IIMS 2014: Honda HR-V Mugen and Modulo live gallery

Honda HR-V Mugen IIMS- 11

The Honda HR-V, making its ASEAN debut in Jakarta, is drawing in the crowds at JI Expo, assisted by jaw dropping models. We’re not talking about the beautiful ladies gracing the stand (you’ll have to wait awhile more for that) but dressed up versions of the B-segment SUV, one from Mugen, the other by Modulo.

The latter is striking enough with a chrome look and purple-tinged wheels (or is that pink?) but the Mugen is the mad one, with widebody extensions and super elaborate flower-spoke wheels. Body stripes in the tuning house’s trademark colours add to the “look at me” effect. The tuner boys in Sunway must be rubbing their hands with glee at the sight of this.

The Modulo showcar is based on the HR-V 1.8 Prestige, and we know that from the LED headlamps with DRLs. The 139 PS/169 Nm 1.8 CVT model also gets nice things like a panoramic roof, a leather lined interior, reverse camera and six airbags.

Honda HR-V Modulo IIMS- 7

The 120 PS/145 Nm 1.5 variant, which can also be had with a five-speed manual gearbox in Indonesia, comes with an electric parking brake, ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, dual airbags, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), Ultra Seats from the Jazz, auto air con, keyless entry with push start, cruise control, shift paddles and leather seats, depending on grade. There are three: A, S and E.

Indonesian estimated pricing starts from 240 juta rupiah (RM64,907) for the base 1.5, rising to 350 juta rupiah (RM94,555) for the 1.8 Prestige. We’re expecting to see the HR-V in Malaysia next year. Full details, specs and live pics from IIMS 2014 in our earlier launch report.

Honda HR-V Mugen

Honda HR-V Modulo

Honda HR-V 1.5 and 1.8, ASEAN-spec

JDM Honda Vezel at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• riz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:45 am

Love the Modulo bodykit colour…

• seriousah on Sep 21, 2014 at 3:49 pm

some one is going to copy the stripe sticker in 3…2…1..

ok, spot on ! lets see who is the first to copy…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:57 am

DRB hicom
    bring it here… n keep all safety features, 6 airbags, CVT

• DonkeyKong on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:15 pm

The Modulo version is horrible and tasteless.. but Ah Bengs would flock to it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Sorry, I meant Mugen.

Even the current Mugen stuff are pretty tasteless.

• Yes, agreed Mugen is ah Beng but Modulo will look much better indeed

• Jimmy on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:23 pm

The silver colour is cantiq.
    The Mugen is overdone, especially at the sides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Aaron Lai on Sep 21, 2014 at 8:39 pm

The mugen is always overdone. Just look at the jazz mugen. The modulo seems more natural and “civilized”.

• Andrew_sow on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Killer looks..!

• Mackaroni on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:35 pm

What happened to that mugen? Mugly? Lol

• For the modulo, aerodynamic is not a concern now.. Lol

• unforgiven on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Let’s have forward thinking, build up the knowledge in ASEAN (Thai/Indo/etc n especially Malaysia). Forward thinking to have ASEAN car price one day (if we are unable to achieve global car price yet).

Example of ASEAN car price will be max RM70k++ for Honda Civic (or C segment car), understand the cost breakdown and exactly what we are paying for, transparent without hidden cost). Then we move into global car price of USD 22k++ for Toyota Camry (or D segment car).

Please have more educated people, knowledge = POWER. Never give up on people with thinking like KZM, etc. Always guide then to have forward thinking. Continue to educate them please, the future is on everyone’s hands.

• yucka on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

that modulo kit, yucka!

• OMG WHAT THE FCK AM I LOOKING AT? That is the ugliest piece of SH1T KIT IVE EVER SEEN. Looks like somebody pasted some cupboards over the fenders! HAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • that’s what we call a truly ah beng

• seancorr on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:17 pm

The Modulo kit with the chrome silver is not bad actually but doubt we will have that color option.

The Mugen one however is a disaster.

• holofanboi on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Dannyreviewthisnoexcusesifitcomestomalaysia

• TheDean on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Didn’t know Honda was into the Transformers craze. Looks like it’s gonna ‘turn’ into one anytime…..

• The Mugen looks very overdone and ahbeng style, the Modulo kit looks better

• HONDA on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:15 pm

If 1.8 priced below RM100K.. sure this will become class leader. If the interior is bigger than RUSh..I’ll let go my 2 year old D max for this.. ron 95 and Diesel only diff by 10 cents per litre.. still affordable.

• ong chin aun on Sep 21, 2014 at 8:55 pm

please come to M’sia like the Indo. version with Manual. Smart. choice.wonderful, people comtrol the car, don’t let the car determined your drive . Driver must take control the style of driving the car.

• _xXx_ on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:44 am

mugen, mudulo or whatever lo but CVT???? I go ride my CVT scooter better…never bother to listen to consumers

• kusochon on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:54 am

bring it here. CBU japan please.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:55 am

Not a fan of bodykits but the paint job on that Modulo unit is mighty pretty.

• Harry on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:24 pm

The HR-V 1.5L variant will be released with a 6-speed manual gearbox not the 5-speed manual gearbox according to Honda Indonesia website

• HondaPro Jason on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:41 am

If Honda brings this to the U.S with a 1.5T and it will be a best seller :-)

• Mike V on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:42 pm

How can I get an HRV, when they are available in the US, with a Modulo body kit. The US version of the Vezel is nice, but I like the Japanese Vezel better and the style of the Modulo kit with the LED lights, chrome additions, wheels, and some interior updates like the LED lighting and Leather seats with a cross color mix. Would also like a turbo but can’t be picky.