Proton Suprima S R3 bodykit available from RM1,017

proton-suprima-s-r3-bodykit-1

Now you can make your Suprima S look like the Super Premium range-topper – Proton Motorsports has announced on its Facebook page that the R3 bodykit for the Proton Suprima S is now open for booking.

Available for all Suprima S colours, prices start from RM1,017 excluding installation. The prices vary depending on the colour chosen, and those who book the bodykit before September 28 will enjoy a 20% discount.

Left: Proton Suprima S with R3 bodykit, Right: Proton Suprima S Super Premium

The car pictured here appears to be wearing the same seven-spoke 17-inch R3 gunmetal alloys we saw on the Suprima S Super Premium, as well as the R3-bodykitted Proton Preve in August 2013 – the a la carte price was then estimated to be RM2,500 for a set of four wheels.

The bodykit is body-coloured here; on the Suprima S Super Premium it’s non-glossy black. R3’s signature ‘notched’ front splitter and side skirts are familiar, but the rear side skirts (aft of the rear wheels) here are also notched; on the Super Premium they’re not.

Proton Suprima S Super Premium

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• pondan on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:43 am

hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 29
    • M/T is KING on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:07 am

I’ll only consider to buy this cars if it has M/T gearbox variants. CVT is crap and need to babysitting it.
      What’s the point to have all bodykits to make it looks aggressive and still have pondan DNA in that car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 15
      • policeman on Sep 21, 2014 at 8:55 am

Isn’t there a 6speed manual? I remember seeing spyshots here a very long time ago. I just assumed it was released ready.

• Form Over Substance on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:34 pm

yes the tranny and engine needs MUCH improvement. NVH is still poor. Throttle behaves erratically with unexpected power surges and at times loss of power at idle. Body kits wont make the car any better just heavier.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Proton should facelift the Preve by now.

Suprima? just change the design is a failed model even with better safety spec then Preve.

• P2 UMW SA detected!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • riz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:10 am

typical P2 salesman …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • hadi75 on Sep 21, 2014 at 8:30 am

Asking for a m/t car also got bashed…..apa la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • riz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:47 am

I replied to the very first comment bro,
          I love M/T bro, short shifter user here.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:36 pm

i think he commented on “hahahhaha” by p2 macai

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:01 pm

I want to laugh to..

Hahaha. ..

JDM or not.. at least not plotong. .

Hahaha. . Hahaha. .. Hahaha

Ppl smart dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • riz (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:21 am

yeah cant agree more..
        But in term of safety , its better than TRD VIOS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:48 am

Hardly can see this suprima on the road. Is it doing good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 28
    • awak duduk dimana susah nak nampak proton suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 35
    • M/T is KING on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:22 am

I always seen it everyday when i go to work. Good car but so many people doesn’t realize it. Of course if it comes with M/T lahhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
      • policeman on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:03 am

I’m all for manual transmission but my next car will most likely be an auto.

The problem with new manual these days is that the clutch is hydraulic. It is so dull and I’m guessing it is less reliable. Coupled with the stupid drive by wire it’s just horrible in traffic. Saying that about Inspira. Wonderful on highways though.

My good old Iswara is way better in traffic. If automakers could make a car with good ol cable operated clutch and accelerator, I’ll still get a manual.

That is the curse of the new generation. Eventually the innocent will have to pay.

• M/T is KING on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Sometimes i wonder why don’t high performance cars have slipper clutches. I have been waiting for this technology for so long. It should be more fun if those motorcycle technology put in the car like they do with power valve. Then m/t will be more exciting because i can shift down 2 or 3 gears when car approach a corner without worry over-rev engine and locking up the rear. Just a dreams.

• sepul on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Motorcycle manual gearbox are sequential, so the clutch mechanism and gearbox design is different. May not suit very well for a car, unless it is for racing or rallying.

• alldisc on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:07 pm

the slipper clutch is to reduce the amount of engine braking so that, in a superbike the rear end doesnt lift too high and thus affecting its handling.

this does not happen in cars.

