll roads is not right. J.B. town might get a bit of congestion if they impose ‘real’ toll on EDL, but if we take many toll roads around Klang Valley where alternative non toll roads exist, more motorist still prefer to use the toll roads for convenience.

• The Ripper on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:29 pm

It’s a complete rip-off by the two governments. The causeway was built in 1923 by our forefathers to facilitate everyone crossing the straits. Our forefathers built but never collected tolls from the people.

Now these new fellows in power suka-suka collect and increase tolls without doing anything, as far as the causeway is concerned. Then lepas beri betis, mintak peha pulak. It’s just like the triads asking for protection money.

• junaidi on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:31 pm

our forefathers didnt have 100,000+ cars going in and out each day

• cendol (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 7:51 pm

WHat more is there to explain to them?
    Singapore already stated clearly they will match whatever toll Malaysia side is charging.
    You want them to reduce toll? Malaysia side has to reduce first.
    Is it so hard to understand?
    You said toll on Malaysia side is due to compensate EDL concessionaire, then you can build EDL toll outside of CIQ, and not charge EVERYBODY who comes out of CIQ.
    And another question, EDL is built by MRCB, why PLUS is collecting the fees??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
    • Bobby (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Well said, men! Why Plus collecting? I want to know urgently.
      Call Singapore’s bluff, do away with the toll for one year and see if Singapore will live up to its own words. Besides, Malaysia must not only be seen to do good for Malaysian but also to actually do and deliver it. But do you have balls to do it, I want to know. Silence means consent and we all know it too well, balless!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Low Budget on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:56 pm

They always think people are stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:50 am

Plus is the one maintaining the causeway, all this while they’re collecting toll fee for that at the CIQ. now MRCB also need to collect toll for EDL, but having 2 tolls is counter-productive as drivers need to stop twice to pay 2 tolls in short distance, and traffic jam caused by that. Another issue about EDL is almost entirely elevated highway, no space, and will cost more to build toll plaza. It is initially planned to collect the toll at CIQ, so they’re just doing what already planned. now, back to initial question, why PLUS collecting it? PLUS will split the fee between them, PLUS still get the old rate for causeway and MRCB will get the remaining from recently raised fee for EDL. It is similar as Sg Besi toll plaza which PLUS collect fees for their part and also for Lebuhraya Kuala Lumpur – Seremban highway managed by ANIH (formerly MetraCorp).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:10 pm

But some people after come out from CIQ, will not use EDL, if you collect together, you are collecting money from people no matter they use EDL or not.
        That is what people are not happy about now.
        From CIQ, people has other road options other than go out through EDL

• Martin on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:57 pm

The issues should not be confused together. Why is there an increase in CIQ toll if the money is to be used for the EDL? Impose a fee for the use of that particular facility and not try to use income from other places to recover the cost of operating other facilities. This will just muddle everything up.

The politicians must be clear in their policies and not suka suka find excuses. Unless you just want something to deflect criticisms from yourself. If so, then be very careful about stoking up emotions of the people because the improving relationship between the two countries over the last few years should not be used for your own politics to improve your own popular support.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:02 am

this gov should let me back become toll booth minister…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • stranger on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Cannot…
      Later the EDL flyover bridge concrete post collapse like MRR2

• async on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:46 am

since when singapore dictates what ever malaysian gov wants to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Josh Ling on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:09 pm

because the toll fees affect singaporeans too. whatever you do to my people, i will do to your people too lah. end of story.

and it’s not like the price hike on malaysian side is that much justified to begin with. i mean hike by 10 to 20% is still acceptable, but a few hundred percent??