• Albert Lee on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:44 pm

The salesperson who sold me Saga SV told me those wanting Suprimas have virtually opted for max 9-10 years full loans,and need not pay a sen as downpayment, to push this horrific ugliest car off the storeyards.
      Thats how Protong manage to sell some of these Suprimas.Because of these potential penniless defaulters,the HP rates for national cars are exhorbitant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
      • Childish comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Albert Lee on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:06 pm

All of our forum writers are grown up except you.You have no facts to substantiate your hollow and syiok sendiri thinking,thats why you become personal and launch attacks.
          The facts are revealed by Protong’s salespersons and bank execs about the high hire purchase rates for P1 and P2.
          Other Japanese marques attract only 2.5% interest h/p rates.Proton cars attract up to 3.3% in h/p rates.Spread over 9 years,it means 0.8×9=7% extra interest rates.Did you fail your Maths?
          Same Lorr,v3 is another” PERLINDUNGAN FREAK” out to cause havoc and bad taste.
          Cos Proton and u have the same “syndrome”,more and more critics are born.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
          • Who cares about sales number?

Find the right bank and you get good HP int rates, easy.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:18 am

typical p2 salesman
            bash proton about protection, interesrt rate bala bal

but keep quiet on perodua

ppl smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:19 pm

It’s good indeed. . Lightyears advance. . So good.. well equipped. . & so expensive too..

So they are good in the show rooms. You can find them there.

If your house facing the showrooms. . Konfem you can see them every day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Nimadfa on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:15 am

poor nuf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Maseratits on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:18 am

The Suprima deserves bigger rims!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • MoSlow on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:18 am

The car nobody wants. Now with R3 bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 39
  • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:23 am

tak cantik, didn’t see much difference from non-R3 cars. R3 should be a ‘facelift’ version. they should have entirely different design for bumpers and front grill. and perhaps different head and tail lamps too. rims? please give more design option or do better design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:25 am

I stil think 17’s looks small, 18s wd be great n mean….
    I see quite few around….almost all are in blue….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • The Tyre nowadays expensive mah. Most of them use second hand. 16’s better for Suprima S. :D

• shawal on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:40 am

The standard wheels that comes with the suprima s premium looks d business already….

Body colored kit looks better, black ones looks unfinished

Proton seriously needs to update both suprima and preve thoroughly, they can be great cars more effort is put in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:40 am

The standard wheels that comes with the suprima s premium looks d business already….

Body colored kit looks better, black ones looks unfinished

Proton seriously needs to update both suprima and preve thoroughly, they can be great cars more effort is put in

• Anwar Abdullah @ Kaio on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:41 am

quite good looking car if you ask me. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • oh my proton, please design R3 bodykit for my saga SV, so that i can smoke preve r3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 7:19 am

suprima= urban n european taste

kalau setakat kampung ppl tu mmg x leh appreciate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • even European puke when see this thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:10 pm

u malysian kpung ppl dont pretending european laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • pondon on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Ai seh… Penyu ni cakap macam ada otak. Tapi otak takde cakap saje.

U la cakap macam jaguh kampung. Baik bauk kau pegi jual kereta proton kat luar negara. Kalau tak jadi, jangan balik.

• pro staff on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Urban and european? Bro this is proton you are talking about.. check the bodykit yourself and see left side not the same as right side.now you oay 1k more to get more defect parts on the car. This is worse than balakong bro.. wake up peyno.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Insulting the same ppl that you hope to buy your product? This is why ppl say you bodoh lor. When ppl say that, marah pulak.

• pro staff on Sep 21, 2014 at 7:43 am

I think paul tan should make boykit designed by theopilus chin. Looks nicer than this one. Wat happen to r3 la? lazy, lame, lost… L3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Depan cantik, nampak design proportion towards back end. Tapi belakang design melebar ke kiri ke kanan jadi tak balance dengan design bahagian depan kereta. Tak pasal-pasal serupa macam perempuan bontot besar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Apa salah bontot besar? Ramai apa yang minat bontot besar? Lebih lebih lagi kalau bontot besar, hati dengki, mulut celupar and main ngan laki orang. Lagi ramai yang minat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • they should trim the C pillar. to me, suprima looks more like station wagon rather than a hatchback.

• agree with you. The C pillar can be better maybe proton will focus on next suprima model.

• policeman on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:10 am

Now that I look at it, the dash is not that bad.

Just redesign the lower centre. The top – A/C vents area are fine, below that needs tweaking.

Get rid of that lousy inner door handles, stupid design and the silver wears off over time. Sad to see that in PCC they’re using the same design.

• Nothing special about R3 body kit, go to car assesories shop, may be you can have much better than what proton offered. Lazy designer..

• vwowner on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:37 am

Looks ok. But why campro?

• kekaduk on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:49 am

Proton still proton whatever you make over full body kit and its still jaguh kampong car on the bolehland. Oh what it will be in the wondeland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:55 am

Where is the 6 speed manual drive version to significantly improve FC. CVT gearbox cant take the stress of constant high revving. Once it heats up, slippage becomes apparent & car becomes a pussy despite all the engine power.

• Torque already is limited to CVT capabilities. You dun have to rev CFE as it gives full max torque starting from 2000RPM.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:51 am

Looks a bit better with the bodykit painted… but I’m not a fan of bodykits tbh. I think the regular Suprima S looks great as is.

Still no 6-spd manual ? I’ve been waiting more than a year now… sigh.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Looks like it’s the Proton “Aero” for you. :P

• Aero (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 2:56 pm

I heard from a very reliable source that the final name is Proton Iriz…. so I guess I’m not forced to buy the new Proton after all xD

Looks like I’ll be keeping my ‘ol Saga for a bit longer.

• Old dog on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Seriously, who cares? Protong has been building cars with no economic of scales, only able to sell in Malaysia only for 30 years already prove such failure of the project. The country resources should allocate to other usage that earn foreign income but not feeding these ah Noh cronies. Same to Mas and how much they are being charge of the food ? Huron you know who is making the money and make Mas fail.
    Rakyat is moving out of Protong and the same food catering owners is doing whatever he can since snapping the Petrom business..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:35 pm

old dog with old minded, old thinking and old fashion of bashing

rakyat smart oredii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • BLT_Club on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Smart oredii? Please learn to spell. Anyway, he has a point, if Proton focusses on Malaysia there is no economies of scale. Say what you will, Malaysia is a brand conscious society. And no-one wants to really own a Proton if they have don’t to.

• Give stats or you are just talk kok keyboard warrior

• BLT_Club on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Proton sold 138,730 cars in Malaysia in 2013 (source:http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2014/01/06/Total-vehicle-sales-in-2013-hit-new-high/)

Toyota sold 10 times that amount in hybrids alone of a total of 10 mil vehicles. Even if you say half of the vehicles are commercial, that’s still more than 35x times the volume of Proton. (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/car-manufacturers/toyota/10594637/Toyota-still-the-worlds-biggest-car-manufacturer.html)

Ok, Toyota is a bad examaple. How bout Dacia – 430k in 2013. Cherry – 590k in 2012. Source: wiki.

Enough stats acehole?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Still waiting for manual to release here.

• azmirnordin on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Kalau R3 version of Suprima keluar nanti tolong lah tukar design blakang kereta ni, Sgt Tak cantik. Klu blakang design berbeza Dari skarang pasti lg ramai org beli. Tuah punya design blakang nape Tak realisasikan wahai proton kebanggaan ku?

• Ray (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:30 pm

The Suprima S is as rare as a giant panda on the roads of Penang. It’s such a shame coz car actually looks decent and handles well around corners. The under-powered CFE unit, utilitarian looking interior and questionable build quality altogether contribute to the failure of the Suprima S. Seriously, any sane human will not fork out 79k for this when you can get a Jazz or a City with a few more thousands extra, despite not being in the same segment strictly speaking.

The upcoming Iriz does look good though, first impression was promising enough. Let’s hope that it’ll not be another letdown again.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:20 pm

bro
      thsts y i said rakyat esp urban n esucted ppl smart oredi.. they are buying the car
      which suit his requirement.. he needs nice ride n handling car, he needs good safety features, he needs powerful turbo n cvt.. si they choose suprima S

smart ppl buying car which suits them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • protong forever on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Do you know what rare means? this is a joke..or for pure ignorant…

• CFE is under-powered?
          Name me normal C segment sushi/kimchi car in bolehland that can do 205nm torque. Sylphy? Civic? Forte? Altis? None.

• Campro inefficient on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:42 am

Name me a 1.2-1.6L turbo engine which has less HP/Torque and higher FC than CFE.

When compared to other turbo engines then it becomes clear.

• Still, the price is more expensive. Dun let me starting with the twin scroll, GDI thingy.

• Albert Lee on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:30 pm

I pity the poor Proton sales staff.Sales of AXIA is so hot,that the waiting period for certain specs is getting longer than 2 months.Here,Proton is busy promoting dying Suprima body kit.
    The Proton salesmen have big families to feed,not waiting for greenlight to accept bookings for Iriz.
    DRB,just open the booking floodgates to slow down perodua a little.
    Either DRB is plain stupid,too slow,not aggressive or tidak apa.
    Hello,one day” Everlasting Perlindungan”may be terminated under a new dynamic PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • pro staff on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Drb is stupid arrogant. Bodoh sombong.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:15 pm

last time during viva n new vios launching time… p2 macai oso said the same thing

rakyat smart iredi

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:16 pm

http://proton-edar.com.my/~/media/E46E37C0D1B3413AA79D6D27E6789CA4.ashx

Bookings for the Iriz are already open…for quite a while already (more or less 1 week? I’m lazy to confirm exactly when.)