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:08 am

Talk cock la…sack the bunch of clowns first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Conman on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:25 am

I don’t see as many SG cars as before in JB or Melaka. Many businesses can hit flies and where JB people going to get money to buy houses and go cafes. Want to enjoy higher standard or course inflation will go up unless you want to live like other border states like Perlis and Kelantan where you can go watch movies in one crappy cinema and eat at rat infested eateries and sleep before 10pm. If SG don’t benefit JB where the hell do they get money to build nice roads? For JB people? Johor count on Singapore to be rich, can Perlis count on the Thais? Only stupid people who have ego up their asses can think properly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:13 pm

There are many things I want to say here but if I say it out , I would be charged for sedition.
      SO I’ll keep it to myself

• Low Budget on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:38 am

I can fully understand your predicament! Sungai Buloh or Kamunting is only for the darest of the dare such as the greatest hero Mr Karpal Singh.

• parkjw on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:56 am

why be soft on singapork? rise more to match them! see who lose till the end! never go soft on a small piece of island!

i support malaysian’s hike!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • das auto on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I Agree. Now is time to add on a VEP for Sg cars entering malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Many things I would like to say to you but I might be charged for sedition.
      So I will spare you this time

• Low Budget on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:41 am

Very good move indeed, so that the prices of Chicken rice, wanton mee and fried Kwei Tiaw in J.B. will come down and match the prices of other major towns in Malaysia.

• Andrew Law on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Since when Malaysia must explain to Singapore whenever the new policy made from Malaysia’s government. This is typical weakness from Government. And how Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong able to get Dr and Datuk? Did he think before decision was made? To counter Singapore, the toll charges should press on Singaporean not Malaysian. We have Smart Chip IC, why can’t we use that for our Rakyats benefit.

• People using causeway may not use EDL, and people using EDL may not use causeway, how can the EDL cost become an excuse to hike causeway toll fee!? You can do this just because you like it, then why Singapore cannot?

Please la, just implement VEP then solve all the problems already, why not? afraid of Singapore?

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Open toll systems require expressway users to pay a fixed toll charge at the toll plaza based on the class of vehicle used. The user is free to exit the expressway at any junction or to continue on to the next toll plaza or toll collection point. Semi urban highways with numerous junctions or intersections serving short distance trips usually employ an open toll system because it’s costly to build toll plaza at every junction/ exit and it will slow-down the traffic, causing jam. Many tolls in Malaysia is open toll system, including KL-Seremban highway, Kesas Highway, Federal Highway, Sprint and so on. All tolls or ERP in Singapore is also Open Toll System. Why don’t you complaint to SG, not everybody use the same length of highway but have to pay the same amount??

• cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:15 pm

This is what happen when you let cronies build highways and then compensate them for donkey years.
        But strangely, the cronies also obtain loan from government to build the said highway, then can collect tolls for donkey years and get compensation at the same time.
        And can increase toll every few years.
        What sort of business is this??

• Bobby (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:42 pm

You are absolutely spot on, cendol. I would say this is double accounting practice by the cronies and double profit for the gangs as well.

So do away with toll is not fanciful simply because of these obscene profits, which I supposed is acceptable in their belief.In fact it is a norm in Malaysia now eh!!

Since when the Malaysians elect a government to collect tolls and other illegal activities? Worse still, without explaining their action to do so. WTF!

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:08 am

toll is not just for paying back the loan, toll is also for maintenance and upgrading of the road. and remember, you also have indirect share and earn dividen from PLUS through EPF…
          road maintenance cost also increase every few years, why can’t they increase toll charge? are you saying that all other business and shop never increase their price for decades?
          don’t want to pay toll? you can use highway for free or at a very low charge if you ride a bike.

• Low Budget on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:44 am

and to top it all open toll booths also causing massive jams in the Klang Valley, ordinary housing estate roads also converted to toll express ways, pui……..

• Old dog on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Ah Noh Cronies business model la

• Martin on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:03 am

If building toll plazas are so expensive, the fairest way is to implement a “pay-as-you-use” system using the more advanced and cheaper IT systems these days. GPS can easily detect your road usage and when integrated into a electronic system, can make this whole thing seamless. Hassle free driving, fairer system and very likely, more transparent accounting for highway operators.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:15 am

i agree, but that kind of system need to be installed / implemented on all cars in Malaysia. it will be expensive for rakyat and it has to be tamper-proof. what about vehicles coming from thai or singapore? how to track them? GPS also has weaknesses especially during bad weather. And i think more than half would disagree to such system because they don’t want their car to be tracked, privacy issue.