Perlindungan already being eroded. Kia Picanto and Great Wall M4 are near or inside the MyVi price range. Only a matter of time…

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Albert..

Plotong is run by ppl who think quality is subjective. .

Rugi & low sales volume xpa.. untung = capitalist.

Ppl smart dy..

They stop buying proton.

& for proton it’s fine.. market shrink to 19% also fine.. because they ll adk gov money.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 8:50 pm

stop buying proton is p2 n umw salesman agenda… they are not happy rakyat getting smarter.. some smart oredi

10 years ago they hide behind japanese butt n name n ppl praise like hell… now rakyat smart n p2 salesman cant cheat rakyat with japan dna japan quality bla bla

only kampung ppl, old minded n never been to overseas buy perodua n umw

• protong forever on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:57 pm

no worry, P1 supporter will booked all of it, and continue claim all other success as P2 sales man, …like frog under as always to not face the trruth..and laughingly claim rakyat smart already…just keep bury their head under the sand…

• forge on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Salesman p2 umw sudah butthurt
        Ordinary people dun care about sales number

Haha!

• cendol (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% car price reduction?
    Abuk pun talak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 6:35 pm

masa aziah launched.. macai asking the same question??

ishhh p2 jepun laa.. mana ada kena mengena dgn BN n Nakib.. jepunnnnn

• what is the total sales of suprima so far? any info?

• Ah beng is increasing

• Absolute Rider on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:36 pm

What happened to suprima s manual. Malaysian should get the facelift suprima s sooner. The car hardly to be seen on the road. The problem of exterior and interior designs and quality.

Not to bash, but please improve. Hopefully ‘iriz’ sell well. Good luck.

• Albert Lee on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Absolute Rider,you said”the problem of exterior and interior designs and quality”.OK,I know you are not too judgemental like Proton bashers.
      However,please take a closer look at the backside of the Suprima.Doesn’t it give you the feeling that it “seems to have been crushed or banged”the way the bontot is designed?
      THe front looks ok but not the rear.This is the ugliest car Proton has produced,on looks alone.Mr.Paultan has already commented negatively on the CVT gear box and loud vibrating engine.Check this out in his Petronas Driven series.

• Pathetic ! Damn Ugly ! ~~

• nicecar on Sep 22, 2014 at 12:34 am

hey its the suprima/preve. percaya lah, kereta ni paling senang untuk ditoleh bila lalu, sangat sejuk mata memandang.. rekabentuk proton suprima/preve ni dah sampai tahap tinggi sebenarnya.

• Harry on Sep 22, 2014 at 12:38 am

Go go go proton!! Bring the mods in. We just love it.

• Steve Jobs on Sep 22, 2014 at 8:30 am

good car but crappy interior.i think Jonny can make it better than this.

• This car in reality is not selling, they should extend this R3 bodykit free rather than charging additional.Cant even come up with simple marketing.

• mascaretaker on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

ohh me wan ohh me wan . looks like a rm300k car

• potong on Sep 22, 2014 at 3:09 pm

an ugly car gets an ugly kit. Fair enough.

• dsign nmpk weird la…macam tak balance…

• sepul on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Malaysian don’t prefer hatchbacks, so it is not surprising Suprima is not very common on the road.

• Ugly car. Vios is better looking and got class too. Not like this cheap piece of shit plotong

• Vios already low class. Only stupid peeple like u still thinking vios is good car

• buntut like proton tiara..vomit blood

• Dulu kata cvt adalah linear gear change=jimat minyak…kemudian hot press= lebih light besi nya= jimat minyak..but realitinya ia lebih kuat makan minyak…..sebab turbo?…tapi byk je kereta turbo yg lebih jimat minyak dari Suprima….so kt mana salahnya Proton?….atau enjin Proton ni mmg tak boleh compete sebenarnya..aku bukan bash…tapi nk tau apa sebenarnya yg berlaku

• Common sense on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:53 pm

If this car have 20″ sport rim,2.0 twin turbo engine buy with 2litre/100km fc,300nm torque, 300bhp, 4wd, titanium exhaust, full nappa leather interior, 1000litre bootspace but small enough to fit in “reban ayam” dan 100% RV then i buy this car. But godcar like Vios also will do, don’t mind those “zinc” roo though.