• Martin on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Agree with you but these are tactical issues that are not insurmountable. Important thing is to be innovative and transparent when it comes to designing a fair system for all. The objective must be clear and with long term benefits. Not just reactive solution, with unclear objective, that no one is able to clearly explain and defend the policy.

• Peter Soh on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Malaysia people these days got big big ego and type big big online. SG govt has never shown fear when dealing with boleh-land. Boleh govt has always never fail to screw themselves intellectually like the water agreement, island dispute, international airspace over Malaysia. Singapore simply has more brains than to demand BN to explain their stupid policies. You know it is frustrating to talk to clowns.

Singaporeans can always give Malaysia a miss. Malaysia got nothing much to offer. Food so so. Attractions no standard. No Singaporeans ever visit their substandard zoos. Outlet mall in JB is like ghost town.

The skill better than Singapore is the ability of their cops to suck kopi money from Singaporeans and local.

• Low Budget on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:49 am

Many useless parking machines also suck our coins without issuing parking ticket.

• Actually Malaysian Govt have a problem with thinking intelligently. They say collect toll for EDL, but ask themselves over and over again why are the tolls are collected and did those cars that pay the toll actually uses the EDL? If not, Singapore side can also say collect toll for BKE. Want Singapore to talk, use brains first and don’t make a fool for the whole world to see.

• Doodle on Sep 20, 2014 at 3:58 pm

A dumb move by Najib that will hurt the Malaysia’s Tourism. With MH370, MH17, Increased causeway toll, we shall see how much drop in number of tourists you have into Malaysia. Those who have property in JB, better sell it and return to Singapore before their economy sinks even further.

• After the malaysians who cross the causeway daily to work in Singapore express their unhappiness about the toll hike. The bloody malaysian government ask them to go back to malaysia and work cos got a lot of job opportunities.

Boleh land really full of shit

• Malaysian G only make Malaysia a joke. N its own ppl to be living under the well. Macam katak di bawah tempurung.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:18 pm

No money for guessing which ethnicity will be affected more in this toll increase sage.
    You might think this is coincidence, but there is a deep correlation in it.
    I can’t elaborate more on this, if not I will be charged for sedition

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:52 am

i use causeway everyday. do you? do you see only 1 race using the causeway? what kind of stupidity is this? why do you relate toll charge to ethnicity? don’t simply turn everything into racist issue. why don’t you say Singapore is targeting a certain race when they increase VEP for Malaysian cars? and now they’re increasing their toll to help Malaysia’s attack on certain race? next level of stupidity.

• It is Malay NGO asking Malaysian G to increase the toll hike to prevent Sporean coming to Malaysia (Thou it is still cheap for Sporean after toll hike). Mainly due to Singaporean visit will caused economy booming in Johor, but only chinese concentrated area. of course, the Johor malay dislike this. Not all Malays are this incompetent but i dare not say much bout those hardcore BN supporter. When I was in S’pore, Malays over there are so high-class and educated. Those who spoke “on behalf” of Spore Malay saying they are being marginalized is plain bullshit. I have asked a few malays and they said they are grateful to be S’porean. In fact, they looked down on local Boleh Malay for depending on G for everything. They said Malays over here is “Bangsa Tongkat” I was shocked to even hear this.

• Kangkung on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:48 am

Before election, EDL is free.
    After election, EDL is not free.
    Billed in CIQ?

Who buy the bill?
    All ppl go SG will pass by EDL?
    Who is the user to go SG.
    98% are those hardworking ppl…they are…..
    Sigh, Actually, EDL used more by those ppl who not work or entering singapore. They enjoy kuih-muih daily, relax.

MCA Mr. Pee, stop ur joke !